Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Valletta hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Phoenicia Malta

Reviews of Hotel Phoenicia Malta This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The Mall, FRN1478 Valletta, Malta

#5 of 23 hotels in Valletta

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 822 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double bed was two twins pushed together.

    Fantastic hotel! The location is excellent, the ambience in the hotel is lovely and the breakfast is divine. I would recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    8.8
    Design hotel with attentive staff in central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room i got was different from the one in the picture, later I was told the rooms with decoration like in the picture were on a different floor, but nobody explained why I got a different one. Thus it was a bit disappointing. There was a smell in the room probably because of humidity during the winter period. Although cold food table was of excellent quality, it was the same choice all three days that I had breakfast in hotel. The table of hot food was lower quality, very basic and not appealing.

    Staff very attentive and kind, ready to help in most unexpected situations. Room was made up several times during the day and when returning from the city would always find it nicely prepared for sleep. Location is perfect for exploring the city pr transportation out of it. Cold food breakfast table excellent quality. The common spaces of the hotel are very beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the breakfast could have had some more variety.

    The suite was comfortable and the view from the balcony really lovely. Unfortunately I wasn’t well for most of my stay so couldn’t explore the property as I would have liked to.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    The best hotel in Malta, except for the beach hotels - a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive, but the quality is worth it.

    The best hotel in Malta, except for the beach hotels - a beautiful, conveniently located, with excellent service. Stayed twice and plan more.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    The perfect grand hotel experience, elegant but relaxed with a personal welcome from helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All perfect.

    The perfect grand hotel experience: elegant and luxurious, but a relaxed ambiance and all staff exceptionally friendly and helpful with a personal touch. Great location by City Gate. Beautiful room with harbour view and small balcony. Ab extra armchair quickly brought at our request. Spacious and stylish public rooms. Great breakfast in main restaurant and cheerful cafe for light lunch etc. Large and atmospheric Club Bar with delicious house cocktails. Lovely pool and pool area. We were lucky to be there for the GM's weekly cocktail party, meeting managers and other guests - a very pleasant occasion.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.0
    Excellent stay with a perfect location only minutes from the centre of lovely Valletta .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waiting for eggs to be cooked at breakfast . No hooks in the bathroom to hang a robe or clothes .

    All the staff especially the doormen were exceptionally friendly and nothing is too much trouble for anyone

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked for a taxi to the airport and instead they put us in an ancient battered old car at a supplement of 50% of the taxi rate. Rip off and we will not return!!!!!

    Comfort

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay, the dining room and lounge areas are outstanding .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We thought the bedroom was very small. It was a twin deluxe with harbour view. We would have liked larger twin beds not the standard 3ft ones.

    All the staff where very attentive and friendly. We has a cake and bottle of Prosecco brought to our room with compliments of the manager because it was our silver wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    This is a superb hotel with a great location handy for buses, taxis and ferries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We thought the breakfast was expensive at 17 euros per person so we declined it.

    There is an excellent welcome evening with drinks and nibbles and a chance to meet the senior management. They also give you two bottles each of water, fruit juice, coke and beer every day free.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed the Phoenicia, it has its own distinct...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    n/a

    We really enjoyed the Phoenicia, it has its own distinct character of another time although all facilities have been modernised. The service is exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a pity that this hotel has no fitness facilities except a swimming pool (excellent by the way). No way to practice sport, especially when is raining. It would be nice to have a small spa corner too.

    Spacious room, big and comfortable bed, nice bathroom, excellent swimming pool and beautiful garden. Location is the best in Valletta.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.9
    A great place to stay.....and on the ‘doorstep’ of one of Europe’s most spectacular Medieval Cities!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pet Policy......After booking we were quoted what I considered an unreasonable ‘supplement’ for our Maltese Terrier of €50 for the night. However I’m pleased to report that the manager ‘considered’ my concerns and resolved the issue.

    A fantastic location for visiting Valletta. Attentive staff. Quiet room. Good WiFi, ‘pet friendly’. Onsite parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    A truely memorable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    The hotel was excellent with superb staff, they were very attentive at all times. Breakfast was first class and catered for all diets, the choice was outstanding. The pool area is lovely with excellent facilities. Would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    A beautiful elegant hotel full of character and charm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to Not like.

    A beautiful elegant hotel full of character and charm and immaculately clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in every way. The concierge are wonderful nothing a problem and they introduced us to our wonderful taxi driver Joseph, who was fantastic so informative would have taken us any where and a truly genuine person you could really trust him. Would highly recommend without hesitation. We went to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday, we went out for the day and on our return to the hotel the Manager had arranged for a birthday cake and a bottle of procceco and card was all set up in the room which was a wonderful surprise. Thank you so much for everything.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.2
    Nothing too much trouble for staff at this welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shame our room looked out onto building works for new spa...and heated pool was really quite cold. But overall a great place to be.

    The staff are amazing and the hotel a pleasure to stay in.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.8
    Not as good as it thinks it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is overpriced and does not measure up to the reputation it would like to enjoy. Rooms are small. Food is no better than adequate. Some staff were disobliging to the point of being rude. The competence of the staff was also hit and miss. I marked it down in particular for not offering good value for money.

    This is the grandest hotel on the island of Malta. It’s location just outside the gates of Valletta means it is convenient for walks into the city and for reaching other parts of the island. It has gardens - a rarity in this area - and an infinity pool. The rooms are clean and pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    A jewel in the midst of Valetta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all.

    Spotless, quiet, soundproof and comfortable. A true 5 star. The view from the little balcony was good both day and night. Good selection of TV programmes. After enjoying a garden walk we discovered an infinity pool overlooking a view of Valetta. Drinks later in the evenings we enjoyed on yet another balcony overlooking the gardens. Right across the road were all the taxis, buses and tourist attractions. An easy walk to streets of restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool a very long way from hotel. Only two lifts so long waits. The bistro food and the main restaurant menus rather average standard hotel food. They do not know how to make steak tartar. Lumps of steak not finely chopped

    Concierge very helpful. Very good and soft sheets etc. Location at gate to Valletta brilliant

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.5
    booked a hop-on;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    booked a hop-on;hop off through hotel, who took a booking fee. there was a problem with the driver and a required stop which the hotel did not assist with stating I had to complain to the company. After trying to explain to the receptionist, I talked with the duty manager a day later who listened very carefully to my complaint.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Phoenicia is in a brilliant location for our trip to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Phoenicia is in a brilliant location for our trip to Valletta. We loved staying here and the staff went to great lengths to help us and assist us with all of our queries. Rooms are comfortable and next time a small balcony would be wonderful to enjoy the afternoons. Close to Public transport and taxis and ferry ports.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa & indoor pool would have been good but understand these are under construction

    Wonderful infinity pool overlooking harbour Fantastic location in heart of city Great Club Bar for nightcap on the terrace

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charged 17€ per person for breakfast. When u pay a lot for a hotel breakfast should always be included.

    Room very comfortable. Staff very friendly and hotel beautiful and great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very good and well sited to the city but needs some fine tuning to reach a 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We feel that the restaurant needs attention, probably one or two more experienced chef appointments if a true five star is to be achieved. The lighting should be improved particularly in the public and table areas. The quality of the bedroom furniture needs upgrading in quality and in amount if five stars are being sought. The bar staff and facilities are excellent and should be complimented.

    You very quickly altered my room which, originally was totally unsuitable due to theca medical condition of my legs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    6.3
    ***Hotel has a good location***
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ***Hotel has a good location*** A pool with beautiful view... but services at pool was terrible 🙈 like in restaurant- young and amatuers waiters🙈. :( Concierge was kindly and profi👍🏻 ;) Big hotel without gym. OMG💪🏼 I would not choose this hotel anymore.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful and welcoming hotel. I would love to return one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Very well located for visiting the sites of Valletta; beautiful view of the harbour; very clean and fresh throughout the hotel; very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    7.5
    Welcoming staff and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a pre-bitten Apple left in our room, which took staff a few days to address. You need to walk 500m just to get to the pool. There aren’t any shops in the hotel, e.g. hairdresser, beautician.

    The location at Valletta’s doorstep and right near the bus terminus is excellent. The less formal cafe and its staff is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    The entire hotel was perfect- we couldn’t find a fault and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entire hotel was perfect- we couldn’t find a fault and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Amazing location and beautiful gardens/pool... we didn’t want to leave! The staff were extremely attentive and we loved the food in the hotel restaurants; breakfast was superb too, so definitely worth adding to any booking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    8.8
    It wasn't paying up for the room with sea view as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't paying up for the room with sea view as the suite was on the first floor. For the rest an excellent location and with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast with great service.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very good breakfast with great service. Good choice of food. Excellent restaurant, serving gastronomic food. Great cleanliness right thru and very friendly and smiling staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.8
    Luxurious night in the Phoenicia Hotel, very enjoyable as expected, but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was a fairly long walk from the hotel, and it wasn't massive, although both can be partly forgiven for the spectacular "Bastion" location. The complimentary minibar was a nice touch although the selection of drinks could have been better. Overall not sure it represented value for money, although definitely would return if money was no object.

    The room was extremely comfortable and well equipped, and the hotel itself is stunning and in an ideal location, right outside Valletta's main gate. The pool was in a fabulous location, over-looking the city walls and the harbour, and all staff I encountered (particularly reception, concierge and pool staff) were extremely happy to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.9
    Charming hotel, full of character, wonderful location but overpriced for offered service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lack of clean in some areas, Lack of gluten-free options at breakfast. 2 indiscretions by the hotel staff during our stay questioning our presence as hotel guests.

    Location, Character, Chill out, Pool and gardens, not crowded

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful garden and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful garden and swimming pool. Malta´s bus service is very good and you can travel around the island for less then ten euros. On thursday evening there was a cocktail for the guests, very nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    All we expected and really excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing of consequence

    Excellent staff very helpful and friendly. Great gardens and infinity pool. Mini bar included (beer, soft drinks) replenished daily. Deluxe room with balcony and harbour/sea view was light and airy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel with an excellent location in Valletta. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The infinity pool was fantastic and had a beautiful view of the harbour. One of my favourite hotels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Beautiful seven days in amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was great.

    We stayed seven nights and enjoyed the entire time. Location of the hotel is great, in front of Fontain and entrance of Valletta. The pool is amazing, great view and so quiet and peaceful. There is a bit of a walk to get to the pool through beautiful garden. Rooms are very clean and quiet with nice touch of modern and traditional design. Air conditioning is perfect. Breakfast buffet is exceptional offering both quality and variety. The staff is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A gym should be in-house ; there is enough available space ... Breakfast every day the same ... variation ('special of the day) woud be appreciated ...

    Location and hotel was perfect; the invitation for a drink with the gm and staff was +++ Swimming pool was +++, the walk to the pool was very very long (but i needed the exercice) Lack of gym, but provided a gym in town about 10 min walk away ... -/+ The raw honey for breakfast was a + Extra paying for special eggs (benedict) was a - Free valet parking and staff at reception and concierge was +++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Everything was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was superb. This hotel was peefecr for me. It is located near the Tritin fountain and and a 2 minute walk to the old city of Valetta. I will definitely return here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    6.7
    Staff good, location good. Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I travel a lot for business and can safely say this hotel is very expensive for what we got. Given price the room was small, had no view and breakfast was an extra

    Staff v helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.6
    loved our stay and will return .... it was amazingly relaxing & exotic ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to improve their service at the bistro cafe`phoenicia : first they forgot to see what we want, serving 2 newer arrivals beforehand. After ordering we were told one plate was unavailable . We ordered another which was completely omitted ...after that I did not ask for it again, but reminded them before leaving ... I would change the Artworks in the hotel room. The Hotel which host important Artworks deserves real art of better quality in its rooms : it does not tally with the rest of the hotel , but I guess many can live with that, yet to me it makes a difference ....

    It is an extraordinary hotel in very close proximity to the capital, yet the room was silent and its design. refreshing. The architecture is very beautiful : Art deco, built somewhere round ww2, I guess. The staff were particularly attentive especially at reception and at the breakfast operation and restaurant. The garden is large, mature, and unique for a hotel in Malta and the pool area is fabulous .... Everywhere one feels the cleanliness .... The breakfast is truly great and though Italy remains the queen of food, I did eat a plate of ricotta gnocchi I will remember and will return to have again ...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.6
    This hotel made my Malta experience great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast choice was great but I was missing vegetables. I know this is not a standard preference but It would be good to find some

    Excellent hotel with superb service, located next to Valetta gate and near bus/ taxi terminals which allows for easy travelling around Malta island. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and caring for guests comfort. Hotel is surrounded by well maintained garden and infinity pool with marina view is just breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect.

    This hotel is in a perfect location, at the city walls. The views from our room were over the harbour, a perfect place to sit and unwind with a glass of something suitable in the evenings. The pool area which is reached through beautiful, aromatic gardens is really impressive. We enjoyed lazy lunches by the pool. The staff are all polite and helpful. A really enjoyable weekend away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    A 5 star oasis of calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave :-)

    If beauty is a panacea for all ills, then The Phoenicia should be available on prescription! As I work as a live-in carer in the UK I was looking for a restorative, short break. After just 24 hours it did the trick. The ambiance of this hotel is only surpassed but the most comfortable bed ever. The air con is very efficient and not too noisy if you need it on during the night. It would take another 'page' to describe the breakfast. It is amazing. Fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast, smoked salmon, cheeses, ham, breads, pastries, juices, tea, coffee.It will set you up for the day! All the staff have the right balance of courteous professionalism and a welcoming smile. The infinity pool with a view is a stroll through the gardens. There is a bar and towels available. The hotel location is spot on. Two minutes walk and you are in the main street of Valletta. Taxis, horse drawn carriages and buses are literally on the doorstep and yet inside the hotel all is serene. An oasis of calm. Bravo to all that make this happen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Location was good and the pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The balconies are very small - only just room for two people to sit on them and had to move the table to do so

    Location was good and the pool was great. Staff good and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Overall very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at breakfast and also by the pool in the bar was slow and they did not seem happy that we were a group of 5-6 people. We often felt that we were making life difficult for the staff wheb eating as a group and it was not a very relaxing experience- particularly by the swimming pool where the food was always very slow and served separately so that often two people had finished eating before any of the others were served anything.

    The bed was very comfortable and the pool is beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is perfectly place for easy access to Valetta and beyond. Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The swimming pool at the Phoenicia is situated in the gardens at the hotel. However it is about a 10 minute stroll through the gardens to get to it and we would have preferred it to be closer to the hotel. We were also surprised that there was no indoor pool or spa facilities as is usual in other superior hotels.

    Perfect location opposite the Triton Fountain and the Gateway to the City. The bus station is also opposite the hotel where you can get buses to all over the island. The hotel is well appointed, very comfortable and the staff are friendly. We had a corner room on the top floor of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the square/city and a Juliet balcony window overlooking the harbour. Despite being very busy outside, it was remarkably quiet in the room at night. Bed was comfortable and air conditioning made it comfortable in the heat at night. Our mini bar was stocked daily and was complementary. We had breakfast each morning and both cooked items and continental were available with plenty of choice. Eggs were freshly cooked for you. There was also a la carte breakfast available at extra cost. We did not eat in the main restaurant in the evening as there were lots of restaurants to choose from in Valetta but we did eat in the Phoenicia's café bar where the food was good and reasonably priced, though not a lot of choices. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Phoenecia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Malta is amazing so nothing could spoil our stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Trapped my fingers betwwwn the fridge door and the shelf above when opening the fridge. Had to ask for drinking water lthough they said it would be replenishes every day . Pool was a long walk from the hotel so didn’t use it .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Super, you won't be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower needs an upgrade for a hotel in this class

    Everything is as you would expect in a top hotel. Great service and well located, being close to the action but away from the crowds. We were delighted to find such a great hotel at such a keen price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.9
    This is one of the traditional hotels of the time of real...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything positive said is true and there was nothing really disturbing. The problem is the relation between the steep prices and what the hotel has to offer. At these prices other houses offer attention to detail and that is missing. The curtain in the room was hung out of its slide at the side, water pressure was bad, breakfast is good but nothing special (coffee, tea, pastry, not great bread, only salted butter, small choice of cheese, eggs but no specialties - those are extra, some fish, jam, fruit, cereals, i.e. good hearty breakfast at four star level), staff is very friendly but does not pay attention to details. When asked to address sth it is done immediately but at this price you expect the silent, professional background service that houses of this category usually offer. I still love the hotel and write all of this in the hope that it will become even better with this feedback and/or simply adjust prices.

    This is one of the traditional hotels of the time of real travelling and I appreciate the careful renovation and elegant design of the lobby and public areas and bathrooms in the rooms. The garden is a precious place to relax and it is very beautiful to get to know the collection of mediterranean plants through signs along the ways. The pool area is fantastic, calm in atmosphere and style, adjusted to the environment, modern and elegant. The hotel is well situated at the entrance to Valetta. Staff is very friendly, responsive and flexible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, great, attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Were not warned about a wedding that went on until 130am and music echoed around the property. Would’ve been nice to be given a heads up

    Beautiful hotel, great, attentive staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent rooms, very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room wasn't great. Other than that we could not fault the hotel for their exceptional service.

    Excellent rooms, very comfortable and clean. The room we had faced a construction site however. Pool was amazing! Hotel staff incredible, we were invited to drinks with the hotel manager, lovely evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Elegant Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside is the standard of the food which is very ordinary for a 5 star hotel. We dined there twice and both times it was bad. Stay at the wonderful hotel but don’t dine there. Lots of great restaurants in Valletta

    The ambience and decor of the hotel along with the lovely elegant rooms made us feel very special. The swimming pool is beautiful and getting to it you walk through lovely gardens The staff are excellent and attentive, nothing too much trouble . The location is fabulous just a few minutes walk into the centre of Valletta .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel within walking distance from Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cleaning and tidying, bathroom.

    The room was a little on the small side and I would have preferred a walk-in shower to the over the bath one, however, overall the hotel was absolutely lovely, especially the pool and gardens. Breakfast was excellent with a full variety of delicious food and it was a delight to be able to eat overlooking the gardens. Not convinced the room cleaning was of a very high standard and the beds weren't made correctly, a bit of a let down for a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    This was our third stay here. We will most definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Newly refurbished, the Phoenicia is a beautiful 5-star hotel in a perfect location for anyone wishing to explore Valletta. The rooms are excellent and all the staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Faboulous, unique and picture perfect! *****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People say it’s too good to be true well Phoenicia in Malta is definitely exception. It won’t disappoint you. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

    This place exceeded my expectations. Everything from the reception, through interior design, hotel room and fabulous infinity pool you can’t just go wrong with Phoenicia. Perfect place for solo travelers as well as for couples or honeymooners. Everything is clean, bathroom well equipped, bedroom super comfortable, AC providing perfect breeze while you sleep and magnificent gardens with a picture perfect infinity pool overlooking Malta Harbour. Nothing can’t beat that. WiFi works perfectly throughout the entire property even by the pool. It’s perfect! Book it as soon as you can as I only got a chance to book this place for one night only so don’t hesitate and just do it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows in my room were not at eye level and I couldn't look outside.

    Excellent location. The staff was very helpful and kind. It's nicely decorated. The breakfast is served in a nice terrace overlooking the city. The eggs were cooked to order for the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    The rooms are compact but tastefully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are compact but tastefully decorated. The pool area has a great bar are accessed through a lovely garden. The location is superb- under 2 minutes from the city walls. Breakfasts are expensive and unless you want a full English you can get a good coffee and croissant at lots of the cafe bars closeby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    5.0
    The hotel was OK but overpriced .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was OK but overpriced . Very little ambiance with no business centre or gym which you would expect in a hotel with these prices . We ate a couple of times in their Café which was OK with good service . Not up to expectations really !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    A good choice of hotel for a taste of luxury and well situated for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The evening dining experience was lacking. Although the food was excellent the very large room was only sparsely populated and seriously lacked atmosphere. The menu - a la carte only - did not change for the four nights of our stay. A pity as everything else about the hotel was perfect.

    The hotel was re-furbished in 2017 and all fittings and fixtures are of the highest quality. The rooms are very well appointed and the position of the hotel, immediately outside the entrance to Old Valetta cannot be bettered. Breakfast was very good and offered a wide choice. Not a problem for us, but the excellent infinity pool was a 3 or 4 minute walk through the, attractive, gardens and might have been less than perfect for anyone with mobility difficulties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Marvellous stay at the Phoenicia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing.

    Beautiful interior design and fabulous pool area with gorgeous views. Well tended gardens and well located for all restaurants,shops and bars. Wonderfully helpful staff who genuinely want your holiday to go well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.2
    Attending a wedding. Stayed 1 night. Next time must be at least 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size of room and decor for price could have been better. But wouldnt put me off going again.

    Bed was sooooo comfortable. Pool area had amazing views. Staff were superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very disappointed that the hotel did not allow me (1 adult) stay with my 11y and 13y in one double room. I had to pay the full price for a second double room for my 2nd child. Water in the pool was cold though advertised as heated.

    Nice place to stay, friendly staff, rooms are clean and comfy. Free minibar. Beautiful flower garden leading to infinity pool. Breakfast's perfect, great choice of cold and hot meals prepared on the spot. Fresh fruit juices and home made bakery. Taxis and buses just across the street. Local restaurants, coffee shops, sightseeing, attractive places a on a walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    excellent, beautiful property and gardens, excellent staff, will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    booking.com charged me the same price for a single occupancy room as for a double room and when I got there I was not happy. However what could have been a disappointing start due to no fault of the hotel was resolved by the hotel kindly and immediately moving us to a room of similar size.

    Beautiful property, excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    Professional services of palaces
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfort of the bedroom is good but doesn't worth the price I paid. I was extra charged 130 Euros/night for asking a double bed. The hotel organize weddings and parties down the garden. Noise has to be expected until 11pm/midnight. I was disturbed by noise 2 nights out of 3.

    Many good services and professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    A superb hotel at the heart of Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small and the cafe served poor quality food.

    The quality of the hotel and the excellent, friendly staff. Super grounds and pool. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    Grandeur
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was a bit over priced for quality.

    Gardens. Pool. Beautiful public rooms. Great bar. Lovely terrace. Easy access to Valletta old town and boat trips to sliema and the three cities. Right next to bus terminus. Great breakfast. Really comfortable bed. Quiet and undisturbed sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was far too short!

    We booked late after poor accommodation on Gozo - what a relief to get to the hotel. It was beautifully clean, the staff lovely - especially one very hard working man on the desk when we arrived, just sad it was the last day of our holiday and not the first! The pool area was super - wish we could have stayed a week! Thanks you so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved to stay there longer but the price per night was just a little too high for me to enjoy an extended stay.

    The hotel was beautiful, interior decor is a lovely balance of both modern and classic, really nicely done. The staff were very friendly / helpful and the food & drinks served in both the main restaurant and the club bar were delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too much room service in the evening

    Iron and ironing board in the room, bath, good quality tea and fruit juice in the room. Fruit, nuts and cheese for breakfast, quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Lovely period building in the heart of the city. Recently refurbished. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked complimentary water in the room when we arrived. Had to ask for it.

    Bright spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Recently refurbished so all areas fresh and bright.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely property, on the pricey side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pretty pricey for what you get. Skip the concierge travel service-- they steered us to daytours that were a bit soulcrushing-- hearded on/off buses like sheep, definitely the low point of our holiday.

    Lovely property, the gardens and pool were a highlight and the overall location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was super
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I miss a gym. Even though the hotel co-operated with a gym close by, I wished for a five star to have a gym. But that's all.

    Breakfast was super Pool area was lovely Beds was lovely Staff was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    The property (particularly the pool), its location and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had a few broken tiles which weren't of the calibre I'd expect for a 5 star hotel. Equally, the breakfast was incredibly pricey (at 17 Euro per person) for a continental breakfast and very-restricted hot food service.

    The property (particularly the pool), its location and staff are all impressive with the latter incredibly warm. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in great location for exploring the cultural sights and shops in Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The modern decor in room. The quality of the bed linen. The bathroom having a bath tub and shower. The soundproof glass on room windows meant you couldn’t hear traffic noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.2
    The place to stay in Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had requested connecting doors but didn't get them. But for only one night it was not that critical. We ordered room service, including Fish and Chips for the 32 month old. The order was at least 15 min. late and no chips in sight. But the delivery lady brought us chips very quickly after that, and the food was delicious.

    The staff are always wonderful - I've stayed there 4 or 5 times since 2012. The hotel reminds me of the grandeur of the King David Hotel in Jerusalem, but on a smaller scale; except for the Bar, which is 4 times the size of that in the King David, and MUCH more prominent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.6
    A charming grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A beautiful classic grand hotel, perfectly located at the city gate of Valletta. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2017. Very accomodating staff. Lovely bed, room service twice a day. Valet parking on the ground. Call ahead for instructions if driving there, if not, it is easy to get lost and wrongly end up in the multi storey parking house nearby. We usually walked the 100 meters across the piazza into Valletta to dine, but we had drinks outdoors on the hotel terrace a sunny afternoon, and one evening we enjoyed an informal dinner in the Cafe Phoenicia.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: