Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal Macau 5 stars

Estrada da Vitoria 2-4, Macau, Macao

#27 of 67 hotels in Macau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1971 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Good Location and Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    The hotel is 5 to 10 minute walking distance from tourist spots. We got an upgrade. Thanks to the nicest front desk, Macky. Abe and Raymond were very helpful with giving us suggestions as to where to go in Macau and how to get to places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Good 4 star hotel for exploring Macau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small point, but room aircon was either hot or cold.

    Good 4 star hotel. Nice location for 10-15 minute walk to the old historic quarter, lighthouse and also casino strip. Caught ferry shuttle ok, used the indoor swimming pool. Several small restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, great facilities and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Partially based our booking on the shuttle service the hotel offered. This service was discontinued, however. This was mentioned in the 'Fine Print', but since the free shuttle service was mentioned twice as a facility, we assumed the service would still be in operation - especially since nearly all hotels in Macau offer free shuttles to and from the airport. There is a free shuttle service to and from the ferry.

    Very friendly staff, large room with good facilities, nice hotel bar with live music. Location within Old Town is good and attractions are within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Above written
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say that I found anything that I did not like

    No casino. Fir my purposes I like the location. I could walk just about everywhere I wanted to go. Hotel is clean. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. This was my 6th return visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle to airport. Shuttle service has limited stops and schedule.

    Room is big! Complete amenities as well. Receptionist assigned to us during check-in wasn’t too smiley but I guess that’s how he is. The rest of the staff were very helpful and accommodating though. Also a plus that you can walk to Senado square from the hotel. Some casinos are also a walk away. They also offer free shuttle service from and to the ferry terminal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Location is nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe need a bit walking (15-20min ) to the main tourist attraction but it is manageable

    Location is nice and quiet Staff ( shuttle service, reception) are helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast was not so good, besides the tables were sticky, not well cleaned. The cocktails and the buffet in the lobby bar very upsetting.

    the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel plaisant but bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The staff was not competent. They want that we pay 2 rooms because they said we have reserved it. It took a long time to prove their mistake. We arrived tired and we were on holidays and we didn't want to résolve any problems. It was not plaisant. -we have reserved a double bed and we have 2 single bed

    Room confortable. Meals good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.1
    Comfortable bed in a relatively spacious room, nice piano...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest for its cost, had an molded anti-slip shower mat and random hair in the tub

    Comfortable bed in a relatively spacious room, nice piano bar and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, absolutely family friendly and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, absolutely family friendly and wonderful staff. I would specially mention the concierge, he was very helpful in helping us plan the city tour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    everything is comfortable,staff was awesome...thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was just better for me,, i ask nothing much,, but i got alot from the Macau Royal Hotel, Thank you

    i was very pleased. the room brought me comfort,, i shall return.... Thank you to the kind ,helpful staff...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Would be my hotel of choice in Macau. Value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seems the hotel is a hot choice for tourist bands, making it a bit noise when bunches of people flush in.

    Lucky enough, I got free upgrade from Double room to an en-suite, making the stay more value for money. Suite is quite roomy. Swimming pool is excellent. Bar is good, offering selections of good Portuguese wine, as well as those from traditional markets like France and Italy. The hotel sits in a relatively quiet neighborhood, where you can see the what truly local life is about. It's also quite close to the glamourous old part of the city, those fancy hotels and casinos, all in walking distance. Very helpful staff. Easy and free access to the Ferry Port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    it is a good stay for 1 or 2 night in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too much tourist group checking in and out in lobby. Elevators are always packed. the none-smoking room still have smell. room facilities are all big old.

    nice staff and great walking to distance in old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, but for us the best part was the location. The hotel is located right in the middle of the old Portuguese quarter. We were able to walk to the lighthouse and St Paul's cathedral and enjoy all the interesting sights along the way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Hotel, Great Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Staff welcome at checkin was excellent. Very warm and friendly. Rooms very nice and well cared for. Hotel amenities very good and staff in general very helpful. Location, an easy walk to historic sights of Macau. Many places to eat near hotel. Will stay again on my next visit to Macau.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    It was a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Conveniently located and yet in a quiet corner, the staff was courteous and professional. Most important, the hotel has a great Portugese restaurant, which was one of the reasons I chose to stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Confortable but some reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff at reception were arrogant and incompetent on 2 occasions. The worst was regarding the transport to HK airport. They sent us to the wrong location and we almost lost the connecting ferry to the airport. Level of English was alsi below our expectations. Breakfast options were limited.

    The bedroom with the small beds for the children was great. Very confortable. Food in the restaurant at dinner was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room with nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Spacious room with nice location. It’s tranquil and out of the casino zone, which I presonally enjoyed a lot. A short walk to the city center as well as the old town. Overall, it’s great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is spacious and bed is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long queue to take hotel bus n have to wait for next bus which is an hour later. Should increase the frequency if there are more guests.

    The hotel is spacious and bed is clean. Hotel staff able to give right advice in English when we wanted to go HK by ferry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean, convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there for a night and had no complaints! :)

    Staff was friendly. Room was clean and very comfortable. We were upgraded to a premium floor room when we arrived! Location was excellent for exploring historical Macau side and close to outer Macau ferry to HK, Shenzhen, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Consistent, Reasonably priced mid-range option in Macau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in remains slower than most hotels around Macau but we've usually been able to get into our room within 10-15 minutes after arriving.

    Rooms are very nice for the rates charged (see pictures) and represent a significant upgrade in value for money compared to similarly priced hotels in Macau. Importantly, beds are very comfortable and wifi is now always fast and stable. Transportation: There is free ferry service to/from the main Macau Ferry Terminal. Service hours 8.35am to 9.35pm from the hotel to the ferry terminal with scheduled departures every every 30 minutes (05 and 35 minute marks). From the ferry terminal, service runs from 8.55am to 9.55pm with service every 30 minutes (25 and 55 minute marks). Note: There is convenient bus routes that you can pick up near Royal Macau as well. Walk through the small garden in front of the hotel. There is a bus stop to your right. There you can pick up buses to Taipa Village, Cotai Strip and Coloane if helpful. Location: Royal Macau is situated on a quiet square, around 8-10 minute walk from the main sightseeing areas of the Historic Centre of Macau and just 3-4 minutes walk from the lovely St. Lazarus and Tap Seac areas. You can also walk up to Guia Hill in 8-10 minutes of rather steep climb from the hotel. In the end, there is easily 2 days worth or sightseeing nearby Royal Macau even before you consider trips over to the famous Cotai Strip to see the major hotels. Dining: There are many local eateries around and the in-house FADO restaurant is one of our very favourite Portuguese restaurants in Macau. This makes for at least one delicious and convenient meal each time we stay at Royal Macau. We also usually stop by the very good coffee shops like Blooom and Single Origin which are within short walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Clean, good location and it has all needed accessories.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issues were the towels. Clean but old... I think all hotels in China we visited had very old and used towels...

    Clean, good location and it has all needed accessories.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    A very good experience in Macau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some slight issue with the air conditioning but it did not alter our experience.

    The location, walking distance from city center and casinos. The room was very clean. The swimming pool really nice. A good breakfast with a lot of choices both From Asian and European food. We were also very happy to be given a free upgrade!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things can always be improved upon , but on that day everything was to my liking, so well done

    Very friendly, helpful staff all around from reception desk staff to housekeeping and porters . When I asked for xtra coffee sachets in my room , it was delivered promptly to my room . I was given exactly the room I requested , higher floor , double bed, frontal view , so it’s perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    The stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None so far.

    The staff is very hospitable and courteous. The hotel is old-fashioned but it is neat and clean which is more important. We had a big comfortable bed during our stay. The Portuguese restaurant is a must try when you visit the hotel. They serve very delicious pastry and cake in the lobby lounge as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Royal's staff have exceeded my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Royal's staff have exceeded my expectations! I had issues with my credit card and was lucky enough to have Maelene, the receptionist, help me solve it and turned it into a very quick booking!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Delivered what they promised, Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is good- walking distance to few tourist attractions, close to eateries and convenience stores, staff are very helpful, bed is comfy and bathroom was clean, the phone given for local use is very helpful, punctual shuttle bus service to the ferry terminal. The hotel is well within the city, so the view would be mostly buildings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    nice hotel to stay and the beauty of original Macau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the view was slightly terrifying from my room..

    nice hotel to stay and the beauty of original Macau..location is closed to interesting places and nice restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel to explore Macau
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room with Breakfast and Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room and restaurant were a liitle cold because A/C,in my opinion,was set too low

    The hotel is well located in the center of the old town,staff is very friendly and helpful,free shuttle service to and from the ferry terminal,nice rooms,good breakfast with reasonable choice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Fair stay but not value for the money I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Connecting Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff pushy about money - as if I was going to stay without paying. Breakfast can be better with more choices - very limited choices!!

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit far from the central area, so If you are coming for only playing in the casinos, this place may not be the right choice. The bathroom did not have a bathtub. The housekeeping came to the room quite early (around 8:30), so if you are planning to waking up late be sure to press the do not disturb button.

    Friendly staffs, beautiful view of the old portuguese buildings, free shuttle service from old harbour ferry terminal. We also got upgraded to premium (which was a bonus). The room also had a mobile (with internet) that you could use to roam around the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Good place, friendly, good quality products
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs : very helpful and friendly Location: nice and convenient Facility: Swimming pool is warm Pool and fitness equipment is good . Amenities: Provide in good Quality for everything. Breakfast is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel with good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No breakfast included and if one wants to pay for it, it is very expensive.

    Good location (in walking distance of all key locations on Macau island and Taipa/Coloane can easily be reached by bus or taxi), very clean and nice room (with daily complimentary waters!) and the hotel had a gym (small) and warm indoor swimming pool. They also had a shuttle bus to city centre and the ferry terminal. If one does not want to live next to the casino craziness, this hotel is a great option! The service in the front lobby was always great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Great stay except the pillow quality n breakfast varieties could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft despite having 2 on it. Breakfast varities could be better especially this is a 5 star hotel

    Overall cleanliness of the hotel and room was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.6
    Terrible service and poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not hear the TV. We called the desk and no one answered for hours. We finally got someone and they came up to our room. They told us that they were sending a "tech" and that person never came. We couldn't believe the terrible, apathetic service we received and left feeling annoyed, frustrated and neglected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    A good short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast should have more option and variety which should include Indian food too.

    Upgraded to premium room on higher floor. Bus shuttle service. Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location and comfortable space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the breakfast dishes were cold. Would have been good if they had kept stuff warm.

    The location is great if you want to walk around and see old Macau. I didn't want to stay at a hotel attached to the casino because of how crowded it gets. So this place was just perfect. The staff there is pleasant. And they gave me a free upgrade which was really cool of them. :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    The room is clean and the bed is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get a taxi given location of the hotel.

    The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. Buffet breakfast has good variety. The band at the lobby lounge is very good for their ‘old goodies songs’.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent hotel that has stayed true to it's roots. Great location from which to explore Macau !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non-smoking floors often smelt that someone had been smoking

    It was a nice atmosphere at the Hotel, not too stuffy, busy or too rushed, like many of the larger Hotels in Macau. One of the very few hotels to be located in the real part of Macau old town, where you can take an easy walk out and get some authentic Portuguese food or buy a cheap but stunning bottle of rioja wine - excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bathroom bidet would have been nice.

    The smartphone provided for the use of guests for the duration of the stay was very helpful. We took it with us on our DIY tours and walks in Macau. The internet speed was very good, as well as the apps included in the phone which helped us find good places to eat. Having lots of nearby restaurants was also great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Perfect one night stay in Macao
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel shuttle from the harbour to the hotel is not very easy to find. A few more signs would be helpful. For those who want to know, when you walk out of the harbour building turn left. There are a lot of busses leaving for different hotels there. Just wait there. The Hotel Royal Shuttle doesn't have a designated spot, but it stops there and the bus is one of the smaller ones, orange and easy to spot.

    We got a free upgrade to a Premium room which was very nice and on the fifteenth floor. The pool was very nice as well. The hotel is at the perfect location for sightseeing in the old part of Macao. It is not one of those big Casino hotels, but there is a shuttle to some of them, as well as one from and to the harbour, where the ferries from and to Hongkong depart. The beds are great and the breakfast too. The phone with included free internet is very helpful for navigating the city. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    The hotel was nice and modern with very good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain, really.

    The hotel was nice and modern with very good service. They upgraded us to a suite which made our stay super pleasant. We also enjoyed the almond and walnut cookies that they keeping bringing everyday. The best part? The room came with a mobile device "Handy" with 4G and phone capacity that I could carry around as I explore Macau! It was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place to spend a few days, near to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little expensive but it was a nice hotel, good service and excellent breakfast.

    Upgraded room for free including a 'handy phone' with free calls and data. Fantastic breakfast with everything you could want.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    We are very enjoy to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The bed is very comfortable,the room is big enough and very easy to go with the shuttle bus. The staffs are also friendly. Specially the Philippino bell boy name Raymond he is the best I ever seen. He tell me how to go with the shuttle bus and where to go. He is so so friendly and his appearance is nice. Me and my husband we were very pleased with him while we stayed in Royal Macao hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice five star hotel, room equipment was a little bit older,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould on the bath rug, after check out you have to wait just outside the hotel (about 40 minutes) for the shuttle to the ferry terminal (a lot of people are waiting, so there is a queue), I just don't get the fact why they can't let the people wait inside the air conditioned lobby. Also value for money was not good. Prices were incredibly high during Chinese Golden Week.

    Nice five star hotel, room equipment was a little bit older, but still fine and looking relatively luxurious. Helpful staff. They provide free mobile phone with internet access which is very nice thing to have.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    We had three days in Macau and the Royal was an enjoyable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had three days in Macau and the Royal was an enjoyable place to stay. Staff were excellent, and the breakfast was very good. Room was well appointed and buses were a short walk across the park. All up it was good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall an enjoyable and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better with more vegetarian options. The shuttle service between hotel and ferry terminus could be much higher as the location of the hotel, though good is not walkable to main city attractions.

    Rooms and facilities were good though would have expected the size to be bigger. The hotel staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swimming pool water was cold. toiletries low grade.

    nice staff, clean and tidy room, good service, 2 min walk to playground for kids, a nice restaurant up along the road after the crossroad. 7-11 convenience store opposite side of the street. All a family with a toddler needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    I liked the location of the place and the standard of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts kind of repeated themselves, but still there were some nice Chinese cuisine (noodles, dumplings). I would appreciate if there had been at least one new thing each day.

    I liked the location of the place and the standard of the hotel. Macau is not big, but the Hotel Royal Macau is in a good place just to take a stroll and experience mixed, Portuguese-Chinese history of the town. My room was very comfy, with great wifi (yeah, it should not matter on holidays).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    We stayed here for 3 nights first night was ok next morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here for 3 nights first night was ok next morning there was a typhoon for half day we were unable to get to our room due to lost of power and when we did there was no water so yes no shower for twos days. When we settelled the bill we asked for a discount we were denied and they still charge us for botled water that we used to brush our teeth this hotel is the embaressement of macau

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Ideal location
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king bed is actually two single beds connected which makes it rather uncomfortable. Hotel looks a bit outdated in its looks.

    Ideal location to visit both the old Portuguese area and the casinos zone. Had a free upgrade to a suite, very roomy and clean. Concierge very efficient and willing to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The quality of the breakfast was not as good. The hot food was semi warm, bread not very much variety and the pastries were not fresh. Not worth the price!

    The hotel was excellent in terms of service and comfort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.3
    WORST hotel stay ever. No showers or toilets or air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a typhoon that hit us here in Hong Kong and Macau on Wednesday. I decided to take a one-day jaunt to Macau at the following weekend. The typhoon caused Macau's water supply to be cut off for nearly four days, the last of which I stayed at royal hotel. I booked my room the same day that I stayed, just a half day before my arrival, and even though water had been off for several days already, there was no notice on booking.com or the hotel's website. I checked both Chinese and English. I never would've stayed, or even made the trip to Macau, if I had known! That's how they make their money...deception. Not only that, but they charged full price, they did not let me cancel when I asked at check in.... just under $200 usd nonrefundable non-cancellable, and offered me no discount DESPITE THE FACT THAT TOILETS DIDN'T FLUSH, THE POOL AND GYM WERE CLOSED, THE AIR CONDITIONERS WERE BROKEN AND IT WAS EXTREMELY HOT, AND OF COURSE, NO SHOWERS. The galaxy hotel, by comparison, advertised very clearly at the top of their website that the pool deck was closed for repairs and that there were water problems.

    Not much to like

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    The cleanliness and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staffer called Anson who checked us in didn't smile at all during the whole check-in process, giving the impression that we were not particularly welcome.

    The cleanliness and the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    All in all very enjoyable weekend, did everything we had planed for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is just a bit on the upper limit for the facility.

    The breakfast is excellent, I love the location, it being in the old town, everything can be done by walking. It gives you a taste of the locals. The facility having a casino is also a bonus. Other casinos are also within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    A great first visit to Macau and a definite return visit required the next time we're in Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location short walk into Old Macau town, plenty of shops close by and lots of historical venues to visit nearby too. Also offers free shuttle service from & too ferry terminal & airport. Helpful staff & bell hop guy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    We stayed there is convienance n hv few walk we can eat a lot of good food n buy thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That is before I check in hotel hv deducted my 3 days room amount. And when I check in on the day they should not charged me 3 days full room rate again .althought they say will refund back the first payment but till now I back to Singapore hv not rcvd . Bank say they will refund back within 1 week time. For deposit Hk$1000.00 is ok.

    Over all is ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome place to stay in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Awesome big room with a huge comfortable bed. Very close to city center (7-10 min walk from Lisboa casino) and old portugese streets. Welcoming and professional staff. Convinient store nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    MACAU'S BEST HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were unbelievably helpful , upgrading me to my favourite room . A true five star experience . I would never stay anywhere else in Macau . Fabulous experience all round .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Not up to 5 star standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a five star hotel, so everything should be right, there was a constant list of small things that were not up to standard. Each thing on it's own was not important, but there were many, many small things. When booking in, I asked to book for an extra night, but the person at reception did not understand me, or make any attempt to follow up. Room was hot and stuffy when I arrived. A lips print on the window was cleaned off by me after two days of not being cleaned by staff. Such a small thing, but once seen, it is all I could see when looking out at the great view. Apart from the foyer, public areas where not well ventilated or cool, nor were the lifts. Breakfast buffet is very ordinary for the price. The lifts are slow, allow time to have to wait. I could go on, but this gives the idea, except; Loads of noisy Chinese tourists yelling across the foyer, dinning area. Pushing to get into the lift before the occupants could get out. Pushing me in the back aggressively as we were trying to get into the lift. I live in China, so this behaviour is something I am used to, but energized and intensified in this situation, I found it quite distressing and overwhelming.

    The hotel is in a great location, but then, Macau is so small I am not sure it is possible to get a bad location. Use their shuttle service it is an excellent way to get around. (Taxi's will take you the long way to bump up the fare. ) Quiet room, soft bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Hotel Royal superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all

    The service was beyond reproach. Staff excellent. Location could not of been better. Lounge buffet was very good. Live music in the afternoons and evenings in the lounge. The breakfast was huge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Great time we enjoyed at Hotel Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you to Hotel Royal, my family n friends had a great time in Macau. Thank you for your friendly attitude. Special thanks to Roy who arranged the rooms for us and we found it so convenience. The room was so comfortable, all of us slept really well that we have energy to walk up to Guia Light House. Walking distance to most of the tourist points.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    I really recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast included a lot of different options and it tasted really well. The service was really helpful and nice. The Hotel is close to the downtown and everything is within walking distance. They also offered a phone to use for free in order not to get lost in the city and also to find good restaurants nearby. The pool was very clean as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Good CP ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    sometimes the music of the bar at ground floor is a bit loud.

    you could have a really good old-town view if your room is high enough~ and the area was quite quiet at night. good for sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing! The rooms were clean. I have OCD so I was really happy with the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel lobby. Food was OK. Same thing every morning. Conveniently located around awesome places to sight see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great room, great food, nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were all extremely polite and considerate. Room was great. Indoor swimming pool was big and clean (easily enough space for 3 of us in there swimming lengths). Self-service breakfasts were fantastic; enormous selection (although I didn't try the Asian fare so can't really comment on that) and it all tasted great. Had a steak at the hotel restaurant too for dinner one night - brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice room. Slightly away from city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much facilities. No shuttle bus. Slightly away from city. Needed cab to get around during summer.

    The room is spacious. Hotel has an awesome Spanish restaurant which we didn't get to try out this round. Will try out when we visit Macau again. Staff generally friendly and able to converse in English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Upgrade to Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better ----- wider choice of bread and cereals; baked beans are usually served warm but not that morning.

    All staff are very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location in old Macau, comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast wasn't very rich.

    We got an upgrade to the suite which was amazing. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed. We loved our stay in the hotel! We also got a free shuttle from and to the boat. Overall we loved our stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Okay stay to visit the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room Upgrade to Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk staff could be more friendly, bellboys are good. Lobby looks old.

    Comfy bed. Spacious. 10-15 min walking distance to the old town landmarks. 7-11 across the street. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    The hotel located near Guia Hill in a quiet area, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel located near Guia Hill in a quiet area, with restaurants and shops nearby, at 15-20 min. walk to Macau's historic center. The spacious and very clean room with all the comfort you need to relax after a day out in town. The transfer shuttle bus from / to Macau ferry terminal. Also, we liked the continental, fabulous and varied breakfast and, last but not least, the very friendly staff, attentive with tourists.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shuttle bus schedule is not good enough. should goto taipa ferry terminal too

    flexibility for letting us to check in early and the bath tub is really comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    Saved by location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in a supposed to be 5 star unit and on the premium room I would expect more in both space and amenities. It was at the level of a 3 stars hotel, not at 5.

    The location that allow an easy access to the citycenter for both the business district and the historical venues and touristic sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Accessible to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and the lift. The toilet is shared/outside the room, however its clean. The lift, you have to wait minimum atleast 10 minutes (if u are lucky) for the lift.

    Accessible to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Good but not great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive. 30 years ago it must have been a great 5 five star hotel. Nowadays its a good hotel but too expensive for what you get.

    Location, friendly staff, shuttle to harbour.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Royal Macau traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: