Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Għajnsielem hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hotel Gozo

Reviews of Grand Hotel Gozo This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mgarr, GSM 9026 Għajnsielem, Malta

#5 of 16 hotels in Għajnsielem

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    5.4
    The view and the size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast and bar/food dated Spa ‘deal’ seems complicated and unwelcoming. The sauna and jacuzzi are only available if you book a treatment and you must have it all together. Not a relaxing experience

    The view and the size of the room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in our room requires some modernisation

    Excellent restaurant food; very friendly and helpful staff; great location overlooking harbour/port and beyond; historical character and rustic charm

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    Although i would like to see some improvement, i will surely return,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking of staff vehicles should not be allowed in the first parking floor. There were instances where members of the staff came in and took precious parking places. To make it even worse, one of them even had the courage to park wrongly taking two parking places. Some nice plants in the terraces would be welcome. it is full of weeds. Maintenance to the furniture in the dinning room

    The location and the view. The friendliness of the staff. The cleanliness of the place

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    Some of the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a little uncomfortable. Pool table was not working well.

    Some of the staff were excellent. Nice to have indoor and outdoor pool. Close to the harbour.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.5
    We love this hotel and are repeat guests- we love the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 409 was small, old furniture - it needs to be refurbished and the bathroom fixtures need to be replaced immediately- flushing flooded the bathroom - nearly impossible to get water in the shower. Extractor fan did not work. Tv signal poor.

    We love this hotel and are repeat guests- we love the view of the harbour. Staff was helpful especially the British gentleman at front desk on Saturday who came to see the room and took immediate action - thanks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, relaxing, great location, would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A large party of rowdy guests spoiled the atmosphere around the pool on a couple of occasions, but obviously this would not usually happen, just unfortunate timing for us.

    The view from the balcony, friendly staff, good food, good location, spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    Nice new furnitures, big room, amazing view from room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No phone in the room, elevators far from the room and usually busy anyways.

    Nice new furnitures, big room, amazing view from room (balcony with big glass doors), good airport shuttle service, good location to explore Gozo from here, very nice restaurants in the area (but don't expect clubbing or similar nightlife). Breakfast is served until 10.30 every day (maybe even later on Sundays)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.6
    So relaxing. Great view and lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the balconies over the ferry port means there's always something to look at but you're far enough away to not hear the noise. You can see the lights of Malta too. Our room was large and lovely. We were in the newer part, set back from the road. Lovely sitting by the pool too. Overall it's in a great location - a short walk up the hill from the ferry. The Gleneagles Bar close by has a shady balcony in the afternoon - perfectly relaxing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, we loved it, chilled out place with a couple of good restaurants down the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although just a short walk up the hill from the ferry, there was no proper pavement so just beware if your not that fit or lugging big suitcases etc. we didn't have a problem though!

    View & location, hotel staff, pool & facilities etc. all great and what we expected from a 5*...not quite Hilton standards but we actually prefer that as it had some character and charm. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast and staff, always bright and cheerful so gave us a good start to the day! Exec/delux room was good, everything worked, nice balcony and bathroom. Ordered room service on last night and that was good too. Got a complimentary wine in room as it was a special occasion, nice touch thanks! Shuttle bus into town was also good and free. Thanks for giving us a memorable stay :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.8
    On the whole we had a happy and very comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wine...The Hotel had not much choice to choose from and a half local bottle was quite expensive. Moreover any soft drink from the Bar downstairs or a very small chocolate or a small local bottle of water from the fridge in our room was double the price one finds in a local shop.

    Did not take any crossants and to be quite honest I expected a better variety of breakfast. This Hotel caters more for English visitors and not much for Maltese or Italian ones.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.8
    Simply the best - situ service and Gozitan stype.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The replenishment of the minibar was sporadic with some items unavailable so had to go out to nearest shop. Not enough shampoo and shower gel 1 small of each per room per day for two people so had to buy these also.

    Sraff were friendly and always helpful and some were continously cleaning but unobtrusively ensuring a very high standard was maintained. The bar staff were very lively And attentive with a warm welcoming atmost here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.2
    Overall a nice stay at the Grand in Gozo.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garage badly needs a lift to reception. It also needs a good makeover with very little money involved.

    The view from the room with Malta laid before you and watching the buzz of the ferries coming and going. The breakfast was above average. The garage on site. The Gozitan girl at reception .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The access to the car park is difficult with a very steep entrance. The windows in the breakfast room were not clean and they obstructed the beautiful views.

    Location is perfect with lovely views of the harbour area. The bus stop is close by with good service. The room was large, clean with a lovely sea view. The breakfast was a buffet, the barbeque buffet and the grand buffet on the roof are highly recommended. The pools both indoor and outdoor were well kept and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.5
    Freandly staff, big and comfortable room, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Terrace
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weak WiFi in the room in the morning and in the evening, lack of freash fruit at breakfast, smell of kitchen in the room in the evening time.

    Freandly staff, big and comfortable room, good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    10
    G
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi is very weak in the rooms.

    The room overlooking the pool and harbour was much bigger than expected and very comfortable. The staff in the bar were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.6
    My stay was something I will remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe the price could have involved a light dinner or a snack in the afternoon.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff was extra friendly and very efficient. The view is unique.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WIFI on and off. Don't know why the A.C. stops after a few mins....at night you have to wake up and put it on......a bit confusing how to reach the room but after a day its ok.

    Lovely view....comfy clean spacious room....nice breakfast....staff polite and friendly. Will be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    9.2
    lovely staff lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    many of my friends were up graded and had paid less than me which was annoying

    lovely staff lovely breakfast..the best sleeps for a long time ..we will be back x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    6.7
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet didn’t flush properly and we reported it 4 times but it didn’t get fixed - the TV didn’t work very well - the restaurant doesn’t serve any food from 10.30 til 12 which didn’t suit us at all because that’s exactly when we needed to eat ( between scuba dives)

    Great view - spacious room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved our stay,staff brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From start to finish great holiday! Booked transfers from airport with reception brilliant and very good value. Fantastic hotel room staff and location wonderful. Food way exceeded our expectations dinning on the terrace was fantastic and made the holiday. Good transport links nearby to explore Gozo Would recommend!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To be honest I can’t think of any criticism.

    Absolutely beautiful hotel up a hill overlooking Gozo harbour. Room was huge and everything was spotlessly clean. Housekeeping staff were excellent, no rush to clean your room in the morning only at a time that suited us. Food was excellent, plenty of choice both in restaurant and terrace menu and great value.The restaurant supervisor was very professional and friendly (from Serbia, sorry can’t remember name). Lovely man. Afro in reception met us on arrival and throughout our stay answering queries, etc very efficiently.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff, very attentive, amazing views, excellent breakfasts & lunches and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The corridors could be confusing but after a day or two you would be used of them

    The staff were excellent, so helpful and attentive, the view from the balcony was excellent, the view from the rooftop amazing. The breakfast were excellent as was the bar food. Both pools were very relaxing and not busy. 400 yards from two brilliant restaurants and 500 yards from the ferry terminal. Huge screen for the world cup matches which you could watch having lunch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great choice for Gozo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi connection wasn't working for one night but it was fixed efficiently on the second morning already.

    Great location close to Gozo harbour with convenient ferry transfer to Malta and Comino. The reception offers various of tours and services with nice staff. Hotel restaurant and bar is good, in the summer you can sit outside and watch the world cup or other sport games. The roof BBQ dinner was great also. One of the best choices on Gozo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.3
    best hotel in Gozo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the car park entrance was a bit dangerous, the slope was too steep with very sharp turn, every time we enter the car park I feel like the car is about to roll over...

    great hotel provided luxury travel experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay if
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our toilet in the bathroom didn't flush as easy as it should - it still flushed and worked properly - but the button to press sometimes got stuck so water would run continually if not back in the original position. Room was very spacious and comfortable, however the chairs in front of the TV area were not that comfortable - luckily there was an extra bed in there we used instead! The chairs out on the balcony can be a bit scratchy - one of them actually snagged on my top but not a major thing.

    The staff and cleaners at the hotel were all very friendly, helpful. There was always some one around, and it was really easy to arrange taxi to and from airport. We got a sea view room which was worth it. The pool and lounge was ideal too. Lots of information available with things to do that the hotel can organise, or things to do at the hotel itself. Location is great as it's by the harbour and quiet (which we wanted), lots of restaurants and bars nearby, the hotel bar is great too but if you're wanting a bit more hustle and bustle, then the location is probably not for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Location albeit up a steep hill, good breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower curtain had a mouldy smell and the toilet seat fell off (it was replaced after some reminders). There was a mini bottle of wine left out on the table which indicated it was complimentary but we were charged for it. The staff at reception were very nice but some the bar staff acted and looked as they didn't want to be there.

    Location albeit up a steep hill, good breakfast, very comfortable bed, good views from the bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.2
    On the whole good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken floor tiles next to outdoor pool. Safety hazard!. Underground parking area looks like a dungeon and lift is available not for garage users but as a servuce lift. Cannot be used.

    Staff helpful, rib eye cooked to perfection . First day b'fast room service was presented good, 2nd day not much to be desired.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was comfortable and it is a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had to be reached using two lifts with a short walk between each lift. There was a sound coming from the lift all the time it was in use. No free kettle with our booking which is disappointing for a four star hotel. Linen has seen better days.

    Staff very helpful, welcome orange juice on arrival. Breakfast very good. Fantastic view from roof and breakfast room. We chose a room with country view but if you choose one with sea view it will be lovely as we stayed there before. Very close to ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.5
    A good location from which to visit Gozo and Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The housekeeping was a little slack. One day after the beds were made up they forgot to take away the old sheets and pillowcases. And they ran out of hair conditioner for 6 of our 7 day stay. Small things but noticeable in a good quality hotel.

    We are both swimmers and the pool was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Nice, comfortable room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is located on the road and young locals seem to have a passion for roaring cars, but it's not so disturbing, especially if you sleep with the windows closed.

    Nice, comfortable room and bed. Very good breakfast, very nice view and super nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.1
    I would recommend this hotel because of its location and room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The linen on the bed was old and threadbare. There was even a hole in the sheet. The sheets were too small for the size of the bed. The hotel needs a bit of paint/repair (instead, I believe it is extending). The staff on reception were not very welcoming compared to the staff in the breakfast room who were always smiling and chatty.

    Loved the location and the view (our room was overlooking the harbour). The room was spacious. Breakfast was great, both choice and quality of food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    An ideal introduction to the Maltese archipelago
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I cut myself on the metal strips on the pillars in the indoor pool. I usually make fun of over zealous health and safety policies but they need to address some aspects of theirs

    The room was excellent. I asked for quiet and away from people smoking on balconies and that's what I got and a panoramic view over the countryside. Air conditioning was excellent. They could certainly teach seashells at suncrest something about what air conditioning should be like. Indoor pool excellent and for adults only at certain times which is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    7.9
    OK but only ok as we both enjoy the indoor pool, Jaccuzi, steam room and sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Jaccuzi, steam room & sauna in the new indoor pool. To have use of the Jaccuzi guests had to PAY for spa treatments. For a 4 star hotel this is not acceptable and I have sent an email to the hotel on this subject. Had to ask for Tea & Coffee making facilities as some rooms DO NOT have them!!!

    Staff first class and food very good quality and at a fair price. Good parking off street and easy access from ferry. Zoran, the restaurant manager is a very large plus to this hotel. Great NEW indoor heated pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Best stay on Gozo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice, modern and close to the harbour on Gozo. They have a really nice restaurant with a set menu and a la carte menu. The breakfastbuffé was wonderful! Really friendly and serviceminded staff! 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a bit though it's very steep and narrow and small. And if you park on the street be ready to walk 😊. Would have been nice to have kettle in the room without the need of additional cost though. We travelled with 2 month old who is constantly feeding

    It's a a great place to stay for a short break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Really relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Garage is very tight and small, both to manoeuvre and also in the amount of cars it handles, one night it was totally packed. Wifi signal in room was very poor, but then in the balcony it was ok TV slightly too bright couldn't adjust setting to reduce brightness

    Breakfast had a real good choice food was good, room very spacious, balcony too where you can enjoy a lovely view whilst having a drink. Although close to a busy main road the hotel is pretty quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    would definately book this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was bit disappointed that there was no kind of entertainment and felt that the bar was quite small for a large hotel.

    The staff where excellent very helpful and always willing to help and answer any questions . The hotel restraunt was very good .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    6.7
    view, indoor pool and service, forgot wallet and they phoned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room very hot, uncomfortable.beds and woke up with stiff neck, spa full for guests

    view, indoor pool and service, forgot wallet and they phoned about it, we forgot our wallet and staff phoned us and kept it for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.8
    Despite the need of an update in the bedroom, I still loved this hotel and the wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was in need of a refurbishment. The bathroom in particular was suffering from black mould and could have been cleaner. There was only one plug socket available in the whole room and as the electricity went off whenever the room card was removed i.e. whenever we left the room - it made charging phones, kindles etc very difficult. we ended up unplugging the television to charge a second mobile.

    Location of the hotel was excellent. The staff were obviously very well trained - very professional, helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Book a room with a sea view - it's worth it. Food in both the bar and the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor pool was warm the first day but cooler on the other days. No Jacuzzi at the indoor pool

    staff was very nice and helpful, room service was efficient and food very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.9
    Good Overall Long Weekend Stay @ The Grand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dead Slow or Non Working Wifi In Room, No Electric Plug By Bedside, Few or Non Working T.V Channels, Parking Area Needs Maintenance & Cleaning, More Attention To Room Cleaning & Maintenance (Small Details But A Big Difference),

    A nice Welcome and Amazing View. Food was great....at first was a bit disappointed to find out that dinner was served as a Set Menu not buffet, but nonetheless, scrumptious and delicious dinners. Super Helpful & Outgoing Restaurant & Bar Staff. Also Service with a Smile from Housekeeping and Front Office. Thumbs Up for the Indoor Pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    All we had hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gave feedback that lighting needed improvement to be able to read in the evening in the sitting area in the room.

    Position, views, friendly and helpful staff, new indoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    Utter perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect country view, lovely hotel, mainly saw family who live out there so didn’t get a chance to dine in or swim in the pool, but the food smelt delicious I tell you that, m the pools also looked very inviting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.5
    Good weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no fitted carpets and floor was too cold. The bed mattress and pillows need to be more comfortable. WiFi was poor at the room.

    The room was overlooking to the countryside and very clean. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    10
    We had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom mirror light doesn’t work The balcony has no moskito net The restaurant Windows are dirty Wifi doesn’t work all the time from the room signal is very pool.

    The view is amazing The staff a very friendly The rooms are nice classical style furniture Cleaning service is very good Almond and soy milk was given to us for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing. Gozo is quite small so easy to get around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel seem to lack in informing guests of any changes ie opening of indoor pool. Yes there was a small notice in the lift but if someone stood in front of it you didn’t see it. And small one at reception. Possibly a note left in the rooms of guests would have helped.

    After problems with evening meals and service on the first couple of nights this was rectified and a whole new standard of food was offered. Manager is willing to listen and act. Staff extremely friendly. Hotel is in a great location for bus links to all over the island. Cheap fares. Don’t try and get on a bus from Victoria between 16.30 and 17.30. We were here out of season so be aware it will be extremely busy in the summer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    7.9
    Fine overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows and bedcovers. Also rooms at the side of the building are noisy with service vehicles in the side road from early in the morning.

    Food good. Service good. Pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    7.5
    Was a good rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed with evening meal as we paid for half board that there was no top sheets on bed only direct quilt

    It was nice to get greeted by a drink as you check in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    6.7
    Outdated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very slow internet, gym is sad, massage therapist not very good, broken telephone (had to go downstairs For room service), toilet flush broken, weak water pressure, flickering lights

    Thursday tours, daily shuttles to Victoria, staff, pool, view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    2.9
    The room was called country view but the light could not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was called country view but the light could not reach the room because the window was very small and it was not a view. The hotell has a pontial but they do not use it anymore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    10
    A great hotel near the ferry with convenient bus stops for exploring the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Throughout Gozo the tap water is not really drinkable and the bottled water was pretty expensive in the hotel. Unfortunately the nearest supermarket had just closed, but there are plenty of others just not within easy walking distance.

    Lovely hotel overlooking the harbour. It is being extended but very sympathetically and we had a new room which was great. The staff are charming. The food is good with plenty of choice with a number of eating out options within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    9.6
    FOR A VERY RELAXING HOLIDAY IT WAS GOOD AND NEAR TO THE BOAT AS WELL, FACILITIES OFFERED ARE GOOD TO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE MATTRESS WAS A BIT TOO HARD FOR OUR TASTES BUT OTHERWISE NOTHING TO ADD

    GOOD SERVICE AND ROOM VERY SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE NEVER TAUGHT IT WAS GOING TO BE THAT GOOD. BREAKFAST HAD GOOD CHOICES. CLEANLINESS AND THE WAY IT IS SET UP THAT NO NOISES FROM OTHER CORRIDORS IS HEARD I LIKE THAT VERY MUCH.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    7.1
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minibar did not cool, dirt bin broken. One day room not cleane. Housekeeping said sign on room said do not disturb. We hang up the sign please clean the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable stay in a very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was disappointing that the buffet dinner was served in the restaurant rather then on the rooftop. The ambiance and views would have been much enjoyed on an evening when the weather was warm and fine.

    It was lovely to be greeted with a fresh drink of juice on arrival. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing and friendly hotel who make an effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I agree with the comments that the hotel is dated in parts.

    I enjoyed a very relaxing 5 days here. We had great sea views and sun beds on our balcony. The hotel staff are very friendly and make a big effort with free mini bus trips to Victoria and two beaches. The hotel's breakfast is much better than some hotels I have recently stayed at. I especially appreciated the hotel posting back a couple of shirts I had accidentally left behind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    6.3
    Like the curates egg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    MY biggest Gripe is the way the property was presented on the web site. Both I and other guests were under the impression it was a country property instead of right on a busty noisy street in the town which meant the room was noisy. It was also NOT stated that the property is TOTALLY unsuitable for guests with movement difficulty having unavoidable steps EVERYWHERE with no hand rails to help. The pool area had cracked moving tiles and in my opinion was dangerous as it had no handrails to aid entering and leaving the pool also the notice with the depth was inaccurate stating 1.2 meters when it was nearer 1.4 in my estimation. The sun loungers and cushions were dreadful For me the breakfast was disappointing as they served NESCAFE for coffee although I was told this will be changed in the near future.and as a diabetic I found no natural yoghurt. With the judicious application of a few aids to movement as simple as hand rails it would be superb

    . On the plus side the staff were nearly all friendly and helpful, the food, other than breakfast was good and the maitre de exceptional. . Any problems were dealt with smoothly quickly and efficiently. It was an older style property which I personally like as it has more character than modern ones and as it was based round what appeared to be a really old building it had interesting nooks and crannies . the roof top barbecue was excellent and the roof top buffet very acceptable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    5.4
    We were given a room which had a bad smell and we got a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a room which had a bad smell and we got a replacement room for one night and the hotel tried to give us the same original room for the other nights which we refused.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing, out dated and far from grand. A waste of hard earned money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We travelled to Malta for our honeymoon and wanted something special. This hotel was anything but special. When we saw the Grand Hotel on Booking.com and it's good rating we thought we'd splash out (almost 900 euro for 5 nights). So we expected something amazing. When we arrived it was as if we'd been in a time warp. It was hard not to notice the very 90's run down lobby. We were supposed to receive champagne on arrival but that never came. Although the kind receptionist had given us a room upgrade, we appreciated it until we actually saw the room. It hadn't been cleaned properly. The floors had a sticky feeling, with lots of dust and sand. The sofas were also very dusty and sandy, enough to make our bags dirty. The bed was lopsided and caving into the center. The outdoor sun beds had dirty feet marks (we understand outdoor furniture gets dirty but this was something different). One of the towels was stained. In general the furniture (especially sofas) were completely run down and falling apart. There were no slippers as promised either. When we notified the receptionist, she said the cleaners had left the hotel and we'd have to stay in the room that night. The next day the staff gave us a new room. Although the room was better than the first one, it still wasn't 100% clean. The sheets on the bed were thin and old and the bed was very uncomfortable. Every time we took a shower, the bathroom completely flooded which caused danger of slipping every time we went into the bathroom. There were two showers and both flooded, including the shower with bath where the water flooded around the sides. The wifi was so bad that we couldn't even look up places to explore without using our own data. On the nights we felt like chilling out, we couldn't even just stream a film. Still can't believe this hotel is rated four star and can charge these types of prices.

    The pool was big with a nice view, the staff were friendly and the location was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice stay on the Gozo Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful view on Malta Island, on the port and sea from the room with balcony from the upper floors. Tasty, varied breakfasts. A lot of extra facilities for the guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    Room and foood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room did have a window but we were not able to open it to get some fresh air which was disappointing.

    Grill buffet and morning breakfast was great. We had big room which was clean and neat

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    8.8
    Very value and happy stay there!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location is very good, 5-8mins walk from the ferry station. Room is big enough, very clean, i love the sofa Conner, can relax well during the stay. If the windows is bigger that would be very nice. Hotel pool has very nice view. Breakfast is excellent, weekend is till 11am.Restaurant everyday has different menu or themes, service is excellent! There is free shuttle bus to victory centre or 2 beach during different day, there are even little cinema at weekend. I strongly recommend this hotel for stay in Gozo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    7.1
    Not grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over priced and dated place, the lift is rickety, no WiFi in room or very slow connection, shower goes hot and cold and is impossible to control, some reception staff badly trained. This is rated as a 4 star but I would give it a 3 minus. It's obvious that they are under staffed, I feel sorry for the good people working there. Overall Gozo has much better to offer.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed the hotel and loved Gozo. , nice hotel to come back to after a long hot day exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lifts and help with luggage.

    The roof top dining is fabulous,though congested at times. The chefs very accommodating. All the staff lovely. Even the handyman was a great help and lovely gentlemen. The receptionist all very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.8
    On the whole it was a fantastic holiday. A good break away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tinned fruit we had for breakfast had a bad taste. When there is a wedding reception the parking area is always full of guests 'cars. There should be a reserved parking area for hotel guests.

    Room was excellent with a fantastic view. We were given an upgrade. We had a room in a quiet area as requested. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    Grand service from the Grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish they'd run a shuttle from the ferry to hotel taxis are a rip off!

    Great location swimming pool and some rooms overlook the lovely Harbour. Roof terrace BBQ was a must. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our "superior" room was very much in need of a makeover. Probably decorated in the early 80's and now looking very outdated to the point of being shabby. Wifi was fine in the public areas but in our room it varied between mediocre to awful. There was just one double socket in the entire room where a standard lamp was plugged in to one side, so our iPad, phones, Kindles and camera batteries all had to wait in turn for charging.

    The best thing about the Hotel is it's wonderful location overlooking the harbour at Mgarr. Wonderful view from the balconies at the front of the hotel, particularly on the upper floors. We found almost all of the staff friendly and helpful, particularly the young man who tried to help out with the Wifi problem. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning kept the room nice and cool which was great during the heatwave! Excellent large personal safe supplied in the wardrobe which is a pleasant change from some of the mini safes used in a lot of modern hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    10
    All grand at the Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    My only concern (being somewhat paranoid) is that guests can charge their drinks and meals to a room number without signature or any form of verification-which leaves the system open to abuse or bills inadvertently being charged to the wrong room. A small quibble, I know,

    This is a good value hotel- food is (for a hotel) especially good and during our 2 week stay it was difficult finding a restaurant where the food was better- try their twice weekly BBQ (June to September)- location is excellent and no faults regarding cleanliness. Staff are first rate. Rooms overlook the harbour, have all that you need and are well insulated from street traffic noise. We met up with a number of guests who had been coming back to the Grand for years- so that speaks for itself. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    8.3
    Thank you Grand Hotel for a lovely stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought my breakfast was included. It wasnt. But that's ok. My mistake, I guess... However, I was very disappointed by this: ANY hotel (even motel) I've ever stayed offers complimentary coffee in the reception area. So, instead, I walked down the street to the nice family-run Food Truck. Their coffee was delicious and their food was great too for a quick take away meal

    Natasha at the reception desk was very kind, efficient and extremely helpful. The Pool is great!!! The view from my room, spectacular and I appreciated being right by the ferry and the bus to Victoria.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.2
    Didnt try outside restaurants near property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could have done with more outside space. I was expecting the outside restaurant on the roof to be open this was not the case.

    Didnt try outside restaurants near property.The restaurant manager was excellent friendly and attentive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had an amazing holiday in Gozo. The hotel was really beautiful with a wonderful view of the sea. The staff of the hotel was very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    10
    The pillows are just lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't stop water from the shower going all over the place at first... minor problem

    The pillows are just lovely. Both a firm and a feather for each of us. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast excellent. The view from our room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views, lovely old building and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a beautiful and interesting old building with lots of character. As with all older buildings, everything is not necessarily perfect. We had minor maintenance issues, such as a slight musty smell in the children's room and sticking door latches. Also, whilst the presentation of the rooms is good, it is not as immaculate as a modern purpose built hotel. This did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay in any way, in fact one of the pleasures was the lovely building. Another thing to bear in mind is traffic noise. The Hotel has an amazing location close to the Harbour, which makes it easy to catch buses and take boat trips. However, during the daytime this does mean that you are aware of traffic noise from the pool and balconies which we weren't expecting, but wasn't enough to detract from our stay either. The road is very quiet in the evening when the ferry terminal has closed, so noise would never be an issue at night.

    The sea views are stunning, particularly from the pool area which is amazing. I found the bed particularly comfortable too, and very large! Very quiet at night. We also found the staff to be friendly and helpful, from organising our transfer to the hotel, offering a pack breakfast on the last day, and the Manager for taking an interest in every individual party of guests at dinner to offer a very personal service. There were several bars and restaurants within a walking distance of the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fitness centre was very basic.

    Great location. Good sized rooms with comfortable bed. Great view over harbour. Staff were excellent especially the restaurant manager.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Country View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Changing the dates of my stay was not straight forward, this for some reason could not be done through booking.com so I had to call the hotel a number of times till I finally managed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    9.2
    Great location with spectacular sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View & Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of Cranberry, tomato and fresh orange juice at breakfast. Poor quality toilet paper.

    Spectacular sea view. Bed was large as were the pillows and bed was very comfortable. Staff were fantastic. Hotel Organised a great tour of the island at very reasonable cost and free transfer to the Gozo ferry. A Gideon Bible in the room was very welcome. Good quality breakfast with plenty of choice. Good pool but at busy times lounger space sometimes full.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Grand Hotel Gozo Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: