Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Europa Hotel 2 stars

138 Tower Road, SLM 1604 Sliema, Malta

#25 of 31 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3239 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Irregular schedule of the cleaning staff.

    Great, kind & helpful staff. View from the room exactly IRL as advertised. Variety of breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst experience that i have had was at Europa hotel. Booking process very difficult. We have done check in at 15.00 because the rooms were under clinging process and when i took the room it was not so clean, considering that i was there with minor children. They use to defrauding us with many services and one of them was the taxi service for the airoport, announced by them without our knowledge, meantime we were waiting for our reservation. They told to us that was the company reserved, and we found at the airport that it was not true. We have paid 2 times for the taxi services. I am very concerned about my card data and its use there, because did not create credibility. Malta experience can be considered a bad experience based on these issues too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dirty, breakfast is extremely basic and poor choices, facilities-dont exist...

    Staff were extremely helpful and too nice for this run down hotel- the Spanish receptionist provided 5star service. Location is perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had a mould smell, I found a leakage in the bathroom ceiling in my last night there, there´s no air conditioning(although during my stay it wasn´t a big deal but during the summer it could be important). It was disappointing when I needed help calling the car rental company to give more information about an incident with the car and the night shift receptionist told me he wasn´t allowed to call mobile phones. Strange fact since the previous guy called them and helped me to report the same incident.

    Good breakfast and comfortable mattress. Most of the staff was really friendly with the exception of one particular member that usually takes the night shift. Excellent location close to restaurants, bars, and some grocery stores. Good option especially if you´re traveling alone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby headboards, torn chair, duvets tired and marks on bedroom walls

    The welcome staff were great, the location very central to the beach for swimming, beachfront restaurants and public transport; plus the breakfast was very tasty. We had read some very negative comments regarding the hotel which we do not agree with at all .... the hotel could just upgrade some of their upholstery ( headboards etc), but clean linen and a lovely shower were provided. Good value,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over-all good value for money but do not expect much from a 2 star. Breakfast is affordable for Malta, but could use more diversity. TV remote control is upon request at the Reception, you will not find one in your room. Bathroom could use a refresh for the facilities, shower head a bit old.

    The amazing view and the comfortable bed. Check-in was fast and the service was good. The hotel is right in front of the sea. be sure to wake up in the morning and have a coffee on your balcony. Definitely recommend getting a room with a sea view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelling to Malta I am sure people are aware there are few beaches. This area is no exception, swim off rocky shore.

    The room I had was spotless, linen all new. The selection for breakfast was both plentiful and an excellent variety. Sunrise is stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasvery hot, probably due to being in the back. Not, much air. Next time we will upgrade to room in front with balcony and breeze.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, management, front desk and maintenance - Thank you very much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning in my room, and the fan didn't work. However, they did give me a stand fan when I told them about this.

    Great customer service- I was able to check in at 9:45 after messaging them that I'll be arriving around 9AM. The room was very spacious, and the location was beautiful. It was overlooking the sea, which was amazing! The front desk was super cooperative in helping me figure out where to visit during my very short trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast options were great. As for the facility, one has to set expectations. As far as economy accommodations go, the place was great. Not "luxurious" but entirely satisfactory. The Mediterranean has rocky and pebbly beaches, so you will have to travel to find a good one, but easy walk to the ferries to Valletta. Staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its cheap and cheerful. You pay for what you get. Location is good. Unfortunately during our stay all the electricity went down for a whole day.Its not the hotels fault however it is seemingly illegal for hotels to not have a generator. Lady at reception super helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had back balcony and would not suggest to anyone.Almost scary view.Hotel is old and nothing is invested in it.Also could be more clean then it is

    Location is good,food and employers are excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had smelled moldy, but we were able to change to a nicer room with a big balcony.

    The people at the desk were super helpful. They helped in every way to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast was also good at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not clean properly, dust on the floor, you could feel the moisture in the room. The lock form the room was not working. One night someone just entered in the room while I was in. Very disturbing. My recommendation is to pay more for a better hotel, 'cause at least you can be safe.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room has a window that looks at the vertical air ventilation drain and another walls, its very dark all day, especially the rooms on the low-level floors. some rooms are connected inside with doors that are locked, but you can listen sounds and talking of your neighbors very clear. mattresses were old and scratchy.

    location is great, stone beach upfront, restorants are near and there is bus in front of hotel. easy connection with every part of Malta, port is near also. rooms and toalets are big and renovated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound and outside isolation. I could hear everything and the ambient humidity was everywhere, my clothes were “wet” after the first night. Breakfast buffet very basic and the cereals all soft due to air moist and not being covered. Light went off for a whole day, no drinks at breakfast or anything and they didn’t allow me to fill a water bottle from the breakfast fountain. I understand taking food is not allowed but after the poor service and the issues with light etc not even a water bottle, disgusting Terrible service, staff gave minimun attention to guests and when requested to speak to a manager there was none because it was the weekend (whaaaat??!!)

    Good location for what I wanted it Had a family room so it was massive (2 single beds and a double just for me)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but not very many choices and everyday the same. The juice was probably made of concentrate, so not very tasty. Croissants did not seem fresh either. For some reason we could start using the safe in our room from the next day onwards, not the same day we arrived. It was locked when we arrived and when we asked the staff member, he just said "you'll get the password tomorrow". The next morning there was another staff member and when I mentioned it, he just came up to our room and opened the safe with a key and helped us reset it. I guess the other staff member just didn't bother doing that... The TV was also disconnected as we arrived and we had to go and ask extra for the remote, because it wasn't given to us during the check-in. The maintenance fixed it the next day, but the last two days the TV was broken again.

    The location is very good. Very close to restaurants, shops, public transport etc. The rooms were clean and quite spacious, but it would have been nice to have small bedside lamps. Wifi connection was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very basic. Shower only, worked well but bathtub, shower curtain, and general bathroom layout was awkward.

    Reception friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was basic and could use improvement.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms where very sparse and the beds where somewhat uncomfortable and while the A/C worked just fine the ceiling fan was broken.

    The Location was great being right on the ocean. It was close to the bus stops and within walking distance to the ferry. once you stepped out the front door all you have to do is cross the street and the ocean is right there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tha shower leaked a bit, but it was no problem. The bed was a little firm, but you get used to it.

    If you get the sea view, it's great! A huge balkony with table and chairs and uninterrupted view of the promenad. The staff is very nice and the room has plenty of space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the corridor and could be noisy in the morning. The view wasn't great - pipes and air conditioning outlets ets.

    Great location near the sea! Clean room! Good value for money - for a basic room. Not lavish, but its a nice little base for a short stay (lots of bus services near by).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be a refridgerator and a microwave oven, plus you have to pay 10€ ( refundable) to get the tv remote which was inetersting, but other than that it was great.

    Polite and helpful staff, perfect place between San Gillian and Valeta with a fantastic view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleased staff! And there is special room, where you can change closes, have shower: if you check out early morning, but leave to airport late night you can use it any time in between - very good service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - beds are too small, mattress uncomfortable - the building is old, has damp smell - nothing about this accommodation is beautiful, it's just very average, it literally just does the job of - you have somewhere to stay.

    - staff very helpful and nice, I felt welcome - amazing location but Sliema is very busy and touristy. I'd rather stay in the beautiful historical Valetta or another historical place in Malta - water temperature comes on easily, had hot water for showers immediately - cleaners are good - good value for money but don't expect much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    1 The breakfast was good in variety, but poor in quality. The so-called "restaurant" looked like a factory canteen with plastic tables and chairs. The so-called "orange juice" was just orange-coloured water. The rolls were stale and the croissants were even staler. The whole circus was supervised by a woman in charge who has already received bad reviews on here. She watches your every move and stares at you whilst you eat. Woe betide if you take too many croissants and taking a cheese roll for lunch is met with a firing squad on the spot. Poor value for 6 euros.

    1 Good location for ferry/bus links to and from Valletta (ferry to Valletta 10 minutes walk, bus to Valletta/Gozo/Mdina 5 minutes walk). 2 Good size room. 3 Good room facilities, including both continental 2 pin and British 3 pin plug sockets. 4 24 hour reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wind into the room) And I would like kettle in room

    The room big enough and clean especially bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Everything is working. View from the window is beautiful. Location is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lighting would useful, and some extraneous interior noise was noticeable at times

    Excellent location for restaurants, buses and boat trips with good shops nearby. Very adequate breakfast choices. Right on the seafront for great views and walks along the well-kept promenade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is disaster, cheapest ham, cheapest cheese, scrambeld eggs full of water. The whole hotel was cold, in the room we were like in a fridge. During the season usually Ok, but in april not sufficient

    Stuff...Best ever, without them they could close. The hotel is clean, beautifull sea view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good, the bus stations (in both ways) are very near, the staff is very nice, the rooms are cleaned every day, towels are changed daily.... what more would a person want fort a short stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no view. I had another window 2 meters in front. Strange noise. The bed was in front of the door. I could see the light from the hall. I could hear every noise and step. The water in the shower was hot or cold. Never warm.

    I liked the location. Between bus station. Many buses around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beds are not very comfortable, at least in most of the rooms we had. Could be a bit cleaner.

    The girl at the reception is super nice and helpful. Luggage storage is also available and very useful, if the flight is later than check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We asked for a double bed and we got 2 single beds placed next to eachother with a huge gap between them. We also got 2 single sheets so laying together was not an option. The pictures that are showed are not at all what we got. Our view outside the window was to another wall of the hotel with a window to another room. So we had no privacy at all when the windows were opend.

    The location was excellent. Close to shops and restaurants. Close to busstops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sink clogged. Washroom needs updating. There should be a sign posted in the room that you can get the TV remote from reception.

    Great place to stay. The room was massive and the ocean view was exactly what I wanted. Unfortunately I would have to say that it should keep its rating as a 2 star right now as there is some work interior wise that should be done to the washroom etc. I would definitely go back to this hotel though as it is amazing value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bedding and towels were in bad shape, showing holes and stains. Room door was old and provided poor noise isolation. Smelly premises and the room window had views to other room windows. Maid service entered the room unannounced anytime from 9 a.m. even if you leave the "Do not disturb" sign on the door (rude and very annoying when you're sleeping!). Refundable 10€ fee for the TV remote.

    Very good location; walking distance from the promenade to Valletta and St. Julian's, and near bus stops connecting Sliema to the airport and main touristic points of the island. Free WiFi with good quality. Economy room was pretty basic but spacious and had air conditioner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main lobby including the elevator has a weird smell. I highly suggest that they keep the restroom on the main floor closed and clean.

    Location is great! Staff are very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    what you buy is not what you get. No sea view, even NO (!) window in the room, a strong smell in the bathroom. When you ask to clean the room, you wont get the towels, etc.

    corresponds to 6Euro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we wer given wasn't great , our view from our window was four walls , the shower hose was not attached to the wall, nore was there anything on the wall to attach it to. The curtains were barely hanging on the links to hold them . The curtains in the shower weren't that clean,and there was no kettle in the room.

    Staff were polite, and the location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were people drilling in the corridor and conducting maintenance at 8am, it was very noisy in the morning with lots of buildings work going on early in the morning.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room floor was not very clean. Housekeeping were not very sensible in the mornings when cleaning.

    Great location and value for money. Receptionists were friendly and very helpful. Room was spacious. Premises old, but in good shape.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi connection was not the best and the room quite cold, but there is air conditionner so it just takes a while to warm up.

    Very comfortable bed and the sea view is lovely! Great for watching the sunrise. The location is perfect, Close to bus stops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was very dark and the bed is not double/king its just two singles made like one.

    Perfect place 25 metres from the sea. All the restaurants, shops and attractions are nearby. Helpful staff, rooms are cleaned every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a lot of dampness on the ceiling. The view was towards the courtyard and there was little light coming from outside. It was cold in the room, even though there were 14 degrees C outside. There was no cover for the blanket that we had, there were extra blankets in the wardrobe but they were smelling awful (like old). There was a door in the room which was locked, but it was to the room next door (to their bathroom).

    The bed was comfortable. The roomservice was great, they were cleaning the bathroom and changing our towels eveyday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark due to windows only to inner utility area and lights were dim. Bed mattress was well worn in. Room door did little to block iut hallway noise.

    Great location, clean and modest. Internet speed was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great breakfast for this hotel category. The staff is also great, smiling and willing to help you. It's a value for money hotel close to bus stations that go both to Valletta and St Julians.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Balcony door - at the night time you can hear literally everything from outside ;(

    Lovely view on the seaside, nice location (near to bus stops, restaurants, stores, etc.), really nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very cold and while taking shower - water went everywhere. Wifi was weak so didnt really use it.

    Great view from the room. Very spaceous. Balcony was lovely. And stuff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was small and very dark. The ceiling was ugly and had a rusty ventilator. No air conditioning which would be a problem in Summer. There was one window, out of which you could see a small space, with four walls. Along the walls were backwater pipes from the sink and toilet (on the outside). Every morning a door slam woke us up - by visitors or cleaning personnel, since doors had knobs, not handles. Nobody bothers to close them quietly.

    Personnel was polite, helpful and spoke English (as did all of Malta). Our room was cleaned daily, except the sheets. The location of the hotel was great - bus stops, great place for walks, nearby bars/cafes. Most rooms don't have a view, but some do. Free internet, good speed. The price was low. You don't get much for your money room-wise, but the rest of the qualities make up for it, and it's enough. I'm not sure this would be the case, if we hadn't gotten a discount, though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom is very small and old fashioned, no bathroom mat provided. The cleaning ladies cleaned the room every day, but it did not include swiping the floor for example. The breakfast is very basic, so if you want to have something better, go to the nearest bars where they offer early bird breakfasts for 3 eur, instead of 6.

    The location of the property is excellent, just on the promenade of Sliema, direct access to the sea. There are several bus stops on the corner, so it is very easy to discover the island from Sliema- you can travel everywhere around. Nice, spacious terrace with sunbeds, huge room with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Bedlinen etc were rather old and of very basic quality which considering the price of the hotel was hardly surprising. The bathroom was big but the shower basin was so tiny that it was impossible to prevent pools om the floor. The hotel was quite ok and I was happy with my stay.

    Friendly and helpful staff. A wonderful view at the sea from the room (NB: not all the rooms have it). Those rooms which I experienced were spacious, with a very high ceiling. The hotel is well-placed, close to restaurangs, shops and the harbour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The coffee machine was broken and it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room, but this is just a small comment really.

    The hotel is perfectly located on a nice seafront but away from the crowded side of Sliema. Also within easy reach of pubs, restaurants, buses and car hire, all just a few steps away. It was my third visit and I'm already planning a forth.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some construction or reform going on exactly behind our room wall, and the noises would start at 7 am with constructions machines, very unpleasant.

    The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was always nice, the internet worked well inside the bedroom. The location was great, with restaurants and bus stations nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe option to have drink making facilities (kettle and tea bags etc) for a small addition to price

    Price cheap, shower room recently refurbished, room clean, no frills but value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) The senior lady at the breakfast counter is very rude and does not communicate with patience and reason. She is very grumpy, questions customers for every piece of cutlery taken & keeps staring at every one...it is uncomfortable to eat or enter the breakfast area. 2) Bathrooms are a mess. Water flows out of the bath area on to the floor...to soak it up, towels are provided by hotel, which means the towels you use for patting your body may have been used to soak-dry other's bathrooms! Yuck!

    Rooms were big & well ventilated. Location was good. Front desk staff was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the staff, they were really nice and helpful throughout all the time. The room was satisfying for its prize. Not too big, not too small. But beware when you go there in winter (January) as it can get rather cold in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The isolation was very bad. The first night the weather was rainy and windy too. As a result the door and the windows to make noises and wasn't possible to sleep . The bathroom was too cold. And generally the hotel was too old. From the pictures was completely different. If I new that I wouldn't book at all.the breakfast was very poor.

    The view from the hotel was perfect.the bas station was nearby and we could easily to move around.The room was cleaned every day and the staff was very polite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee/tea fascilities, change of beb linen, greater diversity at Continental breakfast. A wee bit more lighting! It was so dull.

    Location grt 4 Sliema seafront and access to public transport to Valletta and beyond. I personally would not stay at Europa again. If u r looking for very basic it's OK. No tea/coffee fasciitis in room. No fridge. Breakfast is the same each day...Cold buffet which becomes bland after two days. Bed linen not changed in the week that I was there. Cleaning was nonexistent. Needs a bit of TLC 2 be a little bit better bit batter. If ur on a tight budget then it's OK. TV only has 5 International news channels, nothing else. Mobile phone iPad coverag is poor. Happy travels!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Great location. Beautiful view from just one step from the hotel. Main bus stop, a 2 minute walk away; well-connected to other places around Malta. A brisk walk to Sliema ferry which takes you to Valletta. A very relaxed neighbourhood with plenty of walks possible ( either along the coast or through narrow and charming lanes of Sliema).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could see the building is old and need some refurbishments. Definitely a refresh would give this place more value. Some of staff could be more friendly as receptionists don't give nice first impressions of the hotel.

    The location is perfect in the first line of sea. Room with sea views(for extra charge) definitely worth it! Good connections to everything with buses as well tourists attractions as airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given room which was not as described. There was no air condition and there was no normal third bed as advertised but only folding bed instead. Little smell of mold.

    Normal continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the first day cleaning was not ok, in the others they correct the problem. There is no heating system in the Building, it’s unacceptable for a hotel in Europe. The bathroom floor was filled water when we showered.

    The location was very good, because it’s in front of the Beach, bus station and markets in general.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a leak from the ceiling, it was raining hard. We woke up at 4a.m in the morning as our bed was wet.

    I love their breakfast, loads of choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold and wet in the room.. There is no shelf in the bathroom to put your things on. It's nit really clean... Like it was just built and finished..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand towels in the bathroom. No kettle in room to make a drink. First few days room was freezing 😣 we should not have had to ask for heating in our room. No proper receipt when we were leaving when we asked for one with total cost of stay the receptionist was most put out telling us we should have asked for one before we checked out. I thought this would have been automatic. We were not welcomed when we arrived. This Hotel would be ok for students who don't mind roughing it. Definitely not for the golden oldies who want a bit of comfort.

    The balcony was a bonus as little else to be happy about.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the previous guests' rubbish in the dustbin. The window of the bathroom could not be closed and it was cool although the heater was on.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar but that didnt matter to us as plenty of places to go across the road so this is a good hotel if you just want a base

    Location, staff, value for money and breakfast a good restaurant next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing !!everything was perfect ,if l have lots of money l will stay there all year round ,l was surrounded by true friends !!

    l love the hotel ,Mario the manager and Savir were absolutely brilliant ,l was so happy to be in the europa hotel ,they were so helpful ,l can't thanked them enough !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold at the hotel even with two blankets.In the check out morning I forgot my phone at the hotel,but instead of giving back to me,they give it to the taxi driver that took us to the airport.Thanks god everything went fine and i got my phone back.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went end Dec beginning Jan for 4 nights/days. The room was really cold, no heating ie: no radiator or eletric heating option. Sheet and One blanket, when pulled up to cover shoulders to feet was far too short ( l am 5 ft 2in ), two spare blankets in wardrobe neither big enough for whole bed so one extra blanket each.

    Great location, central to restaurants, shops and water front. Buses are very frequent depending on destination, some are on the hour, generally on time or within fives minutes either side or advertised times. Shower was very hot, very sensitive to adjust temperature took few mins to get it right. Better than like warm or cold. Ferries run every half an hour to and from valletta and take about 15 -20 mins In general pretty little place. Variety of food on offer for breakfast, cereal, fruit, toast, eggs, beans ect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No a/c not even a heater, hair dryer not working. When we asked for a heater they said they could give as a blanket instead!!! The room smelled like mould.

    The view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet was a very decent variety of breads, buns, diary, spreads, fruit, etc. There were also coffee and juice vending machines available for guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room didn't have a heater, so we were very cold. But thank heavens for extra blankets!

    The room was clean and big, and it had the view of the sea! There was a working lift, and the area was quiet. The hotel's breakfast is cheap and worth it! The location is near to the bus stops and good restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice reception services. Always helpful.

    Hotel deserve for its 2 stars. Not recommend in winter unless you like cold. Everyone in hotel complain about no heating. They are some blankets but it was cold anyway. I think many guests use hairdryer to warm room :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Workers in the room next to ours which meant we were massively disturbed.Very simple furnitureneeds renovation.

    Did not have breakfast.Simple but clean room on fifth floor.Definitely worth the moneyy as two star hotel in winter seasson.Buses ,bistros and restaurants near.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not so nice as the pictures suggest, I'd even say shabby. Quite cold in winter, even despite the extra blankets they provide. The shower only had a [short] curtain so EVERY time I took the shower the floor was flooded, no matter how careful I was. Bad WiFi connectivity in the room and low speed, sometimes I had to switch to 4G just to watch a Youtube video.

    Friendly, helpful staff and 24/7 open reception. Good location, ~10 minutes by bus to Sliema Ferries, and the seaside promenade is just in front of the main door. My room had one European socket in addition to standard local [UK-type] ones, which was really nice because I forgot my UK/EU adapter - so I did not have to search for one in the middle of the night :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold, grey and view to somewhere were buildings come together.. no daylight what so ever. Breakfast was also very poor, especially coffee and juice.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Europa Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: