Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Diplomat Hotel 4 stars

173 Tower Road, SLM 1609 Sliema, Malta

#20 of 31 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1045 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel is wonderful, directly on the sea and close to both Valletta and St. Julian's. The room was very large and spacious. The staff of the hotel also is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Cleanliness (cockroaches in the bathroom) - Bad smell of the room and the hall (7th Floor) -Uncomfortable beds (mattress) -Only one EU Style Wall Socket per room

    -The Location -The Friendly Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did expect a bit more comfort for a 4 stars hotel. The setup of the gym was not very practical: the sauna next to the treadmill...

    The staff was very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was little noise from the street, but that seems normal for a property facing a main road.

    I like its location at the middle between St. Juliet and Valletta. You can walk to any of them easily. Moreover, the hotel is right facing the corniche. Staff were so kind and friendly especially in the restaurant. I booked half board booking with good money value. I requested water from the room service and it was brought up to my room within two minutes. Walk up call was provided as well. WiFi connection was very strong from my room. In short, diplomat hotel staff made my four nights holiday unforgettable and I shall definitely stay again at this hotel whenever I visit Malta again in future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were generally very miserable and rude, particularly the breakfast staff who for instance would push in the queue to serve themselves breakfast and NEVER smile & just complain if you fill up your drinks bottles etc. The pool and sauna were also closed (only open in Summer months) hence not open in April even though this was one of the reasons we chose this hotel to make use of such facilities. They advertise massage bookings but when we enquired we were told they do not offer this. There is more I could say but overall felt that there are probably friendlier and better hotels elsewhere in a more convenient location such as Valetta.

    Breakfast was included and they also gave us the welcome drinks (after we specifically asked). Breakfast options were okay but not a large variety of food to choose from. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE! When we arrived at the hotel in the morning, the receptionist told us that our room is not available yet, so we left our bags and went to explore the city. When we came back late in the evening, we learned that the "sea view" room that we booked two months in advance was not available. The hotel offered us a side-street room 15 euro cheaper than the one we booked. The thing is, that for the same price two months in advance much better rooms are available in the neighborhood. But as you can imagine, at 8 pm after an early morning flight, you are not very eager to look for the rooms. And furthermore, when we did a quick check, almost everything else was fully booked. So we had no alternative but to accept this offer. I consider this an elaborated scam. First, you offer relatively good rooms for a good price, but then when the guests arrive, the rooms are not available anymore, and the guests have to accept an overpriced alternative. When we were there in the morning, there was also a group of Italians filing their second complaint with the manager - that should have been a warning sign, although we probably wouldn't be able to change anything anyway. In addition, the AC worked for heating only because the hotel used a central system and they "did not switch it from heating yet" (despite mid-April with +20 outside), and the rooftop pool was closed (apparently, in only works during the summer).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service upon my arrival was very slow, but it was very late hours, they probably tired too.

    The hotel is in Sliema, along the road where many bus lines pass, so it's easy to get to Valletta or to the north. Room was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No good black tea bags. Milk is watery. The restaurant is in the basement, no windows. Poor TV reception.

    The lobby with the bar with a piano, lovely atmosphere. Relaxed. Houskeeping very very friendly. Swimming pool on the roof with a lovely view. Wifi is free in the rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable as it was two put together !

    The waitress serving was very very good ! Unfortunately have forgotten her name but her attention to detail was second to none and a very good adversary for this hotel ! The room was cleaned to a high standard each day too !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no welcome drink but it was advertised. we booked for a room with a double bed but got a room with twin bed. on asking to change the room they first said none was available the first night. on the next day I was told that they have a much smaller room with double bed available but we didn’t change as the current room itself was not that big.

    good value for money. good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a double bed but got twin for the first night, they agreed to change this on the second night, however this was to a single room. The hotel is in need of refurbishment, facilities are dated. Air condition system was very loud.

    The hotel location was somewhat good. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds,everything is too old,shower was disaster,we were waiting 10 min for hot water,the door lock was damaged,unpleasant staff,very poor breakfast..

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Half board was ok, we found which was delicious but some taste was "a bit strange" for us. (i could not say bad, but quaint)

    Good Breakfast Caffe, tea in our room whit warmer, welcome drink. Every day was cleaning perfect. Lobby bar ok, whit tolerable prices

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The balcony was a bit scary on the 7th floor!

    Booked at the last minute for an extended stay this was an excellent hotel at a reasonable price. The breakfast was pretty good and the room was extremely comfortable and well presented. Nice to have a kettle in the room too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is extremely slow. Safe is broken. Sliding door to the balcony is not tight, so very noisy.

    Diner is quite good. It has an office with an internet-connected computer and printer for its guests. We used it to do airline checkin and printing our boarding passes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything fine, no complaints.

    Very comfortable hotel, convenient location for my needs, and excellent value for money. It's a good base for a stay in Malta. Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff were helpful when I had questions. I'd be happy to stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit noisy because is the main street, need a bit of renovation.

    the location on the beach, in front is walking district (san giljan-sliema) which is great for walk or run, we had side view on the beach, breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning even though it advertises as having it, that really annoyed me. The tv only had 2 English channels one of which is sky news, and the other was just rubbish - very disappointing as I'm not on holiday and don't go out every evening. The rooms are very basic and could really do with updating.

    It's cheap, I paid €106 for 3 nights which is pretty good for the area. The Breakfast was nice with plenty of variety. People have complained about the WiFi but I actually found it ok. The location of the hotel is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-if was a pain , it was frequently dropping out of signal. The hotel staff placed noisy families along side guests with no children. We complained several times as the noise was unbearable. It’s an old hotel. The staff were not very chatty. Parking is a nightmare as you have to park on the street, if, you can find a place to park.

    It was clean, our room had 180 degree sea views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Receptionist lady was rather unfriendly. She said I hadn't paid in advance but when I showed that I had, she didn't apologise for her mistake.. No mattress cover on bed. Lifts often smelled of sewage indicating a plumbing problem in basement.

    Avril at breakfast was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acoustic isolation is poor, everything is heard. Wifi signal is very bad. The internet is very harsh. Old furniture. It is not a fuor star hotel.

    The food choice for breakfast and dinner was very good. The room was quite comfortable and clean. Location of the hotel is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street, old furniture and equipment, view from my room (partial see view - mostly the view of the building in front), the check-in experience (avarage freandliness of the reception stuff)

    The size of the room, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, location of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a room with partial sea-view and we could not see it at all. The ventilation was a little bit noisy.

    The hotel was very nice, especially the location. Near to everything and right in front of the sea. Our room was really spacious, we didn't expect it. We had 2 bathrooms and jacuzzi, which was very nice after long day. Very quiet and the terrace was huge. They cleaned our room every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is a little bit old and the air quality - not so good.

    The rooms are big enough and well-equipped. The hotel restaurant offers great meals (both for breakfast and dinner). The house wine is quite good and rather cheap. The location of the hotel is excellent - several bus lines go near it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a bit of updating in terms of maintenance at certain instances. The showers were lacking water pressure and one of the pipes in one of the showers was broken. Certain things were a bit rusty including the cooker/stove.

    Booked the partial seaview room, was surprised to find 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and an amazing terrace ! The room was comfortable, and the heating fantastic ! The breakfast was superb and the dinner was quite good. Everything kept on being re-filled. Tea-making facilities with plenty of tea and coffee !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Worst hotel experience ever. The smell in the hotel was not pleasant, the bed.. No comments, my back still hurts. Partial sea view means - no sea view. Breakfest was also terrible. Room had mold in the bathroom and on the ceiling. TV was smth like 15 inches wide. Don't stay there. Just don't.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration of the hotel is quite tired and dated. The pool was closed.

    The welcome drink (genius) was very welcome :) The room was a good size and clean. My room had a partial sea view and was convenient for seeing the shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a problem,and no indoor pool

    Qiet hotel with friendly people,awesome staff that are there to help you on all your needs,fantastic view and place,very tidy and clean hotel good job for keep it this clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No indoor pool (wintertime)

    Ideal location at seafront and sliema promenade, very close to surfside restaurant. Also Within walking distance to sliema shops, restaurants and playing field. Enjoyed walking the promenade. Breakfast was abundant and lobby had a nice atmosphere with friendly staff. Room was cosy with side sea view (booked a seaview room but this was occupied and we were refunded, that was a plus). Would have been complete if it had an indoor pool but we enjoyed the short stay with a 4 year old.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was not very good. Room was a bit too warm even though the weather was bit cold, and the AC didn't help much. The Wifi speed fluctuated a lot.

    The room was quite comfortable and clean. The location is good is good if you wanna stay close to Sliema or St. Julians (close to some nice rocky beaches for the summer). It's a 20 euro taxi ride from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    Excellent location and good value. Pleasant staff, near all amenities and well-placed for public transport. Quiet, with very clean, spacious rooms and good, plentiful breakfasts. This was my second stay at The Diplomat - and I would certainly stay again!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m surprised the security box is a paid service in such a 4 star hotel. No parking and it’s very tricky to find a parking spot on the side street. Facilities are bit aged.

    There is piano player in the bar at the reception level. The breakfast is good with full English breakfast. Bathroom is clean and shower is great. The location of hotel is just seafront. Nice view from the outside of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Generally good services but the breakfast was not the best. Everything came out of packets and machines - OK but not great. Beds not quite long enough!

    This is a good performer in a very convenient location. The staff are polite and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The receptionist could have been much more welcoming and pleasant. The bald guy in the evening almost shouts at you if you ask anything. The big young lady is also not very pleasant either and very sharply spoken. They could learn a lot from the breakfast staff who were extremely pleasant and always smiling. We just avoided the receptionists most of the time. Very rude though. Apart from this, we had a very nice stay but will not be coming back due to the rude receptionists.

    Excellent location, in the middle of the island so can go either way with least time on the bus. Hotel is a good standard, though carpets are a bit worn out; with very good breakfast choice, plenty of fruit; dried and fresh as well as the usual choice of cereals, drinks; hot and cold; breads, eggs and cakes and pastries. The breakfast staff were very pleasant. our bedroom was clean, though it had a smell that no one could figure out. it smelt as if someone had been smoking but we are not smokers and the smell was not coming from outside. It was put down to some sort of a cleaning product as the guy said that they had similar complaints before. The partial view is a unsettling to say the least and only to be attempted if you are feeling brave. needless to say we did not sit out on the balcony to enjoy the view; though if it was a proper balcony, it would be lovely. There are bus stops very near the hotel and a direct bus comes from airport called X2 as well as direct routes to Qawra and Mallihea as well as the Madena and Valletta. The sea front is very clean and enjoyable for a morning walk or an evening stroll. They have a computer room and a printer to print your boarding passes. The evening guy was very nice at reception called Joseph. Sadly he and a petite lady were the only pleasant receptionist. We had an early flight so we asked for a packed breakfast which Joseph arranged straightaway but sadly it was ham and cheese and for vegetarians it was not worth having. But we did not clarify either with joseph so we had the water and the apple and not the sandwich which we gave to a very appreciative cleaner at the airport so nothing wasted. Overall the hotel is pretty decent for a 4 star but shame that the receptionist did not a more pleasant attitude.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no problems at all

    Good location between Sliema & Balluta Bay If youre a catholic churches nearby; english mass @ 11am St Pats V good dinners cooked by Ian & Other V friendly restraunt staff nice fridge in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the decor is very dated the staff when we arrived were sullen and unwelcoming the room was heavily perfumed it actually made us both cough as if trying and cover other smells the juliet balcony rattled and felt unsafe, heavy layer of dust at the edge of the carpet, stipulated double bed got two singles

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired.

    Very good breakfast, plenty of variety and nicely cooked. Fresh Milk- this is SO appreciated. ( sadly unusual in many hotels now).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. Location is bad. You pay for absolutely everything. Uncomfortably hard beds. It’s way overpriced. Basically avoid

    Nice staff. That’s about it. Oh and the fitness centre is decent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it would have been good if the hospital told us about their meal offer when we checked in - we heard about it from other guests and by then too late - otherwise we would have eaten there in the evenings. The road was too busy to leave the windows open (noise from road at night)

    great location, good breakfast selection (we did not use the restaurant but heard from others guests it was good) room cleaned daily, fresh towels daily

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad phonic isolation.

    Good position in Sliema , 100 m from bus station/ Nice large room. Very good breakfast. Good bad. Very good wifi. you can find parking in the public area in the proximity of the hotel. I was lucky, I park in front of the lateral door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to room 210 was a little difficult to open and may need adjusting. The street beside the hotel was often noisy at night (the balcony door needs sealing to reduce outside noise).

    Comfortable bed. I appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel breakfast was excellent. Great location close to the sea and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very dated and the room smelled of damp. I would not take my family or friends there. It was okay as a single traveller.

    The location. The cost. The breakfast was reasonably good and varied.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have been nice had the breakfast room had external windows, but that's just a minor point

    Friendly helpful staff - easy location & good services

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room and hotel need refurbishment, acoustic isolation is pretty poor, the A/C heating did not work and the nights started to be cold there, of course NO WELCOME drink for Genius travellers [it is a fiction anyway for 90% plus hotels I am visiting]

    good size of the room, electric kettle with tea/coffee in the room, good internet connection, rich breakfasts, very nice location, good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic experience Staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn’t do enough for you Breakfast was great and decided to have dinner in the hotel Help your self buffet hot/cold good quality and like the breakfast loads of it with a good variety

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is quite old and needs a bit of a face lift in the corridors and rooms.

    The location of this hotel was excellent. The restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was fantastic - good value and excellent range of food but the accommodation was quite expensive as it is an old hotel. We had a sea view room number 402 and I would highly recommend it as the view is great and I think rooms without a sea view would be drab.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I got had a water damage in the bathroom, waking me up in the middle of the night with a putrid smell and the dripping of water - that may still be happen. When I went to the reception desk at 7 in the morning and asked for the hotel manager, the lady at the reception was very unfriendly and did not even utter a single word of apology or that she would deal with the problem. Instead the told me that I could come back in half an hour, when the hotel manager would be there. I was also told that I could use my bathroom (which had still putrid, yellow water dripping from the ceiling into the bathtub) to shower because the water from the tap would be fine... I have visited more hotels than I can remember, but I have never experienced that. Rooms are outdated, the blankets are not comfortable (too small, bad fit for the bed), the cleaning is fine, but rather limited to directly visible areas (e.g. dust on the cupboard), a particularly horrid point was weak hygiene in the kitchen/restaurant. I saw aged melon served on the buffet, the plates were so dirty (brown food stains up to half a cm in size) that I first had to clean my plate even after discarding the first three.

    The hotel manager reacted professionally and well to the crisis, organising a different room. However, such an incident and the reaction of the reception desk is a unique experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very big dislike was breakfast staff handling bread without gloves or even using tongs. One waitress touching her hair then as she was putting out the bread.

    Staff were friendly facilities were fine,but the hotel was a bit dated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very expensive: i paid the price in order to secure a comfortable room with 3 singles; i got a cramped double room with two singles and a third bed which wasn't full size with dated decor and bedding.

    Very clean with helpful staff. Good location for beach and transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    Location (perfect communication, promenade walking path and rocky plateau beach along the sea, beautiful view, ...) Comfortable room/bed, good breakfast, Professional staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast most of the food was cold no matter what time you went down,don't like cooked breakfast cold,should improve the way food is kept warm,

    Beds were ok room was clean staff were pleasant and English is spoken at hotel,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When you are entering at the hotel you can feel the very unpleasant smell. The hotel is very old, and can't meet the standards of 4 stars hotels. Poor choice of food and very unpleasant atmosphere in the hotel restaurant . Also cleanliness is not on the very high level.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) The Staff could be more friendly and more willing to serve us. 2)I would like to inform you that the last day, the room attendant came into our room while we were in the room and asked about the time we would leave. This is no good and should not be happen in a 4 stars hotel. 3) Small TV in the room

    Clean Hotel, Very good breakfast, Very good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Great staff, friendly and helpful. The room was nice and tidy every day. Good choice at breakfast. Rooftop pool, bar and hotel lobby bar great. Great location with restaurants nearby, the sea with "cliff beach" just across the street, bus stop a few minutes walk, the wine shop just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was too small with the toilet squashed between a wall and the bath. The toilet roll had to be removed to create a few centimetres extra space. The air conditioner was not fully effective and noisy. The fitness room was too low. dirty and generally unpleasant to work in.

    The roof top pool was fresh and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is old fashioned outdated, room with "partial" sea view has no sea view, AC didn't work, just make noise, room was very humid, very old and smelly. Terrible... I do not understand how it is a four star hotel? There were strong smell of mildew everywhere in the hotel, it's a four stars of the 70s! I booked a triple room but, was given a twin room with an extra bed, in a very, very small room (like 10m2). At one morning at 8 a.m. we was sleeping and someone was knocking in ours doors, we did not answer, so she unlocked the door and came inside - it was chambermaid!! no "sorry" at all! Very noisy place all the night. Balconies were very small and you could only stand there, not enough space to sit. It looks better in their pictures than in reality. And we didn't get our welcome drink...

    Good location. Some of the staff, were very helpful and nice. Shower room in fitness centre made available free of charge for late leavers to shower. OK breakfast (buffet style) but same all week. Nice pool on the roof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel ranking 4 stars is a misleading. It was perhaps a 4stars hotel in 1990. The vantinlation system need to be updated. The room facilities need to be updated. The room was quite misoture and wet, if you wash clothes there is no way to make them dry inside the room. The reception stuff was good but not excellent.

    The hotel location is excellent. There is no beach nearby, but it is very convenience to swim in the rocky shore. A good path can lead you to the sea and water was crystal clear. The hotel swiming pool was good; The quality of breakfast was good; A tour guide girl in the reception hall was very friendly and helpful. The room cleaning was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view-next to us were another hotels.one of them was roof with the pool and another,we saw a somebody 's terrace ,they had a party almost every night ,but it didn't ruin our stay

    The bed was very comfy,we got our privite terrace-was very large and got my own sunbed.the staff was very friendly and hard working!especially catering staff,created warm welcoming atmosphere!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well-located, this establishment also has a rooftop pool and bar, and an outdoor dining/cocktail area in front facing the water. Breakfast is buffet-style. Rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was over cooked and substandard both for breakfast and dinner (with the reasonable exception of the beef and salmon at dinner on our second night). Maybe we should not have expected any better when the extra charge for half board was only €10 each a night. The windows at one side of our room were filthy and hadn't been cleaned for ages. They must have been giving away stars when this hotel was rated; definitely not four star.

    Location on sea front was great. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet is the worst ever - most of the time it was blocking the video stream on facebook after just a few seconds; most of the websites were blocked except facebook and a few other. (for IT people: ssh connection doesn't work at all) The walls are very thin and any movement was heard in our room (the housekeepers were starting cleaning early at aprox 7.30AM and they were moving beds around in the rooms - this noise was heard in our room even if it as one/two floors above). Anyone passing by our door in corridor - we could hear their talk so clearly. Also the noise from the outside - we were on second floor with the window in the adjacent road not to the sea - was disturbing as it was till late in the night and the windows are completely not sound proof. The property is very old and not renovated. Lifts are extremely slow (and pretty small) as these are ancient type as well. There was no iron available in the room - the only option to use iron services provided by the hotel for a cost. The hairdryer is one of those fixed on the wall used in 80s and very yellowish due to time. Fruits were meant to be fresh, but some of them were tasting not fresh at all with some acid taste like they were a few days old. Wouldn't recommend for young couples/families.

    Roof view and the pool area, food was OK (except fruits).Very helpful staff. Location is good with a great connection to public transport, as well as a free rocky beach option right in front of the property. Even if in the area there are not too many restaurants, buses can take you to St. Julian were you can find better choices. One great point - checkout time is 12 at noon, not 10am as usually.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised at 200 euro pn discounted to 90 This is NOT a 200 euro per night hotel Maybe 50! Old, small rooms, old bathrooms Very average place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioning in the public rooms was far too cold. However, when I mentioned this a little improvement was made. Most ladies found it necessary to wear a cardigan, wrap or jacket when in the Lobby Bar or the Dining room. It was warmer outside on the terrace.

    We had a sea view room so it was great to be able to watch the people on the promenade and the boats on the sea through our open window from comfortable chairs. The food was typical Maltese so it looked a bit odd but tasted good. The proximity to the buses was excellent. We saw a great deal without any real effort despite one of us having problems walking very far. There is a little supermarket just up the road opposite the tower. that sells everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The AC unit was very noisy when in use, sounds like new bearings are required, but it did work. Mini bar fridge is filled if requested and pre paid. Unit faulty, as a carton of milk purchased for making tea, instead of using the powdered sachets provided, went off in two days. Coffee not available in the restaurant at dinner, but available in the lounge area as an extra. Balcony to partial sea view rooms is a bit scary even if you are used to heights.

    Good location with excellent public transport. Staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Shower room in fitness centre made available free of charge for late leavers to shower and change with no charge for the towel provided, after you vacate your room at the end of your stay. Good selection of food (buffet style) but puddings were the same all week.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The elevator was a bit bumpy. Since my daughter had a fractured hip and knee, starts and stops were painful. Not really a big deal, but maybe an adjustment could be made?

    The staff was exceptional in assisting us with an unusual situation where my daughter was severely injured.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is somewhat dated and could really use some TLC, the wifi in my room didn't work but it was ok in the reception area (but not in the adjacent bar). Lots of traffic in front.

    The staff made all the difference, most of them were very service minded and really did a good job! The room with sea view had a great view of the sea! Within walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs phone charger for apple ; very gloomy & old fashioned" pub"; overall decor old fashioned

    Good firm bed; friendly staff;,good locationi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower is fixed; Female receptionist was rude- I booked a double bedroom and was given a twin room...two single beds put together- receptionist told me: Listen you are in a hotel here!!!- as if this is my first hotel. She did not even bother to check for another room and only when pressed by a male mature employee that she called Nathalie and was given an alternative, which I did not like. Her comments also included:..." just being here for one night, thus 508 no". That's how I was treated by receptionist. Better give her a customer service course.

    Good breakfast; big room ; good wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    coffee machines were awful - tried espresso, Americano and cappuccino all were undrinkable Parking was a bit of a problem but loading unloading was fine

    Location was good for restaurants, Excellent breakfast buffet, good choice of hot and cold. Room was clean and comfortable for the 1 night we stayed Friendly staff Cocktail happy hour

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi is very slow

    Great location. Staff behind the desk aren't friendly at all. The staff in the bar and the restaurant are very friendly. The breakfast is okay. It is a typical English breakfast. Location of the hotel is great. Acroos the beach and all major busstops. The hotel is clean but outdated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt dated and musty. Partial sea view and balcony are pointless

    Hotel is ok, quite dated and not worth the price. That said good location. The partial sea view = balcony on a side room and if you mean round the corner you can just about indeed see the sea

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was not so comfortable, because the matras was too old and you could feel the springs. Also, the pool was closed for the winter season, which was not indicated on the website, and breakfast was served only till 10 am, which I think is a bit early for a holliday location such as this.

    Breakfast was good and everything was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said pool and open but was not. Dirty bedding and generally. Cob webs and floors dirty. Broken door to balcony, which made road noise even worse. Staff did not talk and when asked to call a taxi was told only white cars would they call as they had contract with them - white cars are the most expensive on the island at double the price if e - cars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Diplomat Hotel was really lovely the staff were so friendly especially The Barman, his name was Peter he was Italian :) Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near sea, shops, cafes and ferry for Valetta, but not party central, ie lots of tourists around but still quiet. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Breakfast and dinner in evening were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Diplomat Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: