Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Macau hotel reviews
  3. Macau hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of City of Dreams- The Countdown Hotel

Reviews of City of Dreams- The Countdown Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, Macau

#18 of 71 hotels in Macau

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2220 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is located at a good location with shuttle buses...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The traffic warden at the entrance is rude.

    The hotel is located at a good location with shuttle buses to the airport and custom. The room is modern, big and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.8
    Everything is nice and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in need deposit, first night 1000HKD, 500HKD for each continues night. Refundable after checkout.

    Parisan & Venetian at right and Wynn Palace at the left side. All can reach by walk.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Had a good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there is a negative, I would say the check in counter takes a long time from registering to getting of the keys.

    The rooms (corner room) were very spacious and clean. They even do make up the room twice a day which surprises me.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    7.9
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathtub was not clean enough to use. Besides that, the window/glass was also not clean enough (outside the building) to take a photo.

    The room was big. Excellent night view. Seperate bathroom and washroom.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.0
    Adequate accommodation but the poor quality finishing to room was disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from next room poor sound insulation Furniture style over comfort - looked good but uncomfortable to use poor quality finishing to furniture wardrobe doors poorly fitted unable to switch off internal light by closing doors

    Good location and good sized well appointed room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    4.6
    The location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shuttle bus service is a nightmare. I had to wait for more of 45 minutes to come in the bus. Staff seems don't care that more of one hundert guests wait so long. Busses are available but used for other destinations.

    The location is good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    Generally clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The chairs were run down. The walkway to the hotel were cluttered with store counters The eateries at Soho were not opened in the morning

    Generally clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    It was great except for the check-in process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a Sunday and it took us more than an hour to check-in. We arrived at 4:pm and it was almost 5:30 pm before we got our rooms. I thought check-in time was at 3 pm. We were so tired and they can offer only water. The Hotel should put English-speaking people in their counter to facilitate entry considering that we had paid in advance for our rooms.

    I maybe biased but the Filipino staff were the hotel's asset. They know how to speak English very well and can communicate well with a lot of foreign guests, whether Asians, Europeans or Americans.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.1
    coach services to various destination within Macau /...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    during breakfast buffet the hotel is meanwhile invoing "special" coffee like espresso or cafe latte extra with prices that it becomes more expensive than the full buffet !!

    coach services to various destination within Macau / Taipa

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    The best hotel out of 15 hotels we stayed for this vacation trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    confused at arrival there were 4 hotels under the same corporate management in the same location. The direction was not clear, the mall security guy didn't know which hotel we were referring to

    service was excellent, impressed by the thoughtful beautiful delicacy midnight snack, comfortable, they gave us a spectacular view room of the hotel, staff was helpful, arrange all our early transportation to catch the earliest Ferry connected to HK airport, hotel new and very up to date facility, below was shopping mall, restaurant, casino

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    8.3
    The shower area.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower area. Water keep on flooding out. It need a way to make the water stop flooding out. Otherwise the water will end up on the floor and slipper

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Will stay again, loved the huge room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Made use of the mini bar in the room but was never to there would be a 10% service charge and 5% tax charge in each item.

    Great property, huge room, great view of the Venetian, free shuttle to and from ferry (Outer Macau and Tapia) and other hotels.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable stay n definitely will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The inside of the lifts are quite dim which made it difficult to read the numbers on the wall panels

    Room is huge, spacious, comfortable n clean. Both counter staff n concierge r polite , friendly n were quick to answer to our queries. Central location n accessible. When we checked out n leave for the airport, the bell counter staff even helped us to bring our luggage to the shuttle bus pick up area which is located at the basement of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.9
    Location excellent spacious room clean
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a smoking room thru booking. Com however I got a nonsmoking one because Booking.com doesn’t give the hotel my preferences as the lady told me So next time I should not book thru Booking.com

    Location excellent spacious room clean

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a great location for transport and right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a great location for transport and right on the Cotai Strip. The shuttle bus service to Macau was excellent. The pool area is spacious and great atmosphere. My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and were really happy with the hotel and it’s facilities

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.8
    Nice location although if I went again I would stay in Macau...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    VERY bad check in check out .long lines as only 2 on front desk .A bad policy of blocking your credit card for $1500 as " security" for up to 3 weeks after check out !

    Nice location although if I went again I would stay in Macau city as there was local shops and restaurants to visit .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.1
    Way over priced for an uncomfortable bathtub and no free coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was way too expensive and you had to pay for Nescafé coffee in the room. This is usually a courtesy. The bathroom didn’t have any sound blocking device. The tub as too tiny for an adult and uncomfortable.

    The guy at check in was very nice. The room was modern and sleek.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.8
    Ideal choice in Macau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's little to complain about at Countdown. The room rate was slightly on the expensive side, although we did visit at a weekend and neither Hong Kong or Macau are renowned for cheap accommodation.

    Countdown has very comfortable and spacious rooms - a breath of fresh air when coming from Hong Kong! The staff were pleasant, and the hotel's well located on the strip. The pool area is particularly nice, with a great view of other casinos.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay for 2 nights. Avoid the breakfast buffer, not really worth for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expresso is not included in the breakfast buffet, very weird. Black coffee is filtered ... Very few option for vegetarian or gluten-free in the breakfast The pool is not heated outside and very different from the picture we saw.

    Price of the accommodation for the quality Rooms are enough big for a couple with a small child No extra cost for the crib provided Very welcoming staff. Helping us to take the luggage till the bus stop and waiting the bus with us to put the baggage inside

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.6
    Overall, it was an excellent experience. I would surely be bach here. I also will recommend the hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check-in procedure took longer than expected. The buffet breakfast could have offered more options. The gym could use more equipment.

    The room bed was really comfortable and the staff were exceptional especially the Filipino staff. The location was right smack in the middle of everything. The provided shuttle service were on time as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Fabulous location, Definitely value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fabulous location, Definitely value for money. We stayed in a corner suite which was great and amazing views. Cannot fault this hotel in any way. Wonderful staff who cannot help you enough. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free bus to the airport started at 10am which is too late for early flights. The breakfast was too expensive.

    Excellent location close to all the main casino hotels. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    5.4
    Quite a bit disappointed with my expectation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is small and u need to stand on the bathtub when u take shower, and the screen shower not fully covered the whole bathtub. Poor.

    The location is great, just nearby everywhere which i want to go, like Venetian, Four Seasons, Parisian, Grand Hyatt and Sands Cotai.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.3
    Overall a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We used the swimming facilities before our room was available, the swimming changing room were small with no showers or private changing rooms. Service staff did not approach us to order drinks or to see how we were doing. We turned the air-con down before going out for around 8 hours, when we got back the room seemed rather damp? The bed for certain was damp. Maybe it was the weather.....not sure. We spent a good 4 hours in the casino - we ordered drinks and waited for about an hour for it - the lady did apologized profusely- So a lack of drink servers there. Checking in time was rather late at 3pm and rather shocked that in room coffee and tea has a charge!!!

    Size of the room Was bigger than I thought. Both beds were of double size. View at the front of the hotel was lovely. Swimming pool was empty with plenty of deck chairs and private cabanas - great!!! Big jacuzzi at the outdoor pool !!! Shuttles are available to go to the town center and ferry terminals. Staff are nice and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, the hotel is inside the City of Dreams...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, the hotel is inside the City of Dreams complex, so you nave no need even to go outside, you have there a lot of food options, stores and the House of the Dancing Water show also. Rooms are big, views are perfect with floor to ceiling windows, exectly as on the pictures here. Very helpful staff. Stayed there for two nights, but it is also a good option for a long term stay. Nothing I didn't like.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Wish there is Roulette rollers plus computer play, like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, all was good. Glad that the casino has been upgraded and felt more at ease to stay longer to play instead of crossing over to Sands

    Wish there is Roulette rollers plus computer play, like those I experienced in Malaysia Genting and Singapore Genting and Sands

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel but check in procedure can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in procedure can be improved. Person who booked has to present during check in to show the credit card. Not enough seating area in the lobby.

    Spacious room and services, location (in city of dream where you can shop and dine. House of dancing water show is a bit pricey but worth it), superb view for corner suite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    6.3
    I may say that the picture of swimming pool is a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I may say that the swimming pool, you show here is a bit confusing, if it’s not belong to this hotel, why show it here. And check it, check out, take the room card, all need to wait in long queue, I’ve never saw one hotel which has such long efficiency

    I may say that the picture of swimming pool is a bit confusing, if it’s not belong to this hotel, why show it here. And check it, check out, take the room card, all need to wait in long queue, I’ve never saw one hotel which has such long efficiency

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.8
    Room is big, staffs are nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Someone else hair in the bathtub, the hotel should clean more carefully. Rooms facalities are a bit old and outdated.

    Room is big, staffs are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    6.7
    Location and comfy of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to wait a long time to get checked in even we did early registration. Almost had to get back in the line just check if the room was ready unless complained.

    Location and comfy of the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    8.8
    Cleanliness, size of the bedroom, decor of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No washing facilities in the toilet bowl compartment which is separated from the rest of the bathroom by a solid door

    Cleanliness, size of the bedroom, decor of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    5.4
    We found out booking direct is less expensive than booking through Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking direct from hotel website is cheaper and have free tickets to Kids Kingdom or similar place while booking through Booking.com is more expensive. The total cost stated in Booking.com didn’t include service charge and tax. We found that out only at Check-in. Booking.com should state more clearly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    8.8
    You can't go wrong with the countdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a bigger bathtub and a late(-er) checkout :) But in all honesty, nothing essentially wrong.

    For those looking for an extraordinary crazy Macau experience, this probably isn't the place but it's a very good hotel with very large and comfy rooms (great view without getting an overly expensive suite may I add) Interesting countdown concept with cool screens in the lobby, definitely not tacky like many Macau hotels can be. The band at the hard rock cafe was really good (even if no form of rock was played). My second stay there, would definitely go again. Cheers !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.6
    Great sized room - great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in takes a while but that seems to be the norm for Macau hotels

    Great sized room - great value! Nothing much has changed since the rebranding to Countdown Hotel (except the now cheaper price)!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.3
    Inefficient, uncaring, should have a good command in english
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It took us very long time to check in because there were only 2 at the reception. When you just arrived from a trip you would want to have a rest. Checking out there should be seperate desk so you dont have to follow the long line of those who are checking in.

    The show

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    2.9
    Bed was great, room was good. Despite the hair in the bed and holes in the bath towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t like the check in , the queue was long and we have to wait in the line for 20-25mins before it’s our turn. They let the guest hold up the check in counter however they like. Plus when I first arrived at the hotel with the ferry shuttle bus, there were no one at the front door to help with luggages.concierge stuff were No where to be seen. Bare in mind that I’m travelling with a toddler, which was very much needing a spare hand to help with luggages. After I walked Into the hotel, concierge were not helpful to attend to me, I have to handle the luggages myself. Despite the hot weather, no water was provided at the check in nor wiring in the line for check in. The concierge attend to others but not to me, obviously they pick people to help out with.

    Thomas was great when I filled up my feedback form. He attend to me personally for what I have encounter in the hotel. He make sure the concierge help me out when I check out and be as attentive as possible to us. Thank you Thomas! The bed was comfy however I found hair on the bed when I first open the blanket. I love how they included the toddler potty and babies amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.3
    Best view in Asia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    50HK$ for the coffee in the room is a bit much, should be at least one per person complementary and also tea.

    Best view in Asia. Straight to Venetian and surrounding buildings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    5.8
    Staff service quality is far lower than the hotel facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -It took us 45 mins to check in but they were not willing to open a vacant counter -We asked Assistant Manager Ms Elaine He for some help. She refused to help the guest instead, she just told us to send our concern to the hotel website since she had more important matter to take care of at that time -she also said the hotel does not have enough staff so she has not even had a break all day -staff at the checking counter Ms. Lucy, Her language was very rude -she told us to wait another 5 mins because the room was not ready yet even though it was 2 hours after official checking time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.5
    The Countdown is clearly in need of renovation as th decor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Countdown is clearly in need of renovation as th decor in the rooms is very dated, however it was clean and very comfortable and good value. Great pool and City of Dreams is well located with plenty of restaurants throughout the casino complex. Within a year this hotel will be rebranded hence its name - The Countdown. Worth staying at till May 2019 as it is very good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.5
    A good experience in modern Macau. Casino is not the best but only a short walk to the Venetian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check In facilities are dreadful. If you arrive at the wrong time expect to queue for 45-60 minutes.....standing.

    Rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast Buffet is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    5.4
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Checkin and Checkout takes forever. Processing time for individual guest is way too long, very inefficient.

    There is a shortcut to Morpheus in less than 2 min, ie walk through the casino. The shopping mall route from Countdown to Morpheus is about 10 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better

    Friendly staff, spacious room with a Venetian view, outdoor heated swimming pool, value for money, convenient location, etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Good for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check out queue is quite long, I had waited for 10mins and the staff came to me said I could use express checkout as I’ve linked my credit card details... Should have some signage to tell the guest about it, it would save time

    The room is very clean, have enough space to store luggage and the view is fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    bed is very comfort, room is quiet as well, check-in/out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    lobby light was a bit too dark and no any signal about check-in /check-out counter...

    bed is very comfort, room is quiet as well, check-in/out was smooth, free welcome fruit and water, overall are amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    The facility, the interior design, and the cleanliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower place in the swimming pool is in outdoor area so it's a bit lack of privacy.

    The facility, the interior design, and the cleanliness of the hotel. I have a 2.5yo toddler travelling with me and I find it very handy to have a facility (kid's club) on-site which he had enjoyed it so much mean while for me and my family to watch and enjoy the show of house of dancing water. It's awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    What's not to like?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    --Was initially given a suite that is facing the hotel morpheus as the better view rooms were not available. Requested a change of room the next day to that facing the Venetian n Cotai Strip... The view is truly 10x better. --They need to invest in a better iron in the room. Wasted 15min can't even iron out any creases on my shirts.

    --Was given a room on the higher floors and the view of the Venetian n Cotai Strip is really good (see pic) ! --Liked everything about the corner suite; Spacious, modern, clean n very well maintained. For this kind of room size at the Venetian or Parisian, u will at least have to fork out more than 2x what u pay for this suite. Value for money. --Staff was polite, friendly and professional. --Shuttle buses available right in the building to other major casinos, ferries n Airport. Convenient. To go senado square and ruins of St Paul, take the shuttle to Grand Emperor n walk for about 10to15mins. --For fans of Hard Rock Cafe, the restaurant is located right below the hotel. --The House of Dancing Water (truly a must to see, and for me the highlight of my Macau trip) is located at the other end of city of dreams thru just a short walk. Overall a very good experience. Highly recommended n good value for money by Macau standards.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Extremely professional and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel is about a 12 min taxi ride from Tapia Ferry Terminal. We were running extremely late from the 8pm Dancing with Water Show. The reception staff were exceptional, they held our luggage, told us to go straight to the show and check in after and one of the lobby staff escorted us to the box office of the show. We make the show with 5 mins to spare only because of this amazing service. Rooms are spacious and stylish with great views. The pool deck area is inviting and relaxing as well. Would definitely recommend lunch or dinner at Hard Rock Cafe and again staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Surpassed our expectations! Very comfortable stay yet value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a bad thing but I would prefer to have a standing shower stall rather than having to stand inside the bath tub to shower. Water tend to splash out of the bath tub as there is only a partial glass panel to help prevent splashing instead a full shower curtain. It is also dangerous for old folks and children who need to climb in and out of the bath tub. Other than that, the bath toiletries are of good quality which is great.

    The hotel is very trendy and stylish with very good service staff who are young, energetic and speak well. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean with good view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.8
    it was ok but way overprized for the service and the room we had
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the check in was poorly managed. Only 2 employees working around 1pm where one is assisting the check in and the other check out. We did flag it but they did not took actions. We had a toddler and waiting for almost 45 minutes was way too long. the queue after us was only getting longer.

    We did like to size of the rooms, very spacious. And the variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Everything is available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything is available. Free shuttle bus service for airport, ferry, the city was very appreciable Choice of food and shops I also see the show « House of dancing water », it was great !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff service and ideal location for a budget short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a pleasant stay in the hotel. The only thing I would have to pick was the punctuality of shuttle services. We had missed the first shuttle to Central Macau because it left five minutes earlier than the expected time (according to what the staff said). It didn't take us long to wait for the next one. Considering that the traffic can get really busy in Macau, so the drivers tended to leave the bus stop earlier if there's no one queuing and they could catch up for the following stops. That's why we managed to arrive the bus stops a bit earlier than usual for the shuttle services. Also, some people were jumping the queue when we were on the line at the ferry terminal for the shuttle service. I hope the staff can manage the queue during busy periods. However, I understand that it could be difficult for the staff to do that sometimes.

    Excellent hospitality from the staff. Prompt reply from email communications before the arrival of our stay. The staff are always trying their best efforts to satisfy customers' requests. The facilities (gym and swimming pool) were good enough for a short stay trip! It's such a shame that there were so much to see in Old Macau so we wouldn't be able to use the facilities. The shuttle service has provided a high accessibility to different locations of Macau including the ferry terminals and Central Macau. Once again, the staff were terrific and offering to help. On our last day to ferry terminal, one of the staff member carried our luggage to the shuttle. That was beyond our expectation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive breakfast so we ate outside of hotel

    Everything here is great. Book this hotel just for the view from the pool. Very clean and fresh, great staff and clean facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Great pool with amazing views at night, good size room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive breakfast so we are outside of hotel.

    Great pool with amazing views at night, good size room, great view, all areas spotlessly clean. Staff very helpful. Free regular shuttle bus between airport/hotel / other casinos and the old town. Lovely big casino and Starbucks and restaurants onsite. We would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    9.2
    Overall, the hotel is a good place to stay with all the comfort,accessibility and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room is not yet ready when we arrived at 3 PM and was advised to wait for a while. While waiting ,I requested to be placed on a high floor with a nice view because we are celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary that day and it would be great for the 2 nights stay. Front Desk Assistant (I forgot the name of the guy who assisted us) told us that the keys will be ready at the concierge after an hour. But when we went to get our keys, we were told that we still need to wait for an hour or so for the room. Instead we were offered a room at the 15th floor without the much expected view. Tired and sleepy, we just took the keys and settled with it.

    The bed and pillows were extra comfy and Shirley at the Front Desk was so accommodating in my request for a late check-out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    A Hidden Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool bar didn't open until 11am so it wasn't possible to enjoy a morning coffee or breakfast outside in the sun. The free hotel shuttle wasn't mentioned in the booking information so we wasted money on a taxi getting to the hotel from the ferry terminal.

    Wonderful location near the Taipa colonial village and Venetian resort. Great Portuguese restaurants in the area. This is the best part of Macau to stay in. We were able to use the free hotel shuttle to take us over to the other side of the city to see the church ruins one afternoon. Fantastic breakfast buffet, one of the best I've seen in a while. Large, comfortable rooms, very clean. Beautiful pool area. Not as crowded as the surrounding hotels and casinos so it felt like a retreat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Our room was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was hardly any seats in the lobby, and there was almost always line for either the concierge or the check in counter. We had to wait for a good while to speak to someone regarding our room charges (which was a mix-up on their end).

    Our room was very nice! We loved so many things about it - the shower, the view, the bed, the space, and much more. The bathrobes were very comfortable. The hotel smelled very nice, everywhere we went. Directions to locations around the City of Dreams were clear, so we never got lost. There was a Starbucks on 2nd floor, and very easy access to the House of Dancing Water. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.2
    New, modern, comfortable room and bed. Great stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Step-in bath/shower. Great to have a bath but obviously harder to access. Waited a while to check-out as 3 staff members were busy. The process itself was quick.

    Rooms were big, new and fresh. Big comfy bed, big bathroom with good lighting and a separate toilet! Free bus service to the ferry terminal and to other hotels/casinos. Casino on level 2, shopping and restaurants within the complex, although a little expensive. Staff were lovely and provided extra water and late check-out at very late notice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.6
    One night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable room. Location is perfect and you will find there everything what you need. Casino voucher was a nice addition. Worth to mention that you can buy ferry tickets at concierge desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    Pool was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was poor, check-in took way too long. Took nearly 20 mins, not including waiting time. only one person at the counter with a long line.

    Pool was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Beds were comfortable, amenities were good, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The centralized air-conditioning was often too cold, no matter how we tried to adjust the thermostat.

    Beds were comfortable, amenities were good, staff were friendly and helpful. View out of the window was pretty nice too (I was on the 19th floor).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.5
    Ok sort of
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is "boxy" with that quirky modern minimalist feel that you get in the new style budget hotels. Price is typically high for Cotai, but there are better value options nearby.

    Everything was ok, but so-so.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.5
    The view from our room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room seems clean but i noticed that the glasswares are dusty and the kettle is still a little wet.we need to wash it first before using.i also noticed that the hotel doesn’t offer turndown service.i’m not sure if there was any but during our 2-night stay,there wasn’t.

    The view from our room was very nice.the room was spacious.nice interior.prompt service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.3
    City of Dreams, Countdown with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our group stayed in 3 different room types, double queen, king, and a corner suite. All were comfortable and a good size. Our only issue was the bathroom arrangement in each room was a bit odd. Clean and spacious but arranged in an unusual way. The Kid zone and pool were very nice. The hotel layout made for a lot of walking, but that seemed typical for other resorts as well. Loved the afternoon tea at the louvre cafe and the great view from our room. Service was great. The only difficulty was trying to get directions from place to place. Plan ahead time to have the front desk guide you if you need to get somewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.2
    Nice room, decent price, fair value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the pillows were too soft. There was no electrical adaptors in thee room for international travellers and no USB charging ports. The check-in process was painfully slow. There was only two staffers at the registration desk. Since it took about 5 miniutes for each guest, there was a huge line and I waited 25 minutes in the queue. That was unaccceptable. Motel 6 would have done a better job!

    The room amenities were great. I have separate temp control in the living room and bedroom. Lighting was good. Shuttle services were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely branding and reception area with very innovative and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff does it's job well, but isn't the most welcoming.

    Lovely branding and reception area with very innovative and well built screens for the countdown. Definitely not tacky like most Macau hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed the local food and everything at the Cotai Strip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in Macau for 4 nights despite friend told us 1 day is more than enough. We want to explore the local culture. The shuttle bus driver could have been more polite. I also realize generally business operator and staff in Macau peninsular is quite rude when we asked for further explanation. Being foreigner, we don’t feel welcome.

    The staff in the hotel is friendly and I had a smooth check out thanks to Anton. Moving around has been made easy due to the shuttle bus system. The room is really spacious and we have 2 queen size bed for 3 person which is really value for money. I requested for a contour pillow and I’m glad the housekeeping department is quick to response to my request. The experience is overall wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay for a reasonable price. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the things important in any hotel: Helpful and polite staff, Comfy bed with clean sheets, Clean bathroom with clean towels, and a nice and secure atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    4.6
    Choice Other Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frozen .Hotel... Maybe 19 degrees. Windows super dirty in my Corner Suite ( We should order other Corner Suite ), Can they check thats details before customer arrive? Oh My God !! .Battery in safety box sold out, so can't put your money inside. Internet really bad (We ordered 1 LAN cable, but still doens't work coz I've a Mac and Cable was for windows). Very Poor Breakfast ( I Need to order soya milk, coz sold out and didn't replace it, the bowls you need to ask in kitchen, and little personal to manage the breakfast, I means need to wait to be set your table).Check out 11:00 and Check in 15:00?. Deposit with my credit card 1.500 MOP and refound in 21 days? How could be?

    Comfy Bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    i don't like to check in every-time at 3pm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i don't like to check in every-time at 3pm. i would like to check in every time at 12pm. bcoz every month I fly to Macau around 11:00am. and for me to check in 3pm will be not convenient. after my trip i would like to take shower and get ready for meeting my

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    I stayed in a beautiful corner suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little information in the room about the hotel. Relatively small breakfast selection for a hotel if this standard. Little information given and no ‘menu’ in the spa (so I went to another spa instead). Took a deposit on top of full payment which I paid on arrival. I hadn’t been aware of this beforehand and felt an addition deposit above full payment was not necessary.

    I stayed in a beautiful corner suite. Very comfortable. Also, very nice pool with enough loungers for everyone and attentive pool staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.3
    Nice pool- Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Countdown - Corner Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - We booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child with breakfast included and we were told at the property that only breakfast for adults were included and not for the child. Their breakfast is quiet pricey for a 9 years old kid. - There was no rope, slippers or any amenity for the kid. Not kids friendly in that sense.

    - Room: we got a a nice corner room well equipped, good size, sensible price and GREAT GREAT shower and bathroom. - Location: as we were going for the House of Dancing Waters show it was a good place to stay in order not to have to rush for the show. - The pool staff: they were lovely guys assisting us in everything specially with our kid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.2
    pleasant stay. love that it is convenient to travel by free shuttle or taxi in Macau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bed was too soft, i prefer harder bed. My child's sleep was interrupted when i turned my body.

    i booked a room with two queen sized bed.. so that my whole family could stay together. the size of the room was comfortable and nice for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic expect for checkout when they tried to make us buy the douvet because of a red wine stain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had a strange policy about the deposit and putting meals and drinks on the room. The cleaners for the room didn’t finish until 6pm when were trying to get ready for dinner. They tried to charge us for a accidental wine stain on the bedding and this ruined the whole experience at the end.

    The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. Great pool!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but lacking the extras to justify the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very good value for money - I've stayed in cheaper hotels which were better. I was charged an extra 15% for tax and service charge, which was not included in the booking.com price. I was charged an extra MOP$50 for decaf coffee at breakfast, and the breakfast options weren't great for vegetarians. The gym didn't open before 0800, and there was no hotel information provided in the room.

    The staff were friendly and the location is great. The pool is large and heated, which was great as it wasn't the warmest couple of days. Nice rooms but no real aesthetic difference from when it was the Hard Rock Hotel (it was cheaper then too).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    Perfect location! Professional staffs and Cozy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Firstly, hotel location was so perfect and their free shuttle service were fantastic! Secondly all the staffs that I met in the hotel were very kind, helpful and professional. Last but not least the room was big and comfortable!! The view from room was so beautiful. I recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse City of Dreams- The Countdown Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: