Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Mellieħa hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Reviews of Mellieha Bay Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marfa Road Ghadira, MLH 9065 Mellieħa, Malta

#39 of 62 hotels in Mellieħa

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    2.9
    We enjoyed the stay and we got more than we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It gives value for money. We liked everything considering the price. The hotel could not with some renovation , like the lift, bathrooms ..

    Change of linen. the landscaped hotel surroundings

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    5.8
    Ok but overpriced when you realise this is not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We picked it because it indicated child facilities. Manoeuvring around with a pushchair was almost impossible

    Clean room with great views but this is not a 4 star hotel Some of the staff are amazing and incredibly helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    Old, but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - very weak Wi-Fi in the room - some parts of hotel need renovation - shower was not in a good technical condition

    + good location with nice seaview + good food

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    6.3
    Room was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not good, coffee terrible. Staff wasn't very friendly. Building is old, in parts dirty, rooms were very clairaudient. Guests were predominantly All Inclusive tourists (and so they behave)

    Room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.1
    It was ok for a base for us to explore Mellieha
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found staff a bit surly but we were only staying for two nights, the whole place looked tired for a 4 star rating.

    It wasn’t very expensive for a 2 night stay with breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable. Found breakfast tasteless, cheap ingredients used.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Location and view is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower room needs some repair. Change the room doors and locks. They looked very old. The breakfast buffee was poor and if to be honest, a little bit dirty. There was a toast burning in the toaster and now eployee did not even bother to do anything about it. Food was on the floor and it was not a nice sight.

    Location and view is very nice. The hotel beach and garden is lovely aswell.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.8
    Loved our short break and would certainly try to get another booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were located in the older part of the hotel, so wi-fi and the television were poor.

    The location of Mellieha Bay is extraordinary. The view, the gardens, the walk that one can do around the hotel itself. Since all rooms are sea view one can sit on the chairs and take in the breath taking view of all natures elements.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.8
    Location and food were satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty rooms and full of ants even on the bed. Balcony door does not lock properly. Bathroom was rusty, shower leaking, bathtub was rusty (with paint to cover rust) and dirty with hair from previous users, also a colony of ants moving around in the bathroom.

    Location and food were satisfactory. Staff was helpul and gentle.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    Always enjoy our stay here. A wonderful peaceful haven with fantastic landscaping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the non-Maltese staff were not helpful :(

    The ambience is amazing. Rooms all have seaviews. Great value for money. Some Maltese staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.1
    Great bay views, very cute private beach but dont expect much from the room or food offering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception stuff could be a bit friendlier especially at the check in. The level of service varied. Food in the main restaurant though decent was mostly basic and nothing to be amazed. Special nights in the other restaurant were better with freshly coooked grilled food. Rooms are on the small size. Bathrooms are smelly and very dated with a unpleasant cold white day light.

    The views and the private beach are almost worth the basic rooms and smelly bathroom. Every room has a view of the bay and it is nice any time of the day. You can get a tour to blue lagoon from the hotel pier

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    Better hotels for the same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Off peak season, no restaurant nearby is open, so no place to eat after 9pm - Arrived late and they hadn't anything to eat - The breakfast consists of a big selection of food, but the taste is poor - Our bathroom could've been cleaner - Our bed sheets were not fresh

    - Right at Mellieha Bay with the sea at its door - Close (5min by foot) to a Munchies, which serves great food with a view - Free WiFi - Several bus stops nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Great Location and Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The walls were a bit thin so we often heard our neighbours when they came to bed; however, it was never an issue for sleeping.

    The location is amazing. The rooms were quiet as they faced out to the ocean over the landscaped gardens. The hotel staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was good. Only ate at the hotel once in the evening and for lunch but the food was of a very good quality for a buffet. Absolutely amazing value for money, we will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The corridors and lifts are in need of a refurb. The Outdoor pools and gardens are good but the paths need a spruce up. The water pressure in our top floor room was poor.

    The bedroom and public rooms in the hotel were all of a high standard. The quality of food & drink was high and the entertainment was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    4.6
    I was led to believe I was staying in the northern end town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was led to believe I was staying in the northern end town while in reality the hotel sat outside a literal trailer park with difficult access to any sort of civilization. It claimed the area to be in reach of the young and hip area of up and coming Malta but my 22 year old friend and I were younger than the average guest by at least 50 years. When we asked for a recommendation for a restaurant we were responded with "oh I don't do those".... dude you are in a hospitality industry!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    5.8
    Could be much better. Overall negative experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beach which supposed to be for guest use was not cleaned up. Tones of dried smelly seaweed so if you looking to have a swim in the sea you better of go somewhere else. Generally staff not happy with looking after the guest. It’s should be improved and should keep a good standard of customer service. Queues on the reception most of the time. Room was quite dirty on arrival. There was only one spot with a power point so if you look to charge your phone while sitting on the bed it’s not a chance. Generally considering that hotel is advertised as 4* hotel this are not standards of 4* hotel starting from decor and neglect of basic maintenance, throughout service and staff performance, finishing up on food service as well. Dinners are €20 for hotel guest and you have to pay for every drink ordered. Choice of meals is very poor like for price requested. Also I would like to mention that we have been ask to attend for photo session in the garden and also that is going to be good fun. We went for it and he mentioned after that we can buy photos out, fair enough. We didn’t know it is a price of €9 for every single photo. We dedicated our time for it and to see them afterwards. Girl who was looking after advised that of what we chosen we must pay €250. Absolutely joke. I kindly explained that I can’t afford this price and it’s very expensive but she kept engaging to get some. I wasted my time I could spend much better way specially that was my last day. This should clearly explained to the guest that photos cost €9 each.

    Location is great but very hilly . Tasty breakfast. Daily room cleaning. Maids very very nice and friendly comparing to other staff in the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    6.0
    Not good value for money, impersonal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not friendly, accused us of not having paid our bill, unprepared to accept proof so had to resolve our selves - no apology offered once they realised we were correct. : very little hotel info on arrival: breakfast poor - juice watery, little fresh fruit, access to beach difficult, carpets in corridor badly stained.

    Pools v clean, indoor pool lovely,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of hand rails on external steps, and stairs Like many Mediterranean hotels the word repair and maintenance seem to have no meaning!

    Excellent meals and Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.8
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel could do with a little bit of investment/ modernisation. Biggest let down was lack of sound proofing and something to block out the light. You are going to be awake at 7am either from the stream of chatting guests walking past your door, or by a room thats light up like a sunny afternoon.....(that's if you get to sleep with a snoring guest next door or by the door thats constantly rattling) Sorry...not the best experience on this one...

    Nice location. Breakfast plentiful. lots of facilitates OK price..... I guess good value for money if your somewhat hearing impaired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.6
    Unexpectedly unique island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is fabulous. It's a little far from the main attractions (except Gozo) but perfect if you want tranquility and peace. So many churches and so much history to experience. Excellent, non expensive public transport too, no need for a rental car. Gozo was wonderful and compact and a must see!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    A nice ,relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bed had a leg missing lol but I found that amusing ,in fact I did,nt complain .other then that nothing although I can,t say it was something I didn,t like.( the missing bed leg lol)

    The room ,The view and The food all was excellent .few words but it ,s says it all .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    6.7
    Great view, easy access to bus and to the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pricy for an old 4 star hotel. Hallways are creepy, old, which have not been refurbished for a very long time. There are no decorations, which makes it feel industrial, and very uncozy, which is the least you want from a romantic hotel. The internet was awful, we always had to go in the lobby to be able to use it. The rooms are too cluttered with a third bed which is most of the times not needed, which makes it again uncozy, 1-size-fit-all kind of hotel. I generally did not expect this from a 4 star hotel.

    Great view, easy access to bus and to the ferry. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great location for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Walls are a bit thin, particularly when you have shouty Italian family next door...

    Location is brilliant as it is nice and quite, and away from the touristy Valletta. Staff were very helpful, and the room was very nice and stylish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.2
    Good location, friendly staff, lots to do in the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were very hard - I left with a back ache and hip/leg aches and I’m only 25! The hall by the room is very noisy in the evenings. Not much choice for gluten free dining - would have preferred if the food plaques stated gfree or listed ingredients in dishes at least. I was disappointed that a lot of the bars weren’t open (I understand it wasn’t peak time but it would have been nice to be able to make full use of everything the hotel had to offer).

    The pool, the location, the cleanliness of the room cleaners, the balcony on the room, staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.5
    Hot and Cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs to to be refurbished especially the corridors and the bathrooms! Regarding food there was lack of choice in breakfast considering that this is a 4 star hotel.

    The location of the hotel is perfect and it was good value for money overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    6.3
    Two star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place needs to be pulled down and rebuild . Shabby, outdated and not so clean as you can see from photos. Rooms are still opened with old fashioned keys, haven't seen them around in hotels in donkey years, definitely not 4 star material, the only thing that was 4 star were the towels white and soft. Breakfast was the usual run of the mill food, cappucino was more like milk with a dash of coffee chopped fresh fruit nowhere in sight only a bowl of canned one kind of fruit. The only time we had dinner at the hotel was a huge disappointment. Not worth €20 per head, never seen for example vegetables mixed with chips in the same serving dish and roasted potatoes without any colour, they even managed to ruin the lemon meringue. I specifically asked for a double bed, we got two beds without a mattress topper and if you happen to roll to the centre of the bed you would fall between the mattresses. Huge disappointment, never again.

    Property is in a very good location, although if you leave balcony door open you can hear the cars zooming up the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Exceeded all expectations. A wonderful experience. Will definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature of the room was not adjustable (they control the temperature of the whole hotel centrally).

    Super friendly and helpful staff. The all-inclusive is really really good value, it includes drinks and snacks, and buffet meals at the hotel. The premises are fantastic - our room had a sea view and the hotel is surrounded by a large garden and has two outdoor pools and one indoor pool. I can sincerely recommend this hotel if you're looking for a nice weekend break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    waw just loved this hotel wish to go there as soon as i can keep it up . your employers were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing nothing nothing

    All i can say is i will recommend this hotel 100% our room 318 very nice the view from the balcony breath taking I thought i was in heaven so peaceful and nice , but mostly the employers are amazing so helpful even the managers are helpful. we enjoyed a lot too the indoor pool. will go again for sure

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.5
    A lovely winter stay in tranquil Mellieha Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The seaview room which are newly refurbished, had a comfy bed, but most of all, the view of Ghadira (Mellieha) bay was breathtaking. This is surely one of the nicest and clean beach we have here in Malta. Highly recommend this hotel both in winter (tranquil) and in summer (right off the beach)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    4.6
    Poor outrageous customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The customer service received once arriving was atrocious they ruined our booking and we were forced to be down graded to bnb from all inclusive and pay more for it. I really anticipated high quality customer satisfaction from prior research, unfortunately it was utterly disappointing and the hotel was not willing to resolve the issue instead they just argued, I do not recommend anyone waste there time with this hotel if they are looking for quality service. The breakfast was awful the eggs were uncooked very poor quality of food for a 4* hotel. Save your money pay abit extra and find somewhere nicer and better customer care especially if you're travelling with family. The rooms weren't very clean and the towels didn't seem to be fresh new ones when the cleaners changed them. Overall the only decent thing was the view even the location of the room was far away from the main area.

    Only good thing was the view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, very thin walls and hence you hear everything from neighbouring rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are super thin. Even a normal conversation between two people could be heard from the neighbouring rooms. Imagine what happens if someone decides to watch TV till early morning. Probably, this is a reason good enough for me to never stay there again.

    The hotel is in a great location and all rooms face the sea. It is elevated, which gives it an amazing view. The staff at the reception and the shops were super helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    8.3
    Good at winter time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wouldnt go at summertime, there should be very croudy, problems with seating while breakfast, etc. Breakfast wasnt so good :( Food tasteless. Horrifying elevator :)

    Rather good hotel with a beautiful view. Hotel itself needs restoration, rooms are newly decorated (the one we stayed at). We stayed at Fabruary ant it was rather busy. Wouldnt go at summertime, there should be croudy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    6.7
    Good reasonably priced hotel with excellent sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Its a large older hotel clean and functional ,but decor is a bit tired and in need of facelift and garden areas could do with some care and replanting. Dining hall is very large and impersonal, at breakfast everyone has to queue at problematic vending machines for coffee and juice leading to long delays and a lot of traffic around tables .Evening entertainment in the complex was limited in winter we visited there are only a few places within walking distance from hotel Probably better suited to groups who can make own entertainment than couples.

    Good size room and view from Room was great looking out over bay and sitting on balcony on warm afternoon was lovely experience. Room was very clean and good supply of towels and toiletries.Hotel booking staff and cleaning staff very helpful and hotel arranged taxi collection to and from airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    10
    A nice ,relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet didn,t have much choices on the first course only one type of soup and one type of pasta and 4 types on main course dishes but the food was good . but again on the hole it was worth the price so there was,nt that much that we didn,t like

    The room was nice .We had a sea view room .The staff were all nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - tea with a coffee aftertaste; - you must often ask for fork and knife at the breakfast

    - quiet localization; - perfect view on the bay; - nice,clean room; - shop, bar, pools & beach in the hotel; - blowdryer, kettle, tea, fridge in the room; - bus stop nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only criticism is the lack of sound proofing in the rooms.

    Very much enjoyed our stay here. The satff are great, friendly and helpful. The location is a little way out of town but there is a bus stop close by and the bus network is very good. The hop on off North/South tours also make a morning pick up from the hotel. We booked with breakfast but also used the restaurant for some evening meals too, the variety and quality were good. This is a good hotel and I would recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing facilities - Bar, cafeteria and entertainment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise could be heard from inside the room whilst people pass from corridors

    Amazing facilities - Bar, cafeteria and entertainment. Very good breakfast, plenty to choose from Sea views from inside the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is really great value for money and with all rooms sea facing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast great choice, evening meals not really our taste This hotel is really great value for money and is situated in a glorious bay, the hotel also has stunning views and gardens, but in February there was not a lot of other restaurants open within walking distance so we had to eat in the hotel itself a couple of nights and found the food over priced and lacking in authenticity, this is of course our taste and is fine if you like buffet style food

    Location Stunning Views A very nice all round hotel with all rooms sea facing along with it's own beach and two great outdoor pools plus a really warm indoor pool which came in handy in February, because of it's location we would recommend a car for at least three-four days, although public transport is cheap and reliable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    9.6
    Best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wall between room is not very good isolated and you hear some noise from the other room and from hallway.

    The view Mellieha Bay is wonderful. Our room was exactly like in description with direct view to the sea. The breakfast and the dinner is very tasty with a rich assortment of dishes.The receptionists is very kindly and give you advices if you ask for.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    6.3
    Loved Malta and hotel was good value for money for what we paid but never a 4star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon v noisy in bedroom Connecting door you can hear everything next door so had to be moved to another room Flaking paint around the pool areas Beach closed ☹️ It’s in a gem of position this hotel just a shame it needs a bit more TLC

    Lovely views from room and location great for ferry over to Gozo Food was tasty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.6
    Surely take the seaview room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Not so friendly staff in the restaurant. Breakfast staff was ok. - Shower was leaking - Very hot in the room

    - Delicious breakfast - Comfortable and clean room - Amazing view of the sea - Near bus stop - Helpful reception staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic value for the all-inclusive package, amazing staff, loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It would have been nice to have swum in the outdoor pools and crystal seas, but for January we can't complain. Balcony chairs a bit hard, but a minor issue. Lots of steps but so has most of Malta!

    The hotel boasts splendid sea views from all the 300 odd rooms and are mainly south facing. The ‘all inclusive’ deal was very good value and even included sandwiches and crisps for days out. The food was of a good quality with plenty of options and the house wines were also rather palatable! The staff were extremely helpful especially Mandy and Tomas on the daytime bar shift. The entertainment team, Kate, Suzanna, Billy & Marti put on an evening show 6 nights a week and coach a variety of daytime activities. Overall we cannot fault the hotel for location, value, staff, catering and an all round good holiday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    10
    A superb break. Looking forward to the next.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very kind and welcoming staff. Food beyond expectations. Room with more facilities than is usually found in 4* hotels. Never expected the hotel would have daily evening entertainment in the middle of January - a period which is usually considered a quiet period for hotels. Shall surely return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.1
    Bath is too high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath is too high. Bathrooms need to be modernized. Food in restaurant not always fresh eg. bread was stale Whitebait had been around for quite a while

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    8.3
    Value for money and great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee was average but breakfast was fine overall, the pool was decent we visited during the winter so it was great to have a heated pool.

    Lovely breakfast buffet with a great view of the bay, rooms also facing the sea!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    9.2
    Breathtaking scenic view hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complimentary slippers in the room No iron and ironboard in the room Limited menu variety at the buffet Wifi signal poor in the rooms Laundrette not easy to find

    The sea view Staff were friendly and helpful Good location International TV channels Comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant enough hotel, staff nice, you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was fairly average but you could always find something to eat. As we were on B&B only, we were hoping there would be a snack bar or at least somewhere to purchase a snack type meal for when we returned back to the hotel after a days exploring the island (not just room service though as we didn't want to eat food in our room). I didn't see any such facility other than you could eat in the main restaurant for 20 euros per person, or buy a packet of sandwiches or a baguette from the bar. It would have been nice to have been able to purchase a variety of snacks or light meals to eat in the bar (or designated area) with a drink. Consequently we had to go out every night looking for food. As we visited in winter, I assume there is more on offer in this respect in summer. Our room was dusty, and the floor was dirty, as were the patio door windows, with holes in the curtains, making it look tired and in need of a facelift. Being on the ground floor next to the garden, we had tiny ants in the room some days but this didn't bother us, we just disposed of them and ensured we didn't drop any biscuit crumbs! A large cockroach was peering at me from behind my toiletries in the bathroom one day, but again it just got captured and put outside. Although having a bit of local life in our room didn't bother us, I wouldn't have wanted food in the room. Overall I think the pluses outweigh the minuses and this hotel is value for money.

    The gardens, the outdoor settings and walkways, and the pool areas are all attractive and well kept. The view across the bay to Mellieha town is lovely. Towels were clean and changed regularly, nice toiletries provided, free tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a fridge. It was lovely and warm in the room and public areas (we visited in winter). Very grateful to have access to a safety deposit box in the room which was free of charge. The free wifi also covers all areas of the hotel including bedrooms. The Staff were all friendly and helpful. Bar prices are reasonable and you could pay daily for drinks or at the end of your stay. At the end of the road, a very short walk, there is a bus stop (Riserva). The Malta Public Transport system is amazing. You can get everywhere on the bus very cheaply (either 1.50 euros per journey or buy a 7 day unlimited travel card for 21 euros). This means that although the hotel is located at the end of Mellieha Bay, you can walk to Riserva bus stop and catch a bus to the capital Valetta (a must visit), to other resorts, and to the ferry terminal for Gozo (another must visit). The bus journey from Riserva to the ferry port only takes 8 minutes and when we went, the ferry to Gozo cost 4.65 euros return. The crossing takes 25 minutes. This all makes Mellieha Bay hotel a good location to use as a base and see the rest of the island on the amazing bus system. To reach some places you may have to bus to Valetta first and go out from the bus station, which is really easy to do. The last bus back to Mellieha is quite late, about 22.00. If you aren't on All Inclusive or half board you can find several nice restaurants nearby, although you have to walk round the bay approx 10-15 minutes or can catch the bus round the bay. We went into Mellieha town a couple of times for a drink, and ate out at local restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    Perfect holiday! Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everythng was perfect, the only problem was that we had to leave!

    We booked a sea view room for my husbands birthday. Stayed all inclusive. The food was amazing. Lovely breakfast. All drinks where included. Staff where very friendly. Room had a balcony, bathroom was immaculate, beds where very comfortable. Our room was really nice and looked newly renovated, we had a flat screen tv on the wall, fresh towels daily and tea/cofee making facilitys. There was a laundry room upstairs also which was handy. The hotel seemed to have been recently renovated and was 4-5* standard. There is a small supermarket inside the hotel, lovely little gift shop and a jewellery store. Location was perfect, right next to the beach, the hotel gardens and views where absolutely stunning! Buses run every 10mins. We went on the ferry over to Gozo for 6euros, Gozo is beautiful and is defiantly worth a visit! The weather in January was lovely, it was 15degrees and was warm enough for sun bathing. Will defiantly be returning. Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a great location .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a great location . The room was clean,comfortable but I could hear people speaking from the neighbor room and although they were not loud the noise level was too high as in my room there was another door (locked)leading to that neighbor room which I guess was the reason for high noise levels. Great animator team. Cheap gift shop at the premises.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the stay because of the location and amazing view from the balcony.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms and furniture need updating. Wi-fi does not work at all in rooms and is very poor in the reception area. Breakfast was poor quality - bacon dry, eggs overcooked, scrambled egg from powder, dry potatoes and cheap sausages. People next door were loud and we struggled to sleep - walls are too thin.

    The bed was comfortable, location perfect, nice pools and friendly staff. There were towels, hair dryer, black tea and kettle provided. View from the balcony was breath-taking. Surroundings perfect for jogging, hiking or relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    To the wonderful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mellieha Bay Hotel has something very special to offer the guests that is very difficult to find these days. This is the staff. Every single person that we spoke to that works at the Mellieha Bay Hotel is super friendly and completely accommodating. When you are surrounded by people wanting to take care of you, your whole stay becomes better. Every smile and help that we received, just made us appreciate the hotel even more because when the staff is happy, it means that the hotel is doing something right. Can't wait to go again and not just for the warmth of the rooms or for the full breakfast and perfect dinner, but for the welcoming staff that they have. Well done to all that work there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.9
    The beautiful seafront garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entertainment areas need more constant ventilation...lack of fresh air

    The beautiful seafront garden

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Staff where nice as well as the place is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good

    Staff where nice as well as the place is excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.2
    Food was varied and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was varied and tasty.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.2
    was a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only bit dated but was ok ..... best was at the night club Show time

    Hotel garden and the view from hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.8
    lovely nearby beach, super crowded resort and moldy bathroon sums it up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was dirty and moldy all over

    The view, the balcony, and the excellent location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    The food was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed matress was uncomfortable.

    The food was perfect. Very Good service. I will soon visit,again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.9
    we enjoyed the stay. food good and drinks not expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    more table tenniso balks and better rackets

    The position of the Hotel. all rooms face the sea

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    It was amazing we loved It!definitely will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The balcony was not clean,railings and the clothes hanger.

    The bed very comfortable and good food too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.2
    Could return anytime very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the entering of restaurant could be a lot more welcoming

    Location great for relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.1
    Best staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    6.7
    The outdoors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It looks quite old, the rooms have been sort of refurbished to look nicer but the rest is quite blank. Cracked walls, old carpets etc

    The outdoors

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Commendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I have already been to Mellieha Bay and we found it commendable in all expects. Would definitely visit again in the next few weeks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.8
    Food was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definitely an older hotel

    Food was great! Service was very friendly and professional Beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.8
    I could back in this place 😜😜😜😜
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little refresh bathroom

    Hotel realy nice clean garden outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Great family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff sometimes unhelpful

    Good food, location and nice rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.3
    would go again,enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    need to make the breakfast buffet hotter

    reception staff very helpful, all staff friendly, great location for peace and quiet,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    All!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tooth cleaner stick in the room.

    All!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.9
    The all inclusive component was so reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little worn down amenity wise.

    The all inclusive component was so reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    A good place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The garden was wonderfull and the entertainment was excellent. Well done.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Super price for a such a service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super price for a such a service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    Almost everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room are not well insulated... you can hear people walking in the corridors and in the night whoever snores in the building!! 😁

    Almost everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    4.2
    Dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    dirty, old , cheap food

    Good location , very nice garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was excellent and staff was very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.9
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is a basic 3 star hotel

    Position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay and good location. Staff was very helpful. Good evening entertainment every evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awful tea from a machine at breakfast

    Well catered, friendly staff, good breakfast very good selection

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!