Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plaza Regency Hotels 3 stars

251 Tower Road, SLM 1600 Sliema, Malta

#21 of 31 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 927 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    4.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.0
    Well priced hotel in a good spot, with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Why do solo travellers so often get allocated a lousy room? Mine was a bunker whose window opened onto a narrow shaft which might have seen sunlight for 15 minutes a day - so effectively windowless. No doubt I could have changed rooms if I kicked up a fuss, but it wasn't worth it for two nights.

    Good value hotel in a very good location. The staff were helpful and the rooftop bar and pool were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel, clean and nice rooms and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast wasn't great, very sweet juices, limited selection of food, no fresh fruits.

    Great location, just next to the sea, away from noisy St Julians. The swimming pool on the top has nice view and there are plenty of sunbeds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location, plenty of restaurants andcafes around;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely uncomfortable bed, especially pillow. Terrace surrounded by walls of neighbouring buildings so no fresh air circulation, very hot in the room during the night

    Excellent location, plenty of restaurants andcafes around; kind staff; spacious room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    we stayed on the plaza side and my only gripe was the balcony door can not form the outside had to call down to the pizza staff to ask them to tell the reception to come up ha

    great staff, room cleaned everyday and clean towels and sheets each day did not have breakfast or meals so can't comment. poo larea and bar was great. great location coffee shops and bars nearby.... defo be back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Near to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfurst was not worth the money. The juice feels like it was never mixed with water when u take it from the machine.

    Near to everything. Bustop just right outside of the hotell.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    A látvány és a szoba tisztasága a néhány negatívumért kárpótol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Neither shelves, nor hangers in the bathroom - Loud noise after the water has been running - Slight toilet malfunction - Extremely thin walls. You can pefectly hear when the neighbours leave and arrive. - Internet locks you out every day several times - Restaurant is quite smelly - Street is very noisy all the time and the closed window does not have perfect insulation

    - The bay view from the superior room on the 4th floor is spectacular - Small but great balcony - Room is made up every day (clean towels as weel) - Sea is just a few steps away - Most important bus lines really close to hotel - Nice restaurants nearby - Exquisite location - Great roof top pool and nightly live music

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean, Fair priced and well situated. Bit better organisation wouldn't harm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody at Reception for a good 10 min (!) - too long to wait. No empty check-in documents to fill out ready

    Clean Room - Friendly Front desk manager, nice location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Position!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No internet! After 3 minutes it goes of! We asked 3 times to repair! Nothing! 2. Breakfast the same for 7 days! Not werry divrsificated! 3. The personal is not talking nice! At 11:03 we were at the door to check out they called us in a bad tone... 4. Pool is closed at 19-20 never seen in 7 days... 5. Lot of money for nothingh! (First time I am writing a review, but this was bad)

    Position!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    The picture online, the location looked amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of cleanliness is not acceptable: almost every towel and the bathroom had a lot of human hair. The bedding and the whole interior was a bit worn down. There was no external window. I got a visitor too: a large cockroach. The WiFi connection did not work for the phone and the mobile reception and 3G weren’t good either because the signal could not reach the room I guess.

    The picture online, the location looked amazing. But...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Never booked it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos in booking arent similar in reality. In our room was broken mirror and looked ugly. Our sheets and towels were dirty, you know the stains which you cant wash, towels and sheets had these stains. All in room looked worn out. In booking we reserved 1 double bed but when we arrived there were two separate beds, when we telled it to stuff, they just put them together and between beds was space anyway so it was very hard to sleep together... Breakfast they said - will be in penthouse - 7th floor. It was a penthouse because of view, but breakfast wasnt. Food was normal but so small choice and the coffee wasnt good and juice tasted like concentrate and chemistry.

    Stuff was good, because they do their job and they are not responsible for information and photos which we saw in booking.com and reality. Balcony and view to see was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    Nice staff but room was to expensive for quality offered by booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got very small room with window only, there was only space for queen size bed (with two separate mattress). Bathroom was old and moldy with black spots in corners. Generally room was very old and small, we had option to compare it with other rooms.

    Hotel staff was very kind and helpful. The location and view from roof pool was also very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Really nice modern room wih beautiful seaview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested double bed but got two matresses next to eahc other and wifi was very weak making it impossible to use.

    Really nice modern room wih beautiful seaview.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Never more, sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose I paid too much for a single room (no board at all) at the second floor (no view while upper floors enjoy a nice view) even though I booked at least 5 months ago. I felt discriminated because I travel on my own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    location great
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this should not have been a room

    room so small turning around was tough. bathroom a total joke; toilet was angled into the wall, the shower door was hard to deal with and didn't work as the floor was flooded. shampoo was in a ketchup type plastic bag... try opening one of those in a shower without eating shampoo. otoh the night clerk from sri lanka was a gem and irene on day shift was charming and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is very well located with an excellent view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor and swimming pool very small but with an amazing view. TV has few channels in English.

    Hotel is very well located with an excellent view. Great beach just in front of the hotel. A lot of nice restaurants and bars nearby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    - Very good location, bus station very close to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We pay for Comfort Room and we get veryyy small room, not the same type of room,that we see on the pictures here, no hall, our tolilet was a front of our bed, no balcony. I made a reservation for one double bed, and also after my reservation I sent message to the property about that, they sent me message for confirmation but when we came there we get two single beds. We ask on the reception if they can change our room, for the one that we made a reservation, but nothing's happened.

    - Very good location, bus station very close to the hotel - Renovated rooms - Cleanliness - high level, they clean our room every day - Nice Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing view from our room, would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Joanne at the front desk was awesome! The evening entertainment was so great and so were the meals very reasonable and couldn’t beat the view. Highly recommend eating at the roof top bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Only good thing is the location, horrible value for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible beds/mattresses, sheets were not changed the whole week. Wifi and the fridge did not work at all. Fire/elevator alarm went off every night to wake us up. Would not complain if it was a cheap hotel but for this price it is horrible value.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.4
    The location of the hotel is perfect, lots of buses to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was nothing like the pictures, i booked the Comfort Single Room. Everything in it was old needed renovation. The window is looking at other hotel windows and a grey wall with no light at all. The room had a very bad smell like mold from the air condition. When i told the reception and asked for another room they said they didn't have. Thank God it was not a very hot room so i turned it off for sleeping. I stayed 4 nights and the last two some teenagers were running and shouting in the halls all night making to much noise and making some alarm ringing several times around 4 -5 am. I called the reception but the phone seemed busy.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, lots of buses to go anywhere in Malta, nice beach in front of the hotel, if you get a room with a front view is perfect i think. The cleaning ladies were very helpful and polite. I stayed at the left building named Plaza.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Just perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love staying in this hotel. The location is great, close to bus stops, beach,restaurants, and the promenade. St. Julian’s is just literally few minutes away. I just want to thank everyone who made the 30th birthday of my boyfriend a memorable one. The management got involved with everything, from the balloons to setting up our room to the cake. You are all amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was that we had to pay to weight our luggage...

    Location was perfect. Clean rooms everyday. Good airconditioning. 24/7 service available and restaurants and bars next to the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had booked an airport transfer through the hotel and after landing at 11pm, there was no driver for us. There was a mix up and the hotel had forgotten to book it. It was however easy enough to get a driver from the airport to Sliema for €20.

    Rosaleen in reception was very friendly and helpful on check out and booking transfer to airport for us. We had issues with AC in room leaking, which was fixed very efficiently. Breakfast had a good variety and was adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few worn spots in the room, but nothing really bad. Sometimes we did have to flush several times. Would have been GREAT had there been an ice machine, or more convenient way to get ice rather than from the cafe next door.

    We were in two twin bed room 428, which had a balcony overlooking the harbor. Beautiful, and handy for smoking! Bus stops immediately outside, and several nearby restaurants. "College Market" was a SHORT walk, and in the morning had the BEST BREAD that I've ever had!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff were so kind and helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no fridge or tea/coffee ready in the room. For the price, i have expected it to be present.

    The staff were so kind and helpful and welcoming. Also the location was super.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were nice & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise above from my room were loud!! I couldn't sleep.

    Staff were nice & friendly. The location is quite good as shops are just beside the hotel & it's close to paceville.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing. Be careful which room you book.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1st room had a tiny window with no natural light looking onto a ventilation shaft. 2nd room looked onto a slightly larger ventilation shaft. Dirty glasses in the room. Hairs in the plughole of the bath.

    The hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant room, good experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too much water in the bathroom after taking a shower.

    The room was big and mostly clean, the location was great and the price was good comparing to other options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful to get some sleep after a long flight!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For its central location, the hotel was quiet. The hot water and towel supply was more than adequate, and the breakfast buffet had a lot of choices. The reception staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    The late Check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Lot of noise. A Lot of dust. The shower was ok but the evacuation failed a lot. The sheets of the bed were very uncomfortable and very strong.

    The late Check in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean and well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We only paid for breakfast for one night and chose to eat breakfast elsewhere as we did not think it was great. There was no sign to say the air-conditioning would not work if balcony/window was open (maybe this is a well known fact?!) As we did not know this we though it was broken and sweated for a whole night - This was quickly resolved in the morning when spoken to staff.

    It was a great hotel for the money paid. (We chose one of the cheaper options) We had a beautiful balcony attached to our room, bed was huge and bathroom was acceptable. Bed sheets were a little small for the mattress and came off every night while sleeping. Loads of breakfast options almost next door to the hotel and they were cheap and open at about 7am/7:30am. The pool is not enormous but it is sufficient and not over crowded. Excellent location, next to the sea and local restaurant, bus stops directly outside with direct routes to the ferry for Gozo/Comino and direct to Valetta. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    The location is good quite close to St Julians area and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was given a room in which the basin was blocked. I reported to the receptionist only to be told that the maintenance person was not there and that they will be dealing with it the following day, but that did not happen, so I had to unblock the basin myself. The staff made me feel very unwelcome, mainly the receptionist who seem to try to hide from the clients.

    The location is good quite close to St Julians area and the hotel overall has a good view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Not a bad place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the receptionists were not very friendly when I came to check in, the one for check out was nice though

    I liked the view from the room and the pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    A hotel for those who are fondly nostalgic for Britain 35 years ago.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is archaic. The Isle of Wight in the Med.... Breakfast is Torquay 1979: dreadful fried bread, hard bacon, cold baked beans; tinned fruit salad I had inflicted on me at school; industrial battery-acid fruit juice. Dinner is also like something straight out of Torquay 1979: cottage pie, or a dish served with ever-so-adventurous peas and carrots. The indoor swimming pool is ok but the whirlpool is broken. Each half of the hotel is connected by going out into the street or up to floor 6 - a pain for swimming. The WiFi is set up so you have to log in every time, and one’s iPhone is unable to retain the password. And the desk staff are uninterested and uncommunicative - the worst I have seen in a long time.

    The bathroom was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Lack of customer service & noisy area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not clean(full of builders dust and hairs in the bathroom), the reception & breakfast staff were not helpful at all, they never smiled throughout our stay and they never gave us the feeling that we were welcome in the hotel. The outdoor pool was meant to have a bar, but that was closed at all times and the chairs and tables were gathered up in a pile covered in dust. Breakfast, although there was a lot of variety all was of very low quality, especially the coffee. The hotel is located in a very noisy area so we were not able to rest at all because of all the construction works taking place all around. All in all we wouldn't recomnend staying here unfortunately.

    The rooms were newly renovated & they looked good & I must mention the receptionist Mary Nelson(I hope I got her name right) as she was the most helpful of all the staff & was always ready to answer any questions & give us some guidance on what were the areas to visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful view and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff was extremely friendly and super helpful! I had a beautiful view from my balcony and the bed was extremely comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    The view from the breakfast room was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this hotel for the swimming pool and was super disappointed to discover that only 1 of the 3 swimming pools were open and only between 9-6pm. So if you are on business, this "perk" is not there. I wish it was open later. I saw nice photos of rooms, and was quite disappointed with mine, next to the elevator, no coffee or tea (i came back late after meetings and struggled to get a coffee in the neighbourhood but nothing was open, not even outside the hotel, and I love a late-night coffee), the room was super small. No vegetarian diner food offered at the restaurant, so I couldn't eat there. Staff need to be more informative of hotel amenities upon check-in (wifi code, breakfast info, heater in room (it was cold in malta when i was there, so I froze at night, I didn't realise there was a heater), services in hotel, swimming pool hours ect. this would get them a better review in the futureby all guests

    The view from the breakfast room was amazing. Location was excellent. When I did manage to finally get to the swimming pool, it was nice, perhaps a bit warm. the swimming pool area wasn't great, but the high glass ceiling was nice. Breakfast was nice, but I wish they had fresh and not just canned fruits, and more salads. Hotel rooms are quite clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Great bay view, very good location, breakfast ok, very big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room, although large room the kitchenette was very small (just sink and small heating plate, microwave and fridge, no place to make a meal, no coffee machine)

    Great bay view, very good location, breakfast ok, very big room, clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was under renovation. It was full of young and very noisy students who were not supervised were drunk and vomiting through nights. I can honestly say my worst experience so far!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Only the location
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was horrible. The bathroom was realy dirty. Also,we didnt have bAlcony. It was expensi ve enough and the quality of this hotel was really bad.

    Only the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Good for a three-star place. Nothing special and a few problems, but worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room had no view (but was acceptable for the low price we paid), towels could have been better quality, bed not very comfortable, room had a damp smell, buffet manager mean to buffet staff.

    Excellent location, 24 hour check-in (we arrived at 2am), buffet breakfast, luggage storage and bathrooms after check-out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Just one-night standing but everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please change doors on terrace. We close ourself outside. ☹ so guys be carefull 😅

    Just one-night standing but everything was perfect. 😄 Coming there again for sure. 😉

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    OK for one night but I wouldn't have enjoyed a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from my room at the side of the hotel was dreadful. I could hear generators very clearly from outside even with the window closed. This hotel is attached to another hotel via a bridge on the 6th floor. It was difficult to work out which facilities were in which hotel, eg restaurant, swimming pool.

    The room was basic, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The 4am wake-up call was prompt and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant experience...will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was reluctant to book this hotel at first, since in most of the reviews I read, it was stated that there was no free wi-fi. It has come as a very pleasant surprise to discover that now The Plaza Hotel is offering free wifi to it's guests throughout the hotel. Kudos to The Management. Will surely return with my family for a short break here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Well worth it! Top spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet is disappointing, but cheap so you get what you pay for.

    The sea view room I stayed in was brilliant! Lovely view, clean and quiet room, good TV with good channels, clear screen. Great hot water shower. Staff were also great, esp the cleaning maids!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.2
    Avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a lot of things wrong but the staff was the worst. They were so rude, unhelpful and slow. One time I've tried asking one of the receptionists something, she looked at me and quickly walked away. I couldn't believe what just happened.

    There isn't that much to like but the location was ok for me although far from some main points of interest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    A very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Too bad wifi connection. A little noisy.

    The room was pretty, confortable and clean. Nice staff, very friendly and helpful. Good emplacement : bus stop in front of hotel, near restaurants and bars. Good breakfast, but not enough diversified one day on other. Nice sea view. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Excellent winter holiday destination with kids - to explore and enjoy Malta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't mark any...

    Value for money!!! The surroundings, the indoor pool, the breakfast, the staff, the rooms - all were excellent and above expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic room very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Town View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing would be lack of WiFi in the rooms. You have to go down to the lobby to use WiFi

    Fantastic room very spacious. We had booked a suite so we could cook some meals. It was fully kitted out with pots and pans, cutlery etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great rooms and a wonderful view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be more vegetarian options for breakfast

    I liked the option of renting a tea kettle from the hotel, however I recommend that you order it beforehand in your booking form as there are not enough for all the rooms. My friend didn't get it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.0
    Was very nice Clean, quiet and good reception but the tip...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet and good reception but the tip does not take rooms next to the elevator

    Was very nice Clean, quiet and good reception but the tip does not take rooms next to the elevatorto

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    At the promenade with the shops and restaurants near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs little updating, bed squeeking and bathroom old

    At the promenade with the shops and restaurants near by. Big room. Very reasonably priced in January

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To use Wifi in the rooms you need to pay extra for it, only in the lobby area is free. The rooms are not spacious enough. The facilities in the room are basic, no fridge and no kettle, you need to pay some extra money to use the deposit box.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a central area, you can find cafes, bars, and restaurants near it. The room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Enchanted by Malta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOCATION was wonderful, steps away from bus stop, friendly staff, excellent VALUE, small kitchen in room was perfect for us since I literally have a chef with me! room was way more than we expected, amazing views! Looking forward to going back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    I can't believe this is so cheap!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner, pretty standard, but again good value for money if needed.

    Value for money exceeded my expectations, I always stay in cheap accommodation and it was a lovely surprise to get such a lovely and large room for the little money I paid, my room was spotless, it had a small kitchen and a refrigerator, staff was really helpful, I had some reservations after reading some negative reviews on tripadviser, thanks God I've decided to book this hotel, best hotel deal I've ever found. Sliema it's quite close to Valleta, lots of buses going to Valleta and therefore very easy access to public transport and connections to other cities in the island, which it is a plus as public transpor in Malta is not reliable, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.8
    Only for extreme need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel - needs serious renovation. Old noisy mattresses Blocked sink Broken toilet flusher Need to wait hot water for 5 min Room gets smelly with no possibility to open the window NO WI-FI Very small swimming pool Fair breakfast No joy staying in this place.

    Location is convenient

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Back to the WiFiuture
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The biggest problem of this hotel is no free Wi-Fi in rooms. You need to pay 20 euros for 10 hours of internet!! Are you f**king kidding me? C'mon it's 2017!! Management, it's time to do something. Because you will keep getting bad reviews just because of this internet thing where you could have a much better rating! I mean it's probably the most expensive internet in the world :D

    Great location just by the sea. Bus stations nearby. Room was relatively clean, equiped with small kitchen! Friendly staff. I also liked the speaking elevator :D

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The towels were small and old: years ago they would have been white but now they are grey. They were clean but because of the colour, they looked dirty. There wasn't a mattress protector on the bed: we had to request it. To use the internet in the room, vouchers had to be purchased for 4.50 euros for two hours but only one device could use the voucher. They advertised that there was a safe in the room but to use the safe, a voucher had to be purchased for 2.50 A DAY !!!!!! I travel internationally all the time and I have never had to pay to use a safe.

    The breakfast was very good. The room was a reasonable size and we had a sea view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is very small (felt a bit claustrophobic). I was woken up by sounds of water (thought it was rain) from shower upstairs through the wall (quite loud). No window. No free wifi in the rooms (which is weird for 2017) but it is written in the hotel description

    Might have been upgraded as I had booked a single room and was given a double room (but the staff didn't mention anything at check in). I had booked this hotel because I was looking for something cheap and didn't expect much but the hotel definitely exceeded all my expectations! The room was very nice and comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Location is amazing! (Right by the waterfront, many restaurants nearby and bus stops for airport, Valletta, north of island 1 minute away)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    2.5
    Worst Part of Malta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge for everything-no wifi in the rooms, dirty linens, loose hair in the towels, sticky floors. Room had no windows. Staff also were not helpful and not knowledgeable. They ruined our itinerary by providing wrong information. Moreover, many guests, mostly senior citizens saved up a lot for their trip and complained about the facilities and were not treated respectfully by staff. I don't write bad reviews, but am writing this so people are spared from the unhygienic facilities, outdated (and chargeable) amenities, and poor customer service.

    Nothing. The room looked nothing like the picture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disaster, thank god I didn't pay in advance for the whole stay. Bacon stinks, tomatoes are like eating plastic, completely without taste,eggs mixed with something so they have more quantity. Ate few bites and then went downstairs to " Cara's Cafe " for breakfast since that one in hotels restaurant was not eatable.

    Very friendly staff at reception, as well in housekeeping. For a 3* hotel very satisfied what I have got for the money, room was clean and towels were changed daily.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Very convenient location, on bus route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very convenient location, on bus route. Friendly staff throughout. Excellent buffet breakfast and dinner, including plenty of choice for vegans and vegetarians. . Well appointed, very quiet room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    A Traditional Maltese "has been" that is desperately waiting for a makeover
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out towels, blankets, pillows etc. Furniture was new probably in the '90s. No working extractor in the shower, very noisy and ridiculous that one has to pay extra for the use of the safe in the room and for wifi. This hotel asks high prices for something that HAS been really good but nowadays it is in desperate need of a complete

    All was clean, staff was (altough Maltese) very friendly and last but not least the Regency is perfectly situated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Sliema's answer to Fawlty Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wanted to charge €1.50 per 30 minutes for wifi in rooms which apparently didn't work anyway. Maid banging on the door wanting to clean the room at 8.10am. Terrible school dinner food and institutional atmosphere at meals, chairs almost falling apart. Bath damaged, holes in bath towels. Undrinkable Nescafe machine only coffee available at breakfast. Noisy. Very rundown basically.

    Great location, right by the seafront, restaurants, pubs etc. Large room. Staff very patient and kind to the elderly residents complaining about everything at all times.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    A good position for a base to travel from to see all the sights of the Island and Gozo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Town View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside pool was supposed to be heated but it wasn't very warm and nor was the spa tub so they could have been warmer.

    Good location and plenty of facilities around the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.3
    Location was good for me personally.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No heating in November. Aircons in COLD everywhere...I mean - they do have a heating option too? The breakfast was plain, no fresh fruits, every day exactly the same. The plates were the smallest, so they could barely fit one toast :D The room was plain and could use a little touchup. No heating, there was an aircon, but it looked very old and as if the filters hadn't been changed forever. The sun was from the other side, so the room was very cold and humid. The elevators very slow and small. Everything was so basic.

    Location was good for me personally. Also there was a cafe downstairs with some good caces and sandwitches.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    It a cheap and cheerful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It a cheap and cheerful place to stay. Staff do their best in difficult circumstances, too few staff, many guests, always gonna be a struggle. With a bit more effort, could be a great place. No complaints, no bouquets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    in general accepted,but it was lower than my expectations.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy from some rooms that they have children ,facilities in the room like free wifi and tea and coffee are not available ,consumables like shampoo,bath shampoo gel and slippers.

    the location is nice,reception staff and cleanless of the room .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel very well situated between Sliema and St Julians
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi only at reception, few problems with light in the room but it could be only in our room

    Swimming pool was very nice, very well situated (amazing Italian restaurant downstairs), big bathroom, room well isolated from noise, breakfast in very nice room with view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very dated hotel and bedsheets and towels were very old. Bring your own toiletries as they give a couple of shower gel sachets only. Most staff were not helpfull at all and some were rude. Internet is only free at lobby (still not geat).

    Location was good. Bus stop just outside the door

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Very suitable for an overnight stop prior to an early morning flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Linoleum floors, noise in the corridors ( impossible to shut the room door without a loud bang ). When we left at 6 in the morning, we just left the door open ....

    The spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.5
    Only stay there because of the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No matress protector on the bed(until one requested, but it had seen better days) Sheets too small for bed. Worst scrambled eggs I've even see. Did not dare eat them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.2
    Just Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a sea view room with balcony and arrived to a back room with a small window, complained and got moved!! So there was a room available after all. It used to be Maltese staff but seems to have changed. This is our 3rd time over the years to stay here but it's probably the last. Hotel needs a complete makeover especially the rooms. Shower old with a folding cubicle door which seemed marked with mould including the sealant around the shower tray. Hallway had dirty hand markets all over the walls near our room. Furnishings need replaced. Had to rescue another guest as when you close the balcony door it's shuts and there is NO handle on the outside. Happened to us 3years ago and I actually reported it as a H&S issue.

    Area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleanliness was terrible. Towels are almost grey! I stayed 6 nights however nobody changed my towel. Kettle dosen't work, Hot plate dosen't work. One day I saw cockroach at bathroom.

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Central and modern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My single room was in the new part of the hotel, and it was perfect. New, modern and comfortable. The position is excellent , as is close to St Julians, Sliema (walking distance) Valletta ( ferry from Sliema)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Really nice hotel but possibly could do with more staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit confusing with the two separate hotels at either side of the road with each one having a reception. I did find it took a long time to get checked in. Only one person serving at each reception and I was unlucky to be stuck behind a mother and daughter who I could only describe as spoiled brats (twice) who were moaning about how long they had to wait and that the facilities were not to their liking. The receptionist dealt with them but with only one person on reception it seemed to take far too long to get checked in. Overall a good hotel though.

    Lovely hotel, very big room and nice hotel. Good facilities and several lifts to take you to the stunning top floor bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Plaza Regency Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: