Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of db San Antonio Hotel + Spa 4 stars

Triq it-Turisti , SPB1024 St Paul's Bay, Malta

#17 of 90 hotels in St Paul's Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi in the room is unstable, almost useless. The food quality was lower than expected, especially about fruits, and desserts. Many outsider is coming to the hotel restaurant and gym, making sometimes awkward situations like hotel guests felt themselves under dressed because a celebration was happening in the same restaurant everybody wearing suits. Our phone was stolen in the hotel.

    Staff is good and helpful, animators are also ok. The variety of food in the main restaurant is good. It is really a children friendly hotel, but other guests can find calm spaces as well, like in the level 10 pool where the view is amazing. The other restaurants are also good. All inclusive means here real all inclusive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The view from our room was not good, but the terrace was large!

    I just stayed from 29th May to 5th June and had an amazing stay, the staff were very friendly and accommodating especially with the Children and meals were good in all restaurants! I would definately go back again ! Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel's location was not too good as St Paul's area badly need a makeover. The streets are dirty and the sea front needs to be upgraded and painted.

    Our stay here can only be described as memorable for all the right reasons. The food was varied, hot and plentiful, the staff were friendly and cooperative. The hotel rooms were large and comfortable ,and made up each day. Coffee and tea making facilities in each room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Horrible smell in our bathroom during the entire week, interior swimming pool and sauna area not nice, no real juice (except tomato) for breakfeast (only mix of powder and water).

    Large, comfortable rooms, nice restaurants with good food, good service, nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a horrible odour in the room coming from the drain. They tried to fix it the first day and it improved but inly momentarily

    All the staff was outstanding!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no sand beach beside the hotel.

    Very good entertainment every evening. Very good all inclusive buffet:sea food and fresh fish( salmon, tuna etc) daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the first time me and my family stayed at db San Antonio Hotel + Spa and I must say the hotel was superb. The staff and management are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious, Also the hotel wasn’t far from places such as the aqarium, the airport and other local amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top pool was closed off not sure if it was because it wasn’t peak season but it would have been nice to be informed .

    Staff were friendly couldn’t do enough for you! Food amazing and the pool is complemented with a lovely sea view .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bistro restaurant was a bit slow but the 3 course a la carte all inclusive food was worth the wait

    Excellent facilities and range of restaurants/food and drinks. Staff were friendly and helpful and provided helpful information about the local area. Location of the hotel was excellent for amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside pool was a little on the cold side. Didn’t matter to the kids but too cold for me.

    Kids loved the variety. Anything you wanted you could find or ask for and they were happy to accommodate. Lovely staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Heinz ketchup!

    The food was great! There were many choices for each meal. My partner loved the fact there was fish available every meal, every day. We recommend "All Inclusive". Our view of St.Paul's Bay was awesome, both day and night. Let's not forget the staff, who were always smiling and greeting you at every turn; they were always available to answer any of your questions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isnt a great food choice for people who dont eat meat and the veg isnt always fresh. Put in the comments box the names of other guest as there was confusion with my booking as they only had my name

    Hotel is amazing staff are very friendly and will go the extra mile to get you what you need, food is lovely and my partner enjoyed the meat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like the walk from the lift to the room ,it was quiet eerie at night as the rooms the builders were working in were left ajar each night .

    the beds were so comfortable , the room was so spacious . I loved the décor and colour scheme used in the room . I also liked that fact you could make your own tea or coffee in your room .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about the hotel. Shame the area seems a bit run down.

    Hotel was lovely. Staff very friendly, entertainment first class. A wide choice of excellent food. Rooms large and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little too busy for us. The Seabamk is another hotel which we love.

    Friendly staff. Light and spacious accommodation. Great location. This hotel chain are excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Firstly , this was not an all inclusive package. While we holidayed in the low season and expected some of the amenities to be closed . The only part of the hotel that we could obtain drinks during the day apart from meal times was a small café, located at the reception. There was no facilities around the pool are or even near the pool area to get drinks. Every Sunday the hotel is open to the public resulting in a multitude of locals using the dining room . We as guests were shunted down to a congress room to have lunch whilst the locals were eating in the main dining room . Somehow we did really think this was acceptable.

    This hotel I can not fault. The cleanliness of the hotel , friendly helpful staff . The food was good and plentiful for an all inclusive package

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi not hot enough for me.

    The hotel was excellent. You could not ask for a better variety of food at each meal. Food was cooked perfectly. Staff also excellent. Very polite and very happy to help in any way.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    we enjoyed our stay and it was a positive experience from the moment we arrived so no complaints.

    The hotel was in a very good location, the food was superb with a great choice of food from around the world.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WIFI connection drops frequently which means you need to refresh the login page to reconnect.

    1. The bed size is amazing and the mattress is very comfortable. 2. Water re-fill is provided in the ground floor. 3. Entertainment is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely fantastic! I loved every part of the stay here. The food was so amazing (and offered excellent vegetarian options!) I visited just towards the end of season so wasn't too busy but still were a few people, we had no problem finding a sunbed by the pool (which were all amazing and clean!) The kids club was wonderful, my son enjoyed his time there a lot. Lots of different things for all ages, also has games consoles (up to date ones) with games all children enjoy such as minecraft, fifa etc. and all very well looked after by the staff. The rooms were cleaned every single day and were held to an excellent standard. The beds were comfy and the showers we nice, warm and powerful. The nightly entertainment was also amazing, as I came with a child (5 years old) he loved joining in the nightly kids disco and all other children were encouraged to dance and join in, it was an amazing atmosphere. I will 100% be staying again. The location is just a small 2 minute walk from Buggiba square, which offers lots of different restaurants (if you're not all inclusive, or if you just fancy something different) bars, shops and a rocky beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a lot better

    The hotel was more interested in the football team that was stopping at the hotel and other things , Miss Europe and the local people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little more entertainment at the hotel for my kids who are young adults aged 16, 18 and 24. Suggest more sporty challenges during the day. Note: it could be that it was coming to end of season. Maybe there is more on offer in season for the 'Relax by the Pool' days.

    The cleanliness was outstanding. The all inclusive food was so fresh with a wide variety of delicious choices. One of our best delights was the Roof Top pool and bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds was rock hard and they have timeshare people selling to you

    go see richard tours next door good deals, get hotel very friendly, roof top pool bar get as no kids aloud peaceful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't happy with the Tagine restaurant as we found the food to be very bland (we only like korma and tikka masala and they didn't come up to the mark compared to home Indian restaurants.

    All inclusive worked out really well. Food was very good. Great choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get in any other restaurants other then the buffet. All booked a week ahead. Unhelpful staff esp mario who I found very aggressive when I went to pick up my wedding hat from reception

    Checking out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to book sun beds at 7:30am is crazy. Hotel too large for site. Absolutely packed Family friendly for children 15 an under but otherwise would not recommend. I would recommend no more than 1 week

    Food basically good Animation staff excellent but couple nights entertainment very poor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools were every nice but although there were signs asking people not to reserve the sun beds by leaving towels on them while they were off eating or whatever so finding a free pair of them together was difficult at times.

    The food was really very nice and the variation was good. The staff were very pleasant and most went out of their way to help and be helpful. The pools were every nice but although there were signs asking people not to reserve the sun beds by leaving towels on them while they were off eating or whatever so finding a free pair of them together was difficult at times. I would imagine it must be very difficult to find any together if you were a family or more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In fact just a huge big fodder (and money printer for the owner). Constant noisy construction work and enormous noise around. Insufficient staff in the main restaurant (despite the fact that the restaurant was full, many tables were nonsensically booked and some parts of the restaurant even closed!). Average quality of food, just value for money ingredience - but this is not a criticism / it is obvious when you cook for 700+ people. Some (probably local) noisy families were making troubles within the pool area (no security team at all). No check-out time extension possibility (even one of two rooms for 2 hours).

    Animation Team.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    One complaint is the evening entertainment was pretty bad - we went twice and stayed about 15mins tops and were laughing at it rather than with it. Would expect better from a hotel of this quality and of this price.

    I have specific dietary requirements and all of the restaurants associated with the hotel catered fantastically for me as did those in the nearby area. Main pool area is very relaxing, great variety of drinks available from the poolside bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location was terrible. All inclusive doesn't include all the cafes in the hotel, you get a voucher to spend on one occasion.

    Breakfast selection was good. Very close to bus station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets in pool area were disgusting Some had no doors and 2 of the ladies toilets Were filthy for at least 2 days Every thing else was very good

    Good variety of food. Friendliness of staff and Animation team were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    i found malta a bit dissapointing and would have been nice to be on a stretch of beach - this was mainly rocky shoreline with small beach area with a road between hotel and beach.

    escellent all inclusive food options and quality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bigger pool, or another pool for adults only.

    The food was brilliant, but if everyday was like the Sunday it would've been even better. I'd do the hash browns everyday if I was running the hotel. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. 9/10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is situated on a busy street near the sea front in Qawra/Bugibba. We found the hotel and the surrounding area too busy for our liking. Mealtimes were noisy and not very relaxing in the main restaurant. The Tagine and DBistro restaurants were quieter. The downstairs pool area is too small for the number of guests and the rooftop pool is only open in high season. The hotel seems popular with parties of all male and female guests presumably there to take advantage of Bugibba's nightlife. There was a lot of noise from major building work in the hotel next door which has been mentioned in other reviews. Fortunately our room was on the other side and this was not too much of a problem but was very loud in the pool area. There is a daily charge for use of the hotel car park and the availability of a space is not guaranteed.

    Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. The room was clean and spacious. Food was quite good for a hotel of this size with a range of choices. Well situated for visiting Mdina, Gozo, Valletta.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we stayed at the same time as a music festival on the island so lots of room parties took place which wasn't ideal with a young family. Equally the location of the room wasn't ideal due to building work on a hotel opposite as this started from 0630 daily.

    Facilities, food, entertainment, spa and the children's club was amazing so will certainly be back to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to what the hotel described as an upgrade and found dirty pillows, bed with human hair all over it, dirty bathroom with floormate containing a lot of mouldy gunk. Carpets leading to the rooms were worn and breakfast felt like camp feeding time. It took a complain to John the manager to get the room to near standard. The staff clearly do it want to be there (save for a couple of them). I recall one of the girls at the reception asking me if the room was "that way before you arrived". I am not sure how I composed myself through that question. At some point we had our keys deactivated and was told at reception that it was because I was owing money. Of course that was incorrect because I had fully laid on arrival. The attendant apologised and reactivate the keys only for me to be faced at checkout by another attendant with the accusation of owing money for an upgrade. In all a totally disjointed bunch.

    The lifts were clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WARNING! A construction is going on right next to the hotel. At 7:30 the Caterpillar breaker starts to work, even on Saturday. There are many rooms looking onto the site, so everybody has a good chance to be placed in one of these rooms. When we complained, the management gave us an other room, which was much smaller and worse equipped, than the first one.

    The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly, the food is OK.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not having a sunny balcony! Noisy guests!

    Very comfy & spacious room on 4th floor overlooking the pool and the bay. Excellent choice of food in the all inclusive package.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only thing was the hot drinks machine at breakfast time - Very slow.

    Very clean and friendly place. Food and Service was very good. Various other restaurants available (recommend) so you do not have to eat in the main dinning room all the time. Don't get me wrong, food in main dinning room was very good as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds were hard with not great pillows, other than that not really anything to complain about

    Good value for money, restaurants very good. Beer was Stella on draft, white, red and rose wine. Non brand sprits or low cost brands at a supplement. Indoor pool used (not large) as too cold for the out door pool, but that did look good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tight and a low groung room near pool would only be good in summer for persons with kids so be careful when booking and ask for a higher floor overall stay was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the weather.

    Bed was large comfy. Bathroom good with plenty hot water and fresh towels. Food was fantastic with extensive variation. Hotel was very clean. Evening entertainment was exceptionally good. Lots of staff who were all continually busy doing their jobs to make sure everyone has a good stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    food was lukewarm at best-had to change room because of a view of a blank wall-booking in took nearly an hour.

    the only saving grace was it was all inclusive

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sorry, but the girl at the pool bar was not friendly. While her colleague, a super nice guy working also at the restaurant, was great. One more thing that could be improved - in the sauna there should be benches or chairs for people who want to rest after hot sauna time, maybe some water could be distributed there too.

    The location is excellent, close to the sea and the bus station. Food very good, you can choose several restaurants to taste different food. Entertainment very good, every night. Staff at the reception super helpful and friendly. (Cakes for Helloween were excellent, beautiful organisation)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and the walls were very thin.

    The hotel was beautiful, the staff, food,cleanliness was amazing! All the facilities sauna, steam, pool and gym were in tip top condition. The food was brilliant value for money and the service was 1st class.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Main restaurant was a bit busy felt a bit like a canteen.Bistro seating a bit basic and televisions on the walls spoilt the ambiance. Bar and entertainment area also served as children's entertainment area until 9.30 PM ,It was wild in there children on the stage screaming and running around and most residents where an older age group.Not a place to relax after dinner. Swimming pool walls of indoor pool felt slimey

    rooms and bathrooms very clean ,good cleaning service. Food good but a little more choice for vegetarians would help. lovely view from the room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rudeness and arrogance of multiple managers including the general manager. Subject to unprofessional managers who don't care about guest or the fact you have paid a lot of money to stay here. Having your staff cry in front of guests, is NOT how you treat people. The general manager telling you the past is the past in not dealing with multiple complaints about his team. The past maybe the past, but you did a great job of making my holiday a disaster. I hope the people we spoke to who felt the same share their comments. If you want a circus for a holiday, this is the place to waste hundreds of pounds staying in!

    the location is great for exploring and close to shops and bars.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was slow at Cafe Maroc.

    Great visit, was upgraded to a family room with sea views. Food choice was plentiful, enjoyed meals in the various restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant at weekends was like a cattle market due to venues going on. This took the shine off the weekend.

    Everything was very good. The restaurant tables are far to close together.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could've been more varied and kept warmer... The drinks menu should be expanded

    I like the adult only roof top pool that was nice and relaxing. The interior was pretty and the hotel was kept clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was under the Chinese restaurant which was a bit noisy. If we come again I would like a different room.

    Food . Pools.and plenty of sunbeds.the rooftop terrace was lovely but a bit cold.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Brilliant hotel, the only criticism is the trip sold to me in the hotel was awful. It was a supreme Travel Day trip to Blue lagoon.

    Perfect, all inclusive, lovely food, lovely room lovely staff, lovey faculties

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Q-Zins could learn about customer service and at least leave a note when they close the restaurant and not just lock the door

    Views were great, reception staff friendly, the Animation Crew worked hard all day to entertain and amuse the guests

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass panels around bar,many could be moved back and for, this is thirty feet above ground poorly secured this was pointed out to management , on one corner a child could put its head through the gap between two panel's

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have an issue with the heading 'all inclusive' when there are things that are not part of this price. If you wanted anything other than basic wine, beer or some token cocktails you need to pay. Even in the Al a carte restaurant there were items on the menu that incurred an additional charge, amongst other things throughout the hotel, including an entire restaurant. The restaurant booking was equally badly organised. We would book for a restaurant days in advance and they would only have two time slots in the entire evening left available. And you are only allowed to eat at the Al a carte restaurant once in your whole stay. The hourly 3 song disco (always the same songs) blasted out from an amp in the middle of the pool and deckchair area, began to wear a little thin after a day, let alone a week. The nightly entertainment was very average. The area surrounding the hotel was uninteresting, with a short walk round the hotel and across the road to the small man made beach. This wasn't helped by the fact that our view from the room was 90 percent wall, with little daylight. On the whole there was nothing drastically wrong with the hotel or the country but both were just a little uninspiring. Neither are places I would return to.

    On the whole the food was good, give or take a couple of occasions, and they adequately provided clean water as the tap water wasn't drinkable. The addition of the adults area was a welcome touch, considering that the hotel seems to cater very well for children. No bad thing, but it was nice to be able to be separate from children if you so wished. The animation staff were very enthusiastic and I imagine would be loads of fun for the kids in the kids clubs. The aquarium is worth a visit, and is very close. It is also close to the bus terminal if you with to explore.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property had good standard and variety of restaurants to choose from each day. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast every morning. The front desk staff as we checked out could have been better. The gym/spa receptionist needs to better explain the towel usage situation for hotel guests to avoid confusion. The hotel needs to address the smell in the corridor between spa area and the wet area. More attention needs to be given to the up keep of the sauna and steam room as all free rooms were never fully operational throughout our stay. hotel staffs should not be apprehensive or timid to challenge guests were hotel rules are not being adhered to by hotel guests as this will continue to maintain the good standard in the hotel. The hotel should consider reviewing it's guests welcome package as is quite limited for a 4 star hotel. The kids club and the animation teams were excellent. We were also very impressed with how the room was cleaned each day. San antonio will be an option for future visits Thank you once again for accommodating us and the hospitality given to us. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require further clarification in relation to our comments.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The "ordinary" buffet at the bottom level was really good and diverse, every day something new! Even taking into account that the kitchen produces large quantities, the quality is still high. Polite staff, smiles all around. Clean and fresh inside. This hotel is really good with small children; the "Animation Crew" did a good job entertaining and activating people in the pool area daytime and on the stage in the big Kozy Bar in the evening, exellent job!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    teenage girls needed more variety very much geared for young families. one table tennis table. they never got one single game as there were always people on it. Entertainment was good apart from magician and band. should review these acts, everyone was leaving on those nights.mix up on arrival with payment.Was informed i had to pay with my credit card but i stated id already pre paid inclined not to believe me. however it was sorted out but left to feel it was my fault.after that plain sailing.Too much fish for meals.tour operator in hotel was ok. when he askedabout a certain experience with swimming with the dolphins i said it was a rip off as you dont swim as in swim with the dolphins you touched them. the reply was thats touisum for you. not a good reflection on promoting Malta

    lived up to expectations. plenty of variety rooms cleaned to high standard even though it was extremely busy no noise in corridors leading to hotel room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went in Aug. Sun loungers were cramped together. Very crowded and noisy. Not for someone looking for a quiet holiday.

    Choice of restaurants. Great views. Large clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food in all the restaurants was too oily. The strength of the cocktails depended solely on the bartender. It was shocking not to find any other teas besides black tea considering it is a four star hotel. The coffee from the machine was horrible and the only alternative was instant coffee. Every time we went to an all-inclusive hotel in and outside Europe, we could at least order a bottle of the cheapest and the best local wine for free - this option was not available. On the contrary, the cheapest local wine (which is not the best) was sold at the price of 10.50 euro when you could normally buy it for 3 euro at the supermarket. In all the all-inclusive hotels we've been to, we always had a selection of local biers, water and fruit juices in the mini bar - another thing which was missing.

    We liked the location of the hotel and our room which was quite clean and it had a balcony overlooking a nearby square. The entertainment was awesome. The therapists at the spa were very professional and we liked the side by side full body message.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottom line: Loved Malta, but would never stay here again. Also recommend that anyone else stay anywhere else. First if you do decide to stay here, bring something that moves constantly or else you will be sweating in your room. There is a motion detector and that is the only way to get the aircon to run. However even when it is on and the fans are running it is still more comfortable outside then in the room. Even the hotel would leave the doors to the outside open so there would be some air moving in the halls. The food ranges from bad to mediocre. Could not get into the bistro. Have to book more then a week out. DO NOT book tours from the desk in the hotel. The staff at the desk lied to us about every tour we took with them. The kid club staff was to busy watching TV and on the computer so the older children had to do my 4 year old daughters face painting. When I ask what the program was for the day they could not answer me. Hours are from 10-5. After our one experience we never went back. Move if they try to give you a room on the ninth floor. There are restaurants on the roof and you can hear the chairs sliding all night sometimes until 11. Not helpful when we asked for a quite room and have a daughter that goes to bed at 8. I raised these issues with the hotel before we left and asked that they arrange our transfer to the airport. They were very apologetic but when we checked on our transfer they had not booked it.

    Can not think of anything I really liked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Gueliz restaurant (main one) is terrible. Poor quality, overcooked, very crowded WiFi - don't bother, buy a data roaming package

    Nice rooms - Clean Powerful showers Gym & Spa

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Balconies a bit of mix. Some quite large but most others the tiniest I have ever seen at a hotel. Good if you get a half decent one, but a huge disappointment I am sure for those guests who have planned in their mind, sitting out of a morning with a coffee or an evening with a glass of wine and relaxing. Isn't going to happen if you get what I refer to as one of the bird cages. They are not really built for sitting out. Barely get a chair on these small balconies. Like being perched in a bird cage. Most strange. Also, there is no actual wardrobe in room. A single rail hung above a sort of chest of drawer unitl. A rail not nearly long enough to hold the clothes of one person, let alone two sharing a double room. Also any clothing, such as dresses, longer items, if hung on this rail then trailed onto the top of the chest of drawer unit which is positioned directly beneath the rail. Really is rather silly set up. Clothes naturally get crushed as they cannot hang freely, and you therefore cannot use the top surface of chest of drawers to place items you may need due to the clothing trailing onto it. I re-arranged the furniture. Moving the heavy chest of drawers to the other side of the room so that clothing could hang properly, and placed the suitcase rack underneath. So that clothing items all in one place. Also this clothing rail was hung to the side of the bed. All pretty odd and untidy looking. Not a lot of thought has been given to this. I cannot imagine how a family sharing the room would cope with such lack of hanging space. No real place to store bags/flight bags, shoes or any other type of clothing. The room I had was spacious which made it all the more bizarre as to why everything was crushed into one side of the room. The beds, the hanging rail the chest of drawers a round table with two chairs which curiously had been positioned under a TV which was on the wall.

    View from the upper floor balcony was glorious. Great swimming pools. Great spa. Great gymnasium. Great roof top pool where those more in their twenties etc tended to frequent. Great place for them without young kids around. For families, lots for the kids, their own play areas etc Dining was not spectacular but plentiful and quite varied. For families I am sure, something for everyone. They have a water filling station where guests can refill their empty drinking bottles before venturing out for the day/before going out for a jog etc. A great idea.which guests appeared to take advantage of which was good to see.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There could have been a few more sunbeds and the pool area was quite crowded, but since it was high season that was to be expected and it wasn't a problem.

    Great holiday, very relaxing, super staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything. This was the best holiday we have had in years. Hats off to the staff. Even the entertainment was great for the Kids. HIGHLY recommend for a family with kids 9-12

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Entertainment was OK Not the cheapest holiday

    Good size room and very clean Good choice of restaurants and food was excellent Pools Good service and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel is really clean and the staff that works there really nice. the food areas had a lot and defenitly something for everybody. my kids love the stay and at the pool ,tabletennis ,mini golf,pools and volleyball field. The best of it all to us was the nice set up of the 3different restaurants that you can book in the hotel,wich was the american style (burger,steaks,…)or the asian place on the roof top of the hotel with a super view or the indien /marrokon place in the hotel on the bottom . i would defenitly book this hotel again

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Music by pool was loud sometimes but pool staff were happy to turn the volume down when asked. Main restaurant was busy and a bit noisy at times - but it's a busy hotel so only to be expected.

    Hotel was in a good location and was clean and well maintained. Staff were all very courteous and friendly. Food choice was excellent with five restaurants to choose from. A totally stress free holiday experience, I've never done all-inclusive before but now I'm a convert!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    air conditioning did not work even after asking 6 times at reception. Had a very poor meal in the bistro restaurant

    most of the food was really good and all the staff apart from reception were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative

    Very friendly staff Pool area cleaned every day Rooms cleaned to high standard Can’t wait to book again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sunbeds too close together. Buffet dining room tables too close together.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the entertainment for the time of year was lacking

    Every thing was just excellant right for to the housekeeping

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    GOT A free upgrade to bigger room nice cakes and buffet variety kids club is awesome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar pool open , only two restaurants open no roof top pool open

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food on main restaurant s bit repeatatitive

    Friendly helpful staff, choice of restaurants, great pool :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse db San Antonio Hotel + Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: