Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Phoenicia Malta 5 stars

The Mall, FRN1478 Valletta, Malta

#5 of 16 hotels in Valletta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything positive said is true and there was nothing really disturbing. The problem is the relation between the steep prices and what the hotel has to offer. At these prices other houses offer attention to detail and that is missing. The curtain in the room was hung out of its slide at the side, water pressure was bad, breakfast is good but nothing special (coffee, tea, pastry, not great bread, only salted butter, small choice of cheese, eggs but no specialties - those are extra, some fish, jam, fruit, cereals, i.e. good hearty breakfast at four star level), staff is very friendly but does not pay attention to details. When asked to address sth it is done immediately but at this price you expect the silent, professional background service that houses of this category usually offer. I still love the hotel and write all of this in the hope that it will become even better with this feedback and/or simply adjust prices.

    This is one of the traditional hotels of the time of real travelling and I appreciate the careful renovation and elegant design of the lobby and public areas and bathrooms in the rooms. The garden is a precious place to relax and it is very beautiful to get to know the collection of mediterranean plants through signs along the ways. The pool area is fantastic, calm in atmosphere and style, adjusted to the environment, modern and elegant. The hotel is well situated at the entrance to Valetta. Staff is very friendly, responsive and flexible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were not warned about a wedding that went on until 130am and music echoed around the property. Would’ve been nice to be given a heads up

    Beautiful hotel, great, attentive staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room wasn't great. Other than that we could not fault the hotel for their exceptional service.

    Excellent rooms, very comfortable and clean. The room we had faced a construction site however. Pool was amazing! Hotel staff incredible, we were invited to drinks with the hotel manager, lovely evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is the standard of the food which is very ordinary for a 5 star hotel. We dined there twice and both times it was bad. Stay at the wonderful hotel but don’t dine there. Lots of great restaurants in Valletta

    The ambience and decor of the hotel along with the lovely elegant rooms made us feel very special. The swimming pool is beautiful and getting to it you walk through lovely gardens The staff are excellent and attentive, nothing too much trouble . The location is fabulous just a few minutes walk into the centre of Valletta .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cleaning and tidying, bathroom.

    The room was a little on the small side and I would have preferred a walk-in shower to the over the bath one, however, overall the hotel was absolutely lovely, especially the pool and gardens. Breakfast was excellent with a full variety of delicious food and it was a delight to be able to eat overlooking the gardens. Not convinced the room cleaning was of a very high standard and the beds weren't made correctly, a bit of a let down for a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Newly refurbished, the Phoenicia is a beautiful 5-star hotel in a perfect location for anyone wishing to explore Valletta. The rooms are excellent and all the staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People say it’s too good to be true well Phoenicia in Malta is definitely exception. It won’t disappoint you. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

    This place exceeded my expectations. Everything from the reception, through interior design, hotel room and fabulous infinity pool you can’t just go wrong with Phoenicia. Perfect place for solo travelers as well as for couples or honeymooners. Everything is clean, bathroom well equipped, bedroom super comfortable, AC providing perfect breeze while you sleep and magnificent gardens with a picture perfect infinity pool overlooking Malta Harbour. Nothing can’t beat that. WiFi works perfectly throughout the entire property even by the pool. It’s perfect! Book it as soon as you can as I only got a chance to book this place for one night only so don’t hesitate and just do it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows in my room were not at eye level and I couldn't look outside.

    Excellent location. The staff was very helpful and kind. It's nicely decorated. The breakfast is served in a nice terrace overlooking the city. The eggs were cooked to order for the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are compact but tastefully decorated. The pool area has a great bar are accessed through a lovely garden. The location is superb- under 2 minutes from the city walls. Breakfasts are expensive and unless you want a full English you can get a good coffee and croissant at lots of the cafe bars closeby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was OK but overpriced . Very little ambiance with no business centre or gym which you would expect in a hotel with these prices . We ate a couple of times in their Café which was OK with good service . Not up to expectations really !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The evening dining experience was lacking. Although the food was excellent the very large room was only sparsely populated and seriously lacked atmosphere. The menu - a la carte only - did not change for the four nights of our stay. A pity as everything else about the hotel was perfect.

    The hotel was re-furbished in 2017 and all fittings and fixtures are of the highest quality. The rooms are very well appointed and the position of the hotel, immediately outside the entrance to Old Valetta cannot be bettered. Breakfast was very good and offered a wide choice. Not a problem for us, but the excellent infinity pool was a 3 or 4 minute walk through the, attractive, gardens and might have been less than perfect for anyone with mobility difficulties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Beautiful interior design and fabulous pool area with gorgeous views. Well tended gardens and well located for all restaurants,shops and bars. Wonderfully helpful staff who genuinely want your holiday to go well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room and decor for price could have been better. But wouldnt put me off going again.

    Bed was sooooo comfortable. Pool area had amazing views. Staff were superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very disappointed that the hotel did not allow me (1 adult) stay with my 11y and 13y in one double room. I had to pay the full price for a second double room for my 2nd child. Water in the pool was cold though advertised as heated.

    Nice place to stay, friendly staff, rooms are clean and comfy. Free minibar. Beautiful flower garden leading to infinity pool. Breakfast's perfect, great choice of cold and hot meals prepared on the spot. Fresh fruit juices and home made bakery. Taxis and buses just across the street. Local restaurants, coffee shops, sightseeing, attractive places a on a walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    booking.com charged me the same price for a single occupancy room as for a double room and when I got there I was not happy. However what could have been a disappointing start due to no fault of the hotel was resolved by the hotel kindly and immediately moving us to a room of similar size.

    Beautiful property, excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfort of the bedroom is good but doesn't worth the price I paid. I was extra charged 130 Euros/night for asking a double bed. The hotel organize weddings and parties down the garden. Noise has to be expected until 11pm/midnight. I was disturbed by noise 2 nights out of 3.

    Many good services and professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and the cafe served poor quality food.

    The quality of the hotel and the excellent, friendly staff. Super grounds and pool. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a bit over priced for quality.

    Gardens. Pool. Beautiful public rooms. Great bar. Lovely terrace. Easy access to Valletta old town and boat trips to sliema and the three cities. Right next to bus terminus. Great breakfast. Really comfortable bed. Quiet and undisturbed sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was far too short!

    We booked late after poor accommodation on Gozo - what a relief to get to the hotel. It was beautifully clean, the staff lovely - especially one very hard working man on the desk when we arrived, just sad it was the last day of our holiday and not the first! The pool area was super - wish we could have stayed a week! Thanks you so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved to stay there longer but the price per night was just a little too high for me to enjoy an extended stay.

    The hotel was beautiful, interior decor is a lovely balance of both modern and classic, really nicely done. The staff were very friendly / helpful and the food & drinks served in both the main restaurant and the club bar were delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too much room service in the evening

    Iron and ironing board in the room, bath, good quality tea and fruit juice in the room. Fruit, nuts and cheese for breakfast, quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked complimentary water in the room when we arrived. Had to ask for it.

    Bright spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Recently refurbished so all areas fresh and bright.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty pricey for what you get. Skip the concierge travel service-- they steered us to daytours that were a bit soulcrushing-- hearded on/off buses like sheep, definitely the low point of our holiday.

    Lovely property, the gardens and pool were a highlight and the overall location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I miss a gym. Even though the hotel co-operated with a gym close by, I wished for a five star to have a gym. But that's all.

    Breakfast was super Pool area was lovely Beds was lovely Staff was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had a few broken tiles which weren't of the calibre I'd expect for a 5 star hotel. Equally, the breakfast was incredibly pricey (at 17 Euro per person) for a continental breakfast and very-restricted hot food service.

    The property (particularly the pool), its location and staff are all impressive with the latter incredibly warm. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The modern decor in room. The quality of the bed linen. The bathroom having a bath tub and shower. The soundproof glass on room windows meant you couldn’t hear traffic noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had requested connecting doors but didn't get them. But for only one night it was not that critical. We ordered room service, including Fish and Chips for the 32 month old. The order was at least 15 min. late and no chips in sight. But the delivery lady brought us chips very quickly after that, and the food was delicious.

    The staff are always wonderful - I've stayed there 4 or 5 times since 2012. The hotel reminds me of the grandeur of the King David Hotel in Jerusalem, but on a smaller scale; except for the Bar, which is 4 times the size of that in the King David, and MUCH more prominent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful classic grand hotel, perfectly located at the city gate of Valletta. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2017. Very accomodating staff. Lovely bed, room service twice a day. Valet parking on the ground. Call ahead for instructions if driving there, if not, it is easy to get lost and wrongly end up in the multi storey parking house nearby. We usually walked the 100 meters across the piazza into Valletta to dine, but we had drinks outdoors on the hotel terrace a sunny afternoon, and one evening we enjoyed an informal dinner in the Cafe Phoenicia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing of note.

    Attentiveness of the staff. Choice of dining options. Tea and coffee making facilities. Fridge replenished each day free of charge. Good quality toiletries provided. Superb location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms v comfortable and clean and bright. Food delicious. Service excellent at all times.Brilliant location. Beautiful garden and pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a superior double with city view and, being a light sleeper, I was occasionally disturbed by traffic noise; sea-view rooms may be quieter. While I enjoyed swimming in the heated outdoor pool, it could have been warmer. My partner and I were the only guests to take the plunge during the two afternoons that we swam.

    Location in the heart of Valletta - walking distance to everything. Elegant public areas, particularly the Palm Court and breakfast/dining room. Lovely gardens and pool area, stunning views. Comfortable, attractively furnished room in which everything worked. Good breakfast. Excellent dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was uncomforatble and not a king matress but two singles poorly connected TV selection poor minibar atrocious

    tea coffee making facilities in room good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was great but the pool could have been a little warmer for the time of year.

    The hotel was immaculate and in an ideal, central location. All staff were extremely polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Size of the Deluxe Harbour room and the small bathroom. Food was very average. Outdoor pool not heated sufficiently to swim in. Poor food choices

    The Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa at all, still under constriction. Don’t let reception book a taxi to the airport - they then charge EUR 25 instead of 17 EUR because they send for the hotel car, not a normal taxi and don’t ask you in advance if that’s okay. Breakfast needs an upgrade with more fruit/health food options

    Great design and perfect location! Very friendly staff, good restaurant options, nice lobby bar and pool area with stunning views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was amazing - lots of cold and hot options, fresh yogurt, honeycomb, dried / stewed / fresh fruits. Snacks served with drinks in the lobby lounge. Mario at the desk hooked us up with Joseph to drive us around to all the sites we wanted to see, essentially creating a private tour. We wound up hiring him several other times as well. Marvelous service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The too-large and rather hard pillows. Also I found it very annoying to try to make special request for a car to pick us up, and for tickets to the Hypogeum. I was forced to go through Booking.com instead of the concierge. They got the dates wrong!!!! Finally I found his direct email and was able to correct the mistake and all was well. But a worrisome and unnecessary thing, I thought.

    The lovely choice of fabrics and colors. Our stunning view. The charming and helpful staff. The large and hospitable lobby and dining room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been lovely if the spa had been ready for us to use. Also the weather was disappointing (hardly the fault of the hotel though!)

    The service was exceptional and always friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, I enjoyed everything about the hotel.

    I found the location could not have been any better. Not too far from the airport. We took the bus X4 from the airport and it took us all the way to the hotel. There’s a bus station very close to the hotel where you can take buses to most Malta destinations. The fare to and from the airport is only €1.50. What I liked very much were the beautiful gardens that belong to the hotel. The views are amazing. The pool is very modern and has views of the harbour. Breakfast was very good and apart from other things it included fresh orange juice and fresh pastries. The room was nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable and there was a selection of teas and coffee available as well as other drinks from the mini bar that were complimentary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling light moved and noisy from movement in room above ,called in maintenance.head board on one bed moved and noisy and called in maitenence and hot water in bath not war m and called in maitenence. We should have asked in maitenence as hot water in basin not very warm .we suggested on our departure that each room should have details of all the facilities of the hotel eg the wonderfull garden and the club bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were still under construction.

    The location is excellent. It's right at the main entrance to Valletta and opposite the main bus terminal from where you can travel throughout the island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Ideal location just outside the entrance to Valletta, an interesting and beautiful old city, also opposite the bus station with plentiful and cheap routes to all parts of the island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it would have been an added bonus to have the possibility of a facial or massage. Room did not have a very good view

    the pool was just fantastic, one of the very best I have been to. The staff were mostly quite excellent, helpful and smiley.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    While the room was very new and renovated, we found it a bit small, i.e. smaller than expected. Wasn't really a problem for us, as we were mostly spending our time outside, but if you arrive with more than two mid-sized bags it will get crowded in the room. The balcony helps a bit (if it is warm enough to sit outside).

    Location was perfect, right in front of the gates, so walking into Valletta for dinner was easy - but as well you were out and about using the rental car to pretty much every other location without much traffic jams (just be careful if you use the hotel's address - our navigation system wanted us to drive over the nice fountain in front of the gates :) ). If you don't have a rental car, just fall over the street to the central bus station. We had room 130 with a nice balcony (Valletta view). A big plus was the free minibar with juice, beer, water especially as there are not really many supermarkets around (at least we did not spot any). The staff was very helpful as well. The Wifi is excellent, really - no stupid login pages, you just connect and it is fast. We can definitely recommend this as a base for an "active" vacation, i.e. if you explore the island but also Valletta a lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the smallish size, perhaps because the bed was so large. It was, however, very well appointed, and welcoming. There was a very nice view from the room, although the distant street noise made it difficult to leave the windows open for extended periods, especially after dark.

    Wonderful decor and the hotel grounds are stunning with lots of interesting plants, including olive trees and Foxtail agave. The outdoor pool overlooks the port of Sliema and the sunsets from there are quite memorable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The location is superb. The recently completed fountain and its huge circular stone surround are a delight to the senses. Nothing is too much trouble for the hotel staff, who are unfailingly courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. The web sites of Booking.com and the hotel are very misleading regarding swimming pool. To be clear there is NO swimming pool indoors. The is only an outdoor pool (closed in winter). 2. There is a taxi rank opposite the hotel. Best to use it because if you let the hotel hail a taxi then the driver adds €8 to your taxi bill and you will not be warned of this by the hotel

    Very helpful staff. Good restaurant for dinner. Breakfast OK but expect better in a hotel of this class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff was very nice and went above and beyond to make us feeling welcome. Hotel manager sent us a couple of bottles of wine and cake for my partners birthday and our anniversary. Also, the morning of our departure early in the morning they had coffee, juice and croissants ready for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pretty well everything. Convenient for town. Beautifully laid out and furnished. All staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very helpful and polite staff, even though we arrived late (1am) after a delayed flight. Lovely room (upgraded to a harbour view) and complimentary prosecco and cake. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny gripe, but the Internet wasn't working when I arrived. It was fixed overnight though, and worked perfectly afterwards.

    Excellent and stylish hotel, well located just on the outskirts of the historical centre of Valetta, with everything neatly at walking distance. Very clean, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I had a very, very pleasant time at the Hotel Phoenicia. It was very affordable luxury, within walking distance of Valletta. The hotel has just been renovated and it shows! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first visit since the refurbishment. The place looks lovely, bright, clean, and nothing has been changed. As always the staff are fantastic. After one day everyone knows your name, and they can't do enough for you. Remains one of our top two hotels in the world.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertising the heated swimming pool except it wasn't available. Disappointing to be standing in front of a dry swimming pool but not a major issue for us.

    Birthday cake and bubbles on arrival, comfy bed, great service, lovely view, perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hard to find fault really, if I could say one thing it would be to ask the restaurant manager to smile a bit more. Saying that he was meticulous nothing left the pass until he was happy.

    The hotel has been refurbished to an excellent standard it was a joy to stay in such lovely surroundings. The lounge is fabulous and breakfast although a bit pricey is by far the best, especially the honey from an actual honeycomb. The White Company cosmetics are very well received and the little things like top quality coffee and tea bags in the room, plus free mini bar which is replenished daily. A really good hairdryer and an Iron and Ironing board. I have to also say thanks to the hotel for the lovely cake and bottle of bubbly left for my birthday. They know how to treat you! Simply Fab.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our FREE minibar was never restocked, could not phone reception or concierge from room telephone. We paid extra for Hotel Transfer but I think one of the concierge phoned one of his pals because the car come 15 mins late and didn't come with the class and luxury you would expect from this hotel. Outdoor Heated Pool was closed, we should have been notified.

    Extra comfortable bed, great location,immaculately clean,good value for money in winter.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only small criticism would be an overcomplicated system to control the bathroom shower.

    A luxurious and well appointed hotel, ideally located for exploring Valetta centre, with spacious grounds leading down to outdoor infinity pool and great harbour views. Delicious breakfast selection with freshly cooked eggs. Without exception all staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Café only open evenings 4 days a week. While the restaurant was excellent it was, naturally enough, expensive and the alternative offered by the café would have been welcome on a more frequent basis. To be fair there were a lot of other restaurants within a five minute walk.

    Staff outstanding, excellent position, fine public rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was a nice size, but the beds and the furniture were pretty average.

    The location is great and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is also fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the smaller restaurant could have been more extensive but the food was enjoyable anyway.

    Upgrade, room, lounge, service, helpful and attentive staff who were very pleasant. We have stayed at this hotel previously, in terms of our values it provides a standard by which we measure all other hotels we stay at.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a bit boring and also the corridors are not really of the standard You expect in hotel like this They are still renovating so may be a bit more stylishness is welcom

    Very well located. Beautiful lobby and swimming Pool Nice breakfast in a magnificent hall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was weak and a bit complicated - not intuitive. Needs HBO for a 5-star.

    Breakfast (extra) was excellent. Beds were soft and fluffy, pillows good. Views excellent. Quiet room. Staff discreet. Clean, tidy. Complimentary mini-bar. It is a 5-star hotel - you get what you pay for! And this is good value. Position for Valletta is good. Front desk, concierge, dining-room staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows could be better, and the twin beds are european twin-80cm wide, not standard US 90cm wide so they are a bit small for a larger person. The superior room was not as luxurious as the rest of the hotel. We were not told about the free minibar; we had to ask the front desk. Not enough toiletries for 2 people; had to ask reception for more-a bit stingy for a 5 star hotel. And the hotel should really have a spa and salon since it is a leading luxury hotel of the world. The spa will open soon I was told. The New Year's Eve gala dinner was a bit expensive for what was served, including the tiny portions.

    The hotel, inside and out, is so beautiful. The location is amazing, within walking distance to old town Valletta, the waterfront, the high street, etc. The lighting and wifi were excellent, the concierge was brilliant, the main reception room was especially inviting during the festive period. Taxis are always available, hop on/hop off bus and the bus terminal were right next to the hotel. Good selection of tv channels, in english and other languages. Free minibar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk service virtually non existent and missed our early morning call at 5am before departure. Lack of hanging space in our wardrobe and coldness of marble floor. Beds most uncomfortable and our backs ached all night. We would never recommend it to anyone EVER.

    Room cleaned and always spotless. However very little room (8 hangers) for hanging clothes, putting suitcases for access and yet an area of room which was utterly useless and could have provided more wardrobe space plus more suitcase “rests”. Extremely cold marble floors and uncomfortable beds. Main desk service unfriendly and unhelpful. Early morning call at 5am for our early flight was not made to the room. First evening dinner appalling and almost cold but both were extremely tough. The same applied to our Chrietmas Day lunch which was protracted and the time between starter and main course was over an hour and it was almost cold. Mine, though cold was not bad and quite tender. My husband’s was turkey and atrocious and again, cold. Overall food was disgraceful for a hotellisted as being in one of the top in the world. What a joke! Exhorbitant in every respect and we both feel we have been ripped off.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daily cleaning service could be better...the bathroom dodn't seem swept through at times.

    The best hotel around in Valetta. The property made our stay the best at a time when Malta had howling and chilling winds for a couple of days in December. We were grateful to have such a lovely property to stay in when venturing out became a hardship! We loved the service, the staff and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. This has a beauty, class and charm of its own. Definitely worth every penny ....book this one, you won't regret it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Location for public transport was excellent. We took the airport bus (1.50 Euro) and the terminus was right across the road from the hotel. Also, very handy for day-trips to Mdina and Rabat. The town centre was 2 minutes away. The hotel itself is newly renovated and beautifully done. Very Elegant. The bedrooms were lovely, very comfortable and pleasant during the day and in the evening. There was a free mini-bar, freshly stocked each day with still water, juice, beer and coke. Breakfast was very good value at 17 euro. Eggs made to order, baked ham freshly cut and freshly squeezed orange juice. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor confusion ordering food by infinity pool - soon sorted.

    Perfect location by gates. Hotel and Valletta both reflect a pre 'Capital of Culture' refurbishment and it shows. Fabulous palm court reception features stylish design. Room and bathroom bright, clean and very comfortable. Great breakfast and professional staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have pay TV

    The Service and ambience of the hotel was outstanding from reception to the bar/Restaurant and porters the location was excellent to Valletta. The rooms was clean and beds very comfortable and will definitely book again when I stay in Malta.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food choice in the cafeteria was somewhat limited. Also the range of cocktails was limited.

    Almost everything was perfect, and if it wasn’t, they quckly took action to solve it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all fantastic

    The staff could not have been more hospitable. Genuine 5 star service, going above and beyond. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the pool area is elegant and luxurious with a view over the city. 10 out of 10 I will definitely return to this magnificent, friendly hotel. I have already recommended it to friends who intend to book.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be prepared that, after the airline lose your luggage, and nobody answers the phone at the hotel, and you do not have chance to get out and tell anybody you are late, be charged extra by the hotel for airport transfer. Be sure to be polite to the driver who will yell at you because you are late. Very discomforting and unpleasant like anywhere else experience. First time for everything.

    Room was fantastic, comfortable, warm, welcoming. Breakfast was excellent, a lot of choices. There are still some works left on the hotel, but they are trying to make it up to the guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Loud music late into night on two occasions from function suite below.Not to be expected in a hotel advertising as five star.

    Great location in Valletta and very close to public transport. Beautifully refurbished.Good standard room and view from balcony over the harbour.Excellent breakfast worth paying for. Extensive hotel gardens and infinity pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Amazing Hotel located at the old gate of Valletta. Excellent facilities, garden, swimming pool and stunning view over the harbour. Recently renovated with great finishes and furniture.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not excited about the cooked breakfast buffet. I am very fussy about my bacon.

    The site of the hotel is excellent, being so close to Valletta city gates and the bus terminus. The reception rooms were great. Remind me of Waldorf in London. My room was good. The bathroom was superb. For Breakfast: -The cereals were good. As were the juice and coffee. The croissants were outstanding. The honey offering was brilliant. The venue superb. I have to give special mention to the taxi driver commissioned by the hotel. What a professional, informative, and charming man.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had perhaps expected something a bit more special in terms of the bar and the buzz there - it was very quiet and not somewhere you would go if you weren't staying in the hotel - not the destination bar that you get at some hotel, though still very nice. The service was good but not perfect. For example, though we asked at our first (weekend) breakfast, the staff did not really tell us where everything was and we missed a whole food area which we discovered the next morning when we spotted others eating things we had not seen.

    Good location. The hotel is just outside the city walls, so while not quite at the heart of things, it is quick to get into Valetta itself. The walk in will be much improved when the building work all around is finished. The room was quiet despite the building work, which is a big bonus for us. WIth the weather still pleasantly warm, it was a real bonus to be able to swim in the heated infinity pool, with lovely view and walk though the gardens to get there.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: