Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dean Hamlet Hotel 3 stars

Triq Luigi Apap, STJ 3223 St Julian's, Malta

Review score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is not bad but it didn't meet my expectations from reading the description. You have to actually walk up a small street from the main road to reach the top, then turn into the area where the building is located. The street is too dark at night for finding the road back.

    The facility is good, the room is tidy and super comfortable, most appliances are new. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Travel info is provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Could be well rated but unfortunately it’s more like a youth hostel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service/price ratio, although it has nice rooms the service is more of a hostel, they receive groups of young people partying until late in the night making it impossible for guests to sleep, which happened 2 nights in a row and despite the complaints the staff just allowed it. Totally unacceptable in my opinion when I am paying almost 100€ per night, if I want to stay at a party hostel I would have cheaper. Also staff needs to upgrade their knowledge on the local transportation system, since I was given wrong information on how to travel to the airport and ended up doing it better by myself. There is room for improvement, they have a nice place and I am sure they can work on the service provided.

    Location, clean simple rooms but more than enough. Nice bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice, cheap, good value for what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was really bad. We went out to get our breakfast somewhere else.

    The rooms were big and nice. The beds were a bit hard, but that wasn't a problem for us. Furthermore the location and the pool were great. The bathroom is small, but that wasn't a problem for us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    First time to Malta and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend their penthouses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was weak. Once we understood that the pool is managed externally we were okay with having to buy drinks there. Very well managed with friendly staff.

    Location, friendliness of staff, housekeeping

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Location, property very basic, budget property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds. 2 twins put together on a platform which the mattresses kept sliding, not to mention they were uncomfortable. Air conditioning was controlled by management, never really cooled off or stayed on continuously. Very annoying.

    Location, property very basic, budget property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    It was a perfect location and okay for the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't pre-order breakfast but decided to pay for one - all I can say is DON'T it was appalling. Absolutely horrible!

    The hotel was very central and the Manager managed to get us a parking space in the next door block of apartments which was very helpful. Staff were very friendly and the room was okay for the money we paid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, very close to restaurants bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren’t allowed to take your own drinks (even water!) down by the pool. Air con broke in one room but we were relocated to one with working air con ASAP.

    Good value for money, very close to restaurants bars and clubs, and a bus stop for transport all over the island a 3 minute walk away. Very clean rooms/ bathrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location, room requiring TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a ‘standard room’ and standard is exactly what we got. The hotel room definitely needed more attention. The air conditioning unit dispelled large pieces of dirt once turned on, as it was very warm it was difficult to sleep without air con on so had to put up with the dirt. There was no kitchen facility just a fridge and kettle, which had to be replaced as was broken. The room had no balcony but a large window. The window opened about 3 or 4 foot wide and was a straight drop down 4 floors which could be very dangerous for children or intoxicated adults! The bed was two mattresses pushed together leading to falling in the middle on numerous times throughout the night and our bed clothing was changed only once during our stay after we had requested. Lastly, the TV had 5 channels none of which had a clear picture. While the hotel has much potential and the decor satisfactory it needs more attention to detail for guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday despite these issues however on returning to St Julian’s will definitely be paying more to stay in another of the many hotels around area.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, right in the heart of St Julians. Spinola bay, restaurants and shops all within minimal walking distance. St Julian’s is such a gorgeous holiday location and would definitely recommend for couples or families of any age. Staff were pleasant and could not be faulted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    The view from the penthouse was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electricity was broken and the room was very dark. The stove was also broken and it was hard to cook.

    The view from the penthouse was good! Location is good in the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    The night receptionist was really friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was really soft and really need to be upgraded. The overall hotel seems to have a lot fo unnecessarily rule eg. limited opening time to the pool. They even charge 5euro to just call a taxi on the street for you. (25% commision?? without notifying customer? This 1990 ways of running a business made me felt they have to change their mindset to be more customer orientated instead of trying to take advantage of customers.

    The night receptionist was really friendly. location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.0
    Nice hotel but awful administration
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very stingy hotel for the price you pay and very strange rules. The temperature on the aircon is fixed and quite warm. They don't allow you to even bring water to the swimming pool to force you to buy their own drinks. The check out is very early at 10am and there is no flexibility at all or option for a later check out.

    The rooms are nice, the location is incredible and it has a swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money! Rooms nice, clean and decent size. Breakfast was a bit random but perfect for what we needed. If I had one complaint it would be the bed, ours was two tins together that kept separating in the middle which wasn’t the comfiest but would have been fine as two singles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    I booked the hotel for my husband and his friends as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the hotel for my husband and his friends as a present and hoped that the booking will be charged from my card before their arrival. But it wasn't and my husband had to pay on arrival. I was quite upset with the situation. The hotel staff didn't try to solve the problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and reasonable hotel in Malta.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast is a little bit boring, and there are some rooms on the ground floor don't get natural light.

    Location, comfort, kindness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Good place with no noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the breakfast. There was no many options and the options we had wasn’t very tasty. The internet was a mess. It disconected itself many times.

    Everything in general was comfortable and normal I liked a lot that we had little fridge and we could shop fresh food. Everything was very clean. I didn’t hear any noise during the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Clear, cozy, 2 minutes walking from bus stations and center of night life city.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my room description was mentioned sea view and the hotel doesn’t have this type of rooms. Maybe was a missunderstunding from our side.

    Very near from the bus station, is in the center of saint julians, 2 min walking from the port. Very clear, the hotel has also a swimming pool. I am traveling a lot and I recomand this hotel even if you are going with family or partener.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    The location of the so-called hotel is the only positive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All aspects except the location were a complete disaster, it is simply unacceptable and I really don’t understand how this establishment is not subject to health and sanitary controls. We initially booked a 3 nights stay, but had to move after the first night (full fees , no refund) due to the poor conditions. 1.) we received a semi-basement room, with grates at the window and almost no natural lights 2) it was horribly dirty and worn as can be seen in the pictures 3) the pillow was yellow with stains 4) there were blod spots on the blanket covers 5) there were spiders in the room 6) the bathroom was horribly decrepit, with mold stains and smelled like old mold and chlorine 7) there was a used soap bar in the shower, proof that no one has cleaned it before our checkin 8) in the bed, there were hairs We arrived late and had no time to change the hotel that night, but did it in the morning The reception person could not change our room arguing that the hotel was fully booked. Nonchalantly, he said that usually they can accomodate the requests of guests from the basement to move to a higher floor, but not this time. So we gathered that they are aware of the situation but just have no interest in making amends. Everything about the room was old, decrepit, smelly and worn-out, as if no improvements had been made since the ‘70s. It was a horrible experience, definetely not worth any money. They say it is a 3star hotel but didn’t even have the standards of a decent road-side motel.

    The location of the so-called hotel is the only positive feedback I can give

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Good for budget travelers, that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff tried to give us a different type of room then what I booked. The receptionist was really rude when I told him that the room was dirty and the lights weren't working. He blamed it on construction going on in the street, but it was old dust and hairs everywhere. The table was diety and bathroom was moldy. The bathroom door handle came off and one of us got locked in. They advertise a pool, which isn't part of the hotel. It's part of a restaurant located in the hotel and is only open 10-18 o'cklock. They had a birthday party going on for an entire day, with people who weren't even hotel guests. We couldn't use the pool two days out of our 3-day stay. Last but not least, there is a bar very close to the hotel, so it is impossible to sleep during the weekend until 3-4 am.

    The location was really nice, bus connections are available to visit the rest of the island. Lots of restaurants are close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.2
    Location only and noting else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 413-wifi conection slow, breakfast worst I ever had, small shower cabin, ugly furniture, very low water pressure in shower, uncomfortable bed, dusty flors etc.

    Location only and noting else. This hotel is for backpackers only.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good localization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last night there was mouse scratching noise audible, I think that it was coming from the roof or attic because we slept on the last floor. Except that everything was perfect.

    Very good localization. Close to restaurants, bus stops, Spinola Bay, but very quiet in the night. Personel is helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Good position. To me price is too high compared with the offer
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a 3 star hotel. I usually don’t stay in 3 stars so i cannot compare it to other hotel to say it is in line with expectations or not. But the price is high compared to the services and quality in general. Breakfast is (sorry to be bold) ridiculous, even if i paid for it i was not able/willing to have breakfast there. The hotel smell very badly. Position is excellent in St Julian. So may be you Pay for the position but for the rest is overpriced (i paid ar 90eur/night)

    Position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower cubicle and a very soft mattress made for an uncomfortable sleep.

    Great staff at reception and brilliant location. The pool area was great as well for sunbathing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Clean rooms, new and clean bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a misunderstanding. Old eggs, cheese, ham and old nutella-kind thing. That is all for breakfast. Plastic cups for coffee. Do not eat there.

    Clean rooms, new and clean bathroom. Nice personnel. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor Breakfast. Very disappointed with the Presentation and lack of choice of food items.

    Location was very good. We ordered dinner from Rasoi Restaurant and it was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Cleanness, towels changed everyday, location - close to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However it was clean, litters/rubish were not removed even every second day. Good coffee described above was ‚served’ in plastic cups which was highly uncomfortable. Staff was doing their best to make everyone feel welcome but hotel seems to suffer from lack of good manager to keep it all together. I didn’t like that despite it was decsribed that we will have glasses for wine in the room, there wasn’t any. Breakfast is waste of time and you sit at destroyed and not cleaned tables, but we did enjoy coffee.

    Cleanness, towels changed everyday, location - close to city center and bus stops. Good coffee. Wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    I really enjoy my stay in Dean Hamlet very good position in the centre of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lineen the first night was dirty and the bathroom towels either.

    The position of the hotel is perfect just in the centre of saint Julian and good value of money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. We were locked out of the thermostat so when we asked the front desk to help, they said that it was controlled in the manager office and they could not adjust it. So they said open your window, the window with out a window screen and easy to climb in too. Also the pictures on booking for the pool are not up to date. The pool is ran down.

    Good location and clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    Irritating
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The most frustrating thing was the carelessness of the housekeeping staff. They make a lot of noise very early in the morning. Additionally, as the "do not disturb sign" is not provided, they knock on every room door again early in the morning. It looks to me they run the show (not the management team) irrespective of standard hotel practices, so (I suspect) to finish their job early. Very bad!!! The front desk was fine. An establishment like this cannot just have 3 viewable channels on the TV. I had requested a quiet room and in spite of the hotel being half empty when I arrived they gave me a room with the window facing a construction site where sledgehammers where being used

    Overall it wouldn't be a bad establishment if it weren't for the major pitfalls as per above. room was large and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is very good, next to bus stop,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You have one of the WORST breakfast i've ever had in hotel. There all week long was the same and very poor. There was two waiters - one of them was really nice and carrying, trying to make guests comfortable, but the second one was lazy as fuck. All the time he was checking his phone, didn't or pretending not to understand questions like "the bread is over, can i have some?" when i asked him about refill jam, he told me "no, there's no more" and what more he seems to be angry about questions. So I'm asking - what the hell he was doing there?? I can understand a lot of things, seriously, even the breakfast sucks, when you have nice and helpful people, it's just easier to take. But i hate ignorance, the second guy shouldn't work with people at all, his behaviour was fuly unproffecional.

    The location of the hotel is very good, next to bus stop, restaurants, bay, commercial center. Also all the reception and room service was great - very helpful, kind, smiling. Room service at it self was awesome, one of the best i've experienced in hotels :D Respect for all you ladies! you make really good job! Big plus for air condition and view at the bay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Would have been excellent if the AC worked and we were given the correct bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were supposed to have a single, double bed, but instead got 2 twins. There was also no working air conditioning. The room was warmer than the outside air.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, but beyond a safe and quiet place to sleep, not much more to offer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Struck me like a hotel for teenagers and groups of young people. Very basic, and the breakfast was a little 'too basic'. Restaurant staff 'disinterested'.

    Located downtown, but no noise. OK value for money. Reception staff superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    I highly recommend Dean Hamlet Hotel in Malta, St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I highly recommend Dean Hamlet Hotel in Malta, St. Julian's. The hotel personel was really kind and helpfull. Room was very clean, comfy and spacious. Everything what is decribed in the offer was there (Wifi, towels, air conditioning etc.). The location is great, two steps for the "Ross" bus station, close to the clubs, bars, shops and the beach. For the next time I would choose the same hotel :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors are tiled so you here everyone walking as well as housekeeping trolleys. Double bed was made up of two single beds not really comfortable.

    Great central location but not on the main street. Lovely Indian restaurant on ground floor, delicious food and 20% discount for hotel guests. Great water pressure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t rent again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, the employees are really rude, they can to clean the room and they only did the bed, not even the floor. They’re even didn’t change anything in the bathroom only the towels

    The room was huge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    The receptionist gave us information about reaching some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    840/5000 There was a lot of noise in the room every night and this has ruined our stay! The room had a door to the neighboring room (the hotel should show pictures on the site with this door between the rooms !!!) and everything was heard. Except for that door, the walls were very thin and amplified the noise even more! I stayed in room 113 and after the first night I asked to change the room, but the receptionist delayed me and then lied to me saying that the people staying in the neighboring room left and no one would be accommodated in the room the following night - it was a big lie! It was the same every night. The dishes at the restaurant were chipped and dirty. Breakfast was poor. I do not recommend even for free to stay in this hotel, any person coming to Malta wants to enjoy the stay and not to find such conditions!

    The receptionist gave us information about reaching some places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    We recommend the hotel highly as a cheaper hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Breakfast items poorly presented,didn't look fresh,eg.on first morning chocolate spread was finished,second morning the same empty jar was displayed and when someone asked for more,the jar was filled on top of the dried chocolate. Only small plastic cups for coffee&tea. Luckily close by the hotel you get full breakfast cheaper. Other than breakfast, we liked/enjoyed the hotel and its clean rooms and linen and friendly staff and relaxed athmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Big improvement over the years.Price meets standard/quality.Will recommend to visiting friends&famil
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor for €7 when you can get with same price full english bfast,toasts,tea&coffee in surrounding area. More TV stations would be nice.

    Kitchenette well equipped.Clean room and linen.Quiet.Nice seaview.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Our room was very clean, towels were changed every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little bit cold. We have ordered room with kitchen, but we even didn't had a microwave, so we ate cold food :( A women in reception was very rude then we asked for a spoon. She blamed us, that we are making soup in kettle.... After explanation, that we have our bowl and fast preparation soup, she agreed to give us spoons. We waited about half an our, but nobody brought them. So if you want to eat something in hotel, bring your own flatware and dishes.

    Our room was very clean, towels were changed every day. Location was great, most (but not all!) of the personal was friendly and helpful. Great price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    cheap and acceptable, nowhere near luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    poor kitchen tools. nothing to wash dishes with. no carpet on the floor made us feel like sleeping in the kitchen. the walls were dirty. dirty kettle.

    great location, low price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect just what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean rooms with a view and a balcony. Excellent value for money and nice location. Room was cleaned and towels were replaced everyday and we were only there for a 3 night stay. couldn't fault our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    wealth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn't like was those two single beds,dont no about the other rooms but room 319 was a nightmare with those beds,very uncomfortable to share with your partner as it keeps splitting anytime you cuddle..not going there again till they are changed tho....

    Good location close to almost everything,perfect view very helpful staff,very cheap price for what you get

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    The location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was ALWAYS noise from the air condition even if it's switc off (room 202) The door locked didn't work And there was no cleaning in the room only changing the towels. But the floor was so dirty. No sweping i mean.

    The location is perfect The recepcionist was awesome!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.8
    Great location but barely more than a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible breakfast served at the on site Indian restaurant... not worth bothering with. Rooms very basic and noisy. Bed linen tatty. (several cigarette burns in sheets etc)

    Reception staff were polite. Location is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice and cosy hotel, very good location in St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice to have but simple, good to think about some street food pastry. That was excellent.

    Nice and cosy hotel, very good location in St. Julian’s roughly 40 min to Valletta by bus. The hotel is just 3 min walk to bus stop Ross.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean and very quiet hotel in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to upgrade our booking by adding breakfast for 1 day but it was not possible. The receptionist said there is nobody going for breakfast and that is the reason why we could not have it either.

    Very nice and clean room with a balcony and sea view. We got the room with sea view and balcony just because the receptionist offered us when we checked in. Otherwise,we had stayed in economy room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    3.3
    To avoid if you care about you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for double bed, and we get 2 beds put one beside the other. First night, I woke up between beds. We asked the reception to do something about this, and they came with a matress, 3 cm(2") tall, that they put it on top of the softess matress I ever seen. That soft, that you almost sleep on the table of the bed. Solution that we got, was to remove the soft matress and sleep on the 3 cm tall matress. Dirty sheets, with stains were provided for the last part of our stay. I would definettely not recomand anyone to stay at Dean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Really nice room and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only issue with this hotel was the breakfast. As we stayed in winter we may not have had the usual breakfast facilities provided. The meat was not cooked properly and some of the buffet items seemed to have been out for a few days without being changed.

    Really nice hotel room, modern bathroom. Friendly staff and hotel is within easy walking distance to centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    3 days in malta, we want to come again for summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the people in room next to us were noisy.... My wife couldn't sleep for 1 half-night

    Hotel's Staff were very kind, sometimes funny. very good place !!! I also found free using books in english and french, and probably in others languages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Suited our needs on this occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking near the hotel is a nightmare. Wouldn’t stay here over a weekend again because of how busy the area is with all the bars and clubs nearby.

    Value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    My stay was exactly as I expected, no surprises, and this hotel was a great value!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I had to leave as soon as I did.

    The hotel manager was helpful from the vert start, and even went out of his way to assist in a telephone problem I had with my phone. I found the Dean Hamlet hotel perfect for my needs--clean, efficient, reasonably priced, and located in a great area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    I travel a lot , for me the best place ever been .The kindness of the owners made the difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner The view The swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    2.9
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was dirty , room kept two days without clean , no towels for face , one one towel everyday , breakfast is too bad only 3 items

    Location only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Pool and bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a good location , friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service , very slow , waiting for a burger for half an hour

    Friendly staff , comfort , great location and safe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, but nothing more....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    veeery slow wifi, bad breakfast, spat in the shower...

    Good location, nice staff, but very poor breakfast. For the money it could be better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Fair price-quality hotel located in St-Julian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast

    Great situation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    great location, clean, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no balcony, the pool has a 10-18 schedule - but we've been told this is common in malta

    great location, clean, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    The room was lovely and the swimming pool area too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and the swimming pool area too. The people working in the recepcion were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Great for staying on the cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool opening times, overall facility looked a bit tired.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Basic but clean staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of building work going on in the area

    Basic but clean staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not the responsibility of the hotel, but a lot of partynoise during the night

    Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic will be definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything staff are amazing and so friendly thank u to all of them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    I liked everything but the internet was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was poor

    I liked everything but the internet was poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Close to paceville and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to paceville and quiet place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Has potential for much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge room but very unstylish, wifi very week.

    Location, spacy room, polite staff,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Close to everything, staff especially the receptionist very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There s nothing i could say here

    Close to everything, staff especially the receptionist very nice guy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    It was ok, not worth the money though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building work going on in the area so very noisy. The shower was tiny and no tea & coffee facilities in the room

    The rooms were ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Very conveniently situated for buses. Good clean accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 extra pillows.

    Clean, convenient and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You get what you pay for. Nice location, good for singles/couples and for short trips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Taking all together place was really nice, good bus service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no balcony and double bed has been made of 2 single beds.

    Close to st. Julian centre, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Ok for overnight or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, limit choice.

    Ok for overnight or two. Staffs at the reception were helpful. Room is good. Close to the airport, 15 minutes away by drive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Fresh towels every day, nice staff and clean hotel in total.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were quite thin and we had loud neighbors.

    Fresh towels every day, nice staff and clean hotel in total.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    We were late to check out and staff was super nice about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late to check out and staff was super nice about it. Great Location! It’s litreally what you pay

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dean Hamlet Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: