Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Canifor Hotel 4 stars

Triq In-Nikkri, SPB1550 St Paul's Bay, Malta

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Paid WiFi

    3.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Very basic breakfast but included in the price so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t complain because we were looking for something cheap and weren’t expecting too much. Standard was just ok - the hotel is quite old but as I said we were using it only as a place were we can sleep.

    Very basic breakfast but included in the price so we couldn’t complain. Hotel is situated next to bus station which was great! (There is a bus going to the airport which saves you paying 20 euros for the private taxi - we paid about 2euros for ticket - it takes much longer than taxi but gives you the opportunity of saving money)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is just perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It could be better menu in restaurant ,some more variety and fruits better choice . Also possibility to make coffee or tea in room ,maybe bottle of water for arriving if they want to stay as 4 stars . i just could expect those simple things . i don't mind about this stuff but better choice of toiletries as well.

    Location is just perfect .Is very close to the bus station so don.t spend money for taxi if You not arriving very late. Is just a few min walk from the bus X3 stop. Just please don't expect 4 star standart . This level is about 3 stars .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    just got on with it ok but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    more parasols round pool, entertainment at night catered for the oldies, bathrooms are so small, our shower was broken, and they are old fashioned small shower heads, had to even purchase kettle, tv tiny

    location, cleanliness of room, fresh linen everyday if needed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast should be improved with some fruits and vegetables ( local fruits are abundant delicious and cheap and plus would help local growers sell their products ) . And for God's sake serve real coffee not the crap you serve now !

    Hotel is very clean , nice , staff extremely nice and helpful ,room good size , comfortable . Located near shops and bus station . Very good value for money . If you can't afford Hilton go to Canifor !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.0
    overall a pleasant stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cooler is useless in most rooms ( is not a proper fridge ). Breakfast could be improved ( fruits and vegetables )and the miserable coffee should be replaced with real coffee .

    This hotel is unfairly underestimated . Is a nice hotel ,very clean , staff is very polite and helpful , make you feel very welcome .The room size is good, has ceiling fan and air conditioning .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    It's good for a sleepover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to a lot of bars around, it gets pretty noisy at nights and you cannot keep the balcony door open, but there is a ventilation system in the room, although it's a bit to strong. Did not like breakfast.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient, nearby the sea, bus stops, supermarket and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    ok but not 4star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food served is very mediocre, luke warm , not a lot of variety and the same thing everyday for breakfast i'm just glad i only booked b+b. Being 4 star it should be a bit cleaner, and with more services , sheets were changed only once during the stay , with the hot weather it should be more often if not daily

    Location is great with lots of bars , restaurants , shops , and close to beach front and bus station for local buses

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    It was available to book, when others weren't. We know why, now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in staff over charged on Tourist fee (corrected when pointed out), checked out on night early but left good in the room which we were told may no longer be there as they re-sold the room and hadn't checked if it was clear, despite us having paid in advance for that night. Reception desk unwilling to help.

    Uncomfortable mattresses, very noisy air conditioner, impertinent front desk staff, low quality breakfast materials, thinly insulated walls and doors, meaning other guests shenanigans disturb the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.5
    I don't recommend this hotel
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing. The hotel does Not deserve 4 stars at all. There was no internet connection in the rooms. Everything is very old, staff wasn't helpful or friendly, no kettle in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Good base if you are only there to sleep and shower, but anything else steer clear
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for 3 nights in hotel. Arrived 10pm on Friday night to be informed that there was not a room available for us. Temporarily put us in a horrendous apartment. However did move us to a room the following morning. Breakfast was an ordeal. We chose to eat elsewhere.It was full ofPushing and shoving rude OAPs. Choice was rubbish, and set up not practical at all

    Room was nice. Clean but needed updating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    We will never come again to this hotel. It didn't meet our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly I wouldn't give this hotel even a 2 stars hotel rating. We were really surprised that upon our arrival we had to pay extra 35 euro for the 2nd person even though we booked twin room which was suitable for 2 people. And even though we paid that 35 euro, we didn't get any receipt for that. The cleaning staff always forgot to put a bath towel and one day even accused us of stealing this towel,even though we did not do that. Another day we found in our room the things which don't belong to us,it was very strange and we were thinking that someone else got into our room. The balcony was messy. The same breakfast everyday, we didn't have much to choose from. And there was no Wifi in the room as well, you have to pay extra to use it in your room even though the price for the stay was too high and it doesn't meet the 4 star hotel quality at all. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, it can easily destroy your vacation.

    The only thing we liked about the hotel was the location and the fact that there were restaurants nearby. It was about 5 min by foot to the bus station from the hotel which really made it easier to get to the city centre and other destinations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    A great place if you need a place to sleep in a few days, and if you do not expect too much ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noise from the air conditioner (hotel management must seriously work on fixing this problem); no Wi-Fi or internet access in the rooms, even if you want to pay, free only in the hotel's lobby but poor quality; choice of TV programs (desperately bad);

    The proximity to the bus station, relatively quiet surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Situated at walkable distance (about 150m) from Bugibba bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible breakfast: low quality food and dirty dishes. The following days we ate elsewhere. The furniture in the room is very old, like visiting a museum of how hotels look in the 70's. You can hear everything in the nearby rooms, even two rooms away. Paid wifi in the room and free wifi (but rather slow) in the lobby.

    Situated at walkable distance (about 150m) from Bugibba bus terminal and right across the street from Classic Car Museum. Also, the Aquarium is nearby and at 5-10m walk there is the Bugibba Square (restaurants...). Kind staff. The cheapest 4* hotel I've ever lodged into, but the quality and the amenities are also cheap (kind of 2*). Anyway, you were warned: this is the best option if you are interested only coming late just to sleep and leaving early. There is a European plug in the room, but only one socket (there are other 3 under the desk, but British ones). So carefully plan your charging.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.8
    Overall a bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff during the night was not friendly. The breakfast was bad, a lot of people put their hands in the bread without taking it! Even if staff noticed it, there wasn't any action.

    Day shift staff was really friendly. Bed and nothing more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    all was fine and this hotel is really good in all ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    sometimes was noisy late in evening from happy drank people

    the pools are nice,indoor pool warm and clean,rooms were cleaned every day,breakfast also every time good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous short stay, plenty to do with easy access to all from this location. Returning with family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room not great, very dull unless long light on mirror was switched on which was just far too bright!!

    V close to bus stop. Helpful holiday rep. Made to feel welcome. Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby and close to rocky beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    All the staff were particularly helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the staff were particularly helpful and friendly.....we spread some tips around when we left....so that tells you!!! Towels in the room were changed every day and the bed made. The public area toilets were always clean and smelled fresh.....a nice touch....thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    2 stars hotel with rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 stars, seriously?! it's 2 stars hotel, not even close to 4 stars. Staff wasn't polite or friendly, even rude, very bad wifi, terrible breakfast. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in a well priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Booked bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable and large enough for the two of us. The view was overlooking the pool which was fine but building work was going on beyond. There was a very good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.2
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at night is very rude , its not helpful at all

    Need to change the food especially the breakfast not good juice taste water not much choices of food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Decent enough for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality just ok. Tv service very limited. Bedroom bed covers a bit tatty/dated.

    Handy to bus station for travelling elsewhere. Pleasant dining room/ kitchen staff. Quiet enough at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.6
    Never again! If you come, don't put your trust in their taxi service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit older and so were the towels, beds and etc. The hotel is charging for WiFi, which is in the lobby-but there's free WiFi in most of the restaurants nearby and also on the bus stop. We had bed and breakfast- there was the same breakfast for 7 days and sometimes some peaces of vegetable or cheese were way too old. It's a bit noisy in the evenings because of the really loud retro music being played at the hotel bar up until 23:30. But the thing that completely pissed me off was that the taxi ordered through the hotel services to take us to the airport didn't show up and it took the reception staff 1,5 hour to find another one. Due to that we missed our flight and had to stay another night and buy new plane tickets. I imediatelly wrote a complaint to the hotel but up until now I didn't receive any answer!!!

    Close to the bus stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    +Our stay was good even better than expected, those giving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Average water pressure in shower, hard to adjust temperature, The same breakfast every day, but still plenty to choose from.

    +Our stay was good even better than expected, those giving 1* reviews are overreacting. We booked twin room but upon request was upgraded to double room with big balcony 5 floor. +Location, very close (1min walk) to city central bus station, we could get easily to any place in Malta, buses goes frequently, close to Elvis bar, Aquarium, Car museum, some beaches etc. +View from upper floors, +Price/Value, +Room looked refurbished recently +Great personnel, always helpful, one older guy at the breakfast always telling some jokes, +Quiet hotel - mostly older guests, did not see any loud guests or noisy students/children +Indoor/outdoor pool, rooftop jacuzzi - i wake up early and saw that it was cleaned/maintained every morning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    beds were comfy girls that cleaned rooms always polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    some of the hotel needs a little refurb cracked tiles in room curtains hanging off the hooks, requested a walk in shower due to partners mobility problems but when we arrived you couldnt accomodate us and we ended up with a bath for 2 weeks the staff were all great and the cleaners did a good job. breakfast was ok dont think we would stay here again because of the above

    beds were comfy girls that cleaned rooms always polite and very helpful rooms cleaned and fresh most of staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    Whilst the stay at the Canifor Hotel was generally satisfactory, the accommodation was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our rooms, one double and one twin, were not available on our arrival as payment had not been made, although I was informed by Booking.com that payment would be made at the hotel on arrival.

    Disappointed with our arrival as rooms were not available and myself, wife and her two sisters had to share a two room, single bathroom accommodation for one night, totally embarrassing for all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    I like only price, this hotel was 4* hotel about 10 years...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air Conditioning was damaged (noisy, air was cooler than room temperature but it was definitely not AC ;]). Room cleaning service on moderate level. "Very" British breakfasts, awful coffee. Juices from dispenser was from concentrate.

    I like only price, this hotel was 4* hotel about 10 years ago, it does not fit to 4* standard IMO. Very close to Malta Classic Car Museum. About 5 minutes to beach. Bus station and NextBike bike rental station near hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    Stayed 5 days and it was 5 days too long. The bedding was horrible and wasn't changed the whole time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen thin and dirty-looking. Towels not clean. Had to pay €3.50 per day for tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Dirty balcony covered in pigeon poo. Not nice. Definitely not 4 star rating.

    Air conditioning very good. Small fridge in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    Dreadful, 4 star? Wouldn't even give this place a 1 star!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfriendly rude staff, breakfast inedible, room filthy, bed linen and towels dirty, air con extremely noisy, overlooking 2 bars open until 3am so no sleep, glass collection at 6.10am, asked clean bed linen on 3rd day and they just turned it around, when eventually got it changed it was replaced with blood stained sheets. No apology from hotel, partner was told, when complaining, to "go to your room".

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is pretty laid back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast that was offered could've been way better. It seemed that all the food was fake and very, very cheap. Luckily there are some bars and little restaurants around the hotel that offers a nice English breakfast for less than €5,-

    The location of the Hotel was perfect. The staff was very friendly with booking a taxi to bring us to the airport and they even checked car rental options. The overall atmosphere in the hotel was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.6
    - Good location (a lot of bars and restaurants in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast - cleanliness - conditions of the room - terrible internet connection (you have to pay for the wi-fi and most of the time it does not work) - cigar role on the linen, towels with stains - frigobar doesn't work properly

    - Good location (a lot of bars and restaurants in the neighborhood) - near the bugibba bus station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    2 star hotel masking as a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for wifi, tv remote, coffee facilities etc. Small double bed, with a chipboard base. One of the duvet covers In the cupboard had stains and hair on it and clearly hadn't been washed. The room in general didn't feel very clean. Breakfast was below average. Staff didn't seem to enjoy their work.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Location was good, near bus station, easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was poor, and staff not helpfull. Charging for wifi for guests in a town where wifi is fee at bus station is insane.

    Location was good, near bus station, easy to reach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    Definitely not worth it for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean, hair everywhere, saw also a cockroach in the bathroom. The staff wasn't nice at all. No free internet, you have to pay for it, it's very expensive and it doesn't work well. Tiny television in the room, to watch it you have to pay a deposit 45 euro for the remote control though. The bed wasn't comfortable. Very cheap bedlinen and towels which weren't always clean. Bed smell in the corridors. Basically no fruits and vegetables at breakfast, it's every day the same - English breakfast plus dark and white toast-bread, some cheap muesli and marmelade. It was also very noisy. The gym is poor and indoor pool was out of order. Rooftop terrace is nice, open until 8pm only though and the jacuzzi there was dirty! No free drinkable water available for free all day, you have to pay for it also.

    The outdoor pool is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Forced to use hotel transport, cockroach in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One time the receptionist forced me to use a hotel transport. Another driver from hotel would pick me up in the valletta. I agreed and later regret that. The taxi was only 5 euro more. I was waiting almost one hour and after calls I've been told that he is on the way, later that the road is blocked and finally he will organise another driver. I got angry and I used the taxi. I have lost around 1,5h for waiting him. Despite that, at the last day we found an enormous cockroach in our room.

    Air condition, good location, helpful stuff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    A good price. Close to the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun terrace could do with cleaning as there was animal urine on the beds. Wifi needs to be paid for. The reception staff do not know what is going on. We were there on a bed and breakfast basis and they offer an upgrade. Trying to upgrade is nearly impossible. We were told to come back and different times to speak to different people.

    The meals at the in house restaurant were really nice with plenty of choice. Not too sure about dietary requirements. The chef in the morning was really helpful and wanted to ensure that customers got what they needed. Other staff were not very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    Everything was perfect, but for 4-star hotel there are so many writen restrictions and instructions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    AC in the room didn't work properly all the time nevertheless that the reception staff were informed about it! The ceiling ventilator couldn't compensate the AC at the 5-th floor under roof! The TV programs were very limited.

    Room, bed, bath, balcony and furniture, nice cleaning, very good breakfast, purify water in the swimming pools and very kind staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The AC doesn't actually work. The breakfast is a a bit boring and poorly made. The parking situation is terrible. Park on the street with barely any spaces. No views, as you are too far away from anything worth looking at. Not very clean.

    The staff, balcony and pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    3.8
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room had a guest living in. We got a key to the room and noticed someone was still staying in the room. Second room we received was under renovation, everything was a mess. Third room seemed Ok, but soon we noticed that the aircon was making such loud noise, that it could not be used. Also, the fan was loose, just waiting to drop from the ceiling. Fourth room was Ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, clean rooms, we got balcony with good view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not for us, luckily good cafes near

    Great location, clean rooms, we got balcony with good view, nice and quiet although bars across the street, everything close: beach, atm, stores, restaurants.. easy check-in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.1
    Well located hotel with nice atmospehre :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not so much food to choose from at breakfast and the coffee was not nice at all.

    The staff was helpful, and our room was cleaned every day, the towels were changed daily. The location of the hotel is perfect, the bus station is a 2 mins walk from where you can reach every point of the island.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.8
    Just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had an older crowd and the meals were so so. The hottub didnt have water and pool closed at 1800. Elavators where out of order half the time. Rooms were big but smelled musky, probably from tje old rugs.

    Close to bus terminal and night life. Also supermarkets were close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay except the breakfast and the towels:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were very old and torn and poor breakfast - no vegetables, just eggs and pork. Not suitable no for vegetarians, nor for muslims.

    Very spacious and luxury loby, friendly staff and good location (close to the shore and bus stops).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Don,t get room 32 or 33 .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 32 ,every morning 5.30 water bowser dam noise, staff out at back of hotel smoking ,smoke coming in room, room directly above staff entrance. Outside our room was a housekeeping room from 7.30 onwards continues noise and very loud shouting , you heard nothing but linen trolleys being pushed. If I was to go back I would make sure I did,nt get this room or room 33 which friends of us had and the same complaint.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Just what we needed-reviews are a bit harsh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fridge wasn't clean, having to pay for wifi is a nightmare! Room could have been cleaned better-and we did have to ask for extra toilet roll at one point cause it hadn't been replenished! Breakfast stops at 10am... but you have to be there by 9:45am (just a wee tip!!)

    We recently attended Lost & Found Festival and booked this hotel for our accommodation. Presently surprised at how much better it was than the below reviews make out! If you are looking for a budget, basic hotel this is for you. Cleanliness was fine, rooms good size-balcony and fridge great! Outdoor pool is lovely and plenty of sun loungers! €3 euros - fabulous (just avoid coco loco!!), breakfast a bit chatic and not enough toast!!! Or fruit selection but fine for what we needed. Bed comfy and even provide extra pillows! Would definitely book again and tell friends if attending festival or going for a short break!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.3
    was a wrong choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was not even a plate and a fork in the room. Instead of a double room they attached two single beds to one another. You have to separately pay for the internet, for an electric water boiler or even to have the TV remote control!!!! If you wanna go there make sure you have your ear plugs because the walls and doors are so thin and let any noise pass while you are sleeping.

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Location was good for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was flanked but 3 building so hardly got the sun. The are also building direction sun does come from so soon no sun by the pool

    Location was good for exploring the area. Basic hotel. Close to the beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was only one receptionist but she didn't understand some English which made printing our return tickets quite difficult and again asking about buses.

    Asked for double room as usually twin and for once got it. Great facilities and staff for most part. Location great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location lovely roof terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms you have to pay extra for the only hotel I've stayed at that does this the pool wasn't excellent but good and some staff could be a bit more helpful & smile more

    The bed was very comfy some staff really helpful location was perfect and very peaceful hotel would definitely return

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Cheap but weak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was just terrible. Maybe, good for the British but we didn't like it at all. Swimming pool appeared very dirty so we didn't even try it.

    The hotel is clean, everyday cleaning stuff do their best.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    Canifor not for us next time in Qwara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and coffee machine running out of coffee .

    Location ok and our room on the fourth floor enjoyed a large sea facing terrace . Went bed and breakfast but breakfast was a little same every morning so we went twice to a small but lovely beachside place near the new sea life centre , €5 but worth it . Hotel staff at the Canifor were there and everywhere and run off their fee . Reception sfaff however were polite and helpful .Fire alarm one night was going off all night so very little sleep was got . Wouldn,t go back to the Canifor but plenty of others to choose from in that area .p

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.1
    Good, but there is room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we got a room facing a pub, where you could hear people talking up to 2am (we would be sleeping that time), as it was on the ground floor. In the morning were woken up again by a noise sounded like crushing of glass on the street under the window. So we had to ask for another room, which was more quiet. Although it was kept clean, some things were getting worn out. The tv in the room was small and scrambled. The worst thing was that you need to pay for everything which are in a 4 star hotel normally included: wifi, tea making facilities, remote.. The wifi was particularly expensive. We would go back if these things are improved.

    The hotel itself was generally kept clean, although the bathroom had some leaking issues (bathtub wasn't sealing properly). I think there is room for a bit of restoration as well. The beds were comfortable, however as a couple we expected a double bed instead two single beds pushed together. Most importantly the aircon was working properly, which is really needed concerning the heat. The staff was really friendly and helpful. We paid in for breakfast only and were satisfied with the choice of food and quality. The location was good, but if you drive the roads are a bit confusing initially.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    Good budget hotel with good locaton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like. The staff weren't always smiling but neither would I of been working dressed in long trousers waistcoats etc! Some of the grout around the Jacuzzi was a little dirty but nothing major.

    Great location near the main bus terminal so easy to get around the whole island. If you are using the public bus you can get a bus to/from Bugibba terminal from just about everywhere. 15 Euros for a bus card for 12 journeys or 21 euros for 7 day pass. 2 of us used 2x 15 euros pass and went out everyday. Nearby are lots of cafés shops etc and Bugibba square is a 5 minute walk. Hotel is a little dated but clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Good value for what we paid. Stayed B & B so glad we did, buffet breakfast was fine, cooked English plus cereals cakes juice coffee etc. Loads of places to eat out in the area in the evening. Liked Watercolours restaurant on the corner as you head to Bugibba Ceiling fans were great in the heat. We found the beds comfy. Guests are not allowed to reserve sunbeds with their towels...great! If your not expecting the Hilton for budget prices you will be fine. We would stay here again if visiting malta and the price was good. Malta is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is basic but you get that with a cheap price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a language barrier with some staff which can result in rudeness and being impatient.

    The staff couldn't do more to help with general questions. The cleaning staff do an incredible job and always polite. I loved the hotel was in excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    4.2
    Dont go to this hotel!! It sucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to Pay for de wifi and the pool. Very bad breakfast Very bad beds The conditioned Air only works some hours, not 24h Micro tv 4 stars? Jajaja

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    3.3
    I didn't like anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picked up an allergic reaction in the bedroom. Something was very hygienic. Had to go hospital and doctors requested me to move away from hotel. Had to check out the next day. Receptionists where very bad and rude and did not care especially when I showed them my condition at 2 in the morning. Will be taking further action. I have my proof and discharge letter from the hospital.

    I didn't like anything. Very disappointed, will be going back to the uk to take further action on this hotel and get my money back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Short break at Canifor Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Towels were dirty and had to buy new ones. 2. The hotel do not operate the AC during the day. 3. We had no shampoo because the dispenser was broken. 4. TV station very poor. 5. No one monitors the outdoor pool area to see that safety rules are being observed

    Location is very good and close to many restaurants and bars, Good value for money, and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    6.3
    Cleanning everyday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many things to lose time now. I will never comme back at this hotel. The breakfast was very bad.it has 1 or 2 stars.

    Cleanning everyday Close to the bus station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    2.5
    You should avoid this hotel !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lady in reception told us that they have no more rooms in main building and we received so-called 'apartament' that was terrible. Apartament was in another building next to the hotel. Elevator looked out like out of the order (we used stairs-4th floor) but our room was worse. It was dirty, there was no AC, no balcony and nice view from windo-see photos. When i told this to the lady in reception she told us that whole hotel has breaks in AC because the have some problems with air conditioning. I had to borrow some remote for 12 eur and technician started AC in our 'apartament'. It's no sense to write about another things of this hotel, all was really poor. As a consolation i can say that the main building is quite similar like our room. If you want to spend your holidays pleasantly, try to avoid this hotel. (I have no idea why this hotel has a rating 6.3)

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    3.3
    I wouldn't recommend Canifor, this is an old hôtel, The food were awful, and The staff not very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food of The restaurant was very bad. The room should have been cleaner. Some hair stayed in the bathroom when we arrived. The sheets not very clean. OMG horrible!

    Almost nothing actually... The hôtel is old and does not seem like in the photos in the website. The food of the restaurant: awful! The staff not very kind expert 2-3 persons of them... I wouldn't recommend the Canifor! Better to pay more and get a better service..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    4.6
    Four star hotel? Joke, cleaning was really bad, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the beggining.

    Four star hotel? Joke, cleaning was really bad, breakfast maybe little bit better than cleaning. Never go there second time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.3
    breakfast good and tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    stuff is horrible, when i have arrived he was very unfriendly and the local taxi was 1 EUR, and he paid with me 5 EUR in CASH!!!

    breakfast good and tasty bed good clean wifi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    5.8
    Old hotel in need of some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We left a day early as it was not what we expected, tired looking room, no creature comforts to be had, they turn the air condition off during the night, TV lost signal a lot. It was suppose to be a birthday surprise. Best thing all weekend was the Chinese near by. It was shown as a 4 star, maybe when the hotel first opened, but not now, more like a 3 star. We live on the Island and have seen better for your money. Facilities a bit tired looking need updating.

    The Staff were really nice and tried their best. Restaurants were ok, some nice dishes, some not so nice. Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    4.6
    The only thing that caught my attention this hotel was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I ever go back to Malta certainly would not stay in Bugibba, although the area is beautiful but still would choose be closer to St. Julians. I did not like the accommodation. The air conditioning was not working properly, the fridge in my room was not working. The room was not clean right. The sheets were old and grimy. The balcony was very dirty too. When I made the reservation on the site said that in the public areas of the hotel had wifi free, but this information is erroneous. Wifi free in public areas only in the winter, in summer you pay for internet. About breakfast ... my God, this was the worst breakfast ever. I only ate a piece of bread and tasted the orange juice and the scrambled eggs. The juice from the machine was horrible. The scrambled eggs tasted like water. Horrible, horrible. Honestly they should not offer breakfast like that for the guests. And plus the waiters were super rude.

    The only thing that caught my attention this hotel was the kindness of a lady chief of housemaids who was super helpful to ask someone to change the refrigerator and see the air conditioner in the room. And the ladies at the reception were also polite.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Restaurant and bar staff made up for the poor welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff shocking, attitude needs readjusting..

    Food Ok, room fine, drinks good, staff very friendly,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was the same every day.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wi-fi was bad.

    Breakfast was the same every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.4
    Adaquate for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Staff on reception were not particuar helpful or friendly

    Room was adaquate

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was really bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was really bad. My friend had an egg which wasn't good anymore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    2.5
    Awful, awful awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything in particular the Staff

    The worst Hotel I ever stayed at in my Life

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.3
    If given the choice I would not choose to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi. Dirty dining room. Breakfast poor quality. Staff inattentive. Parking difficult.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unconfy bed and noisy air conditioning

    Location and staff were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.0
    Not good vegtables, few time not eatable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good vegtables, few time not eatable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    Old low quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.1
    well located,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    well located,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    I expected more as a 4star hotel, so it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't free Wifi. Small room. Inside swimming pool closed early, at 5p.m

    I liked the location. Breakfast was good. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    Yery enjoyable, been before, will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts and sheets not changed

    Bed ok

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Canifor Hotel traveller photo gallery