Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bella Vista Hotel 4 stars

Qawra Coast Road, St. Paul's Bay, SPB 1908 St Paul's Bay, Malta

#73 of 90 hotels in St Paul's Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 544 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    3.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice atmosphere, activities every nigth (karaoke, live music etc). Very quiet and clean rooms, nice breakfast and possibility to have lunch and dinners at the hotel at very cheap prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not the friendliness. Too much bleach cleaning products in the room. Problem with the AC. Would have preferred a smaller breakfast B & B experience. There was so much food. More buffet style. OK if that is what you want.

    The pool but it was cold

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the reception staff were not very friendly or smiley or welcoming and even continued working on the computer while you were waiting! And once we were told to come back in an hour because they were in the middle of changing shift! NOT A GOOD IMPRESSION AT ALL! the customer is the most important person.

    The room , the restaurant and bar staff, the evening entertainment, the cleaning staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Reception Staff on our Arrival Date needs to improve his service.

    Nowhere in the whole Europe where you could get daily breakfast buffet and bed for €25. Highly recommended for adults who are for Malta Sightseeing. Excellent value for hard earned money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above!!!!

    Nothing!!! We had to move to another hotel next day!!!! I had booked a room in the hotel but when I got there I had to walk to an appartment block 5 mins down the road!!!!! It was filthy and had no air conditioning or WiFi which I had to pay extra for on booking in!!!’ Everything was disgusting!! Staff were unhelpful and rude!! I am applying to get my money back and disappointed that booking.com do not look at these hotels before they put them up online!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -private taxi arranged by the hotel didn't go straight to the airport but was taking other people from others hotel

    -clean room -great room service -tasty breakfast -polite and helpful Staff -great lacation ( bus stop on the other side of the road ) -lot of facilities: 2 swimming pools ( outside and inside ), jackuzzi on the rooftop, gym, entertainment room (darts, table football etc)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is a rather dated hotel, a bit tatty. The Hotel was full of elderly people and very noisy students. Staff were not that friendly. Swimming pool was out of action for the 6 month stay. Kettle and cups in room but no coffee or tea. You had to pay for Wifi. Had to wait 30 minutes for Toilet flushing to refill in the room.

    Hotel was clean, breakfast was cooked and OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instant coffee, juice not juice but juppy, wi fi not for free, pool closed. Best days long gone.

    Price compensates little bit if you think of it as sleep and leave place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Youths disruptive -then when they had gone 200 students arrived. Most were OK-but some & theri teachers were disruptive -one one occasion till 2.30am A little far out for disabled people

    Good wholesome plain food. Excellent service. Very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service employees and everything else. The food was horrivle. Staff very rude and arrogant. Room was dirty, had to ask for another one. No one let me know they didnt had pool, didnt let me buy wifi at 1 oclock am. Have never been in a place with so bad service.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very unapproachable. Answering questions seemed like a total inconvenience for the front desk. Booked us a private Taxi to the airport for €30 which turned out to be a shuttle (that was over 20 minutes late). Front desk staff was reluctant to call and inquire about late pick-up even though we had an international connection to catch. Lacking professionalism with very typical European “customer service.”

    The bed was certainly not like a cloud.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were generally unhelpful and surly, particularly on reception. I arrived at 1:45 for 2pm check in and was kept waiting until nearly 3pm before I could go into room as they were apparently still cleaning it. The vending machine was broken overnight, with no option to get even a glass of water at 6am (sink in room labelled as not for drinking). On the last night, a cockroach was in my 4th floor room. When I trapped it and went to ask for assistance to remove, I was given a can of mosquito spray - staff were generally unconcerned about effect. Staff advised I needed to keep windows and doors closed - they were - the roach had entered room through drain grate under sink. This could be meshed over to prevent in future. Entire area next to the hotel is a giant building site currently. As well as not offering much of a 'bella vista', works started daily at 7am and were very noisy and disruptive. Outside pool not in use as apparently leaking - indoor pool and spa pool were very cold!

    The food was good - I only ate dinner one night, but really enjoyed the selection and quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! We stayed here for lost and found festival and we were a 15 min walk to cafe del mar and 20 min taxi ride to the night venue. The restaurant and facilities are great for the £! The only let down being the outdoor pool leaking so it was drained and closed off and not the rooftop hot tub not being hot/on

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hotels I’ve stayed in. Toilet did not work for 48hours after arrival. Hotel rooms not cleaned properly during stay NO swimming pools Breakfast was basic but the meat and eggs was low quality and full of fat. We did not stay in the main hotel it was down the road a little with no reception. I don’t know how this place is a 4*. You also have to pay for WiFi absolute joke.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged twice, with absolutely no care from the staff. 3/4 of the facilities were in construction or broken. Due to staff laziness and an incredibly poor lack of cusomer service, we were 'forced' to home a fourth single bed in our room for the next occupants of the room (we were still there for 2 more nights) making the room cramped, uncomfortable and the experience very poor Pay for wifi, fine, but dropped out every 15 minutes.

    Coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee shop in the daytime is a potential bottleneck for good service. The staff do their best but have to serve the restaurant bar, the lobby bar, snacks to all areas including room service. Can easily be too much for one person.

    The jewell in the crown was the restaurant, good food and attentive staff. Also, a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was too far from any restaurants or bars and walk was too much for my partner. There was building work happening next door and we were woken by builders between 7:30am and 8:00am every day

    Price was good but hotel reflected the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    meals, alternate days no bacon, then no egg. food served in sparce portions, having to ask for more. in room had a fridge/freezer, microwave and kettle, 1 knife and 3 teaspoons

    leaving

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was really low, but the room smells like mold. It was cold and there was no heating.

    The location is perfect, quiet yet 5-10 min away from the Bugibba center. The bus stop is just in front of the hotel. The cinema is very close. There is a park opposite the hotel. The breakfast was okay, nothing special. The best thing about the room was the bed, super comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds was comfortable, but I slept with my partner on two single beds that were pushed together. But I think in summer time when is hot weather it will be good idea.

    Beautiful catering service. Nice swimming pool with sauna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms need urgent refreshing and renovating, fungus on the walls of musty swimming pool, water in jacuzzi not hot enough. Lack of vegetables, especially during typically British breakfasts.

    Great all inclusive price, quite varied food, good for this price. An electric kettle and a fridge in the room. Possibility of getting lunch packs and coffee with cake if leaving very earl in the morning (very nice gesture).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was cold in January. The dinner buffet timing should be a bit longer. It ends at 8pm. The hotel charges for the sauna and the towels for the pool (specifically mentions that you should not use the room towels). Wifi is also chargable, although the price is reasonable.

    The room size is decent. These items were provided in our room: towels, hair dryer, shower gel, soap, empty mini fridge, small kettle, flat screen tv. The Breakfast includes 3 hot items (usually egg, sausage, bacon), cold salads, toast, cereals, dried fruits, oranges, a coffee machine, 4 types of juice. The Dinner buffet has 3 types of meat which is changes daily, cold salads, 1 soup, 1 pasta, roast potatos, a few types of delicious cakes. Drinks are separate (unless you buy an all inclusive package) All services in the hotel can be changed to a inhouse cash card.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food was mostly always the same. chicken had only once in 5 night and gammon had every day. Gammon is not good for us since of high blood pressure.

    very nice hotel but need to improve the food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff the male receptionist rude unhelpful on all occasions the female receptionist not good either but not as bad as the male last three years I have stayed at this hotel always let down by the reception staff also they stoped the shuttle bus to the near by town in the evening which wasn't good

    I stayed before at this hotel so I knew what the hotel was like the restaurant staff are the best and house keeping very good breakfast good dinner was OK for the price we payed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Saturday @ Sunday evening meal times are governed by the use of the same room for non residence to eat .therefore creating non relaxed atmosphere for the residence

    room that was requested by ourselves needed revamping . Cleaning and attention to requests was met with promptness.The heating was extremely good on this visit and needed to be

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very good value for the money! If you want to discover the island and you are in the hotel only for sleeping, then this will be perfect for you! We had half board and the food was satisfying. Especially the home made cakes were very delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast buffet was the same every day. The reception doesn't inform about offers at the hotel such as the 15e surcharge for dinner/lunch for 2 people per day. The area around the hotel is not particularly sightly due to building sites.

    The room is decent, cleaned every day. Across the hotel several bus lines to different parts of the island stop, direct line X3 from the Airport. Salinas National Park is across the hotel and has free wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water at night. The water shut off mid shower and took 5 minutes to turn back on. There was no heat. Left and did not receive money back for days gone.

    Leaving

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort, cleanliness, all inclusive bar closing at 23:00, restaurant layout meant queues that shouldn’t have been there. Reception staff I will to assist with questions. Room small, toilet tired, whole hotel need a refit

    Location was where we wanted to be

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were first placed in a large room consisting of a bedroom and a dining room in a building 50m away from the main hotel. The room was really cold (around 16 dgr C), the air conditioner was not strong enough to warm up both rooms. Besides that, there was an uncomfortable and cold leather sofa instead of one bed although we booked 4 beds. It was impossible to use bed sheets on it as we could not tuck them anywhere. Therefore, all four of us slept in 3 beds that we moved together. When we complained, they somehow managed to find a more suitable room in the main hotel for the rest of our stay.

    There was live music in the bar every evening. The staff in the restaurant and the bar were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe there were not quite enough fruits, but it's probably because of non-season. I also suggested in the questionnaire to add green tea in the menu.

    This hotel is good value for money. Everything was ok, we used an all-inclusive pack and I think, it was appropriate for Europe. Destination far from the centre of Bugibba was an advantage for us because we like walking on foot and we prefer places without crowds of people. Also, we actively commuted by bus to get some sight-seeing like Mdina and Valetta. Nearest bus stop Fugass is near Hotel. Public transport of Malta works fine even on holidays, bus ticket cost 1,5 euro for 2 hours. Food was ok, there were more variations of dishes on Christmas holidays. Local beer and wine were also fine. We were quite lucky with the weather on December, 4-5 sunny days, +15+16 degrees without rains and just a little bit of wind. Only at the end of the holiday it was raining and winding a lot. So we managed to visit sight-seeing in good weather and to enjoy all wonderful landscapes of Malta. From all services, I only used closed swimming pool and jacuzzi, it was nice. Rent of the towel for pool cost 2 euro (deposit 4 euro and return 2 euro)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for everything except the toilet paper,internet,sauna towels!The food dont tastes good.The sauna and spa is so bad.Its is full of old people, they don't have blankets and the heating system of the room is not so good

    It is cheap,nice decoration

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was mostly the same. Needs to be improve. Not much variety. No croissant at b'fast always same cheese ,salami ,eggs ,bakedbeans, no variety... Even bread always the same.no panini.

    The entertainment was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Breakfast was awful no choices the Eggs were not cooked straight through the reception staff when we checked in the service was not great. No help with baggage's on arrival as there are steps to the reception area. Swimming pool too small. WIFI not free my friend had to buy a weekly ticket costing 8 Euros which did not work all the time. People drinking at 8 in morning not good for hotel appearance. Also did not get a bath as requested

    Must mention on leaving again having trouble with baggage's but cleaner helped us down in lift with them and must commend her for the service a Positive member of staff for the hotel. Shower in room was good and room and hotel excellent cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of maintenance corresponds rather to a 3* hotel, while the service including restaurant can be considered 4*. The maid service (cleaning) should be improved.

    Good position near a bus stop serving all main directions on the island, good price with half board included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a cockroach in our room and told the receptionist about it, he just laughed and said "oh, our little friends". Well they aren't my little friends for sure...it was nothing done about it... I expect way more from a hotel with 4 stars. We had to pay extra for the WiFi and it didn't even work well. We were pretty disappointed and wouldn't book this hotel again.

    The staff at the breakfast was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    1. Drunk tourists are smoking as if it's the last day of their life... everywhere: on balconies, at the pool, in rooms. Your room will smell like an ashtray. Hotel managers don't care. 2. No cleaning actually - only towel change. Tile floors are really dirty. 3. Only instant coffee, which is awful. 4. Quadruple room: beware - your window will face the wall. No view. No sunlight. The one on the picture is sold for extra money.

    The only thing you'd like at Bella Vista is price. Really cheap. Breakfasts are also acceptable. That is all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Building site next door, asked to change rooms and got messed about, even after room change promised. Food was the worst I have had in 40 years of travelling, location awful, no where near restaurants, shops , was in middle of residential houses, truly awful, over priced

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning ladies only change the towels and garbage bags. They never clean the floor or surfaces. The food should be better for a 4 star hotel. They always put the same food just with different sauces.

    The unlimited amount of food we could eat was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs more variety in Food Dept. Bacon and fried eggs are served on one day scrambled eggs and no bacon on the next day. Personally I Love bacon and I admit I wasn't happy it wasn't served each day. The Breakfast could improve on croissants and chocolate spread such as Nutella. The food at breakfast is very basic. Again on food, the Dinner needs more variety in the Antipasto, whereas the soups, pasta and mains are great so far Good Job.

    Great and Helpful Staff, I loved the Bar, lounge area, the small Convenient essentials grocery, confectionery souvenir shop near reception. Good WiFi and reasonable Prices, 4.00EUR for 3 days is good. Loved the shady Pool area, Malta's sun can get blistering hot. and the pool area is very shady. for sun lovers there is a solarium roof with sunbeds and a small Jacuzzi on the top floor (6th Floor). The Food is Good, I loved the Stews such as the Hungarian Goulash, Beef Strogonoff and pork Stews.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor and had to bought seperate Incredibly cheap. I had to walk down to reception to pay a 1.5 euros for use of an iron.. don't see why it couldn't be put on my room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a lock on our door the whole time we were here! We were given a safe key free of charge but we were always told that the lock "would be fixed tomorrow". We also wanted to use the laundry facilities and was told to leave it in the room in a bag but it was never taken. We checked out on the Sunday to be told on the Friday they wouldn't have time to wash our clothes. Very frustrating which meant we've had to buy more clothes. The price and The 4 star rating was a little generous. There was flys everywhere and ants in our fridge. The pool area has potential to be really nice but it needs a good clean and new pool grates which were broken and black all around the pool. Location was quite far from St. Paul's bay though it was walkable. My pregnant girlfriend found it hard to walk the distance though so we asked for taxis but they could never get one unless we went further afield.

    The food was okay and reasonable in price. The shop in the hotel also had reasonable prices. It was quite quiet aswell. Having read reviews saying this wouldn't be the case I was pleasantly surprised it was quiet so that was a positive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    More variety of food. Honey would have been nice at breakfast. There is a kettle in the room but no tea, coffee, milk etc. Maintenance needs doing in some areas eg pool.

    Nice hotel. Clean. Comfortable beds. Hot powerful shower. Friendly staff. Helpful rep who was at the hotel most of the time. Good shop which was good value and no more expensive than anywhere else. Good value discounted trips available from the hotel. Smartly dressed staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I seldom do reviews but this hotel deserves it. This is not a 4 star hotel! Neither the hotel itself nor the service is anywhere close to even a 3 star. All other receptionist are i think fed up with the management as well since they are not very helpful at all. We stayed 5 days and on the first day we were late 5 minutes for breakfast (only till 9:30) and didnt allow us in, instead closed the door in front of us and showed a very rude attitude, as if we would like to steal from them!! That was an old woman at the buffet. The second day we went for a breakfast and didnt ever come back. Worst ever breakfast, an extremely salty Ham, intentionally done for you not to take more i guess. There is just a white and brown bread and nothing more. The eggs are not the freshest you can get, these should be the last offer in the supermarket just before they expire. Coffee tastes like an instant coffee. The rooms are normal 2 star rooms i would say, very old, they only have single beds, the mattresses are awful. The bathroom is big enough but not well maintained. The water has very low pressure so you cannot literally use the WC one after the other. One whole night there was no water in the bathroom, receptionist told us we need to live with it!! I would recommend for all the staffs to undergo a hospitality training. They need it badly!

    apart from one English (blond, short hair) receptionist, there is nothing i like in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC does not work properly. Internet is not free, and had to buy, even though its not expensive.

    We liked the location, close to bus stop. Breakfast was awesome and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No free WiFi but its not to expensive to pay for it.

    Good size room for 2 adults, private balcony, free air condition, 1 outdoor swimming pool and one Indoor, nice little shop inside the hotel, good breakfast bacon, sausage, eggs, cereals... diner excellent and plentiful always couple of starters like soup, pasta, salads, 2-3 meals for main course, and for desert cakes, ice cream and fruit, Great location to use Public transport, Good Budget Accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wi-Fi could be better in rooms, connection not enough on floors like in lobby.

    hospitality of staff excellent, 2 swimming pools, receptionist very helpful, close to bus station for all routes, excellent bar, jakuzzi spa on roof and also in basement plus fitness and sauna, excellent location to visit all Malta. Everyday clean rooms and change towels, big bed, a lot of entertainment, every night live music in bar, wending machines with food and drink, small shop with everything inside of hotel, excellent lobby for relaxing. tour desk and help desk in lobby of hotel. nice breakfast offer different types of food like Swedish table.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - The hotel is not clean, the food is very bad ( the same food for breakfast, and just few options for dinner) - It is faraway from downtown - It is a destination only for people over 60 years old -it is noisy -Internet wasn't for free ( it was expensive/ and the password was valid for one user only).Therefore, we had to buy for 2 persons everytime we needed, and it was working very bad - Breakfast terrible ( same food every day) , the coffee is terrible -AC did not work during all our stay ( and as far as i asked some other tourists, they were facing the same problem) -There are no products in the bathroom ( except 2 shower caps) -it is a 2 stars hotel (in my opinion)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    - Breakfast was terrible. All 10 days we had the same. From all dishes only bread and eggs had natural taste. - Air conditions didn't work - Was very hot at room

    Helpful stuff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Surroundings of hotel was terrible, noise and dirt because of really many reconstructions and constructions in the area. Personnel for cleaning not professionals - they just konck and go inside though you say wait, opposite - cleaning just very swiftly. Loose of much time when travelling with buses, not recommending visit of Marsaxlok because of so many people! (market - similar to Vietnamese markets)

    Nice choise and good food during breakfast and dinners (buffet 3 types of dinner), very kind and willing personnel in restaurant and hotel´s shop! Nice swimming pool. Bus stop in front of the hotel. Recommanding the hotel, just a pity of his location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very poor selection and repative fish, pork, compressed turkey in breadcrumbs.

    Location very run down, no shops general area like a building site. Footpaths very bad in need of repair. I did like the park across the road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal choice was poor for vegetarians. Salads and vegetable. I eat fish so was able to have a meal.

    Good size room for 2 adults and 1 child. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Only british and very monotonous breakfasts. - Hotel is used by many organized groups, both old and young. With first ones there is no problem, second ones were very noisy. - Some machines in hotel gym were damaged and dangerous. - Fans in gym need cleaning. - We were unlucky and on the last night some road works were done through whole night straight under our hotel. - Sometimes it was hard to find a parking place - No beach in Buggiba only rocks.

    - Very nice personnel, although guests were sometimes unpleasant for them. - Evening meals were ok. - Shop in Hotel with good prizes. - 10 minutes walk from Sea

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variety of food was poor, few options of veggies and loads of bread. Every day the same stuff , and no natural juices. Wi-fi has to be payed by hour.

    There is a great small shop at the main hall , with drinks, souvenirs, sunscreen, everything for a honesty price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paid WiFi is expensive and horrible. They don't give electrical outlet adapters, but don't buy it. All the sockets in hotel are already broken and you can use them without it.

    Great location to use Public transport, but check out all the Bus stops near the area. Public transport is quite messy in Malta. Buses run slow, rarely and they even don’t use schedule properly. It is possible that you will wait for your bus 2 hours and the driver won’t stop for you, because the bus will be full. So traveling with public transport in Malta is a challenge, but possibility to use a lot of bus numbers to come near hotel is true salvation. Food in Hotel is good, but they are taking it off quite early, so don't be late. Especially on Saturday, because the dinner starts earlier that day. Shop in hotel is okay. Prices for drinks are slightly different in shopping centers. But there are couple of them near the area, if you will need something more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All things that I'll list below would be OK for a 1- or 2-star hotel; we did, however, book a 4-star hotel and here's what we got: - We were relocated to a secondary building about a block away. By being there we had no direct access to the hotel's facilities, and felt not exactly compelled to walk and carry all our stuff just to try the swimming pool; - The room was OK, though rather noisy in the morning. Bed, pillows and shower felt like they were due a replacement some 10 years ago; - The breakfast was a joke. Under-cooked sausages, overcooked eggs, "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter!" equivalent instead of, well, butter and terrible coffee — horrendous, in fact. We did not come back on the remaining days. Again, all would be acceptable were it a 2-star hotel. But it's not, and that's unacceptable.

    The lady that checked us in. She was just starting and it was funny to watch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bacon at buffet breakfast - soo many carbs not enough salad variations til the last day - the indoor pool shut too early. Just my preferences.

    The Indoor Pool was nice - The Male receptionist was brilliant couldnt speak higher of him. Room is nice and so were the cleaners. Good Budget Accommodation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints other than the charge for wifi and late check-out could be reduced.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless and facilities good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude and unhelpful. Room was cramped and poorly furnished. Beds uncomfortable. Location poor. A shops and life were a 15-20 minute walk. WiFi hopeless.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rest of reception staff need to improve their attitude and service. We was asked to pay 5 euro from the reception to print our boarding passes, service that cost us only 0.35 euro at the copy center near by the hotel. We paid for Iron - and it was leaking hot water, the Kettle as well (very hazard) - Definitely need to invest in proper Irons and Kettles

    Restaurant staff - swift and friendly Bar staff - friendly HK Staff - polite and friendly Night receptionist and Nadia- great customer service - Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    În my opinion in this period inside pool area must be heated. That's all.

    Location, friendly and helpfull staff . All was more then ok. For a winter holliday in Malta is perfect location. You have all facilities you need to vizit all Malta.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 22 nights

    After a six hour flight delay, on arrival at 8 pm we could not obtain a hot meal, so went to bed hungry. Also the Booking.com system was found to be incompetent. Due to an altered return flight schedule we found it impossible to modify our booking although we were notifying in good time, so had to pay for an unused extra night.

    The accommodation was excellent and the tours enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet was terrible in hotel.. We paid for the internet and we had nothing. No internet connection in our room. Do not pay for this internet..

    Staff is good, location of hotel also good, easy to visit all Malta by public transport. If you want to spend less money it's good decision to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    food could have been better with more choice also rooms cold,they couldnt get heating to work inspite of repeated complaints .

    evening entertainment quite good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything no pillow protectors or mattress protectors and room very dark ,and sheets not changed the whole time ,food cold and same food every day ,not good at all will never return its only 2 star not 4 needs a good overhaul dont go there .

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room 526 really is only a single room, it doesn't need two beds. There wasn't enough space. Also the maid never swept the floors after a week if really needed that. Additionally they don't wash/change the cups. Also be nice to have little shampoo's etc as I was caught without. Free wifi would be an incentive.

    Breakfast was sufficient, the shop was convienient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A smell coming out from bathroom and spreads all over the room. Some persons of the staff (non Maltesians wich were helpful friendly and polite) didnt really care about helping .One night I had asked about a thermometer to cheque my little's daughter temperature and an employee told me that they havent got any and I had to go to hospital in Mosta 6 km away .

    The hotel is located in a excellent position if you want to travel all around the island, travel to Gozo and be close to the sunny beaches on the nord of the island as well. You can easily find parking. The breakfast is good. Our room was quite spacious. The shop inside the hotel is useful. There is a quite good view from most of the rooms to the park. Value for money since is a cheap hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hard beds. Food. Pool area only had sunshine during the morning. Pool very cold and small. Hotel out of the way - 20 minute walk to amenities. Evening meal time moved to accommodate private party with hotel guests being relagated to an overspill dining room.

    Sun terrace on the roof. Most of the staff were nice, Bus stop nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncleaness Towels forbidden once Fridge wasn't working on the beginning Pbm with keys of one room Wifi doesn't wirk properly where as we pay it quite expensive

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in hotel needs to be extra paid. 0.50€ for 2 hours, and it constantly falling out of connection. You need to spent whole 2 hours at once, and there were nowhere mentioned that in advance.

    Like the staff, they work a lot and hard, and they are always nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived room prepared for us (small abt 5m2 , no balcony, small window) was completely different than what we booked. Once guy from reception woke us up at 7 and told that taxi is waiting for us - as we later found out he made a mistake.

    Nice, clean rooms. Close to the bus stop. Kitchen staff was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were not very comfortable, nor were the pillows. There was a constant buzzing from machinery outside the room. TV channels advertised were not available; there was no English entertainment channel. Too many "extras" (hairdryer, kettle, fridge) to be paid for.

    The communal areas were comfortable, as was the dining room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was missing fruits on breakfast and the food quality in general was not best. The swimmig pools are also very small.

    the staff was very friendly and nice. Good bus connections.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi not free and it crashed at one point during our trip (not fun when you've already paid for the service). Our room had ants. Breakfast did not accommodate for food allergies and there was no fresh fruit available. Aircon not sufficient, room felt very damp and hot.

    Some of the staff were very helpful. Pool area seemed nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Day 1-2 no AC.Fixed on day 3.AC has 9am shutoff policy.Internet costs a fortune compared to quality of service.Radius went down for hours so had to use costly roaming.There is no roundabout bus to centre so u need to change 2 buses or wait for number 45 and walk.

    Breakfast is adequate and cleaning ladies really good.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bella Vista Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: