Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Excelsior 5 stars

Great Siege Road, FRN 1810 Valletta, Malta

#6 of 16 hotels in Valletta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3321 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel close to everything. Pleasant staff and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serving of tea/coffee at breakfast was very slow - had to chase up on both mornings.

    Good location, small but decent beach area, lovely pool, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely great! It was our wedding anniversary and the Grand Excelsior pulled out all the stops!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can'r really think of any way to have improved out experience. We have been visiting Malta every year for 15 yrs and this was probably our best time to date.

    The staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was really good, although on some occasions we had it on the 5th floor which was much more relaxed than the 4th. The hotel is located close to Valletta - an easy walk even when the temperature was in excess of 30deg. We had the opportunity to see Valletta in the evenings when it is truly spectacular. We would recommend the Grand Excelsior to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place for relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is incredible! Staff were extremely polite! The setting was great! We received a better room than booked in the reservation. They surprise us with a bottle of champagne on the occasion of the anniversary of our wedding. The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Pool Area (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missing of a bit of proactivity on behalf of the waiters durring the breakfast, but it's not a big deal.

    The location, the confort in the the big rooms, breakfast. The help of the Concierge and in general the ambiance in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Disppointedabout misleading views. Don't worry about booking in early you still get the worst room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check on the room views if this is important. Our bed was 2 singles made separately and then pushed together.

    Check on the room views if this is important.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing holiday location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe better lighting in the room.

    Excellent Hotel, spectacular views of the harbour. Convenient to walk into center of Valletta. Rooms very quiet and spacious. Excellent indoor and outdoor pool and gym, and treatment rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel has its own private beach which is rare in Valetta. Located down a hill so it takes a bit of energy demanding climb or a taxi. Good breakfast. Nice view from top floors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Big Hotel with lovely swimming facilities but a little away from Valetta.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lifts were inadequate particularly with a conference. I frequently used the fire escape stairs to travel up and down.

    Friendliness of staff and being able to swim in the sea. The Reception staff were very helpful, particularly Anna.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel great location
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we had a fantastic stay.

    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff always smiling and say hello, happy to help with anything. Great man made beach to be able to swim in the warm harbour, fantastic views. What more could you ask for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area could have been a little cleaner - the pool itself and beach were very nice.

    Very good hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient. Facilities were very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced hotel in nèds of an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very diverse and you can end up with a very good or poor location in s very large an tired hotel

    It was pòr value for money but OK breakkfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Have stayed at this hotel three times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Have stayed at this hotel three times. Not up to previous standard. Staff appeared to be disinterested. Take it or leave it attitude. One morning at breakfast no plates bowls or glasses. Housekeeping was of a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Luxury in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for drinks and they were not great. Better to go up into town for food and drink - for quality and price. Hotel beach was lovely but there was a lot of rubbish on the side that could have been cleaned up

    Beautiful hotel in a great location. Breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choices of food was totally unacceptable when they had an inside Indian or Asian buffet there was nothing else on offer unless you went to the outside restaurant but after 11 nights that menu was boring there was a bbq 3 times a week with exactly the same food.The pool area was never washed down the pool staff would walk past rubbish sometimes it was there for 2 days unless someone asked them to remove it. In my opinion the hotel has gone down hill lots of people were saying they would not return again.As for the uphill climb to Valletta I think they should run a bus every hour to the top and back some people could just not do it so will not return . this hotel has no right calling it self a 5 star.The first room we were given was appalling broken furniture cracked tiles the next room was fine some people changed rooms 3-4 times .this hotel was very good 2 years ago something has gone very wrong and they do need to listen to the complaints and address the problems

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Valetta is a great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being able to swim so easily in the sea was a real bonus, pool and lots of seats - recliners and good bar was much appreciated. Location to middle of town and bus stops about a ten minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Four star level hotel for five star hotel price. Furniture and installation is very old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast level correspond to 4 stars hotel only, unfortunately. Food selections is quite poor. We reserved non-smoking room and neighbour rooms was non-smoking also. But both of our neighbour people smoked on the balcony intensively. There is no separation between balconies of the neighbour rooms. Therefore we had to go to back our room and close balcony door as much as neighbours started to smoke on the balconies.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps to the centre was difficult in the heat.

    The rooms were very clean. The hotel was run efficiently The staff were very polite and helpful Loved swimming in the sea near the hotel The pool was not over crowded

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Superb hotel outside Valletta City Gates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location close to the City Gates, professionalism and friendliness of staff, quality of food, comfort and cleanliness of room, excellent facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    excellent room, hotel with an exceptional service and staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants close activity very early (10pm) and very few dishes choices. I for a room that overlooks a wall (take Care of that possibility)

    excellent room, hotel with an exceptional service and staff, and a very good breakfast. A great place to relax with the pool just next to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    It was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was wonderful! The most amazing accomodation in Malta! The staff was very nice and polite. We loved the view from our room, the kind service (e.g. dinner in the room, private taxi service, private harbour for boat excursions). We also loved that the hotel has a small coastal strip where we could bathe in the sea. The food was very delicious and we were also satisfied with the cleanness of the room. And the hotel's location itself is a miracle. In 2 minutes we reached the old town of Valletta. It is not only a great place to relax but also to have an active holiday in Malta. I can only recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything about the property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the property! It was our second time there! We only stayed for two nights over a weekend. Never had breakfast or dinner there but we had lunch round the pool bar which was nice! The staff go that extra mile you expect from a hotel of this standard. From the concierge to the bar staff everyone is polite and helpful (something I find Malta as a whole lacks). Easy 5 minute walk to Valletta centre! Highly recommend for a short stay as it’s pricey! We sandwiched our stay between 5 nights in St Julians and 5 nights in St Paul’s.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel right on the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its location, if you arrive on foot (or going into the city) there is a busy road and a lot of steps to negotiate. Quite tough in the heat.

    Great staff, a stunning view from our room and the included breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Malta is a fabulous destination and I think the Grand Excelsior was in the best position to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original room was disappointing for the price paid. I complained and they did agree that for what we had paid we should have a better room and were moved immediately. So bad then good service. Otherwise no problems

    The view from the balcony was fantastic and the swimming pool was fabulous. There were 2 sides as far as the view was concerned. You could be on the side of the building that overlooked the front of the hotel where the view was average 😐or over looking the pool 😀The staff were fantastic especially the concierges. The meals were good but the buffets were over priced. We had a fabulous 6 nights at your hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    If you get a room with full sea view nothing in valetta can...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having house keeping knocking on your door 8:15 the day at check out is not ok. They should know that it is checkout day and clean after checkout.

    If you get a room with full sea view nothing in valetta can beat it. Second time for me and fifth time in valetta.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Would go there again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    External entrance steps can be a little bit challenging for some.

    Location was excellent within the city of Valletta. Plenty of car parking space to park hire car. Lovely views of the harbour. Great place to relax and unwind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovey, luxury break with great poolside atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was good, but a bit crowded (in August...). Starting to look in need of some renovation work - but still OK for now. Expensive... in August.

    Beautiful luxury hotel with service and facilities to match. Easy walk into Valletta.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to pick us up on arrival— although Joseph who we also took a tour of the north of Malta was our savior. The eating facilities for lunch were limited to a Tiki bar.

    Great location. Took the bus to marsaxlokk which was lovely. Hotel was clearly once grand— now in need of some TLC. Good concierge service. Joseph was our tour guide. A very helpful, kind, patient and informative fellow.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Access to hotel on foot is either down a road with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great swimming pool area with beautiful views. Good location, short walk into Valetta.

    Access to hotel on foot is either down a road with no pavement or down steps; not easy with pushchair

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a long time for porter to attend to us on check out. Things are generally a bit dated

    Turn down and reception contacting us ensuring everything was ok with our room. The staff are very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    The area around pool and little beach was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around pool and little beach was amazing. Beautiful view from the sea view rooms. Good variety of food at breakfast. Excellent transport from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    A very comfortable and accessible hotel in the right location at a fair price for high season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The two lifts struggled most of the time to cope with the traffic and there were regular waits. The restaurant menus (aside from Tiki, which was excellent) were rather limited. However, we compensated for this by ordering food from room service to be delivered to the Harbour View bar.

    The location was great (despite the steep hike from the hotel entrance to the gates of Valletta) and the facilities such as the pool, private beach area and bars/restaurants were attractive and spacious enough to be easily able to cope with the guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience, we will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and sinking in the middle

    Space inside and outside, the location which is tordions, the pool, the outstanding view on the harbour

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was very well situated only 5-10min wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .... well maybe the 88 steps up and back. But that’s my issues as o have knee prob. Certainly doable slowly

    The hotel was very well situated only 5-10min wall. Clean rooms great service great staff. Would stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Top hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar : not friendly for a good night drink.

    This is a tophotel! we loved swimming in the sea at the hotel, in the pool as well! Outstanding excellent service! Everything we asked was with a smile. Thank you 'Red' for everything and helping us with our last minute fishing day! Valletta is 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Very good location (close to the bus stations and Valletta).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and the rooms need some restorstions. The hotel is a little overbooked in August (just like whole Malta), too many people at the pool, restaurant, or be the lift.

    Very good location (close to the bus stations and Valletta). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach area and the pools are very nice. The rooms are big, well equipped (e. g. shaving kit in the bathroom), have beautiful sight. The restaurants (including the bars) are professional, have good quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    A good place to stay to explore Valletta and as a starting point for touring the rest of the Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel opened in 2007 but looked older, perhaps due to low ceilings and dark older style furnishings. Carpets are in need of cleaning or replacement. Tiki bar looked tacky and out of place in Malta, although service, drinks and food were good.

    Great breakfast buffet. Excellent location right outside the walls of Valletta with very easy access. Great pool and small sandy beach area with access to the water. Family room was very large consisting of two separate sleeping rooms, two bathrooms and large dressing area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    very nice breakfast, excellent view, very nice hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I asked for maintenance to come and open my bag because my daughter locked it but they never came.

    very nice breakfast, excellent view, very nice hotel overall

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Luxurious hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very nice and spacious and the beds were quite comfortable. The breakfast was a regular international buffet but a little too expensive in my opinion. Cleanliness was excellent and also the staff, especially at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    less than average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breaktfast room and the quality of the food were very low. This is mass market tourism at its worst. Many many people and the fresh fruit was not fresh. The pool area was overcrowded and often not possible to even find a chair. The hotel looks other way and allows folks to put towels down early in the morning and possibly not show up until after lunch. we witnessed the hotel manager seating guests at chairs which had been reserved (chairs I had inquired about since no chairs were left and told they were reserved) only to find out the guests were VIPs and clearly the staff by the pool were also "reserving" chairs in case VIPs arrived later on. The AC in the rooms did not work very well as the rooms remained warm and humid during the night. The location is great but would not stay there again.

    the rooms were spacious and the bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the sea for swimming. People had been down to the pool and beach before 8am to reserve sun beds, Policy of removing towels on beds not in use for longer than an hour not followed Through, some beds had no one on them for hours.

    Location Service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities the only problem is the access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel

    Excellent facilities the only problem is the access to the hotel. You got a choice you either go down and up 88 steps or take your chance with the steep side road, watch out for fast cars coming around the bends. There is a flat access in the hotel on the side, you can get out if you can find it but you can't get in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely great value for money, fantastic views of Malta which I’m sure can’t be beaten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor suited us (there’s an old world charm which makes you relax) but the rooms themselves may becoming a tad too tired looking for anyone searching for problems. It pays to get up early too and get your place by the pool, Malta can get extremely hot during the day so pick your shady spot (not enough of those by the pool) drinks in the hotel itself we also found rather expensive but I guess this has to be expected really. Apart from that though we could find no other fault with this beautiful hotel.

    Basically everything, the real wow factor by far for this hotel is it’s location, nothing beats it if you want to be right next to Valletta with all the amenities a 5 star can give you, the staff are lovely and very quick to help you with anything you ask for, breakfast is great (something there for everyone,) rooms are a good size with large, comfortable beds, shower pressure’s very good, plus the rooms and hotel itself are all kept spotlessly clean, the outside and inside pools are big, clean with a jacuzzi beside the indoor pool and a complete workout gymn for any keep fit fanatics, the small beach area is a real bonus too because the sea is so refreshingly clean, pool restaurants are also good value, nothing like as expensive as we thought they’d be. There are over 80 steps from the hotel to the top of the road leading up to Valletta but it’s all beautifully terraced, at different levels, I’m 61 years old, my wife 68 and we certainly found it no problem walking into town, if anything we loved it ..plus there’s a free but twice a day. My wife and I would like to pass on our thanks to all the management and staff for such a memorable holiday, the Grand Excelsior represents extremely good value for money ..we can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    The lovely little beach and the pool area were really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lovely little beach and the pool area were really nice given that the hotel is based in Valletta and not somewhere on the open sea - like this you were practically in the capital, but could also enjoy a swim in the harbour which was quite clean and the pool with the children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    We would go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we’d asked for a room with a view of the pool. Wish they baned smoking outside in the vicinity of the hotel: pool, balcony; as well as inside. Hotel restaurants, bar, breakfast buffet were expensive and not all that.

    Covered car park ensured you weren’t driving off in an oven on your way to the sights. Hotel adjacent to medieval Valletta: conveniently within walking distance to the entrance to the city and ice-cream shops. Complimentary beach towels available for the pool. Great pool. Good gym. Complimentary bottled water left in our room daily by the room service staff. Usefully, an umbrella hung in the wardrobe should it rain. Although we used it as a parasol! Weighing scales provided for the brave!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    good facilities for returning home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view from rear of hotel should have asked for change

    we were spoilt by the first stay at the begining of our holiday where we had sea views. this particular stay we had a smaller room having a view to the rear, wished we had asked for a sea view. arrived really early for this one night stay everyone really helpful and allowed us to use the facilities and look after luggage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice rooms, very clean, excellent location, nice view from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsatisfactory room service. Only 1 bottle of water per day in the room for free and no drinks in the cold storage of the room that I can buy (at all). When I asked the room service to bring me few bottles they brought me only one, in 20 minutes only. I didn't find in my room the cotton disks and they were not provided me even upon request. The price of stay is high enough, so the level of services could be better. Also there is a problem to provide sunbeds to the residents (I was waiting for it more than an hour). Some people just put down their towels to the sunbeds and go out for few hours but the staff do nothing with this situation. Probably the nice option for the hotel is to buy the additional sunbeds since they have enough place for their placement. I stayed in this hotel 8 years ago and the service were much better earlier.

    Nice rooms, very clean, excellent location, nice view from the window, good breakfast and attentive staff in the kitchen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel and perfect location on the harbour and easy to walk into Valletta to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Loved everything but the only small thing would be if there could be some more sun beds as people did the usual of putting towels out before breakfast and then not using throughout the day. The sun beds could also do with upgrading to reflect the 5 star rating of this hotel.

    The location is perfect. Although no sandy beach you can swim in the harbour which is crystal clear and glorious. The hotel itself is very grand and the staff are very welcoming. The swimming pool is a very good size. Had an amazing week there for our anniversary and the staff made it extra special. We can't wait to go back and would highly recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    5 star hotel so close to Valletta and the ferry for Alina and the 3 cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked ages ago and stayed for over a week I had to really push for a room with a sea view If you book with booking.com you can not get the iprefer points ... very disappointing

    The comfortable bets and the pool/ sea view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Not 5 star worthy, stayed in 4 star hotel in St. Julians, which was overall much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - They did not tell that at the end of afternoon they check in the room again. So after having a swim , my 10 y.o. daughter was in the bathroom while someone from housekeeping entered the room. So my tip: Always put do not disturb sign at door. - The staff at the reception booked a wrong Maltese night for us at last night. So we ended up in a restaurant that we did not order. Overall they were not so good about things to do at Malta. - Breakfast was alot, but every day same things. I expect more variations for a 5 star hotel. Also quality of pancakes was not 5 star, mine was black. (I can show picture)

    Big room good for 3 people. Nice swimming/spa area. Walking distance from Valetta and central busstation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Excellent choice in Valeta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Its location is ideal as it just a short walk from the entrance to Valeta. I loved the view to the bay from the swimming pool. The rooms are comfortable and very luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice Hotel with welcoming staff, we'd definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nice to have music played played around the pool side.

    Good range of food for breakfast with a great view. Rooms were large and clean shame we didn't have a balcony. The staff were lovely. Brilliant location for getting around the island!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and beautiful hotel very close to Valetta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lifts are overcrowded and too few for such a large building. Indoor swimming pool was incredibly cold, and the jacuzzi was even colder, which makes it unusable as a jacuzzi! Word of warning, if you have problems with stairs, then you may find the climb to reach the hotel exit too much of a challenge. Unfortunately, it is the only way to leave the hotel if you do not have a car. For a fancy hotel, TV sets were disappointingly outdated and with terribly spotty signal

    Beautiful property with wonderful views of the bay.Outdoor facilities were great, and the Tiki restaurant by the pool is fantastic. Room and bed were excellent, very comfortable. Balcony/terrace also made a huge difference; perfect for afternoon lounging. Staff are super friendly. Very close to Valetta.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Magnificent pool, but take a star away off this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a feeling of ‘old’: signs of rust and stripping paint on the exterior, the inside of the room is outdated and the bedcovers very unattractive, and the bathroom also looks old in a bad way, from the taps to the rest. Not a newspaper to be found anywhere, except for sale! A word of warning about breakfast: at €18.50 this is horribly over-priced, and you get poor quality food for that. Brave the walk to the old city and get your breakfast there for a fraction of the price...

    The hotel’s location by the water, and the magnificent pool, large enough not to feel anyone crowded out, are the hotel’s main assets. Rooms are spacious. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. large room and bathroom. Need to update the look and furnishings and make look more modern in line with other 5 star hotels. Looks a bit tired. Change sunbeds to more comfortable loungers with mattresses as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Pool attendants standing behind you in the shade is a bit off putting too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Luxury 5 star experience overlooking harbour. Magnificent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food a little pricey but adequate. Would recommend two local restaurants Salvinos and Salvio and Salvatores in Valetta.

    Exquisite room. Comfy bed and marvellous bathroom. Beautiful room. Spacious and good aircon. All amenities in room. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Prompt room service. Pool and views from room outstanding. Nice manmade beach at front of hotel. Would highly recommend a dip in the bay! Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    A good hotel with a nice pool, great view and service, building a little of age
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building itself and the facilities have come a little of age - the block-like architecture does not become better when rain turns it dirty, and a few of the machines in the fitness room were not maintained to their fullest potential (including incredible sounds).

    The hotel has a great location, a great view and really superb service. The swim in the pool and the restaurant area around the pool make this hotel really a first choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel to visit Malta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed clothes were too warm for summer. Dinner buffet with international stands where not as good as the usual buffet (less variety and too many spicy dishes).

    I like the premises, the location and the nice views from the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Can’t think of anything I didn’t enjoy. Lovely hotel, lovely place, lovely people.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We attended a wedding in Valletta, and just needed somewhere to stay for a few days. However we were blown away with the hotel, and Malta for that matter. The pool facing room was clean and comfortable, the cleaning standard was excellent. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The view over the water from the room was stunning. The food was good, and fresh and they were very accommodating for gluten free bread. Central Valletta is only a short walk away and there is plenty to do. We will be back to this Island and this hotel for a proper holiday real soon. My only gripe is that I love to gripe and couldn’t find anything to moan about...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very close to Valletta, nice harbourside pool & bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet outdoor dining is relatively overpriced at 32€ pp; should be more like 20£. That said, the harbour side Tiki dining is well priced compared to Valletta dining options.

    Very close to Valletta, nice harbourside pool & bar & dining, very friendly & helpful staff, complimentary valet parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We loved our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay here. Location is great, you can walk to Valletta shops but also close to bus stop which will take you anywhere in Malta. The room was very comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the staff - they were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. If I come back to Malta I will be staying here! Thank you for having us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Grand hotel excelsior
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the sun bed bagging people were out at 8.00am in the morning reserving the beds, some not returning till late afternoon the beds were uncomfortable, there were not enough of them if you were not fortunate to find a bed then you had to make do with the uncomfortable upright non reclining chairs, really disappointed, why can’t you have a non reserve policy, the pool boys weren’t much help either they seemed to stand around in pairs chatting they need more training.

    The location and the room,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and impressive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of drinks in bar and by the pool, some of hotel could do with an upgrade as looking a little worn. Beds around pool taken very early.

    Good size room, close to pool and location to Valetta very good. Impressive looking hotel when in foyer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    A good 4* hotel not a 5 but will definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv channels in the room really poor , service at breakfast slightly chaotic .

    Amazing helpful concierge. Plentiful buffet breakfast . Ideal location, 5 mins walk to Valletta , easy access to the sea for swimming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Personal review Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything.. For a 5 star hotel the cost is pretty decent.. Also it's just a walking distance to Valletta and the bus station. Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast area has a stunning view by the window.. Shocked on our first night when going for dinner, the atmosphere is great and stuff were very friendly.. Only one thing though, the food was mediocre but the vibe made up for it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Once again a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nowt.

    The staff at this hotel are the best anywhere they are all pleasant and friendly and will go out of their way to please. I have been staying here now for six or seven years now on my Malta trips and have made many friends. The bonus is that the hotel has a beach area as well as a pool so one can get some sea time in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Efficient but impersonal not my kind of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel too big for me so it was impersonal Staff found it difficult to direct me correctly to the party I was attending I walked round for ages. Don’t like being asked for 50 Euro deposit on top of room price. And the warning of 5 Euro charge if I don’t hand in my room card on checkout

    Great location comfortable rooms good bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok but the Phoenicia is better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible sound proofing, I could hear at least 3 people showering in the room next door and the guests above seemed to be rearranging their furniture from 06:30 for about half an hour. Lifts are inadequate to cope with the number of guests. There are only 3 and 1 was out of action.

    The check in was efficient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    5 Star service! Excellent location! The help with tours is recomendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, they could walk to the center of Valletta for me. No, the walk was not bad so I guess I liked everything about my stay!!

    5 Star service! Excellent location for taking in the sights of Valletta Malta. The staff's help with tours is recomendable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Our stay was relaxing, enjoyable and absolutely worthwhile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone and everything about the hotel was excellent. Not only did it meet our expectations it offered so much more. The facilities were spotless and well maintained and we felt so relaxed, unfortunately we didn’t spend enough time taking advantage of it all. The staff were just so lovely and friendly. Highly recommend the Grand Hotel Excelsior.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    All in all we had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter cut her knee (big gash) in the big outdoor pool on the first day, the steps have slightly sharp edges which meant she had to sit out the swimming.

    Lovely area, close to Valletta, lovely breakfasts that cater for all cultures.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    no better place to stay for short stopovers or longer on malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were fantastic extremely helpful , in my view if you have happy helpful staff it is the heartbeat of the hotel and guests can feel the welcome at the front desk which immediately give a massive impression.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    our second stay which was lovely , just spoiied by breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked for breakfast which was very disappointing though food and service in the beach bar was excellent

    pool area exceptional especially the lower area adjacent to sea. Majority of the staff were friendly and helpful. Room service outstanding and room cleanliness also excellent. Pleasant foyer and good decor throughout

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay the hotel is very comfortable and the service excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A better selection of reasonably priced snacks at the pool would be welcome. It was expensive to snack by the pool.

    Despite being a very large hotel the service and facilities are excellent. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. It so convenient for Valletta a very short walk into the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Great view if you have a harbour room, but not as good as we hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Appears to cater more for business travellers than tourists - the room was tired and the bathroom not what I would expect in a five star hotel. The Tiki Village was appealing but had the most uncomfortable seats and benches so only used it twice.

    Booked a harbour view room which had a really good size balcony and a magnificent view of the harbour - loved watching the boats coming in and out. Good location and very handy for getting into Valletta as long as you don't mind the 88 step climb (though there is a courtesy bus ride up once each morning).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location near old town and bus terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms with "garden view " are really driveway view ,so you get "wake up call " at 8 am from noisy coaches, so you've to keep your windows closed all the time.The hotel is not friendly for the people with disabilities,because they are 88 stairs, leading from the street to the Hotel entrance. Rooms with "sea view" offer only side view of the harbour and marina. You have to pay 150 € deposit ( 5* hotel !!!!) at check in. You get it back at checkout if you pay cash or to your bank account after a couple of days

    Location,good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Excelsior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: