Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cavalieri Art Hotel 4 stars

Spinola Road, STJ 3182 St Julian's, Malta

#25 of 33 hotels in St Julian's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1357 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining chairs are so old and dirty Our bathroom had a smell to it, maybe because it was not ventilated enough

    Comfortable beds Staff was great especially our Philipino cleaner on level 3

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    beds were so comfortable room spotless lovely view from our room beautiful at night will be back soon will book into the cavalieri hotel again loved our stay there thank you so much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The builing work next to the hotel made it dusty and noisy. It was a vesy basic hotel and definitely not worth the price we paid. Also breakfast was poor and really bad quality.

    The location was great. Close to everything you need. The staff was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was fantastic but a little inconsistent in taste on some mornings. Indoor pool small and not really suited for adults.

    Unexpected upgrade to sea view room which had a fantastic view of the bay. Great location with walking distance to both St Julian’s and Paceville. One of the best hotel gyms I’ve been in with a large selection of equipment and weights. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A big deficiency was the practically non-existent WiFi, unacceptable in a modern hotel. The whole area of St. Julians is unfortunately a building site, bristling with tower cranes and with the sounds to go with it. As already mentioned, the hotel could benefit from a refurbishment of the rooms.

    The hotel is well situated immediately adjacent to the seaside. I was not on holiday but the pool and bathing facilities looked good with the option of swimming in the apparently very clean waters of the bay, The staff encountered were very friendly and tried to assist as best they could. The breakfast experience was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is a issue, we had to wait more than the usual time to take it.

    Beautiful view from Spinola Bay, good restaurant with a range variety of dishes and drinks. I truly recommend and I will be back soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff never at reception. They charge you another Tax on arrival. Bathrooms very tired cracked tiles, toilets weak flush, Shower went everywhere as missing a strip at bottom of Glass.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather wasn’t great during our stay however we could imagine the pool area to be quite crowded during summer months as it isn’t huge. Plenty of space down by the nearby bays instead should this be an issue.

    Hotel was lovely, clean, well equipped with nice large clean rooms & balconies. Staff were friendly and helpful also. The bar was nice and the adjacent terrace. Great location for waking to St Julians Bay, St George’s Bay and not too far for walks to Sliema. Also, close to bus stops / taxi ranks for anything further afield.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should offer water with meals and the fact that the water is not drinkable from the tap, there are broken tiles in the bathroom floor and also cappuccino machine not working

    the view from the window is very nice also the reception area very appealing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there is a lot of construction going on near the hotel and in St Julian’s in general. Rooms not facing the bay would be facing building works. Hotel itself is a bit worn. Breakfast was ok but not much fresh fruit and sometimes a long line for the coffee. The omelettes were very good.

    Very convenient location with easy access to public transport and good restaurants nearby. Had a room overlooking the bay which was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Building works are out front but to be honest, i heard more works from across the bay then i did locally. loads of building projects in Malta as we speak but did not affect the enjoyment of the hotel. Make sure you get sea view room :)

    Amazing location. Beautiful views across the bay. Great Breakfsat and great price. The walk from the hotel along the bay with the fishing boats, bars and restaurants is amazing. Big room and cool views. Stayed in 5 star hotel for last 2 nights (Cavalieri was booked out) and at 2.5 times the price and it was not worth the extra money at all compaired to the Cavalieri offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is under staffed at busy times, for example the bar area in the evenings before one goes out for dinner or ordering dinner takes very long. The vending machine ran out of water and apart from one small bottle in your room, there was no drinking water available.

    It is well located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night shift manager tried to charge us 634€ extra although the room was paid via booking . The reception staff were proffessional and corected the mistake made bythe night shift manager but the situation was really unpleasant.

    Location & view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible rooms. Not the four star it claims to be. Room windows were sealed shut with duct tape. Wifi was not working. The bed was essentially a cot. Rooms next to noisy construction. A monitor for a tv.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1) Billed long before arrival (against your conditions) 2) Breakfast not included !!!!!! breakfast should not be regarded as a meal, right? 3) Unacceptable service at the outdoor bar/cafeteria

    the location i.e. close to all amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The weather could have been a little bit better but no one can change that

    The location of the hotel was amazing & the views spectacular The staff were so pleasant and helpful It was a lovely venue for a weeks relaxation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really a 3 star hotel at best. Doesn’t come even close to property presented in pictures.. Old and in need of a major renovation

    Good location and nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of people staying were elderly, so it had a “pensioners sanatorium” feel. The breakfast wasn’t great, for example normal coffee was very watery so I had double espresso every time, the omelettes were fried on very old pans (build up of grease and rust on the edges) and oil wouldn’t be changed after the previous 30 customers. The juice was actually squash and there was a lack of allergy info. When requested bathrobes from the reception, they were brought with dirty stains and strings hanging out from them. Constant electricity issues, either the electric supply would cut off or the lights wouldn’t work, this happened on a daily basis. Indoor swimming pool area safety leaves you concerned as there were 2 incidents in the space of 30 mins, one teenage girl fell heavily and cut her forehead, next victim was my 6 year old daughter who cut her knee and will now be left with a scar. How can there be such a sharp surface around the pool to get cuts that deep?! The sauna is very old (like everything else) and has a sign inside, above the heat rocks, that there’s a risk of electric shock. Who would want to use it after that? WiFi is poor, however there is a conference room with strong connection. This hotel is surely not 4 stars and it’s not worth the money I paid.

    The view and the location was great. Large supermarket very close and anything else you might need for a long of short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was below average quality and some of the staff (working at the egg/pancake stand) was quite unfriendly (close to rude). The bathroom was extremely small, while the room seemed unnecessarily large.

    Location and view was excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was well below par dinner and breakfast eg uncooked poatatoes for dinner and powdery eggs for breakfast.

    Location, views and staff especially night manager Max super helpful and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus stop is but so close and it is always busy. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in St Jullians, but not to those traveling around...

    Wonderful breakfast!!! Wonderful hotel in general, except for the location for people who love to travel a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a little cramped given the size of the room and I particularly dislike a shower that is over a bath. I was a little annoyed with the water situation as there are signs saying that the water is not drinkable but this was the only hotel we stayed in Malta (of 4) that did not provide complimentary water and they also did not make sure that the mini bar was restocked of water. The staff were not particularly friendly and not very helpful about the water situation at all. The breakfast buffet was also not a high point. The breakfast room looks like a hospital or work canteen and is very crowded and the staff were not in a hurry to tidy up tables and make them ready for the next guest.

    The hotel is very well situated in St Julian's Bay with spectacular views over the bay. Our room was very generous in size with 2 double beds. It is close to lots of lovely restaurants. The maintenance staff were very quick to a problem that we had with the door to the room not locking. Our room and bathroom were always immaculately clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A 4 star hotel? Didn't even look like a 2 star one. Rude staff, the hotel in reality looks way too different from the photos, very noisy...The view from the window was on the construction site and no one, obviously, told me about it. Due to this, I woke up at 7 am because of the noise coming from the site. CRAZY! The worst hotel I ever stayed at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A big construction work takes place right opposite the hotel and it's extremely noisy all day long. To top that the room next to us was under construction as well. Work would start at 8:00 am with horrible noise, and you can hear the workers. In a matter of fact second day of our stay we found construction materials next to our door and on the hallway. The carpet in the hallway was visibly dirty. The room that is sold for triple actually have two beds, so be careful when you book. If you are 3 adults you will need a 3rd bed. When placing a 3rd bed in the room you will end up with no space at all. Tiny bathroom. The hotel needs to be freshen up! At this point it's only a 3.5*** not really a 4****

    Great view over the bay and the sea. Good size balcony. Polite and helpful personnel. Nice reception with art work. There was a Japanese exposition and we had a chance to meet the artists.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was terrible!! I paid over 50 euros for dinner ans we had to find somewhere else to eat in the night. I am not exaggerating but who does get soup wrong? The fish was so hard I could not bite into it. I really do hope this was a bad food day rather than the norm.

    The property was centrally located to public transport and the view was excellent. I booked one of the rooms (bay view) and the scenery was captivating. It overlooked the Marina and nearby Sliema. It was breathtakingly beautiful especially at nights. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st floor room very close to hotel entrance. Inadequate soundproofing. Not only were we on top of the building site where work went on all over Easter but we could here everyone's conversation just walking by!

    We had a standard room. Lovely chambermaid, very helpful when my husband wasn't feeling too well. Bed comfy, adequate facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed should have extra matress on top. The bed is not comfortable.

    The view from the rooms is wonderful. The service personnel specially the chambermaids are very helpful and polite. Clean everywhere in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just an issue with the door key where another group of guests managed to enter our room with their card key, which shocked us. It was an error in their system. (Staff were atleast professional and handled it well and for that i have a positive rating for this hotel, but hopefully it does not happen again when i return to this hotel). Lack of privacy depending on the location of your room. People on the balcony can easily look into your room.

    Value for money, view, room was spacious, bed was very comfortable. All of the staff were friendly and always ready to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionists wasn’t as helpful as she could have been when asked if she was able to give us the time our airport tranfer would be picking us up.

    The room was absolutely lovely, with a great view (from the 3rd floor), the majority of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was absolutely perfect, lots of bars and restaurants around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff without asking takes your passport and make a photocopy of it - I mentioned I was not happy with this and they simply stated it is a hotel policy and I have to comply if I want to stay with them, poor isolation between rooms- you can hear people talking at the room next to, very simple and aged design inside room, seafront view requires upgrade fee of 20 eur

    Excellent location overlooking Spinola Bay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door didn't shut completely. We stayed here in March and it was rather cold in the room as wind was blowing through the opening in the door, moving the curtain. Centralised heating wasn't available. The air conditioning panel coukdn't be turned on. This makes sense because the rest of the hotel was fairly warm. Just the balcony door was the problem.

    Wonderful view from the restaurant, interesting paintings and photographs on the walls in the lobbies and restaurant, including art and photographs exhibitions. Very good location, very visible from distance (large building and large, Well lighted name). Everybody seemed to know the hotel. We asked a bus driver about it and he indicate where to get off the bus nearest to Cavalieri. Nice indoor and outdoor pool. Good and diverse food for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be a little more helpful When addressing room requests.

    Stunning views, abbundant Breakfast & great swimming pool area! Close proximity to shops, restaurants & bus station - very convenient!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the bedroom poor. Door in bathroom warpingat bottom and some cracked tiles. Mattresses basic and not very comfortable

    Staff helpful and always polite and pleasant. View from balcony pleasing. Access to restaurants, shops,bus stops great. People of Malta are lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was quite old and damaged in our room. I needed to ask twice a baby cot (after asking it on Booking.com).

    I loved the view! It’s amazing.The location is also very good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel could need a renovation. In our room there were spots on the walls and it needs painting. It were not many TC channels, and very rare you see so poor choices in a 4 star hotel. The quality of bacon at breakfast was appalling.

    We were upgraded to a very good room on the 6th floor with excellent view to the Bay and surroundings. The hotel has a private pool with sun chairs available at all times. Good service from staff. Many good restaurants nearby. There are many busses going to Valetta, and the bus stop is only 5 min from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff in the bar were the main reason I ended up staying - if not, I would have checked out immediately. I had a view on to some works being done, which started work at 7am every morning and woke me up. The pool was closed one of the days and seemed to be for kids only the other times I tried to go. The whole place was falling apart.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it was February, we could only use the indoor pool which was quite small but adequate. I don't think there were any changing rooms (or if there were we didn't find them) which would have saved having to change in the toilets and leave all your stuff on the poolside. But this is all very minor.

    Staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. Rooms were large and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very comprehensive. Views were spectacular.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noise (not much). There was a construction site across the street but our room was on the other side.. by the sea.

    Position and view (at least of the one side of the hotel which look to the bay)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi buffers in room but is fine in communal areas.

    We were upgraded to a refurbished deluxe room. Having stayed there before knew we would be in a lovely room overlooking the sea, as a bonus were given a secluded balcony with upgraded furniture. Thanks to Therese and Monika very helpful reception staff. In fact all the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I chose the hotel mainly because of the heated indoor pool and sauna and for my wife. The indoor pool was tepid water, not heated. The sauna did work until 7pm only, but it is not stated in the room manual. I showed to the receptionist but she didn't care. Imagine the frustration to not be able to use it... The room is spacious but the air conditioning was not working at all after one entire in the minimum temp. I literally woke up wet. The location is great for the view of course, but there are just a few restaurants by the bay and nothing more.

    Great sea view, a lot options in the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is not working properly, in the hotel the connection is free but it doesn’t really work as it should be. Most of the bedrooms have a connected door with other guests room, the door itself is safely closed but you can easily hear other guests business and is not fair at all!

    The view and the position

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quality of food at breakfast could have been better. The ensuite was very tired looking, the rooms were often not cleaned until mid to late afternoon. Changing area by the indoor pool was poor. We overlooked a building site and could be a bit noisy at 7am.

    Location was good, staff helpful, reasonable selection of food at breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tea-coffee making facilities available in the room, tv had interrupted signal in a first floor room, toilet-seat dirty when we arrived to the room, couldnt find mini-bar prices, construction across the room/street view starting 6:30 in the morning! booked an economy room-when i asked for an upgrade-a better room on a higher floor w sea-view was available for a lower price, since i thought its a language error with the receptionist-i asked back 2 times-he asked 2 times his supervisor-and it wasnt a mistake, obviously i asked for the room to be changed-receptionist went to ask his superior for the third time to the back office and i recieved an answer that they canbnot upgrade me, cuz they will be fully-booked (in january, in malta-that was just a pure lie) We stayed 4 nights, did not let this matter interrupt our mood set for vacation, but i was ready to upgrade, which they can afford to refuse! The “best” was, breakfast wasnt even included in the price of an economy room-wasnt told how much it is, so i opted not to ask and we dined outside.Did not use hotel facilities,st julians has a lot to offer!

    the bed was fine, housekeeping attentive and no distruptions, toilettries supplied

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only hot water came out from the sink. Indoor pool was unavailable. I could hear clearly from the rooms next door. Funny odour in the corridors. Breakfast was good but the area is cramped.

    Balcony with see view. Breakfast was very good. Spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely view right next to the waterfront. Well situated for the nightlife in St Julian and easy to catch a bus to Valletta. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the beds were amazing, the staff are so polite, we had a problem with the patio door not locking, it was fixed with an hour and we received a letter of apology the following day (not necessary but was nice) very nice food and not ripped off with over inflated bar prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water in the indoor pool was too cold. We have just being living at Preluna for five days before we arrived at Cavalieri. The Preluna indoor pool is much better and warmer.

    We are regular guests at Cavalieri. The room was on the 7th floor and had a great sea view. The cleaning personal were very efficient, polite, and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old, all furniture (wardrobe, carpets, stairs) are old, WiFi has poor range, pool is small, pool area is not really clean, breakfast was OK but nothing more.

    Big and clean room, great bay view, nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and the view with the room service was really good. The hotel also got a spa service with hairdresser salon. Do not miss Carmen she is the best hairdresser ever .You can find her at the hotel just ask the reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my booking I had requested a quiet room where I could rest. I was given one with connecting doors to another room, and I easily hear the guests in the other room. Also, my room was facing a construction site, it was noisy from 7am till the evening. I enquired at reception and they said it would cost an extra 20 euros per night to change to a room at the other side of the hotel away from the construction site. They also mentioned that the construction has been going for years and all agencies are informed and asked to let guests know before booking. I couldn't see any of this info in booking.com.

    It is very central.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I couldn't control room temperature - couldn't tell whether system on or off but room always too hot. Did not talk to reception about this or about only hot water in hand basin. No complementary drinking water; I suggested to chambermaid that towels did not need changing every day but to no avail.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Large room, safe for valuables, good shower, great location, lovely views, very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old facilities in the hotel, doesn't deserve 4 stars. Staff is very ineffective and poorly trained. walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the rooms next door. Hotel used by mass tourism agencies, so expect families with loud children.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1: I was overcharged an extra night for 2 rooms due to a clerical error with the hotel. This was rectified but took 4 days for the refund to appear. 2: the pool area is in need of some update but I'll put this down to the 2 days of hi winds and subsequent waves 3: the hotel is located at the end of the street with building work, the taxi therefore drops you off a little distance away from the hotel on occasions. 4: if you are not staying on the Spinola side of the hotel, expect a view of the building site if you are lower than the 7th floor. For the extra stay on the Spinola bay side of the hotel.

    The hotel itself is well designed, clean & comfortable. The staff are professional and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and views from the frount of the hotel. Plenty of places to eat in the location so perhaps the hotel would best to upgrade the standard of food on offer.

    Dated hotel, shame as the views are fantastic. staff friendly enough but food really not very good - typtical med 3 star standard not 4 star. However, it was value for money giving what we paid and i would stop there again but certainly not luxury standard. You get what you pay for but certainly clean envirnoment. Just needs upgraded.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite dated, cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, the wardrobe door fell off the first time we used it and my bed had a weird dip in it so it felt like I was sleeping on a hill. On the first night we used the hotel restaurant, sadly the buffet was not good. The food was cold and a very poor selection for 18 euros. The other issue was the street to the hotel entrance was very poorly lit, I would have been concerned if I'd been travelling alone as originally planned.

    The location is superb, right on the waterfront, & short walk to the bus stop and restaurants. The room had 2 double beds, usual tea / coffee and toiletries. But the best bit was definitely the view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel was very loud. The electric sockets weren't working in the room. The beds were super uncomfortable. The pillows werent enough and way too hard. The room was full of mosquitos and there is no net could prevent them entering the room.

    We loved the location and the staff was really friendly. The breakfast was good, the location is pretty convenient. The Internet was alright too. The view from the bay was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room it says that the water from the tap is not drinkable. This is not necessarily an issue but there is no complimentary water in the room! They ran out of forks at breakfast before 9am and the quality of the breakfast was not particularly good. The food in the bar was also not great - I had a salad with no dressing and not as described in the menu.

    Location is good and views for the balcony are great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tired and bathrooms are old. There is a building site opposite. The staff lacks training both at the front office and breakfast restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mabe somewhat noise in certain moments, particularly at first floor. Some small maintenance details to check.

    Comfortable rooms, good medium size beds, nice view on the St. Juliens's harbor. The breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast, had to look for spoons and salt and pepper, the fruit juice was powdered and did not taste good. Had a adjoining room which had a locked door BUT this let a lot of noise through!! a none adjoining room is much better unless you need one.

    Room was ok and view was good poolside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room not available on arrival, so 'downgraded' for one night.

    Staff at reception very good and attentive. View from room, once we git in there!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was shocked initially by the high density buildings everywhere. I thought 'Oh no, commercial like much of the tourist coast towns in Spain and our Surfers Paradise in Australia. Both of which we have stayed clear of!!

    Loved the views across the harbour and the lights at night. I was a little shocked when I arrived initially, as our hotel was so huge and somewhat dated looking. I got over all of that. Our room was spacious, simple decor, clean. Having a larger balcony also helped. As mentioned the view is lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite annoying that all the extras need to be paid in cash and no other option available, it couldn't be added on my room number. Even breakfast (as I hadn't booked it with the room)!

    Good location, very clean and a nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast really poor.Our five mornings for breakfast. Staff extremely unhelpful.Every morning something missing bowls,cups,water,toaster off,and if you asked for help staff unhelpful.floor extremely unsafe very greasey and dangerous to walk on.Three mornings I witnessed spills on floor,all staff ignored. lots of elderly clients wasn't safe.They need a lesson in hospitality.

    Room nice and clean .Good location and views from balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very nice, but the WiFi had very poor reception, which was disappointing.

    The food was quite good, the room was comfy and the pool and the view was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had messaged the hotel regarding the age of my two teenage children to advise of their ages. No reply, then found I had to pay extra upon arrival.

    Great breakfast buffet to start the day and pool facilities welcome after a day out. Tour desk onsite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a larger room maybe.

    V nice room, Express service on request. The hotel is superb with an overview of St Julian's area and everything seem so perfect !! Thanks to all. I loved the detailed bar lounge upstairs. It was so o o romantic & relaxing. Such a splendid pool area. Hosting and Customer Care was so professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be careful at ala carte restaurant, I order pasta with mushroom, they served me only pasta, when I asked where is mushroom, they told me that kitchen is out of mushrooms. They think that guests are stupid or what? I spent at the restaurant there one hour for nothing, then I must went to the city to eat out. Nobody care at the hotel about this problem, for them it is normal. You will pay for pasta with mushrooms even they served for you only pasta with nothing for 12 EUR. At the hotel reception working very unhelpful staff, they saying for many your question we are sorry it is not possible. You must pay deposit for everything like they think that you will stole whole hotel equipment. Towel 20 EUR, minibar 50 EUR. Omg. It was first hotel like that. They taking deposit even they have your credit card details. Imagine. Water in the swimming pool was salt, indoor swimming pool is good only for kids, because is too small. When I arrived, they told me, that through booking.com they have rooms only at first floor with view to the street with cars. They are full and they cannot upgrade my room even I will pay more extra money. Because I coming alone, I wanna upgrade my room for breakfast, where on booking.com was written additional option 5 EUR per person per breakfast. On the arrival they told me that it is 8,50 EUR per person. Everything at this hotel was problem and my stay was very uncomfortable. About bed better don't say nothing, because was short and like a bed for guest in my living room. Outside pool is there only one and small too, if many people come to the pool same time, you don't have chance to swim there. Better next time choose different hotel. Definitely I will never be back at this property and never recommend this property to my friends. Trying to connect wifi? Good luck! :D Almost doesn't work wifi at this property. You may ask for wifi router at the reception for your room.

    Only one think what I like at this property was one nice lady at the reception, she helped me with my room and wifi. All other thinks at this property was so poor and bad.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff on reception could be brash, balcony doors don't lock ... toilet flush sometimes didn't go off, 50 euros for a 3hr check out extension till 2pm

    beds were ok , view from bayside balcony's were good, comfort okay , maid service every day good , staff did seem efficient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location is great, make sure you book a seaview room as there is building work on the other side.

    Rooms nice and clean, beds a little hard but ok. Staff were lovely and seaview room was a must. In a perfect location surrounded by lots of restaurants, shops and bars. Nightclubs are 10 min walk away and good bus routes to other places like Valletta. All round a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the bar was slow. Breakfast quality needs improvement. Construction site behind hotel.

    Nice room with excellent views, clean, helpful staff, lovely bar with outside seating, nice food in the restaurant, nice pools, highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 22 nights

    The airconditioning didn't work. We also found some mold in the bathroom. The moisture due to the lack of airconditioning didn't help there...

    The staff was very friendly. Good service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to the nightlife. The walls are thin. So the hotel is noisy.

    Nicely located, beautiful view to the bay. Good restaurants around. Easy to catch buses for everywhere in Malta.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is tired and needs updating eg chipped floor tiles. Leak in bathroom not enough sunbeds

    Staff helpful beautiful bay view and artwork concept uplifts it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The service in the bar and restaurant was very slow - waiting for ever and a day. They were always running out of things, Limes, ketchup, Budweiser etc. etc.

    The view for the hotel was just amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cavalieri Art Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: