Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Capua – AX Hotels 4 stars

Gorg Borg Olivier Street, SLM1807 Sliema, Malta

#12 of 31 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 61 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great venue great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly i don't think there is much to complain about

    Everything except for the balcony which was slightly disappointing as i did not know if would be how it was since it was low and we were the only ones it felt uncomfortable as the hotel opposite with so many balconies, people would stare at us.... but im not going to say it ruined my stay for sure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Extremely comfortable bed, quiet location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very happy with stay and would definitely book again

    Extremely comfortable bed, quiet location, friendly staff. Superb choice for breakfast with hot coffee !! Roof Top Infinity Pool was an added luxury with fabulous views of Sliema.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not fantastic and we were not told about facilities, breakfast etc when we arrived. It was left up to us to find out things . Bed was very dangerous and we both ended up with bruises on our legs .

    The hotel was comfortable and clean. It was in a great position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Very spacious suits, but try the Victoria next door - they run the whole operation anyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Palazzo Capua is advertised as a 5 star hotel, however it does not really exist - there are some suits in a building (formerly the hotel?) that are served by the neighboring hotel - the 4 star Victoria. All services are in the Victoria, including the reception (very confusing when arriving for the first time) the breakfast and dining rooms, the spa, etc. So essentially you live in one building - in our case on the second floor with NO elevator (this is a 5* hotel!) and walk over to the next hotel for everything you need, from parking to getting your room key. Extremely strange and uncomfortable

    The room we got was very spacious and luxurious The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, made up for some of the shortcomings of the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect birthday weekend :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi connection was poor

    The staff was extremely friendly they even gave me an unexpected birthday card and a bottle of wine on the house :) and when it comes to food ... It was great. The type of food you cook at home. The room was excellent !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was really good and well served and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner it was awful ! I'm so sorry but only the desert was eatable.

    The breakfast was really good and well served and the room was nice ! And of course Alfred ! the man who works in the bar he was really nice and his service was excellent !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    It was a relaxing holiday, with plenty of good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the palazzo has no restaurant due to its limitations, this means that for one to take breakfast, lunch and dinner, has to go out of the building and into the Victoria Hotel next door, which is of the same owner. This is not really nice when the weather is very cold outside.

    I liked how Palazzo Capua has been converted into hotel suites, with the palazzo retaining many traditional Maltese features. The room was also spacious and clean, and the free wifi had a very good connection. The food was good too :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfort and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff at the Victoria Hotel are very friendly and always willing to help. Good breakfast, very good bathroom with bath and shower. Spa facility very good and Thai massage was excellent and worth every Euro!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfort and quiet in Sliema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The venue failed on 3 occasions to respond in time - or at all - to airpot transfer requests for arrival. Inexplicable, given the positive assessment of the staff at the venue. Parts of the furniture worn out and spoil the otherwise excellent impression.

    Comfortable suite, very quiet, excellent for privacy and rest. Staff is smiling and helpful, responds quickly to requests once the guest is there. Facilites are shared between Palazzo Capua and the neighboring VIctoria Hotel, which removes unnecessary noise. Power adapters were provided within minutes of request. The hotel is within 10 minutes from the Sliema-Valeta ferry terminal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in a fantastic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room is a little dark but this wasn't a big problem.

    Amazing building 5 min walk from seafront The room was spacious Staff were excellent Fantastic Air-con

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    A mixed bag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of room mixed, late in the day often after 3pm and Hoover only seen once in 10 days. Carpet edges in bedroom definitely need doing! Breakfast is taken in Victoria hotel, definitely not 5star! Coffee awful out of machine and fresh fruit/yoghurt limited. Breakfast in the Palace hotel (5star is so much better). Settee in seating area very tired, no drawer space in bedroom, just one wardrobe.

    Room size was huge. Rooftop pool area is wonderful, great infinity pool and good sun loungers. Staff really friendly and helpful, especially on reception. The coffee shop in the Palace Hotel is good for snacks and cocktails.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Well worth a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a view from our suite as the outside shutters were close so the bed room had very little natural light. But this didn't detract much from our stay.

    These suits are separate from the main hotel so nice and quite. It is an old palace so very impressive entrance and room. Comfy beds too. Great facilities in the hotel and staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Palazzo Capua, Sliema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiral staircase was not easy to negotiate in the night. Suite was very dark and lighting inadequate. Smell from bathroom, and toilet had to be cranked multiple times to flush. These were only partially solved. Outside shutter broken and banging in wind kept me awake part of the night until fixed.Toiletries not replaced until requested.

    Nice very old building and staff very nice. Breakfast adequate but no variation at all.Bed very comfortable.Near to main bus route.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in comfy surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of evening meals (buffet): very canteenish; Room cleaning a bit inconsistent: never the same level of service each day...

    Decor and room; Efficiency of manager of reception/ front desk; Handy location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Superb staff! Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service not always reliable

    Location, facilities, Pool!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.4
    No wifi available, no quilt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi available, no quilt!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Rooms were top class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had bar food one evening, but wished we had gone out as we did every other night. Food was poor to say the least.

    Rooms were top class.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Would recommend for a luxury stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The luxury of the decor in the room and the hotel lobby. The balcony was beautiful. Access to the rooftop pool and breakfast restaurant was fab!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Most days toiletries were not replenished, sheets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Most days toiletries were not replenished, sheets weren't changed, ants everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    We enjoyed Palazzo Capua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    .

    .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    5.4
    Nothing particularly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Room too dark. Bathroom smelt of drains. No plug on tv. Lightbulbs out. Wardrobe door fell off.

    Nothing particularly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Everything was perfect from the ever-helpful, polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On our second visit to the rooftop restaurant (TemptAsian) when we were ignored by the staff for the best part of an hour and had to remind a passing waitress that we were still waiting for our main course. While we never received an apology they did give us a 10% discount on the bill but this did little to compensate for this lapse in an otherwise perfect service.

    Everything was perfect from the ever-helpful, polite and friendly reception staff to the quality of the accommodation. The location means you have to walk up a long incline to reach it but after the first few days you get used to that and there is always the taxi!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.9
    The Palazzo Capua is a lovely old building (it used to be a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite dark, with little natural light. I didn't mind this but some people might find it a little gloomy. We decided to buy a 3 morning breakfast deal offered to us at check-in. I'm glad we didn't pay full price as the breakfast was pretty disappointing compared to other hotels of the same (alleged) grade. The layout of the breakfast bars is quite confusing (e.g. fruit, yogurt etc located in a completely different area from cereals, butter and jam located in a completely different area from toast and bread). Other than the breakfast being a bit of a disappointment we enjoyed our stay.

    The Palazzo Capua is a lovely old building (it used to be a palace, hence the name!) located next to the Victoria hotel. This is a nice hotel and you can use the facilities (indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, gym etc). Overall we were happy with the quality of the room, although when we made the booking we expected a mezzanine room (as depicted in the photos). The staff in the hotel are wonderful and very helpful and genuine.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly attentive staff in sister hotel Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Someone else mentioned the noise from the hospital break area next door it can be a problem but dont know what the answer is! Mattress needs replacing DVD player would be good Furniture not what i would class 5 star at all Towels ditto!

    Very friendly attentive staff in sister hotel Victoria next door Good location for sea front shops restaurants etc Good safe area/ parking handy underground Good size room location gives you more privacy and it feels more exlusive than the 2 sister Hotels Frescos restaurant on the front excellent (walking distance )ate there 4 times in a row !

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    6.3
    room was large
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was there for 2 nights. When I came back in on the second day I found the room empty, as if I had checked out. The maid had thrown all my belongings away, because she thought I had checked out. The hotel management dope snot know why she did this, and stated that the normal hotel policy if they think a guest leaves belongings in a room, is to keep the stuff for a few days to see if the guest asks for it back. They could not explain why this had not happened. They recovered some of my (previously clean and ironed) clothes and returned them in a bag and unwashed, even though they smelled like they had been in a garbage can overnight. The hotel management was apologetic, but apart from saying "sorry" a hundred times, they made no real effort to make up for this gross incompetence and service failure. They did pay me back for the items I could identify as lost. I still had to fully pay for the room. So it's a nice place as long as nothing goes wrong, but if it does go wrong do not expect an apology the manner that a real hotel would apologise.

    room was large

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful when discovering that there had been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor booking system, meant that the palazzo was fully booked when we arrived, and no room was available.

    Staff were very helpful when discovering that there had been a double booking, and we were moved to a suite in the Palace hotel, which was immaculate. The review is really based on a room at the Palace, rather than the palazzo, simply because we didn't end up even seeing the palazzo.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    8.8
    We had the Princess Penelope suit and we found it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not clear directions supplied where to find the place with the booking confirmation, when filling the bath we would run out of hot water pretty quickly. There were a lot of hotel facilities that we could have used like a steam room, but they all closed fairly early.

    We had the Princess Penelope suit and we found it was comfortable and well equipped. The Capua building is beautiful. Internet worked well.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff were friendly and extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the pictures it showed a dining area in the room, however this wasn't available. Too much noise from the staff of the hospital between 5:30 - 8 am during their breaks on their veranda

    Staff were friendly and extremely helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful staircase, great position and lovely open air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fridge that won't go any colder than 15 degrees. This is fixed apparently, it can't be made any colder.....

    Beautiful staircase, great position and lovely open air restaurant at the back

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    7.9
    I liked the pool facilities and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like the lack of facilities in our room, and also the fact that 50% of our stay the cleaners did not show.

    I liked the pool facilities and the staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom had disgusting brown water out of taps.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    Use of hotel swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have rated higher but let down by haphazard housekeeping - one day missed towels, next no soap & next no coffee

    Use of hotel swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.9
    the hotel is lovely food good and room very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    been charged twice for the room

    the hotel is lovely food good and room very nice

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: