Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexandra Hotel 3 stars

Schreiber Street, STJ 3081 St Julian's, Malta

#28 of 33 hotels in St Julian's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1406 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    3.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was decent - standard buffet, and location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where to start... Really disappointed in The room! It was nothing like in the pictures! we went for a relaxing holiday and The rooms looked very outdated compared to the pictures. We booked for a double room and got a twin room. I specifically booked this hotel because they had double rooms. I Told reception and they said that they didn't have any double rooms and that they would send someone to "make" it a double bed which was basically pushing the beds together which there was no point as one bed was higher than the other bed. We had an issue with the toilet in the room as well, the seat was broken which that was very uncomfortable and nothing was done about it. Sauna didn't go above 40 degrees which we were very disappointed about. Staff were friendly and answered our questions.. when we were able to catch them as there was ever only one person at reception and they were constantly busy. We paid quite a lot for the room for just a weekend and the hotel was nothing like it was pictured or described. Would never stay here again.

    Breakfast was decent - standard buffet, and location was ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    A downer to our trip, not as expected & not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get the rooms as expected by photos and a very lousy explanation to why. The rooms are a total rip off from what’s seen in the description as is the rest of the facilities. Definitely not worth the amount we spent on the rooms! Housekeeper came in and cleaned whilst we were sleeping and the overall experience was not good. The breakfast wasn’t too appealing either and only one receptionist was welcoming and friendly.

    The rooftop pool however it could be decorated to be a bit nicer

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    The location is close to the bus stop and main shopping area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No value for money. There was a deposit taken for the room key which was not returned. The pool was small and crowded. There was an additional charge for the electrical converter. I was asked to pay 50% of the daily rate for a late check out.

    The location is close to the bus stop and main shopping area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    Location in st Julian’s was really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived we felt disappointed with this hotel. We arrived at 1am, very tired after a day of traveling, only to be met with 1 person on reception checking in a group of 50 people, meaning we had to wait an hour to check in. Despite booking a ‘deluxe’ room, there was nothing deluxe about it, the room smelt of smoke, had a tiny bathroom, and was facing a large construction site which woke us almost every morning. We stayed over my birthday, which my boyfriend had emailed the hotel about, asking if there was anything they could do to make it extra special. Our email was ignored, and when he spoke to reception they said ‘they were aware it was my bday and something would be done’, yet on my birthday we heard nothing, and our rooms hadn’t even been cleaned!!! Every day we had problems with not being given the correct amount of towels, and our bedsheets weren’t changed the entire week we were there. Save yourself some money and stay somewhere else.

    Location in st Julian’s was really good! Good acres to transport, food, nightlife.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.8
    At least you have bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy place. Construction works across the street at daytime and youngsters in the bar at night + bonus, fire alarms in the middle of the night. Balcony doors almost not exist, so thin they are. If you wanna small fridge in the room-you will pay extra, if you don't have adapter-you will pay. You can't have bottles (even from water) in the room if you bought it not from hotel (it was written in the room booklet). It is allowed to smoke in the rooms. If I will squint my eye little more I could find more minuses, but I won't.

    Pool area. Sweet table on breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Super central.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get enough towels ever. Our lights were dim and one blew out while staying there. I was told I would have terrace or balcony but it appeared we got a budget room with only a small window. Shower flooded everything we showered and our little towels we did have were used to mop up the excess water.

    Super central. Heart of St. Julian’s. But not too noisy. Comfortable bed, ok size room. Pool on roof. Quiet hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Cosy hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote didn’t work on our TV. We mentioned this a couple of times and no effort was made to fix it.

    Breakfast was very good, all areas very clean, extremely well-located hotel. We were able to book day trips from Catherine who had a desk in the hotel and was extremely helpful. We had no electricity and this was resolved very quickly. There’s a nice atmosphere in the hotel. We had been before and will return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Rooftop pool was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't great but it did the job.

    Rooftop pool was great! Room was perfectly fine. Nothing to complain about. Very comfortable, bright and dark when you needed either or, location great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for staying with kids
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    First we got a room overlooking the inside yard which was hard to ventilate since the yard was full of A/C. The shower had no possiblity to be taken in hand, only one plug in the wall. The shower floor was not inclined well, so all the water went the opposite way it should have gone. The wash basin tap was horrible and full of calcus. We asked for this to be solved and since they could not do it, they kindly offered us a better room with sea view, which was really nice. The only downside to the new room was also older bathroom which was not kept regularly (the previous guests left their razor caps above the bath, the dusty lights, the brownish looking ceiling that should be washed). The smell of the wardrobes inside was bad. We had to keep them open all day, but it did not thelp. All in all it was a nice experience, but the little details like these should be fixed. Thank you.

    Excellent breakfast, great dinner, friendly staff. Proximity of bus station, the beach and the swimming pool on top. Expedite response to our requests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Very dissapointed. Ruined the holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud all night. Put us in an adjoining room and we could hear the couple next door having sex. Building work opposite woke us up at 6am every morning. Bad smell from air con. Bathroom had mould.

    Good shade at the pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor if you don’t eat (greasy) meat. Roof pool had a bit too few beds for number of guests and can get a bit lively late in the day.

    Great location. Very good staff. Roof pool is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    2.5
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received no towels in our room. I booked a double bed and was given two single beds. The handle of the bathroom door kept falling off, the overall standard of the hotel wasn’t great! Also there was two pools. Both very small with no deep part.

    The air conditioning was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall okay, wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    photos on the site didn't reflect the room at all

    Overall the hotel was okay, the price per night i paid was £110 and i expected a bit more, the photos on booking.com did not reflect the room at all. On arrival the reception is lovely, the staff are lovely, special shout out to Stella who was amazing and really looked after us. The shower was a trickle, the balcony door didn't lock, we did report this on arrival and the balcony door was fixed straight away and a new shower head put on, no difference with that. The room was cleaned daily and clean towels, so that was good. If i had paid a bit less for the room that would be okay, but didn't feel it was a good reflection on the room when i booked it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel for business stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the bathroom was low and full of calcus on the tap, smell in the closets like someone urinated there and the room needs to be refurbished since the wooden parts are chipped or the ceiling in the bathroom is yellowish. The lamps next to the bed need to be dusted, as well as the one in the bathroom. Since we did not spend too much time in the room, we managed, but I suggest cleaning the room more often.

    Location, staff expedite answer to our needs and requests, food in the restaurant for breakfast, dinner and grill party, the pool proximity and pool bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not much for vegetarians

    Nice location Clean rooms and good roomcleaning Very friendly people working there We had 2 family rooms (3 people) and were surprised by the big size of it. Close to the clubs, but yet very quite at nights to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Overall good, nice decor, nice atmosphere and the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool and the spa are a bit run down and need a bit of renovation. Air con is everywhere and too cold. The fire alarm sounded for two nights for no apparent reason. The toiletries are definitely cheap and of extremely poor quality. Might be worth investing in a more upscale supplier. I bought my own shampoo and shower gel as the quality was underwhelming. Also the towels are way too small.

    Overall good, nice decor, nice atmosphere and the staff was nice. The room was a decent size with space to put clothes. Cleanliness was ok, could definitely be improved.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    The staff were extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren’t a true representation in the photos that were online. Rooms were a little tired and needing of a revamp. Lobby, pool and breakfast area very nice.

    The staff were extremely friendly. The location was ideal with lots of bars and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing and below standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel initially put us in a standard room, but we had paid for a superior Seaview room. When we asked the night manager (we arrived at 11pm) about not being in the correct room, he said there were no other rooms and that it was what we booked (we were paying approx. €125 per night). The standard room had rust all through the fridge and on the toilet roll holder, the sink tap was completely mouldy and the room was generally unclean. The next day the staff were able to put us in the correct room, however the bed was very uncomfortable, probably the hardest mattress I had ever slept on. We questioned the staff and they said all beds in Malta were like this. Due to the error, upon checkout we asked for a discount/refund for the first night and the staff gave us only €10 back. We found the overall experience at this hotel, very disappointing and we wished we had booked elsewhere.

    The breakfast was a good variation of foods.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Location and staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed on Friday. Was a bit unusual.

    Location and staff were amazing. Some parts of the hotel could have been cleaner, but overall was a good experience!:)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    It’s location near to the night life and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my stay (September 2018) , there were ongoing constructions right in front of the hotel . Also : fire alarm goes on daily at 7 am .

    It’s location near to the night life and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Great crash pad for a scuba trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was described as 4 single beds or 2 doubles. In actual fact it is 2 single beds pushed together in the bedroom with a sofa bed in the living room/entrance area. There was also a fridge (rather noisy) in the same room and you had to walk through this to get to the bathroom. However there was plenty of room and as we were traveling to scuba dive we did not spend enough time in the room for it to overly concern us.

    The location of the hotel is great 5 mins walk down to the beach, 5 mins to the shops and 1min to some of the loveliest restaurants in the area. The roof pool is lovely but ensure you take cash as you can not charge purchases to your room or pay by card.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but could be much better . definitely we try different hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of communication between staff at reception . Breakfast was every the same .I felt bored eating it .first night we came we got standard room which we didn't like as we paid much more for superrior.for a damage in the room we paid double the price as we checked together with the manager how much costs to repair the damage .

    Hotel was clean ,cleaning service was very nice , reception staff polite.faccilities are exceptional . location is very good .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value average hotel with excellent rooftop pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn’t very cold, tv channels limited, breakfast was average, some staff at reception not very attentive

    Rooftop pool, rooms were clean, easy to organise tours and transport!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    2.9
    Terrible Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Check-in: We had to ask for more information about the pool, wifi, and breakfast as it was not given - Bed covers had a big hole in them, which looked like it was made from a cigar - The view was of a building in progress, due to this we couldn't use the balcony during the morning - Bathroom and bedroom had mould - The bathroom was in a very much need of a fix-up(cracked tiles, rusty knobs) - The night attendant was very rude to us when we were asking about the availability of coffee until we told him we were residents - Breakfast: Extra dry bread(not toasted) and croissants, found 2/3 hairs in the scrambled eggs - Indoor pool room had a musty/mouldy smell which put us off entirely

    - The mattress was very comfortable - Free coffee

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    A lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were extremely nice and helpful throughout our stay. Very nice with my 9 year old daughter and were super helpful. rooms, bed linen very clean and towels very fluffy. BBQ on a Friday evening exceeded expectations. Pool area clean. highly recommended and will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    I didnt like that nobody said anything about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that nobody said anything about the construction going on infront of the pool area in the email or while booking this hotel. That was really annoying when tired after long night wanted to relax near the pool and the workers are looking and making noise all day. Then I didn't like the system about the keycards. My friend had to leave it at reception when arrives first most of the time she forgot and then when I came later she slept and someone had to come and open for me. It's really annoying. Otherwise it was ok not a bad hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Very bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not like at the pictures of booking.com. I booked a suite with terrace and bathtub and it was like a small twin room with shower. I had to pay 470 euro for 4 night in an old hotel with no comfortable facilities. Furniture very old.

    Only the staff was very polite and friendly. Money back was thanks God possible. I booked with the same money a 4star hotel and it was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    The hotel needs some work.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some work. Our bathroom was awful, old and very smelly. The room was full of needless furniture. Clearly a hotel for 18 - 25 yr olds wanting to party!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that bothered me was that we had to leave the room key at reception whenever we had to leave the hotel And on return, the guy at reception just handed over the key without confirming any personal details.

    The Maltese receptionist who checked us in and out was super lovely. I don't remember her name, but she was really friendly and she deserves to be recognised. Breakfast and the size of the room exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, breakfast was good,but the rooms should be noise proff and all applicances working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sofa bed mattress was very uncomfortable you could feel the springs when you lay down, the kettle didn't work as well as the hairdryer in the bathroom. We had a child staying with us and the noise in the hallways and balconies at night time was waking him up from his sleep, drunk people ...well young adults screaming and shouting. And there was no phone in the room for us to ring Reception to complain about the noise level, they really should have a night guard on duty to prevent this noise.

    The Hotel is in a great location, Staff were friendly and helpful. great to have ticket sellers in the lobby for all the different sights. breakfast was great and bar pool excellent. Pool area was clean with nice views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room is very tired and luckily we stayed only 2 nights Very noisy during the nights - drank young people walking in the corridors and shouting

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Staff on reception were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs found in the bed. Terrible timescale (at least that's what I hope it was) on the bathroom sink tap, looked very grotty. No instructions for the safe in the room. Super noisy air conditioning. Also very noisy other guests. Had one night there before an early morning flight. Wouldn't return.

    Staff on reception were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    More of a youth hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was basic, not overly clean feeling, and dominated by youth on binge drinking holidays (not entirely the hotels fault - but good to know when booking).

    To not describe this hotel as a glorified youth hostel wouldn't be an honest account - however, for the money and the location for this type of holiday it would be perfect. Unfortunately we were on our honeymoon and had no desire to visit the clubs and bars in the area, but if we were, then it would be perfect. The staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    The swimming pools and the location, near to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, wifi connection at lobby was bad and rooms were old and not clean enough.

    The swimming pools and the location, near to everything. The staff was nice and ready to solve all the isssues.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Stay at Alexandra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price and the quality of the service in my opinion is not adequate. Chaise-longs are old and should be replaced. Room key needed to be reactivated every single day even it was not kept next to the mobile phone or other cards. When I asked to change a key nobody reacted. Breakfast is not worth payment,it's better to go somewhere and buy something delicious. It's strange when you pay deposit to get a key and for checkout you have to give paper filled manually to get your deposit back.however,key would not be givent without payment-no logic behind

    Staff was nice.location is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    For a quite affordable 3 star hotel it's pretty much ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wouldn't suggest the hotel to families or elderly people since it's mostly populated by young adults. Though i have to point out that a certain day there was a maltese annoying family using the pool (not sure if they were guests) who outmatched even the music being played in the speakers for the 3 hours everyone had to listen to them yelling at their kids. Breakfast and dinner are basic but quite tasty. And don't pick one of the top floors as the water pressure simply doesn't get there.

    For a quite affordable 3 star hotel it's pretty much ok. Nothing fancy but functional. Located in the busy area of Malta (bars, restaurants,clubs and business centers). Staff were very friendly and the pool on top besides not having more than 1meter depth was quite good to hangout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff were absolutely amazing, especially Romina on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon in the room was not great, and no WIFI in rooms. You had to purchase cards and it wasn’t a good signal kept dropping out, which was very frustrating while trying to speak to people in different countries! There was also a lot of young teens staying here or families but it was a good location.

    The staff were absolutely amazing, especially Romina on the front desk. Not only did she print out all of my flight itineries, she also let me return to the hotel and use their facilities when I had already checked out as I had missed my flight. Gave me towels to use, and held my bags in a secure room. I honestly could not thank her enough, what an angel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money. Extremely helpful staff and conveniently placed. Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water current in the shower was very light. I understand the idea of saving water but wasn't ideal

    I asked for some roses to be spread in the room as I was coming for my anniversary between me and the Mrs. All was done in such short notice. Great customer service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    The location is quite good and the breakfast meets the good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free wi-fi in the rooms (only in the entrance and does not work properly) and it is only provided only key card by room

    The location is quite good and the breakfast meets the good expectations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, excellent facilities, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise after hours, we were awoken several times by noisy guests I presume. The telephone in our room even rang at about 4.00am, I can only presume it was other guests messing which was not good as we had an early start the following morning heading for the airport.

    Facilities were excellent and breakfast next morning very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    The room we were in was fairly new & updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise off the street, the uncomfortable rock head beds, the very loud ac, the tiled floors which made everything echo, the fact you had to pay for access to the safe & fridge additional to the room charge & the breakfast was ordinary.

    The room we were in was fairly new & updated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location, facilities can certainly be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t expect a view, breakfast is substandard, very basic utilities provided, WiFi not in room, no gym, though it has 2 swimming pools - the one at roof is super crowded

    Location is amazing. Bus stops Ross and spinola takes you to almost everywhere in the island. All famous pubs and restaurants are located nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet seat broke, dirty tiles no wifi only if you paid , could not turn down a/c at night, swimming pool is a meter deep no good if your over 6 foot tall, , no knives at breakfast, and food was cold

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    All good after a bad start with a hideous airbnb experience this was bliss for about the same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit basic

    Great reception girls.. We landed a penthouse room for basic price...they were endlessly helpful and patient in every way Two swimming pools...indoor and outdoor..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is shockingly bad in terms of quality great variety but requires much better execution.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated. Many room have been updated but are still very old. I experienced a new room initially and would have been very happy with it.

    Staff were extremely helpful. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Small selection and poor quality at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small selection and poor quality at breakfast. Everything an extra charge wifi,fridge ect. No internet and water pressure on the 6th floor, furniture is old.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One key card, deposit and bit of paper for the towels for the pool, hard mattresses with plastic on them, WiFi only in lobby, small pool.

    Location was good. It was clean. Decent breakfast included. Good rooftop on 7th floor for sunbathing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. No fresh bread? Really? No butter? Gummy bacon? Not really what I had in mind for breakfast. No free wifi in the rooms - is this such a big cost for the hotel? Especially recommended for business trips?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Average but costly hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are pretty basic, average breakfast, parking available only at an adittional cost, pool water is not very clean. Pictures of the rooms are very different from reality. Sea view not available in regular rooms.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite disappointed with the wifi. I bought a €15 wifi card and it didn’t even work most of the time.

    Great location, rooms were clean. Breakfast included was good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    We liked the breakfast and the location of the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We pointed out in our booking that we are coming for our anniversary, however we were appointed to a room with two single beds which was connected to another room. We asked to change the room and Olga, one of the reception staff made a derogatory comment about us to the other receptionist in Italian assuming we wouldn’t understand “These two want to change the room now”. We also had pre-paid our room but were asked to pay again at reception. Based on our conversation it was clearly they haven’t even checked if we paid or not. In general the female staff of the hotel is a bit arrogant. We both work in hospitality and go extra mile for our clients whenever is needed so we feel we have to share our disappointment.

    We liked the breakfast and the location of the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Very nice location, clean and nice rooms, big wardrobe -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free wifi in the rooms. A major disadvantage for a business trip. Breakfast was quite poor - no really fresh bread for instance. And I do not know how you do that, but you can find great coffee in Malta. Everywhere except the hotels...

    Very nice location, clean and nice rooms, big wardrobe - rooms looked as 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows/doors weren't very sound proof so we could hear everything happening outside including drunken fights. The balcony view was a building site and when we asked to borrow an iron it took several hours to say no. Breakfast was okay but not the best, I ended up eating out of a bowl and couldn't find any knives, and drinking juice from a mug because the tables weren't set (I did come down shortly before breakfast finished) and couldn't find a member of staff to ask for what I needed. The bathroom was a "wet room" that didn't drain very well so the entire floor got soaked from a short shower which also went under the bathroom door into the main bedroom, nothing was supplied to try and push this water towards the drain so the floor stayed wet most of the time. Not much parking nearby and most roads are closed off at night to protect party goers so it's a long way round if you can't find a parking space.

    Staff were very friendly along with giving advice on the local area, and always greeted us as we walked into the lobby. Bed was fairly comfortable. Good location if you want to be in Paceville for partying and you're not driving.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is currently getting revamped as far as I could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel breakfast was of a poor standard, we had breakfast in close cafes or down by the bays, much better idea and still cheap.

    The hotel is currently getting revamped as far as I could tell and we were in one of the newer rooms which was clean and air conditioned. However; there is construction work going on directly across the street which woke us up around 6 every morning but we didn't mind so much. The pools are great, very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only issue we had with the hotel was the breakfast. There was a great selection: fry, toast, cereal, salads, cakes..but it was of a very low standard. Otherwise, great and central hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    The bedsheets and towels were changed daily.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a noisy area, the window was towards a construction site, so you coud not pull the drapes or open the window without workers seeing you, the wifi was free only in the lobby.

    The bedsheets and towels were changed daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to pay for extra things such as WiFi (should be a requirement to provide it free for guests!), the safe and the fridge. Housekeeping didn’t clean anything. They just made the bed with the same sheets.

    The hotel is in the heart of St Julian’s which is a very lively area. Close to bus stops, supermarkets and restaurants. Also has two swimming pools and a sauna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel location was great less then 5minute walk to bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the hotel was abit noisy at night.

    The hotel location was great less then 5minute walk to bars restaurants and shops. The beds were made daily and clean towels daily. The room was a small enough which wasnt a problem as their was only 2 of us. My own problem was we could hear our neighbour's conversation quiet clearly and there was a joining door in between our room (obviously locked) but if ur looking for a lie in this would disturb it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free wifi only available in the lobby and rooftop. Poor connection. additional cost required for wifi in the rooms.

    Good location, close to all the clubs and night life along with many restaurants nearby. Excellent buffet breakfast- included both continental and full english (eggs, bacon, beans, sausages etc). Rooftop pool and indoor heated pool were great for relaxation. Heated pool was great for the evenings when it was a bit chilly. Staff were very helpful and we were able to book tours to gozo and blue lagoon from the hotel agent. Room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking a construction site- luckily not noisy to wake us early in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was clean and breakfast was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff could have been more cheerful.

    The hotel was clean and breakfast was fine. Our room was in the 6th floor so it was pretty peaceful and the noise from the street didn't bother us that much. The pool area was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    2.5
    This is by far, the worst hotel I've ever been. Avoid at no cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything could be better in this place, and probably not must worse. The hotel is not exactly cheap, abut it does not even provide shampoo or shower gel. The "continental breakfast" is poor and the quality of the food isn't great (the coffee was horrible). The water from the toilet sink is undrinkable but oh surprise, they don't allow you to fill up water bottles in the breakfast machine (forcing you to buy bottle water in such a hot country with SO much plastic rubbish around). Moreover, they allow groups of men to drink alcohol (bought outside) and make their own parties in the pool, pushing away the rest of the clients. Furthermore, I had to call the hotel because there were naked men showing themselves around in the room balcony, in a clear case of sexual exhibitionism, which in case of having children could even be considered as a crime. The shower had no water pressure and it was partially broken (see photo). The bed sheets weren't clean and they didn't change them in the four days we were there (we checked, and I doubt they changed them after we left). They didn't take the toilet bin bag (which was full, believe me) in two days, nor did they take the plastic packaging from the soap (this and tissues is the only thing you would find in the bathroom), or the glass, which was dirty after we used it one night. This is by far one of the worst hotels I've ever been, and I have been in a few crappy places around the world. I won't really recommend to stay in St Julian's, but if you do, I would advise you not to stay in this hotel. Expensive (486€ for 4 nights) and horrible. I'm actually relived that at least we were there four nights only.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area was really Nice! Rooms were Ok, but definitelly price was way too high for the quality. Breakfast was dull and restaurant was not that cosy. There were lots of party-bars around The corner, but not very Nice walking areas by The sea. Sliema area is lot nicer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    2.5
    AWFUL STAFF EXPERIENCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    320/5000 I DO NOT LIKE THE HOTEL, BUT NOT FOR THE ROOMS, OR FOR CLEANING, EVEN SITUATION IS GOOD. HOWEVER THE WORST THING THAT CAN HAPPEN ON HOLIDAYS IS THAT YOU ARE TREATED AS AN ANIMAL, IT IS REALLY DISAPPOINTING HOW THIS HOTEL CONTRACT PEOPLE WHO DO NOT KNOW HOW TO TREAT CLIENTS, ESPECIALLY THE MAITRE OF THE RESTAURANT (JAMES), A PERSON UNPLEASANT, IMPOLITE AND LIAR. MY WORST EXPERIENCE WITH ANY HOTEL STAFF EVER. STRONGLY NOT RECCOMENDED

    JUST THE SITUATION

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    It was ok but not what I was hoping for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How quite the hotel was . Nothing going on there even by the pool which is on the rooftop. Did not live up to its photos online

    The staff at reception were fantastic our room was facing a building site of an apartment block and the dust was just killing me if I went on the balcony I asked to be moved to another room and there was no problem doing so they gave us a lovely room with plenty of air . It's was not the fault of the hotel as the whole of St. Julianvis under construction. The staff were super nice and some of the dinning staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place to get wedding ready
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this hotel. We went for a wedding so we were only there for 48 hours and needed everything to be quick and easy and it was. Lovely staff, great breakfast, 2 swimming pools and an amazing location. Great holiday!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was nice and the bathroom big.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi wasn't free. The fridge wasn't free. There was no adaptor for european socket for free but you could buy one from them. For what ? I don't use it in my country. They could lend it to the clients not sell it. But it's another way to make money. I was afraid to ask anymore because every question ended with "You have to pay". I paid for the fridge and at the end they asked again to pay because they didn't register the payment.

    The breakfast was nice and the bathroom big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Would go back again but they do need to improve their breakfast .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a chambermaid with long blonde hair from Serbia who was exceptionally friendly, always very pleasant to talk to in the morning .

    Hotel very well placed , staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    the hotel was worse than what was shown in the pictures.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel was worse than what was shown in the pictures. the staff's attention was not good. I had a problem during my stay and they have not answered me or come up with any solutions for over a week. In my room there were damp patches on the walls. The breakfast is pretty bad. I would not recommend any person traveling for business to spend a night in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the hotel, staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym and alarm going off

    Polite and friendly staff, room was cleaned every day. Breakfast was excellent much to choose from. Evening in the bar very entertaining

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Very low price hotel, must be taken in consideration when booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like the quality of a breakfast food, the loud bar on the street that was disturbing my sleep on everyday bases. I didn't like that they accommodated me and my boyfriend in a room with two single beds, with a door separating us from the neighbors room. We could hear every single word and sound they made in this room next door. Afterwards we asked for a double bed (just as I was specifying and requesting in the booking). I also didn't like that all the utilities (such as hair dryer, WiFi, fridge) that must have been paid per day if wanted to be used. The free WiFi offered from the hotel in a lobby and a bar, was very slow. It is not possible to swim in the small 1,5m swimming pool.

    I really liked the friendliness and kindness of the stuff working at Hotel Alexandra and the comfortable bed where we got to sleep in. Location of this place was very convenient for relaxing, eating, commuting to another parts of island and also sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    Old fashioned but price is ok is you book early enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi on the rooms, old fashioned with cheap furniture, no bath (only shower). Breakfast was 90-iets style with a lot of sugar and fat. No healthy choices. Fire alarm started several times without reason.

    Price and balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI is free only in the reception area and for example you need to pay an extra charge to use the fridge and the safe. Breakfast was okay with variety of food but the coffees were horrible. I had one from the bar at an extra cost and was good.

    Location very central, near Paeceville (one of the party hotspot of the island). The hotel also has a nice outdoor pool at the 7th floor and a re-heated pool with sauna and jacuzzi downstairs. Cleaner comes every day. Staff quite helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Handy for buses routes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large building 7stories being built just across the narrow street cutting off the view Booked and paid for a taxi to take us to hotel which did not turn up Paid for taxi at the airport which turned out to be cheaper than booked one . Hopefully I will get my payment refunded

    Handy for buses routes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Close to public transport, bars and restaurants .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only available in the lobby for free. Building work next door not the nicest of views, but not really the hotels fault.

    Close to public transport, bars and restaurants . Nice indoor pool , great breakfast buffet style hot or cold, full english available. The rooms where very clean and fresh towels daily we where on the 6th floor and the room was vey quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Neighborhood is a drinking neighborhood!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I payed for a double bed and they give me a singe bed. The room was like unfinished. And you can listen everything from the other rooms.... Coffee in the morning was horrible. The neighborhood is a drinking neighborhood!

    The location was ok to me because of my meeting but...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    Good wifi connection , okay breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly noisy area, I really had trouble with falling asleep ,not impressive facilities , cleanliness of the bed sheets could be improved too

    Good wifi connection , okay breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alexandra Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: