Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Mellieħa hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Ramla Bay Resort

Reviews of Ramla Bay Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marfa Bay, MLH 7100 Mellieħa, Malta

#45 of 62 hotels in Mellieħa

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 526 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    5.8
    We kept ourselves busy sightseeing but I think one week was enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access was difficult and it was a long way from anything. Not much to do nearby. The buffet breakfast never seemed hot, just warm.

    The new part of the hotel was lovely but the older part was a little tired.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked some evening entertainment, i.e. space for dancing and socialising with other guests in the hotel, seeings the location was out of town.

    Views from our room which was upgraded to sea view with compliments from the hotel. Dining options were great, Location right on the beach front. lavish gardens. Very spacious rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.5
    Nice, relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms in the old section of the hotel needs a bit of updating, however we got upgraded to the newer section and that was fantastic.

    The food was great!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    6.3
    Great choices at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everytime we called the Front desk they were always rude and would hang up before we finished asking. Asked if the chips were vegan at sunset bar the waitress replied "it's potato probably cooked in sunflower oil" but wouldn't go and confirm. One pool was closed and covered in mould and broken tiles. Two jacuzzis at the spa and the jets only worked on our last day. We were also told there was no sauna as this was used for treatments. Only on our last day we were told we can use the sauna. You get a towel from the spa and apparently this is meant to last you your whole stay. A nice damp towel for the sauna and the beach. On day 4 of our stay we still hadn't had a sheet change and I don't think we would of if I hadn't have asked. Disappointing if your aiming to be a 4/5* hotel. Many times we'd come back to the room with the balcony door ajar. The room was also either too hot or too cold with the air con no in between or able to control it. There needs to be menus for all restaurants in the room and a kettle for boiling water not a luke warm coffee machine. Our first night we asked if there was room service and first we were told yes, decided what we wanted and rang back later to order. We were then told its not available and the restaurant was closed. But another one was available. Too much confusion between staff and not friendly responses to customers. Quite far out if you don't have a car. For the price paid there are a lot of changes still to be made

    Great choices at breakfast. We stayed in the new building which was really nice and clean. Restaurant staff were nice. Boat trip options so close to blue lagoon.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.2
    Nice place with good food and different choice of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa facilities wasn't work properly during our visit, and this wasn't fix during our visit.

    Nice place with good food and different choice of Restaurants. Nice and helpful staff. Amazing views.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    5.8
    A rather crowded resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cats at this resort are intrusive and unpleasant. No facilities for anyone bringing a sports bike either to assemble or store. Sun beds badly worn and hence uncomfortable.

    Being able to access easily, swim and snorkel in the sea from steps off the rocks. The.new spa is a great facility. The staff, service and food in the Sea Breeze restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with variety of amenities - will definitely return !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was disappointed to be charged £3 for bottles of water in the restaurants as think this is excessive. At breakfast there was an urn where one could help oneself to a glass of water and think free drinking water should be supplied around swimming pool area during day. It was possible to buy plastic bottles of water in the shop much cheaper and cheaper still in the kiosk just up the road from hotel. The amount of plastic in bottles and the plastic straws being used should be drastically reduced as soon as possible. This is only negative comment as otherwise thought hotel was excellent.

    Excellent location for dive sites and great dive school at hotel - Orange Shark. Hotel staff were always helpful and don't think I have ever stayed in such a spotlessly clean hotel. Great facilities, range of restaurants and variety of swimming pools, access to sea via ladders, as well as small sandy beach. Also travelled around island by bus - reception gave us info on which buses and provided timetable - buses were regular and cheap. Hotel shop had everything you could possibly need and at reasonable prices compared with shops outside. All in all a fantastic stay and am sure we will return and also recommend to other friends!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    6.7
    For fans of resorts really... Very calm and pleasant but underwhelming really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a fair distance from many interesting sites. Food was OK, fairly samey. To get anything good you pay extra.

    Staff were lovely, accommodation in the new wing is excellent but do check this before you book. Cats!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    3.8
    Do not intend to return to the hotel. Our first experience was good two years ago but not this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Flies around food; food was mostly tasteless in the main hotel apart from that in Alang Alang restaurant at lunchtime; there is a daily charge for changing beach towels for the first seven days; difficult to start the jacuzzi; air con in the room and one light in the room did not work; some hooks missing in the curtain rail; only one entrance door works- For the 13 days we were there the other door and the revolving door were not seen working so much so when leaving my elderly mum had to go through the only working door the floor of which was being washed with soap!

    Staff serving food; blue waves cruise to Comino and Blue Lagoon especially Clyde who was a good guide! Car rental facility at the hotel; Good toilet and shower facilities by the pools which were always kept clean! Areas aroundvthe pools also kept clean!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.5
    I liked my suite room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked my suite room . I liked the buffet at the restaurant , I liked the outdoor seating overlooking the sea . The sauna was very pretty . The jacuzzi outdoor very nice . The staff overall nice and polite .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Relaxation at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived at the hotel 6 hours prior to the standard check-in time, as out flight was early in the morning. The staff was very kind and responsive and facilitate the check-in on spot, and even better, the room was in the newer wing with an amazing bay-beach-sea view. The room was spacious, clean, fully equipped.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.5
    Our stay at Ramla Bay Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food is not as good as it used to be. The deckchairs are all absolite. If you are a person over 50 you cannot go up from them cos the material where you sit became hollow with wear and tear. We were in the new section of the hotel that opened recently, it already needs maintenance. No Entertainment for adults in the evening. We had to go to Mellieha Bay Hotel as there is entertainment everyday of the week. One day at noon we sat down to eat at the Sunset Lounge, it took 45 mins to wait for our order.

    The room was nice and comfortable and had a great view. The staff were very friendly. The towels were spotless clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.9
    It was exacty what we expected apart from falling into the swimming pool at nigh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough information about the main spots inside the hotel. It was very confusing . There should be special nonslippery steps from the swimming pool area towards the toilets. NO LIGHTS ARROUND A LITTLE POOL AT NIGHT- DANGEROUS!

    Actually- comfortable bed , ocean view and a tasty beakfast was indeed a superb supprise. Pool was great as well as very pleasant restaurants arround.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    6.7
    only one set of free towels for the whole stay, if you want...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    only one set of free towels for the whole stay, if you want new ones, you have to pay for them. not really what i expext from a four star hotel. also the drinks where really pricy and our room smelt like fresh paint which made us have a headache. in the "fitness room" all equipement was broken and rusty except for the weight, guess you cannot break those...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    5.8
    Not a 4 star hotel, but rather 3 star service. I will never book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would probably never come back to this resort again and I would actually rate it 3 stars. Some staff members were very rude. One day we came back to our room 14:45 and the room was not cleaned: cleaning crew were progressing slowly through other rooms and haven't reached ours by that time. Nonetheless, we asked cleaning lady to just replace our towels, which she did on the spot. We declined full cleaning as we were going to have a nap. Suddenly a young guy, a "supervisor", appeared and started insisting that we sign some paper that "we don' want cleaning for the day". What the heck! I refused to sign that nonsense, but that is not the end of the story. Next day we met that guy in the hallway and he did not reply to my "hello", that was an inexplicable insult to me as a customer. (On contrary, the cleaning lady smiled and replied "hello" which should be the professional norm.)

    Some staff members spoke or understood my mother tongue and I find that very kind :). It was my first time on half-board and the food was surprisingly good for that type of "mass" cooking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    I had been to Ramla two years ago and now enjoyed the new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Courteous but not always too friendly staff. Despite the nice pools, too few umbrella for the quite packed deck chairs with no tables to keep stuff on. The result is you go desperately looking for shadow especially, but not only, if you have infants like we had. The biggest disappointment was the beach. It is private but small, and the big issue is that it is few metres away from a wall of boats that block the landscape and pollute both the water and the air. Too often the strong smell of gasoline was disturbing up to the pools' deck. Unthinkable to bathe in the sea, therefore. A word of advise: the hotel sets fair rules, problem is that there's nobody ensuring they're respected: dress code at the restaurant, but you see people dressed just whichever way; pool is closed and you prepare to leave, but see other people just arriving and jumping in; no diving allowed in the pools and people doing all sorts of things; no kids allowed in the relax pool except within certain times, yet shouting and splashing all over at any time... It just doesn't do, please have them respected for everyone's sake.

    I had been to Ramla two years ago and now enjoyed the new building and services. Went back also for the nice restaurant rich and various in good food. The pools are big and the view from them is nice, as is the position on a quiet corner of Malta, facing Gozo. Easy to the public transport. They upgraded us (complimentary) to luxury rooms, and the room they assigned to my sister and her two-kids family was a full apartment with two bathrooms. Awesome breakfast, for all tastes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.8
    Not value for money or a good 4*, too many little issues that add up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many to list, lots of little things like no pillow or mattress protectors, no face cloths, small bath towels, poor comms from reception, guest relations blaming booking.com over an issue, check out rude staff (asleep when we wanted to leave), repetative food, poor quality sunbeds, cats on outside chairs (I’m allergic) and begging at tables, cheap packets of shampoo etc, tea/coffee just left loose on side, no help with luggage, straight on you for payment on arrival, lifts regular out of order, one has been broken for months, as I say lots of little things that to me, don’t make this a 4* hotel...

    Restaurant staff worked hard, location of sea view in new wing, indoor pool/jacuzzi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful and serene location but standard rooms aren't great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room despite being 'standard', still felt a little disappointing for a 4 star hotel. Not very high quality and would've expected better from the facilities. Double bed room was actually two single beds put together and when we asked for a room with an actual double bed, we were given a very stern 'no'. Just not the most romantic getaway for my wedding anniversary when I'm having to sleep on a separate bed to my husband.

    Lovely pools/location. Nice and calm spot with great views. Really great bus stop that gets you to all over Malta not to mention it's about 25 min walk (or 10 minute bus) to the ferry port to Gozo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Quiet location, not near any restaurants/bars etc (other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m not one to stay in the hotel my whole holiday so I would have preferred a bit more culture nearby.

    Quiet location, not near any restaurants/bars etc (other than those in hotel) so you need to get bus or taxi around. Though it is within walking distance of ferry to Gozo which is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    I had a lovely time and really enjoyed my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Gym equipment needs upgrading

    Very nice views, loved the swimming pool and the room (got upgrade o Deluxe inn new part of the hotel), good selection of food and Spa. Friendly and helpful staff :) Good location - easy to get to Gozo, Comino and bus stop near by if you want to go around the island.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much choice in the restaurants in the evenings! (Not a fish lover) the location is quite far from any town or amenities, but there is a good shop in the hotel!

    The swimming pools and beach were fantastic. Kept very clean and tidy. I loved the sectioned off part of the sea where you could swimming and snorkelling! The staff are very friendly and helped us when we needed it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing view and remote location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If you have no idea what to do in Malta, the hotel is well equipped to help you plan your trip during your stay. So in love with Malta! We are definitely coming back to stay in Ramla bay but this time with the whole family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That it did not have a gym and there was only one lounge bar available in the evening.

    Modern, clean, friendly reception staff, very large hotel and the fact that there are a total of 5 pools available to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.0
    We were in the new part of the hotel and the view was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was badly cleaned when we moved in (sand from previous guests, hair on the floor) and remained bearly acceptable during our stay, even after having advised the staff. One of the bathroom had issues with water in the sink and shower not running away. The service in the restaurants, both breakfast and dinner, was sufficient, not great. Same for the quality of the food. If the hotel wouldn’t have been in a great location, it would not have deserved the money it asks.

    We were in the new part of the hotel and the view was amazing. We had a junior suite with ample space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great place with great view, kind staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cats around the dining area. It should no be let them close to the restaurant.

    This is really an excellent place, wonderful bay, nice hotel, very kind, helpful staff, the food is beyond all expectation, really tasty, there is gluten free stuff we needed, nice view. The room in the new bit of the hotel with a view to the see and the sunset is wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Such a beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to hire a car to get anywhere.. there is a bus stop but it's a steep hill to get to it.

    So so beautiful.. we had a suite in the new side and it was just stunning..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    Very good room with all comforts provided which was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The indoor pool wasn’t that warm. The sauna was too hot. The indoor jacuzzi was lukewarm. However it was a newly opened facility and it will probably get sorted in time. We still enjoyed using it. The views from there were stunning and it’s beautifully fitted out.

    Very good room with all comforts provided which was a Standard room. Serviced daily and well. Fridge. Balcony. Extensive good breakfasts. Hotel is in a Quiet location with views towards Gozo. Good walks along the peninsula. Nice places to sit either by the several pools and or by the sea. Speedboat trips to Comino from the hotel. Staff are helpful and good. Bus service nearby. Useful Small shop in the hotel for water, drinks, souvenirs, crisps etc. Overall this is a good relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.1
    The stay was enjoyable and relaxing except for the beds being not so comfortable and the sun beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds not so comfortable. Sunbads too low and sink down. Very difficult to get on or off the sun beds.

    The food excellent. A very relaxing hotel (quiet and tranquil). A nice place for one to chill out. The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Lovely! We will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Possibly a little far from anything if people are looking for shopping etc but great shop on site.

    We loved the salt water pool and close to amazing dive sites. Food was out of this world amazing and our room was super comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Excellent. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Blue pir light in room was a little annoying, in the end we covered it with a towel.

    The new part of the hotel is fabulous, state of the art rooms, very impressive. Restaurant could not be better. 5 Star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool wasn’t open when we were there as it only opens from May onwards which was disappointing. Location is quite isolated from bars, restaurants, shops etc. although there is a mini market in hotel. But If you want a day out you spend a good bit of money on taxis there and back.

    Absolutely beautiful resort, It’s right on the beach and has its own little area on the beach where you can sunbathe. Staff were so polite and helpful. The view is breathtaking, the hotel itself is just amazing, food at the bar is gorgeous and so affordable, the breakfast and dinner buffets have everything you can ask for! Just beautiful all round hotel, big rooms, comfy beds, indoor pool and fabulous little gardens outside the back of the hotel that you walk through to get to the beach/ pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.2
    It was a relaxing.stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that there was no entertainment on Sunday evening.Also the guitarist on Saturday left a little to be desired.

    The food was very good and the sea view room was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    5.8
    Relaxing long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No sofa in room. Mini fridge did not keep things cool. The airconditioner could not be set to cool. The breakfast was rather boring, usually it used to be much better quality. The indoor pool was a bit cold and there is no jacuzzi.

    The comfortable bed. The tea/coffee facilities in room. The steam room and suana were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    6.7
    The food, breakfast and even dinner the cooked food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food, breakfast and even dinner the cooked food wasn't fresh sort of heated many times. The bread was always stale in all the three days. The staff were quite nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    3.3
    Do NOT stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This place bills itself as a luxury resort—but what a joke. The rooms are old and basic, and the hallways are stained, with dust and trash along the walls. Add to that Ramla Bay’s inconvenient, remote location and unhelpful staff (we had to fight for an early check-in after an overnight flight, despite requesting it several days in advance), and it’s an overall bad experience. The location is incorrect on Booking.com. This property is NOT in the town of Mellieha.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and relaxing holiday, with good facilities on site!
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in the corridors was very dim, wish we had paid the extra for a sea view room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food in the hotel (we ate breakfast and dinner occasionally) was great with lots of choice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    5.8
    Had a nice time in hotel but we would not come again in winter esp if path is not lighted,paved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to use public transport and coming back from bus stop was dangerous being dark (no light), rough path and very rough sea with waves coming up where we had to pass!

    Accommodation was satisfactory. Food (breakfast, dinner and snacks) plentiful and really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    8.8
    Great value and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Few little things that could have made the experience better. Some of the staff could be better. On the first day the barman overcharged us. The maid left only 1 towel in our room for 2 people. One waitress poured wine all over our table at dinner and just walked off. I had a bug crawl out of my bread roll one evening. The kettle in the room was really dirty so we didn’t use it. Luckily there is coffee at breakfast. The hotel is great value regardless of the small things.

    Fantastic value hotel. The bedrooms are really big. Great view from the balcony. Breakfast buffet has everything you could want. You can try some lovely local dishes at the dinner buffet which is also great value. The lovely lady on reception helped us when we had a problem with our balcony door and it was fixed the same day. Remote location is really nice. A short walk to busses and the ferries to Gozo and Comino. Quite a long bus ride to the capital though. Indoor pool is good for winter though the water was a little cold WiFi is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    8.3
    It was a lovely holiday,wish it was longer,location was perfect for our group
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning wasn’t that good,would Have been nice if more attention to cleaning was given.

    The staff was very friendly,made sure all problems where solved. The swimming pool was nice,the location is 40mins from the airport,it’s quiet ,the hotel is about 15mins to the Ċirkewwa Ferry Terminal (Can take ferry to Gozo)and Boats to Comino(Blue Lagoon).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    8.8
    Nice relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is OK but very remote, and if the weather is not good (we had very heavy rain one day) you will get soaked.

    Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was very good, good variety of food. THe hotel is kept very clean and the staff work hard to keep it that way. Spa area is very nice, and the staff in the spa were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    The location of the hotel is brilliant - all rooms have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though the design is very modern, I would have liked that the shower and the WC had some more privacy - the shower has a transparent glass and the WC is not sound isolated. Even if traveling with your closed ones nobody wants to hear WC sounds when standing in their bed.

    The location of the hotel is brilliant - all rooms have a superb view to the sea and the Comino and Gozo islands. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay at Ramla Bay hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What is a minus of a hotel, to get there from bus stop, it takes about 10 minutes, you have to go throw other hotel teritory and during some part of beach (I think sunny day, and season time, its realy ok, but when it was raining, it was really uncomfortable, especialy with a child). Also there is no sand beach, there are a lot of stones and rocks.

    Pleasant stay at Ramla Bay hotel. Staff very helpful and kind, we got an additional bad wheather we didn't told we are expecting to be with a child. In order of cold water missing in our room, we got a new room in new hotel section, and even insted of 1room we got deluxe 2room apartment with two bathrooms, and amazing sea view, big balcony. This we didn't expect absolutely.:))) A new section of hotel is realy AMAZING.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows could be more comfortable.

    Hotel was very clean, quiet and comfortable. Stuff was helpful. Few swimming pools, water not too cold, nice place to rest and chill.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    7.5
    Big complex, good for trips to Comino and Gozo, nice to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No restaurants nor bars in the neighbourhood; for dinner, you have to either stay in the hotel, choose another hotel restaurant or travel to Mellieha town. Although we were outside the peak season, the buffet restaurant was crowdy and noisy at breakfast. The lobby bar was noisy in the evenings making it difficult to relax. No complimentary water offered to make your tea or coffee in the room. The older part of the hotel needs refreshment - at least changing the carpets in the corridors.

    Quiet location, close to ferries and boats. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious room with comfortable bed and nice terrace. Vast garden with places to relax. Good fish restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.3
    Sun warmth and sea in October break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    * A bit far from e.g. Valletta and airport. Takes quite much time although the distance is not so long. It's because there is lot of traffic and the traffic arrangements are not so good * In general, food was not to our taste as it has too much British influence. Price level is also quite high

    *Hotel is okay, nothing to complain, nothing to highlight. Pools are fine and it is easy to get to the sea as well + a small sandy beach mainly for younger kids. Some nice snorkeling (really clear waters!) and cliff jumping. All kind of activities also arranged on daily basis. Several okay restaurants. We had the buffet dinner only once, it was quite good, at least plenty of choices. Our rooms were nice and clean with great views. Quite much space as well * Location is perfect to visit Gozo and Comino with e.g. a ferry. A bit distant (roughly one hour by taxi) from Valletta and airport. 5 min taxi drive to close village of Mellieha where we had dinner several times

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.8
    Would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water should be included with dinner. Maps of area not readily available nor were there any brochures for tours at the tour operator desk.

    Amazing choice of food for breakfast and dinner. Lots of loungers at pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Spend a great week at the hotel and hope to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great place, very polite and helpful staff. We loved the location just by the ocean, private hotel beach and easy access to public transportation. The hotel is still undergoing some construction, but it did not disrupt our stay in any way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    8.8
    Poorly serviced.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poorly serviced by transport into and out of the property. We expected a taxi rank at the hotel but taxi's had to be prebooked and paid for. That was the problem we had as l have difficulty walking.

    The property was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    8.3
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Corridor carpets rank. New building would be lovely, but can already see bad workmanship etc. Bar with entertainment area needs better layout.

    Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Old rooms good and clean. Food good, plenty of choice. Lovely bay very near Gozo and Comino. Fridge and kettle in rooms not stated on site. Handy to know.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    7.5
    Great value for money; accommodation and restaurants. Some staff need better training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately some of the staff were rude and really didn't know what they were doing. Some were quite good, but it is clear that others need more training. The Fitness centre is in disrepair.

    Location was fantastic. On site Restaurants were surprisingly good value for money AND had a great range of dishes. Boat hire and dive-school on site are great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    7.9
    nice place but they nickel and dime you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They nickel and dime you for everything. It is a beach resort and they charge for your safe in the room. This is ridiculous. Of course you need one if you are going to beach or pool. They also stated they would charge for Wi-Fi in room. They also do not provide water at buffet dinner. The rug outside my room was badly stained.

    location was very nice, and easy to get to by public transportation. It also was right near ferries to get to Gozo and Comino.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    It was a beautiful and amazing week.:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food was not the best. We were in bed and breakfast, so the breakfast was buffet type. It was good because they give you a lot of options. The hotel has 5 restaurants, 2 has the same menu, 1 is just for dinner with sea food, but it's really expensive, 2 buffet style restaurants and 1 Spanish style. The prices are high compare to the quality of the food, but the portions are huge (we couldn't finish a main because it was too much). I would recommend to make smaller portions but better quality.

    We were at the new building in the hotel, our room was huge and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The beach next to the hotel is also really good and they offer a lots of programs. The spa also really good, they have 1 pool inside, a sauna and a steam room as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was perfect, the room very comfortable and very clean!!! Also the hotel had very good organisation, the gardens and the swimming pool was amazing!!!! Furthermore the staff were very kind and the service was very good!!! If i go to Malta again i will visit the same hotel!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.5
    Good selection at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner in main restaurant mediocre at best. Taxis complete rip off. (Particularly 'e cabs', used by hotel)

    Good selection at breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    5.0
    Nice beaches, old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not like the food, the fact that it was cry hard to get somewhere from the hotel, nothing is around and the buses are veeery slow. The hotel was very old. There was a charge of 2.50 per day for towels

    The beaches were very nice and clean. We liked the cats:) And also the staff was helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    7.1
    all good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff at the main bar mainly one is cocky and try to treat you like a child line up for a beer we are grown adults not children apart from him no problems sorry

    the quietness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    6.7
    Staff very friendly, breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was disappointing, bed really uncomfortable, and new bed covers would make a difference as they so old that looks really bad for 4 star hotel. We also had spare bed in our room which looks absolutely awful. Our room was situated by the divers club so every early morning we could hear delivery vans or staff passing our room, we just couldn't feel like we on holidays by waking up at 6 am. We also had evening meal in hotel, we thought it was poor choice, food was very poor and generally it didn't taste nice. We ended up having chicken and chips and I dont think its worth 40 euros per two persons.

    Staff very friendly, breakfast was good. Good location, plenty trips provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.9
    Good buffet food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Many cats in the outdoor eating area. This should not have been allowed. They climbed up on seats and tables looking for food.

    Good buffet food. Convenient location for local buses. Easy to get to the ferry for Gozo. Nice outdoor pools. Small private sandy beach was great - but plenty of stones underfoot when you entered the water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a relaxing chilled out holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wooden chairs in restaurants were slightly uncomfortable after a while

    Second visit as we love hotel so much. Great breakfast 4 restaurants to choose from in evening. Had it's own beach and 2 pools with plenty of sun beds. Room was spacious clean with large comfy bed. Perfect for couples

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.4
    The hotel is pleasant but a little tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was still building work going on and it was supposed to be finished when we arrived. I thought the housekeeping of the rooms was poor and the furnishings and bathroom facilities in the reception area were tired

    The staff at reception were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay will definitely be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Not very keen on the new extension. Although probably very well appointed it did not seem to fit in with the rest of the resort.

    The resort is well placed and is wheelchair friendly. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The room was always kept clean by the housekeeping staff who came at a time to suit us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    5.4
    The overall impression was the Hotel was of a 3 star rating and not 4 stars - staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not having to pay for the key to the advertised room safe on arrival - Car park large enough to take guests The overflow car park is in complete darkness outside the venue and has no security cover from cameras etc. pathways and floors outside could be washed down to take some of the grime away. Room cleaning / maid service a little haphazard some days near perfect other days really quite poor. The fact major building work was underway should have been advertised when booking not subsequently (noise not a problem but had the impression hotels had given up trying to keep outside area clean.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast - waiting staff excellent and restaurant area clean and tidy and only a few flies (less than other outdoor eating venues). Good choice of sunbeds and areas to relax. On the down side (premium spots taken by towel droppers and not managed by hotel).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The ladder leading down to the sea is a bit too short and rather difficult to climb back up. A BBQ night would be great

    The sea is easily accessible, the staff friendly. The rooms are large and clean and the restaurants superb. It is cut off from passing trade and yet close to amenities by car making it very private. It is the ideal family destination and yet the outdoors is built in a way that allows for private spots for a quiet read or relaxation. Just a speed boat away from comino, beautiful island(5 mins) and loads of water sports. The reception and Concierge are always very helpful and knowledgeable. Looking forward to our next stay in the new wing :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    5.4
    The staff were very abrupt and the facilities not as good as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very abrupt and the facilities not as good as they appear on the website. We had to pay for the safe which surprised us and the staff were very rude

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    6.3
    quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the hotel's beach, too small, a lot of small boats near to the shore. Some of the staff were not very nice. When we went they were doing improvements so everything was covered with dust :/ there were a lot of cats in the main restaurant.

    the pizzas from the swimming's pool bar. comfy bed. quiet place spa

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    7.1
    Great place, good value, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hall way carpet is very unclean. Requires replacing or at least stain dry cleaning. First impressions last.

    Staff were great, restaurant were good value clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    5.0
    It's was okay. May look elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building works going on infront of our room waking us up every morning. View was wasn't great and the shop inside is very expensive. The staff at the front desk found it difficult when we first got there to actually book us in and take my payment. They messed up.

    Breakfast was great. Nicely cooked

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    8.8
    Quiet part of Malta perfect for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a little uncomfortable and toiletries not great. 1 of our taxi bookings got mixed up between reception and the taxi employees which was frustrating but minor complaints really

    Situated in a lovely quiet part of Malta, with great access to local buses to travel around Malta. Staff were very nice and food was above expectations. Pools were lovely also - in general we had a fantastic stay at this hotel and would recommend it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    4.6
    Unimpressed given 4 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of things - staff very unaccommodating, breakfast choices limited, juices not fresh, building works have left outside dirty & it's not cleaned daily, extra charges for safe key & beach towels €2.50 each per day, cleaners don't clean rooms properly. Would class hotel 4 stars but 3!

    Views spectacular, area great location but not much around so very good place to totally relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    10
    A paradise haven for all, especially disabled visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing not to like. Even though construction going on at hotel & across the street it wasn't a problem. They started @ 7 pm and were completed by 5 pm. During the day never noticed or heard the construction noise. Thank you Ramla Bay Resort for a wonderful, memorable stay.

    Very, very accessible. Need mobility scooter as I have mobility issues and found that I could go everywhere in my scooter. Beautiful property & grounds. Accessible room had sea & countryside view. I had no issues with getting around. Friendly staff & very accommodating. Would highly recommend, especially to people with mobility issues and need to use a wheelchair or scooter to get around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    8.8
    Ramla May 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walking through a construction site to get transport. There was also no ATM in the hotel which was missed.

    The sandy beach by the hotel was excellent. Layout of the hotel was lovely. Transport was close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It has his own beaches, but there are a lot of boats and you can't swim properly. It is noisy this period, cause there are constraction works around. The resort is excellent, but around the hotel there is nothing.

    The hotel is very far from the cities, which is great. The cities are crowded and if you want to relax you need a place like this.The staff is very polite, the food is excellent. There are also restorants in the resort, so you can eat something else if you want. The pools are excellent. There are music in the evenings and you can't be bored there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    8.3
    A relaxing stay in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff - a couple of the staff at the Horizon restaurant were very rude and abrupt which was a shock as everyone else was so nice! Maybe they were just having a bad day... Facilities - the steam room in the spa was out of order for the full duration of our stay which was a shame. Room service process was not clear. Location - the resort is in a rather secluded location between Mellieħa and Cirkewwa, and whilst it was very peaceful due to this, there were limited local amenities. Entertainment - evening entertainment in the bar was dated and cheesy, also the volume was far too loud!!! Rooms - water pressure of shower in the bathroom was very low, also water kept going between freezing cold and boiling hot. Safe in room provided at extra charge but majority of other 4 star hotels would offer this for free.

    Staff - in general staff were very kind and helpful. In particular, the staff at the SeaBreeze restaurant by the pools were attentive and friendly and as a result we dined there several times during our stay! Facilities - two large outdoor saltwater pools and easy access to swim in the sea from deeper water or from the sandy beach (beware of jellyfish though!). The spa also has a freshwater indoor pool which was empty most of the time during the day so perfect if you wanted a peaceful swim. The sauna and fitness room were also of good standard. Excellent boat trips to Comino and the Blue Lagoon are available on site. Location - the resort's secluded location on Malta's northern tip is ideal if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing escape. There is a bus stop (Ahrex) roughly a 10 minute walk from the hotel which you can catch a number of buses to many different towns on Malta, including the city of Valletta (2 hours bus travel is €1.50). The Gozo ferry at Cirkewwa is approx a 25 mins walk from the hotel. If you plan to explore to explore a lot of Malta using Ramla Bay Resort as your base, then you would be better off renting a car (Drifter car rental is based inside the hotel). Cats - the resort has a large number of cats that live on site - as cat lovers we found this amazing as they were all so cute and well cared for! I could see that some other guests weren't as pleased about them as were were though... Overall, we had a fantastic stay at Ramla Bay Resort. Despite ongoing building works on the hotel's new extension and another new hotel across the bay, there was little disruption or noise caused. The cost of the booking was great value for money, as were the restaurant/bars on site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.6
    Great time spent :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access to the property from the bus stop is through a bit of a construction site. Also, the access from the main road into the front reception desk is a bit of a dirt road and dark. However, the hotel itself is great and the bus stop is only 5 mins walk and you can get a bus to Valletta, Buggiba and other cities including the airport from it. Also, the Gozo ferry terminal is only a 20 minute walk from the hotel which can also be seen from there :)

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    8.3
    1 week sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillow was not the best for me. Some room is under renovation what caused some noise. In Malta you should drive in the left side.

    Good and wide range of breakfast, to rent a speedboat is easy there. Sunshine all day.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Ramla Bay Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: