Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Porto Azzurro Aparthotel 3 stars

Ridott Street, SPB 4042 St Paul's Bay, Malta

#16 of 26 hotels in St Paul's Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1093 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    I had a pleasant 8 day stay and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too firm for me personally but obviously the hotel can’t be at fault for that.

    Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, the towels and bed linen were whiter than white , very impressive.I asked to move to a different room on the second day for a pool view, the staff did this without a problem , my second room was beautiful .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    House keeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony could be with view to the pool at least. View from our room was to the "sky". It looked like we lived in the chimney. The second thing was the pool. It would be great that pool should work until the 2:00, but here open hours were only 9:00-19:00. It would be a nice to return to hotel after exploring the city all day and spent evening and relax in the pool.

    House keeping. Room has been cleaned daily, towels were also changed daily.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    4.2
    The location of the hotel is good, it has a nice outdoor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have free wi fi except at the reception. The mattresses on the beds are quite old and not very clean, the room itself could use a renovation. The breakfast was very poor and the restaurant where breakfast is served is underground and poorly ventilated. I would never book this hotel again or recommend it.

    The location of the hotel is good, it has a nice outdoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    We liked alot the pool ares and the bar next to the pool.
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast the worst I ever eat, in fact we only eat it once. It was horrible and everything was taste less.

    We liked alot the pool ares and the bar next to the pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    3.3
    There is no wifi in the rooms, despite the fact the site...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wifi in the rooms, despite the fact the site states "free wifi". Breakfast wasn't included in the price, the site said it is included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money stay in a comfortable aparthotel close to restaurants and bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool table and table football are located in the gym, which was closed most of the time, although to be fair we did not ask if the gym could be opened so that we could use the pool table and table football. The hotel restaurant was closed for our entire stay, not that it mattered.

    Swimming pool was very nice. Conveniently located for buses to Valletta and elsewhere on the island. Also two very good and one good restaurant close by. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. The minimarket in the hotel was very helpful, although there is also a convenience store within easy reach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English breakfest only Gym is too small

    Perfect location on the north side of Malta Short distance from bus station Sea view from balcony Swimining pools

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was untasty and the same all days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast was untasty and the same all days. On some point we are going to the nearest restaurant to eat in the morning. You needed to pay for Wifi. Advice, if you reserve dont go for option with meals!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Okay but wouldn't stay again in a hurry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel wasn't as it seemed in the pictures it appeares only the good areas of the hotel where displayed online the fitness center is a broken cross trainer and bike and a rather small unusable weight machine. Couldn't swing a cat in the room. The room was tatty and had been a long time since it's been renovated. The shower didn't even hang on the wall. The place needs some TLC.

    Staff where excellent and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Already the second year I spent in this hotel a very enjoyable holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I do not have any objection.

    It is a quiet and peaceful hotel exactly the way I liked it. Nice and helpful staff. The room kept clean throughout my stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    The location is good , just around the corner from St Paul’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I begin ........??? The bed linen is too small and doesn’t stay in place so you wake up in a ball of linen . The air conditioning is not accessible by the paying customer and is set at 19 degrees which was too cold for me and I am still nursing a very bad cold from it ( there is one remote for all the rooms which is kept in reception under lock and key ) , to make things worse as mentioned before, there is only an old manky blanket to protect you from the AC ( I’m still ill )... the breakfast is very bad , cheap coffee , stale bread , never enough of anything not even coffee cups in which to drink the cheap coffee. There is effectively no laundry service ( just some old lady who takes it to her home and it doesn’t re emerge for 2 days . There is house keeping only every 4 days and if you need a towel in the meany, you must bring back the dirty towels to the receptionist which are carefully counted and then given the equivalent in clean towels . Oh , did I mention that if you wish to watch the TV then you must pay €10 as a deposit for the remote control ( just in case you are a thief ) Waiting in the reception ?, careful not to fall through the armchairs as they are old and have boards under the seat so you don’t do yourself an injury ! There is a pool table and inside pool , the pool table is €1 a game ( go to a pub instead it will be free ) and the pool is always being used by the diving school . I feel I have been robbed of my £707 for a weeks stay here and am still nursing my consequent cold ! This hotel is owned by a cheapskate who does not maintain it although I see plenty of ‘staff’ pull up in very expensive cars in the morning so probably not from a lack of funds ( my stay was a rip off at €707 for 7 days , i pay that in the centre of London ) . IF you fancy a taste of Faulty Towers go ahead ! I will not be going back , RIP OFF , they obviously don’t give a damn about their clients .

    The location is good , just around the corner from St Paul’s Bay and the Bus stop

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    The hotel totally didn't meet our expectations. The smell in the room was like urine. It came from o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We are higly disappointed after our stay. I can't even call it a 'stay' because we left after 2 nights(out of 6). It was our honey moon and we didn't want to destroy it. We also lost a lot of money for nothing.

    The only thing about this place that should be applauded is the staff - friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Not value for money for the price expect better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment room was good for in level two but maintenance is required air conditioner are totally outdated cannot be self controlled unless you switch of supply too noisy shower cubicle glass always coming off the rail had to fix it myself with kitchen knife sofa bed better to sleep on the floor than feeling the bed slats as foam is complete warn out ceiling fan needs oiling squeak nose please note maintenance team.

    Outdoor pool area was nice even indoor pool although the gents toilet is always closed therefore man cannot use toilet. Love the restaurant by the pool good food and staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    The swimming pool is nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two single beds joined for the stay and two separate bedsheets were given for the stay.

    The swimming pool is nice and clean. Room has good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Very overpriced and nothing works properly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free WiFi in rooms as advertised and the studio was tiny with a view onto some trash filled backyard. After negotiating we got a better room. Had to pay a 10 euro deposit for the remote. Still the tv has only 3 English channels and the signal doesn't work most of the time. The air con blows warm air during busy times (night) and the cleaning was pretty poor. The pool water wasn't too clean either and food at the poor bar poor and expensive. Overall a bad experience.

    It's nice to have a pool but it could be a bit cleaner, staff fairly nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Not in St Pauls Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The apartments were large but dark-two large windows faced onto a concrete wall. It is NOT in st pauls bay!This was the only reason we booked it. There are only a handful of restaurants in the area so we got buses each night for food. The breakfast is terrible. No atmosphere at pool bar. A shame as it is soo picturesque and has HUGE potential if it had good music and nice food.Would not stay again.

    The pool area was lovely and fabulous views to the sea. The apartment was really big and two bathrooms. The buses outside the door were brilliant-went v frequently and were cheap.Staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was good, public connections as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not clean at all :( and during weekend completely full of domestic people, so no space for hotel guests.

    The location was good, public connections as well. Stuff was very nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was a little poor, but that is nothing that would ruin our stay.

    We had a very nice room with side sea view. We liked it very much:-) The receptionist were very friendly and welcoming. There is a supermarket directly in the Hotel, but also around the corner. We enjoyed the morning swims at the sea, which is only 400 away. A special swim zone with clear water. Also if you are a runner, there are nice paths behind the hotel. The roman Heritage road along and than you find your way. Or you can run to the other side of the bay to St. Pauls Bay. There is a very nice restaurant, 1,2 km walk at the sea called Barracuda. It is a swimm club with great view and even better food. We loved the evening walk there and back. The best beaches are accessible within few minutes drive. We visited each day a different day and our favorite is the paradise Beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont clean your room at all, just once in our 9 days stay. Cleaning products not provided either, so you must live in a dirty space during your stay. I thought that 3 star aparthotels must provide daily maid service. The furnishings and mattresses were very old, you could feel the sprungs. No hairdryers in the rooms, you must ask for one in reception and give it back ASAP, in case someone else needs it. As litter is not removed from the rooms sone guests just leave the bags in the corridors, which makes the place look dirty. All to do with the lack of maid service. No WIFI in the rooms, there is only signal in the lobby area.

    The location was great, quiet and with good bus connections. Lots of information and excursions offered. The staff was always helpful and made you feel at home. The swimming pool is good and with plenty of sunbeds. The pool bar is not expensive and serves nice food too. Overall it is a good place to stay, if only they invested a bit more in cleaning staff and at least in new beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Good value location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good quality 3 star apart/hotel with good aircon for July. Joanne front of House Manager 5 Star. Location 5km from center of Bugibba. Good outdoor pool with small indoor one. Nice restaurants but only one pub near this location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the airco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool was dirty, the floor in our room was filthy to the point if you walked around barefoot your sheets got dirty too. The windows desperately needed cleaning as did the "terrace". The breakfast people were grumpy and the breakfast was very ordinary.

    The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the airco was very efficient. The bathroom was very clean,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Better average for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was not cleaned in bathroom during vacation. Poor view from the room. Restruction works outside and inside as well. Pool bar's staff annoyed and not open for orders.

    Close to bus, coast, restaurants. Clean towels each day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were absolutely amazing, one lady in particular...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn’t great. There is absolutely nothing in St. Paul’s bay. Hardly any restaurants or shops. Extremely quiet. Absolutely great for buses to other parts of the island where things are happening. The public transport system in Malta is great. I strongly suggest getting a €21 bus pass at the airport for unlimited travel for the week.

    The staff were absolutely amazing, one lady in particular was awesome. Nothing was too much trouble. Remembered every guests room number. Printed our boarding passes for our flight so we didn’t get charged at the airport. She was absolutely amazing. So friendly. Wish I’d taken her name. She was the lady who wears her hair up and wears thin black framed glasses, always smiling, what a credit to your business!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    We had a fab holiday 😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could of provided tea and coffee in the room 😒kettle was there but no provisions are

    We liked being in quite a secluded location. In the bay but near the bus stop😄we loved it .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we like our stay but still need inprovement.One tile on bedroom floor need to be fixed,kitchen tap leaks. In nabougher some building work was going on which was very noisey. Swimming pool need hand railing for the safety .One man was about to slip . Wifi shiuld be available in all rooms.

    Good value of money. Friendly staff. It was clean. amazing location as stated. Family friendy. Local transport .food,pool.gym ,mini market everything was available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we asked for lower/small pillows and there weren't. just that!

    Great location to get the other islands. Quite place but with all necessary arround it (ex: restaurants). Friendly and helpfull staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is not recommended if you would like to spend your time in a nice hotel....they have very old furnitures with very old smell...the kitchen is also built in the last decade and I also have to mention the WiFi here....you have to pay for it!!! It is not acceptable in 2018 at all. You only have a free WiFi at the reception. The breakfast was very poor and the goods has no quality. The juices are cheap swills with a lot of sugar, the coffee is also an instant one. The fruits are chopped into pieces, so you have to eat dry and brown bananas and oranges. But why??? I do not understand why they do this... The air conditioner is very loud, and we had a lot of unidentified machine noise from the downstairs at the middle of the night. The bedsheets were not clean, I wouldn't use the blankets from the wardrobe... An overall renovation is suggested urgently!! The 3 stars are not deserved anymore.

    The room was spacious, we had a drainboard in the balcony which was very practical. The hotel has a very nice outside pool area with chilling music in the background. The bed was comfortable thanks to the hard mattress and the bathroom was also clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    Staff was good and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was FULL of mold. Can start or open allergies. I am not sure do local care about it but me from scandinavia really care about it. And dont pay breakfest.. you get much better from out side with better price. English breakfest makes us only sad. Sorry to not taking pic of the terrible hotel.. we spend time so little and there and I didnt mind to be negative at holiday.

    Staff was good and helpful Lovacation was like out of nowhere but still middle of valletta and gozo if you have good change and power to travel. Busstickets we went to buy from bugibba.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Life saver
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar at night time was not pulling in the customers could do with something at night. Very good background music played though. Bacon on the breakfast a little undercooked but everything else was good. Butter portions would be better than a plate with butter on Its the little things attention to detail.

    Everything me and my husband booked into an apartment that slept 3-4 the room was cleam and comfy. Air con worked and felt we got value for what we paid. Pool was lovely . I have stayed in Malta many times and would book to come back here without question. Lovely chinese round the corner anf 3 other places you can eat at.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Our twin room was in newer part of the hotel and it was big,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-conditioner made sounds like helicopter and was controlled by the hotel so besides the sound it didn't do much and it was pretty hot at nights. I would appreciate if we can control our room temperature by ourselves. The room didn't have hairdryer. You need to pay small charge and deposit to rent pool towels and it's forbidden to take towels from the room to the pool. I also don't understand why is it necessary to pay deposit to borrow remote control of the TV, I take it as a manifestation of distrust which I've never experienced even in hostels and hotels of lower quality. We tried hotel breakfast just once, it wasn't bad, I appreaciate they have eggs, bacon, sausages etc to create english breakfast but I think they could take little effort and use higher quality goods. At least it's necessary from my point of view to buy new toaster (the one they have is burning toasts from one side and doing nothing from other side) and offer 100% juices and some variation of tea of at least some quality to make better impression of the breakfast so people don't want to go eat outside.

    Our twin room was in newer part of the hotel and it was big, nice and clean. Even though we were there only for 3 nights so we didn't need room service, they came every day to clean up and change our towels. The pool was amazing. Location of the hotel was really good for us, it was quieter than in Buggiba and close to hotel is good caffeteria, shop (and one mini shop is even in the hotel), some restaurants and nice view of the bay plus the bus stop is really close so we didn't need to go to the town at all. Hotel has a restaurant and pool bar with possibility of dinners but we didn't eat there so we can't judge that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Insects - bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On second night my wife and our friend, wake up because they was bitten by bed bugs. They have a lot of bites on their legs, arms and shoulders. We inform very very morning about this situation, and hotel staff only inform us, that someone will check this. We inform hotel staff and booking that we would like to leave this hotel due to this situation. We expect only that they will receive money for last night, because I do not want to spent here one more night. We spend next hours on waiting for decision and after hours we received info that only what this hotel can do is to change our room. No one check our room and we lost half of day on waiting for their decission.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, room was smelly. It was difficult to access our room; you can easily get lost in the corridors.

    Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Price is reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent will use again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only down point was that in room 604 in the shower room, I was unable to open the window and there was no extractor fan, just a small thing which didn't deter from the good stay I enjoyed.

    Staff super friendly and helpful. Lovely terrace to my room on top floor. Very near to a lovely heritage trail, in fact from the back of hotel you overlook it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Although dated its a nice hotel with a good pool and the rooms have everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lifts were constantly breaking down so had to use the stairs 90% of the time, at night there were issues with noise from younger residents loud music and shouting waking us up on more than one occasion

    Nice outdoor pool, good sized room and facilities in the room (jacuzzi bath), reasonable free parking around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean hotel and big privat room, no free wifi in your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging extra for wifi in your room? Come on, it's 2018, don't be greedy!

    It was an amazing room with a double bed and gigantic privat bathroom!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent price for a one night stay for a Wedding in Malta.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent price for a one night stay for a Wedding in Malta. TV and Wi-Fi access at a cost n=but we did not need them. Room very basic, not small, very clean. Just what we needed: a shower to get washed and changed and a comfy clean bed to sleep in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    On arrival, we were upgraded for free to the penthouse, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of attention to detail, especially with regards to cleanliness... Some parts of the flat were extremely clean (I was pleasantly surprised at the state of the kitchenette), while others (especially the floor) had clearly not been properly cleaned for a while... This also includes the sheets and towels, most of which appeared bleached but showed major stains when held up to the light.

    On arrival, we were upgraded for free to the penthouse, with an amazing terrace on two sides providing wonderful views of both St Paul's Bay and the Nature Reserve. The flat itself was very nicely decorated and comfortable, with two bathrooms. Nice location, 100 metres from major bus routes and within 20-minute walk (or a 5-minute bus ride) of the bustle and facilities of Bugibba. All the reception staff we spoke to were friendly, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money hotel with nice swimming pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not so comfortable mattresses, room shows partially its age, breakfast needs better quality products (worst ever orange ''juice").

    Great value for money (45€), spacious room, new bathroom, pretty good breakfast, very nice and big swimming pool area, convenient bus stop under the hotel (one line connections to airport and Valletta), everyday cleaning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    The room is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Looks like the hotel was renovated more than 20 years ago. Everything is in a very shabby condition. Paid Wi-Fi in 21 century. Seriously!?

    The room is spacious. Outdoor and indoor pools. Bus stop is nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff was kind and helpful, location is very good if you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Studio for two was very small, elevator is super slow and facility is a bit run down. But for this price its good.

    Staff was kind and helpful, location is very good if you are planing to travel around the island and visit Gozo and Comino, bus stop is few steps away. If you are looking for a busy location and parties, this is not a place for you. There is a pool area for sunbathing and swimming. Few shops and cafes are near.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for relaxing, near to a bus stop and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I liked everything.

    The reception staff were excellent, professional, very helpful. The pool is large and spacious and a good place to cool off. The bar is pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Retro and worn down hotel, had better days for sure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    After 7days opinion: This hotel is quite retro, the pictures are misleading! Would rather say it is a motel/hostel. Our room (308) was worn down. Housekeeping every 4th day but the only changes the sheets, towels and bin, no cleaning at all. If you want to have your bin cleaned (as this was a unit with kitchenette and cooking option) or towel, you have to bring your bin down to the reception. Noise from the floors is coming in very loud. Breakfast is very basic, no change for a week (eg only scrabbled egg in not too good quality) After 4 days we asked if we can get eggs sunny side? First day say yes, but than they realized that the egg delivery will arrive only in the evening so we couldn`t. We accepted but next day tried again and they got upset and said no, because than other guests would request the same... Around the pool 70%of the sunbeds the head holding piece was broken. Overall even if you are not spending too much time in the hotel, I would not recommend this place - you can find similar service for cheaper on the island.

    The bus stop is just at the corner, very close. Also with car beach is just 15 min, ferry to Gozo also very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free wifi You need to put a deposit down to use the remote controllers for the TV in your room AC in bedroom was not working Hot tub next to the in door pool did not work Not much to do in the immediate area

    The bus stop was located right around the corner from the property. The restaurant downstairs had great food and was very delicious. One of the staff members was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice place for the paid price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same every morning and not so good.

    Very nice people and good location. Had indoor gym, pool table, inside&outside pools. Had electric kettle in the room as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely and helpfull people in reception :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Feeling that room wasnt cleaned up before our arrival. Same issue with the toilet where was obvious foot print under shower and empty toilet papers rolls. We stayed beggining of the May, room was very cold and hotel provided only empty duvet case and a bit repellent blanket.

    Lovely and helpfull people in reception :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    cosy and clean hotel,excellent for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattres is hard wifi in the rooms is paid

    Very cosy hotel,at a quiet place,close to the sea.The rooms are large enough,elegantly furnished ,the bathroom is very clean and modern.There was plenty of hot water and the rooms are cleaned daily.The pools and jakuzi are included in the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    just OK and with NO wifi in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    facilities were very poor. There was NO wifi in room, I have never seen any hotel which don't provide wifi in room. Kitchen set was quite less, there was no tea pot. There was no shampoo. Daily cleaning in room was not provided. Lights in room was just OK. TV didn't have even 10 channels, only 6 were there.

    location was good and easy to commute from sight locations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    It had everything we needed for a short budget holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't the best, the indoor pool and gym are extremely basic, and fairly small. There wasn't a 'do not disturb' sign in the room so you couldn't sleep in because of housekeeping.

    The bathroom looked like new, the beds were pretty comfortable and very clean. The staff was helpful and spoke great English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    It was absolutely Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was central to all tourists destinations, friendly staff who made us feel very welcome, especially Rachel on reception. Cleanliness exceptional, Health fitness Suite & Spa outstanding also Swimming pool inside & outside,along with the jacuzzi which where all an added bonus.We stayed on the 6th floor which was easily excessable by a lift, which was also suitable for wheelchair users, & prams. We had an outstanding view with a Balcony which overlooked St Paul's Bay the views where stunning. We stayed for 12 nights for our early 25th anniversary celebration , it was a unique experience & we weren't disappointed ,it was exceptional value , transport was just down a short hill & straight across the road at the Bay was the Bus stop, the Buses ran every half hour the service was amazing & a very comfortable journey anywhere around the Island.We where frequently visited by our wee friend a white pigeon who had an enjoyable break also in our apartment. We will definitely be back to Porto Azzurro it was absolutely gorgeous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    2.9
    Don't book, it will spoil your holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is terrible. Hotel looks completely different from the pictures displayed online. No internet, even if you decide to pay. Heater doesn't work, noisy once you turn it on but goes off by itself in few minutes. No proper duvet. You pay to get a TV remote. The smallest and nonfunctional elevator you can ever imagine.

    I do not like anything about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff was friendly and room was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast was very bad, it's not good to eat all the time same food and there was no fruits at all. You should think what you offer for client. :) Coffee was good. And we had problem with transfer to the airport, always ask if everything is okay one day before you leaving.

    Staff was friendly and room was okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Not very delighted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no internet connection in the room, even if we payed at the reception for it; there is no hair dryer; the heating/ AC is extremely noisy and doesn't work on the temperature you want, but on a temperature settled by them; the TV remote control is an extra cost on the reception and there are very few channels (no cartoons at all); the breakfast is quite poor; the hotel is noisy; the inside pool closes at 19:00...

    The room was quite big and cleaned every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money but not luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better bedding and better quality breakfast. The hotel looked run down in the corridors and the lift was broken.

    Spacious room with kitchen facilities and a nice hot shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Just ok. I don’t think we’d go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doing a few renovations. Outdoor pool closed. Bar expensive. Room quite small this time as our room last time was much bigger.

    friendly helpful staff. Big balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    It was clean and staff freindy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they was no bar in the day for a drink it did mot open untill 6 at night and we had to walk or get bus for drink and food

    It was clean and staff freindy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    The room/apartment was a little small but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room/apartment was a little small but comfortable. The kitchen is equipped with the main devices. Beds are comfortable and the recepcionists were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Malta weekender
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Gym consisted of a basic multi gym and 2 very ropey cardio machines, I know it’s not top of everyone’s agenda but it was advertised as a new fitness centre, I’d suggest some more robust cardio machines (a bike, cross trainer and treadmill) a way better multi gym and for definite a selection of free weights and a couple of workout benches.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel was clean and in an excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Good for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they didn't answer my query from before arrival; I would't choose an apartment on the lowest floor in the summer months (I visited the place in March when it was quite chilly so doors stayed closed at night) because of safety reason unless your sleep is not very deep - place can be easily reached by plp outside of the building

    stuff was friendly onsite although i had no complaints so i don't know how would they react to those; all the things in the room looked quite old, but everything was clean so I believe for its price it was allright; having a place to cook and make a tea was great due to high (for an eastern european standard) food prices in Malta

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room

    It was located in a really nice area.. Many buses running to Valletta and other hot spots...It was very quiet and felt very safe..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    I did enjoyed my stay and will re visit the hotel . Love the Bar and restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will recommend variety of breakfast meals e.g different made of eggs, sausages .

    Staff were helpful and friendly , willing to give advice on tour . Quiet location but easy to travel around .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a room on the ground floor and there was a constant beep sound coming from near the reception that was repeated every 5 seconds. I am sensitive to things like that so I needed earplugs in order to sleep.

    Good value for money. There is a bus stop just 200m away that takes you to every corner of the island. There are also little shops in the vicinity.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    A very good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer a softer bed. More of a personal preference than a complaint.

    Kept very clean by meticulous and friendly staff. The bathroom was modern and at any time during my stay it was possible to enjoy a boiling-hot shower. All the reception staff were great at greeting with a smile and fast administration. The linen was clean and changed regularly. A huge bonus is that the building is situated a few meters from the bus stops, giving you a large choice of regular buses either side of the road - including the X1 airport bus, the bus to the Como ferry and the weekend all-nighter bus to Paceville. No need to waste money on taxis!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.8
    Dirty and unwelcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dirty and you can smell the smoke from other guests as you walk to and from your room ! The toilet pan was never cleaned and the hair on the front remained all week !!!

    The waiter was rude when he asked how the breakfast was and I replied it was cold he insisted it was not making the kitchen staff also obj ctionak to me. I told him I would not eat at he hotel again and I did not or drive no at their car as the man just totally tried to embarrass and bulky me in front of other guests in the breakfast area !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    OK for money but don't expect quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    security a major issue as one night some man let himself into our room whilst my wife and i were on the bed we reported this. I nearly burnt myself twice whilst trying to get food out of the oven as no oven gloves supplied. i would have thought if it advertised as self catering basic cooking utensils should be supplied as health and safety issue. We also only had 1 tea towel to last 4 days I wouldn't expect to take my kitchen with me. I had to get rid of my own rubbish as the room was serviced once every four days this didn't mean cleaned as we had to do this ourselves even the bathroom mirror which was wiped over with a floor cloth i think. i don't blame the cleaners for this i blame the hotel for not employing more staff. The Jacuzzi didn't work at the indoor pool. All of these things take the edge off of a " Holiday " So overall good for price but why does cheap mean me rubbish facilities in the 21st century if i have to pay 10 euros deposit for TV remote to enable me to get rubbish TV then why can't i pay 15 euros for a kitchen pack which would include more than one oven dish and something to get HOT oven dish out of oven or is it when i decide to book self catering i am not supposed to cook.

    Always hot water, full size oven .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Quite ordinary resort type hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quite ordinary resort type hotel. It had everything I needed and everything was nice. As I stayed in February the room was very cheap. I had a room only basis but there was no problem to pay for a buffet breakfast which was good enough, although the same every day. I am not quite sure whether this hotel is as good in the summer, when most of the guests combine sightseeing with the beach, as the bay does not look like the one where you can swim, but hotel has a swimming pool. I had a nice view from my room to the bay and to ancient bee-houses (well, you can not see them but you can see an old Carob tree which is nearby and part of that famous Roman heritage trail). Bus stop is just 200 m away and buses can bring you virtually everywhere, although it takes time, as trip to airport or Valletta may take up to one hour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    I always rate hotels on the service, how friendly, courteous and helpful are the staff. I have worked in sales and customer service myself for years and I know how important it is. Right from the first smile at the reception desk, makos difference

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    If you need a cheap place around xemxija, or you have a party at Fortress, this is the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was quite poor. the staff at the breakfast room not very friendly. crockery was either not very clean or was not available.

    Very very good value for money. Nice location. Room size good enough. Also small kitchenette, which we didn't use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money 22 pounds per night, evening g bar with happy hour too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer to have a double bed instead of 2 singles, but they only seem to use singles,

    Room was good with fridge cooker microwave etc.Bar, indoor swimming Poland gym, very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Good for few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not very clean and there is no room service. I stayed 7 nights but our towels were changed only once and they never cleaned the room.

    Reception staff were amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Not bad, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi it s just downstairs in the lobby , not in the rooms! You should pay if u want to have wifi inside the room! Also for tv! I never met this situation in all my experience with the hotels! To pay for wifi and for tv when this facility it s the most important one! The room was clean but the sheets smelled bad!

    The best thing at this hotel it s just the location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.8
    We really liked that it is close to the sea and bus stop, on...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Therefore we had whole studio for ourself we did not like staff and facilities. Also everything you need - costs extra, internet in the room as well. However if you feel you would like to escape from the city, this place is for you.

    We really liked that it is close to the sea and bus stop, on a way to ferry to Gozo island.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.4
    Basic budget hotel good for those with their own vehicle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very basic property with base facilities. Whole one day there was no hot water supply because of unserviceable boiler. The overall feel and look was like of a budget hotel. I was expecting a better value for money during this low season. Utensils provided in apartment were not very clean. Only one charging point in bedroom. The tiled floor was quite uneven at many places and making a cracking sound while walking. The toilet commode was really old with some permanent stains.

    The indoor pool, the restaurant and pub nearby. Convenience store was also down below.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is fine.. but I'm pretty sure you can find better ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed 5 nights at the Porto Azzurro Aparthotel and had such a lovely time in Malta & Gozo. My expectations of the accomodation were a bit higher though.. the room was absolutely fine.. spacious and clean. The double bed turned out to be two single beds and the mattresses were a bit too hard. After asking the reception for a double bed they put the two beds together. There's a complete kitchen (fridge, stove, toaster, microwave, etc.) in the room which I was very happy about. Bathroom is great and shower is perfect. Wifi only at the reception. If you want Wifi in your room you have to buy a voucher. I did.. but it never worked. Not on my laptop, not on my ipad.. nor on my smartphone. It was too slow and hardly connected. Biggest waste on my budget. I paid 15 euro for a week. The only wifi that actually works very good is downstairs at the Irish Pub. This is really a lovely place to grab a beer or even some food. The food is not great.. but def good enough. Breakfast is terrible. Not many choices, cold coffee, cold eggs and saucages, toaster doesn't toast.. after the first morning I decided to buy some groceries at the mini market in the hotel. They have delicous, freshly baked bread which you can toast in your room. Cheese, fruit, coffee.. anything you like. I hardly paid 10 euro for groceries that lasted all week. In the restaurant you pay 5 euro each day for breakfast. I highly recommend to go elsewhere or buy your own breakfast. The ladies from housekeeping are too loud. I go on holiday to have a bit rest and sleep in a bit. Every morning around 7 they started cleaning the other rooms and they talk so loud in front of my door and everywhere else. Really annoyed me. I went to the reception to ask about the wellness / massages that they offer. A 25 minute massage costs 30 euro which in my opinion is way too much. The lady at the reception had to call another lady at home who does the massages, but nobody is actually in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.8
    waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jaqouzi and out door pool was dirty Web site doesn't mention no pooling in feb march also on forth day no water to even shower

    Only location rest not good for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    A very convenient hotel for a completely appropriate price:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    heating :( I missed it in Feb very much, after a day's walking in the rain, and a night in the room, my overclothes was still wet in the morning; the swimming pool is smaller than I expected (~9x3 m), but clean and good.

    A very convenient hotel for a completely appropriate price: very close to the bus stop, cafe and mini-market; friendly ladies at the reception; clean bath; clean and commodious room with the fine outlook from the balcony; small, but comfortable place to cook in the room (with the cooker, all dishes, refrigerator, microwave, sink...); small swimming pool and fitness room; enough good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Porto Azzurro Aparthotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: