Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pergola Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Adenau Street, MLH 2014 Mellieħa, Malta

#26 of 40 hotels in Mellieħa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 769 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel let people who aren't staying at the hotel pay to use the pool for the day. It means that the pool area is overcrowded, noisy and dirty and it is impossible to get a sunbed unless you get one first thing in the morning and hog it for the day. If you go out in the morning hoping to spend a few hours by the pool in the afternoon forget finding a sunbed. The pool is only small and there are a lot of sunbeds which are all occupied! So it is no longer a relaxing place to be. The aircon does not work properly and most nights it stopped working. The same applies to the wifi that most of the time did not work.

    The hotel itself is ok. A bit dated but ok. It is kept really clean and the staff are really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    disappointed with treatment at spa. sent letter of complaint, to which had a decent reply sent, thanks

    bedroom, bathroom and kitchen area spotlessly clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn' like that full payment for the stay was asked for the moment we arrived! The breakfast included was quite poor, we had eveing meal when we arrived and it was the only time we did, quality poor. Found a great hotel down the road which had a wonderful restaurant and we had all our meals there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge amount of sun loungers, usual people placing towels down early, could have been controlled by hotel. Otherwise fantastic.

    Great location, close to local amenities and bus service. Hotel facilities were fantastic, unbelievably clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. Was very good the experience of staying in Pergola that can provides you allmost everything you need. I have to refer Yunita as a fantastic employee that helped us in everything and always with a big smile that makes us feel a very important guest. I like to stay in places where i feel important and protected in a foreign countrie. Pergola is the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a team of fantastic and helpful staff - the rooms are spacious and the food for breakfast lunch and dinner were good. The spa and pool facilities are great and the cave bar was awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suggest to have more sign for different lifts.

    Very quiet room, perfect for holiday. The reception is very friendly, they help to print out my boarding pass, though charged me for 20 cents.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was terrible. No clean cups, glasses. Coffee tea milk not replaced. Bath Towels forgotten. Balcony not cleaned. Beds looked like someone jumped on them. Just awful

    Close to my sister

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had room located next to the restaurant on the same floor as the outdoor swiming pool, and during the day almost all the time someone was walking at the front of our patio. Ordering additional services is not working as it should, we have ordered transfer from the airport and kindly asked for the confirmation, no one answered on the message, until we have landed on the Malta airport, what coused some additional problems for us.

    Localization of the hotel is very well, it is situated next to the bus stop, which allow to visit all the places on Malta, including Gozo, size of the room was amazing, we had two bedrooms and small kitchen, The view from the room was exceptional, especialy during the night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real air conditioning, just fans. It was hot in our room and it wasn't even summer. The staff weren't really organised, the food service seemed chaotic. For the bar I think they should hire a real mixer who can make cocktails and not one of the room service guys pop in who has no clue how to make a cocktail. Also we had to wait almost an hour for a pizza which after asking about where is it, they served it cold and didn't take the order properly.

    The food was great and we could try various types during our stay. The hotel was nice and the cleaning staff were friendly. The pool area was also good. The hotel offered a lot of programs you can choose from to make your stay better. The 3 island boat tour was really great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just booked breakfast in this hotel, the food was absolutely disgusting my husband asked for a fried egg one morning and it was totally burned on the bottom and raw on top. The lady in charge of the dining room was not very pleasant and seems to bully the younger staff around her, the pool area is very is very small and the sun bed's are very tight together, just before we left we decided to have lunch at the pool bar BIG MISTAKE we had to wait nearly one hour before our food arrived and then it was totally inedible we refused to pay for it I would greatly question the ability of the chef and the cleanliness of the kitchen, I really don't think I could recommend this hotel

    Front of house staff were very helpful and friendly, our room was very clean and comfortable, we had a double room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise due to construction zone outside. Had to change teo lifts to get to my room also to get to the restaurant.

    The studio apartment was comfortable and the food was very good. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was just a fan. But the staff was helpful to provide me a portable fan 😊

    Nice hotel and really helpful staff! I want to thank Katarina especially- thanks for outstanding service! The view from the big pool area is just like in the pictures- amazing! And with the cave bar and service of the guys there you will enjoy life big time. The room was really nice with large balcony. The breakfast has everything you need and is very good! It’s no problem to walk down to the beach, but from the beach I suggest the bus. In fact I used the bus a lot around on Malta and with the app Tallinja it was no problem! If you want to stay in the beautiful town Mellieha - Pergola Hotel is just the place to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself has a very quirky layout, sometimes not always the easiest to get out of in a hurry. The location is very quite, little to no resturants, bars nightlife or shops.

    Pool was brilliant (well it actually had 3 pools, i mean the infinity pool), the cave bar was a lovely little spot have an evening drink and spa was amazing! Services to other areas (ie public transport and shuttle services) are very accesable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The equipements are little bit out-dated. The windows are not double-layered, so the isolation is not good for our room is at the 1st floor and just facing the street. But no problem for me in the night as there are seldom a car passing by late at night.

    Good value for money, not far from the sea. The roof swimming pool and cave bar are amazing. You can overlook the nice view of the bay when swimming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our apartment was directly above the bar - noisy until 11pm. Quite a confusing layout - either 3 different lifts or lots of stairs.

    view from the apartment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stuffy, the AC didn’t work good. The manager at the reception refused to help me when I asked to change the room as I was with the small baby and the room wasn’t good for us. So we’ve tried to enjoy our stay as much as we could but since the baby wasn’t comfortable at the room he started to cry at 3 am and we had to leave from the hotel. Really desapointed with the hotel and the attitude of the staff.

    The dinner was nice, but there was nothing that toodler can eat, unfortunately. So my child became hungry very fast as I could only give him some snacks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice ladies and gentlemen on the reception, willing to help (there is a luggage room available after check out ) very close to bus stop (each direction - be ready for crowded buses heading to/from Valletta) we did not order breakfast, so I can not say we did not try the indoor swimming pool, because my husband was sick and it was too cold for outdoor pool in April

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you got long hair, bring your own hairdryer, otherwise it will take you ages to get your hair dry. We got a room close to the lift which left us impossible to sleep longer than 7am since the walls were thin so you heard every single word of other people

    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice pool area with stunning views, good breakfast. All in one we had a good time at this Hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was missing a Spa kind of environment. There was just a body and wash in the room, which is not what you expect in this kind of accommodations. The car garage was not available for some reason. In 5 nights, the alarm rang 3 times at 7 am which was not pleasant. They claimed in the second time that there was someone making fire in a room...But it was curious that the alarm rang more or less at the same time.

    Good location in the city. Great restaurant just around the corner, which I think it belongs to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mattresses, pillows, towels well worn. Internet rarely worked from our room. Indoor pool kind of grungy and dark, no sunlight or windows.

    Staff was very friendly. Nice views, city bus stop and restaurants and shops nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone of the staff seemed to be a little less helpful than others, but still friendly and tried to help.

    The view from our room was far better than I could have expected and the staff was friendly and willing to help in anyway way they could.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed wasn't so comfortable to sleep on ,lack of entertainment and would prefer a better veriety of breakfast

    We liked the clean envirmont and the staff were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dry sauna was a bit weird but after all i'm from Estonia

    After my hostel experience this was like a paradise. Had a very nice room,breakfast was good,excellent staff,bar was great,nice pizza from proper pizza oven and location and views were lovely.Would book again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sufficient for 4 persons but it advertises as sleeps up to 7. There is only one bathroom so don't think it could adequately meet the needs of 7 people.

    The hotel was extremely clean. The staff were lovely. Special thanks to Delores for sorting out an invoice query for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating didnt work and it was very cold in the apartment. We were with two kids 4 year and 1 year old. After our complaint second night they gave us blankets and for the third and fourth night heater. Hotel is nice but not for the winter time.

    One bed apartment is very spacious and clean. Beautiful view from the hotel pool and caffe. Not far from the bus station and you need bus if you want to go to the beach. Small indoor pool which was nice for the kids. We got complementary chocolate for the Valentine's day and bottle of red wine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit old equipment in the bathroom, oldish room decorations. No music tv programmes. We had no hot water twice because of some main problems at the hotel, but the stuff tried to fix this problem ASAP.

    Friendly staff. Great breakfast and dinner. Clean room, everything you need for stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We really liked this hotel. Beautiful, spacious hotel, very comfortable rooms, responsive and friendly staff, rich and delicious breakfast, cheerful chef. Hotel is next to the bus stop, beautiful church and fantastic views. We really liked everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One could make more entertaining espically at the bar, where to relax more.

    Food and cleaness were very good, even the staff was helfull. The room was comfortable too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your fit do the outside stairs, if not stick to the lifts 😂😂

    Very nice, bigger than expected. Views were gorgeous & plenty of restaurants both inside the hotel and local.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym facilities old and poor, food in the hotel wasn’t nice at all and a waste of money. Nice restaurants near by

    Pool facilities excellent, room was very big and nice balcony. Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no designated parking so there was a little stress when we arrived back to hotel each day. However, we always found a spot usually around the corner. Regarding beds: our children slept on the pull outs - which were uncomfortable. We had to have help to open them the first night - GOOD NEWS: a staff member came right away to help us with the pull out beds! If you have primary school-age children, I would think the pull out beds would be alright. I can not recommend them for middle school age and up. Breakfast bar was only "okay" though super convenient. Bathroom smelled a bit mildew-y but couldn't really see anything amiss. Internet - which I hate to say is almost necessary even on a vacation today - was quite bad. The hotel is working to fix this by re-doing its system (which is making it worse at the moment apparently). Despite these issues, I would stay here again.

    The hotel was nice. The staff was nice. The facilities were clean. The main bed in bedroom was alright. Staff was really responsive when we needed help with issue in room and help with our return flight. Room had great view of the church in one direction and the water in other (though currently there is a crane a bit in the way). Room has a terrace that is encased but with clear dividers so it is private to your room yet feels quite open. We were there in winter so didn't use it but in warmer weather, we would have eaten out there. It is quite nice! There is a gorgeous infinity pool at the hotel and a beautiful "baby" pool just to the right of this room's terrace. At night the little pool is lit which was lovely. Indoor heated pool was a big hit with my children. Everything is in room that one would need to make meals/tea. The bathroom had lovely modern sink and was clean. Plenty of storage to place belongings to keep off floor. Check in was easy as was check out. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony led on to another balcony (room 81A) made the room very dark. Didn’t use free WiFi because we had to log in to it, our log in details weren’t explained to us. Not a problem for us because we had mobile data, but maybe an issue for others? Leisure facilities could be improved. Water was freezing. Install children’s indoor pool? Pool full of loud children who would throw balls into jacuzzi ect. Disturbing adults.

    Great staff, not a single bad experience. Breakfast good, fresh and always restocked. Fantastic value for money. Da Vinci Spa experience excellent. Good location, perfect for those wanting to use public transport. Good views from terrace bar ect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool and the jacuzzi where not warm enough for January, also I would suggest to have bathrobes included in the room. Pizzeria would be great if it was open for lunch as well.

    Everything about the room was great, we had all amenities in the room and we had a beautiful terrace with Mellieha view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heater inside the room didn't work according to my expectation (a little bit cold inside the room even if the heater was set on the max temp). I think that it is time to replace the old furniture.

    Breakfast, outside pool, most of the restaurants, position of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some dim lighting in room, the shower screen doesn’t quite align with the bath so you end up with a very wet bathroom floor.

    Good choice at breakfast, Chef was very friendly, very good value for money per night. Very clean!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches, dirty, old indoor swimming pool, poorly equiped gym, single connecting door to another room letting all the noises from another room in, sofa bed totally unsuitable for sleeping - super uncomfortable. No toys in childrens’ room. No parking.

    Nice staff, good choice of restaurants, nice outdoor pool, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing at all!!!

    The friendly staffs, everyone was very accommodating, the inclusive breakfast - I don’t even have any space for lunch at all coz i’m so full after eating!!! the sauna and the indoor pool and jacuzzi!!! I had it to myself all the time, I guess most guests are out and about! It’s a shame that it’s already winter time, I could have used the outdoor pool overlooking the church!!! it’s such an amazing view!!! definitely a plus. my room is the pool view as well!!! I’m definitely coming back for more!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property is a bit old, the restaurant Ciccio cucina has some very good food but the wait is too long and the service approximate. The lift system is a bit confusing. The indoor pool very small. The braekfast was ok but missing some chocolate spread. Coffee is only self service by machine (does a very bad cappuccino).

    The price for the room was excellent, I was also upgraded to a better room for selecting to pay for the daily breakfast. All the services are avaiable in winter too. The hallways are always shining clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toaster it took like 5 mins to toast that’s just being fussy it was great that they put out water coffee tea apples cake for you in the middle of night if you have an early flight before it’s time for breakfast just wish there had been a sandwich as that would have been more sustainable

    I loved the breakfast so much choice the room was gorgeous the staff were really friendly and very helpful great English spoken sun deck fabulous must be great in the summer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom had an ant problem there was at one time between 1-30 ants roaming around.

    Really comfortable room, nice comfortable beds, and excellent, quality foos from room service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like. I only stayed for one night but it seemed very a very nice hotel. What I might critique is the elevator as it was too small and tiny for us. It was for me and a friend of mine but very tiny.

    Very good atmosphere. Loved the inside of the hotel, very nice - made me feel very tranquil and relaxed even though we were staying for a one night stay and for some business. Everything in our room worked - we didn't have AC but we did have a fan and it was good for us being November as well it was good. The room was value for our money and we had a terrace that looked out side the pool and level with other rooms neighbors. For sure I would have liked to stay a bit more but I couldn't. It seemed very good in my opinion.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather could have been better but I'm being picky 😎

    The location of the hotel is perfect for our needs. Fruit and wine on arrival was a nice surprise. Large living room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Economy room had no outside window - it was like being in a dungeon and was so hot despite having air on on 24/7!!! Would not have booked this room had advert stated this!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took 1hour and 30 mins. I did get complimentary drinks but it’s still not what is expected for a relaxing start. Beds were uncomfortable and the whole place just feels dated and in need of a refresh!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The issue with the guest wasn't dealt with satisfactorily. We phoned reception at midnight - nothing happened. My partner walked down to reception. We were moved to another room. Early next morning he went to reception to see if we could stay in new room. he was told this wasn't possible as other guests were expected. We were then forced to pack our belongings again and move to a third room. All 3 rooms had identical fixtures and fittings and balcony so this was completely unnecessary. No apologies were offered and no assistance with moving luggage was given

    Everything OK for first few days. A very noisy guest move in next door who smoked in the room. The smoke found its way into our room and the noise kept us awake . Bar staff were fantastic and a credit to the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little noise from building works caused a slight disturbance, customer care was above and beyond. all staff were excellent to make our stay great even with the noise.

    As a repeat customer I like room 46, great room over cave bar, good music on friday night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sea view was very limited (narrow stretch between houses). There is no beach within easy walking distance.

    Spacious and clean apartment close to the center (shops & restaurants). Nice balconies. Quiet room and location. Good shower/bath with enough water pressure and hot water. Several swimming pools.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Economy twin rooms are a bit dark due to view to an inner court, cannot be properly aerated. No air conditioning, just ventilator.

    Very close to bus station - 3-4 stops from Mellieha & Ghadira beaches.Close to Popeye Village. Rich and varied breakfast. Nice swimming pool area. Clean and nice rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lots of drilling and hammering going on in the hotel making it difficult to enjoy some peace on our lovely terrace!

    Spacious apartment and fabulous view , helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditing was terrible in our room, When we arrived we were not told any info about the hotel or were we given a welcome letter unlike other guests

    The new pool area was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several stairsteps in unexpected places require brighter safety markings of their location. We had a traveler fall and break a bone on the marble floors due to inadequate warning marker.

    Friendliness of staff! Quality of food and facilities. Response of staff to questions and needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    number of problems with our room air conditioning leaking time and time again. sofa bed broken locks on doors not working water constantly running in the toilet (noisy) for what we paid would not expect these problems. reported it but little got done. we paid £1500 for this room for a week so was very disappointed facilities round the hotel are good but rooms very dissapointed with them

    in Nice Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was good but the rooms feel quite old now and the water leaked everywhere in the bathroom although there were enough towels to mop up!

    We had a room overlooking the internal courtyard pool, nice little terrace to sit on. Comfortable room. I had a massage in the spa which was only ok, but quite reasonably priced anyway. Great location near the older part of town with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. We got lost a few times in the quirky building with 3 different lifts that go to different places! Breakfast had a large choice, buffet style. Aircon was fine and kettle in room to make teas and coffees and a fridge which was convenient. We only stayed one night but if we stayed longer I woukd have tried to upgrade to another room with a view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The could have done with an evening bar to be open like the solana hotels.

    The staff were very helpful. The hotel was a little worn out but very clean,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection is very poor, the network stops working all the time. The rooms might be finished by better workers - there are small inconveniences like water always flowing to the floor through small hole in the shower etc.

    The hotel is very nicely located, rooms are air-conditioned, next to a bus stop with a lot of buses. They have everything you need and the staff is very helpful - they will arrange everything you need. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air-conditioning, whilst acceptable, didn't make the room as cool as we'd have liked, still had trouble getting to sleep some nights and woke up sweating. The layout of the hotel was quite confusing; we were in room 601 and had to get one lift then walk through a corridor then get a second lift to get to the room, wasn't as easy as we'd have liked but wasn't a major issue. The city itself was a bit quiet for our liking, not many pubs/ restaurants nearby but that might be a bonus for some!

    The pool and bar area wasn't overly busy; food at the cave bar was reasonably priced and there was a decent range. I really enjoyed the cave bar. Nice views from the outside pool. There was also a quieter pool elsewhere in the facility which is great for those wanting to quietly relax by the poolside. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn't very good so that made sleep difficult. All the bars etc shut at 11 pm which is early for a holiday.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    staff made this hotel, couldnt do enough for you. lobby area is lovely and food at breakfast excellent. didnt stay for dinner for looked good. smaller pool is better than the larger one we found as less crowded.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything , but if you are looking for lots of local bars and night life this is not the location for you. Also as the surrounding area is very hilly it may not suit those with mobility problems.

    Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. the staff in the dining room were constantly on hand to clear the tables and the a choice of 3 meat dishes and a fish dish every night and a great salad table was on offer. As the hotel was set on a hill, getting used to the different lifts and floors was a novelty Would say the hotel is a good 3 star but we had not realised when booking you could upgrade your package to get toiletries and beach towels etc. Ideal hotel for a quiet chill out holiday, which was what we wanted. No problem getting a sun bed at the outside pools, we used the smaller of the two which was quiet and perfect for what we were looking for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor air conditioning Very poor Wi-Fi Furniture very old-fashioned

    Big balcony with great view Very good location. Away from traffic, but close to all facilities (including bus stop). Entrances at both ground- and top-level (inclined terrain)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner switch in the room was broken and the ceiling fan wobbled. Our inexpensive room was overlooking the pool on the same level so anyone by the pool could look straight into the room unless we drew the curtains. The rooftop pool on level 3 had cloudy water so we didn't risk entering. The indoor pool had dirt visible on the floor. The main pool on level 0 looked fine, so we swam there with no problems.

    The price was extremely good - we got a dinner buffet, a breakfast buffet, and a one-night stay for just €90 for two people (€45 each). The food was OK - not a huge choice - for dinner there was chicken, beef, pork, fish, potatoes and vegetables, a few appetizers and some pasta. Drinks were not included in the price. Similarly, the breakfast buffet covered the essentials (toast, sausage, bacon and egg, fruit juice, milk, cereal) but no hash browns or other fried goodies. I guess I'd consider it good considering the low price. The rooms were clean, but a little dated. The burger at the cave bar was amazing. Huge tasty beef patty that rivals some of the gourmet burger joints on the island, and reasonably priced at around €12 for the hash-brown edition I had. The chicken burger my partner took was also very very tasty ;).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weird cleaning - something has been cleaned up, but something remained uncleaned. Trash box left in full. Sometimes door beeps (electronic issue). Hotel advertising says that if you stay in hotel for three days or more, SPA will be offered for free. "SPA" turned out to be one bubble bath.

    Two different swimming pools, live excellent music at the ground floor restaurant and barbecue Fridays, excellent view over the bay. Quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room initial room had some issues, but it was taken care of the next day. The cave bar food was also just okay.

    The staff was very nice and friendly. Our second room was an upgraded room, it was nice and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had to leave and not stay longer

    The staff were friendly and as accommodating as possible. The view spectacular and it was a cool escape from the heat in the evenings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the air con did not work properly

    Super friendly staff!!!!! The outside of the hotel was well maintained. The room itself was a bit dated and air con was rubbish. But the staff were super friendly and made up for the room!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were problems with air conditions that was almost switched off for the night so in the morning was quite hot. Wifi was working but very slow and it disconnected very often, for reading news and email ok but for anything more the internet was useless.

    Beautifull view from the room, nice hotel, good food. The service was perfect, everyone was polite and very helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great quality but there was a wide variety for all tastes. Room was dated but I had expected that. Air conditioning worked for about an hour and then started to blow out hot air - not a problem until night time when we were waking up hot. Had we have been there later in the season when the weather was much warmer I would have mentioned this to the staff.

    The view from the pool and Cave Bar area was spectacular!!! I believe the pool area has recently been refurbished including lovely new outdoor furniture. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Bed and pillows were really comfy and the room was nice and clean and tidy. Safe provided in the room however you need to pay to use this (as well as a refundable €10 deposit) Parking around the area was relatively easy. Shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Big beach a 10 min drive away and nicely located in a great small town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property good if I had been on my own...but I had elderly parent so it's location is not in the best of places - I should have researched the area more! Foot paths all various heights & not in best condition so have to be mindful walking - that said the hotel itself was good. Government could do with sorting out roads & paths to help re return of business etc not the staff or Hotels fault.

    The friendliness of the staff. The fact I could swim indoors.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the one thing- if economic room look like prisone cel l(without windows and sun light :( ) better to pay more. We felt like mop and broom in cupboard.APART OF THAT ALL GOOD. Hotel worth to recomend.

    Nice place, beautiful view, good location, friendly and open personel,nice swimming pools, the hotel is huge and spacious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mario in particular in the Cave Bar was such a pleasure to speak with. He made everything so enjoyable for everyone at the bar every time he was working. All round the staff were great, the included food (we booked half board) was delicious & facilities really great. We had a two bedroom apartment with sea views & it was just outstanding. Huge space & a great view from the balcony. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here & will be coming back again next year.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not so warm water in outside pools (even in May, as outside was ca 25 degrees). Kids could enjoy only inner pool, which was a shame.

    Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Not so easy to find at first, but you will get used to it. Not so many travelers with kids but all the staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closes far too early - breakfast and dinner abundant, varied and very reasonably priced but rather tasteless food

    Three different swimming pools (where you can always avoid the crowd) - bar with very friendly staff - helpful Reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about the pergola hotel.this was our 4th visit.

    Room lovely overlooking church. New pool area with infinity pool enhances stunning views Excellent staff in all areas .cleaner. reception, Mario and all in cave bar

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Doesn't compare well to other 4 star hotels I've been to. - They have like 4 different menus for ordering food to the room, and unnecessary complexity of ordering it. - The breakfast and coffee were quite basic. - WiFi was quite bad. It was hard to browse the most basic of websites with that WiFi.

    - The hotel offers a variety of massages and other treatments. - The cave bar and swimming pool are nice. The view from there is nice too. - Room service was decent.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pergola Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: