Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel 4 stars

Dragonara Road, STJ 3141 St Julian's, Malta

#22 of 33 hotels in St Julian's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3515 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Thanks to the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above note said some

    Hello really the staff was excellent of all reception & resturant beautiful only coreddore and rooms need more work to be fine like entrance as example main fault that beds was steel and not comfortable as others Better to think about

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Will definately return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no water in the bathroom between 10.00pm and 3.00am.

    The hotel is very welcoming. The room was well furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Maid took my purchases and staff were rude and unhelpful when I brought the issue to their attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The maid took my purchases. When I went to reception to explain that my purchases (which came to the value of €300) were taken, the staff were unhelpful. The only people in the room except for my boyfriend and I was the maid. I had bought gifts for family and friends, and some nice new clothes. We kept the room neat and tidy, the bags with my belongings were nowhere near the bin, yet the maid took them, thinking it was rubbish. Either that, or the hotel has an issue with a thief. It was a shame that my trip ended this way, as I enjoyed every other aspect. The lady at reception said it "was not nice to accuse people". I wish she could practice what she preached as she was wrongly accusing me of "accusing someone"! There were two eye witnesses of the bags, and I was offered no form of redress. I will be taking this to the Maltese police.

    The bed was large. The location was great - very central and well connected to bus routes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Overall facilities where clean and good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress and pillows were really really uncomfortable. Breakfast was good. Except that the staff need to be more fluent in english not only in italian.

    Overall facilities where clean and good. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Great value hotel, tired decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is very small Dirty towel in bathroom

    Clean room Good selection and quality at breakfast Helpful staff Great air con in room Away from busy street (quieter area)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    The bed spoilt my experience of looking forward to a restful night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and the pillows. The bed squeaked and the pillows were definitely not to my liking. In fact I woke up with a stiff neck the next morning.

    I did not come across any "remains"from the previous occupier'. Bathroom, it appears , has recently been upgraded. Good job.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel with good rooms (if you get one of the renewed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    roof top swimming pool is just ok, and there's no control on people being noisy and not respecting the rules stated out on the disclaimers on the walls: definitely not the best place if you just want to rest peacefully.

    nice hotel with good rooms (if you get one of the renewed ones) and a good breakfast. the location is quiet and not far from the central areas of PAceville

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was not cleaned properly, the towels had make up marks on them. The street in the back is very noisy.

    Close to one of the few beaches in the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff and lovely reception and bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area on the roof was disgusting. Can tell it had not been cleaned in month. Showers at the pool also filthy. Stuff floating in pool. The hotel when your first walk in is lovely then the further you venture to your rooms and facilities it just gets worse and worse. Air con was temperamental only worked a few days out of the week and it’s was 37-40 degrees most of the week. No view from balcony even tho we requested a sea view. Heard people screaming in the party hotel facing us till all hours of the morning which is wasn’t happy about especially as my partner is pregnant. Would not recommend this hotel and would never stay again. Don’t know how it got marked as a 4 star hotel 😐

    Friendly staff and lovely reception and bar area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere is not so friendly. No water in the rooms, only 2 small bottles at the check-in. No bathrobes or slippers, very poor shampoo, so take ur own. Good place to stay for a couple of nights. Not to spend the long holidays.

    The location is good. The sea is nearby (Dragonara beach is just 3 min, sandy beach is round 5-7 min). Though the hotel has no beach of its own. Also bus stops to any direction are within several minutes walk. Breakfasts are ordinary. No fresh fruit, very poor coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    In reality an expensive 2* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the rooms, the confusing layout of the hotel, the breakfast was very minimal and the breakfast room was full of flies. The price didn't reflect the service and it shouldn't be a 4*

    The bedrooms were large

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Underwhelmed at the beginning of our stay from false advertising although everything else was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Inland
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our only downside was that we paid extra for a room with partial ocean views as shown in images with modern timber floors, instead we were taken into another tower of the hotel, rolling our suitcases through hallways of old bumpy carpet and our room was also full of carpet dated back to what looked like the 90's. We had high expectations for the beautiful modern looking room and it is not what we ended up receiving. Images should be more accurate to show what your actually paying for.

    This hotel was beautiful and the location was in a fantastic spot for the youthful atmosphere me and my partner were looking for. Buffet breakfast and rooftop bar were also great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.2
    our wedding day was nearly ruined because of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My girlfriend checked in to the hotel to prepare for our wedding. The water supply cut half way through the day, while my now wife was preparing for our wedding, therefore forcing us to get taxis and arranging for her and her bridesmaids to shower and prepare at a different location. An absolutely terrible experience that we never ever expected. The hotel offered a bottle of wine and a late checkout as compensation... Our room was also never cleaned during our stay.

    Only the location and the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a wide range of breakfast and they took a little bit long to clean our room from day one to the other.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We made use of the rooftop pool and the gym and they both were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Rooms, staff, my room had windows over quite a busy street...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - as always. Guys, this is not how you make scrambled eggs.

    Rooms, staff, my room had windows over quite a busy street and despite this it was silent and pleasant. Out of many hotels in St Julians that I have been this has the best value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Location to Paceville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little dated Indoor swimming pool shut Not for budget conscious travellers

    Location to Paceville Transport links to other areas of Malta and airport Large Rooms Nice outdoor pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. Great hotel, great location, great everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor thing is, it is nice to have a proper coffee machine in a room. I think the addition of a simple coffee pod machine would make this hotel unbeatable for value and excellence. Also, the room service system was not working at the time, somehow, so that process might need to be looked at and streamlined between departments. Very minor points though.

    The sea view was fantastic from the room and on the balcony. The room itself was very large: enough for a bed, couch, two chairs and a desk, which is more space than possibly every other hotel I have stayed in. The air-conditioning was able to keep the room cool when required. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee wasn’t good from the machine. Cereal selection was cocopops or corn flakes which was very limited. No water bottles provided after first day.

    Room was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    The initial room smell tobacco.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The initial room smell tobacco. Someone smoked cigars in the room. No action by housekeeping prior to my arrival. After complaining, they changed my room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Inland
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold Hallways need decorating very dirty there was an awful dirty Chair that needs binning near the vendor machine. Inside pool was closed. Pool area could do with a revamp all sun beds were broke and not comfy . Arrived early but couldn’t check in any earlier than 3pm even thou I had asked in a previous email months before and that I had two young children with me after an very early flight.

    Great large family suite Comfy large beds Brilliant air con Fab views Brilliant cleaning service in room. Brilliant location near everything and some brilliant restaurants nearby. Good price for peak season compared to other hotels in area. Allowed us a late checkout til 1pm Bar staff downstairs were great very friendly and did great cocktails. Tour guide in reception Alexandra was exceptional she did us some fantastic deals to popeye village, Jeep trip round Gozo and hop on & off bus and much more, really went out of her way to help us would definitely recommend booking trips thru her ,she was lovely and asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Very good location, clean hotel, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool was shut and the gym needs an upgrade

    Alexandra the lady who organises tours and days out was absolutely excellent, her very accurate and informative information had a very positive impact on my stay in Malta !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    it was not excellent but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could be improved- more choice and more taste beach access or arangement with other hotels to use lying chairs rooftop with swimming pool and lying chairs does not look appealing

    location was great rooms were alright friendly and helpful staff at reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Central location staff were nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not a 4 star by any means its crubby in places the garden is a mess the sunbeds at the pool half of them are broken .the swimming pool is tiny carpets lifted in hallways needs re accessed with the trip advisor the westin across the road is a 5 star and very well deserved for it. golden tulip management need to take a look at that hotel

    Central location staff were nice .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed my stay in Golden Tulip Vivaldi and I would reccommend ias a good choice of accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes noisy because of the construction works outside but new buildings are growing which is good for the city.

    Good location, nice swimmimg pools , You can really enjoy the one on the roof. Nice breakfast and kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Very good position but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The carpets were not clean, the bathroom was old and not like the pictures Two times during the week, the cleaners came into the room at the time that we were in the room Generally, the hotel is overrated. The money we spent, we could book a 5 stars hotel.

    Comfortable room, bigger than our expectations Very good location. The staff was helpful The breakfast was very nice with a huge variety

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    reception, bar, breakfast, pool inside and outside, it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bed on the pool at the 7 floor: are without the possibility to have the right inclination, to poor of sun ombrella, the air condicioned is too low every where

    reception, bar, breakfast, pool inside and outside, it is near the main important restaurants, and the inglish schools, it has bus stop

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Not bad, for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms, 1st floor was very dark and view overlooked a wall. Was happy once moved. Sunloungers need updating, half are broken. No beach towels to hire/use. Can’t pay on card in the rooftop restaurant.

    Good location, clean rooms, nice rooftop pool. For the price and including breakfast wasn’t too bad.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Summer holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the male staff at breakfast were a bit too ‘attentive’, almost making it a bit uncomfortable at times. Hotel ignored email sent after stay regarding lost property. Overall a good hotel that could be improved with nicer staff!

    Clean and comfortable rooms. Good food at breakfast. Swimming pool was nice. Good location close to Silema and transport links.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was only €8 per person and there was a lot of food, the quality was lacking. The coffee was poor and the scrambled eggs were watery. The cleaners also knocked on the door before checkout time to come in. You have to remember to put out the 'Do not disturb' sign. The pillows were bad too.

    The pool bar was great. There was a good selection of food and drinks. There were good cocktails too. The staff there were nice as well. Overall the hotel staff were very nice, professional and helpful. The rooms were nice too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Our experience at the Vivaldi hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred that the main restaurant serves buffet food instead of a few choices of food only.

    We really enjoyed the indoor pool and our room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Happy customer - would return!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food really exceeded my expectations so my compliments go to the chef! The staff were friendly and very helpful. Pleasant quite room. Minor hiccup with the WiFi but it was easily sorted out. Excellent experience overall!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Good money for value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was the same every morning, always the same. The bed too soft for me.

    First of all the location is very well situated in Paceville, a district with a lot of cafes, restaurants, bars. Very close with the bus connection, close to the sea. Nice and helpfull employees, clean rooms, soundproof.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, staff and facilities. A truly enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    This may be a Malta thing but as the island grows in popularity, so does the construction. There was a lot of noise between construction, partygoers and fireworks which are an integral part of the many localised festivals that take place on the island throughout the year. It didn't affect us too much however as the air conditioning meant we were able to close the window at night.

    The property is located quite centrally and a quick walk from most amenities or depots of transport. To get to St. George's Bay, St. Pauls, St. Julians, Sliema or Valletta is less than 30 mins, a quick walk in some cases. The hotel itself is well equipped with two pools (one indoor), a gym, sauna and turkish bath. The pool on the roof is relaxing and the bar there too is perfect for having a drink with a stunning view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.3
    My worst hotel stay in my whole life !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was my worst hotel stay in my life. They have only photo of renovated rooms on booking and reality was - we got the old dirty room. 4 stars ? Where ? Staff was normal, without smile.. Dirty room, mold in bathroom, extremly soft mattresse, long distance from reception to room. Gym - unusable, old and really dirty, with broken machines.

    Breakfast was good Ice machine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    We arrived earlier than check in time, because of our flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We arrived earlier than check in time, because of our flight. They told us and all the other guests, that the rooms will be ready by 15:00. And all the rooms miraculously happened to be cleaned at exactly 15:00. Not just for us, but for all the other guests as well. I am not sure, why is it good for the hotel, to have 30 people in the lobby, waiting for their rooms. They should offer a price for early check in or just be a little more flexible. The breakfast was terrible, with no really bad solutions and bad service. The waiters were arguing with each other every morning in the guest areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.2
    Booked to stay at the Golden Tulip for an eleven night stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked to stay at the Golden Tulip for an eleven night stay at the end of July. We left feeling completely disappointed with a couple of things which happened during our stay. We are easily pleased travellers however after 7 nights our beds had not been changed, there was a mark on the sheets so we knew this. We called housekeeping (no answer) so instead called reception who kindly said they would send house keeping to change them. 2 ladies from house keeping came up; during their 5 minutes in the room they were rude and making comments to me half in their language/ half in English - clearly so that I got the gist they were talking about me. They did not change the bedding as requested only the duvet cover. Later we saw these 2 house keeping staff who continued to make comments and language at us - they made me feel intimidated, unwelcome and like I had caused a major issues despite only asking politely for the bedding to be changed. We raised this with the manager ahead of checking out who said sorry for not having the beds changed. If you are making a booking please be aware that the pool is subcontracted out, despite being advertised as a facility, and as a result private bookings are made leaving guests without access to the pool - this was not communicated to us when we made our booking only the day before with a poster in the lift. We paid a lot of money to stay for 11 nights and have left feeling complete dissatisfied with our stay and I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone; there are plenty of other hotels in the area who will be more respectful to their guests and provide a service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.8
    Look elsewhere. Rude staff. Unclean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel staff are rude and unfriendly. Each time we asked about something they were short and rude. The gym does not open until 9am and breakfast is only open until 10am (at weekends too). Meaning you cannot go for a workout before breakfast. Although breakfast was not worth getting up for as was limited choice and not great quality. The room was quite grubby and not cleaned well. The air con didn't stay on and really didn't do much. The bed had a flimsy and dirty topper on the mattress. Pool bar was cash only and you could NOT add to the room, which was strange. Plus the pool top had no umbrellas meaning it was impossible to sit there. We actually ended up going and paying entry to the hotel opposite to use their facilities.

    The lobby was air conditioned. And the bedroom was pretty quiet although could hear next door TV. That probably is the only positive. Easy to walk down to Spinola. The hotel was a good price compared to others but I would not recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is difficult to have a snack during the day, we spent all the morning in the hotel as the room was not ready at our arrival and, once closed the breakfast service, we could not find anything to eat in the bar at the ground floor. The pool is very old and pool area is small and lacks of every kind of service (except from some sunbeds). Bar at the top of the hotel, where the pool is, is ok to eat a quick meal.

    Rooms are large and comfortable and bathrooms is ok. The hotel is quiet despite its central position. Italian staff at the restaurant is very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, friendly and Air conditioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to pay our bill on check in... seems to lack trust, as it was secured through Booking.com

    As we were diving at Divewise this hotel is a perfect location, the staff at the bar on the 7th floor were all amazing and really helped to make it a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Gym needs an upgrade.

    Amazin sea view, close to the local restaurants and shops. Very tasty breakfast with a plenty of choices. Amazing beach just a few minutes walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, excellent staff and convenient to St. Julian's/Paceville area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was good. A huge selection of sweets, however, hot savouries could be improved by mixing up the offerings. Still good value, however, after 10 days was ready for some alternate options. Would recommend only paying for breakfast if staying for <5 days - or otherwise, just pay on days which you don't want to get out and explore.

    Very enjoyable stay! Friendly staff, excellent room service, breakfast was good for price and no issues with any of the amenities. Would happily recommend for convenience to St. Julian's/Paceville, and if looking to be close to nightlight and hot spots. Junior suite has a great view and excellent sized balcony. Great gym within easy walking distance, close to movie theatre, bowling alley and alternates for families if staying for longer than a couple of nights. Bus directly outside hotel, and concierge/management can arrange anything else from lobby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Golden tulip is right in the heart of St Julian’s.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what it is. The rooftop pool area is ok but it could do with being “fancier” in all honesty. For a four star hotel this area particularly could do with a paint job and most of the deck chairs were broken. I felt the downstairs pool was a bit dirty. There was grit on the floor in the pool area

    Golden tulip is right in the heart of St Julian’s. Ideal location to be at the center of the hop on hop off tour, connected on bus routes to other parts of the island and to/from the airport. Breakfast was included and included a standard buffet which was good value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym is a hazard of broken equipment. Compared to the Holiday Inn in Malta it’s v.dated and rooms are small

    Location. Awesome staff. Great selection of free sweets :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Wi-Fi doesn't work 2. Sunbeds and pool are old/broken 3. Pool is dirty 4. The pool bar charges 1.6EUR per tiny glass of warm diet coke 5. Hotel staff forgot to book our airport taxi and we nearly missed our flight as it took so long to get another 6. Extremely overpriced for what are very oudated rooms 7. Miserable reception staff 8. Air con broken in room 9. One particular member of reception (Howard) tried to blame me/insinuated I was "another of the hotels "thick" guests" when I reported the air con as broken. Very dissapointed!

    Location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in the center of Paceville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was not clean enough. There was mold on the walls and smell of toilet.

    The hotel is in the center of Paceville. There are a lot of pubs, clubs and cafes in the neighborhood. St Gorge’s bay beach is 5 mins of walking. Nice lobby and pool on the roof.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was non existent - really put me off the hotel. Trying to figure out the elevator system.

    Breakfast was lovely. Bar in the night was nice. Bed was very big. Hotel was very clean. Staff excellent. Roof top pool, although small, was lovely. Short walk to shops, beach etc. Bus stop outside the door. Atmosphere was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location bit not the same which room You are in. No breakfest to request
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed at all. Room are old. We were on the 6th floor and above is the pool guy each morning was making big noises because not lifting up the sunbeds but pushing and pooling them. We told at the reception, it became better but it was still there in a way. Not nice to get for this noise at 7am or tryting to relax at 10-11pm with this noise.. Breakfast not that good either. Coffee has no taste. Not fresh products they seem but the taste is another story..

    Location is very good and that is all about the good stuff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Toilet facilities on the rooftop pool and bar were very poor, No handtowels or toilet paper much of the time. Could do with a refurbishment.

    Comfortable quiet room. Good location. Good choice of restaurants in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Did the job - noisy/busy area but quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was very soft and I had to remove the plastic sheet as it was incredibly uncomfortable. The decor was dated and needs updating but this didn't affect my stay. Location was in a very busy area full of bars and touts. I knew this beforehand so was ok but not a very pretty or green place.

    Breakfast was great - lots of choice and nice and fresh. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to have the option to use a pool. The roof top bar area was lovely - really fabulous views. Also very near to the beach and shopping areas. Although in a very busy area, it was a nice quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    AWFUL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything. The staff were very unfriendly and not at all accommodating. We were not able to check in before 3pm, although requesting an earlier check-in time when we had booked the hotel. We originally requested a twin room and were given one double sized bed. After complaining, we were upgraded and moved to another room. Overall the bedrooms were tiny, breakfast was awful with little to no variety and the staff were extremely unfriendly. I do not recommend the hotel.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Room & restaurant views were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No change of sheets for an entire week! Towels were pretty awful, we found some hairs in them as well. There was a person who mistakenly tried to enter our room and one of the maids even tried to help them...

    Room & restaurant views were very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    The room was acceptable however there were no tea and coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fairly close to Spinola Bay which is great for restaurants and bars however the immediate surrounding area is dingy and unpleasant. Further, there is no direct access to a beach or the sea. The swimming pool on top of the roof is incredibly small for a seven story hotel and has hardly any seating area. Further, it is unacceptable to expect individuals staying at the hotel to pay a €10 deposit in order to receive a beach towel. This is the standard one would expect of a hostel or 2 star hotel. The breakfast is sub-par for those who wish to only have a continental breakfast (the cereal selection consists of two choices neither of which would be considered healthy and there was no fresh cut up fruit). Overall, I would consider this at best a basic three star hotel. Both the images and the write up provide a false belief of what you expect of the hotel. I am incredibly disappointed in the hotel and actually asked for a refund to move hotels.

    The room was acceptable however there were no tea and coffee facilities which is expected of any four star hotel. The hotel very clearly needs to be refurbished as it is tired and old.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little old and should be renovated. Its below a 4 star standard. A little noisy area, but the hotel can do nothing about that.

    Staff was very helpful. Wifi was excellent. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly, helpful, lovely warm people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit overpriced rooms.

    The staff were very friendly, helpful, lovely warm people! The service was excellent! Breakfast is various and the views in the hotel and its restaurant are amazing! The roof top snack and drink bar is as if out of a fairytale! I

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    It was a convenient location, and clean hotel, let down by the lack of an iron and noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no irons in the room. I rang reception, and they said they only had 10 irons for the whole hotel and that they had all been reserved. This was the first time I've ever not been able to get an iron in a hotel. There was a noisy group sitting outside our room, and we couldn't sleep because of them. I rang reception who said they would investigate. 30 minutes later I'd not heard back so I rang again, and I was told that security had visited the room, and the three women said they were just having a small party and not making much noise so they left it at that. I would have expected a bit more pressure and policy to support noise reduction.

    The property is in a good location if you are looking for access to the local nightlife/pubs/bar crawl, and close proximity to valetta and sliema for cruises. The room was clean. There was wifi in the room. There was an indoor pool and a small rooftop pool but I didn't use either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Right in the city centre, great breakfast and rooftop pool/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really!

    We stayed 7 nights at the Golden Tulip, the location is great right in the center of night life but also rooms very quiet so easy to get away from the busy streets. The breakfast was fantastic and definitely would recommend, the staff very helpful especially the tourist desk which made it easy for us to organize all the things we wanted to see/ do. Really enjoyed the pool and rooftop bar!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    The location of the hotel was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was much smaller then I thought and there is no real spa facilities, they have just one masseuse. Also the bar facility at the pool was a bit disorganised.

    The location of the hotel was great! There's a lovely view from the restaurant out onto the sea and also from the pool. The rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is really poor! Gym open at 9.00 not earlier. Always (I stayed 2 nights) and everywhere strong smells of detergents for cleaning

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    reception helpful and professional, special big thanks to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reception helpful and professional, special big thanks to Francesca. location is lively, beach walking distance. for extra fee you can use the rocky beach across at Westin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Magnificent views and an extremely comfortable bed, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong smell of cigarettes in corridor at all times. Outdoor pool times not clearly visible. Jacuzzi in indoor pool was not working properly.

    Magnificent views and an extremely comfortable bed, clean and easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.3
    Avoid this hotel.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff in the breakfast need to improve, the basic thing in the breakfast coffee after an hour of the breakfast already open, I had to ask 3 times to make the bring it, also they are slow and they don't speak english only italian incredible! Also the replacement of the food that is already finish is really slow, and the breakfast look like a disaster! Bed in uncomfortable and the room is not really clean not even the toilet paper was replaced in what should be a 4 star hotel! Also is too expensive for what the hotel really offer...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall, the stay was good. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The rooftop pool is nice but there are only 3 umbrellas and most of the sun beds are broken. Also would have liked a balcony.

    The beds are very big and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Rooms are hit and miss and the staff super unhelpful. Price and location are decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude, unhelpful and each request was grudgingly fulfilled. Our room looked nothing like the photos and was old and neglected.

    The hotel had an excellent location next to one of the best districts in Malta.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Tremendous Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool & chairs need to be updated but the view was spectacular.

    The room was huge and had a great view of the Sea. The Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and very tasty choices! I would absolutely go back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location, great room, many great restaurants nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Choice of food in breakfast was not so good, and all days it was the same. Would prefer more variety of food from which you can choose what to eat.

    Good location, great room, many great restaurants nearby from the hotel. If you want to use public transport, bus stop is also 3-5 min walk from hotel. Nearby from Portomaso tower + there is also many shops next to the hotel in which you can buy water and other drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Price vs quality is pretty good, pretty spacious and it has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More parasols or shade near the pool. Minibar was empty, not enough power sockets for EU plugs in the room.

    Price vs quality is pretty good, pretty spacious and it has a nice pool (on the roof).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Easy check in, breakfast was nice and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room floor never got mopped/ hoovered. Bed sheets didn't seem to of been changed for the week. Pool sun loungers (outside) were mainly broken and uncomfortable.

    Easy check in, breakfast was nice and staff were friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    2.5
    The hospitality and friendliness of the room service...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were terrible noises coming from the AC pipes. I thought these were mice, but according to the personnel it was just a sound from the AC system. They apologised when I complained on the phone during my stay. Not sure whether the sound came from the AC pipes or behind the wall. It was annoying anyway. I also informed the reception about an awful smell in the stairway. The hygiene in the corridors was not the best, but possibly because of some disrespectful guests. The location was terrible. It was difficult to get a cab those days from the hotel, because of ongoing road issues and traffic. The hotel should inform its guests in advance to avoid surprises. My friend was disturbed in the middle of the night. She was woken up by the personnel: they were looking for a lost suitcase. Simply inconceivable. Terrible service.

    The hospitality and friendliness of the room service personnel was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like the fact that there are many construction sites near the hotel. Therefore, it was always noise and dust, we couldn't fully enjoy our holiday. I don't recommend St. Julian's Bay if you want a relaxing vacation. Also, it's unpleasant that check-in is at 3.00 P.M. despite the fact that the check-out is at 11.00 A.M. We had the morning flight so we lost almost all day until we could check-in.

    The hotel is in St. Julian close to the sea, right inthe heart of the entertainment area of Paceville. The room was spacious and clean, with a very comfortable matrimonial bed. Cleaning was done every day and towels were always changed. Breakfast was good, continental type.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    The towels were changed each day even though we didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The towels were changed each day even though we didn't ask for it. It would be more ecological, not to change the towels daily unless it's been specifically requested by the guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In major need of refurb, cleanliness poor, we had a junior suit however had ants in the room and all the walls were flaking away with a giant crack in the balcony

    The view was beautiful, the breakfasts great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    The location was perfect,within a two minute walk of,beaches...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint,which to be fair,was out of the hotels control, was- Being woken up at 03.04,by stream rollers flattening down the tarmac,as all the roads were being resurfaced,around the hotel. The whole hotel room shook,& it was very noisy.. As i was attending my nephew's wedding,later that day. It did impact on the wedding,as i felt exhausted by late afternoon. Lots of building work in the area,jack hammers going,from first thing in the morning,until about 6pm. Having a hectic job at home,disappointed not to be able to relax,beside the lovely rooftop pool. I must add,again this is not the hotels fault but,spoiled any chance of properly relaxing..

    The location was perfect,within a two minute walk of,beaches,shops,bars & restaurants The hotel was spotlessly clean,the rooms also,which were smart & spacious. Hotel staff were courteous & very helpful,& eager to please. That's from front desk to cleaning staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    OK hotel in great location but could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very disappointed that the poolside bar was closed - we have visited before in September (hardly high season) and was open then so expected the same. The construction work going on in St Julian's was really grating by the end of the stay although I understand that this stops in July and August. Hotel needs to work on Service as twice had to chase up two separate requests.

    Location is great - Paceville in one direction (turn left out of hotel) for numerous nightclubs and bars and in the other direction (turn right and then right again, exiting hotel) there are more upmarket restaurants towards the Hilton, Portomaso Marina and the Bay on Spinola Road. Something for everyone really. TV channel choice is appalling (British) but Wi Fi is great so can stream if bring tablet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    The rook really nice and new, the cleaners are friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool and gym were quite hot and humid, it is quite old too.

    The rook really nice and new, the cleaners are friendly and nice. The food was good and the waiters were very polite as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Only main restaurant was open. The other two were closed -Parasols for rooftop swimming pool ‘not available’ -Rooftop restaurant/ bar was closed so no food or drink was available poolside -Every time we went to the leisure club to book a sauna no staff were on reception, despite trying several different times of day -We has a street balcony view, which was awful as there is a lot of construction work going on all throughout the Summer. Our ‘view’ consisted of SEVEN cranes. -The ‘garden’ is awful. They’ve badly laid down some artificial grass, which is all rolled up and gathered. Not the sort of garden you can sit out in - indoor pool is not friendly. No shallow end, no rail round the edge to hold on to, steps to enter pool were loose - Area immediately surrounding the hotel us like a shanty town. Very run down -Bathroom needs to be refurbished (room 1665)

    Large rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: