Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bayview Hotel by ST Hotels 3 stars

143 The Strand, GZR 1026 Il-Gżira, Malta

#27 of 36 hotels in Il-Gżira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1596 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, and great virw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning in the room could be improved...the floor wasn’t cleaned properly during our stay, and the towels had stains on them.

    The location close to bus stations, ferries, restaurants, with great breakfast, a pool on the roof and nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a hotel room with a city view, received one with a view to the neighboring room just an armlength away. Our room has never seen sunshine and had a weird smell. Towels were stained.

    Location is pretty good. Breakfast is fine though quite boring as it is the same every single day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    good facilities , staff friendly, and cooperative ready to please
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    booked a navette via internet E-mail through the hotel, the accompanied message advised i would recieve a reply of acceptance , the cost and confirmed time/period I RECIEVED NOTHING AND EVEN LOOKED OUT AT THE AIRPORT ON ARRIVAL NOTICED NO ONE. SO I GOT A TAXI. ON ARRIVAL AT THE HOTEL THEY ASKED DID I NOT GET THEIR NAVETTE THEY SENT? I Said i had had no confirmation as stated and so did a quick look around on coming out of arrivals !

    breakfast variety, the speed of offering a facility via the cleaning staff ie a fridge for my medical requrements

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.8
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Flat TV cannot read USB sticks and offer of channels is limited.

    Very good location. Although Gzira and The Strand Street offers many possibilities for dining, shopping and attractions, by walk up the street just for 5 minutes, there is a ferry to Valetta centre and by the entry to hotel, there is bus stop for public transportation. Hotel itself combines everything what guest could need, at 3 star level. Hotel personnel is very friendly and room equipment contains basically everything. Breakfast tasty, its parts refilled very quicky, even on the later time. Recommend!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit dated. We only stayed for 2 nights and the aircon wasn’t working properly on our 2nd night so we didn’t sleep well as it was too warm in the room.

    Location is good, close to the bus stop and ferry terminal to valletta. Lots of restaurants in the area. Breakfast is good. Staff are very helpful. Great value for money!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.3
    It was a nice view from the pool area and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast area was insane. Super loud and crowded. You usually had to wait for a table before you could "try to enjoy" your breakfast. Beds were quite uncomfortable.

    It was a nice view from the pool area and the location was pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    good but needs a refab as lots of new hotels being built and others have been refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom old and tired bath very short hard to get into shower as screen is fixed Pillows very flat and lumpy sheets not changed the 5 nights we were there

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    2.9
    Nothing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was extremely smelly ( after pee ) and the bathroom was at least 50 years old. Orientation into street where renovation was done, opposite house full of homeless people sleeping on the roof. We barely managed 4 hours only due to arrival at 2. A.m. we were offered “better “ alternative in the same quality . During breakfast the water was missing , so no coffee, no tea, no juices either. pool was small and dirty . This hotel never ever again.

    Nothing . The only positive was that Booking.com helped us to escape and arrange new accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -very loud if you are on lower floors, -useless rooftop bar, dirty pool&jacuzzi -breakfast below average(same thing everyday), small restaurant

    - excellent location, but ask for a room on higher floor, and with sea view(its really worth) - bus station is tight at the front of the hotel - ferry to Valletta is on 200 meters

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    We both enjoyed our visit to Malta, the people are very friendly also helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was very dark and looked out towards another building which was very near.

    Although the hotel was clean and our room was well looked after by the maid, I was disappointed with the room. As my husband is not very mobile, we spent a lot of time in our room. This I found hard, apart from the bed, there were no comfortable chairs to sit on. The room was very dark, we had to always havee the lights on. The room was a reasonable size, in fact it had a double bed as well as two singles, so easlily a couple of comfortable chairs could have easily fit in, instead of having so many beds!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    4.2
    Never again. There are many other places much cheaper and with better quality than you get here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hairdryer did not work, both pillows were stained and when I asked to get a clean one I did not get it so I had to sleep using the towels as a pillow. The following day another person in reception finally got me a clean pillow. The towels were extremely rough and the bed was not very comfortable.

    The location was ok in front of the bay but 20 minutes by bus from Valetta and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.0
    Room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary tea and coffee Sent to room which was not ready Unhappy cleaning staff,smelly pillows Shortage of breakfast seating ,cooked breakfast cold.wait for cutlery.

    Room size Sea views

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location, friendly and co-operative staff, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Personally I would have liked to have the use of a refrigerator in the room

    The facilities and location were excellent. The staff were friendly and most helpful. On making a booking I had specifically requested a junior suite with a water view and was gratefully given in my opinion the best room in the hotel - a memorable bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    4.6
    For sure NOT good value for money. I do not recommend. Property looking pretty old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are many things which we did not like in this property: 1. The fact that photos on booking.com do not reflect the reality we faced in the property. On the photos the hotel looks quite new and nice. In fact it's quite old and requires renovation. Scratches on walls, bathrooms looking pretty bad. 2. We were travelling with 6 months old baby which require baby seat when travelling by car. We confirmed via email and two times at the reception in the property that airport shuttle will be ready to provide baby seat when travelling back home. All was agreed. In the morning the driver from the company providing shuttle services (same company as the hotel, they advertise it in the lifts in the buildings) was asking us to take baby on the knees because the minivan has 8 seating spaces and there are 8 adults to travel + the baby on separate seat. We did not agree so 4 guys were travelling on 3 seats. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. It's all about safety! 3. We booked a room with sea view on top floor. When we arrived it turned out that there is some problem in the bathroom (some leakage) so we were moved to another room but with the promise that our room will be ready next day. It was ready but later during the day when we came back to the hotel we could see some guys working in our bathroom with floor tiles removed. It was promised that they need only 2 hours to finish. Finally new tiles were placed the next day. We got 100 Euros discount which is positive but the whole situation was terrible. Moving between the rooms, removed tiles etc. 4. In our opinion breakfast is pretty poor. The same products every day. Very low quality. Tomatoes and cucumber looking unfresh.

    Really nice and friendly staff. We faced some problems during our stay and everyone from the hotel was trying to help us. Good location, very close to bus stops, cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.8
    Very good location, bus stops in front of the hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise in room, because of constructions which start early in the morning. In the room smells like hell, the cleanliness is desirable, including breakfast glasses

    Very good location, bus stops in front of the hotel and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    3.8
    The location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in room, constrution noises very early The air conditionate too cold, impossible to keep switch on. I ask for assistance but the solution was to switch off. In generaly the hotel is too dirty, facilities, lift, breakfast cups and plates

    The location is very good Car parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.6
    It depends what rooms you will receive, there is nice ones...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It depends what rooms you will receive, there is nice ones and very bad ones. I booked with the see view, but didn't receive it, they change it next day, but asked to movie out 11 h and let us in only 14 h. Breakfast was bad...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Basic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given rooms in their partner hotel- Blue Bay Hotel, we had to walk with our suitcases a few minutes away from the hotel, the walls were very thin and we heard every sound in the hallway and the water running in the next room.

    We requested a late night and early morning airport transfer to and from the hotel. They organized everything and gave us no problems with the very late check in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed our stay but did not enjoy the poor sleep due to the awful beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding is terrible, only a thin bed sheet on an uncovered mattress that smelled of sweat, the poor quality bedding let’s down the whole hotel which is otherwise very good.

    The rooftop pool was excellent. The hotel location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and adequate with a great breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C did not work first night. Entire room warm and damp....surface areas and floor damp. The desk staff eventually switched rooms for us after telling us three times that per maintenance A/C was fine.

    The room was clean and adequate with a great breakfast and the desk staff was very helpful. However the maintenance person who came to check on A/C was rude to us and stormed out of the room telling desk staff all was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Location was perfect but the room was poor and old. Did not want to spend much time in there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our (partial seaview) room was small and badly furnished with a wardrobe in front of the window blocking the light getting into the room. Beds were uncomfortable and too small for a taller person and the pillows were thin. Walls and doors didn´t block any noise coming from other rooms street and hallway. Balcony was quite tight. Not much room to chill in there. Breakfast was not good. Very little to choose from and coffee was a nightmare.

    Rooftop sundeck and pool was great with a nice view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    I would never ever come back to this place =(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room didn't look anything like it was supposed to look like according to the website. The mattress was horrible and gave me backpain. The bathroom was way too small and you had to squeeze yourself on the toilet (on your right was a wall and on the left the mouldy shower). Also, don't use the provided shower gel/shampoo! My hair turned into a knottet mess after using it. The room itself also wasn't very clean. It was obvious that only the floor was cleaned, but there was dust on the lamps, the lamp shade in the bathroom was even missing. It was nice, that the hotel provided a hair dryer, but it needed years to dry my hair (which is short cut). The aircon was working but didn't really cool down the room. We set the temperature to only 5°C and didn't feel like it did anything at all. Our room was supposed to have a view to the inner country (no sea view) and well... we saw a horrible disgusting looking inner courtyard. Not very relaxing! The breakfast was more like "we have to provide one!" rather than "we would like to provide a nice breakfast". At last: Please keep in mind, that the hotel is nowhere close to a beach! It's directly at the Marina, but that's no swimming beach at all.

    The balcony was big and the location was okay. There was a bus stop right infront of the hotel (e.g. for the Hop-on-Hop-off-bus and some bussess to Valletta) and the ferry stop to Valletta was about 700m away. Small pool on the roof top (but with dirty water). The big closet in the room was nice to have

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    The situation is good, well comunicated (bus lines, cabs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I took that hotel instead of other options because there's a gym or fitness room. But I must say that this fitness room is really in bad conditions: most of the machines does not work, are broken and rusty.

    The situation is good, well comunicated (bus lines, cabs...), and the staff is really attentive and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Bayview stay in Malta
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked very much friendly staff in general, and especially Mr. Klinsmann, Mrs. Dragana and Mr. Ranko (the waiter in hotel's restaurant). All of them were really helpfull and ready to make an "extra mile". Taxi driver (hotel transfer) was also very approachable and kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.3
    Terrible. AVOID THIS Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was disgusting, bathroom was dirty, the shower was rusty. As for the bed it is the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, there was no matrice protector, the pillows were so hard, broken light fitting. Terrible place

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    Stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not look like photos on booking.com. Much smaller and very dated. Room and bathroom had not been cleaned thoroughly. Dust and dirt in tiles, mould in shower. Barely enough space to climb into shower between wall and screen. There is a dangerous slippery curved step into shower based. Air con was loud and not very cold. Beds were like camping trundles pushed together. Pillows felt like crumbled bits of foam shoved into a case. Horrendous room. Worse than a hostel. Unbelievably overpriced

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Suitable for a couple for three nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds slightly hard and the roof top pool needed a clean!

    Easy to find and great location with a fantastic view from the roof. Large room with aircon. Room had everything we needed. Bathroom is ageing and may need a do over soon/ better shower. But all in all everything was perfect for 3 nights. Glad we got a room that included breakie as it was worth the extra $$

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    So so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and old (including the furniture). There was no shampoo, hair conditioning or soap. The room was also very warm and the air conditioning had to be on the whole eve so that we could sleep...however, the air conditioning was also very noisy... On top of that, the cleaning lady woke us up before 10 in the morning, by entering in our room...despite our attempts to tell her not to. In addition, I requested a room with a view to the sea and a double bed. I wasnt given a room with a view and it had two single beds.

    The location was very good. Near all amenities and transport and the reception staff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one member of staff at reception could answer your questions. The others had no idea and always had to refer to her. Which meant lots of waiting round

    Roof top pool was amazing Breakfast choice was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Elevators are super slow and there's not enough for the amount of guests in the hotel! Staff could be a little happier :)

    The view was amazing! The pool on top of the hotel was also brilliant! Room had a lot of space and was very clean. Breakfast was fine with enough options to make you happy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Bayview
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same every day and really basic The room and hotel are a very dated and need some love Double room was just 2 single beds pushed together and it was easy to fall through the middle during the night The pictures don’t reflect the rooms

    The staff were super helpful and friendly The view from the bay view room was amazing Rooftop pool overlooking the bay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Generally it is ok.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning doesn't work well (not powerful and laut). The room temperature is too high. Breakfast in 7 days is the same. Some variation would be nice.

    Hotel location is good. Suitcase locker is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Basic but does a job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pretty moody and lacked any type of enthusiasm. When at the pool bar I approached the desk for a drink and was greeted with a groan as I’d disturbed the girl from her phone. The restaurant staff were okay but other than them everyone else seemed rude or not bothered.

    Perfect location for access to many towns including Valletta. Cheapest hotel we’ve stayed in in Malta but it served a purpose for us. Only had breakfast which was pretty basic but no complaints. Pool area is small but what you expect from a roof top pool. Great views from up there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn't recommend the hotel unless problems are fixed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was disastrous. Bed sheets were too small so they uncovered the mattress while sleeping. Lifts are too slow. Covers are scratchy. Curtains were half undone.

    Breakfast was OK. Personnel were quite nice. Location is quite nice. Pool was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    I will not recommend this hotel, for this price I expected better quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -mold on the wall in the bathroom -uncomfortable beds -no proper sheet on the bed and normal blankets -breakfast was boring, 7/7 days exactly the same -internet connection was poor

    -Good location, nice view -Swimming pool on the roof -Staff was very kind, helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.8
    Our time in Malta was amongst the best times we’ve had. The Bayview has become old and dated and we
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I informed the front desk twice, once with a written list of defects including mould, shower entrance dangerous and dysfunctional, drying line in bathroom broken, sink plug not working, unable to lock the patio doors and nothing was addressed. The cleaner did attempt to clean the mould in the shower but it was so difficult to get in they probably had a hard time.

    Restaurant, cleaning staff and front desk were very good. The breakfast for the value was very good. The view from our room was outstanding. The location was excellent with regards to ferries, buses etc. Reception ordered us a cab to the airport which was prompt. The tour operator on site was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast is watered down and not a great selection - a staff member at front desk just sat there as 5/6 people queued to check out. Whilst the one woman seemed to be answering all calls and serving 2 people at once. When I approached the other staff member she just pointed and mumbled. Not very helpful when you are in a rush to get the bus to the airport.

    - Perfect location: close to Sliema ferry - rooms were clean but slightly dated - indoor and outdoor pool area kept clean - staff pleasant: cleaners were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Property with potential but loads to work on!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First disappointment was when I saw the bathroom. I lived in a studio flat with a bigger bathroom. But that’s fine, I can handle a small bathroom for 7 days, as long as I can actually walk in the shower. The shower door would not open fully because it was right beside the sink, and my and my husband being fat, could barely fit through. Now, when I say barely, I mean literally squeezing in and getting scratched in the process. That is just ridiculous. Now the bed, if you want to put 2 single beds together, AT LEAST secure them together, so that when we are rolling around in the middle of the “double bed” the 2 beds split and you end up falling in the middle directly on the floor which happened to both of us a couple of times. Also, I have never slept in a more uncomfortable mattress in my life, and this is coming from someone who is NOT picky.. but this one made me literally wake up every day with a back pain. Maybe that’s why they have a massage place just by reception? The breakfast was a nightmare. I always look forward to walking up in the morning and having breakfast. Not at this hotel though, some days I just slept longer and grabbed lunch when I went out. There is options, but quality is about 2/10. Some things are just inedible. A few other mentions: no kettle (tea and coffee) in the room, extra charge if you want to use safe, and the bathroom had a urine smell that would not go away even after cleaners cleaned it every day. Sad because this hotel has loads of potential, it just needs some investment in QUALITY. The owner is probably trying to save as much money as he can.

    Loved the location! Bus stop right in front of hotel, takes you pretty much anywhere you need to go within a few minutes. Loads of restaurants and shops right outside. On weekends there is live show right across the street. The balcony view is really amazing at night and early morning. Pool area is actually bigger than I imagined, loads of sun loungers and because it is at the top of the building you get sunshine all day. Free WiFi on reception and rooms, and the WiFi is actually good speed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Has been my best choice on the island, as location as personell, as comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is the best and very center on the island, right at the ferry terminal to capital Valletta and boat tours, very close to St. Julian and St. Jeorge`s bay. Fun to walk by the Sliema bay with Valleta view, walking distance to a shopping mall. Bars/restaurants, scooter rentals all at the door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Amazing bay view from rooftop with pools, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could be spiced up a bit, it was the same every day and lacked taste, however the hotel tried to make a proper selection of different foods, it could be a bit of better quality maybe for a somewhat higher price then.

    The pools at the rooftop were great, amazing view to the bay! Location was perfect for our stay, close enough to beaches and to city sightseeing as well. Staff was nice and friendly, room was cleaned every day. We have received what we expected based on reviews and summaries on booking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    2.5
    really bad experience - not recommended to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was awful, discusting, dirty and miserable. it had a very bad smell. the beds were like camp beds. the shower was about to explore from the noise and there was no hot water. there walls were full of humidity and all the metal things in the bathroom/shower were oxidized. during breakfast you couldn't find a chair to seat and we waited there for more than 40 min. Honestly it was the worst experience we ever had and we definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    NOTHING. IT WAS THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    The "partial" sea view from the balcony was pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness, breakfast (the quality of the food and drink, and coffee was not good), AC was loud and it went on in the night several times, worn furniture and walls, floors. Very small shower cabin.

    The "partial" sea view from the balcony was pretty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    It was a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, but coffee was terrible. Didnt get the room with bayview, so no view at all. The swimming pool should be open little bit longer.

    Location was very good. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.3
    Only Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom was full of mould and very heavy odour of damp that we couldn’t breathe. We complained they changed our room but still the cleanliness was equivalent to a 1 star hotel. The reception staff behaviour was like they were doing us a favour by letting us staying in their hotel. The hotel is heavily used by cheap tour operators and that’s the reason for overused rooms. Towels have yellow stains on them . Bed sheets are old and very thin. The worst hotel We have ever stayed in.

    Only Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    lovely upstairs pool area and view from the hotel, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our bed was broken however staff was nice and changed it straightaway, bathroom was old and mouldy and there is no sunlight coming to room, therefore room should be sold for lower price. Breakfast - many options however I would invest more into quality.

    lovely upstairs pool area and view from the hotel, nice staff at reception. Shuttle service was provided for great price. Great location. Great hotel just dissapointed in room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Exceptional service from staff- they go out their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bayview hotel is dated. Restaurant breakfast leaves much to be desired.

    Exceptional service from staff- they go out their way to make you comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Once it was enough :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall conditions. Bathroom was lacking cleaning products (some cheap sope was available). Staff not prepared enough. Breakfast with a lot of posibilities but not tasteful- example: fruits from cans not fresh ones.

    Location was great! Close to ferries, bus station and good restaurants. It was nice to get out from hotel and walk in the evenings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many mannerless italians. No fridge in the room. Air conditioning regulator doesn't work.

    Good breakfast. Nice pool on the rooftop. Usefull luggage room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    The photos look nothing like the actual hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE BIGGEST LET DOWN IS, the rooms, swimming pool and breakfast look ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like the photos they show on booking.com!!!! they obviously spiced up the photos ALOT, and the only time the hotel looked like the photos was on the day for that photo shoot. The room was very old and neglected, and on arrival it had very strong chemical smell. The cleaners did a poor job cleaning the table which had food marks and grease stains from the previous guests. the breakfast is what you would imagine in a prison and the Wifi didn't work. I personally feel that it comes down to the owner not the staff. By all means we didn't have high expectations as its only a 3 start. But we have stayed in hostels

    The staff did a great job, and the location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.3
    The worst hotel in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was awful. There was fungus and mold in the shower. In the room you could hear all the traffic from the street. There was an unpleasant smell in the room. The air conditioning was unclean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    The staff were very helpful and always with a smile on their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a total disappointment. Looking at the photos and at the actual room it was nothing similar. My boyfriend could barely walk in the shower cubicle as the door doesn’t open completely because of the sink. Went for 3 nights hoping to have a romantic getaway but to be honest the less I could stay in that room the better.

    The staff were very helpful and always with a smile on their faces.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.8
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C stopped working and they didnt have the same room to move us so they brought a fan and when we complained they downgrade so at the end we ve been one night without ac. They were some small bugs in the baby cot. They gave us dinner as compensation and it was feom 18 till 20:30 pm.not including drinks. Bad food. Small crowdy pool.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Good option if you are looking for a basic and relatively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t very clean and was a bit smelly. Airconditioning was quite loud. Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice, but quality was poor.

    Good option if you are looking for a basic and relatively cheap hotel in a good location. Everything is available, but quality could be better. Close to the ferry stop and departure point for boat trips to gozo and comino. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Need maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desperately need of maintenance in almost all areas. Mold in 2 out of 3 rooms stayed in. AC only works on maximum in all 3 rooms.

    The staff. They saved our stay and was really helpful. Location and rooftop pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the area we stayed in, very touristy, not very authentic, restaurants were very average and overpriced near by. Staff at hotel weren’t very helpful and came across rude. The room itself was big, bed wasn’t comfortable, the hot water system wasn’t good for a shower it took ages for the water to get warm, bathroom had a mouldy smell to it. Hotel staff wouldn’t knock before entering room to clean so had a staff member walk in 3 times whilst being in the room or sleeping, didn’t find that very professional, I suggest do not disturb signs. The lifts in the hotel were so slow and old had to take the stairs most of the time. Key to the door to get in hardly worked most of the time, facitlites were old. Don’t think the price we paid ($1800AUD) for 11 days was worth it, I stayed in Airbnb’s all of my Europe trip averaging $50 a night and was HEAPS better. Bay view wasn’t the place for my partner and I we were disappointed with our stay. I don’t rate this hotel highly.

    The only thing that came in handy was having the bus stop right outside the hotel making it convenient for transport. Also the hotel had good aircon in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast was poor. Fortunately we were room only and found a lovely place down the road. Water was mainly lukewarm instead of hot. Key cards failed a couple of times and had to get them reset.

    Hotel was good value. Comfortable. Def worth paying for a room with a balcony view of the harbour. gym was small but functional. Roof top pool was small but good if all you want to do is cool off.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    The pool area and pool bar were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bath was sloped so it was dangerous. Also our room was across from a very run down building so it was a horrible view but otherwise it was fine.

    The pool area and pool bar were great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    I liked the space of the balcony and the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the space of the room. No microwave as they knew I had a 10 month old baby. The air con wasn’t working and they had the hot water on a timer like they knew we’d be back at a certain time of the day which was a struggle when coming back from long trips to change to go back out.

    I liked the space of the balcony and the bathroom. Funfair was at the end of the road which was nice. Walking distance was certain restaurants which was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    I would have chosen another accommodation for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Where should I start. The room didnt meet the expectations. The pool was dirty, tv channels were blurry, lift was dangerous, bed was uncomfortable, AC made too much noise, breakfast was very simple.

    The cleanliness was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked knowledge in certain things. Took long to send requested items to room. Had two single beds pushed together when a double bed was requested. Balcony door did not lock.

    The location. Staff weren't knowledgeable about certain things. And breakfast could have been better with variety.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is amazing, bang in the middle of valetta and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was smaller than expected and misty, didn’t feel very clean Jacuzzi didn’t work

    The location is amazing, bang in the middle of valetta and Sliema, 15 min walk to a lovely beach (rocks to sit on and sheltered water)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointment
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly never wanted to leave a review like this, but I wanted others to not have the same expectations I had when booking. One female front desk worker who checked us in wasn’t too distracted by anyone walking past to give us any information about the hotel she just asked for a name and told us where the lockers were. As for the room, what a complete disappointment. I specifically asked for one double bed and our bed was made up of two singles. No books or tourist information on the tables and no details about WiFi. No cups, no little bath soaps, nothing. The room was literally bare. We had only two towels and two hand towels and a bath mat. Our room did not mirror the ones advertised. When I booked I told the hotel it was our honeymoon and nothing was mentioned. Lucky we aren’t the overly romantic type to care but it would have been a lovely surprise if the hotel would have done something to make our stay more special. The English breakfast was tasteless. The bacon was like over cooked ham. I’ve attached pictures. The WiFi was awful and I ended up just using my 3g. The only thing that was nice about the hotel was the the location, the roof top pool and the lovely independent beauty shop that’s within the building. I got an amazing back massage, Shalac nails taken off and re applied for €40.

    Location, independent beauty salon and roof top pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.3
    Awful awful hotel - Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny, dark, old fashioned and had no amenities in it like tea/coffee or a fridge. A lot of their rooms are similar - I complained and they moved me to 2 different rooms which were just as dark and had cracked tiles in the bathrooms and no lamp shades. I also paid for a seaview and ultimately didn't get one. The rooms look nothing like the pictures on booking.com. The gym and swimming pool are only open from 10am to 6pm which is pointless if you're out for the day and the bar was closed. I tried to contact the manager 5 times at the desk, by phone and by email but never managed to get hold of him. I stayed 1 night out of the 2 and moved out the 2nd night a paid to stay somewhere else. Bayview refused to reimburse me even for just the 2nd night. Bayview cost me €120 per night and I had an awful experience. I stayed at the hotel a few doors down the 2nd night for the same price and had an immaculate, newly refurbished room and full seaview. A lot of other guests also complained while I was there. Don't waste your money on this place.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information about indoor pool being renovated was not made known. Guests should specify they wanted a room with a seaview.

    Lovely location. Amenities perfect for families.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    The view from the roof is divine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room and bathroom were a little small and the water was dripping from the AC, but we didn't really stay long during the day in the room itself so it didn't bother us really. The lady selling drinks and giving out towels on the roof seemed always to be in a bad mood. Never saw her smile. Additional tip (not concerning the hotel), dont book your cruises with Captain Morgan. Its crowded, food is poor, additional 15 euro for a cave exploration is a JOKE and worst of all the two stops were either overcrowded (Blu Lagoon was such a disappointment, no place to sit and relax) or in the middle of nowhere.

    The view from the roof is divine. We couldn't get enough of it. The room was always clean thanks to very nice cleaning ladies. Localization is simply great. Restaurants all around, buses to the airport (X2) and to Valletta coming quite often. I would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were all with black spots and they look like they are not clean. Staff not helpful. There were ants around the floor in the room. WiFi does not work!

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable room, almost all included ( although we paid for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very good, variety though but not tasty. Coffee just awful. The pool upstairs too small, suitable only for kids. The bath had a soap 3 for 1. Hands, hair and body, the same for all. no hair conditioner.

    Comfortable room, almost all included ( although we paid for the sea view). The beds were comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location on the bay in Sliema and in walking distance...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Get a sea view room! I looked at (and heard) construction during my stay. Strong smell of bleach and zircon was noisy.

    Good location on the bay in Sliema and in walking distance to the bars/shops. Pleasant staff. Nice rooftop pool with views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    1).In room 737 air conditioning work on full power,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1).In room 737 air conditioning work on full power, can't make it slower because programmer not working and haven't remote control for air conditioning. You have to switch off main switch next to the ceiling. 2).Breakfast is continental 🆗 but product's is on really poor quality, very cheap and not fresh. 3).Housekeeper poor cleaning floor in the room you can found some hair even not yours. 4).Shower head is on the wall fixed, should be one more shower head with hose.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.3
    Glad we booked for only one night and not the entire vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very rude upon check-in. The room was damp and outdated. The sheets on the bed were gross and didnt actually remain on the bed properly, revealing the stained mattress underneath. My big issue was the shower - whoever designed it obviously never tried actually getting in it. There was a glass partition on the side to keep the water from the shower head off the floor, however it didn't move to allow more space to get in and took up a majority of the length of the small tub. Through the small opening thats left, you step inside, and feel as if you're very high off the ground. This is because the bottom of the tub where you step into the shower is raised, and you cant see this, but it abruptly slopes downward. I assume this is done to create a seated shower for those with mobility issues, but the restricted size of the tub and its opening make getting in and out cumbersome. Theres probably a two foot section of the raised part, and another 2 foot section of the recessed part. One wrong step when you get in and you will probably fall.

    Our room had a really great view of the harbor and the hotel was in a very lively area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Furniture in the room was worn. Air conditioner worked very noisily, was not possible to sleep when it working. Noise isolation was not so good. A quite high level of noise from the street with closed windows.

    Location of the hotel really great. Good breakfast. Room was relatively clean (stuff cleaned it every day ). Bus station just in front of a hotel. Close to the hotel exist ferry station. A lot of cafes and restaurants around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    It came across as a cheap budget hotel but not cheap at all which is why we were dissapointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, bed uncomfortable, pillows terrible, no mattress protector, no pillow protectors, shower cubicle tiny and door couldn’t open properly because of the hand wash basin! Bathroom smelled damp! Air conditioner was on one speed only, full! It wouldn’t turn down. Extremely noisy but room too hot to turn it off! Had to use earplugs every night to block out the noise of it!

    The location was very good. The pool area was quite nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    economy class accomodation for low budget vacations, suitable for 1 night tranzit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Special requirements for guests in many languages about "deposit" etc make smile but that could be regarded as adjustments to customer needs.

    Definitely met descriptions / expectations. Close to bus stops, ferry to Valetta, wide choice of restaurants nearby. Kind and customer oriented reception team. Nice view from balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Staff was really kind and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building really needs some touch up, specially rooms because they look old and tired. Bathrooms even worse. Beds were not too comfortable. We booked room with a double bed but all the rooms I saw had 2 singles side by side. If not careful, you can end up between 2 beds. No good for couples.

    Staff was really kind and helpful! I'll give 5 out of 5 to staff. I

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Well located hotel, but you have to clarify the room view before reservating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't window on the room! The balkony - what was mentioned at reservation site - looked at an aprox. 5m x 5m closed area, with no light and no fresh air. I've never seen room like this before especially when balkony promissed in the specifications.

    Pool on the roof, extensive breakfast selection (but all day the same), cleanness, good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bayview Hotel by ST Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: