Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Luna Holiday Complex 3 stars

Marfa Road, MLH 9063 Mellieħa, Malta

#31 of 40 hotels in Mellieħa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 520 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought everything was great. The beds were a quite firm but that’s being picky. When reading other reviews on here I was concerned but we didn’t experience any negatives at all. Our towels were changed everyday, we had great service in the restaurant, enjoyed breakfast and had a fantastic time. Only slight inconvenience is no pool towels and you can’t use the room ones so bring your own with you.

    Rooms serviced each day, amazing rooftop pool and bar, awesome entertainment at night. We thought the location was handy, right next to the bus stop, around some great restaurants and very close to the beach. Staff were really helpful in booking some tours for us as well. We had a really fantastic stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.8
    Disaster !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book the hotel by booking, cleaning will be done once every four days. 😳 You do not have internet in the room only if you pay for it, and if you want an extra towel (no matter if it is for the room or for the pool) you pay it! There is no shampoo or shower gel in the room, except two soaps of the worst quality !!

    The location is good, close to the beach (sandy beach) ... because there, in Malta, are many stone beaches that you can not sit comfortably

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Very nice pool lounge at the rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms needs some improves (better Shower and toilet, couch and kitchen utilities for cleaning the dishes)

    The pool lounge at the rooftop, cleaning and staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Communication with the hotel prior to my arrival was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service only operated every second day, which meant that my towels could not be replaced. When I asked at the reception for an extra towel, they told me these were available in the mornings only. Also, the play machines available in the hotel's entertainment room were powered off most of the time without notice, which meant that the guests were throwing money in for their children and not availing of the rides. Furthermore, there wasn't enough staff at the reception desk (one in the morning at check-out, 2 at best during the day operating front desk and telephone reservations that included restaurant reservations), which meant long waits..

    Communication with the hotel prior to my arrival was excellent, they have arranged a cot in my room when they learnt that I was travelling with my baby. The staff at the reception desk were very busy, but nice and welcoming. Breakfast was really tasty and good value for money. The location was great, very close to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Good accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of wifi signal in our room, even though we payed for it. Permanent smell of cigarette smoke in our room. Poor bathroom facilities.

    Short distance to the beach. Amazing swimming pools, nice view from the rooftop. Tasteful meals. Short distance to the bus stations and supermarkets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice sorroundings not so great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was of poor quality. The bathroom door did not close (an employee came to fix it), the master bedroom was so small that the door could not open properly because the bed would not fix in it otherwise. The AC was noisy and there were no instructions in the room on how to handle different modes...also we had to share one AC control for the two bedrooms, very uncomfortable if you needed to change the temperature in the night, running from one bedroom to another. The hotel said they only give one per apartment, no matter if it has one or two rooms. One staff person was quite unfriendly, no smiling and looking bothered by our quesitions. Other staff personnel was nice but not quite knowing about the hotel or bus transportation needed.

    Very good location, if you value sandy beach and nice sea to swim. Quiet and nice area. Mini market at the hotel, watch out that Sundays opens only in the early morning! Nice roof swimming pool with view, although it closes as early at 6 pm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect Location for summer holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The side room for another couple (or children) was to us too small, not equal in comfort to the main room, with almost no day light and just 1 wardrobe (makes is complicated when staying for longer). Next time I would go for 2 double rooms rather than this. AC in this side room was not working properly. WIFI internet for additional fee in the hotel room (only the reception area free of charge) Well, this is a bit outdated, for quite a long time I ve not seen this even in 3-stars hotels. Bathroom was not cleaned the whole time during our stay (4 adults need to share 1 bathroom).

    We stayed in the room for 4 people, the main room living room was good, no issue there. The beds were comfy, very good matraces. The restaurant / lounge bar with pool and whirlpool on the roof was really cool, modern, unforgetable views, nice personal, all very clean, nice place to spend hours there. Location - 5 mins walk from the sandy beach and clean, no stones in the water, no dirt, very nice beach & sea. We liked it the most, compared to Golden Bay, Armiere, and Ramla Beach in Gozo Island). Bus stop - few meters from the hotel, both directions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Roof top poll was nice, also location is quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Electrical equipment such as oven, kettle is really old and dirty, there was no usual knife only bread one, there was nothing to take a shower(shampoo) and no dishwasher. Ceiling in bathroom is lower then me when I'm in bath trying to take a shower, so I need to do it somehow sitting or so, and I'm not so high(around 184cm)

    Roof top poll was nice, also location is quite good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Amazing rooftop pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel had great facilities and was just a 5 minute walk from the beach. Staff were helpful and polite, the room was clean - and to our surprise fully equipped with a small kitchenette so that you could make your own food if you wanted to. The crowning jewel is definitely the Sky Pool on the roof of the hotel - so lovely and wasn't even that busy, you could rock up anytime of the day and still get a pair of sunbeds next to each other.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is not at the same level as the rest of the room/hotel: shower fixed at 1.7m, inappropriate for a taller person, no ventilation system. The bathroom need major improvements.

    Good location. Good facilities: 2 restaurants, 1 mini market.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.5
    potential to be a nice place to stay but a complete disappointment - not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were dirty and weren't replaced when I requested. The Rooms didn't include basic essentials required to clean dishes (no cloth/scrubbing brush/dishwashing liquid). Advertised that wifi was available for free but this was only available in the lobby, paid for wifi which didn't work so wasted money on this too and pool towels weren't available unless you paid for them. Overall could have been a great place today but if you book through booking.com seems to be lots of additional costs and receive a second class service where they were trying to make money in anyway possible and not worried at all about customer experience.

    The rooftop pool was amazing! Such a nice pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing rooftop pool and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The bath/shower could be more modern.

    The rooftop pool lounge area was amazing, especially as it was for grown ups only. They had a second pool on ground floor for families. Nice restaurant for lunch and rooms are nice and spacious with a good kitchen. Very good location just a short walk from the beach. Also good location to travel to other beaches around the north of Malta with bus or taxi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is situated on very good place, in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I would like to point out that there was no free Wi-Fi in the hotel room.

    The hotel is situated on very good place, in the neighbourhood of many restaurants, few meters from bus stop to Valletta and few hundred meters from beach. The staff is really nice and they are willing to fulfil all your wishes. Also the continental breakfast served is delicious and very rich.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel was very good - clean with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of hot and cold food. Great views from the roof-top bar and pool. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel lovely island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room wasn’t the best as we were only on the first floor so didn’t use the balcony as it didn’t feel very private.

    All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The public areas (swimming pools, restaurants, bar etc) were lovely, modern,clean, perfect! I especially loved the roof top pool and jacuzzi :) the bus stop was only a minute away giving you easy accesss to anywhere on the island.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 5 night stay received clean towels just once Cleaners came in morning on sat to clean out room when we were checking out 3am Sunday morning, seemed a little redundant.

    Close to nice restaurants and bus stop if you wanted to head out of Melliha Friendly staff Nice roof top pool and the food was better than expected!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    If you charge around 25€ a week for wifi in 2018, then it has to be realy fast and reliable, this is not the case, in the room it was barely working, and in the evening, when obviously more people are connected to the wifi, it was not working at all. This was quite a waste of money, but I will be honest, I did not take the effort to complain about it. So as a tip: first test the wifi for one day only before buying it for a week, maybe some rooms have better connection than others.. The beds are quite hard, spring matresses, but that's a personal opinion.

    The staff was realy friendly, always ready to help. The breakfast was nice, the rooms very clean and spacy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the live music on the roof of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The bathroom and toilet facilites were inconvenient. Once there was a huge dead cock-roach near the bathroom door.

    We enjoyed the live music on the roof of the hotel. The staff was friendly and efficient. Good location next to the Ghadira beach. Not far from the ferry station and Popeye village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Outdated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was absolutely awful, incredibly uncomfortable and the pillows were ancient. Fan in the room made a very annoying noise when running and the room as a whole seemed very outdated.

    The sky lounge was amazing, food was nice and staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    What a wonderful 1st visit to Malta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not really the hotels fault but a number of mature guests with no children chose to stay around the childrens pool and then grumble if they got wet or it got noisy. There is a beautiful peaceful pool and bar area on the roof which has stunning views and very comfortable beds. And is ADULT only!!!

    What a wonderful 1st visit to Malta. Chose the Luna because of location to sandy beach. All staff were lovely especially Claire it the Twilight Lounge. The food was great and the childrens pool being in the shade part of the day was a bonus as it was so hot and didn't worry as much about children burning. We stayed in one of the new Superior family apartments and at 1st wasn't sure about having to walk out the back of hotel and into a separate block but was rewarded with a very modern clean 2 bedroom apartment. (With full size cooker!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Good, but not the best for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music in the courtyard till around 11pm. Price for the room due to the facilities we had compared to other hotels.

    Staff were informative. Onsite store. Spacious. Rooftop pool was nice. Good location to travel to Gozo (if using a car).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing and nothing to do with the description-no free wifi,housekeeping,air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no free wifi in the room, no housekeeping, no air conditioner. When we asked at the reception we were told that if you book via booking or other agency you don't get all of the mentioned. For 4-night stay they didn't clean the room... not even once, nor took out the trash. All we got was fresh towels once... The room was facing the main road, which is very close to the hotel and it was noisy. We had mosquitos in the room and when we asked for mosquito liquid vaporizer at the reception, they told us to go and buy one from the store. Very disappointing and nothing to do with the description in booking.com... Definitely won't be staying there when we go back to Malta!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Very very nice and friendly personal for that 10++
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where you see hotel dont leaved shampoon for people ? If not drinking water why make money from people for water bottle. Just sell 5l for 8€ its much better . Simple problem with one i see first time

    Very very nice and friendly personal for that 10++

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though the cleaners were great and always left rooms spotless it would have been to have a do not disturb sign as we were told 9-3 the cleaners could arrive and there was one particular day we just needed a long lay in and not have to worry about being ready for the cleaners

    Rooftop pool! The Sky lounge bar! The penthouse room we had exceeded expectations! Nice big balcony over looking the sea. Such reasonable price too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    In general hotel was nice, worth its money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1) Big swimming pool was cold. Luckily water i a smaller jacuzzi was warmer. 2) no shampoon or washing gel in the bathroom, just 2 small pieces of soap.

    The location (bus stop, beach, shops and restaurants nearby ), size of the rooms, kitchen. And we enjoyed its great roof with sea view and 2 swimming pools and bar, child-free! There is a family swimming zone downstairs, its nice too, and we really enjoyed peace there and selection in the roof bar!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was very dark and bad ventilated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very dark and bad ventilated and notwithstanding my request to change with another one they found excuses not to do it also after we've waited the end of the weekend. Fried stink was coming in through the bathroom little window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    My partners fist time in Malta. Great place to stay,in a great village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could have done with a microwave multi cooker,instead of the small grill type in room.

    The room was spotless. Room service,towel,ironing equipment,etc., very prompt. Check in and out, very smooth.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    It was a comfortable stay, the room, location and hotel facilities were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free wifi only in the lobby area. The location was good and calm but a little far if you plan to do sightseeing around the island using public transport.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The kitchen facility was good. The supermarket below the hotel sold the essentials. The restaurant on site was good. Our room had a nice seaview.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    Staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far way from everything The pool has no sun, the hotel covers with shadow. Cleaning could be better (the kettle was disgusting) They don't provide cot bed for babies. Rooftop pool was close and we just got the information on check in day.

    Staff was nice Comfortable bed Few restaurants and 2 mini market nearby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good value and good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could do with more things to do. Would be good to update the games room, etc., as we were unable to play on the pool table because it was ruined

    The room was large and airy with a good view of the sea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    I had a wonderful stay in these apartments and would highly recommend them
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I stayed in a studio apartment with a roadside view I didn't encounter any trouble with noise the apartment was spotlessly clean kitchen facilities were adequate the onsite supermarket had everything you need and prices were reasonable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and pleasant stay which served my requirements in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower size and water pressure.I would also recommend anyone to get shower temperature set before entering shower.Hot water is extremely HOT!!

    This accommodation served the purpose of my visit entirely.I would use it again traveling alone.Reasonable priced accommodation and in hotel services.Close to beach and local amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Basic accommodation at a high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy - doors were not soundproof, beds old and not comfortable, bed smell in the bathroom, clogged sink (lavabo and shower)- personal did not repair it even after several requests, restaurant with food of low quality.

    10 minutes of walk to the most beautiful beach of Malta, helpful staff in the reception, mini supermarket in the hotel, some rooms with sea view, air conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom could be a bit more cleaner I would prefer shower instead of bath

    comfortable bed amazing staff at the reception good location, close to the beach, shop in the hotel, a few restaurants around nice, well equiped rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean apartment overlooking the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paying for wifi in the room on 2 devices and then somtimes proving difficult to switch between devices. There was no oven dish in the kitchen.

    Nice clean apartment overlooking the ocean. Helpful and friendly staff. Good amenties on site. Lots of good restaurants in the vicinity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    In general it was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment could have been cleaner, there were some hair in the shower when we arrived! And the floor was dusty..The bellboy was totally not helpful and we carried our luggage 2 floors up from stairs alone as 2 girls and he was smiling from back of us without any help offer! There was no elevator! The sea view from the apartment was OK but relatively covered with other blocks at the front site.. The kitchen was without detergent and a sponge, I think that is not expensive at all to put these stuff there! What I suggest is never ever get a tour to Goza and ext. from the responsible person there; We bought a tour to Goza and Comino via "suggestion" of Susan! First of all, it was pretty though to communicate with Susan and then we realized that she had no idea at all from any tours and she was just reading the leaflets to us.. Asking her was lost of time and energy! At the end, we go to a tour from Extreme Cruises and it was a total disappointment, we had no time in anywhere- everything was delayed from the beginning on- it was a very bad day at the end! Still, in general it was a good stay at Luna Holiday Complex!

    The beds were really comfortable and it was a very big apartment! The location of the hotel was really good and close to bus station!! The receptionists were really helpful and smiling!! The roof top pool was amazing but it was closing at 7 pm, that was sad!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    The staff is very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    You have to pay for the WiFi in your room and for the use of the safe in the room. Our room was facing the street: there is no double glass on the window, so it is very difficult to sleep during the night because of the noise.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful! The pizza of the inner restaurant is delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.7
    We had a nice stay. However the schedule of the pools is a big business opportunity wasted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was too dark and the TV didn't work. The toilet had some problems with the flushing, the pressure of the shower was very soft and no hairdryer was provided although booking says it is. There was a broom in the bathroom for usual cleaning that we weren't able to use because it was filthy (hair, etc.). Don't expect to make much use of any pool unless you wake up by the sunrise. Unfortunately there are not many pool chairs and people "mark" them using their bath towels. Prepare yourself to wake up early if you want to enjoy the pools! Besides, we were surprised when we found out that the main pool closes at 5 pm and the nicest one, the rooftop pool with an amazing view to enjoy the sunset closes at 7 pm.

    The room was pleasant provided with air conditioning and a fan that helped us to live under the August 40ºC. Besides, it also had all the commodities needed to cook. Staff was kind and helpful. Very good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Basic hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The thermostat controls had no markings making it difficult to set. The information we got from the hotel on traveling to Gozo was misleading.

    The location is quite good, within walking distance of the beach and several nice restaurants. The on-site shop is also quite nice. The roof-top pool is also quite nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice place for 1 week holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    no free internet in the room, lack of salt and pepper in the appartment, UK guests in white socks on the pool :)

    clear, close to the beach, silent place, good not expensive restaurants, 2 pools, mall very close

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location close to sandy beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Balcony quite small, looking at children's pool, no sun, so swimsuits not drying. The old fashioned soap shelf in the shower is not convenient to put normal sized shampoo and soap bottles, so you have to put everything on the floor. Pools are quite small. My friend arrived earlier and the check-in experience was a bit messy, the male receptionist asked for the passport of the other person (me) who didn't arrive yet and my friend had to pay the whole amount immediately even though she couldn't get into our room at 14.00 as promised, but only after 15.00 after asking and reminding a few times. Also it seemed quite complicated to charge e.g. restaurant expenses to your room, so we paid everything cash directly all the time.

    Quite spacious apartment, close to sandy (small/crowded) beach and a few nice restaurants. Boat excursion trips (Oh Yeah Malta) also very close by. Shower possibilities after you have checked out (at 11.00). Female receptionist very kind and helpful, also the ladies of the Star team in pink shirt were very helpful. Contact via hotel or directly with a good taxi service (Xuereb).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Great hotel but only if you have room with the higher...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel but only if you have room with the higher standard, so if you booking one - pay little bit more and enjoy your stay at this hotel. Staff were great and helpful. My room was booked in via booking.com and it was standard one - which means only one bath towel for whole stay in hotel and you're responsible to clean the room by yourself. Bathroom was small and the smell was bad. Bed wasn't very comfy apart from that everything else was perfect. Fully working air conditioning, desk+small tv, wardrobe+dinning table+own kitchen in the room. We haven't use the kitchen because hotel restaurant were great. My room number was 3101 that's a shame no one ask me ''how is the room?'' and did not offer me better one. If somebody would ask me the question at the time ''would you like to upgrade standard room for mid-standard or premium room?'' I would agree to that straight away even if that would cost extra 100+ Euros...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Average. reasonable request declined. Complaint not fully addressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 9 nights. Our stay was ok in the Luna. I could not rate it any better than average for a number of reasons. To start with the positives - the complex is clean and the staff in general were friendly. Its location next to the excellent melilha bay beach is a major plus and it is a very child friendly holiday complex. Its quiet at night. We had 1 significant (for us) issue whilst staying there. We requested extra bed sheets as the two we were given were coming off the matress leaving us exposed at night to the mattress which was unpleasant. We thought to request two extra sheets would be a simple and reasonable request however we were met with agression and outright rejection from the night receptionist which was frankly unacceptable and surprising and very much unwarranted. I complained the following day to the friendly F&B Manager who assured us that the issue would be resolved and he used the words "compensation" with regard to appeasing us. We received extra bed sheets that day, however, on the next room clean, a day later, the extra sheets were taken away. I can only summise that this was due to poor communication with housekeeping and so we were back with the same issue. We didnt bother persuing it again. No effort was subsequently made to "compensate" us as had been promised and again we didnt bother persuing this either. Our complant was simply that its unnacceptable to be told there are no extra sheets and to be told in the manner in which we were and also that ultimately our complaint was never addressed and promised "compensation" was never forthcomming. Other than this, our stay was ok in the Complex, nothing special. There is no air con in the lobby making it very hot and humid. Wifi costs extra to have in your bedroom. The food was average and moderatly priced. For families and those on a budget i would recommmend. Also for those seeking beach time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In a very quite area if you need to party or find bars to spend the night A part from that all perfect

    Good location to see another side of the island Ix-Xatba Restaurant must be visited, food was divine (less than one minute from the Complex) Rebekah's Restaurant, less than 10 minutes away by bus, was great. Venue so beautiful Fish lovers you can't miss both restaurants, trust me!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    A good hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to of had a table on the balcony to sit out in the evening and no wine glasses were in the room, you only get free WiFi if you book direct with Luna?

    Friendly staff cleanliness of the hotel was excellent nice food very relaxing. Room had a lovely Sea view, two pools, just a very nice hotel, would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    I really recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was very nice and helpful! room was clean and had all needed facilities (fridge, kettle, microwave, tv). the pool could be open longer, however the beach is 5 min walking so it wasn't so important:) . very good location - near the bus station. there is a market in the hotel but there are also other shops near the hotel. during my stay there was a very nice life concert in the pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value and location. Plenty of familes there but we didn't hear any noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress and pillows, hard mattress and odd pillows. Not at all comfortable. If I'd have stayed any longer than 4 nights I would have needed better sleeping arrangements

    The room was nice and clean, great space, the view was lovely of the bay, although there is building work in front but I'm sure it won't hinder the view too much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    Not a very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool was very small Breakfast was very expensive and not tasty (not too varied also) Bed sheets were changed only once during our 7 nights stay Room was cleaned only once, and not properly - sand was still on the couch after the cleaning Towels were changed only twice during our 7 nights stay Checkout at 11 am and we could not extend our stay for a few hours The fridge made a lot of noise The traffic noise from outside was also quite loud TV was very small No air conditioned in the lobby, but quite the opposite (too powerful AC!) in the cafeteria The showers by the pool were stifled In the room there were separate taps for cold and hot water - impossible to mix The hot water tap was not working properly and hot water kept flowing continuously throughout our stay The shower head was spreading water all over the place All in all, they could have done better for the money :-(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    No Jewel in the Crown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    kitchenette had no dishcloth or liquid if you cooked you could clean properly. Towels were small and thin. TV quality poor. No laundry facilities for short stay. You had to hire most things eg beach towel hairdryer etc.

    The poll and facilities are good. Close to the ocean beaches and public transport gird by. Staff were good and the activities people helpful in organising things to to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Amazing for a 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff and great facilities for a 3 star: 2 swimming pools, 3 restaurants and bars, comfy rooms and a convenient mini market in house. Location is great and well connected by bus routes to all the major tourist attractions. Tryed a few beaches and Mellieha Bay was definitely the best. I would definitely come back to this apart hotel in self catering, which gives you the freedom to do what you want in the best location for a fantastic price!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Loved Luna!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep in mind the rooms are only serviced if you request it! And the only included toiletries are soap bars. But for the price and style, it is perfection!

    Luna is in the perfect location, right next to the Luna bus stop, a 2 minute walk from shops and restaurants and only 5 minutes to the beach! The staff (especially Diane at the front desk) were so friendly and always super helpful. The airline delayed our bags and Diane did everything she could to help. The rooms are spacious and spotless - amazing air conditioning and we had a beautiful view of the pool! Simple, with everything you need! Will stay again and would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Helpful staff, pleasant rooftop pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Labourious check-in process (need to be patient), view from balcony in block 5 (but there's nothing they can really do about that)

    Staff were friendly and helpful, rooftop pool was v pleasant, some pleasant restaurants and bar nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    4.6
    Location is perfect, close to beach, and good entertainment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 5 days we were there, no cleaning service was provided. Towels were changed only once in two days. In the kitchen no washing gel and towels provided. INTERNET IS EXTRA CHARGE!

    Location is perfect, close to beach, and good entertainment options. Good restaurants around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Beds are comfortable, except the extra bed which was very hard. Nice with kitchenfacilities, though a few common things was needed. Missed a little more day-room conecting the small terrace, it would have been nice with the tv in the day-room, rather it was in the kitchen/entrance area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic for the price and great for a family of four on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con drips water occasionally, and toilet flooded once, which was in previous reviews but quickly resolved by staff. Double bed was two singles put together with a sheet.

    Location was excellent as only a few minutes walk to the best beach in Malta. Room was very large, clean and better than expected for the price so great value for money. No bugs or anything squeamish at all. Staff were very helpful.....Lorraine. I recommend that you hire a car to see the whole island. I would definitely use them again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent place from which to enjoy the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male staff could've been friendlier a bit more info about the island culture would've helped e.g. restaurants close around 2-3 pm until 5-6pm. More verbal info about their own amenities would've been helpful. We just stumbled upon all the things they offer!

    Great facilities - two pools, 3 restaurants, affordable supermarket underneath, good beaches a short walk away, on a main bus route, lots of lifts, great view from flat and they'll look after your luggage for free on your last day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing place
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not comfortable at all because it cannot be detached from the wall especially if you do not wish to wash your hair or wash young children that are afraid if water in their faces. Also the pools sunbeds does not have a mattress on top.

    The bed was very comfortable , the kitchenette is very helpful especially if you have small children. The staff is very helpful and the hotel is very clean. The view from our balcony was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly stuff, decent size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Busses to Valetta or the airport take about 90 mins and night busses run only Friday and Saturday.

    Friendly stuff, decent size rooms. Great summer location. 5 mins walk to a good beach and to the boat departures for Comino for a beautiful swim in the blue lagoon. 15 mins bus trip to have some great fun in Popeye's Village, so take swimming gear along and be prepared to spend the best part of the day there and to star in your own movie. 15 mins bus trip to the ferry to Gozo which is an absolute must-do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Have stayed before and will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view from Balcony. Spacious well equipped room. Very helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. Bus stop just outside. Beach walkable. Well equipped and reasonably priced supermarket. Both pools very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Don't be fooled
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you have given a price, the property has been advertised with all amenities but when u get there , they want extra for everything. They charge for wifi despite it stating it's included. And then it doesn't even work!!! Just charge the price with everything included. It's so annoying

    Having our own terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Clean, friendly and value for money accomodation, with 2 pools and close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room no. 3212. Our room was very dark, with only a single door to balcony for light and ventilation. had to have all internal lights on constantly. No natural ventilation in the bathroom.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The complex was well kept and cared for and the pools and dining facilites were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    An unexpected gem
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't expect stunning views but the apartments outweighed that in every other aspect The beds are a little firm and do ask for extra pillows (this is just like all others but worth saying)

    The staff were really friendly, the apartment was an excellent size. The kitchen was well appointed with sufficient items to cover your daily needs, the fridge had a freezer box for my ice! The 2 pools were great the lower pool was perfect for children safe and shaded and the upper adult roof pool was quiet and peaceful with good views The food in the restaurant was lovely and the maître-de an excellent source of information about the local wine to go with he meal The Luna is excellently situated near shops, the beach and the village but not so close that it is not peaceful Previously I have stayed in other hotels in area but this was so good I would rather come back here in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, but needs few upgrades.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We stayed here for 2 weeks. The hotel is nice, not far from the beach. We took superior studio (with kitchen and fridge), which was also pretty nice, but the kitchen missed few things: dishwashing liquid (or anything we can use to wash plates), a sponge and there was only one knife, which was more like a saw, and it was very hard to cut anything with it. Not sure why all above was missed, but we actually had to buy it and leave at the hotel. It's was not about saving money, we just like to cook our own food, and not having anything to wash plate was surprising and disappointing. Also, they charge 20p per page if you use their printer machine. The Internet in a room will cost you 4.50 eur per day (up to two devices). Everything else was very good, nice room, air conditioning, shower, and bed. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, I would recommend Riviera Blue (50 meters up the street).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.7
    Close to beach. Dont count on pools. Careful on chairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are very old chairs in apartment they almost falling apart. There is not balcony table. Kitchen utensils are extremely basic. When they changed bed sheets last time they put on sheet with shoe marks from laundry company. Water in pool didnt met my cleanliness criteria to enter it. What you pay extra for this hotel compare to others is just that you are close to the beach. We also got on site room without sea view so we were looking forward to not listening music which plays next to pool 3 times for week but they give us view to pool. Only one of 3 singers was good.

    I liked that hotel is close to beach and rooms around our apartment wasnt noisy. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Overall disappointing and not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very basic, double bed was 2 singles pushed together and the mattresses were very uncomfortable. The towels were only swapped every second day and the room was only cleaned every 4 days, the clean consisted of making the bed. Only 2 small bars of soap provided as toiletries and these weren't replaced during the clean. Hair dryer required a deposit. The free wifi only applied to the lobby and at that it was very poor. We paid for in room wifi and that was also poor, kept dropping off and very slow to load. Some of the staff were quite nice and a bit of fun, but others wouldn't even crack a smile. Food was very average, although it was inexpensive. The bar was basic and seats were quite uncomfortable. In general the place could do with a revamp.

    Roof top pool. Location - within walking distance of a variety of restaurants, the beach, cruise/water sports facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    nice location, close to beach and bus stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wi fi in the room (or very expensive)

    nice location, close to beach and bus stop nice rooftop swimming pool they give me free upgrade for 1 of the 2 nights Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay, we would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited channels on television in room. Free WiFi included with room would be appreciated. However, there was free WiFi in the lobby area.

    The pools were lovely. The room was spacious and had a mimi kitchen equipped with all the necessities. The mattresses were sturdy which we loved.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Last minute rest!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was as advertised and we got what we paid for. Quite a few things could be updated!! Overall everything fine cant really fault it.

    Excellent location and staff (from maintenance man who helped with our air conditioning, all receptionists we came into contact with and Lorraine an extremely helpful holiday rep). Have put more details on Trip Advisor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfort and style close to the sea
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was fine but the location is set back a little on a road. No free wi-fi in room. With room on the road and no air-con ( this costs extra) you either have window open and noise, or closed and fan on but no fresh air.

    Lovely helpful and friendly staff. Great value for money, good food, clean well-designed interiors. Quieter part of Malta and near to ferry terminal for Gozo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room doors need a little soundproofing since it gets quite noisy in the corridor, especially during evenings

    Nice facilities, clean rooms, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.1
    Good location - as a starting point for various trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom and some part of the equipment were outdated and could benefit from a renovation.

    Good location - as a starting point for various trips. Quick check in - we've arrived at midnight so that was appreciated :-). The kitchenette was well equipped. We've suffered a bit from the traffic noise but the hotel itself was quiet (end of October).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic stay in a beautiful hotel in a amazing area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was one of the ones facing the main road, which had a small balcony and couple of chairs but no small table to put a drink on, therefore we had to place our drinks in the balcony floor

    The hotel was lovely and clean, the offer of 2 pools ( ground floor and roof area ) were both clean and easy to access with enough sun loungers for everybody with the a good choice of snacks, food and drinks for everyone's taste. The location was ideal for a small stroll to the beach or nearby bars and restaurants and close enough to the next bus stop if a trip to the next city was desired

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.3
    Not good, not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak free internet in the lobby and 3.5 eur/day internet in the rooms. Breakfast is poor. Late checkout 30 eur. Aircondition in the room isn't free.

    Location is good. 5 min walk to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the roof top pool is really lovely with a great view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.8
    Good location, bad hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not cleaned while we were there. There was also no free WiFi in the rooms

    The rooftop pool was nice. Also the location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: