Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Mellieħa hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa

Reviews of LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marfa Bay, MLH 7100 Mellieħa, Malta

#32 of 62 hotels in Mellieħa

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1456 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They gave us a room where the AC was not working and the Windows were not closing properly, meaning that it was cold (we were travelling în December). After we told them about the situation, they changed the room with a bigger and cosier one which we really liked, we did not have to wait much. The 1st room also contained mold, probably due to the windows. (i m attaching 2 pics). Another - is the wifi, it did not work properly in the 2nd room.

    We liked the views in both rooms The staff was helpful The breakfast was varied, plenty food, but coffee was terrible.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    The best resort hotel we experienced in the last decade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    3 photos from outside the hotel seems to be from the opposite hotel at the other side of the bay.

    Breakfast was excellent. Pool and facilities like games were amazing. Everything was clean. Dinner was the best. Next time, I come back to this hotel with all inclusive option. Super polite and professional staff and check in.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.2
    location in from of sea but there is nothing around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    one bed was not prepared when we arrived at 21:00 after a long trip. they fixed it quickly but it was not good. it was very unpleasant situation, going to the room , go back to reception and so on. Then I booked room with sea view, technically you could see sea from balcony but it was not as in the picture or like expected, it was more pool view. Room was just standard, nothing special, for a 4 start hotel. and Matress was not very good.

    location in from of sea but there is nothing around.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    The room was very big with many pillows but duvet should...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buffet seating should be arranged before and drinks in the morning only one jiuce machine for all the restaurant

    The room was very big with many pillows but duvet should be bitt bigger as it does not fit the bed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.1
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit too far to get around the island. We went 4 days without shampoo and had to buy our own. The tour company set up in the lobby was difficult when we had over paid and wanted reimbursement for the difference. Their head office will be getting an email from us when we get home.

    Quiet

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to not like about this hotel.

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were well equipped and spacious, the food was good, the view from the hotel was marvelous. The city is easily reachable by public transportation, the nearby area is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.5
    I had a relaxi ng time!
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the smell in the room & around the hotel. I think they have to change the detergents that is used to clean the floors. Carpets in the corridors are an eye sore as they are a!i stained. I booked with booking.com but at the hotel was told that they do not accept the booking

    The breakfast was good & plenty to choose from. We enjoyed the indoor pool & the music at the bar in the evening. Service was good too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in this beautiful resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic stay in this beautiful resort. It was a perfect anniversary get away. The staff and hospitality was best I have ever seen. Gold bars to Shirleen who made our travel even better. Lot of love from both of us to this lovely lady.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely time spent away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were not terribly comfortable. But then we were comparing them to our very good one at home.

    Staff throughout were very helpful. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Definitely recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great place. Food is excellent. Easy to go to Gozo and to take buses to the other parts of the island. Kind of far away from the noisy parts. It will be a perfect choice for people who want to enjoy a quiet time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.8
    There were extremely big rooms and the hotel was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've liked the pool but unfortunately the sauna is separated and relatively far from other facilities. The gym is small, basically well equipped but you need to register to use it what is only possible in very short time frames (2 times in a day). The hotel is located close to Gozo in a beach area. It is quite far from historical places if you would discover them...

    There were extremely big rooms and the hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok with lot of options. Staff was friendly but sometimes extremely busy as the hotel was quite big with lot of guests even in winter time (December). It is a 4 starts hotel with everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    If the fits to your budget, Just go for it - For sure you will not regret..!! Go ahead book n Enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much but they could improve on few things like table tennis board, bat can be maintained well. considering the amount of guest they can offer one more table tennis board with nice bats. The one available was very old. These small things didn't cost much but increase customer satisfaction a lot. Then in the indoor play area they could make some thing more for children's as well whats there was very limited and we need to pay to play. Hope they make these changes soon. Looking forward to next trip soon.. :)

    Breakfast was excellent with lot of varieties and fresh omlettes, fried eggs etc. Location is just perfect very near to Ahrax bus station jus 2 mins walk. Facilities were good like table tennis, indoor swimming pool with controlled water temperature was excellent. Staffs are also very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unable to upgrade to full board for one day in the middle of the stay, it was possible for only for the rest of the stay.

    Breakfast was very good. Lot of choices and a bit variety on different days. Spa had 3 indoor pools.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    It was all very good, great hotel and brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a little out of the way, but of course this can be a good thing aswell.

    It was all very good, great hotel and brilliant staff. Beautiful views over Comino and Gozo, not far from Mehliha bay beach by bus.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Labranda is one of the best hoteli have ever been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Labranda is one of the best hoteli have ever been. Súper clean excellent buffet nice staffs. Really very very súper. I am sure we will go back once.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Amazed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe location, but that is just me and my opinion. Probably for someone who wanted to se blue lagoon and Gozo everyday would appreciate that much more.

    Everything was amazing, for as much as we paid we got a lot more than we expected.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.7
    The room had updated furniture with tea/coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TIny balcony and very outdated bathroom. The shower had no tray and hanging, was a very cheap looking curtain. Water seeped through the whole bathroom. Not to mention that the grouting was mouldy and the accessories iron wrought. Toilet was only suitable for VERY tall people. Definitely not what one would expect from a 4 star hotel. Not good for a relaxing weekend break since hotel was very noisy and overcrowded.

    The room had updated furniture with tea/coffee facilities and a mini fridge. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    SUPERB A++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent

    The room is spotless with adequate space and with i guees 6m x2m balcony ..... Breakfast was superb with a variety of everything that comes in mind ..... The hotel even had a games room !!! Youre surrounded by sea and greenery :) Many facilities available lile indoor pool ..... I even went to the buffet of the hotel in the evening which i was surprised !!! There was even an icecream machine !!! While being there i booked another weekend break for next month .... Gozo ferry is 3 mins away by car ... And 15 by walk ( if u walk slow) Mellieha centre is just 10 mins away where there are beaches like ghadira Parking is easy for this hotel Every reception you stay in has sea view

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.5
    It was our 25th wedding anniversary my husband ordered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was our 25th wedding anniversary my husband ordered flower when the delivery arrived in the hotel they told me that they dont have anyone on that name

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable rooms and very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Indoor pool included quite a bit of chlorine ... My husband got a slight rush .... Should have been sea water

    Very comfortable rooms and very good food

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    I love the amazing sea view location and the breakfast and...
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn’t fault it the hotel is great.

    I love the amazing sea view location and the breakfast and diner was excellent. The helpful staffs were all very professional and helpful. I requested a room change and it was dealt with and was given a third floor room which as a partial sea view. It was excellent I just could fault the English receptionist that facilitated the change. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff weren’t as friendly as other hotels. There was one lady in particular names MARY who was very rude, had no people skills, didn’t know how to smile she had a face of thunder everyday, that it put me off even asking for help, which isn’t nice especially if you’ve come to enjoy a have a good stay. She wasn’t willing to help at all. I don’t think hotels should hire such nasty people. She completely ruined our stay. Thank you Julian for being the only helpful one. I wouldn’t stay at lebranda again due to horrible staff.

    The hotel was very nice and clean. Had everything you need for a holiday.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    2.5
    Terrible experience! Nothing about this hotel is pleasent and you will regret staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worst hotel I stayed at in my life! Just don’t go there, it ruined our holiday: the hotel is extremely dirty, it is in the middle of knowwhere, the rooms and bed are really not confortable, breakfast can’t be eatten (cheese was of, meat looks terrible, the coffee Machine hasn’t been cleaned in the last years), our shower got flooded twice, in door swimming pool is very dirty not Healty to use. When we arrived we wanted the leave and they wanted to charge us so we stayed they promised they would change the room and NexT morning acted like they forgot. This isn’t a 4 star hotel but a dirty 3 star Max.

    The only good thing about this hotel is that is Close to the ferry.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel and recently refurbished. Food was good but they need to improve check in process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in process was extremely slow and not efficient. The main issue was that the hotel was overbooked and various residents were being directed to other hotels. Inevitably there were a lot of complaints and this blocked the whole check in/information system. It took me something like 30mins to check out and return card!

    The hotel is newly refurbished and has a lot of facilities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long bus ride into Valletta (1-2 hour, traffic dependent)

    Great location, 15 minutes walking distance to ferry port to Gozo, minutes to ferry to Comino (Blue Lagoon), 5 minutes or less to bus stop into town, free late night snack bar and amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.1
    Tasty breakfasts, good diner options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds were hard. For 3 people they gave regular double room and add one folding bed, so there was almost no space to walk.

    Tasty breakfasts, good diner options. Close to bus stops and sea.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.8
    Nice relaxing stay, ate good and was well served.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Glasses and cutlery in room were not very clean and used ones were not replaced. No one supervises pool rules.

    Good breakfast, good restaurants, very nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. Nice country views too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the end of the season, perhaps a few strains were starting to show, in the building itself.

    A very pleasant hotel in a relatively remote location, but excellent for access to the Gozo ferry. Highly recommended as a getaway. Lovely views of the sea (or, should I say, the channel). The bar was very reasonable prices too (beers, spirits, cocktails etc.) and there was plenty of choices of food in the restaurant (we're vegetarian.)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.4
    We’ve booked two separate rooms at this hotel, for 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We’ve booked two separate rooms at this hotel, for 2 families to spend the weekend together. One family has booked for 2 nights and us have booked for 1 night. When we arrived at the hotel to check in, the receptionist have advised us that they can’t accommodate us because of problems with certain rooms. Please note that they have never tried and called us or email us to let us know beforehand. We’ve insisted for a compensation, but they only wanted us to give wine for compensation, which we have disagreed. We spoke to the manager, which he told us that they only can accommodate 1 family, and us have to be moved to another hotel (Ramla Bay) We have insisted to go all together, as we came for this break as one. The manager finally has agreed to go all of us to the Ramla Bay hotel, with the same price and they gave us both room upgrades, which was appreciated. Ramla bay was much better of a hotel, then the Riviera and they had better customer service too. We would have been really disappointed if This hotel did not had the vacant rooms. This situation did not only happened to us, as a lot of people were complaining with the same situation. Please avoid this hotel, as they will ruin your holiday break.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a relaxing holiday, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping didn't replace all the towels, so we ended up without large towels at one point. Any other annoyances were quite minor, and we had a wonderful stay overall.

    The room was spacious and comfortable, with the most gorgeous sea view. The hotel was clean and the decor was pleasant. There's a lovely bar and pool deck/outdoor area on the first floor, with great service and it's the perfect place to unwind. There's a small games area, which was a fun touch. We also spent some time at the indoor pool, which was not crowded at all, and there are designated times to go with children which is a great way of keeping everyone happy. The hotel is in a quiet area in Malta, perfect if you're looking for a weekend break kind of holiday, and it's great value for money. Lots of countryside and beaches around, so it's a lovely place to relax. We had a wonderful time here, would definitely recommend :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hallway carpets were very dirty and stinky. Only thing we could think of.

    Great breakfast and location. Hop on and hop off bus pulls up right in front of the hotel. Restaurants, a small market right out front, boats and ferries all right there. Very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    A Relaxing and Pleasant Weekend Break with Fantastic Dinner & Breakfast Buffets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception can be a bit quicker on arrival and room was not ready when they sent us to the room. But was not big deal!

    Dear Sir / Madam, Our Stay in the Labranda Riveria Hotel was really a Pleasant stay and exceed our expectation in relation to 'Value for Money'. Hotel is very Clean, Comfort and Vibrant with nice views. Will surely Recommend it to our friends. Giuda Taddeo & Helen Portelli Zabbar - Malta

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.3
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon arrival check in staff just gave us room key and we didn't know where to go for dinner or breakfast ecc. Went up to the room as we asked for a double room + cot since we travelled with a 2 yr old boy, only to find 2 twin beds. Room was leaking water from the ceiling at 5am had to wake up from bed to clean up. Food was good but not a lot of choice like in other hotels.

    Pressure in the shower, indoor pool, food was good althought not a lot of choice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When they have just done a referb, really change the mattress's as they were very uncomfortable not helped by the awful plastic matteress protectors that made me sweat even more than I was already, and didn't sleep well at all.

    The food was really good and so much of it. The best part of breakfast was the chef who made the omelettes. He had that to perfection. The staff on reception always friendly and willing to help. The room was nice and the house keeping cleaned everyday and always greeted you with a smile and hello in the mornings. Hotel and pools were always clean and tidy and the indoor pools and spa was lovely. All in all a great hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Will definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can’t complain to be honest

    It’s situated in a great location in front of the sea. Inside it’s big and spacious, the rooms have new furniture and shower rooms. The food was deliciously good and there is a lot to choose from. The staff are very polite and ready to help.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was good,but it was a bit like Butlins in the dinning room , "not our cup of tea"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel its self was good as was the food, BUT they over booked us and made up a story about a storm and the room was not ready, so we had to move hotels for one night , the hotel did not reply to any contact via Booking .com about the complaint or the details we had asked for. So very bad customer service from the hotel . Booking .com was very helpful

    Hotel its self was good as was food. Booking .com was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    6.3
    An ice - breaker to the day to day routine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed was two single beds adjoined Room flooring was not clean Blocked shower drain Buffet not to required standards Temperature of hit food was lukewarm Antipasto limited selection Practically all desserts with cream

    Friendly chefs

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    a 2 nighs stay to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    indoor pool great ,food was nice bed was very relaxing

    cant fault this nice hotel … though it away from all bus stops to everywere are 3 minutes away … great and close for ferry crossing to the island of Gozo

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Another Amazing Weekend at Labranda Riviera, Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything.

    My family and I have just come back from another amazing weekend at Labranda Riviera. We were on half board basis and the food was incredible, there were so many different dishes to choose from, everything was freshly prepared and cooked and they cater for everyone, gluten free, vegan, vegetarians etc, nothing is a problem for the Restaurant Manager, Chefs and staff. We would like to thank Mr. Timo who helped us when we encountered a problem upon checking in. People like Mr Timo are an asset to the Company/Hotel. There are so many positive things to say about this hotel but my advice is this - Just book a stay there and you will not be disappointed. Thank you Labranda Riviera for making our weekend so special. Keep up the good work! Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, right by the sea, nice view, near the port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed at the hotel for 6 days, there is nothing to do with childrens, especially in rainy days, just indoor pools, jacuzzi smaller pool was broken! No playground for children's, have 3 toy capsule vending machines for money! in room wind was blowing, rooms not isolated from noises (every evening have a live music, it's positive, but in the second floor can really hear it)

    Good location, right by the sea, nice view, near the port to Gozo Iceland, if you haven't car than can walk to port! staff was helpful and kindly, especially against children! Good breakfasts and dinners! Good Rooms services and cleaning!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    8.8
    My stay was lovely...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the front desk receptionist she didn't have a friendly looking on her face at all .. they need show slot more welcoming to the guest..

    I love the everything about the property.. could use more choices of food ...

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    On arrival we were double booked but as a goodwill gesture we were upgraded to All Inclusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside is there are no local amenities you had to jump on a bus to go anywhere.

    The beds were so comfortable. The rooms were cleaned in a daily basis. Nothing was a problem with the staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    5.0
    Away from the city if you are looking for tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far from all main attractions and if you are not traveling by bus, then taxi fares are quite expensive. They should probably think of changing the carpets in the corridors to make the hotel feel fresh. Entertainment should vary on a daily basis

    Away from the city if you are looking for tranquility. Easy access to Gozo, Blue Lagoon and Comino. The view was astonishing with a cool breeze at night. ATM and mail box available at the hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    3.3
    Would look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Left after one night. Wet bed sheets. Bathroom.smelt of urine. Filthy carpets. Poor location nothing other than the hotel. Poor service. 3 times I had to ask for someone to take dinner drinks order. Had to find housekeeping myself over wet bed linen even though I phoned reception. We arrived early and told our room would be ready at 2 which is fair enough. However at 2.30 we went back to reception to check in. Room still wasn't ready and receptionist phoned housekeeping to check time. In front of us she told them that room 300 was still the priority room. We were not room 300!!! Food was poor quality although did look good.

    Didn't stay long enough to find out. Booked alternative accomodation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.5
    All in all it was a well deserved break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No nuts with cereals The crepes were only available on one day only

    The friendliness of the staff in general The bread and butter pudding The apple crumble

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    8.8
    The rest of the staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception was painfully slow to check in and out. 2 staff on duty dealing with the same customer which slowed everything up. Unfortunately a lot of very rude clientele (elderly Germans) who clearly have no concept of manners rather spoiled the buffet breakfast. Talking of which, the hot choices were cold / room temperature apart from omelette station but cold selection was excellent

    The rest of the staff were brilliant. Efficient, smiling. Hotel exceptionally clean. Omelette station was brilliant. Everything cooked fresh

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great facilities good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in. They couldn't find our booking Main restaurant too big and noisy but fantastic choice for breakfast

    View from the balcony and facilities also the small restaurants in the hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in/check out was very slow my mum had her birthday and the wait was abit to much. Air condition was not that cool. I made it 18c .

    Rooms very clean lots off light nice bath room. Beautiful pool nice staff and very very wonderful breakfast ate so much off everything i skiped lunch .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    Overall stay was so and so. Will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unclean room, receptionist wasn't friendly, maid forgot to bring clean towels (twice in 3 days!)

    Breakfast was superb. Dinner was good if you're not a meat eater (so much lack of meat and the only meat available was way overcooked).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    4.6
    I liked that it had a good location for Gozo, Comino and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the unfriendly and unhelpful staff. We found a bug in the room and complaint but nothing was done, not even apologized. When we arrived nobody even asked if we need help with the begs, we did not have towels in the room, toiletries, we requested and still nothing. We had to go get it ourselves. We had to by shampoo and shower-gel as we only had solid soap in the bathroom. This surely are not 4* services.

    I liked that it had a good location for Gozo, Comino and Mellieha, good bus connections. The stop was right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    Actually we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first day when we arrived, I felt that they were not expecting us. They were a little bit surprised and we had to wait for our room. I actually booked 2 seaview rooms, but we received just 1 seaview room. And when I asked about that, the lady at the reception said that 1 room was a superior seaview and not the other one??

    Actually we enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and the food was ok.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.2
    Food was excellent with very helpful and smiling chef...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff could be more welcoming and helpful. They seemed stressed and confused . Customers Had to wait for long to be served. They blamed it on the new computer system. Carpet on 5th floor has stains.

    Food was excellent with very helpful and smiling chef especially the black guy who prepares roasts and omelletes..sorry i forgot his name. Also Michael was so helpful..gave us breakfast at 5am!! , location excellent, room comfortable, facilities exvellent, sea view from our room was next to none..including balcony. Transport to and from hotel is very good and cheap. I I will definitely book again. I have been to several places and I think this is the best destination in my opinion.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no restuarants or supermarket within walking distance. Daily room clean didn't change sheets and sometimes towels.

    Breakfast and facilities were nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in idyllic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to wait 2 hours to check in due to our room not being clean but they were apologetic and gave us a free drink. We went for bed and breakfast and there were limited restaurant options apart from the hotel restaurants although this is probably due to our visit being out of season. The hotel buffet was expensive.

    Great hotel in lovely quiet location. Hotel room had great sea view and was spacious and clean. Hotel was an easy walk to the port for the ferry to Gozo. Breakfast had everything you could think of and was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.9
    not for the independant traveller, for german all inclusive tourists.great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    reception staff are understaffed and customer service is secondary.often there is a queue that takes 30min+ to be served. on check in just as I was about to be served ,a manager walked up and took the receptionist away without a word or eye contact to me and left one person to deal with a lot of people-if that is the staffs template of service-no wonder. this hotel is geared for german all-inclusive guests not independent travellers and it shows. when I tried to put anything on the room I was told that I couldn't-the computer was down or they didn't do that.when paying by card was told I couldn't do that under 10e.was told there was an atm outside which off course charges for a transaction.they were not that interested.if we used the restaurants were told "you have to pay" before anything else-strange if I go to macdonalds the first thing I am asked is "what would you like"not "you have to pay"-that bits obvious. in a nutshell if you had an all inclusive bracelet they could cope if not-with a room card like every other hotel on the planet you get interigated by a surly staff member who makes you feel like you are trying to get away with not paying before you sit down to eat.

    fantastic location and views,the view out to the local countryside and the sea view out to comino and gozo is fantastic-great part of the island with good links to all towns and gozo ferry. The rooms cleaning staff are superb and very polite and not intrusive,always making eye contact and saying hello. the upstairs bar and the staff are efficient and friendly good service thoughout our stay. of the 4 restaurants the outstanding one is the Lebanese Byblos restaurant next door.the food was different,well cooked,well presented and really tasty.the staff were brilliant-very welcoming and attentive-we liked it so much we went back again the next night-good value for money but with the 25% off for hotel guests it was outstanding value.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    Really satisfied with the service snd food.facilities helped us relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very clean but the common areas like corridor carpet and the lift doors need a scrub.

    The bufet breakfast was abundant in choice and perfectly cooked.the Dinner was exceptional with a variety of dishes that was more than one can eat.exceptional service by the friendly staff and we also appreciated our welcome dri k on our first night.We will surely visit again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were lovely & did their best to accommodate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately our checking in experience was far from ideal, there were loads of guests checking in at the same time & the staff didn’t seem to be able to cope, it took over an hour & then one of the rooms given was allocated to someone else when my sister entered. Also one room was supposed to be accessible but wasn’t. All these issues were resolved eventually & the rest of our stay was lovely. However the chaos of the check in was something I’ve never experienced before.

    The staff were lovely & did their best to accommodate all.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    5.4
    The location was good for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was not helpful at all. The beds were very hard. We skipped the free breakfast on the second morning because it was sooooo crowded and the food was sub par.

    The location was good for a night or two. It’s close to the ferry to Gozo and Camino. It was a decent place for the price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    6.3
    Only stay here if you have no other option available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Very poor service at reception....we were passed on from one desk to another. Spent about 13 minutes in all waiting in front of different employees chatting together. Even though they were discussing work-related issues, it would have been much nicer if they could at least show some sign of greetings. -Very stained carpet in the 5th floor corridor. -Jacuzzi was not functioning. -Very poor service during breakfast. Items that finish from buffet table are not replaced. We waited for 30mins for hash browns to be replaced on the 1st day (at 08:15am) and 45 mins (at 08:45am) for desserts. - Poor quality of food during breakfast and flies all over the buffet.

    - Lovely, recently renovated clean room with nice views. - A Maltese lady during breakfast who very kindly went out of her way to squeeze 2 fresh oranges for the kids. - Wide selection of food items during breakfast. -Following a stormy day, the cleaner on duty cleaned our balcony upon request. -Extra bed in room was delivered in a very short timeframe, following our request.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    5.8
    The room, although it was only partial seaview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checkin took an hour. There was total chaos. Most food was disgusting. The pool had too much chlorene and many people inlcuding myself ended up with eye pain. In all you get what you pay for....don't expect much.

    The room, although it was only partial seaview.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.5
    food was good and room was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ran out of towels and did not have. not good ventilation in restaurant as all our clothes smelt of food and couldn't wear them again.Check out took some time too.

    food was good and room was comfy. view ok of the pool. indoor swimming pool excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    5.8
    Poor management. Never again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in took over 2 hours! cots were in the room after 10:30 PM after the kids were already sleeping. They did not have enough high chairs during breakfast. We asked for more towels but they also ran out of towels!! Never again..

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay, very relaxing indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in - it was at 15:00 hrs. If it was before, for example at 13:00 hrs, it would have made our stay even better. Check in starts late at 15:00 hrs whilst Check out stayed till 11:00 hrs. We drive a long way from the south of Malta.

    We enjoyed our stay it was relaxing as usual as it is not the first time we visited. We actually love it when we need time to relax.Food excellent as usual and staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean and hospitable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.7
    It was a nice hotel and divine breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The nasty smell in the bathroom very disgusting... and the room was changed 3 times for me because of some distractions from reception

    It was a nice hotel and divine breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.2
    Worth staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More extra activities would be nice. Pools should be bigger than 1.2 m. A more variety of soft drinks and cocktails. We did not like the lady from meeting point. We bought a trip from her and nobody came after 2 days. She gave us the money back, like nothing happened... we were very disspointed

    The view, Byblos, breakfast (especially omlettes), evening artist playing songs, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.3
    Food is excellent otherwise service is not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No member of the staff at reception are maltese. One of the receptionists named Meri did not know how to speak english. She had to write down the ammount we had to pay on a piece of paper. We asked for a double bed and got 2 singles . Asked for a room with a bath got a room for disabled persons with a walk in shower . I had a 1 year old baby with me so one can imagine how uncomfortable it is. Regarding Cleanliness the maids where cleaning the rooms after 4pm which is very inconvenient for those who rest in the afternoon. Had to wait a good 1.5hrs for check in as both 4 receptionists where non english speakers and could barely understand.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel and great value for money. Hotel was full booked but still meets our requirements and service was excellent. A little bit dirt in the rooms but when asked for maid service it was cleaned. A small recommendation will be to cater more for elderly people especially with mobility problem. I intent to have a room near a life and it was written in comments when we booked but there was no room available.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    6.7
    after the checkin hasstle of 4 hrs to settle all rooms it ended up excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reservation and room for children wasnt booked although phoned to confirm a week before. Gave us a room then very far from our room and wasnt cleaned all. Apart form that first room given was already occupied. but to say it all we were given an all inclusive stay to compensate for all the hasstle. In the end enjoyed our stay and food and drinks were excellent!

    pool and gym area very good. Restaurant food and drinks excellent. rooms for adult good and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t ready on time (one hour after promised check-in), staff on the reception not really helpful, terrible system with drinks during dinner (with half-board not included)- they told us to wait for waiters but it was so busy that they didn’t serve us at all,only after our complains on the bar (every evening!!) Spa was full of children’s also after 5 pm when they are not permitted anymore - but nobody checked it- really noisy, not quite as expected

    Good location- ferry to Gozo and comino, beach, Popeye Village really close Good food, nice rooms, view from restaurant and bar, free parking, friendly slovak lady on the spa reception, good sauna, sea water in swimming pool

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel however management needs drastic improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in and check-out were a complete fiasco, with very long waiting times, confusion in allocation of rooms and processing of booking.

    Nice location and hotel, good food

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.3
    Short break in tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, reception needs behaved and dedicated people. On our arrival we waited for 1 hour 30 mins which it was too much for a check in, receptionists are too slow, clumsy and chatty between them!!! A total disorganisation. In that hour we could have been already in the indoor pool.. Also for checking out, no one notice you at the desk and when we passed trough the other receptionist he said ''You are financially ok.'' No thank you, no bye! ;D ........ I think this hotel needs more local employees or at least if hiring foreigners, they must be dedicated and treat their customers with gentleness and respect. It definitely needs more facilities for children. The ride near the outdoor pool was off and maybe an indoor mini play park would be nice, a slider would have been enough for example....

    Room - beds super comfy, rectangular shaped pillow for head rest, tv in the wall and spacious for 2 adults and 1 child. Food - it exceeded our expectations, its great we chose Half Board, dinners especially 2nd night was abundant and fresh. Breakfast was vast too but I tasted better croissants. Also, would put chocolate or Nutella spread in the bowls as the jar ones not chocolate spreads in sachets. Waiters and bartenders - very educated and ready to help you!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was plentiful but bland. It took waitress 20 minutes to bring us bottle of wine & a coke. Drinks in the bar where of inferior quality but still with a steep price. Blue lagoon cocktail was only done with vodka, blue Curacao and lemonade, but price was still €6.50. In the room we had only two small soap, i asked for shampoo/ shower gel on 1st day at the reception,but even after cleaner did ou room,nothing was left to wash with. Few staff spoke maltese,and only some spoke good english. Very noisy restaurant , too bright. Food was tasteless. I regret I booked there,as in the evening we opted to go and get a decent drink from near by hotel,just a short walk on the beach.

    The location is beautiful. Room was comfortable,but very noisy as we where on ground floor, not far from games room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.6
    We shall return again.....and again....and again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was informed that at the time of my stay, the front office were changing their computerised booking system, from one system to another. I think that such a move could have been planned and implemented in a much better way. One could easily see that the front office persons were strained to the limit. Yet, the front office manager (I am sorry that I have not taken his name) did a formidable job in trying to mitigate the discomfort of the clients in the best way possible. Cudos to him. One other thing. Too many children almost everywhere. Such a thing can be solved by organizing specialized activities and animation events for children in particular zones of the hotel, and then rightfully leaving other areas for the enjoyment of the adult guests. I really hate it, when the jacuzzi is allowed to be turned into an ad-hoc additional splash pool for little kids. I am confident that my constructive suggestion will be taken into consideration.......because we intend to return again.....and again.....and again to this hotel.

    The cleanliness was outstanding. The quality/price ratio. You wouldn't find any better at such a price at this time of the year anywhere in Europe. The location was marvellous for a weekend break. Beautiful natural surroundings....away from all the hustle and bustle of the city centres. Still very close to a bus stop, and within a walking distance to the Gozo Channel ferry. Yet....if you want to stay inside there are enough facilities to keep you pampered all day long. I almost forgot to mention the food. Very good breakfast, and great dinner at the hotel's main restaurant. I strongly recommend the half-board option. It's really worth it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    6.3
    All inclusive - good choice of food and drinks, lovely staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not 4*, whole place needs to be refurbished. Took us over 2 days to get a card for gym as no one available. No spa facilities - jacuzzi out of order, no sign or anything. Indoors pool always full of kids so unable to go for a swim. Sauna/steam room available only specific times (4 hours a day). Rooms were ok, no toiletries available just soap. Make sure you wear shoes all the time as floors very dirty.

    All inclusive - good choice of food and drinks, lovely staff in restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    Pool though jacuzzi did not work !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilets at ground floor were smelly and filty. Quite a number of items at b fast took alot of time (over 30 minutes ) to be replaced. Checking in took quite some time in fact we were given our room at about 3 p m though check in time is at 2 p m. Apart from these everything else was fine.

    Pool though jacuzzi did not work ! Session at the pool given by the girl from Jamaica. Was great ...Thanks session on Friday was enjoyable. Kids concession.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: