Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Valletta hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Palazzo Paolina Boutique Hotel

Reviews of Palazzo Paolina Boutique Hotel

Palazzo Paolina Boutique Hotel, 101, St. Paul's Street, VLT 1216 Valletta, Malta

#2 of 23 hotels in Valletta

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 671 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    Lovely historic building in the heart of Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fixed shower head is a bit problematic when bathing young kids.

    The bed was super comfortable. I also liked having TV channels for kids - that was unexpected. The breakfast area was lovely and cosy and so was the food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Great location, right in the centre of the capital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, right in the centre of the capital. Gluten free breakfast choice was very good. Everywhere was clean, housekeeping was very good and reception were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.7
    Good location. Sub-standard breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was absolutely nothing special: a small selection of cold meats and cheese, machine coffee, orange juice from a carton, and one tray containing cooked meat and eggs. Certainly nothing that could be described as "Fabulous", "Excellent", or any other superlative—just "breakfast".

    Good location. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Valetta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing, some rooms have view to a small inside courtyard without much light. But we were in luck and could be moved to a room towards the street and we were very happy in the end.

    Very comfortable bed as well sofa bed for our child. Perfect location to explore Valetta. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    SUPERB HOTEL, FANTASTIC LOCATION AND WONDERFUL STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like!

    Loved everything about the hotel. Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly. When we arrived we chatted to the young man on reception - we mentioned it was my birthday. He must have slipped away and spoke to someone whilst we were signing a form as by the time we got to our room there were 2 glasses and a bottle of wine on the dressing table! Lovely thing to do. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Room was spotless and bed very comfortable. Loved the breakfast seating area - very unusual and breakfast was perfect for us. Location was great and we had a fabulous meal in the restaurant opposite the hotel which was recommended and booked by the hotel staff. Having lived and worked in Malta for some time - I now return regularly and it's people and places like this that make me want come back time and time again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    I had to cancel last minute and change the dates - the staff...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to cancel last minute and change the dates - the staff was able to keep the rate the same and even gave me an upgrade! the room was very clean, the shower was great and I had a nice large balcony! Bonus - breakfast had two plant milks!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    7.9
    Every effort was made to make us feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was a little cramped and lacked space

    Staff very helpful, ready to recommend restaurants or travel routes . Good breakfasts. As much free tea/coffee as we wanted

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast spread, excellent italian decor + furniture...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slight smell from external drainpipe in one corner.

    Good breakfast spread, excellent italian decor + furniture in room. Good modification of a period Valletta house.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Staff were superb in all areas especially at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sausage,bacon and eggs weren't hot enough for my liking but I guess that's an English thing. I didn't complain because it is such a minor thing when everything else was wonderful.

    Staff were superb in all areas especially at reception. Location couldn't be better it's right in the heart of everything. Our room was nice and modern. We would definitely stay again, thank you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Nothing really. We couldn’t figure out how to turn off the tv sound playing in the bathroom (other than turning down the volume on the main tv)

    - Staff really went over and above to make sure we had a great stay - Excellent breakfast - Location couldn’t be better (quiet street one block away from e.g. a food market) - Room was very spacious and had everything we needed - Classy, artsy decoration

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful stay. Beautiful building. Luxurious rooms. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Met the owner who gave great insights into the artwork on the walls.... Which he painted himself. The definition of a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    Heart of Valetta city in comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Clean, comfortable, quiet, close to all shops, restaurants and sightseeing. staff willing to store our bags, suggest restaurants. I liked the way the breakfast tables were all separated in private nooks. Good choice of all cereals, yogurt, bacon and eggs. Easy hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in Valletta.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very dark (3rd floor). The breakfast zone was small with limited food.

    The hotel is in an excellent location. The place is nicely decorated with an interesting internal architecture. Rooms are big and quite well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Very central location within Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not anything we did not like about the property.

    Very central location within Valletta. The owner & staff were friendly, warm, courteous and extremely helpful in acceding to requests & guidance regarding places of interest that we should focus on during our short but wonderful stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.9
    good quality/price ratio and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The window of the room was very small with little opening, the breakfast room was much too small and the atmosphere confined in the basement, the street could have been cleaner, the bar was miserable

    Reception was outstanding : when we arrived form the airport at 2:00 AM because of a storm with water pouring (our taxi decided not to pursue in the middle of the fare because of the rain), the receptionist was able to find us some food. Simply the best meal we had in Malta ! The cleanliness of the room, the breakfast (but not the breakfast room much too small), the location, etc...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    Exceptional room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    a bathroom towel rack would have been appreciated and a light in the sitting room only faults

    Exceptional room. Staff were excellent. Breakfast buffet fantastic. No complaints.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    A must stay experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has been beautifully and iqnotvately restored and adapted to suit modern needs. It is a gorgeous space brought to life by an extraordinarily thoughtful, pleasant and helpful staff. We loved staying here - it was a highlight of our holiday in Malta.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    10
    It is an excellent boutique hotel with very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an excellent boutique hotel with very friendly reception staff, excellent breakfast in an idyllic cellar and the room had a traditional Maltese 'gallerija' overlooking the street. The coffee machine together with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities was an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced. My room had no external window - a bit dark and difficult to aerate. The pictures on Booking.com show an external terrace with a hot tube: such space in reality belongs to a private suite and is not accessible by all customers.

    Conveniently located. Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    That shower was sooo good after a day at comino beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That shower was sooo good after a day at comino beaches. Staff was friendly amd helpful and kind. Lovely painted ceiling in entrance, modern so comfy bed and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    Gorgeous Boutique Hotel in Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This fabulous boutique hotel is located within walking distance of everything one wants to do in Valletta. The staff was my favorite in all of Malta and the rooms unique and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.3
    We had a nice, cozy stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately our room barely had windows (small ones at the top of the wall). The breakfast is Ok but not the best

    We liked the cleanliness of the hotel. It’s small and has a great setting, in the middle of Valetta

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Everything about our stay was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff went above and beyond to assist us during our stay. I notified them of my food intolerances beforehand and they were very accommodating offering a couple of special items that I could eat at breakfast. Fiona on reception was absolutely fantastic and helped us find somewhere to get our laundry done as we were to be leaving before it could be done by the regular laundry service offered by the hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with a large bathroom, comfortable bed, cooling, safe, fridge and water, tea & coffee replenished daily. The hotel is located walking distance to all the sights of Valletta. The owner and all the staff are to be congratulated as they made us feel so welcome and exceeded our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel stay in beautiful Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Totally renovated and modernized boutique hotel (15 rooms) maintaining its old world ambiance. Fabulous room, staff, location and atmosphere. Very comfortable bed and room, great bathroom with large shower with excellent pressure and temperature control.Owner went out of his way to make you feel welcome.We loved the Palazzo Paulina!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.6
    A great personable hotel with good sized rooms, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A great personable hotel with good sized rooms, very good breakfast with variety of foods. Friendly and helpful staff. A quiet location but within a block of restaurants, shops and sites. Happy to tell others that this is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    First Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Beautiful Hotel, All Staff very friendly, Breakfast very good, Close to all places of interest. We made a very good decision to come here and will come again, thank you and well done.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Perfect Malta hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fantastic location I stayed in the terrace Room two nights then a regular room two nights, if you have the money stay in the terrace Room, it's huge with a beautiful outdoor terrace overlooking the roofs of Valetta. It was booked fory second 2 nights but I didn't want to move location and luckily there was a cancellation of the regular room. Coffee machine and kettle Very clean Excellent shower pressure with large shower, no steps Lots of large fresh towels Lots of amenities bottles Inc cake of soap and body wash Excellent staff, very personal service Breakfast 7:30-10:30, fresh fruit, hot food, pastries, toast, juices, good coffee, perfect for me

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    The best location for me in Old Valletta, helpful staff, loved it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like I loved it

    Great and most unusual hotel, superb conversion of the original property into this near perfect boutique hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    A quite outstanding hotel in the the centre of Valletta - magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, it was superb in every respect, as an example, our initial pillows were quite firm and these were kindly and immediately replaced with softer ones.

    Absolutely everything ! Exceedingly friendly and helpful staff, our room was ideal, being very quiet and very well appointed with efficient air conditioning, comfortable beds, superb shower, sufficient wardrobe space and an adequate small fridge. The breakfast was simple and sufficient. The location could not have been better, in the centre of Valletta with easy access to all the museums, churches, historic places, bus stops and ferry terminals for further exploration, not to mention the plethora of restaurants, bars, shops and coffee shops that were close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Pleasant and unqiue experiencen a great location. Would love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not work out how to turn off the TV audio in the bathroom. Very minor but irritating point for the few minutes we were watching TV.

    Character of the hotel was excellent. Not just a big chain, clearly had individual influence and that amplified our enjoyment of the environment

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the heart of Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautifully renovated hotel centrally located in Valletta in walking distance to all sites and a multitude of restaurants. Very good and varied breakfast served in the atmospheric cellar. Very helpful staff with good English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Small hotel right on city center with lots of friendliness
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They only should improve the wireless (I had difficulties in using it on my Mac).

    The cleanliness was spotless, either of the room and of all the hotel. The staff were very nice, helpful and warm. The breakfast was very good - my son jus told them that they should have pancakes :) Loved it! Would come back again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.8
    It was what I was expecting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not so good. For the price I expected breakfast to have a better quality. Juices and some fruits were not natural, nor fresh.

    It was what I was expecting. Last time I did Booking the hotel was a disaster and not at all what the pictures show so this one being exactly what I was expecting felt very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to dislike, the place is perfect, although it is on a busy, narrow street, with some uneven paving to negotiate!

    This small, boutique hotel is a delight and oozes quality throughout, from the cutlery in the breakfast room to the fittings in the bedrooms and bathrooms. Bedrooms and the small lounge areas are comfortable and clean, bathrooms well equipped and spacious, with walk-in showers rather than baths. The breakfast area is in the basement (accessible by lift) and is spread over 3 or 4 smaller rooms. The breakfast is all freshly prepared, and regularly replenished, mainly continental with a hot option if required. At busy times, it can be a bit crowded around the food and drinks, but hey, it all adds to the fun! Run by the Dalli family, the hotel staff are friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Situated only 5 minutes walk from Republic Square and the Royal Palace, it is perfectly placed for exploring Valletta and close to many fine restaurants. For a treat, book into Room 401 (if you can, it's in great demand!) which has a lovely sun terrace outside a large bedroom, The property has a lift, so all floors are accessible and a lift from reception down to street level, otherwise there is 3-4 steps to negotiate. All in all, the perfect place to stay in Valletta. A nice touch and added surprise was the bottle of wine and 2 glasses delivered to our room on a special anniversary.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Amazing trip, can only recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It was absolutely perfect. The hotel is situated in the centre of the town, only one minute walk from a big food supermarket. Delicious breakfast, really nice staff and modern rooms. Would highly recommend, there's really nothing we would change!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    A very clean and comfortable hotel in the center of Valetta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the quietest rooms I have stayed in. Also keep in mind that not all rooms have an external view.

    The hotel is newly renovated, very clean and comfortable. Great value for money. Located in an excellent location in the heart of the City. The staff is extremely friendly. Great restaurants nearby. Coffee and tea maker in the room. I would certainly visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel interior and decor, set in the heart of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel interior and decor, set in the heart of the incredible capital city. Staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Great breakfast. Definitely have nothing negative to say! Keep it up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    5.8
    Didn’t spend much time at the premises just to sleep a few...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very uncomfortable bed. The breakfast is serve on underground level in a cave. Felt dump and a bit claustrophobic.

    Didn’t spend much time at the premises just to sleep a few hours at night. Position wise it’s good and the people were very nice. Nice bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was in a perfect location near all the main sights and just a couple blocks from several great restaurants. The room was quiet, except for the 1:30 am trash or recycling truck that passed under our winder both nights at the same time. The extra bed was a real twin bed, not a creaky, lumpy sofa bed. This makes it a great place to stay with your child as they will also have a great night’s sleep. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous with a large selection of hot and cold options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    10
    Could not have asked for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a beautiful hotel. The room was extremely clean, comfortable, quiet and beautifully furnished; . It is abundantly clear that the owners and staff take great pride in the service they provide for their guests, and I have stayed in hotels which have charged guests much more for inferior facilities. The location of this hotel is sensational; most guests would feel lucky with having a few places of interest located within a five minute walk, but at this hotel you can reach many wonderful sites (St John's Co-Cathedral; the Grandmaster's Palace; the Palace Armoury; Upper and Lower Barrakka Gardens) in that time or less. Access to and from Sliema and the Three Cities is quick and comfortable via ferry, and there is enough to see in both of those places for you to make this hotel your base for exploring a beautiful part of the country. And by choosing a more central location, you are putting yourself in the centre of Valetta's vibrant nightlife, full of excellent bars and restaurants, music and idyllic scenery. I would not stay anywhere else in Valetta and will be returning soon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, right in the centre of Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were a little hard but this is personal preference.

    Myself and my husband booked to stay for one night while we were in Malta. At the last minute our daughter needed to come with us and they upgraded the room at no extra cost. The hotel was spotless and the room was very modern. The breakfast was also very nice. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and romantic hotel in Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was super nice.

    It is placed in a lovely really central street of Valletta. Next to all main points of interest of the city. Staff is friendly, professional and very kind. The room was super nice and perfectly clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    8.3
    A good hotel in the center of Valletta, all sights can be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good hotel in the center of Valletta, all sights can be reached on foot. We went with children. Sociable and friendly staff, helped with a transfer to a large family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is excellent but be forewarned that if there is a festival they blow off real cannons nearby. Once we knew what the noise was it was ok but at first I thought we may have been under seigle!

    Great location. This is an older elegant building with very modern clean updated guest rooms. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was attentive and Fiona at the front desk was welcoming and very funny too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast buffet was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise on the street..... People start loading and unloading trucks even before 7am.....I was unable to sleep past 7am due to the noise.

    The breakfast buffet was very good. The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    Beautiful (short) stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report

    The owners and their staff are extremely pleasant and made our stay unforgettable. We felt like visiting family/friends and would have liked to stay longer. It's really a shame that we had to take the ferry across Sicily at such an early time the following day as we could not take full advantage of the room and the hotel facitilites. However, we were given a breakfast bag full of delicious goodies. The hotel is lavishly decorated, our room was large and elegant, the bathroom very spacious. If one plans to visit Valletta, I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect ist the right titel for our stay at Palazzo Paolina, thanks to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to Mentorin.

    This was not our first stay at Palazzo Paolina and it was again first class. The Palazzo Paolina is a nice, stylish modern Boutique Hotel with the special touch of history and modernity. Our feeling of beeing a very welcome guest comes from all member of the Hotel Team. Our many special thanks are going to Mr. Dalli sen. and jun. - managing the Palazzo and make it really individuell, to all member of the service crew, whose are all friendly, helpfull and with passion focussed on the needs of the guest. The new reconstructed breakfast area in the basement floor is perfect in functionality and style. Also the breakfast itself ist very delicious and extensive. At all it was a perfect time at Palazzo Paolina, right in the heart of Vallettas old city. We will come back again. Kind Regards Antje & Gunnar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    The best so far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel owner Patrick was so welcoming and amazing with his suggestions for food, things to do etc. We have travelled a fair bit and this was by far the friendliest hotel staff we have come across. Thank you for making our stay in Malta so memorable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    This property’s location was perfect for our outings to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This property’s location was perfect for our outings to various attractions and restaurants-including the Merchant’s Market (food court style restaurants/food market) in Valletta. It is clean and updated with amenities: air con, WiFi, room refrigerator, good-sized bathrooms included a walk-in shower, tasteful, modern decor throughout that remains respectful of the building’s heritage. Lounge areas are available on the main floor for guests to use. There is an elevator. Bottled water was provided to guest rooms daily. The turn down service was attentive delivering more towels and water as requested. Morning breakfast included: cold meats, cheeses, salmon, cereals, breads/rolls, pastries, fruit, salad, sausage, ham, eggs, coffees, and tea. Desk staff are wonderful and extremely helpful-Fiona was just-wow!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful city with very friendly & welcoming people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Absolutely everything! Right in the centre of Valletta. Hotel really beautiful & the staff excellent so friendly & very helpful. Will definitely stay here again & would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in Valletta. Thank you Patrick, Jean, Aleksandra & Fiona for making our holiday so memorable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.6
    There was a very warm welcome from all of the staff who were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A small detail in the light of all of the above but a drawer or two to unpack smaller items would have been appreciated instead of going in and out of our case for them.

    There was a very warm welcome from all of the staff who were keen to ensure we had all our needs met and were comfortable. The rooms were stylish and appealing. My daughters particularly liked the ring light mirrors. Many creature comforts were there such as cushions, coffee machine, bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast was amazing! A huge range of items do that everyone could enjoy a high quality and balanced breakfast. We would defiantly book again if returning to Valletta. We wish the owners every success in their venture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    We habe been here for 5 nights stay and the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We habe been here for 5 nights stay and the hotel was perfect. The location coudn´t be better and staff was definitely the best one we met in the last time. Would come again and recommend even to families with children (we habe been there with 6 y. old) - is not a lot special for them, nevertheless they will also feel like a boss/king/queen due to care of the staff there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.3
    It is a wonderful little hotel in a marvellous location handy to all Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found i enjoyed my stay and did not find fault with the hotel.

    We loved the location and our room faced the street and had a balconey which was a major bonus and added size to the space. Could see the ocean from it. Air conditioning was brilliant and kept room at a good temp for a summer month. Bathroom was modern and spacious. Whole boutique hotel was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    A relaxing stay in a delightful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything

    Very tastefully renovated . Fabulous staff who could not do enough for you. Excellent facilities and thoughtful extras to make the stay a total pleasure such as free refreshments available throughout the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Stylish rooms in a beautiful palazzo, excellent location, helpful people on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room pretty much didn’t have a window, but that didn’t spoil overall impression, very clever design and overall comfortable clean stylish room.

    Very nice room, helpful staff (helped me with breakfast despite my early departure), breakfast was good quality and tasty, excellent bathroom, towels, linen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is lovely nothing I didn't like.

    This is a lovely hotel small and close to everything. Rooms are big,modern and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Valletta.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike.

    Location was excellent. Everything close by and within walking distance. Staff very friendly. Our room small but comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    A wonderful Stay to celebrate our 18th Wedding Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely Nothing.

    Palazzo Paolina Boutique Hotel is a lovely " Refurbished Palazzo Hotel". It is in the heart of the city centre and this is a clue to all that reviewed negatively on the noise. If you stay in a central located hotel in a city , you will expect to have "dustbin carts" early in the morning, so that they can keep clean the streets for both residents and tourists. If you expect to hear the birds singing, be disappointed! You have air-conditioning in the room, and the shutters on the window will close, this will help to eliminate the noise. Staff are superb and so. so, friendly. Huge variety for Breakfast, and the breakfast area was lovely. All was wonderful, including the tasteful décor around the building. A splendid way in celebrating our Wedding Anniversary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location owners are so helpful and so informative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic loved everything

    Fantastic location owners are so helpful and so informative our room was really nice good size and the hot tub was very welcome have to give this hotel 9.8 excellent would def recommend a visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    It was extremely nicely located and very well decorated with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe breakfast could be improved in terms of variety.

    It was extremely nicely located and very well decorated with many little details. Great shower. Extremely nice staff, especially Mirko who does the night shifts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.0
    Location for city centre good and breakfast was continental...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room no window to the street felt like a decorated cell. A.C. simply chilled you whilst in the room. Fairly dim lighting, the toilet was well lit and could have moved TV in there.

    Location for city centre good and breakfast was continental mainly and reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    Maltese family hotel... son working days we stayed and he was most welcoming and chatty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillow wasn’t good for me but fine for partner! Can’t please everyone I guess.

    Location was great. Hot tub and patio excellent. Easy and convenient room to use... such as sockets where you need them. Breakfast was very good... smoked salmon and scrambled eggs amongst other things. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    An ideal base to explore Valletta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although very nice, bedside tables could do with at least one drawer to put away your sundries.

    A real gem of a place to stay when visiting Valletta's old town as all the historical landmarks are there within short walking distance. Extremely kind, polite and friendly staff (especially Aleksandra) that truly go out of their way to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible. Good-size, nicely furnished rooms with all the usual amenities (plus some) you may ever need during your stay. Superb breakfast with coffee machine and assorted biscuits and cakes at guests' disposal through most of the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff is amazing - we needed a doctor during our stay and they were helpful and checking on us regularly. Hotel's location is AWESOME and facilities are new and functional. Great experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.6
    stylish and comfy place, friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, and especially the breakfast room was far too small (but a very unique one, in the cellar:)

    stylish and comfy place, friendly hosts. in the very center of old city. lovely, i can suggest it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.8
    The location is good, the room was very clean, the bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and it was somewhat inconvenient to maneuver around.

    The location is good, the room was very clean, the bed, shower, towels, and other amenities were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location, extremely friendly personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast room is rather small, can be crowded at peak hours I guess

    The friendliness of the personnel was exceptional. They gave us excellent advice on local restaurants and day trips. Very nice boutique hotel full with (nice) paintings of the owner (Patrick Dalli, see google!). Confortable rooms, very good beds. Try to get the penthouse ! (my friend complained about a (probably non existing) AC noise in his bedroom and was upgraded to the penthouse: beautiful terrasse and jacuzzi where we had our maltese white wine aperitif!) Intelligent renovation of a townhouse in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    We were delighted with this lovely hotel and would highly recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little more/better tourist advice and information.

    The location was amazing. The staff super professional and friendly too. Breakfast room was small but food fresh plentiful. Beautifully decorated and great beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    My stay at the Palazzo Paolina exceeded all my expectations. An amazing place to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    When I booked the room I didn't know what I would be getting. I encountered a most amazing property; the owner is an artist, his beautiful paintings hung all over the place; the room was finely decorated; the amenities in the bathroom were of top quality, the wifi signal was strong all over the place, the staff was incredibly helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and stlyish place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only problem that I realized was the shower in the bathroom. When you use it, the whole bathroom is going to be wet...

    Palazzo Paolina is a very stlylish place to stay in the heart of Valetta, decorated with a really good taste and nice paintings. In the suits the beds are comfortable, room is cleaned with care. The terrace is fantastic, nice view, comfortable couch, and jacuzzi! You can have a good coffe and tea in your room as well. The smiling staff is really helpful, there is nothing too much to ask from them!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel, beautifully renovated, friendly staff, a great breakfast - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all.

    The hotel was just perfect. Location is very close to the centre of Valletta. Staff were all very friendly and super helpful. Coffee and breakfast was very good. Room was lovely and the shower was the best. The hotel itself has been beautifully renovated, and all the stunning artwork just added to it. I would really recommend it to anyone visiting Malta.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    The hotel added to our great holiday in Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have racked our brains but cannot come up with a negative for this hotel.

    We were very impressed with the entire hotel package. The staff were excellent, friendly & just very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay , Fantastic find in Valetta
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The variety at breakfast ... We ate the same things all 3 days..

    The family that runs it is very nice and extremely friendly with all the guest. The rooms are of great quality The location is fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.5
    Central location, friendly staff, comfortable bed, good free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little small for more than one or two nights' stay, no bar, some noise from machinery in the night. Nightlight very bright (but host fixed a cover on it).

    Central location, friendly staff, comfortable bed, good free breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    One of the best small hotels we have stayed in. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor issue with odour from shower drain. Mentioned at end of stay and confident it will be addressed promptly

    Excellent accommodation - a superb development from a ruined palazzo. Room very comfortable. Staff friendly and very helpful and the owner was particularly pleasant and keen to ensure our stay was enjoyable and happy to talk about the transformation from ruin to beautiful hotel. A1 location, easy walking distance to anywhere in Valletta and wide choice of excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Palazzo Paolina Boutique Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery