Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Méridien St Julian's Hotel and Spa 5 stars

39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, STJ 1017 St Julian's, Malta

#11 of 33 hotels in St Julian's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1000 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    The egg station at breakfast was an amazing addition to what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The egg station at breakfast was an amazing addition to what was already a really good breakfast selection for a hotel. The pool on the roof is superb, and so is the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Large room, beautiful spa, supportive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My request for opening sofa bed was not arranged. Hot water was not flowing well from the tap at the bath in the room.

    Large room, beautiful spa, supportive staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Great overall stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great but if you want to visit a great Maltese beach you need a car or boat.

    The confort of the bed, the rooftop pool, the Spa massages they offer, the staff (Kevin was awesome, he took very good care of us!) and the complimentary services they granted us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    We definitely recommend the hotel to anyone whom needs a relaxed break and to be treated like a king
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable. Very relaxed atmosphere and breakfast was superb especially the omlette. Food was delicious and fresh.The staff has prepared a nice surprise as we were celebrating our anniversary!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    I had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We came back to the hotel in the afternoon one day and found our door unlocked (the U-lock was jammed to that the door wouldn't fully close). There were signs that someone had come in but the room wasn't fully cleaned so perhaps the cleaning person came for a moment and left it unlocked in order to come back... we had all valuables on us or in the safe so fortunately nothing was stolen, but to have the door unlocked and unattended did kind of make us worry. Also, it would have been nicer if the toilet had a fan to ventilate.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge helped as get reservations at nice restaurants nearby and they got us really nice seats on the balcony. The bed was super comfortable. Made me want to take the bed home! Great location. There were bus stops nearby so it was easy to access Valetta. Many cafes nearby were open early morning so we had breakfast there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I have never stayed in a hotel with such friendly and helpful staff! And I have been in many hotels over the years. Every staff member was very helpful and cheerful. All the time!! Impressed that the General Manager walked around twice a day, and spoke to every guest. What a nice man!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Fab beds/ quiet rooms/ good facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inability to serve my requested drink on 7 out of 10 mornings. I shouldn’t have to ask 2 or 3 times when you asked me what I wanted in the first place.

    Indoor & outdoor pools. Spa area. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel ina good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The housekeeping was poor. Some days we had missing towels, bathrobes, bath matt, coffee. Random every day. Another day they forgot the dirty laundry. For a week they never changed the sheets. Poor overall in an otherwise great hotel.

    Large room and pool area was never too busy. So much roof space if you want privacy in the sun. The location was close to bars and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    It was a good experience and it was worth referring other people to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for the replenishment of water and ammenities such as soap on a few occasions where I would have thought that the cleaning staff would attend to this on a daily basis.

    Location was good, staff were very friendly but I thought that the price of food and drink within the hotel was a bit expensive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could be more sound proof. You either have a view of the car park where you face noise from cars pulling in and out early morning or the sea view which is obviously most beautiful but noise from restaurants on the promenade right below. Pros and cons to everything but at least sea view makes up for the noise :-) SPA treatments for specialist Ayurvedic massages were great but need more therapists also, for pedicures in particular, as the spa is so popular that its most often fully booked and you need to book days in advance. The decor of indoor pool could be more relaxing - the green light is a bit awkward. There could be more natural light/windows in the gym too as felt a bit dark.

    5 star service from lovely staff - each and every member! The hotel really does think about all the little details that will make your trip more comfortable from your room to your experience around the hotel. The lobby smells amazing, like a spa, made me feel relaxed every time I came in. In fact the entire hotel is spotless. Comfortable mattress with two types of pillow, two soft and two harder ones. Complementary vanity products were good quality and water pressure was perfect. Breakfast is good and varied, the raisin croissants were the best, the hash browns were delicious and you could order one properly handcrafted coffee per person each morning. They even had soya milk and goats cheese which I loved as alternatives to cows milk. They played relaxing music at breakfast and sat families with children in breakfast suits away from adult only visitors - genius! Places I was guaranteed a tranquil relaxing time: breakfast, my seaview balcony, the roof top pool and its huge sun deck lounge. The sauna was also good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just fine!!!

    Awesome place! Service-minded staff, always polite, taking care for the guest's comfort! Comfortable, cozy and spacious rooms!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Central, clean, large comfortable rooms and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the air circulation in breakfast room is inadequate and you leave the place smelling of cooking. The omelettes were mostly greasy and with black specks. On some days the fruit (cut pineapple and grapefruit) was off. There is a high demand for fresh orange juice and only one juicer.

    Central, clean, large comfortable rooms and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Good accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change room because of some issies but the staff moved us and everything was ok.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Clean!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Perfect spot for families with small kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to call few times to room service to fill up our in room tea, milk, shower gel. However once called they were very quick and helpful.

    Professional staff Good concierge Fantastic room Complimentary wine from manager for 2 days Complimentary water bottles during thevstay Location was so prime and perfect for everything Rooftop pool with free towels etc Beach just across the road Hopon hopoff buses and all other buses just across the road. Just 10 min walk from Sliema ferries. Taxi service feom hotel Many other facilities in the property Brilliant breakfast and very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice view, very comfortable bed, good air-conditioning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 5 star property, does not have that vibe and it is extremely expensive for what the value is. Pool is tiny and the pool area was super crowded. Everything but relaxing.

    Nice view, very comfortable bed, good air-conditioning, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Someone else’s fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pool area or shade for a roof pool and sunbathing area. Especially for such a large hotel. Noisy neighbours at 3am 3 nights in a row. Sea view balconies lots of road noise. Beach upgrade with. Large crane working 10 hours a day didn’t help relaxation. Hotel being run down before upgrade to a Marriott

    Staff very good and spa excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the fact we couldn't get a seat anywhere near the pool - we were told you need to come down early and put your towel out which is crazy. maybe guests should be issued with a 2 hour slot?

    This is a lovely hotel great facilities and lovely spa and gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Malta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the room was tiny, especially considering how spacious the room and bathroom are. The shower pressure wasn't very powerful. There was a street festival the weekend we stayed so there were fireworks and music every night. It was fun to watch from the balcony until we wanted to sleep where the noise was slightly disruptive.

    The hotel room and bathroom was very spacious and comfortable. We paid for a room with a view of the bay and it was totally worth it - the view was incredible. The staff were extremely polite and professional at all times. Breakfast had a good selection of food. Very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Best Hotel in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Con is cold but not freezing , no real issues tho

    If you look at the details in the rooms , they have thought of everything you need to have an amazing holiday .staff are so helpful and friendly too . The staff and atmosphere make it feel so good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very simple and didn't feel luxurious. I was a bit disappointed compared to other hotels in Malta (Gozo). The outdoor pool was small and old but it was pleasant to stay in the water. Not enough sunbeds though.

    The hotel was kind enough to upgrade our room . Breakfast selection was very good. To improve it further I'd suggest to add fish selection(e.g. salmon). The indoor pool was quiet and pleasant to be in. Love the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish the roof top pool stayed open later. It closed rather early in the evening.

    Incredibly helpful staff at check in and at the concierge. The breakfasts were delicious, and the views from the rooms and roof top pools were stunning. The indoor pool was also beautiful and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Would always come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really to complain, although the outside pool was quite small and kind of overcrowded

    Beds were extra comfy, size of the room was great for three people. I liked that the toilet was in a different room than the showers. Breakfast was perfect, staff very helpful, quick in responding and friendly. Perfect location for public transport. The spa area and inside pool like in another world. Very calm and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel staff was amazing, very helpful, professional and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an organized tour and there was some misunderstanding of how to proceed after the pickup. Make sure that if you book a tour you get more information of all logistics then “you just go and pay there”.

    Hotel staff was amazing, very helpful, professional and nice. We have picked this hotel for our honeymoon, and could not make a better choice. It’s a luxury place in a good neighborhood. Close enough to restaurants and bars, although their own restaurant has DELICIOUS food. We had an amazing view, as newlywed we were welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine and some chocolates. Small thing for the hotel, but for us it was a true start of a new life. It’s worth to plan your time to not only visit Malta but also have a rest at the hotel itself. Rooftop pool, SPA (great massages for couples), etc. and they will expand their offer from what we were told :) It is a bit more expensive choice for holidays, but I must say, that money was well spent. Plus if you decide to visit Malta out of main season you can get a better deal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Quality time in St Julian's
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant experience didn't meet our expectations, but the manager apologized in a good way. It must be said, that when something goes wrong, they do their best to solve the problem.

    The hotel is in St. Julian's, for us the place to be. Lots of things to do, a lot of things can be reached by foot. This year we even rented a bike which was very nice. Swimmingpool was still on the roof, but that will change next year. Food and service in swimming pool were splendid. Great size room, seaview is breathtaking. Amenities in bathroom smell very nice. The breakfast buffet was very good. High quality and lots to chose from. Very good and fresh fruit, the regional pastizi with pea-filling, eggs just the way you prefer them freshly made for you. Very friendly staff. Overall very good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Loved the location of this hotel, you can walk the promenade...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location of this hotel, you can walk the promenade either direction to Paceville (St Georges Bay) and to Sliema. Great restaurants and cafes nearby and bus stop also close by. Highly recommend a stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Front staffs were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet smelled funny(offensive odor of urine...)! Room clean service was very poor.Dust cloth was left at our room. And cleaning staffs forgot to supply free water(2 bottles / day). Location is a little bid far far from center of St Julian. There is not many nice restaurants around the hotel. And this hotel is not "ocean" view but "bay" view. To be honest,I think that this hotel is not 5 stars hotel. Staying Hilton is much better way I think.

    Front staffs were very helpful and friendly. Concierge helped us very much. For breakfast,Squeezed orange juice and omelette was very good! Location was nearby bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff are always well mannered and vert attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the last 7 months, we have stayed @ the hotel for 15 nights (and we have also paid for another 19 nights for this period) but never received any upgrade

    The staff are always well mannered and vert attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Overall we had a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bedroom toilet was a little cramped especially when you take the space allocated to the bathroom into consideration.

    Expansive bedroom with wonderful balcony sea view, friendly staff who were always willing to help and stop and chat, including the general manager. The outdoor pool was also relaxing and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    After visiting Malta for thirty plus years it was as always enjoyable, will use the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not of good quality. The gym was a bit gloomy, but adequate,.

    Location, airiness of the rooms and public spaces, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, the food was delicious and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    good location, but the troubles i have now with the money blocked who knows where does not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    although was written no payment in advance , the money were deducted from the card just next day. When i checked in they required the same card which i used to make the booking and as i did not have it i had to use another card. So they deducted money from the 2nd card also. I was told a refund was make for the 1st card, its been 5 days and i still did not get those money refunded, so at this moment i paid that hotel 2 times. The standard double rooms dont have sea view

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good. It's a great hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee was always cold and not that good. I would prefer to use a coffee machine that dispenses ground coffee similar to the executive lounge. Bacon and sausage's were low quality. Breakfast is £16 euros and should be better quality. I would probably dine out for breakfast if I used Le Meridien again.

    Most things. The staff, the omelette, bread and fresh fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in st julian s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration is a bit dull but perfect for warm days

    Very spacious room, comfortable bed and pillows, lovely staff, tasty room service, good location, 2 pools, good sun deck, breakfast buffet with plenty of choice, fully functioning a/c

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable. Excellent base to explore Malta. High standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outside of the pool not a lot for kids to do. This hotel is perfect for a couple looking for a nice short break.

    Nice hotel. Had stayed there about seven years ago. Good location to explore Malta. Plenty of dining options near the hotel. Good public transport connection (bus) to Valetta. Excellent breakfast. Very good quality rooms. Indoor and outdoor (roof) swimming pools. Kid friendly but important to keep your kids undersupervision not to inconvenience older visitors. Very helpful staff in reception and concierge and breakfast room (thanks Elena :) ).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    A modern island in a medieval island
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclear inconsistent pricing for breakfast (different from info received at reception). USB charger socket did not work in room. Bathroom design not well thought through (only head shower in shower cabin, very badly laid out toilet). Toilet entrance at the head of the bed - overnight flushing surely wakes up your spouse...

    Very kind staff. Excellent location. Nice to feel the attention - little chocolates, a bottle of wine, fresh bottles of water - this was really nice! Good food at breakfast. Pools, gym are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely neighbourhood, good buffet breakfast, nice local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Convenient bus route which was fine on weekdays, but very busy on the weekends. Buses came past totally full so we didn't get to see as much of Malta as we had hoped. Consider hiring a car if you want to see more of the island.

    Lovely neighbourhood, good buffet breakfast, nice local restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable room, great location and the staff are...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the Villa restaurant was closed for refurbishment, we were looking forward to dinning there.

    Very comfortable room, great location and the staff are excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall good but could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -You had to squeeze out your own orange juice at breakfast -Ironing board was too small -No sockets near the bed for charging

    Good choice of breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel Le Meridien St Julian's is a top-five star place!!Dear Kevin,i would like to thank you for the stay At very nice perfect Room See view..the serwisu was exellent,Room tidy,Room serwice on time,And for the rest of the hotel was beautifuul ..will definitly recommend it to enyone comingfor holiday or bussnes trip to Malta ..Best regards Izabella Ps.thank you Kevin Sharp(front desk supervisor and dear Silvia Pappalardo (front office manager)you make my stay excellent!higlly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Inside and outside pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool is not available to under 16s between mid-day and 6pm. This is not clear in the web-site. Roof top outside pool can be windy.

    Inside and outside pool. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.5
    I enjoyed seriousness the staff approached it's work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I enjoyed seriousness the staff approached it's work. Perhaps stopping bar at 01.oo wasn't the best thing for chess lovers like us who have a drink in late hours too :) All in all, well done, may consider coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    I am a regular customer at the Meridien.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not have a view, but the space compensated for that.

    I am a regular customer at the Meridien. The staff are very professional and efficient. The check-in process is quick and straightforward. They couldn't upgrade my room to a sea view room so they gave me a very spacious room with separate living space and second bathroom. The room service was very efficient. Dinner at the Taro was great as usual. The staff is very attentive and remember your preferences. Attention to details.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    All perfect !
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All perfect !! View was killing:)from higher floor ,nice staff at reception, atenttive and reactive,the only uncomfortable think for me was to wait two weeks for my deposit back.As not all guests are milionaires so in my case I needed this funds.But for sure I will came back here:) Best wishes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, great location overlooking the bay, large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel, great location overlooking the bay, large clean comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Did not use the spa but friends did and were very impressed. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Location comfort and view.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is insanely overpriced. Wifi is terrible. Rooftop bar was open only on one day during our stay.

    Location comfort and view. Some staff were fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel but airconditionng needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon didn’t cool the room enough for me. Yes I’m from England and used to sleeping in cool temperatures. But I’ve never had this problem before with a Hotel with air conditioning. The aircon controller was a bit dated and you couldn’t even set the temperature you wanted. It just meant i woke up every night and found it difficult getting back to sleep. The touch-pad button to select the floor you want on the lift was ridiculous! Every time you selected the floor you wanted it would select a different floor. This needs sorting out

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Overall a nice hotel in a good location. Nice view from my room and comfy bed. When i asked for extra pillows they were delivered promptly. Room very clean. Tea and coffee facilities. The gym facilities very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    I was slightly annoyed that the facial I had cost me €100,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was slightly annoyed that the facial I had cost me €100, for a 45 min jasmine facial. When I looked in the brochure the same facial was for 85 minutes! So I feel slightly let down

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel stay in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, enjoyed this hotel very much.

    Great breakfast. Helpful staff all throughout hotel Comfortable room Good Cocktails at the bar Pool and sauna area is nicely appointed Balcony to the room overlooking the bay was a nice spot to sit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    Poor for a lot of money, we went to hotel Hilton after this stay straight awway for additional days
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, very dark, old design, at booking com is hotel presented by fake pictures, hotel looks different ordinary, bad views, also from terraces at the recetion again very dark overall feeling, only bright side very friendly staff well trained

    Staff really professional and friendly also at spa

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    I was looking for a 5* experience but was disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not have a 5* feel from the foyer to bedrooms. Very disappointed.Decor very dated ,dressing gowns in bedroom were threadbare. Beds uncomfortable and pillows bad quality.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean. Complimentery water in room. WiFi good. Location ,views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Good hotel for a superior stay on Malta
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably not the cheapest hotel, but prices are OK for this class of hotel. Only thing I missed was an inexpensive airport shuttle by the hotel. You have to take a taxi for Euros 21.-/one way.

    Relaxing place to stay. The breakfast buffet is above normal standart. Beds are very comfy and the rooms are bigger than usual.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Best hotel, worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very welcoming, the service offered by everyone there is excellent. We only stayed there for the weekend and we truly enjoyed ourselves. The room we had was very spacious, everything was clean and tidy. They have free parking and also can access the spa freely. We were given a free wine on Saturday which was truly a nice gesture. We felt very pampered, comfortable and treated like royalty. It was the perfect weekend break we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    That wasn't my first stay at the Meridien.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was good.

    That wasn't my first stay at the Meridien. The room was on the 11th floor and enjoyed great views of Balluta Bay. There was a small balcony with a table and chair perfect to enjoy the sunshine. The dinner at the Taro was excellent and the staff very professional. I really enjoyed the spa and the range of treatments offered is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable stay with beautiful views. Will definitely be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I felt the breakfsat could have been better

    The location of the hotel was amazing. As you drive into Saint Julians you're greeted by scenic views of the water, surrounding restaurants & shops and other picturesque buildings. It's beautiful. The hotel itself was very easy to find via bus due to the helpful directions on the hotels website. Upon arrival I was particularly impressed with the greeting from the hotel staff and instructions for checking in. When I told the man on reception that my partner was going to be celebrating her birthday he gave us a free breakfast which I thought was amazing service. Our room was great: very spacious with great bathroom. The highlight for me was the balcony: overlooking the bay area. It looked amazing in the day and even better at night. The breakfast was decent; not the best i've ever eaten but far from poor. Another highlight of the hotel for me was the spa and swimming pool. The pool area is really well designed, spacious with a sauna, steam room and multiple jacuzzis. I can honestly say it's one of the nicest pool areas I've been too. The gym facilities were also very good, some of the best I've seen on offer inside a hotel. The rooftop pool was also very nice. I didn't get to use it as it wasn't warm enough but I can only imagine how nice it would be in warmer weather!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    This was a terrific place to stay generally- amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering we were in low season I was surprised that it cost a bit much, but I’m being very picky!

    This was a terrific place to stay generally- amazing and hard working staff, superb location, very comfortable and spacious rooms, bath and shower, we had a brilliant time! The mark of a good hotel is when it responds to problems quickly and efficiently and they only had one slight issue which was rectified above expectations!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall great stay, but you would expect better cleaning QC from a hotel like this
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon checking, we noted that the room (501) had not been thoroughly cleaned. As the light shone through the window, you could see a layer of dust on the the tile floor. In the toilet room, there was a thick layer of dust on the ledges of the doors.

    Friendly staff, great location, nice spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel in superb location. Buses to Valetta just outside the door. Staff very attentive and friendly. Great facilities and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Quite a dull hotel in the winter !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As we were arriving by car at about 5pm.(car park was good) we arrived at floor zero where there is a sort of reception desk with no one on it, or sign to say were to go to. after 5 minutes wondering around looking for a sign a guest explained the reception was on the 3rd floor. to which went to and I must say its probably the first time we have arrived in such dull reception at charismas with no worm charismas vibe and not even offered a refreshment as a welcome. we asked if there was any arrangement for the NYE night to be told they would put something up in a day or so keep in mind it was the 27th December. anyway we never seen any sign or information advertising the night, could go on a lot more but don't think it would change much. Quite a dull hotel in the winter !

    Car park was free ! Room was great size !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    I had already been at the Meridien.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had already been at the Meridien. It was nice to see that thye take this in consideration and welcomed me back to the hotel. The checking process was also very quick as they already had all my details. My room was on the 7th floor was view on Balluta Bay. It was a big and comfortable room with a side balcony and front terrace which made the room very bright. The location is very convenient for public transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    It was okay but I would expect higher level of service in such hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff didn't clean our room every day because we slept until lunchtime... once we booked taxi to meeting and 20 minutes later when we came down to reception we found out that our request was "forgotten".

    bed was very comfortable, they have nice spa with sauna

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff in all areas of the hotel. The hotel was located close to a variety of restaurants and cafes. Easy 15 min walk to the ferry that takes you to Valetta old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Given the price and the supposed 5stars, you would expect a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the price and the supposed 5stars, you would expect a top clean room and facilities...which was not the case, all the more being welcomed with a scarecrow in the room. Will not stay here again. Staff is great though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable holiday but not truly a 5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning stafff took our pillow case that we brought with us and it was never located despite my wife phoning reception several times. The hotel gave us a free dinner as compensation but this was only after my wife complained a lot. At first the reception staff didn't seem to care that our personal property had been taken from the room. Also the food in the Longe bar was sometimes not hot, one time they forgot I had ordered a cocktail and another time we ordered room servioe and even though my wife said the burger needed to be well done (as she is pregnant), it was pink in some parts. The Villa restaurant was excellent though and the bistro was good too.

    Spa/swimming pool. Breakfast is very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Good Hotel but not an oustanding 5* experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleaners were very noisy above and in corridor, sound insulation poor, room was not cleaned at 1530 when we came back

    Good location, was offered upgrade, some reception staff were very kind, rich breakfast - excellent gym and sauna

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    A nice relaxing stay, and polite attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived around midday but had to wait until 2:45pm to check-in/go into our room

    Nice balcony, comfy bed, good shower, and nice to have separate toilet and bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    The room was spacious and very comfortable and enjoyed a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was spacious and very comfortable and enjoyed a nice view of Balluta Bay. The spa was wonderful and I really enjoyed the treatments. I also enjoyed dinner at the Taro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    The staff was extremely polite, especially the female waiter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that we didn’t like was the mini bar prices, as they are a bit overpriced (a energy drink €7) this also goes for the snacks.

    The staff was extremely polite, especially the female waiter on the 9th floor. She definitely deserves a big well done for her professionalism in her work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A totally fabulous family holiday in a tremendous hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault the hotel in any way!

    The sea views were spectacular and the location of the hotel superb! We travelled as a group of 5 with 3 in their eighties.....all of us loved the hotel and have already planned to return next year! Maybe we were lucky but the weather was full on sun in the mid to high 20's for the whole two weeks (last 2 in October). Breakfast gave an enormous choice and the quality of the food spectacular! Our special thanks go to our so friendly breakfast waiter Henry who seemed to make it his business to make everyone smile and have fun to start the day!!!! The club lounge access for early evening snacks and drinks was well worth that little extra even though we didnt use it at any other times!! ALL staff at the hotel were so amazingly helpful and friendly and another special mention must go to the guys on the concierge desk who sorted out lots of requests for us. A super hotel and well worth a visit!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Urban Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to call guest services too many times - room was not made up for 3, then only had 2 robes, then the hairdryer didn't work, then the sewing kit was not replenished in the drawer - more attention to detail required to ensure maximum comfort.

    Spa facilities and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I’m lucky enough to have stayed at some lovely hotels across Europe and North America but the meredian in Malta is probably my favourite! Attentive staff, lots of little extras, beautiful rooms, so clean, fantastic views! There was nothing to not love!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful time, and so hope to return next year for our Autumn Break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hill to the main entrance. A little steep if you have a heart condition, Otherwise everything was perfect.

    Room was spotless, with a lovely sea view and spacious. Any request was dealt with immediately and with a smile. Breakfast was amazing, the selection of foods was so vast, it was confusing. There is something for everyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.2
    Location and the bar staff are very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny toilet and leaned to one side although we had to go to the bathroom for the wash sink ! We ask and paid for large double bed and we got two twin put them together! First day check in Receptionist wasn’t very helpful after we have seen the room he told us that there wasn’t any rooms available !????? The Hotel should be 3 /4 star not 5

    Location and the bar staff are very friendly!! Also Henry at the breakfast made our mornings very pleasant !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful and relaxing. I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of going to Malta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed a full 7 nights at the hotel in mid September. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Malta. It has multiple amenities that can cater to the needs of any guest, from the gym, to the spa and the rooftop pool area. There is plenty of great places to eat around the hotel too from little lunch spots to grab a quick bite to eat to the more up scale restaurants if you want to go somewhere for a nice dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful/relaxing experience at end of September
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water from the top floor exterior pool is kind of cold. But we went to the seaside - this was one of our vacation's objective! So we did not miss out too much of not swimming in the respective pool.

    We stayed on the last week of Sept. It was a delightful experience! The food and drinks were great! The staff was friendly and offered us good info about what questions we had. Great times in Malta!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit expensive but the spread was brilliant and delicious

    The spa is brilliant, the staff are very friendly and the hotel is beautiful and well located

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would not stop me from staying at Le Meridian again but the air conditioning was a bit loud in the night. We had to choose between being too hot or a constant whirring sound. But like I said, Le Meridian scores highly for me in all other areas and it would not stop me coming back.

    The staff were extremely professional and attentive. I could not fault Le Meridian for service. We also received a free upgrade to a sea view room just as a nice treat which was lovely!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Le Méridien St Julian's Hotel and Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: