Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Valletta hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hotel Excelsior

Reviews of Grand Hotel Excelsior This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Great Siege Road, FRN 1810 Valletta, Malta

#15 of 23 hotels in Valletta

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3347 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    I will definitely stay here the next time I come to Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two elevators were crowded in the morning. I like to use the stairs which were hard to find.

    A beautiful hotel with a great view. The pool area, lobby bar and rooms are really nice. A short walk into Valletta. I wish I could have stayed longer. Hopefully next time.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    Old luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we reserved delux double room but when we came right in front of the balcony was green wall. No view at all, just wall. We had to pay significant extra for room with normal view! The hotel is quite Old and shabby. Not refurbished long time

    Very helpful staff. Good facilities & location. Tasty breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    6.7
    Would benefit from a refresh of bedrooms. Communal spaces are attractive and service in the bar ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given a twin bedroom despite wanting a king double. The bedroom was very tired looking and had no view at all. I had stopped here earlier in the year and had a decent room with a good view, which is why I rebooked. The hotel was fairly empty and so there should have been availability.

    A good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.6
    Location and ambiance : room very comfortable and spotless,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was disorganised, good food but long wait for eggs,omelette, tea was cold and waitress argued that it wasn’t, slow clearing tables.

    Location and ambiance : room very comfortable and spotless, pool areas very good and staff welcoming, airport transfer excellent

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, very very friendly staff, very good SPA,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was average. The sheets, pillows and towels were dirty. I ordered to change some. I think that hotel administration should make more attention on cleanliness. Because it’s most important thing in hotel.

    Very good location, very very friendly staff, very good SPA, special thanks to Therapist Diana:)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    7.1
    Great stay, great location, very clean but hotel is old and looks tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is very tired and needs a face lift. External decoration is poor, internally it’s clean but very tired. The gym equipment is old and some machines are rusty. The indoor pool is large but looks old.

    Beds were great, location excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location to explore Valetta/Malta. Lovely place to come back to after a long day out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Buffet dinner (Asian buffet) was good, but too expensive for what it was. Other than that, all good.

    Location, staff attitude, room service food was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.9
    A bit outdated but impression is positive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    İ called the taxi to the airport from hotel informed the reception amd said İ’m waiting outside. After 25 min waiting came back to ask where was taxi and they told me it came 15 min ago and i have to male the payment in order to go. Couldn’t have explain my anger. The old man at concierge desk said he doesn’t know my face in order to call me...

    A bit outdated but impression is positive

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many stairs to get to the main entrance. There was constantly someone talking and smoking under the balcony of my first room but then they moved me to a much quieter room. The hotel's restaurant had very limited menu for dinner, even the buffet did not have the desired variety for the price.

    The location is great! The bathroom was very good and the room was spacious. The management listens to guests and provided me with quieter room after I complained. Great view from the balcony. Rich breakfast menu.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.5
    It’s a very Grand property as the name would suggest.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of work has been done to paper over cracks and really the place is pretty shabby. And whilst it’s a nice place it’s not 5 stars by any stretch of the imagination. The food offerings are limited and pretty expensive for the quality.

    It’s a very Grand property as the name would suggest. Which is nice. The staff are mostly friendly and the buffet is extensive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.8
    bit disappointed as we were charged twice (no one bothered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bit disappointed as we were charged twice (no one bothered to check payment), initially refused an extended check out (no one bothered to check availability either at first) and also the jacuzzi was cold and have to pay for other spa facilities which are usually included. We went for the extended check out for a message but unfortunately they were fully booked and could not even do that except for quick swim in indoor pool. Also at the restaurant ordered a goat cheese starter after quite rudely being told we have till 10.30 to order (so if I want to order at 10.35pm at the restaurant I’m sitting in at a five star hotel I will be refused? Not aware of such time limits if you are already seated at a table) and then the starter came out with no goats cheese and was returned. Offered substitute cheese platter on the house but was not happy with that and refused. Overall disappointed at level of service and facilities at such a 5 star hotel. Also no mini bar (although I note you ca order special ones) but begs the question as to why a security deposit is needed then if there is nothing to actually take from the room - save the tv and bed:) it’s not really clear on the website that to have something as standard as a mini bar this needs to be ordered in advance as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.6
    Generally wonderfully helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chairs in breakfast area in particular were becoming threadbare. Booked transfer to airport, it did not arrive on time, then we were told we were sharing with another couple. We had paid €20 for our transfer and I assume the other couple had, and then we were bundled in the same vehicle. Not what we would expect from a 5* establishment.

    Generally wonderfully helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.7
    Nice location close to the old city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfriendly and uninterested staff. Dated rooms and facade, in need of renovation. Def not 5 star hotel - more like 3-4 at best.

    Nice location close to the old city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.0
    Good, but I think I would rather try the Phoenician next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Though the hotel pretends to be open from 2007, you can clearly see that the rooms were decorated in the 70/80 and have never been refurbished! this is a 5 star hotel unwourthy!

    Location, certainly the rooms facing the bay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    With a few exceptions the restaurant and bar staff were unwelcoming and unhelpful - maybe tired after a long season! Breakfast buffet on the surface looked good but the quality was lacking - even the fruit and jucies!

    Pleasant check-in from reception and porter. A bottle of wine as a birthday gift from the hotel - dates was noted by the receptionist at check-in, not mentioned by us.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.0
    Good because of the breakfast but the hotel is getting dated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned on time and no shower gels were put in on the second night

    The outside of the building is getting shabby and this hotel is supposed to be refurbished totally over the past three years

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to be quite fit to walk to the bus station mostly uphill.

    Room very good size plenty of drawer space, very nice shower and bathroom nothing to dislike. Good location for the bus station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    The location is perfect (walking distance from the center,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food at the buffet is a bit too “standard” - no real character and average quality.

    The location is perfect (walking distance from the center, but not noisy at all), the staff is very friendly and respectful, good spa, reliable services.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.0
    Very good staff in the restaurants and bars.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Complexities over invoicing, blocking charges on accounts and double charging. Particularly upset to learn that I could have been given a much better deal if I had booked direct rather than through booking.com

    Very good staff in the restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Met all expectations! Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel, great situation short walk (uphill) to city gate. Staff all very friendly, efficient and helpful. Stunning views from some rooms, bar and dining room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    Generally was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good location. Nice staff. Very good cleaning services. The only problem was old British who took shower at 6 a.m. (The walls wasn't thick enough...)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    4.2
    Seriously disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where do I begin , it’s dated , it needs renovation , not all the staff but a large percentage were incompetent ,,the food was rubbish and over priced ,, the service to get a drink in the lounge was like pulling teeth

    There is no question it’s a great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is good as it is very close to the city center, however the place is difficult to access by foot (no sidewalk and lots of slippery stairs). The balconies are literally next to each other without any intimacy.

    Clean and calm. The beds and pillows were super comfortable and the sheets extremely soft. All staff was very friendly. We had a special offer so the price was the same as for a 2 stars hotel. We thus had an excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the stay but for a five star hotel for that price I would have expected more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room especially the bathroom was not very well maintained. The trash bin was very rusty, full of stains and disgusting. The balcony door lock was broken, so you could not lock the door. The consistency of the room maid service was not good. One day the floor mat was missing, the next couple of days there were no wash gloves. There was not even one tile on the bathroom floor that was not broken/damaged.

    The hotel was located perfectly. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and affordable stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was quite pricey, especially compared to the Romany surrounding high quality restaurants, and the hot tub was actually full of cold water!

    The location was only a 15 minute taxi ride from the airport, and a very short walk from the centre of Valletta, near to the bus terminal to travel around the island. Views from the hotel across the water were stunning, from the ample sized, comfortable rooms. Breakfast was very good, and room service was even better.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay, will return for sure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lifts are not at the level of the hotel but still you might profit for doing some jogging on the stairs, no serious issue unless your are losing your flight,..

    Nice "grand-hotel-style" location, if you like the category... The position on the Sliema Bay is wonderful, the staff is kind, services are mostly ok

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a city break .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the furniture in the public areas looking a little tired.

    Perfect location for walking into Valletta as well as a relaxing pool area with private beach.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found a bit insultive the fact that they keep money so they can be sure that you don't take things from the room (?), or in case you cause any damage

    Very comfortable bed. The bottle of water every day and the coffee sticks was a polite offer. The shampoo/sapon etc very good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    Lovely Holiday would return to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening buffet was very good unfortunately the a la carte menu was not so tasty and it also seemed to take an extraordinary long time even though it was a cold dessert so did not need cooking. But the waiters were brilliant and tried very hard to keep us happy!

    Lovely location and fantastic views in all dining rooms

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.0
    Lovely hotel in good setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor signage for where to park when arriving in the dark. Very noisey lift maintenance (with loud drilling) for a whole afternoon significantly impacted upon our stay. My husband was unwell so we were tied to our room. I appreciate that such work has to happen but I feel that in my dealings with the staff in regard to this matter, they did not respond particularly well.

    A brilliantly located hotel from which to enjoy historical Valletta. Great view from our room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    6.7
    Great location . Hotel could be a lot fresher and better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is tired and service levels for maintenance are poor. I have stayed in the hotel regularly over last 4 years and am always amazed at the poor quality of management. he owners really do need to invest a little more in maintenance and decoration. It is looking really quite shabby. They have the great fortune to be able to rely on almost a monopolistic location which serves them well, and can cater for large numbers. At least they seem to have upgraded two of the three guest service lifts. And why oh why do they put up Christmas decorations in November, like so many institutions it verges on the oppressive it is untimely and then looks dreadful by the time Christmas does happen. Poor. Having said the above I would add that over the years I have stayed in 5 or 6 other hotels in Malta and I feel that none offer a good service standard irrespective of star rating. Perhaps it is just a Maltese thing.

    This hotel is in a great location and the rooms spacious and well appointed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaners seemed a bit slow. For instance we had a carnation that remained dead in a vase in our bathroom.

    The hotel is in a good central location. Staff were polite, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    5.0
    Rocky; would not return but the staff were flexible and able to take decisions to solve problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst I was travelling alone, I was in a tour group for the first part of my visit then stayed on for an extra day. In a group of 23 I was the only person who was given a room below the reception, so that I woke up to face a blank wall with little daylight coming into the room. See photo below. It was acknowledged that these rooms were not good. The transfer to the bus station (less than a kilometre away) was 12 Euros flat rate. By comparison, the cost of a transfer to go to Mdina was 24/25 Euros.

    See negative issue below re subterranean room (and photo). However, the staff member (Anna) did respond when the Tour Guide asked if I could be moved on Day 2, given that: I was staying on for an extra night, he had a water view on the 10th floor, and that his firm has brought business to them each year! Unfortunately, the (new) room allocated (with no water view) had a problem with the card/light function (which I subsequently discovered was because someone had stuffed some paper in the card slot which resulted in the lights operating irregularly. After breakfast on the day I went to book out, the lights were not working, which resulted in my losing nearly an hour which I had factored in as having before a booked transfer, the technician treating me like an idiot, which in turn resulted in my leaving behind some luggage. When I rang later that day the Concierge accepted responsibility for the stress it had caused me delivered my left possessions to my next accommodation. So I commend them for that.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    4.2
    Half term break
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole experience of the Excelsior was that is grossly overcharging for what it offers. Everything about it is tired and old-fashioned. Staff are unpredictable, some nice, some horrible.

    The omlettes were good!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay. Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One evening we just wanted a snack and the only option available to us (other than room service) was in the buffet restaurant which was a fixed price.

    We booked an Executive Room with large terrace which gave us access to the Executive lounge for breakfast and pre-dinner drinks which was excellent. The staff in the Executive lounge were amazing. The terrace had a lovely view over the marina.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent place for vacation with some refurbishment needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was available at 4:30 pm instead of 3:00 pm, as advertised. Besides the other good impressions, we had some disappointments. We found bathroom amenities used by previous guests left for our use (e.g. shower gel) while other were missing (body lotion). Also, there was a large spill of a liquid on the carpet, next to the bed, not noted and addressed by the cleaning maid. These deficiencies, once reported, have been addressed within two hours thanks to the intervention of the shift manager. In general, the hotel seems to need refurbishment, including furniture (also at the restaurant), carpets and bathrooms.

    Great location next to the Valetta main gate, with easy access to public transportation and taxis. Spacious room with pool and partial sea view, and furnished balcony. Friendly staff, ready to assist in meeting guest needs, advising upon various landmarks to visit. Big and diverse breakfast blending local, regional and international taste. Live music at Harbour Bar was very entertaining and relaxing, with an interesting selection of teas. Variety of traditional cuisine (Indian, Asian, Maltese) available as buffet dinner was interesting. TIKI Village a pleasant surprise with good bites and choice of drinks. Airport transfer prompt, smooth and polite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice staff, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    At times, it's a bit worn (e.g. bathrooms), though they're currently renovating, I believe.

    It's a perfectly located hotel as it's both at the water and close to the city gate into old Valletta. Spacious rooms, nice staff, great pool area (both inside and outside).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    5.8
    Dissappointing stay, don't expect 5* more like poor 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel us not 5* more like 3*. Hotel consistently overcharge, ridiculously overpriced food and drinks in Harbour view in the hotel foyer and Ocean Bar by the pool. Room cost €195 per night that didn't include breakfast so expecations were high. We had to buy vouchers (min 2/person ) at €14 each to avoid paying €18.50. Breakfast was averagetting for a 3* and certainly not value for money so we ate breakfast in Valletta most mornings. Hotel is large and busy but staff while never rude were very indifferent, no engagement with guests (with the exception of Eileen in the breakfast room who seemed to have a genuine interest in making guests stay a pleasant one). Room cleaning staff were also friendly. Hotel is very worn, communal toilet areas were not always clean and bathroom accessories such as toilet seat, roll holders were broken. We visited in Oct so pool area quiet enough, pool food and drink service very slow. Never saw the pool area, tiles, pool being cleaned at all when we were there. Overall disappointing stay.

    Large spacious room. Hotel perfectly located in Floriana a short distance from Valetta city walls and overlooking the harbour.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.3
    VERY ENJOYABLE AND RELAXING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Pool facilities closed earlier than last year. Staff INTERRUPTING "do not disturb room signs. FURNITURE around Tiki bar not maintained. Waterside area Ground subsidence should have been filled in.

    Proximity to Valletta. Evening entertainment. Close to waters edge. indoor and outdoor Pool facilities. Breakfast customer relations "Eileen" delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel. Would definitely rebook if we return to Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As Vegetarians there wasn’t a large enough variety for us. Unfortunately we also travelled with a person who is Gluten Free. Nothing on the menu was suitable. Had the menu have been more Vegetarian/ Gluten Free friendly we would have used it on more than 1 occasion.

    Staff and Outside Pool were excellent. Cleanliness also to a very high standard.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional hotel with great facilities and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The location of the hotel, just several hundred metres outside the city walls was within easy reach. People with difficulty walking will find the hotels location and Valletta itself a bit of a challenge. The bars and poolside area were especially nice as they overlooked the harbour and were a great place to 'chill out' before retiring to bed. The breakfast was particularly good with a very good choice of food on offer with a chef on hand to cook omelettes to your taste. The hotel was able to arrange tours for you if you preferred or explained how to get around by bus whose terminus was just outside the city walls.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    We arrived early however our room was ready and prepared to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Orange juice was not to my taste. That’s all I can say..

    We arrived early however our room was ready and prepared to an excellent standard. Our welcome drink was greatly appreciated as we had a long journey. Wonderful staff for whom nothing was a problem. We joined the Sunday Lunch Buffet which was beyond my expectations. A fiesta of food to suit all tastes. Excellent value. A fabulous hotel in an excellent location. Got to love Malta.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    4.2
    Easily the most annoying experience of 2018
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Pool Area (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with 2 large beds - I got a single king size. Not ideal to have -60% of the sleeping real estate. Asked the reception a very nice girl had no idea of which rooms have what equipment nor my reservation showed anything to her that indicated 2 beds. We all crammed into the small bed and that was it. I had to be up at 5am anyway so my suffering was short. They clearly have upgraded their beds to a larger size (maybe that's why they publicise them as "king size"?) and the proof of that is that sheets don't fit the beds - missing 30cm. The wifi is the annoying kind you have to reconnect with id/pw every time you re-open your phone. There are no plugs next to the bed so you either start your day with 10% battery or you leave your phone on the floor as the only plug was already used by the laptop. That works well as I could crawl around the room homing to the sound&light beacon of my phone announcing 5am. The bathroom has no shower - a wall-applied hand shower in the slipper bathtub. Thankfully they provide a plastic mat if you don't trust your feet to adhere to the enamel while wet. Having left early I could not get a breakfast - I got while standing up a coffee made with luke-warm water and a shot portion of nescafe - a minimalistic morning torture. The hotel itself is large and has a nice view but it's certainly not as refined or luxurious as it is purported to be. It's a mid/low tourist trap. Finally - and that's Malta and not the hotel's fault, but to get a taxi one has to answer a full questionnaire: when is the flight, what company, what room you stayed in, how you will pay, etc. etc. etc. after a long Q&A the taxi gets ordered (a long ordeal as all the Q&A data is transmitted over voice connection, in English, from-to non-native speakers) and then even though there isn't a soul on the streets, wait 20 minutes for the car to arrive.

    nothing really - this is maybe good for average tourists who travel rarely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom floors should have been cleaned thoroughly and the shower was difficult to get into and out from.

    Room was spacious, well appointed and quiet. Breakfast and dinners were good and generally the hotel was efficiently run.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    4.6
    Soup spoons and fish knives for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room looked over the pool where events and bars gave rise to loud noise going on till well after midnight, 3am one night. Food was poor and cutlery bizarre, we had soup spoons for cereal and fish knives to butter bread at breakfast. The hotel is pretty run down and in desperate need of renovation.

    Halpful reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    Location of the hotel was perfect just 5 minutes walk into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are many steps to climb from the hotel so if you are not ever so able this might be an issue. The bar service around the pool is really poor taking 30 minutes to bring a drinks order with plenty of staff around & pool and pool area not busy. Was happy to fetch our own drinks but they wouldn’t allow this! Crazy.. we thought. Rooms need updating a bit. Toilet went clunk every time we sat on it. Grout missing in bathroom tiles. But nothing major. Just with the hotel being a 5 star and cost was expecting the best! Still very much enjoyed our stay though.

    Location of the hotel was perfect just 5 minutes walk into Valletta and to the bus station where buses run to all destinations on the island. Staff were really helpful apart from the bar service around the pool! Room nicely placed with balcony just decor is a little tired, room very clean and very comfy. We had a lovely stay and really enjoyed Valletta. 😁

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and right in town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fecilities were slightly older than I would expect from a 5 star hotel but still nice and clean. The hotel was packed and on the second night we had to wait a bit longer to get our room clean, not really a big issue but worth mentioning!

    The hotel was great, pompous and nice. It made us feel like royalty. All the fecilities were clean and the staff was extremely lovely. The position is fantastic, just outside the main square in Valletta so it's perfect to go around!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.6
    An enjoyable stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked a shuttle running regularly up to the shops from the hotel

    Enjoyed everything about the hotel, but found the uphill walk to the shops on a hot day, tiring.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    4.6
    A grand hotel that needs a little investment, but overall a pleasant experience.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is worn. The chairs in the bars and dining room are threading, also in the rooms. The choice of internal restaurants is really limited. The main elevators were poor.

    Most of the staff were friendly and competent, but overworked. The drinks were good, but food in Spice Restaurant was inconsistent. Tiki Bar is such a potentially great place but massively underutilised, bar menu was small. Rooms are quiet, and comfortable, the cleaning staff excellent. The private rooms were good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.2
    It was clean, comfortable, a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If there are parties by the pool, it can get quite noisy. You pay a guarantee of 150 euro upon arrival that might take long to get back. I won t mention the famous 88 stairs cause they kept us fit, especially after the rich breakfast.

    It was clean, comfortable, a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    Have been going to the Excelsior for 4 years so that says it all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    The rooms were large and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was amazing. I liked the fact that apart from the pool there is a man made beach where residents can swim in the sea.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    Spacious bedroom and bathroom, got upgraded to a side view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be improved, no fresh juices and everyday the menu was the same.

    Spacious bedroom and bathroom, got upgraded to a side view room which was nice! Slippers and bathrobe available in the wardrobe. We chose the hotel for it's location and outdoor amenities. The pool was great but we ended up spending a lot more time in the sea. From the sunbathing area there is an access to the sea water, witch was warmer than the pool and a lovely spot! Because it was convenient, we had lunch in the bar next to the pool (the Tiki Restaurant & Bar), the salads are huge and the waiters are helpful. All in all we had a good time!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.8
    October trip to Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel bit tired and needs an update some of the staff could have been more helpful s d not what you'd expect if 5 star rated

    Location and outdoor facilities with airport service from hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.6
    A very good hotel in a fab location this was our third and last visit let down by the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff are not organised, not customer friendly and have no flexibility. They have not improved over the years and to be honest let this hotel down. The reception policies need to be reviewed urgently or you will lose customers. Customers are your business and should be number one priority.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly in the restaurant. Breakfast well organised and has improved over the last few years well done!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.6
    Pole postion for Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The range of choice at the restaurants was disappointing though the food was generally of good quality The steep climb up to the road from the hotel though a morning complementary shuttle to the town was available which helped a lot.

    The view over the harbour from the hotel room and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.1
    Good quiet location, not a grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although we hung the do not disturb sign, housekeeping woke me having knocked three times! Had to stand and show her the sign. Breakfast is quite mediocre. Guests are not my cup of tea. Next time Phonicean Hotel up the street.

    Walking distance to center. Very friendly staff especially Joseph. Room had garden view but pretty much faced the dining room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is he second time we have had a harbour view room. Last year I said it would be better if there was even a small partition between our room and the other rooms for privacy from neighbouring guests. I have seen the hotel respond in the past to this type of comment before saying it would damage the view of the harbour. This is a poor excuse since the view would be minimally affected only.

    The room was overlooking the harbour and the view was great. The pool area is excellent. It is only a short walk to Valletta albeit up steep steps!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful - comfortable and spacious and just lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Currently replacing the middle lift so difficult with only two lifts working.

    The bed was so comfortable. Room size great and wonderful private balcony overlooking the pool. Absolutely stunning entrance. Lovely staff, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Not a 5 star hotel more like an average 4 star. Location was awful, requiring climbing at least 4 flights of stair to exit property. Although property was only built in 2007 it is looking very tired. Noise from workmen repairing lift really annoying. No bidet in en-suite and bath towels were a joke - not much bigger than a hand towel and of extreme poor quality.

    Very good house keeping staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.1
    It is a gracious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lifts were tricky. There are two working lifts with the middle one undergoing repairs. Not the best situation.

    It is a gracious hotel. Staff are attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel close to everything. Pleasant staff and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Serving of tea/coffee at breakfast was very slow - had to chase up on both mornings.

    Good location, small but decent beach area, lovely pool, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely great! It was our wedding anniversary and the Grand Excelsior pulled out all the stops!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can'r really think of any way to have improved out experience. We have been visiting Malta every year for 15 yrs and this was probably our best time to date.

    The staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was really good, although on some occasions we had it on the 5th floor which was much more relaxed than the 4th. The hotel is located close to Valletta - an easy walk even when the temperature was in excess of 30deg. We had the opportunity to see Valletta in the evenings when it is truly spectacular. We would recommend the Grand Excelsior to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    Perfect place for relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is incredible! Staff were extremely polite! The setting was great! We received a better room than booked in the reservation. They surprise us with a bottle of champagne on the occasion of the anniversary of our wedding. The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Pool Area (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missing of a bit of proactivity on behalf of the waiters durring the breakfast, but it's not a big deal.

    The location, the confort in the the big rooms, breakfast. The help of the Concierge and in general the ambiance in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    6.3
    Disppointedabout misleading views. Don't worry about booking in early you still get the worst room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check on the room views if this is important. Our bed was 2 singles made separately and then pushed together.

    Check on the room views if this is important.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Relaxing holiday location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe better lighting in the room.

    Excellent Hotel, spectacular views of the harbour. Convenient to walk into center of Valletta. Rooms very quiet and spacious. Excellent indoor and outdoor pool and gym, and treatment rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel has its own private beach which is rare in Valetta. Located down a hill so it takes a bit of energy demanding climb or a taxi. Good breakfast. Nice view from top floors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    Big Hotel with lovely swimming facilities but a little away from Valetta.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lifts were inadequate particularly with a conference. I frequently used the fire escape stairs to travel up and down.

    Friendliness of staff and being able to swim in the sea. The Reception staff were very helpful, particularly Anna.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel great location
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Pool Area
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we had a fantastic stay.

    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff always smiling and say hello, happy to help with anything. Great man made beach to be able to swim in the warm harbour, fantastic views. What more could you ask for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Full Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool area could have been a little cleaner - the pool itself and beach were very nice.

    Very good hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient. Facilities were very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced hotel in nèds of an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very diverse and you can end up with a very good or poor location in s very large an tired hotel

    It was pòr value for money but OK breakkfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    6.7
    Have stayed at this hotel three times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Have stayed at this hotel three times. Not up to previous standard. Staff appeared to be disinterested. Take it or leave it attitude. One morning at breakfast no plates bowls or glasses. Housekeeping was of a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.2
    Luxury in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for drinks and they were not great. Better to go up into town for food and drink - for quality and price. Hotel beach was lovely but there was a lot of rubbish on the side that could have been cleaned up

    Beautiful hotel in a great location. Breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The choices of food was totally unacceptable when they had an inside Indian or Asian buffet there was nothing else on offer unless you went to the outside restaurant but after 11 nights that menu was boring there was a bbq 3 times a week with exactly the same food.The pool area was never washed down the pool staff would walk past rubbish sometimes it was there for 2 days unless someone asked them to remove it. In my opinion the hotel has gone down hill lots of people were saying they would not return again.As for the uphill climb to Valletta I think they should run a bus every hour to the top and back some people could just not do it so will not return . this hotel has no right calling it self a 5 star.The first room we were given was appalling broken furniture cracked tiles the next room was fine some people changed rooms 3-4 times .this hotel was very good 2 years ago something has gone very wrong and they do need to listen to the complaints and address the problems

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Valetta is a great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being able to swim so easily in the sea was a real bonus, pool and lots of seats - recliners and good bar was much appreciated. Location to middle of town and bus stops about a ten minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Grand Hotel Excelsior Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: