Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites 3 stars

115 The Strand, GZR1027 Il-Gżira, Malta

#10 of 17 hotels in Il-Gżira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1057 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    On the whole we were rather disappointed with our choice especially as we were spending 8 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The first room that we were given which was advertised with a balcony was a sliding door with a rail and the view was into a narrow well with a view of the piping. It was on the first floor so really dark. We did complain and a few days later were shown a room on the 6th floor which was slightly brighter but no balcony and no view either.

    The bed was comfortable. Convenient for restaurants and the ferry and boat tours.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    All good, no concerns.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good, no complaints, just sorry that I was only there a short time to be able to get onto my cruise ship.

    Great breakfast; ate too much as usual!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent there one night, It seems that the rooms without the "sea view" have "garbage view". The facilities are standard minus and the room quite small.

    The location is good, close to bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel in a boring area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nice but the area is not for vacations: no beaches at all, one or two good restaurants, nothing to do except for taking the ferry to Valetta (which is a beautiful town comparing to boring Gzira).

    Good sea view from highfloors, clean and accurate, breakfast ok, kitchen ok but no microwave.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no window in the room and the lowest setting of the airconditioning is 23 degrees, I would have preferred a lower setting.

    Clean room in a very good location with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    soundproofing at the front

    sea view rooms/suites can be a little noisy at night, but get the sun in the morning, bookbites bistro is clean and good value, all staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Continental breakfast was delicious and with a good variety...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower doors didn't close perfectly, hence water kept leaking out at every single shower. After the daily room cleaning, we once got a very dirty towel: it was anyways immediately changed. The elevators take on average a lot of time to reach your floor.

    Continental breakfast was delicious and with a good variety of items. We requested a room w/ a view on the bay: we got it and it was stunning. Beds were also comfy. Room was rather small but very functional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Marvelous view from the balcony right to the Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit overpriced, pay attention to additional fees. Not all the rooms has a balcony. Take the one with a sea view, you won't regret!

    Marvelous view from the balcony right to the Harbour. Very suitable location, direct bus to the airport, sliema city Beach in 5 min walk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant Location Friendly Staff Clean Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although breathtaking views the balcony and pool are smaller then I thought going by photos. Don’t let this spoil your veiws tho!!

    The hotel is in great location for traveling around the island. Hotel staff are helpful and hotel very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    The location is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most hotels in Malta, I felt that this one was overpriced for what it is. The bathroom had no proper ventilation and when u had no choice but to open the window the room would be filled with insects. The shower also leaked terribly flooding the floor. There were no top sheets on any of the beds so you found yourself sticking to the doona. The apartment floor was not washed everyday and we had our apartment entry/power card removed twice by the cleaning staff.

    The location is nice. Parking can be a little difficult

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location with all the necessary transportation means...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with all the necessary transportation means (bus, ferry, etc) A bit expensive for a 3 stars' hotel and not very good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Adequate room with inadequate bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did not appreciate to have to pay upfront - not sure if booking.com did clarify this aspect. The room was okay, but the bathroom was quite poor: it was not well lit, the ventilation was overly noisy, the water pressure was low, the shower drained very slowly, and it also leaked onto the floor (not because it drained slowly).

    The hotel is nicely situated in the Sliema district, direct buses to the airport, beaches, Valletta, and other parts of the island. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    the marina view was the best, wonderful view during...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the building next to them was under construction therefore all mornings started really early due to noise generated. the breakfast location was not very clear, also the available products were not too diverse. i would totally not eat dinner there.

    the marina view was the best, wonderful view during breakfast. the location was really good, close to the center of valetta. easy to find parking in front of the hotel. nice souvenir shop next to the reception and nice stores nearby to buy a coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, super helpful staff but not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Firstly, there is a floor between the 6th and 7th floors where I was given a room. It was tiny, almost windowless and the bathroom had a bad smell. The breakfast is vastly underwhelming! It is very poor. Food is cold, no trouble is taken with it and the selection, for the money you pay, is poor. They don't have real butter but a mix that is tasteless. Lots of construction noise and when I moved to a room with a balcony, the people smoked a lot right next door, making the room smell of smoke. Hordes of school children were booked in and they ran riot at night, causing noise and it was unpleasant.

    The location is amazing. The staff were wonderful and very helpful.The neighborhood is lively and the views over the bay to Valletta are amazing! Lots of nice restaurants around. Easy access to buses. The swimming area down the strand is clear and refreshing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Central location, great place, cozy, clean and stunning views if you get a room with a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was lots of street noise, but that come with the location. close the balcony door and there was no problems Maybe a bit expensive but you pay for what you get.

    Location - everything is close, easy to find, Great views of Valletta across the bay from our room, The hotel was clean, room was comfortable with kitchenette,great for 4 people, Breakfast was simple but good, staff were friendly and helpful. good air conditioners. Very happy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    not quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dull and tasteless, towels were the worst ever - dirty and smelly, there was no view at all - only small window against the next room, no electrical socket in bathroom, lifts were extremely slow

    Location was awesome, right next to the sliema port with cruise options, staff were really nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Really big comfortable bed, clean facilities, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very noisy and echo-y. You can hear people talking from a couple of floors above. During our stay there was a lot of construction on-going in the area from early morning. Our room didn’t have a seaview, just a window with an inward view - but the music and noise from the rooftop terrace and construction in the area travelled down very clearly. Halfway through our stay, a big group of school kids arrived (8-12 year olds), who were very very noisy - running around and shouting. Seemed like little was done by both the chaperones and the staff to curtail noise levels even after complaints.

    Really big comfortable bed, clean facilities, great location. Staff are pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, Good value, on the waterfront!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a bit small

    Location was good, rooms a bit small, beds clean and good clean towels. We didn't eat in the restaurant, cafes and shops nearby. Waterfront buses close by. Staff were helpful, they brought us a fridge for our room at no charge and that was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road noise took a little getting used to but this was offset by the views.

    The customer service was second to none, we had an issue at home and the team couldn't do enough to help us. The hotel is spotlessly clean, would definitely recommend it for location and views of Valetta. The photo with local beef and wine is from the terrace on top of the hotel, next to the jacuzzi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced youth hostel. Thin walls/doors. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never paid so much to sleep so little. We were looking for a guaranteed sleep during our holidays. Did not mind the hermetic and impersonal but yet hotel with comfortable beds, even if at the expense of your wallet. It turned out to be 5-horrible sleepless nights. 2am woken up by youngsters speaking out loud (NB I am in my late twenties). 4am the second round of party-goers. 6am woken up by those doing an early check-out and throwing their luggage down the stairs (yes, the elevator is extremely slow so people opt for the stairs even if on the 6th floor). 7am the trolley of the cleaning staff and all the noises that come with it. The hotel staff, all very professional, very kindly gave us another room but the noise situation prevailed. Simply because the walls are made out of cardboard. Just hoping that this comment helps those who are not willing to sacrifice their sleep/rest. P.S. Do not get fooled by what is advertised as room ‘with view’. It is literally a view to the building next door under construction.

    Clean rooms and friendly staff. Well connected to buses/airport bus/ferry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was terrible! The construction in the next hotel started every day at 7am, so we have to get up every day for the noise at this time. The lift in the hotel didnt work properly, the WIFI was weak. The towels and the bedclothes was tidy.

    Good location, close to the sea, bus stops, markets and restaurants. Staff was friendly, and the bed was confortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Standard 3 Star Hotel, very good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise-insulation of the room doors is very very poor. There was no night without beeing waked up in the night when another guest walked in his room

    Standard 3 Star Hotel, very good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay in this hotel. Location fantastic and views from seaview balconies outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard which we found quite uncomfortable. The air conditioning went off during the night therefore we had to get up and put it back on again.

    Location was fantastic. Suite was ideal for my husband and I and our 19 year old daughter. Roof terrace with jacuzzi was fab and the views from the terrace and also our balcony were breathtaking. Absolutely perfect for our 5 night break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit noisy after 8a.m. due to the construction going on outside but after all we were already up.

    We loved the location of the hotel. It's really close to two bus stops which were both very convenient. The room was rather small but at the same time this made it very cosy and enjoyable. It was clean and the stuff was very friendly. There was free coffee and tea and milk and sugar. Everything you need when you wake up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    People at reception very kind and willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast: less than average. Not due to the hotel but to external condition: workers outside starting at 6am. Very noise

    People at reception very kind and willing to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our first room was room 701, it was directly under the restaurant, we were woken at 6.15/6.30 at breakfast setup, we asked to be moved and it was done straight away. For anyone not wanting that early a start, I recommend not staying in that room.

    The room was excellent value for money, the staff were really really helpful, at reception, in the restaurant they couldn't have been more helpful. Fantastic central location, lot of help and advice if needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not sound proof. You can hear everything from neighbour having a shower in the morning to cleaning lady trying to get a good WiFi connection to speak with some relatives. Don't expect to sleep late in the mornings, no way for that to happen.

    Location and services are good. Staff is friendly and breakfast is alright although every day the same so if you stay more than 3-4 days you'll get bored with it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Good choice if higher room and actual window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noise coming from the corridor in the morning (we were close to elevator). We had a window with a view on litteraly nothing so we used the light always.

    The location was great, high street and restaurants close by. Receptiob ordered a taxi for us for extra early flight. Price is fixed, 20e. Ferry to Valetta just 5min walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    It did the trick!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the breakfast, especially it being on the roof by the water! And the staff was very friendly. But the rooms need a little updating, the walls were dirty which made me feel dirty so a little paint could do the trick.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Excellent conditions, close to many restaurants, bus and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent conditions, close to many restaurants, bus and ferry stations. The ladies from the reception were very nice with the clients, lots of helpful info from their side. Many thanks to them first. For sure I will return here on my next trip to Malta.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay BUT...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They started drilling at the construction site right outside our window before 7am- it was impossible to sleep after that. I would recommend asking for a room facing the other side right away. Apparently the constructions have been going on since 2016 and they do not seem close to finishing at all. Also, the doors are very very thin and you can her every word that is spoken on the corridor.

    The staff is very friendly, the location is great (very close to the bus stop and the ferry terminal, from which you can reach Valetta within a few minutes). Great view from the rooftop terrace! The price is fair.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly and contacted us even before the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was construction next to the hotel and the work started quit early in the morning. However, for us it was not an issue as we planned to wake up early.

    The staff was very friendly and contacted us even before the arrival. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Really nice hotel close to amenities. I recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel very near to the ferry to Valetta. Open top bus tour stops nearby. Restaurants and bars not far away. Excellent location. Hote clean and looks to have been modernised recently. Staff very friendly.wifi good but takes a bit of brainwork to get into it atbfirst Can't fault it the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Location: facing beach, many restaurants and shops in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location: facing beach, many restaurants and shops in the neighborhood Service: Super friendly and helpful. On the first day of arrival, we found out the shower in the room did not work, after calling reception, we were offered an upgraded suite for our stay, quite customer oriented. During our stay, the girls at reception gave us some suggestions regarding the tour route which saved us lots of time and energy. Facilities: have everything that we need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    3.8
    I never come back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Very unpleasant staff. They also close the hotel door after 10 pm so you need to wait till someone will open you the door. I also found a cockroach in the room so it wasn’t nice at all. Also, in one day, the staff start working with drill at 8 am in the morning .

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely be back next time I visit Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Oddly you can't hear anyone in the other rooms, but you can hear every conversation from the corridors. The cleaners tend to have loud chats in the mornings so a lie in is not really possible

    Reception was incredibly helpful with any questions we had. The room was compact but clean and comfortable. The double bed felt bigger than a standard size. The location of the hotel is perfect, right on Sliema front, easy to walk to the ferries or catch buses. The hotel is amazing value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location, not too far from Sliema and close enough to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request to move rooms as I could hear the guests in the lobby from my room and thy were very loud, a group on a school trip from Italy And our shower leaked all over the floor. I had to pay for an upgrade as there were no other rooms available. New room was much bigger, closer to the construction work next door but somehow still quieter than the hotel guests. Unfortunately it was next to the cleaners section and they were very noisey constantly chatting outside our room in the morning and we’ll after 6pm. €7/head for breakfast is cheap, and it’s got everything you need but served over cooked boiled eggs and the same thing everyday. We were there for 5 days would have been nice to mix it up.

    Good location, not too far from Sliema and close enough to restaurants on the strand and the buses and ferry to Valletta etc. Very nice decor, simple and nicely designed but beds could be a little more comfortable especially for the price we paid in mid winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great staff, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I will 100% stay there again when I go back.

    We loved 115 The Strand and would definitely go back. The location is excellent - 5/10 minutes walk from the bus station and the ferry to Valletta, plus you can walk to Valletta, St Julian's, Tigne Point etc within 25/30 minutes. The service is excellent in particular - the receptionists (shout out in particular to Francesca and Erika) are super-willing to help and made everything really easy for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    I had a room with harbour view and the view worth all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The maid didnt bring us new towels although she took the old towel after the first day. -The pillows need an upgrade. Now! :)

    I had a room with harbour view and the view worth all the money. The room is nice and clean, recently furnished and i like the coffee/tea facilities in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    This hotel is ideally situated for the ferry or bus to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is ideally situated for the ferry or bus to Valletta. Our room was upgraded as it was my birthday and we had a sea view with balcony. This was our first visit to Malta and we will definitely stay here on our next trip. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great location,friendly and helpful stuff,nice breakfast,fantastic view from hotel's restaurant,great value for the money.check out at noon for booking com guests.Highly recommended

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive noise of bathroom ventilator

    Very kind staff at reception, excellent value for money, clean room, good breakfast, opposite bus station, 10-15 min from center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    A quality 4 star hotel in Malta.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the design of the eating area on floor 8, it could have more space which is outside the control of the hotel.

    I liked the ambience and the recent refurbishment to meet the requirements of a 4 star hotel. It is extremely clean and the staff are very welcoming. I was impressed with the complaints procedure card in the room which helps the hotel to resolve any issue within 24 hours. Furthermore, I felt extremely safe and supported as a solo traveller which is very reassuring while in a place which is unfamiliar. I would be extremely surprised if this hotel did not meet your requirements. Security and safety is paramount.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel close to Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, you can hear the water gurgling in the sewer outside the window, and hear the other guests walking in the hallway.

    Very good staff, great location, good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Great value hotel which is close enough to Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had a problem with the lifts when we were there. It took ages till the lift came done to the lobby. Might have been a single incident.

    Good value hotel. Friendly staff. Location is fine because the ferry to Valletta is only a 10 min walk away. The room has everything you need and is very clean. Easy parking on the opposite site of the hotel if you arrive at night. During the day you might not be able to park so close.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    The place was too hot to stay in, we couldn't regulate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was too hot to stay in, we couldn't regulate room temperature. The room bookings said that there were micro-wave ovens and there were not.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    The view from the balcony was very nice, particularly on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was terribly stuffy though we were able to cool it down by opening the balcony doors. Switching on the air conditioner didn't seem to be doing anything and the one in the bedroom wasn't working. The information online indicated there should have been a microwave in the room but we didn't find any and when we requested one from reception they informed us that none were available at the time.

    The view from the balcony was very nice, particularly on a sunny day. Room was clean and basic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    View was really nice from the balcony, staff at breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi and TV chanels were not working properly, no one could fix this for 4 days, courtains were very dirty and dusted, no carpet in the room, not much space in the room. Water pressure was extremly bad, you could not enjoy the shower at all. Unfortunately we would not stay therr again.

    View was really nice from the balcony, staff at breakfast time were very polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.6
    The experience with staff and cleanliness was 'budget' and does not fit the glossy pictures online.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the breakfast was pretty poor considering it came at an additional cost: The coffee comes from a (pretty terrible) vending machine. Warm food options (eggs, hash brownies, sausages) were overcooked and lukewarm at best. If you consider booking additional breakfast, take your money elsewhere. Low quality hotel breakfast food and rather grumpy staff. The cleanliness of the room was just about ok, but toilet does not flush properly and water pressure and temperature in the shower (that does not close properly) vary considerable. Plumbing should not be this bad in this price range.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff but the bed really let down the stay as it was so uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was unbelievably uncomfortable... if you like a ultra firm bed great - if not your not going to get a good nights sleep

    Friendly staff and great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Great value for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The coffee at the breakfast was very bad (so we walked to a nearby cafe after breakfast for that). Also we wished there was plain yoghurt at the breakfast. Other than that the breakfast was quite good (basic but with enough healthy choices).

    Great value for that price. The location was very near to the Sliema-Valletta ferry station. They also upgraded our room to a bigger room with the sea view, which was really nice for a week long stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    One night stay so ok, but wouldn't stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was atrocious = looking onto a big hole in the ground. Drilling from outside started at 7.30am. The bathroom did not smell nice.

    The staff were helpful and cheerful. The room was good enough, good size and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Modern rooms and good wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time I've stayed at this establishment and both times housekeeping staff woke me up before 9am to clean the room. Bed had a lump in it so I slept in the one next to it

    Nicely renovated, good breakfast, rooftop pool lovely with a great view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellant stay, great location, great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was a little small.

    Hotel is in a great location. Lovely, clean and modern hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful. Harbour view from our room was beautiful. Fridge could be requested for the room. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay in hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop pool and general area on 8th floor could be upgraded and cleaner.lack of mirrors in bedrooms and poor lighting.

    Overlooking the harbour,good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.8
    Not bad but it could have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was wired that in my room price I had a confirmation from booking regarding the inclusion of pay per view chanels and the rezervation staff confirmed the opposite. Wile in my reservation it was writen included... This hotel had only 7 tv chanels and the 7 of them showed only news, One had to pay extra to see a film...wile I it was included in my booking reservation. The walls had moisture and the breakfast was poor.

    I liked the view from the balcony. The reception staff was nice and polite,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Very nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not heating the room.

    The hotel looks great, we had a sea view room and it was amazing. Very good breakfast and the bus station is very close.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Relatively cheap, fine for the short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lifts were very slow and since we visited out of season it may be actually worse during the summer. The walls are paper thin. I have never experienced any issues due to the noise in any other hotel I stayed in but in this hotel we could literally hear everything that was going on the corridor and other rooms (there was a baby crying in the middle of the night). The rooftop bar and jacuzzi need some serious updating as the area looks tacky.

    The view from our room was good (you have to pay extra to get the view) and I liked the fact that there was a balcony. Room was modern and the reception staff was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    The room and the hotel was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no proper window and any daylight in our room. Maybe we should book the room with the sea view, then there is a window.

    The room and the hotel was clean and tidy. Our room was quite big and we had kitchen equipment there as well. There is an amazing view from the 8th floor restaurant where the breakfast is served.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disabled ramp outside, it was too high for a wheelchair and it's user, we very nearly had an accident. A couple of local people saved us from the situation. It spoilt our stay and restricted our ability to get out and about. We only managed to get one of our party out of the hotel on a couple of occasions.

    Centrally based, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Ok for one night but not room 618
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 618 avoid ! Our room was overlooked by a building sight - workmen started early Daturday morning and could see into the room. very noisy hotel all night smelt of cigarette smoke in the corridor.

    Fine for a stop over nice staff breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel beautiful view beautiful Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    We received a upgrade to a suite having already agreed to a 20 euro/night surcharge for a balcony. We were thrilled with this & had one of the best holidays of all time 😁

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very dark due to the fact that the only window was facing the inner space in the center of the building. The sheets were not very clean. Also the reception staff was not very friendly, though helpful in the end.

    Great location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    Location of the hotel is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really small for two people and bathroom smells funny. Reseptionists are not helpful.

    Location of the hotel is good. Really close to bus stops and restaurants. Beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good location-close to bus station and ferry that takes...
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi wasn't good.

    Very good location-close to bus station and ferry that takes you to Valletta for about 10 minutes. Very clean rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean,comfortable, good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast is really awful!

    Comfy, clean, well-equipped room; v good value for money; helpful staff. As often in Malta hotels, the coffee at breakfast was awful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent reception.Nice sea view.Annoying 6 free channel selection.Cost of breakfast.Poor wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only six free tv channels!!!! Poor wifi signal. Cost of breakfast.

    We liked the sea view. It was just few minutes away from the bus stop and in an adequate walking distance from the center of Sliema. The reception employees were excellent and very helpful! Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location. Staff professional yet friendly. Good views from Bar/Dining area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small niggle ... Tight entrance, one could pass by hotel if not paying attention.

    Reception at check-in was excellent. Helpful, even offered a smile which sadly is lacking more often these days Room was large with good facilities. Bar/dining facilities on 8th floor good views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    It is clean and modern place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wall in this hotel are like paper. you hear every step, every door slam.. just everything. If you are unlucky you might get !!!on the same floor!! one noisy guests and be ready you will hear everything!

    It is clean and modern place. The roof terrace for breakfast is really beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Decent weekend accomadation for groups of 2+ persons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view - the window opened on the interior chimney-like spece, so no daylight in the room. The wi-fi signal in the room was poor, the code received at the reception didn't work, so we just used the 3G on our mobiles. Breakfast too pricy but there are bars just outside. Not very well noise isolated - take earplugs.

    Location - convenient to reach by bus or taxi. 17min from Valetta by bus and some 30min from the airport (by taxi). Offered rooms for group of 2+ people. Small kitchen in the suite with kettle, tea and instant coffee available. Modern, big, clean room. Bathroom was bit too small but sufficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    When we arrived, our sink was clogged.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, our sink was clogged. During our stay there was water dropping down from the air conditioner in the hall at the reception. The bathroom was rather small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel and good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom were a bit small, but that's very subjective.

    The location is perfect! Close to Sliema and the public transport as well as the sea. Breakfast was served on the roof with an amazing view of the Mediterranean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Decent place to stay near Sliema but rude mody receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful receptionist with overly curled dark brown hair on the morning/early afternoon of Friday 25th August 2017 was not just rude, but a downright liar, that told me she had no standard rooms. She tried to sell me a higher end room that wouldn't sell and said that although booking.com was showing a room available, it's false. I came back and took advice from a friend that they have to honour a booking.com booking or give an upgrade. I did so, proving her a liar to her face (priceless moment!), and, with her reluctance and disgust, I got my desired room. But she made me feel unwelcome. Due to such poor service, I moved to another hotel the next day with helpful staff that were delighted to have me as their guest and none of this nonsense. I advice management that this is very unprofessional and harms their image as I would recommend other hotels nearby to friends, especially Sliema Marina Hotel, which even offered a free upgrade to a Sea View room for staying more than one night.

    Location next to sliema

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Location, view, and charitable and compassionate staff, Vania and Erica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was insufficient for Turkish guests and seems like designed just for the European guests.

    Location, view, and charitable and compassionate staff, Vania and Erica.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    - Staff were friendly and helpful throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Booked a double bed but was greeted with twin beds which was corrected after 1 night and free breakfast for the rest of the stay, which was a small positive. - only stayed at the hotel for a few nights and the TV was'nt work for over half of this time, which was unfortunate.

    - Staff were friendly and helpful throughout - Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: