Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. St. Julian's hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Alexandra Hotel

Reviews of Alexandra Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schreiber Street, STJ 3081 St. Julian's, Malta

#30 of 36 hotels in St. Julian's

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1777 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    4.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing bad regarding the price.

    Nice hotel in St.Julian. Situated a bit off Valletta. There is a bus stop 300m away from the hotel however, with many frequent buses leaving for Valletta ( 25min trip ). Many nearby underground parking lots ( at around 9€ per day ). St Julian is a modern district which seems to be a nightlife centre near Valletta. The hotel however is quite. It offers a good breakfast and the room is cozy and clean. Did not have time to check the indoor swimming pool, there is another one at the terrace as well, which is open during the summer months.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.3
    It had an excellent pool area indoors, with sauna and hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is in an area where there are a lot of younger people. St. Julien is a party area and can be loud at night. Staff certainly didn’t go out of the way to be friendly. No one was rude, just a different tone after just being in Spain where everyone was very friendly.

    It had an excellent pool area indoors, with sauna and hot tub. Location was good right near water. Lots of restaurants near by.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.4
    Shower and basin drain was stuck/block without proper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower and basin drain was stuck/block without proper draining. It was no support to borrow plugs adapter for the electricity supply (only buying option).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing I liked
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything I didn’t like ! The walls are very thin so will be ready to hear everybody in the nearest room . Near the hotel there are construction works about which the hotel doesn’t tell you

    Nothing I liked

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.3
    I got what I paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s says our room were city view not oh oh no no! We got first floor, old and trying to refurbished. I don’t like it’s not sound proffered! I. An hear and very loud people walking around 5am at the hall way! Banging the door, the floor is sleek,! But everything was good and fun to stay! Oh bfast is thumps up for that.

    It’s fair ! I got what I paid for! These hotel is sorrounded by the restaurant , minutes walk to bus station,bars,in short in city! All hotels in Malta are refurbished and it’s fine as long as we have fun. I just don’t have a choice to get this hotel. I booked the same night we arrived in Malta. And all hotel are non refundable. So ,guess it’s a best choice everything was ok.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    4.2
    Good location, for one night stay is ok, but for more don`t book it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It`s not as expected! Rooms are dirty, bathrooms with mold and no water pressure in the bathroom. Very dirty in the lobby as well and not good wife. The Trainee was not polite and the Front Office Manager as well. There was only one nice lady who was helpful and caring.

    The location is the only good thing about it

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    4.6
    For the price we were satisfied with the hotel but would not revisit it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Hotel is in need of refurbishment. There was some dampness in the room. the area around the shower was deteriorating with paint flaking and rust showing.

    Breakfast was included in the price. Staff were helpful. Location was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast with wide range to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building work across the road was a disappointment. The noise was very disturbing in morning and while trying to lie out during the day.

    Very good breakfast with wide range to offer. Bedroom a bit old and rundown. Lovely roof top pool. Staff were very helpful. We had small issue with the shower but it was sorted quickly and the cleaning staff were very nice (one tall blonde lady in particular).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    clean and tidy.... in a decent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we were given a room that adjoined to another. unfortunatly the people in the next room had a few drinks every night and would keep trying the door between the 2 rooms also you could hear everything... even them going to the toilet. They had friends in the room across the hall and would run in and out of each others room. i think more thought should go into allocating rooms. first thing every morning the construction site beside the hotel would start at 6.30 am . also the way our balcony was in the corner you could look right into the other room when they pulled there curtain back.

    the staff were really nice and very friendly. the room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    5.8
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad service. We asked for a kettle the first night we arrived and told they have run out and ask the next day and when we did that, same situation and by that time we were leaving. They said they can bring hot water upstairs for tea but it will cost us EUR4, which is crazy. Additionally, one of their lifts did not go to our level but every other level worked. We had to go up one level and then walk down.

    The bed was comfortable and location was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.4
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a (closed) door leading to another room, and we could here EVERYTHING that happened there: from people talking to taking a shower. Overall, it was very noisy on the floor too. The water in the shower smelled of chlorine and wasn't going away quickly.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Mid week break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom in need of some updating and beds/bedding well used. Indoor pool is salt water

    Friendly, helpfull staff, excellent breakfast buffett, good location for restaurants, local small supermarket and tourist attractions

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent customer service & restaurant but Room may need some changes ,Currently looks outdated !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room Furnitures a bit out of date ,room and cooridor curtan's looks like they need to be replaced with lighter colour ...the basement pool and corridor may need to be much more cleaner.

    Exelent customer service , the lobby looks tidy modern and welcoming, restaurant perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.1
    "Too pricey for such kind of property"
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the hotel looks elegant but in relation to its facilities and the comfort it can provide, it should not be too pricey, especially when it's not the peak season. The pillows and beds were a little bit hard, not too comfy to lie on. The wifi has no password, so it's not secure. In the first day of our stay, the drain in the shower wasn't draining properly. So the water pooled on the bathroom floor and in minutes the bathroom was flooded(but i complained about it and the staffs took actions quickly).

    The set-up of the hotel looks elegant. Staffs are friendly and make sure to attend quickly to your needs or concerns. The location is good. The bus stops are just nearby and there are lots of restaurants, bars, cafes, grocery stores & even spas around where the hotel is located. The breakfast was awesome. There were lots of food & drinks to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony would be better if it had a handle on outside of door.

    Hotel was lovely and in a great location. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Great facilities too! View from balcony was beautiful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was cold the hotel just looks a bit worn could do with a make over and our deluxe room was very small and had a few damp patches

    The location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    An Awesome Stay! Would Definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing which was a bit annoying was the TV which didn't have a lot of channels and considering my partner doesn' t understand Italian, channels were very limited.

    The Hotel was very comfortable as position. The pool ares were very nice and the sauna was a bonus. Breakfast food selection was very good ! Wifi was great and so were the staff. The bed was very comfortable and loads of extra pillows.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is very central, lots of work going on around. Also a bar quite nearby and can be noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were initially given a room which was very dark and old fashioned. We asked to be moved after the first night and then we were given a really lovely modern room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good apart from the above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A larger balcony, construction site across the road, jack hammers and drilling all day long,tower crane operating over the pool areao

    Handy for the pubs and bars, restaurants

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.8
    Swimming pool, sauna, location of the hotel near bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from construction of building opposite the hotel, we were woken up by hotel’s fire alarm which was ringing without reason during the night, staff in hotel was not so polite, breakfast was not so good...

    Swimming pool, sauna, location of the hotel near bus stop.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, tasty breakfasts and pool were great. However, this is not a luxury apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location of the apartment, unfortunately loud parties in the bar to the night and renovation of the building during the day were very disturbing

    Plus it's location and available pools and a rich breakfast offer. Good location and large bed, tasty breakfasts and pool were great. However, this is not a luxury apartment and needs renovation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.2
    Everything was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I would comment on is the AC in the room as it was not cooling the room at all.

    Everything was very good..room,breakfast service, indoor pool etc.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    2.9
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bugs in the room, dirty floor, a lot of dust everywhere, noise from the street, very old furniture with very bad smell I DO NOT RECOMEND!!!

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    3.8
    I like pictures of this hotel, cleaning staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Next to a construction site, couldnt sleep whole 7 days from 7am! paperthin walls - could here everthing from the next room, we switched room 2 times. underwhelming breakfast with many unhealthy options. Deluxe rooms far from deluxe.

    I like pictures of this hotel, cleaning staff was nice. Distance to the center acceptable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    Really central location, easy to walk everywhere you want,...
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sink was clogged, water would not go down at all. Also when I visited, there was a pretty big construction project right across a very narrow street, so it was relatively noisy. The bed was kind of hard. Also the door would not lock on its own when leaving the room, I had to call the reception for help and apparently you have to pull a pin out or push it in before leaving for it to lock. Kind of confusing and have never encountered anything like this before, so be careful not to leave your room unlocked accidentally! Also absolutely no list of numbers near the telephone, would be helpful to at least have some kind of a note that you can call 0 for reception, etc.

    Really central location, easy to walk everywhere you want, room actually looks quite nice for a low price, so a pretty good choice when travelling on a budget.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.8
    5/5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn't great. The construction site across the road.

    Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was great, with a sea view as advertised.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast selection is a little bit poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection is a little bit poor. The biggest minus of the stay was that it is a bit noisy in the room. Door have 4 cm chink in the bottom so you can hear when people are talking, laughing etc. There is construction side in front of the hotel which can be a bit unpleasant sometimes. Overall stay was good, great location, close to the rocky beach, food store and St Julian's party street.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.2
    Family suite is big and comfortable (2 beds and sofa bed).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You can hear the voices and sounds from the hall and from neighbouring rooms. There's no wifi in the rooms.

    Family suite is big and comfortable (2 beds and sofa bed). Breakfast is good. Staff is helpful and friendly. Location very good when staying in Malta (good bus connections).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.9
    After asking to change the room because it wasn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the first room we got had an internal door comunicating with another room that means no privacy at all. It was small and dark and had two single beds instead of the double bed we booked for

    After asking to change the room because it wasn't meeting our expectactions and what we booked, they immediately gave us a nice room, with decent space, a very comfortable double bed and a nice balcony

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    4.2
    Upon arrival the hotel didn’t find my reservation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon arrival the hotel didn’t find my reservation. Afterwards they didn’t find the key of my room...Opposite the hotel the construction starts every day (also on weekends) at 6.30. Since 6.30 was impossible to sleep in the room because the noise of the works. In the afternoon was impossible to study in the hotel. The room was smelly, I had to buy an air freshener. I didn’t sleep first night because the locker was low - battery and made a shrill voice repeatedly. Hair dryer didn’t work, clogged sinks. I had to speak with the reception 3 times to get an invoice for the room. At my arrival I gave them all my company’s information....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, lovely staff. Great holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could do with a bit of an update and a couple more English channels on the tv would be great, BBC World News on a loop and the same reports day after day were mind numbing. but this comment takes nothing away from the overall experience of the hotel

    The staff were lovely. Very helpful. Facilities were good. Rooftop pool nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.4
    Would not opt for this Hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uncomfortable bad...Low pressure shower..missing hot water most of the time..Staff insists that you take hotel cabs and do not call public cabs..they charged extra by saying that room was having harbour view but there was none from my room !! Felt cheated.

    Only good thing about this hotel was breakfast..nothing else..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.9
    Thanks for everything Malta 🇲🇹
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the beggining we had a standart room and it was very old.. i Dont recommend it. The staff helped us inmediatelly to change it. The next day we upgraded to a superior room which was very nice and was very good value for the price paid.

    The best part was the view to the see from the superior room and the staff was very efficient and kind. Thanks for everything !!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location for diving (Divewise) and use frequently; will use again but needs to be cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy Italian students; there seemed to be no control. Old lift failed to call etc on many occasions and commented on by other guests.

    Staff very good, particularly barman. Cleanliness and room attendance good. Outdoor upper and lower pools just about right - good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs an upgrade for the rooms

    The location is perfect and knowing that is the party city the hotel was very quite, comfortable beds big rooms friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    6.3
    The room was nice and modern bed was big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you stay at the front of the hotel you could kept awake until at least 3am. There is bar on the corner right beside the hotel and the streets are full with people screaming and shouting every night until the early hours. Also the construction work across the road will have you woken every morning at 6am. There is no view from the hotel the curtains have to be closed all the time cause anyone can see into your room.. the pool on the roof is very small and sun beds around the pool are very minimal. Also the construction workers across the road just stand up staring at the guest who are using the rooftop pool. The buffet breakfast is like been at a zoo. You can get anything from cereal to toast. Hash browns eggs rashers sausages. A lot of items you would never see on a breakfast menu anywhere.

    The room was nice and modern bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.1
    Pay attention to the room you book
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked a standard room, looked fine on photo but when we arrived, the room didn't look at the room on the picture in any aspect. The room was really really old, yet it was clean, except for the airco, didn't seem very hygienic, also there was a hole in the ceiling of the bathroom, there was only a little window to refresh the bathroom that went to a little technical room (i think) and it didn't smell very nice.. When we took a shower, water was coming from the ceiling in the room and eventually we got another, much nicer room.. this room was a comfort room and was clean, modern, with all the comfort we needed. Staff was friendly but the manager wasn't really enthousiastic about giving us another room, he was looking for excuses to let us keep the room. So when you book a room at Alexandra hotel and you book a standard room, be sure you get a room from the pictures like the one at booking.com or book a comfort/luxe room. Location is good and central but can be noisy because it's close to bars where a lot of people go out to party.

    location: a lot to do in the neighbourhood for drinking or eating, central, only €20 from the airport by taxi close to busstop swimmingpool inside and outside looked ok, didn't use it

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent - in the centre of town with loads of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tiny and air conditioning had no proper settings..either on/off, high or low Surrounding - building site at the moment

    Location was excellent - in the centre of town with loads of restaurants, bars. swimming pools - one outdoor on the roof and one indoor Cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    3.8
    ANTS, ANTS and MORE ANTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    EVERYTHING. The bathroom and toilet doesnt match up to the room.They were very outdated and dirty We had to reaquest a new room the next day due to flooding of the bathroom. There were ants everywhere they even crawled up my sisters face while she was sleeping. The breakfast was the bare mininmum for the price we paid.. The hotel staff were not helpful at all and it seemed like they had been fed answers to tell us. The daily cleanliness was not up to scratch and could have been improved. The rooms had no carpets

    Location made it easy to get around malta

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    2.5
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    False representation on internet. See pics. The first pics show what it actually looks like vs. The last 5 pics displayed on the internet. Linen was not ironed and pillow cases were torn. Curtains couldn’t close properly. Room was boiling hot and aircon swivel function is broken and makes an extreme noise when on. Fridge was not switched on so couldnt use it immediate. I was even advised that the fridge is at additional cost. The bathroom window opens into the cavity where the pipe system runs through and not safe. Could not lock it, had to jam it. Room interior is dated and damaged. I paid double the normal rate from 10-13 October and shocking if looking at the state of the room. Even the picture of the balcony gives a false hope of one that is covered and has a sea view, which I thought I would get. However the actual terrace is a slab with room above overlooking. And the view was into other apartments. Constant construction work going on, grinding of tiles at 07:30 is not appreciated. Totally disappointed due to false advertising.

    Location, walking distance from shops, beach, restaurants

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.4
    Would recommend everyone to stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable. Also the staff were super helpful. Food was good and the pool and indoor pool were excellent. Also the room and the hotel itself are very clean. Also the fact that the hotel is very near clubs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    3.8
    Just disappointing as bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, it was just disappointing. Room facilities were the worst I’ve been. Super old and in bad conditions. Not like the pics, at all!! It must been a good hotel In a far away past. Now, is just old fashioned. The staff was rude in general and were always trying to dispatch us when we were having breakfast. Food not fresh. Even when we were sleeping early in the morning the cleaning lady tried to enter without knocking on the door. Our toilette pips were rusty Bed sheets weren’t big enough for the bed and when noticed my feet were touching the uncomfortably mattress.

    Close to st.julians center.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.2
    Girls trip Oct 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only complaints are the shower pressure was really low and quite of few of the sun beds on the roof terrace were broken.

    Modern, clean. Good room size. Friendly staff. Excellent location for bars and restaurants. Had a really enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    My second stay
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For me there are no negatives. Use this hotel twice a year for short stay with others. Will be with my wife on my next trip in March 2019

    Clean, tidy. Excellent staff. Very helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, beautiful view, easy to get to bus stop and from there travel all over the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff seemed grumpy and uneager to help. Opening hours for the pools made it impossible to use the pools if you wanted to get something out of the day. We would have liked to go for an early morning swim and a swim when we got back in the evening. Not possible when pool closes at six pm and does not open until 10 am. The breakfast was not all that great. The coffee did not taste like coffee, it was at times hard to find cups and glasses, the orange juice did not taste like orange juice, bread and croissents were dry. Noise passed between rooms - we could hear everything our neighbors said. Too many drunk guests making noise in corridors at night, behaving not so well in elevators etc. Rooftop pool too cold.

    Short walk to wonderful swimming. Some of the staff were just wonderful and very helpful. Beautiful view from our room. Short walk to bus stop.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    5.4
    Like the facilities such as the indoor pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lobby bar was overpriced. We paid over 16 euros for a beer and a mix drink. The room seem basic for a suite with terrace. Poor bathrooms and old furniture. We had ripped sheets and the room never got clean in our four days. Not worth your money.

    Like the facilities such as the indoor pool. The breakfast buffet was great. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.1
    Not really value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not really value for money. Old furniture, poor bathrooms. We had to have curtains closed all the time, because you could look in our room from 4-5 balconies.

    Great location. A lot of restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Good brekfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    3.3
    An outdated Overpriced property with a great location. Comfort is not included in the price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is very old and outdated. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable I woke several times during the night. You could feel the springs. Fortunately the gave me another bed quite quickly which was appreciated. We found a cockroach on the wall but the reception wasn’t keen to do anything about it. Breakfast is of very low quality. We could only eat the salad. We are usually not picky.

    The location is perfect!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    Extraordinary location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattresses were hard and pillows way too used up. The breakfast buffet wasn’t delicious.

    The rooftop pool (there was a construction at the time so the view wasn’t great) Location was perfect. Surrounded by restaurants and bars, yet not loudly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.9
    Location was perfect, partial sea view from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m not even sure if the bedsheets were ever changed during our stay there. It just looked like the bed was made everyday and not even made properly. There was building work going on opposite which is not the hotels fault but a little annoying to be woken at 7am every morning to drilling. How can I describe breakfast (interesting) not sure I’ve ever seen onion rings at breakfast before.

    Location was perfect, partial sea view from our balcony. Hotel staff very friendly and had our room ready before 2pm as I didn’t feel well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.5
    Alexandra Hotel has a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was poorly equipped.

    Alexandra Hotel has a very good location. The stuff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean but I am not satisfied with comfort. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Orange juice and limited options of tea at breakfast. Bring your own soap and shampoo as this is not provided in the rooms. Beds could be more comfortable/softer

    Rooms were clean and renovated. Breakfast was good for a three star hotel. Everything as you expect it to be. Hairdryer was provided in the room (attached to the wall).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    5.8
    Basic but clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s opposite construction site, it’s very noisy It’s in a party area of a city (think Marbella with lots of drunk people) Buffet breakfast was really disappointing- poor quality food with same boring option every single day

    Comfortable bed Clean rooms, fresh towels every day Top floor pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff wasn’t very friendly. They charge a 10€ deposit for the plastic key card. And when we returned it at the end and asked for the deposit back, they said we needed the handwritten paper receipt, which we had to hunt for! It was also very noisy and someone pulled the fire alarm early in the morning twice in a row. On top of that the bed was hard and uncomfortable.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.3
    Overall it was a nice stay, we needed the hotel to sleep only, we were out all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been cleaned better, the pillows were awfully too hard, the shower was not draining quickly enough.

    Staff was really helpful and nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    3.3
    Very poor reception;
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor reception; we arrived a 2pm when check-in normally starts but our room wasn’t ready. We were told to wait a few minutes and they would tell us once it is ready. When they told us it was ready, we went to the room and they hadn’t even started; we had to wait another 40mn, they barely apologised and gave us a voucher for an orange juice to keep us quiet... when the room was finally ready, it wasn’t cleaned properly either. Out of 3 nights, the fire alarm rang twice. Also adding to this, the system to close the room door is so bad that you have to bang it... imagine how many doors are banging all night long! We were lucky enough to have a room facing the construction site too... works started before 7am! I would absolutely NOT recommend this place, both because of the amenities and the service received!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the few days when I was there, it was extremely windy. I had a room on the 6th floor, with an amazing view overlooking the bay - it was supposed to be a good thing but at night when the wind started howling, it made a lot of noise which prevented me from sleeping. Not sure it is the hotel's problem, but I don't know if there is anything they can do about it. Also the facilities inside the hotel are very old fashioned. The staff did not explain any facility available within the hotel and the brochure inside the hotel is not well documented neither...

    I am very content with the breakfast - they have gluten-free bread, please ask the staff for it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some members of reception staff were very rude and unhelpful. The pool area isn't as nice as the photographs. Bar food and breakfast buffet was basic. If you are put in room 124 asked to be moved by a manager as this room is above a busy bar, very noisy at weekends.

    Our room was cleaned everyday, the masseuse was lovely and sorted out a free massage when we had an issue.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel in a lovely place. Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been more options at breakfast. One day the maid put on wet bed sheets. We were charged more than quoted on booking.com

    The rooftop pool was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing staff, great place to stay and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pools are a little small than what it looks like

    The beds were nice and comfy, amazing breakfast with great variety and friendly staff. Would definitely come again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    The entire staff were pleasant and helpful which made the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    The noise from the adjoining businesses. the arrogance, ignorance, disrespect and bad behaveour of some international tourists.

    The entire staff were pleasant and helpful which made the stay all that more enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was decent - standard buffet, and location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where to start... Really disappointed in The room! It was nothing like in the pictures! we went for a relaxing holiday and The rooms looked very outdated compared to the pictures. We booked for a double room and got a twin room. I specifically booked this hotel because they had double rooms. I Told reception and they said that they didn't have any double rooms and that they would send someone to "make" it a double bed which was basically pushing the beds together which there was no point as one bed was higher than the other bed. We had an issue with the toilet in the room as well, the seat was broken which that was very uncomfortable and nothing was done about it. Sauna didn't go above 40 degrees which we were very disappointed about. Staff were friendly and answered our questions.. when we were able to catch them as there was ever only one person at reception and they were constantly busy. We paid quite a lot for the room for just a weekend and the hotel was nothing like it was pictured or described. Would never stay here again.

    Breakfast was decent - standard buffet, and location was ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.2
    A downer to our trip, not as expected & not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t get the rooms as expected by photos and a very lousy explanation to why. The rooms are a total rip off from what’s seen in the description as is the rest of the facilities. Definitely not worth the amount we spent on the rooms! Housekeeper came in and cleaned whilst we were sleeping and the overall experience was not good. The breakfast wasn’t too appealing either and only one receptionist was welcoming and friendly.

    The rooftop pool however it could be decorated to be a bit nicer

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    5.4
    The location is close to the bus stop and main shopping area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No value for money. There was a deposit taken for the room key which was not returned. The pool was small and crowded. There was an additional charge for the electrical converter. I was asked to pay 50% of the daily rate for a late check out.

    The location is close to the bus stop and main shopping area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    5.0
    Location in st Julian’s was really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the moment we arrived we felt disappointed with this hotel. We arrived at 1am, very tired after a day of traveling, only to be met with 1 person on reception checking in a group of 50 people, meaning we had to wait an hour to check in. Despite booking a ‘deluxe’ room, there was nothing deluxe about it, the room smelt of smoke, had a tiny bathroom, and was facing a large construction site which woke us almost every morning. We stayed over my birthday, which my boyfriend had emailed the hotel about, asking if there was anything they could do to make it extra special. Our email was ignored, and when he spoke to reception they said ‘they were aware it was my bday and something would be done’, yet on my birthday we heard nothing, and our rooms hadn’t even been cleaned!!! Every day we had problems with not being given the correct amount of towels, and our bedsheets weren’t changed the entire week we were there. Save yourself some money and stay somewhere else.

    Location in st Julian’s was really good! Good acres to transport, food, nightlife.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    5.8
    At least you have bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really noisy place. Construction works across the street at daytime and youngsters in the bar at night + bonus, fire alarms in the middle of the night. Balcony doors almost not exist, so thin they are. If you wanna small fridge in the room-you will pay extra, if you don't have adapter-you will pay. You can't have bottles (even from water) in the room if you bought it not from hotel (it was written in the room booklet). It is allowed to smoke in the rooms. If I will squint my eye little more I could find more minuses, but I won't.

    Pool area. Sweet table on breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.1
    Super central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t get enough towels ever. Our lights were dim and one blew out while staying there. I was told I would have terrace or balcony but it appeared we got a budget room with only a small window. Shower flooded everything we showered and our little towels we did have were used to mop up the excess water.

    Super central. Heart of St. Julian’s. But not too noisy. Comfortable bed, ok size room. Pool on roof. Quiet hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Cosy hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The remote didn’t work on our TV. We mentioned this a couple of times and no effort was made to fix it.

    Breakfast was very good, all areas very clean, extremely well-located hotel. We were able to book day trips from Catherine who had a desk in the hotel and was extremely helpful. We had no electricity and this was resolved very quickly. There’s a nice atmosphere in the hotel. We had been before and will return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Rooftop pool was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom wasn't great but it did the job.

    Rooftop pool was great! Room was perfectly fine. Nothing to complain about. Very comfortable, bright and dark when you needed either or, location great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for staying with kids
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    First we got a room overlooking the inside yard which was hard to ventilate since the yard was full of A/C. The shower had no possiblity to be taken in hand, only one plug in the wall. The shower floor was not inclined well, so all the water went the opposite way it should have gone. The wash basin tap was horrible and full of calcus. We asked for this to be solved and since they could not do it, they kindly offered us a better room with sea view, which was really nice. The only downside to the new room was also older bathroom which was not kept regularly (the previous guests left their razor caps above the bath, the dusty lights, the brownish looking ceiling that should be washed). The smell of the wardrobes inside was bad. We had to keep them open all day, but it did not thelp. All in all it was a nice experience, but the little details like these should be fixed. Thank you.

    Excellent breakfast, great dinner, friendly staff. Proximity of bus station, the beach and the swimming pool on top. Expedite response to our requests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    6.3
    Very dissapointed. Ruined the holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very loud all night. Put us in an adjoining room and we could hear the couple next door having sex. Building work opposite woke us up at 6am every morning. Bad smell from air con. Bathroom had mould.

    Good shade at the pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast poor if you don’t eat (greasy) meat. Roof pool had a bit too few beds for number of guests and can get a bit lively late in the day.

    Great location. Very good staff. Roof pool is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    2.5
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We received no towels in our room. I booked a double bed and was given two single beds. The handle of the bathroom door kept falling off, the overall standard of the hotel wasn’t great! Also there was two pools. Both very small with no deep part.

    The air conditioning was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.5
    Overall okay, wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    photos on the site didn't reflect the room at all

    Overall the hotel was okay, the price per night i paid was £110 and i expected a bit more, the photos on booking.com did not reflect the room at all. On arrival the reception is lovely, the staff are lovely, special shout out to Stella who was amazing and really looked after us. The shower was a trickle, the balcony door didn't lock, we did report this on arrival and the balcony door was fixed straight away and a new shower head put on, no difference with that. The room was cleaned daily and clean towels, so that was good. If i had paid a bit less for the room that would be okay, but didn't feel it was a good reflection on the room when i booked it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel for business stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness of the bathroom was low and full of calcus on the tap, smell in the closets like someone urinated there and the room needs to be refurbished since the wooden parts are chipped or the ceiling in the bathroom is yellowish. The lamps next to the bed need to be dusted, as well as the one in the bathroom. Since we did not spend too much time in the room, we managed, but I suggest cleaning the room more often.

    Location, staff expedite answer to our needs and requests, food in the restaurant for breakfast, dinner and grill party, the pool proximity and pool bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Alexandra Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: