Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5 stars

Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz SLZ 1040, SLZ 1040 San Lawrenz, Malta

#1 of 4 hotels in San Lawrenz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 426 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect. No complaints!

    I loved everything about Kempinski hotel in Gozo. Everything went well from the moment we checked in until check out days later. Staff was professional and there were many students practicing and gaining the experience for their future career in the hotel industry. They were all very nice, polite, professional, helpful, smiling and always showing the best they got. No complaints and you can’t go wrong if you decide to stay here. They also provide free shuttle to multiple beaches around Gozo island, taxi pick up for a reasonable price, restaurants on the property are wonderful especially their Minestrone soup and daily specials! I highly recommend this place for everyone. If you are a solo traveler, a couple or going for your honeymoon it’s a perfect place to relax. There is no traffic and you can only hear birds while sipping prosecco by the pool (they have 3 of them).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and in need of updating. Especially the bedrooms and bathrooms. Gym also has very old equipment

    Food was very good and staff were very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no evening music bar or entertainment.

    During Breakfast Wednesday morning, a kitchen staff member offered every table freshly made imqaret which I though was an innovative idea. We experienced a small hiccup checking in but the staff member at Reception was exceptionally courteous and professional and managed to sort out the problem straight away. well done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature control not intuitive to use although the ambient temperature was fine. Not the most comfortable bed I have been in but still not bad.

    Great environment - Very peaceful. Spa, indoor and outdoor pools are amazing. Overall great relaxation experience. Evening dining has great atmosphere. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff refused to accept my booking directly with the property claiming they dont accept booking for one night. Two minutes later i booked for one night through booking.com. Receptionist when we arrived left us 20 minutes to give us the key and was like not knowing what he had to do. Very unprofessional. During breakfast they came two times to remind me i had to pay extra! Do I look like Robinsoe cruseo??

    The view from the balcony, quite atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi connection in the room.

    Second time in this hotel. Love the spa area, outdoor pools, breakfast and big comfortable room. Little paradise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool and jacuzzi were out of service on May 2nd, the only day we had available to make use of them. Disappointed!

    The Junior Suite was perfect. We found a bottle of champagne and chocolate coated strawberries on our arrival - an excellent start to our 45th anniversary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is not flexible with bookings. if there is a large table they do not accept walk ins. Room seemed to be not prepared as usual.

    staff particularly staff at the bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices are horrendous near the pool bar. If you want to stay a bit longer at the bar, it will break the bank.

    Everything was exceptional - comfortable beds, good breakfast, service with a smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sign by the spa states that the pool is heated to 31C. However, this was not the case as the pool water was rather cold. It was a little disappointing for us since the main reason of our visit was the spa. Other than that everything was fine

    Hotel staff were very nice and helpful which unfortunately you don't see in many hotels anymore. The room was perfect, very clean, comfortable bed and amazing bathroom. The spa facilities were really well kept. The breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa needs to be updated. Didnt like hearing kids in the pools while getting a message.

    The property has beautiful grounds with privacy. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym was lacking. Very out dated equipment. Pool not heated, unable to swim.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is nice, very quiet, with views of the green fields and tertiary view of the ocean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trattoria front of house are seriously lettti g down the kitchen who are exceptional!

    The food in the trattoria is the best we had in all of Malta! Chefs are doing a fine job! Front of house was comical! They are half asleep! Could be awesome if front of house stopped going through the motions!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that the hotel is due a refurbishment. Even though the outdoor pools are beautiful the indoor facilities need a lot of updating. The mold on the ceiling is in my opinion unacceptable.

    The staff was so great, very kind and helpful as well as efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Written that children under 16 is not allowed in jacuzzi , but all weekend it was full of small children and u need to wait ages to enter jacuzzi , staff spa hardly checking it.

    Fresh juices in the breakfast, amazing hammam area, beautiful garden and outdoor areas, pools and spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool wasnt heated enough...we felt tge water cold...

    Exceptional service by all the staff...hotel's location is perfect to relax & unwind...loved the hammam experience at the spa.:)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clearly off-season, but they really made you feel like you were "disturbing" their winter's sleep. The spa facilities were open, but poorly maintained. Ants were crawling on the floor, the jacuzzi wasn't running, neither were the fountains in the pool. The outdoor area was completely closed off and even though it wasn't hot, it was sunny and warm, so it would have been nice to at least see the garden or the pool. Even though the hotel was clearly empty, we got a room facing the parking lot, rather than the nice view towards the pool and garden area. We might have booked the cheapest rate, however, if a hotel is as empty as it is, you don't really expect to get the room in the very last corner of the hotel (literally). The staff at the reception at check in didn't make us feel like we could speak out our wishes, which however might just have been our perception.

    The staff at the breakfast was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have had to remove the original review as the hotel literally got worse and worse. As you will see from over 90 reviews they are completely unbiased and I give good reviews as well as not so good. The story begins First of all, I spoke to employee called Victor about payment he said due to the lateness of the booking pay at the hotel. Which worked for me as we were two couples. So 2 hours later to my surprise I receive a text msg from my bank to say they have taken payment for both rooms and over charged both rooms by just over 20 euros per room. This scenario will be explained better later in this horrible experience. I then call back to say what is going on they apologised and refunded one of the rooms. BUT THIS TIME under pay me back and then deny this has happened. We thought we would receive something in a way of an apology. This is meant to be a 5* hotel it is far from so in my superior double which is old decor we find a fruit basket containing an apple a banana and a plum. (NEW PART TO THE REVIEW) The room is old and decorated in a late 90s décor. We stayed in a room in the 600s section the entire floor smells of damp and is falling to bits. Getting to the room is like an assault course as you must go upstairs / downstairs outside and its freezing and dark as its poorly signed. (No assistance from the people that supposedly work at the hotel). The decor and furniture will make you think that your grandparents made some of the furniture for the room. Room continued – Superior room we were informed that all “double rooms” are actually two single beds pushed together this was the response I received when asked to change the room. It felt by this stage and this was only the first night that the hotel was doing us a favour by letting us stay here. Superior double = superior lie. Restaurant The first night we decided to eat in the restaurant the 4 of us. The decor and furnishing again are from the 1980’s.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I feel that (1) the bathroom could be spruced up after some 15 years -- I have been coming to Kempinski since its opening and (2) it was most uncomfortable to eat in the room as there was only 1 chair available and no small table and the sofa bed ?divan is most uncomfortable.

    Service -- it spoils you and always so professional and with a wide smile and most helpful starting with Michael at the door and John and the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    indoor pool area need to freshen it up a bit near the Jacuzzi,,, pipe exposed and need some new paint

    restaurant supper ,, staff amazing and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - we were very impressed with this hotel.

    The room was very spacious, and was also cozy. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The hotel is overall very clean. Staff is very friendly, courteous, helpful, efficient and incredibly professional. The breakfast is to die for - a lot of choice, and food is top notch! We have also made use of the spa and did a treatment too - we were very satisfied.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that the breakfast was not changed during our stay - having visited various hotels abroad it is the norm that at least 2 items are changed a day this was not the case here

    the location that it is like a village alone so it's very peaceful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was slow! Charged delivery charges for ordering room service. Not a lot of options for restuarants and none nearby to walk to.

    The ambience was amazing. The resort is beautiful. The staff was helpful. Food at the restaurants was yummy. Bus stop for hop on and off is right outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excessively expensive for food Bland unexciting unimaginative spartan decor. Dark gloomy badly lit corridors. Characterless bedroom. Minimilist in the extreme..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our lunch. We had a Cesar salad and my husband found a thigh in his salad with skin and bone. It wasn’t suppose to be there but the waiter said that the chef told him he likes to add a thigh to this particular salad. This is ridiculous. You don’t expect an answer like this in a 5* hotel. During breakfast I had to ask for fruit and pastries as everything was empty. . Not good again for a 5*.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on a side of the hotel which you have to go out and back in the hotel. Hotel is getting a bit old.

    1. Staff were super friendly and helpful. 2. Breakfast was great. 3. Room was spacious and super clean. 4. Bathroom had both shower and bath (Free complimentary water was a nice touch)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car seat they provided was attached with a rope to the car and the seatbelts in the seat could not be tightened. The food is overpriced for the amount given. The property is not close by to any restaurants so you are forced to pay for the overpriced food. The room was extremely hot and when we asked them to make the room cooler they said they couldn’t.

    The food was delicious but over priced along with everything else. The accommodation for our infant was amazing. They provided us with an infant bath tub and shampoo, bubble bath, and lotion.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor thing is that squash rooms are not open during weekends. Besides that everything was great from start to finish.

    The room and the breakfast were excellent. Spa facilities (indoor pool and hammam) were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of flies (the small ones) enjoying the breakfast with me. I understand that's the natural environment and surroundings, but it can be daunting in a 5-star hotel to have so many flies in the restaurant. In general i found there were a lot in Malta.

    Everything was great. The staff is so helpful and always smiling to answer your question. The garden and pools (though cold in November) are beautiful. Moreover the surroundings of San Lawrenz are so peaceful. I loved the Hamam spa treatment too! A bit a long way from the airport, but that's the price to pay for such a retreat! Wish I would have stayed longer!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall we were very happy about the room but pillows were too flat to rest our head during sleep. Linen and towels were spotlessly clean and mattress was comfortable too.

    Delicious breakfast served croissants were freshly baked, omelet freshly made and a good selection of food available. Room was cosy too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main building and corridor furnishings aged and drab Dining room tables and chairs soft furnishings frayed

    Ideal location Very good standard of bathroom finishing and sanitary ware Staff service and cordiality excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Balconies were not very private with no real screening between you and your neighbour above waist height. Pretty unpleasant if you neighbours smoked on the balcony next to you.

    Stunning hotel, excellent staff. 3 lovely pools to chose from, including a family pool, which meant you were not surrounded by screaming children in the other pools. Staff were excellent, all well trained and professional and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice both buffet style with chef making fried eggs and omelettes and some freshly cooked items to order, such as eggs benedict, french toast, boiled eggs. The rooms were very spacious. Bathrooms had both shower and bath tub, which was great. The hotel is close to the main town - approx. 10 ins drive and as the island is so small, nothing is very far away. I think without a car you might feel isolated though as there is nothing really within walking distance. The pool restaurant served nice food for lunch - great burgers, and the pool bar served snacks when that was closed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel would really positively benefit from a general refreshing. Ones does not have to look too hard to find marks and scratches. Drinks were never ice cold i.e. white wine and beer always came cool but never cold. Not really a problem for the wine but was definitely not great for beer :-) Could be considered on the pricey side (acknowledging it was high season) in terms of value for money.

    Hotel is large so despite it being full it did not feel overcrowded or too busy. Great selection of pools. Large rooms. Nice terrace. All round a good experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet a bit slow as in most places in Malta Some poolside bar and restaurant staff lack a bit of training

    Very nice breakfast with à la cartel eggs menu Wonderful building, very relaxing atmosphere Nice and spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar wasn't always open and there were no waiters available near the pool except on the last day of our stay (Sunday) when we had to check out. The ice cream vendor near the pool also only opened on Sunday.

    Very clean room. Very friendly staff. Loved receiving the free bottles of water and quote of the day. Excellent spa treatments and well kept grounds and pools

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thought that the hotel would be 'exclusive', adults only type of establishment (like the Adlon Kempinski, Berlin where we stayed last December). Therefore 27/6 - 30/6 was surprised to see so many children (with parental controls sadly lacking). It should be noted that the hotel has Kempinski Kids set-up and that part of the hotel (and one of the pools) is designated residents only.

    Staff were friendly and efficient. Spa was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menus were a bit dull And unimaginative. We also thought that some of the public areas could do with an enlivened decor as they were rather staid. A good interior designer could do wonders!

    San lawrenz is a lovely quiet part of Gozo and the hotel really complements the setting. The bed was fabulously comfortable and I was in love with the air conditioning. The pools there are really the jewels as they are so large and inviting. The breakfast was good with loads of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like and found offensive the fact that i booked for a double bed and instead i was given two single beds joined together. Shamfull for a 5 star hotel!!! Its a pity!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room terrace not good and only discovered the cushions for the chairs near the end of our stay. Only one chair in the room.

    Breakfast good but expensive especially if you only wanted a continental breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and arriving here felt heavenly after a day of hike. Tried one of the spa treatments too, it was amazing. Also appreciated that I could tip directly my masseuse when signing for the bill. The breakfast buffet was unbelievable; biggest selection of delicious food ever.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though I knew that room booked was country view, I did not expect it to be overlooking the road on top of entrance to hotel .

    Service at Breakfast Was exceptional

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like, a truly wonderful establishment, we will be back!

    Absolutely loved our stay at the Kempinski San Lawrenz, the Spa was incredible, the food exquisite and the staff all went the extra mile.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the scrambled eggs for breakfast were a dryer than I'm used to. Also the bidet did not change water temperature so can't be used in winter. In addition, although we were grateful for the complimentary water, the timing of the staff coming to the room to provide us with it was poorly planned. Perhaps it could be provided at clean up. The price of the laundry service was surprisingly expensive.

    The staff were very helpful for any problem we had. The view was amazing and within walking distance to some important site seeing areas. The spa was very relaxing and wonderful but can't imagine using during the peak season.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk "outside" from the reception area to our room was not the most convenient given our stay was in winter. The doors should be automated as they are rather heavy to open.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable, and the spa facilities were great. The food was also really good. Ample parking spaces were available just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our balcony was totally in the shade and it was a crazy walk around in a wide circle to reach the indoor pool. The hotel had all the right facilities, but felt soulless, somehow. It lacked charm and originality and from the side view looked more like a prison. I can't comment on the food as the breakfast was so expensive we didn't have it.

    The jacuzzi and temperature of the indoor pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lift took too long. Pity outdoor pools were not heated as we would have used them even if it was Dec we had gorgeous weather.

    Lovely views of Gozo's countryside. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside Blue hour the drinks in the bar lounge were quite expensive, even the local beer was well overpriced. Also the wine we had with dinner was also local, very good but with a high mark up to what you would pay outside. Everything else was perfect.

    Lovely room very comfortable with balcony overlooking the pools. Friendly attentive staff & great service. We booked the Boxing Day buffet meal, which was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only problem during the entire stay was a noisy family with screaming kids in the next room. Didn't kick up a fuss as it was Christmas. Next time we visit will make sure we are in a room without an adjoining door.

    Lovely clean room. Great views out over the Pools and Gardens. Excellent attention to detail by the staff. Great food. Superb facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit in the middle of nowhere, no other restaurants in the neighborhood, so we had to two times dinner in the hotel lobby, which was very good. We were lucky to have a room on an upper floor; if you have a room on the 1 or 2floor, it must be very dark. There is no sunshine on the rooms of the hotel, they are all on the shadow side. Maybe in summer that is nice, but in November it would be nice to have sunshine on your balcony.

    The spa, with two indoor swimming pools. The nice bathroom. The staff at the breakfast and in the lobby restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about really.

    Comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful staff. I'v been coming for years now and the standard of Hotel stayed the same, Excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food is good but not outstanding, if compared with the best in Malta (like Caviar and Bull). The Trattoria is the best restaurant but not quite up to 'fine dining', which one might expect, whether from the point of view of the ambience/comfort or the food. Staff very nice but almost all were trainees. Balcony rather small and the architecture generally is dull.

    Good room Very comfortable beds. Great pools and spa.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stayed several days, we tried to sun bathe by the pool but it was infested with flies (although it was common for Gozo). If you don't enjoy getting 'kissed' by flies every 2 seconds, you won't enjoy it either. Food was pretty bad and expensive for Malta. We had room service, which was abysmal, we received frozen salad....literally the lettuce leaves were frozen. We had smoothies by the pool which were awful, they had a watermelon smoothie and the bar man didn't remove the seeds, when I challenged him, he replied, "I'm not going to remove the seeds before blending it", as if it was my fault. We went off-season, so it was abundantly clear that they hire inexperienced (inexpensive) staff to run the hotel, which comes at a quality of service cost. Gozo itself is quite a hectic place if you rent a car, we saw several car accidents as streets can be extremely narrow, sometimes one lane for two way traffic and the Maltese aren't courteous.

    The hotel itself is beautiful, it has 3 pools, its nicely built and you feel like you're in an oasis. The spa is really nice, which has several nice indoor pools. We received nice service from one gentleman, who was responsible for the food. Hotel is near the famous window, which makes for an amazing swim and sunset.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were staying at the hotel in October and for such a large hotel the restaurant options were very limited. We only had the buffet or the Bistro restaurant to choose from and we we were very disappointed with the food served at the Bistro in the evening.

    Great Customer Service. The staff was very helpful and attentative.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although comfortable it is a bit run down and and in need of refurbishment. Its more a luxury four star resort. With five stars it is overrated. You have to shower in the plastic bath tube and the bathroom is very small. Hotel and pool areas are surrouded by unoccupied appartments which makes views unattractive and sombre.

    Very kind staff at reception. Excellent king bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all so friendly & helpful.. we stayed for bed and breakfast- and what a breakfast it was!!!! 10 out of 10 for all the different choices, freshness & atmosphere! We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but it did look delicious but was a bit pricy for us -there were plenty of lovely restaurants within 15 minutes or so drive which were all fantastic! Throughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not able to check in before 15.00 Breakfast 25 euros unless pre booked but then 18 Euros Rooms full of mosquitoes

    The room service food was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is perfect for what I look for. Comfort, quality, good food , relaxation, tranquility and exceptional service. Always a pleasure going back never tier of the place it's my quick gateway to recharge.

    I like the quiet surroundings and the spa

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was pathetic. The shower splash guard just didn't work so the bathroom looked like a lake after two showers and the mattress was far far too soft plus ....a couple of biscuits along with the in-room coffee/tea would not go amiss

    The pool area remains divine and the staff quality is excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I decided to do the three-day Ayurveda retreat. On the leaflet, it promises a consultation with the Ayurveda doctor, daily treatments, Ayurveda teas, Hatha yoga and a personalised nutrition plan. Everything was brilliant, but I never received my nutrition plan.

    We absolutely loved our stay at Kempinski, so much that we are thinking about visiting it again next year and joined the Kempinski Discovery programme. The location is rural and very quiet, exactly what we were looking for. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and built, with spacious rooms and lovely antique furniture. The food served at the restaurants is delicious! There are three outdoor pools, the biggest one of which reaches a depth of about 2 meters. The staff are respectful and friendly and go beyond their way to help guests enjoy their stay. The Spa is also very nice and offers a wide range of Ayurvedic treatment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic 5-star service, deluxe room was large with spacious poolside balcony, pools were large with good longers and pool side service, great tennis court.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If not having breakfast, not being able to order drinks on terrace before 11 (unless asking pool bar to bring them up). Walls of bedrooms - can hear next room if children crying so can be off putting if you are without children.

    Comfy beds, excellent food. Main pool area excellent - clean and pleasant staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was expensive and not to the same level of the whole experience

    The room was very spacious and made you feel like you were in an apartment. Everything was provided and the view from the balcony was very relaxing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast coffee was cold and low quality. One of the waitresses, who I think was a young German girl, was very rude, not only towards us but we notice that he was unfriendly towards some other guests, as well. She repeatedly refused to serve us what we wanted, and had a tendency to argue!!

    A peacefull, hidden oasis in the middle of the countryside

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that was not that good was the delay of service of the trattoria restaurant of the hotel as we waited 45 minutes for our food and the lasagna portion was on the small side considering the price for it.

    The whole experience was fantastic. The staff is super friendly and always willing to help. When we checked in they realised it was my birthday so in the afternoon when we came back from the pool I had a card and a cake waiting for me! We were also upgraded to the Junior suit because we have twins and needed 2 cots so it was great to have so much space for the girls.Breakfast has a huge variety and the location is gorgeous. Also because we had the kids, they added toiletries specific for babies!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very large and comfortable. We had a separate living area with its own guest bathroom. The main bathroom was spacious with double sinks a rain shower and jacuzzi. It was very clean and breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant prices were a little high but there's nowhere near the hotel to eat so that's expected. Food and service is fantastic so can't really complain.

    The nicest hotel staff I've ever come across. From the room cleaners to the reception desk, every single person working at this hotel was so nice to us! It made our stay so special. They upgraded our room to a suite because we'd just got engaged and it made our stay so much more memorable. The hotel is spectacularly huge and gorgeous on the inside. Outdoor pools are fantastic, the staff even get your drinks for you as you lie there. We were even offered ice cooled face towels as we lay in the sun! My fiancé had spa treatments as well which she said were amazing. Restaurant food and breakfast buffet are top notch as well. My fiancés luggage didn't make it off the plane so they offered to charge her phone at reception until the luggage arrived. All these little things they did for us just made it so special. Overall, best hotel I've ever stayed in

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast and very polite staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but worth it.

    Room was huge with a nice view of the pool. Breakfast was amazing Staff was lovely Use of indoor spa and spa facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bar did not open until 11 am

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is just amazing and the staff makes the whole experience so unique and exceptional!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms need refurbishment. stayed in a suite. not up to par with other 5 star locations on the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit distant

    Amazing spa, cleanliness, breakfast, comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel with comfortable spacious rooms and beautiful scenery

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great to spend time relaxing and very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: