Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Palazzin Hotel 4 stars

R. Loria Street, SPB 1863 St Paul's Bay, Malta

#35 of 90 hotels in St Paul's Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1169 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not sure all the services fit with the criteria for a 4* hotel. Cleaning lady clearing the room within minutes (time to go down for breakfast, forget phone, and by the time you are upstrairs, the room is clean?!

    The hotel looks nice from the outside. Theer is a lot of attention to the entrance of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not right on the front but only 10 min walk to Bugibba and transport

    It was a small friendly hotel with a nice pool and the option of an evening 3 course meal for 10 euros the beds were very hard but once mentioned to the manger soft mattress toppers were on our beds within 15 minutes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in went smoothly, very nice personnel. The room was spacious, clean, the bathroom also was at a decent size. I think every room has a terrace, we even had a great view over the Mediterranean. We had a tasty diversified breakfast, the food was very good. It is close to bus station and also other restaurants. All in all it was a lovely stay. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They woke up us by knocking at our door three times at 8am while we were sleeping. Disgusting experience.

    Our room had wonderful views from St. Pauls Bay. The hotel is big and has got some spaces available for customers as well as the swim pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe! I would also recommend booking your own taxi to the airport as they booked ours and it was extremely late and then when it did arrive, the driver insisted on picking up 3 more groups of passengers!! Pretty average pool!

    Really helpful staff. Good bar with lovely bar man. They look after your leg when you go out. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning service start definitely too early theirs work, once returning at 9am from breakfast we met cleaning lady in our room.

    Nice hotel, friendly staff, room was clean with a basic facilities, but was big and cozy. Charming lady at reception welcomed us warmly, she was very helpful. It's close to supermarket and main bus station in Bugibba from where you can get to nearly every place on Malta. Breakfast was just good, every day pretty the same things.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn’t too touristy. Good breakfast. Nice staff who will help with anything including printing boarding passes. Towels available for the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately at the time of our visit the hotel opposite was being demolished. Not our hotel's fault but would have been good to know in advance...

    Friendly efficient staff. Great breakfasts... others who have complained obviously stayed at a different hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't blame anything.

    Excellent management, great hospitality,very tasty breakfast and dinner in a splendid, professionally guided restaurant.The value for money ratio was very high. The dinners and breakfasts were significantly better and pricely adventageous as at the other restaurants surrounding the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The area attracts some of the worst type of holiday makers, particularly the British. Also, many derelict, abandoned and half finished buildings, empty shops, feral cats, litter and rubbish, dog and cat mess in the streets and on the pavements.

    I was only B&B. Breakfast was always good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a quiet room away from noise which I had (#113) except that from about 06.00 there were noises which sounded like a herd of elephants kicking furniture around.

    Convenient location in a quiet residential area only a few minutes walk from seafront, bus stops (including for airport)beach, bars and restaurants. Room was clean, comfortable, well serviced and with enough wardrobe space. I good size bath was appreciated. Breakfast was varied and adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t great. Tinned fruit salad... but a good selection of stuff. Pool was cold- not heated- and didn’t get the sun at this time of year. Location not great either. Shower in room was poor.

    The room was big, the balcony was ok and sunny. Price was reasonable. Poolside loungers were nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely noisy in the mornings, due to housekeeping slamming doors and dragging beds, impossible to sleep past 7am, there was only restaurants and a rocky beach nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities and equipment is in need of some refreshments. Certain stuff is kind of Old-English school. Perhaps if you are used to higher standards of hotels this might seem strange. Like in many other places around Malta, English language can be a barrier at certain details. Strange for an ex-English colony, but obviously at least 50% of tourism workers in Malta are not natives.

    Rooms have great space and considering the overall area and Malta architecture, this hotel is quite ok. Staff is kind and always ready to help you out. Overall it is worth the price, especially since many other hotels around do not seem to even up on the quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about!

    Staff very axcomodating. Room was clean, modern with a very comfy bed. Nice breakfast each morning. Lovely pool. Great value for money. Small walk to Qawra bay. No complaints! Maybe noisy cleaners if anything!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection of breakfast items.indoor pool.gym equipment,2 exercise bikes doesnt constitute a gym.sauna wasnt available.no evening entertainment

    Cleanliness of hotel was good.front of house and staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was slightly confusing due to the receptionist. She was talking too fast and gave too many info at once. The shower pressure was also a bit low.

    The staff was absolutely handsome! Il Palazzin's location is very nice, close to a bus station, bars etc. There are also free pool towels at the reception, the cocktails in the bar are AWESOME. Loved the hotel overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds was very hard, but got ekstra tops when we asked for it.

    Very good breakfast. Near busstation.Very good because the busses alway got fully filled and skipped several stops. Good service from receptionist, see didn`t like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful view from our room. The room was big and had a lot of light, which I loved. There is a bus stop 5 minutes walk away. To the center it takes a 30-40 minutes very nice walk by the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff extra helpful especially receptionist who was most informative with regard to different tours, information on transport and local area generally. Breakfast and evening meal were very good but this hotels' unique selling point is its staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quiet surroundings, and very helpful staff. Whenever we needed anything, we were always helped right away since all the staff treated us superbly. Would definitely visit again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quite odd that you can't pay by card at the hotel of this size. The rooms are not very soundproof. The cleaner woke us up once at 8 am. She didn't come in but didn't close the door properly either. The air flow opened it while we were still in bed.

    Excellent budget hotel. We even had a seaview from our room. Comfortable bed. Large room. Many choices for the breakfast. There were always fresh fruits and we could choose natural yoghurt instead that horrible sweetened one usually available. The room was properly cleaned every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be an improvement for the hotel if its facade and the interior walls were repainted. However, it does not affect the comfort of the stay significantly.

    The hotel is well located and is equipped with all the stuff you need for a short holiday break. The rooms are spacious and clean, the service is very friendly and ready to help if needed. With the great price we was given, there is no reason to complain about anything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I payed extra for a good view but instead I got the worst view ever. The only things that I could see from my balcony were the roofs of other buildings

    Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was adequate related to the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a lovely hotel. The room was clean with a very comfortable bed. The staff of the hotel was very nice and helpfull and the manager very kindly mailed our keys that we forgot at the hotel! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is on a hill so not within everyone's capabilities. Hotel needs a vending machine as kitchen closed early and nothing for the late night arrivals. People in room above wore high heels or hob nail boots! Which had a thunderous effect on the tiled floors and was really intrusive clip clop, clip clop was like a torture!!!.Not sure what the hotel can do about this but it did wake me and also kept me from going to sleep...It was LOUD!!!..maybe a sign in the rooms???

    Room was adequately furnished and well equipped and sea view was lovely. Buffet breakfast is great, Bed comfortable and room was clean and towels etc changed daily.Local bars and restaurants are fine. Staff are lovely and manager Simon does a great job and is so helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Indoor pool and sauna did not seem to be in use which was disappointing but there was so much to do we did not really need this facility.

    Warm welcome by staff. Dinner was lovely and very reasonable. Coffee liqueur with cream is a must...gorgeous! Room with balcony was great and bed very comfy. Breakfast was wonderful. We will be going back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water that remains in the bathe, but it could be that I was unlucky to stay in room that bathe has a problem with the bathe

    The staff was amazing, especially the man called Samuel. I was ask to take my time in the area of payment. The dinner and breakfast was awesome. The only thing I can say I don't like was the water in the bathe that stays while taking your bathe. Apart from that I love every other thing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Location, surrounding area, coffee is dreadful!!! There is no coffee bar serving cakes and sandwiches during the day which is a shame - only the main restaurant which serves three main meals which you don't always want. We are big formula one fans - and a sign said they were showing the grand prixs on the tv In the bar - but when it came to it it was just none stop football matches with no consideration for any other sport! The biggest thing is the pool area on the 6th floor. Went up there - pool was dirty with dead geko floating in it - dead plants in pots and broken sun loungers! How difficult is it to remove broken sun loungers and replace dead plants with live ones and to clean the pool. The water was clear and smelt of chlorine - but there was dirt in the bottom and on sides and you would not have got in there! Thought that was a shame because the other pool is in front of reception as you go into building. This was clean but building work going on across road made it loud and not very peaceful or private!

    The view from our superior sea view room was stunning and the staff were very friendly. The internet in this hotel is excellent - it's free and it works everywhere - even on your balcony!! This hotel is very clean and the food is ok. You get a free bottle of wine when you take dinner there so that's a bonus. The only drawback is the location. It's slightly out of Qawra - only a 10 mins walk - but in a quiet neighbourhood with much building work going on, many derelict buildings near and a lot of litter. You didn't feel safe at night because it's quiet in the residential streets. Previously we've always stayed in the centre of Qawra or on the beach road which is better when walking back to and from restaurants at night. The hotel is small - but you really get the impression that you matter - and that they really care about you - which you certainly don't get in other big hotels in Qawra - believe me - we've stayed in all of them. Overall - do go there but be aware the surrounding area isn't pretty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, the hotel pool was rather a let-down as the picture I saw of it online seemed to indicate there was graduated steps to enter the pool at one end, but it turned out to be a reflection of the wall on the waters surface! As I have spinal problems this meant I was unable to use the pool at all. Also the pavements in St Paul's Bay area are quite uneven and the kerbs are on average 8-9" high which makes stepping off onto the road interesting and can make going out a bìt like playing Russian roulette!

    From the Hotel Manager to the Housekeeping Staff and all inbetween,they were wonderful! They were all so warm and welcoming and went out of their way to make everyone feel totally at home, it felt more like staying with good friends and when it was time to leave, it felt more like I was saying goodbye to a group of wonderful friends! I look forward to returning next year, but I hope for longer!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with a sea view. In fact, I could barely see it (1st floor and another hotel between).

    Everything was ok. but one issue described in "What didn't you like" part. Cleanliness, breakfast, facilities - up to expectation and at a good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows were too hard for us and the single mattresses pushed together to make a double bed were not comfortable to sleep on.

    The hotel staff and manager, Robert, were all really friendly and eager to help out with any enquiries. They recommended trips and places to visit, and were able to help out with the booking of some trips.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathrooms are too old.

    The Staff was very helpful - they have good connections with travel/tour agencies, so via hotel you can arrange a package of tours with discount. It's very close to National Aquarium of Malta and Buggiba ferries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a bit of a lottery... although it was free there was often quite a walk from where a space was available.

    Well placed for accessing surrounding area and rest of Malta. We had a good sea view considering how built up the area was

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towels were put back on the rail one day,after we had put them in the bath for washing. The indoor pool is very,very small and that area could do with improving.

    Quiet area,close to sea front,if you go the back way,its very easy to get to the center of everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinners at the hotel are served only till 8:30pm, we would appreciate possibility of later dinner.

    The rooms are comfortable and clean, staff very friendly and helpful, especially GM of the hotel Mr. Simon Borda.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Pool only opens from 10 AM to 6 PM, never had a chance to use it due restricted time and also lot of construction buildings around is not Hotel fault but if you try to rest during the day don't forget your hear plugs. Even if you try to have a nice lunch in terrace the noise will bother during the day, but in the night is quiet and safe.

    The room view was great and the balcony as well. The breakfast was good ! The Location is way to far from City Center by North side of Island not much around to see but still nice !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too short. The room is not the least soundproof and thus very noisy - in the mornings when people go to breakfast at 7am it's no more possible to sleep. The roommaid knocked the door for cleaning at 8:30am on Saturday (I think this is very early), and also even once when we left "Do not disturb" sign. Breakfast room is super-crowded, often there was no place to sit. The pools opening times are scarce: 10-18(19). There is no beach (sea) nearby (at least we did not find it) and the shoreline is stony.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Big room with sea view. Decent breakfast, refilled regularly up to last minutes. Walking distance from restaurants and small shops. There are indoor and outdoor pools in the hotel, and a sauna next to the indoor one. The room was clean and kept tidy. We usually were able to find parking place around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Personally i would put a small line inside the balcony to hang things after being at the beach. Also i would add a line of white curtain to just have more privacy inside the room and not just the curtain to make dark.

    The hotel is good and spacious, the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located only a ten minutes walk from the heart of Bugibba. It's a good hotel for the price, though there's nothing particularly special about it - it's a pretty standard hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Oversalty bacon at breakfast. Sometimes wet towels on the floor were just hung to dry instead of changing.

    Comfortable room, air-conditioning worked well. Helpful reception staff. Additional towels for pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff - room and convenience of where the hotel is situated

    All the reception staff were very polite - helpful and friendly. The hotel is ideal for both the area and for bus station to other areas of the island. Other staff where helpful and friendly. Overall we had a great holiday and will most certainly return to the hotel for further holidays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a lot of choice in the breakfast and the pool is too small and its in the street area but in general its a clean hotel and we enjoyed our stay :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds / pillows uncomfortable, facilities rather tired and hotel surrounded by building works

    Staff helpful and friendly, responded quickly to requests

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings are slightly dated - but so am I! 😊

    Excellent breakfast with sufficient variety for any taste! The. Staff (as with 99% of the Maltese population) were friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I offered to pay my balance for my hotel on arrival, i was told to pay whilst checking out. i had no problem either way. as the week went on we started getting calls to our room at 5am!! if we could pay our bill. On the day before our last day, i returned from my evening meal to be pounced on by hotel staff and marched to my room to retrieve my wallet to pay my bill whilst the hotel owner got very aggressive. He had previously whilst i had been out went through my stuff. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS.

    air conditioning was ok, location ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sea view was not exactly as in in photos, there were a lot of buildings in front of the hotel. The house cleaning was very loud and couldn't sleep during the day.

    The bed was very good Decent location Hotel manager was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe indoor pool could be nicer

    Bed really comfy very clean staff excellent breakfast excellent could do with another toaster work going on over road but hey that's malta. Simon is very nice helpful and does a brilliant job

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast is horrible - very few healthy options, very little vegetables - however, fans of eggs & bacon could be happy here... WI-Fi did not work for me at all - which was not a big deal because we were using our own mobile data plans - however, if you rely on WI-Fi, you may be disappointed

    Big room with sea view and balcony (sea view partially restricted by other buildings but still not bad!), comfortable (enormous) double bed, clean bathroom, working fridge, working air conditioning (very important in the summer!) - all you need if you only plan to sleep and rest after sightseeing in the hotel. We loved the balcony - perfect place for a bottle of wine in the evening. All in all, we were satisfied with our stay. We used public transport for sightseeing and the main bus stop (Bugibba Bay) is less than 10min walk from the hotel. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sadly the View from our room was obscured by building works going on at the nearby apartments, but don't let that put you off its well worth staying here.

    It was my first time abroad since I was a small boy, under recommendation from family I went to Malta , and was not disappointed. The Il Palazzin Hotel is in a classic style and though many have said in reviews that its dated, I feel that it is one of its charms. It is well kept and clean, the rooms are cleaned every day. Facilities wise there is an outdoor and indoor pool, restaurant and bar, a Laundry service and a library. Due to being a first stay and being there only a week so out about site seeing allot, sadly did not try all the facilities here. The staff are polite and very helpful if you need anything, you just have to ask. They are engaging happy to chat to guests about Malta and places to go see if you are unsure when visiting for a first time. The Reception is 24/h so if you need anything there will be someone around. Breakfast was included in the price for my stay, it is a self service buffet so you can pick and choose what you would like, the selection was good but if you do not wish to divert much from what you are used to you can have an English breakfast if you wish. If you do not wish to eat in the restaurant at the hotel you are not far away from several restaurants and bars so you are not stuck for choice. Location wise its not far from the bus terminal and information is provided about bus times with the information pack provided by the hotel when you arrive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit hard and some of the sunloungers were a bit broken but they did get fixed.

    The location was perfect - away from the crowds but within walking distance. Such a busy area it was a real relief to get away from it and stay somewhere calm and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun beds need renovation.

    Excellent breakfast and dinner. Very tasty dishes and a great variety of food in both the breakfast and the dinner. Very helpful staff, they helped us organize our trips at Blue Lagoon and arranged for us a transportation to the airport in very low cost. Very clean and spacious rooms! We had our own balcony and plenty of space in the room. In a very quiet neighborhood very close to the the bus station. Ten minutes walk from the center of Buggiba. Really value for money. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel seems a bit outdated, but this was pretty clear from head-on. Also the coffee which was presented as a good type, don't let be fooled, was pretty average from my point of view. Also the meat, if you prefer meat, apart from bacon, was pretty tasteless.

    The manager and staff were honestly helpful with all the matters addressed. It's a good starting point in visiting the island as you get plenty of suggestions from the staff directly. Also we've benefited from discounts for trips since we chose a lot of services from them, which was nice. Less headache finding what to do on your own.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfest was not so good and very usual. Also the rooms could be a little bigger. The bathroom needs renovation. Although the hotel is nice.

    Air conditioning is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is not as good as it should be

    The staff was very helpful and friendly and help you out with everything that you need.. the breakfast that they offer is also great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of confusion regarding the arrival time of the airport shuttle (on the way back) - not sure if it was the hotel or the shuttle company they use, though.

    The hotel is very nice - both from the outside and the inside. Despite its size it is kind of cosy. The room was spacious with a fridge and a kettle. We also had a nice view at the swimming pool and, beyond some buildings, the sea. The breakfast had a good selection, especially appreciate the fresh fruit (melon or pineapple). It is a few minutes from the main Bugibba bus station (though some buses stop closer to the hotel -but to catch a seat it is safer in the high season to go to the main stop anyway). There are many restaurants nearby as well as a supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a little hard.

    The only complaint I had was that one sheet and a pillowcase were blood stained, which obviously had not come out in the wash. I mentioned this to the maid and they were immediately changed. I liked the hotel very much. The location, as it was not noisy but within walking distance of entertainment. Overall a most enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was pretty bad, could hardly connect when inside the room. Suppose the thick concrete walls don't help. Also realised upon arriving you have to pay for the safety deposit box each day which wasn't clear in the description.

    Hotel was in a good location, close to restaurants and main bus depoo in Buggiba. Pool was nice and got the sun mostly but also had shade in the afternoon. Breakfast buffet was great. Rooms were fine, nothing mega luxurious but perfectly comfortable to sleep in. Air con is huge bonus, as is the mini fridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was pretty far from the beach which was quite sad. Air conditioner was limited to >=23 degrees Celsius, for me it was too warm sometimes. The breakfast's lack of fruits. The juices were awful, unlike other food. The mattresses on double sized bed were separated so sometimes I ended up waking up in the middle of them.

    Friendly staff and a pool on the rooftop. The hotel was pretty nice, food was tasty. The balcony had a beautiful view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pool hours from 10.00 - 18.00 were a bit short. If you went on a trip you like to be able to get into the pool in this type of climate. 20.00 would be more appropriate.

    Very easy going hotel, close to beaches and bus connections. Away from the capital and loud students. Although the hotel might not be the best choice for large families, the area is very family friendly. There is a fridge in the room that cools really well and a very effective AC. Many shops to buy snacks and drinks for the room. Nice bar onsite to supply you with fresh drinks and food at the pool. But an absolute plus was : 'Duo', which is one of the best restaurants of the Island is nearby (price, service and quality) together with a lot of other fun bars and entertainment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was fine, just the construction works across the street were a bit noisy in the mornings, but apart from that - good value for money.

    The room was spacious, both bathroom and room were clean. Bed was nice and comfortable, air conditioning was working very well. We also had a small balcony, very nice to sit at and dry your beach equipment ;) The hotel also has a swimming pool outside with sunbathing area, surrounded by flower trees - pleasant place to cool down. Breakfasts were good, the selection of food wasn't changing that much during the week, but it was fine. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, contact with the manager via Booking was excellent. The area is well communicated with the rest of the island, just a few minutes walk to the Buggiba Bay bus terminal, from which you could catch a ride anywhere you'd like.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pillows were a bit hard!

    Lovely helpful staff. Comfy bed. Great breakfast. Great location and peace if you are looking to relax without too much partying. Malta is a beautiful country and very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not what I expected for a 4 star, it was in the middle of a building site with building to the front left and right and behind the hotel. Lack of toiletries in the bathroom, only thing was hand soap, no wash cloth , they did provide towels . Lack of soundproofing could here everything in the next room. Pool needs attention , didn't care for the chorine stains in the pool or the sunbeds that needs repair. I expected more for a 4Star hotel.

    Early check in , staff who I dealt with very friendly. Staff were friendly polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The area were the hotel is situated is a bit run down and a little bit dirty. The hotel could use a refurbishment in terms of furniture, but value for money is very good. We booked the transfer to the airport through the hotel and we had a problem with the transfer for our returning flight. I did not fully understand who made the mistake, but basically either the hotel forgot to book the transfer or the company did not make the reservation, however the transfer did not show up. Nevertheless, even if it were not the hotel's fault, the lady at the reception handled everything very bad and made the situation even worse, because instead of telling us that they forgot to book it, they tried to cover it up and lied saying that the car will be there in a few minutes, as it is stuck in traffic. We waited another 30 minutes until we found out that they forgot and they were trying to send some driver to pick us. Would she have told us from the beginning, it would have been ok because we would have had time to find some different means of transportation. Anyway, they ended up paying for a taxi and we eventually arrived at the airport, but we waited 1 hour and 1/2 in front of the hotel, which was very annoying and even if it were not the hotel's fault in the first place, after the lady at the reception tried covering up the problem with a lie, instead of saving everyone the time and the nerves. However, I would really recommend this hotel, it is clean, it has big rooms, nice balconies, good breakfast and facilities and the value for money is very good. Also, you have a lot of restaurants and bars in walking distance, which was perfect for us.

    The rooms have basic furniture, but are big, clean and have all the facilities a 4* hotel should have. Bathroom is big enough also. Breakfast is good, good variety of food. We did not have dinner. The staff, especially the manager, is very friendly and helpful, provided us with all the information needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not clean, opposite a building site, no parking close by, poor area without local character, facilities dated and limited, price far too high and overall disappointing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Attention to the sunbeds just need a bit of updating.

    The staff where extremely friendly, helpful and organised a room for us to change and shower as our flight left later in the evening on the day of departure. Nothing was too much trouble. Ideal place for either a couple or family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is on rollers so when i sat up in bed it would slowly roll away from the wall.had to keep pushing it back. The food in the restaurant isnt very nice and the staff stand at the door and it feels as though they are watching you.

    Mattress was comfy Shower was nice n hot Fridge n coffee making facilites were handy Pool area was lovely Everything was very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were very helpful. The manager Simon answered my questions promptly prior to my visit. While there the reception staff were excellent helping me book tours my stay was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Simon and all the staff were extremely helpful and so nice to us, our holiday was cut short due to my husband being hospitalised, anything I asked Simon to help us was not a problem at all. I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was OK but need some freshening as it is a bit worn out. Its more like a *** hotel than a **** hotel but we where OK with that even if it was a bit high price on the room as it was stated as a **** hotel. Also don´t forget that it is a building construction at the front of the hotel so that´s a bit loud noise, So if you book at the hotel i suggest you to ask for a room that don´t face the construction site. We had a room that did not face this construction site and it was OK, But as we was on the second floor we had the hotel across the street in front of us and they have a central air condition unit on the roof that´s was a bit disturbing if you had the door to the balcony open. Only issue with breakfast was that the juice was not so good and not fresh pressed and coffee from a machine is not my favorite also not so much varieties of tea to choose from.

    The staff were fantastic especially the hotel manager Simon how helped us with all we needed and also some extras always with a smile and took time to stop and asked if all was OK or if it was any thing he could do for us. The breakfast was okay, Typical English eggs and bacon, Bread and butter and several different toppings, And some different fruits not a lot but OK for us. Watery juice and not fresh pressed and coffee from a machine Our room had a view of the ocean and this was also okay. Good Air condition in the room that rely was used as it was hot at our stay. Also a bonus for every one that want to have a cup of tea than it had a kettle in the room and also a refrigerator that keeps your water and drinks rely cool. Over all a good hotel with some small issues that was no problem for us as we was out all day and only got back late at the evening / night for relax and sleep. And again Simon the Hotel manager is rely the best we have met on all our travels around the world.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They weren't able to book a cruise for us. So we had to go straight to the company's office (100 m down the road) to book it ourselves. And the hotel missed a sure commission. Hardly to be a real 4 star hotel.

    Ms Roslyn at the reception desk was nothing but fantastic. Sadly that can't be said for the other guys. Also all the restaurant staff was very good and skilled. The breakfast was rich and fresh.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very loud. A lot of elderly people who talk loud. The breakfast was the same all 7 days we staid there, and was an awful food. And was very expensive for the facilities that it offered

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, not clean, bad smell arround hotel.

    Frendly staff. Location (near sea and bus station). It was very easy to travel with public transport and see all intresting places in the country.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    The staff were exceptionally obliging especially the manager. He went beyond the line of duty on several occasions to make our stay most enjoyable and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Maybe new more comfortable pillows in the future could be considered :)))

    Hotel is lovely. Director Simon is very helpful and friendly, great location and great restaurants around. Gym is possible to use 500m from hotel for 6 euro/person so that was really great. Hope we will come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Il Palazzin Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: