Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands 5 stars

Golden Bay, MLH 5510 Mellieħa, Malta

#1 of 10 hotels in Mellieħa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Undoubtedly one of the best places to stay on the island if you're looking for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Smokers on next balcony for the last three days of our stay...smell of smoke noticeable even in the corridor outside. - Very antiquated TV and film system...slow response when selecting, limited choice of (domestic) European channels, no Netflix or equivalent etc.

    Beautiful bedroom with a wonderful view, excellent bed and use of a kitchenette. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.7
    The location is great, on a lovely beach, but it is isolated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff were poor, they mixed us up with another couple’s booking which caused some confusion over rooms. We had booked 2 identical rooms, but 1 was better than the other and the service varied greatly between the rooms and from day to day, sometimes water was provided, sometimes not etc. One room was right over the bar which was a little noisy. The restaurant options were a little too limited and not up to 5 star standard I would say.

    The location is great, on a lovely beach, but it is isolated as you would need a car or bus ride to get anywhere else. It’s nice but it’s not of a 5 star hotel standard. We liked the terrace bar looking over the bay. We were able to snorkel off the beach and saw a nice variety of fish amongst the rocks at the side. The view from one room was great, not so much from the other.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I told reception that the hot water was cold in the morning. The staff came to look at it he told me it's always been a problem. Next morning i turned Water on and left it running it took 30mins to get warm. What a waste of water. How much is lost in a year.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    A good example of a Radisson Blu hotel, good facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very isolated with nothing within walking distance. You need a car to explore anywhere, however the hotel the charge for parking.

    A good example of a Radisson Blu hotel, good facilities and very clean throughout.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Great views, great beach, decent hotel, though a bit overpriced given that the rooms are dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms are dated and tvs are extra small for a 5* resorts and the price paid. The dinner buffet though looks nice does not leave up to the expectations, better off going to other restaurants in the hotel. The front of the restaurant stuff was a bit rude and unhelpful allocating a table, though the waiters themselves were very polite and accommodating.

    Private beach with lounges and the beach bar with the service directly to your umbrella though it was not cheap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful location with amazing facilities but a disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our check in was 30mn late and we probably had one of the worst rooms: very small, with no sofa (so not in line with the pictures) and with a view on a camping that is behind the hotel. The hotel is mostly frequented by retirees (residents package) and when you are in your 30's you can feel a bit in the wrong place

    The facilities of the hotel are great : the outdoor and indoor pool are both very nice, the private (secluded part) beach with sun beds makes it a perfect hotel with versatile options to relax. Golden sand is one of the most beautiful beaches in Malta which makes it an exceptional location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    The room, standard, was spacious and comfortable if a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in general was very variable, some staff friendly others almost rude, and not to 5* they state. The service around the pool during the day, both food and drinks is very poor. While they advise a waiter service around the pool, in reality there is none. Either the system (a wifi) buzzer system didn't work, or the under staffed team were too busy. But they charge the same prices as the main bar where you get a glass (not a flimsy plastic breaker) and table service - I.e. €9.50 for G&T

    The room, standard, was spacious and comfortable if a little dated. Plenty of sunbeds available. Choice of restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice 3 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive drinks, timeshare reps.

    Friendly staff, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, stunning location, plenty on sunbed, buzzers on sunbed and tables for service (great idea)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with great food & good entertainment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nowhere to walk in the evenings so a little restricting. However the evening entertainment was good.

    Lovely room, A wide selection of food. Pleasant Staff. Good entertainment in the evenings. Nice beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Loved it, didn’t love all the kids. Would recommend making an adult only section in the pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disappointing that there was 4 pools on the property and not one of them was adults only. Also around pool area was so many wasps, really need to get them sprayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location but expensive and not a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Beach can get crowded and not easy to find a free spot, specially during the high season. - Pools also crowded but, even though best spots are harder to get, there is always a place available. - Rooms were not ready at check in time (wait 1h-2h) and big queues to check in. - Air conditioned was not working and had to change rooms. In general weak air conditioned (takes a while to cool the room if it works at all). - Could use some refurbishment to be considered a 5 star hotel but it is not cheap. - Slow internet. -The hotel shares location with serviced apartments so expect to see a lot of families and kids.

    - Good location with direct access (stairs) to a small private beach and also 2 swimming pools. - Friendly staff. - Big rooms. - Several restaurants onsite and s supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Fab beach stay - Pebbles & Agliolio excellent . Staff excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mokka food , no entertainment in August in Swizzles . Bedroom very small .

    Location , staff , cleanliness , Agliolio restaurant , Pebbles . Breakfast . Beach Amazing .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Vynikajici snidane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotelova plaz - vstup do more bylo dost kamenu. - obcas vypadaval internet

    Vynikajici snidane. 3 bazeny a vstup do more. Vynikajici misto na odpocinek.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Very supportive and friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had issue with ceiling: it was like after flooding and not recovered. In general the room was in need to have renewal

    Very supportive and friendly staff; good beach side hotel if you search for relax and to possibility to stay out of city. Hotel has big quantity of different facilities and you always may find what to do if you decide to do something;) Also a plus is that they opened small supermarket on territory. And all territory is very big and very well organized and cleaned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a long time to get food at the pool. They pool bar seemed under pressure with a busy lunch time. The pool was very busy with lots of people swimming. Pool and area around had a bit of food and other small bits of rubbish but that probably says more about the people staying at the hotel than the hotel itself.

    Staff at reception desk were exceptional. Friendly, helpful and professional. Lovely room with view and kitchenette. We enjoyed swimming in the pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent five-star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the day of arrival in the evening about 22 it was difficult to have supper. I had to order room service. Everything was great. The second day, too, ordered dinner in the room. The food was not tasty, and the coffee was so bitter that it was hard to drink.Ideally, if the passage to the sea in front of the hotel's sunbeds cleared of stones.

    Excellent five-star hotel! Magnificent rooms with a kitchen and a view from the room. On the day of departure they helped with late departure, two small children were able to sleep in the afternoon in the room. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Sound Spa hotel, high price for F&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking required for certain restaurants. Waiting times during peak ours for restaurants without booking. Staff sometimes a bit unorganized. Quite expensive prices for food and beverages. Massage girls performing sales talks during the session.

    Well organized operation, relatively quick response on all queries even in peak times.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Beach, sea and history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few small things: Shower in jacuzzi was out of order, we informed Reception on first day. During 5 days nobody fixed it. We didn’t. find fresh juices for breakfast , May be by special order...

    Location is on the private beach- unique for Malta. We became huge Suit with fine design. Good breakfast Quality=money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable hotel with amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many children in the pool area. Would be nice to use the smaller pool with the jacuzzi only for adults.

    Clean and comfortable hotel with amazing staff. Restaurants never disappointed. Great food indeed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely break and will become our yearly tradition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows weren't too comfy

    When we asked for a quieter room as the hotel entertainment was too loud they changed our room which was in a super quiet area. Nothing was too much trouble. The detox water at reception was yummy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    In a beautiful location overlooking a lovely beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the day it is very difficult to find a spot at the pool as it is very busy. Staff can also be a bit frazzled when it’s busy.

    In a beautiful location overlooking a lovely beach. Beach sun chairs are very comfortable and the pool has a great outlook. Buffet breakfast includes a huge variety of options. Rooms are very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, beautiful relaxing break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water of the toilet seems to be not clear. Still not sure if it’s the toilet or the water. Also, the pedal of the bathroom bin didn’t work. Minor things really. It’s a beautiful resort.

    - Beautiful room. - Views. - Breakfast. - Summer fruit salad. - Just as lovely Courtesy room for 5 hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely setting, great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reservations were not very helpful in getting good rates for June. I found a cheaper option on booking.com. They did give an upgrade though and I am grateful for that. Additionally, it was our honeymoon night and we had to order drinks ourselves rather than having a minibar in the room they gave us and we were not told at reception which was a bit annoying.

    We had our wedding here. The setting is lovely and the staff organising the wedding and the staff at the Essence Bar on the day were fantastic. The food was delicious! The bar overlooks the sea and it is quite an amazing view. I am from the country but live abroad and I have always liked this bay and the Radisson here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Is this hotel a 5 star or a shooting star?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a shame!!! Reception Staff without common sense. After I booked a sea view suite (350 euro per night) they made me pay the parking ticket for my car (misery of 3 euro) every time I go in or out from a barrier they conveniently installed to make it seem they have a private parking but its just the road leading to the hotel!! For this only I will never go back to this hotel ever and I will avoid all Radisson Hotels world wide! Disgrace and shame on you!

    Not much impressed. Beautiful location ruined by bad policies and staff lacking common sense and customer service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath is too small. We were also charged for parking - considering we were guests, it was a bit unpleasant. Other than that, everything was perfect!

    Food was incredible and bed was super comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is far too noisy. The Golden Bay beach is massively overcrowded at the weekend, with techno music blaring all day Saturday, thankfully not Sunday too. It's a place for families, and kids, not for travellers looking for rest and respite. The food in all the Radisson resort restaurants was disappointing, very poor quality. And the restaurants themselves were so noisy, like eating in a creche / canteen. No Maltese traditional dishes were available. The decor of the rooms is pretty standard. I wouldn't rate this a 5 star hotel. More like 3.5 / 4 star max.

    Location with access to sea. On the positive side, Malta has sun, hot weather, and clean blue seas, though even the 'best beaches' are over-crowded thin strips of sand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A holiday for sight seeing and hiking.. weather very hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remember to have change when getting on a public bus

    Breakfast as I have allergies and they made sure I was looked after.. In door and out door pool Had my hair done in there salon Hiking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    The sandy beach, the sea view and the flavours restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The SPA experience was horrible, the bed was not comfortable, the toilet, toiletries and shower were not a five star hotels standards.

    The sandy beach, the sea view and the flavours restaurant were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay and relax. Short distances with taxi to wherever you want to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Facilities like SPA were excellent. Seaview room fabulouse. Food very good. Unfortunately my friend had a problem at check in with the room not beeing near me as requested. Was soon resolved. Very good Taxi service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Totally fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was only a single night stay for us, but nothing could have been better. We were treated so well by all the staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, and the facilities were fabulous - pool, sauna, room, balcony, bathroom, breakfast, dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Depending which tower your bedroom was located you had to go longish distances to other facilities.

    Location. Upgrade of room to suite with excellent kitchen facilities. Variety of food in restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Good Hotel with spectacular sea and country views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buttons for turning the Jacuzzi, situated next to the indoor pool, on and off are not appropriately marked and this resulted in several hotel guests pressing both buttons concurrently and complaining that the jacuzzi was (obviously) not working. We were also presented with some inconsistent information with regards to the check-out time: some documents that we were handed over during check-in indicated that check-out should be done by 10 am; whereas the information presented on the hotel's app for guests and on the information presented during booking indicated that check-out should be done by 12pm.

    The hotel's location is perfect for enjoying spectacular views. The views from the panoramic sauna make it hard not to exceed the recommended staying time :) The breakfast is good and it offers a very wide selection of food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Best spot in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not comfortable and the room needs a refresh (seems some renovations have started in other parts which is great)

    This is our favourite hotel in Malta. We like everything about it particularly its location and its chill out areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    good but some things need to be upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the night room menu has to be upgraded.....how can one eat ribs as a last thing at night!! price for a local bottle of water 700cl still in the room 4eur + 4euro room charge!! total 10e incl a tip! at least put up a frigo bar in the room... and charge at check out.. like other hotels do!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    A weekend to remember!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The room was fantastic, the bed very comfortable. The view breathtaking. All staff were friendly & set out to make us feel special. Welcome drink on arrival was also a nice touch. Breakfast was varied & delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Great to relax & get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants menu, food and staff were poor, the shower head made it difficult to have a shower rather than a bath, room service breakfast menu was quite limited.

    The pillows and mattress were comfy, the view from the room, and the cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent relaxing winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Potted coffee at breakfast is very bland.

    Suite with a sea view was excellent and spacious, food at Agliolio restaurant is delicious (even though choice of mains is a bit limited). Spa facilities are good, indoor pool is a bit too hot for my taste, but I used it daily and liked it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Would recommend the hotel, but not on a major holiday like New Year's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a busy time and staff were overextended. Had a long wait for check-in, restaurants were full, pool was crowded. Hotel should be able to accommodate holiday traffic and not use the holiday as an excuse for a lower standard of comfort or service.

    Good location; comfortable, friendly staff, as accommodating as they could be considering it was a holiday. We were upgraded to a suite so we could have two separate beds for our family's needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything basically.. 😊

    This was my second stay at the hotel. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Both times I chose a sea view room and I was never disappointed. The noise of the sea is relaxing and soothing. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful whilst at the same time are not invasive. The check in and check out process is very straight forward, stress free and without a lot of hassle. The food is superb and you will find something you like to eat for sure.. the selection is endless. The best hotel on the Maltese island which I have tried so far. Looking for to return soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    A slice of heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    i am lactose and gluten intolerant and staff helped with my food requirements without any problems. View is fanastic. Unique throughout the world.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    No mini bar in room when sad that there is had u get room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar in room when sad that there is had u get room service at a charge every time excuse was that they removed not to waste things . I think makes no sense in 5 star hotel just need to chq expirey date on products from time to time . Like all other hotels do .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    Nice resourt but very far from everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was at least an hour from anything if you are taking local bus. The taxi was about 30 Euros each way. Would have preferred to be closer to the town so I could walk if I wanted. The local busses do not follow the schedules at all. One sees an awful lot of "Sorry, out of service" ...... wonder where that place is as you see an awfull lot of buses with it. Have been left waiting for bus for over an hour and half as they didn't show up even though they are to be there every half an hour. If you want to do nothing just stay at resourt, this is place for you but if you want to see the island and have more restaurants to choose from better look for another place.

    The Resourt was great, front end staff was very friendly and helpful......housekeeping was something to be desired......not sure what was going on but if we didn't leave a note telling them to leave so many towels we quite often didn't get it all.....oh well, perhaps it was Christmas week!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice break in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone just knocked and walked into our room, didn't wait for a sign from us. Pillows not very comfy and central heating way too hot, ended up sleeping with the fan on in December.

    Breakfast is very good, countryside is nice despite the noise coming from the campsite just behing the hotel. Spa is amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The staff is very friendly & helpful and make you feel welcome at the hotel. The services offered at the hotel are of the highest level. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a well deserved break!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Soulless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total lack of atmosphere in largely empty hotel. Facilities closed for maintenance, restricted choice of treatments and availability in the spa (one of the main reasons for choosing the hotel) very high price of food and drink considering the off season atmosphere.

    Good quality of finish and choice of food. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing and pleasant stay, which leaves you looking forward to a early return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment here

    It's the 'feels like home' atmosphere all around. Cleanliness, friendliness, excellent food and service is consistent. Just when you are sure you have experienced the ultimate, the ultimate gets better!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    I recommend this hotel, for occasional, holiday or for resting
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were there for our 25th Anniversary, the room was perfect and very clean, staff were kind,restorants were up to date,in one word everything was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice rural location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit overpriced for what it offers. Breakfast wasn't included in our rate and it would cost £16 to add it so we ate in the nearby restaurant which was much cheaper and delicious. The prices throughout the hotel were also unreasonably high even for five star hotel.

    The view from the balcony as well as the pool was amazing. We could hear the waves from our hotel room if we left the balcony open. The surroundings of the hotel are really quiet which is great for relaxation but there isn't much to do other than walks etc. There is a nice restaurant/coffee place near the beach with really good food and coffee (and the view!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room, no space for suitcases, shallow drawer in each bedside locker, 2 small drawers in wardrobe, 4 coathangers each, carpet looked very dirty in places although this might just be old carpet.

    The balcony was large

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Radisson Golden Sands never disappoints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that as soon as we walked in, they informed us about the free upgrade to a suite :-) it made our break a little bit more special. Staff were very friendly. Rooms clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    So relaxing and comfortable that we keep coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in outdoor swimming pools a bit chilly this time of year, as not heated; Spa prices a little exaggerated...and masseuse far too keen to sell expensive beauty products (but, strictly speaking, spa is not run by the hotel but an outside franchise); Ideal for people like ourselves who simply wish to relax...but less good perhaps for those wishing to visit the island, as a little remote....

    Variety of places to relax, eat and drink, etc - just as nice sitting round the lovely pool as heading down to the private beach; Very helpful and friendly staff (reception, bars, housekeepers...); Well-appointed, spacious bedrooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff on terrace were slow to serve, after waiting 15 minutes for 2nd drink left for dinner. Chased by waiter and for non payment, said would pay previous drinks after dinner! Very annoying.

    Very comfortable and good facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant overall would definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to get into the room first few times as there was a problem with our door, but this was quickly resolved.

    The bed and pillows were super comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    Very cheap experience from a 5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Countryside View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Unfortunately this 5* hotel feels very cheap despite the price tag: - improper cleaning in the room - rust on the balcony spoiling the experience - if you need something the response is not always prompt and you have to mention it multiple times until all points are addressed - poor taste of food in all restaurants (exception sushi night at the bar) - fully equipped kitchen (even with dishwasher) but no salt & pepper in the existing mills - too big of a hotel to pay attention to customers and details The long story: We could not find in time a smaller room and we had a big apartment but very expensive. We arrived quite late in the night and, despite this, the room seemed not properly cleaned: hairs in the bathroom and on the coffee table in the living room, (what appeared to be) blood stains on the drapes, mucus and various spots on the curtains, drapes that were teared, rust on the balcony. Due to this and having a sink cap that got stuck we called for somebody to see the room. They sent the maintenance guy. Mentioning the cleaning issue they offered another room but not very different from the previous one. We decided to go back in the previous room because it smelled somehow better. The manager arrived after being called by the maintenance guy to notice the cleanliness issues. In the end a quick clean was performed by the staff at the request of the manager. The next day despite seeing and smelling a deep clean, we noticed more issues: the dust in the closet was not cleaned for months; leftover soap pieces in the shower support, corners not properly vacuumed. The phone from living did not work to call reception or room service we mentioned again in person to the manager that there are pending issues to be solved. They were more preoccupied with the phone than for the cleaning. After 3 days I showed the cleaning people what they needed to do in order to come to normality (the phone was never fixed). Regarding the restaurants, the food is not so great.

    The place is very good located with relation to the beach. Via e-mail the staff helped us with the transfer from the airport to the hotel without any hassle. The breakfast was diverse and quite good with a nice service. Also the private beach with the option to charge the expenses on the room was very convenient. Leaving the hotel, a hospitality room was offered which allowed us to enjoy the day at the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.8
    I had an incident with the door lift and had to go to clinic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an incident with the door lift and had to go to clinic for stitches. We wasted the last two days.we expected the management give us an extra night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Lovely beach vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was low

    Lovely property on a fantastic bay with sandy beach and swimmable water The staff was very attentive. When the manager discovered we were celebrating our anniversary and birthdays, they treated us to an amazing gourmet dinner at their top rated restaurant Essence and sent treats to our room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Very luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar package should be a bit more reasonable

    Extra mile to make our trip special by giving us an upgrade. However one small suggestion at least a complimentary bottle of water in the bar would do wonders especially for people like us arriving late at night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why carpets on the floor in a beach place ? I thought that was not the most hygienic choice

    Great service in the best location in the north west - amazing food at god value at the season restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    We will visit the hotel very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff. They solved all of our requests. You can go out for dinner to 3-5 restaurants or you can make your daily shopping in the small supermarket in the hotel and prepare your meals in your room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    A great experience - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacks an adult pool. Rules at the pool on diving not seriously enforced.

    It is a great 5 Star experience. Property is great and staff are professional and courteous. Restaurants offer a variety of good quality food with vegetarian options. When vegetarian options were limited they promptly prepared an ad hoc salad. Impressive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent, relaxing and was a great weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Countryside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That everything was closed at 12 there was no bar open any later so we just went back to the room. If I had know i would of got a bottle of wine earlier and gone of to the beach. Also the steak at the restaurant Agliolio wasn't cooked well enough.

    Love the staff and the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice surroundings but lacked that special touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 3 restaurants, Flavours, Agliolli and Essence. Flavours was €29 for a buffet of very average food, it lacked a lot of taste and although there were lots of options, they were all tasteless. In Agliolli we were served by several different people meaning our order came out wrong as messages were getting crossed, we also heard lots of people complaining of the same thing. Essence, which is meant to be this amazing bar and restaurant, was closed every evening due to private functions! Very annoying. The rooms were very outdated for the money they charge. The rooms were obviously decorated on the cusp of the 90s and haven't been touched since.

    The Raddison Blu was a special treat for us for our honeymoon and we had high expectations. The pool area was lovely, very close to the beach and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some ingredients used in the food isn't local. Malta has a phenomenal array of delicious locally sourced food which Golden Sands should use. Support local businesses!

    Everything!!! Everyone was so nice and helpful! Felt taken care of and the staff understood the importance of excellent customer service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay at this beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is at a remote location which can be considered either good or bad. There is a bus stop near the hotel and by bus you can go to Valletta / 1 hour drive /, St. Jullien's and Sliema / 45 min /, Mellieha / 15 min/ and more. You can get the bus schedule from the reception desk.

    Upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised that the hotel made un upgrade for us from a double room with countryside view to a large appartment with all facilities overlooking the bay and the beach, and we would kindly like to thank the Radisson Blu Resort Golden Sands for this generous upgrade. The hotel is well maintained with very beautiful views and lagoon pools. All the staff were very polite and provided great customer service. There are a few restaurants, cafes and bar on site that provide beautiful ambience and delicious food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Great holiday resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Agliolio restaurant is overpriced for what is on offer: the food is quite ordinary and the atmosphere more like that of a works canteen, especially inside. Breakfast too is overpriced...the in-room breakfast is a better option. Beds: mattresses a little soft, but pillows too fat - a sore neck guaranteed! As the hotel is a little remote, the airport shuttle should be free. No supervision of the main pool...too many inflatable toys, very young children (who have their own pool), people drinking beer on the edge, etc. No excursions organised by hotel itself (Gozo, Valetta, boat trips...)

    A perfect break away from the hustle and bustle...tough choice between relaxing around the beautiful pools or down on the beach where there are water sports for those more active!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place for high-end family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking was a little troublesome at times. Otherwise it was expensive compared to other places in Malta but worth it.

    The staff were over the top exceptional, helping with some printing and scanning and emailing and DHL courier and more. Great breakfast buffet with good cumberland sausages, rashers, bacon, eggs, juices, etc. Really nice rooms, especially when in adjoining suites, great service from staff everywhere, good restaurants too. Internet was good and reliable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel Excellent Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the soft drinks and ice creams were quite expensive.

    The bedroom was very good excellent air conditioning. Great sea views. Cleaning staff were superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    EVERYTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact my friend booked via Radisson Blu website and paid £500 more after expecting a better room than on booking.com for the extra price.... Booking.com had a far better room! at a cheaper price....

    EVERYTHING! Private Beach was amazing with comfy sunbeds ans parasols.......

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Palmtrees and turquoise water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real 5 star place. The view is breathtaking. The possibilities to dine and or have a drink are numerous. Even at your sunbed on the beach its not a problem to enjoy a chilled drink. Not much around it therefore the unspoiled view. Public bustransport easily available. Would highly recommend for a weekend getaway or a high class beach holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Glorious relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants, they need to mark dishes that are gluten free. Price of restaurants. There was a restaurant outside the hotel near the beach that was cheaper although menu limited. We were at the hotel the second week in June and I wouldn't want it to be any busier. Would have been nice if the second, smaller outside pool was for adults only.

    Everything. Room, hotel public areas, beach, indoor pools and outdoor pool, staff. Easy to get around the island on drifter mini buses you can book at the hotel. Airport transfer was easy aswell.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Staff offered a courtesy room to change and freshen up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff offered a courtesy room to change and freshen up before our departure in the evening. The view from the room is great. There is a kitchenette in the room and a shop on the property so you can fix your own snacks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    A nice short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet dinner at Flavours was over priced for the selection and quality of the food. Pool area was a bit dirty

    Breakfast selection is really good and on the whole the stay was good. Staff were polite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, but not necessarily worth the money...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The loud music at the beach, lack of access to more frequent public transport, the relative unfriendliness of staff at the beach

    Reception staff, private beach, gym and swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Great beach hotel / resort on Malta's beautiful NW coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't complain

    Very relaxing, beautiful place. Great for kicking off your sandals and watching the mediterran gently lap at your feet. The pool was great for the kids, the right temperature and right above the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Another fantastic week at Radisson Golden Sands. Can't wait for the next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Countryside View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pillows - they are too high.

    Very good breakfast. Large selection of hot and cold food with an extra bonus of the possibility of eating outside in the garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: