Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Roma Hotel 3 stars

Ghar Il - Lembi Street, SLM 1562 Sliema, Malta

#24 of 31 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 658 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    3.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    More than a hostel but less than a hotel :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is poor and same every day, room is very old fashioned, lift not worked during our last 2 days ( we were at the 6th floor).

    Balcony with sea view, very good location near the center and the beaches. Big room and good air condition in the room for free.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Location, has a lift which could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Whole place needs revamping. So outdated. Book your own taxi, SCAM by African assistant, he pretended to call a cab. Dirty car arrived, not a taxi as requested. Could be non smoking.

    Location, has a lift which could be improved.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable & suited my purpose.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was small & basic but it worked. Only a shower curtain no cubicle.

    It was a convenient low cost hotel to serve my purpose.There was a kettle but a few tea bags or coffee sachets would be useful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    If somewhere else is available, go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Check in staff abrupt to almost rude. AC remote and TV remote dispensed on checkin with 10Euro deposit. TV remote incorrect for TV in room; twice! Then not until next day. Floor in room become increasingly dirty until requested to be cleaned. Elevators had a 24 hour problem. Because of problem room maintenance started early morning. No matteress protectors so sheets slid during night.

    Location Nice balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    it was good stay in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soap and shampoo only for the 1st day. How the recepcionist said, after that you need it buy by yourself. Staff are nice people but not all aft them were experienced.

    Excellent location, large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    2.9
    I will never go back and recommend every body to stay away from ROMA hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Roma hotel is the worst hotel I ever stayed. The wardrobe had hangers collected from the dry cleaners. The mini refrigerator had a door stuck closed because of rust. Could not be used. The bed mattress was very uncomfortable because the spring were sticking up. The pillows were of cheap quality and very uncomfortable. They did not have a wifi. They told me next time to read more careful the ads of the hotel. The receptionist was very rude and told me “if you need better service choose a more expensive hotel”. The breakfast was as minimum as possible. Bread, butter, marmalade and slices of cheese and salami. THIS HOTEL MUST BE REMOVED FROM YOUR SITE. You must evaluate the hotels before you offer them to the customers through your site. I can provide pictures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Low priced hotel - OK for transit, not for longer stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress was really old and knotty, not very comfortable. The breakfast had very few choices and the quality of the coffee could have been better.

    The hotel had a good location and the price per room was appropriate considering the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    The room (no sea view) exceeded the expectations in relation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Relatively dark room (but I did not come to stay in the room only), mattresses slightly uncomfortable, poor sound insulation, breakfast arrangements

    The room (no sea view) exceeded the expectations in relation to the opinions of other visitors. First excellent location with public transportation links with the main points of visit from the island (very important traffic is almost infernal everywhere!). Basic but decent hotel with excellent value for money. Very clean, daily cleaning and changing towels. Basic but sufficient breakfast - only prepacked products. For dinner I recommend the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. I recommend families and people who want to visit the island - many points of interest and very interesting. For those interested only in comfort and hotel a luxury hotel would be more appropriate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Definitely only room to be booked should be with view. I made a mistake and booked non-sea view room. The no-sea-view room was next to the tiny inner shaft (tube) 2x2 meters - window was opposite to close wall, and curtains must be on all the time, because neighboring rooms next to it - no privacy what's so ever. Room needed renovation years ago, door was banging with wind turbulence in corridor. Breakfast was ok but coffee was lousy.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was a bit dated and shower on our room had a curtain whereby having a shower every single time water covered floor in whole bathroom.

    Continental breakfast, however were missing some fruits and crossants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.2
    Rude woman there
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist (a brunete woman) was soooo rude!! As well the woman in the breakfast (with gray hair). A lot of noise in the morning. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone!! Ugly rooms and smely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never seen a Hotel as bad as this! It was very ugly. My room was dark, the bed not comfortable, in the shower hot water didn't work. It was a very terrible experience. I left the hotel early.

    The position of the Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    On the room AC heater, and serving WIFI need to be paid.

    Breakfast is good. Location is convenience. Staffs are friendly. The lobby has a balcony to view the blue sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen barely fitted the beds and found myself in a mess with them during the night. Don't like shower curtains but I suppose they are cheap alternative.

    Had expected a room with a view. Had to pay extra for that on arrival. It was worth paying the €40. Breakfast was a disappointment. Limited choice and no change over the 4 days. Coffee was good. Location was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Hotel and room a bit worn out, however as a base to see the city very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room was a family room and i think they all face into the court yard. Also the window was very small so room dark and needed light on all of the time. Best rooms are the ones facing the (front) sea.

    The location was very handy for the ferry services over to Valletta. From the breakfast room there was a good view of the sea. It was very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    EXCELLENT POSITION, for the tree I was hoping better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room n. 64 very noisy at night, the TV with only 5 channels, breakfast NOT suitable for Italians, only cookies, NO cappuccino, NO espresso, only with VERY BAD coffee machine, only cheese mortadella for English etc. , excellent staff acceptance, NO good breakfast staff.

    La posizione.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    enjoyed seeing the i
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    excellent location with easy access to public transport and local shops , we were lucky to have a balcony with sea view and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    I appreciate the fact that the owner employed some personnel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit more variety for the breakfast. It was the same every single day. There was not free wi.fi in the room.

    I appreciate the fact that the owner employed some personnel with disabilities and retired people. This will definitely make me return. Well done to the owner! At check in I payed a bit less. The receptionist told us that the tax for the city was calculated wrong and we payed less. On the last day, my son forgot his pajamas under the pillow and the cleaning lady brought it to my friends' room. All personnel was extremely honest and kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Great welcome at 1.30am
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have smiled at breakfast like the night porter who was great.

    Welcomed at 1.30am. Very clean and perfect for an overnight stay before our onward journey

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    If you need just location go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot water is one time a day - after 7 PM.. I've explicitly booked room with double bed but from the hotel didn't provided it and we were forced to line up the beds in order to have at least something that looks good

    The location was superb

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff, plenty to eat for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better layout for breakfast would have helped

    Breakfast was plentiful (just really badly laid out, if there were two other people wanting breakfast, then it was impossible to get any). Coffee good, cheese and meat selection good. Staff great and friendly. Room was spacious. Hot water plentiful, but a mixer tap would have avoided the "too hot, too cold scenario". We booked late so got a room at the back with no view, but it was quiet and no complaints. It's a shame the wifi is paid for in the rooms, but it worked for free in the breakfast area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, basic but the prices reflect this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been comfier, and some extra pillows would have been nice.

    Ideal location, close to bus stops, cafes, supermarkets, a short walk into centre of Sliema. The view of the harbour from our balcony was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Rosa. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels left everyday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Clean & safe in Sliema
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was pretty dark with a window that faced into a central shaft. Also cold. I could have paid deposit for air con/heater controller but hate air con so didn’t bother. There was only paid WiFi in rooms. None of these things were deal breakers but you asked what I did not like.

    Friendly helpful staff and an excellent location for access to the bus and ferry to/from Valetta or airport. Lots of eateries nearby and a very good restaurant below the hotel (also called the Roma but not connected businesses). Breakfast was adequate and there was plenty available. Room and hotel was clean and felt safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Except one person the staff was very nice, they also answer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff was very unfriendly for breakfast, there was no enough food. There was no hairdryer.

    Except one person the staff was very nice, they also answer our questions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Over all good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't give the remote control for air conditioner and tv at the first time we arrived. We had to ask and give the 10 euro deposit for the remote controls.

    The location is good. Close to the bus stop, easy to reach and close to the shops. The room was clean and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant budget hotel with nice rooms and a very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from my room (at the back) was not great... But who cares if you mostly sleep in the room.

    The location is perfect. Very close to a bus stop. The staff is very helpful. My room (number54) was spacious and with a nice bathroom. The room was dark with the lights off, and everything worked. Tiles on the floor for easy cleaning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    Fine for one night in desperation, even for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor, my window looked straight into someone else's room. Breakfast was absolutely horrible, ham, salami and processed cheese, concentrated sweetened juice. Rather don't offer breakfast.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent - right next to the sea to go for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building is old and the room was basic. We had a tiny window from which you could only see the neighbouring building No free WiFi Breakfast was OK but there is no variety - cereal, bread, butter, marmalade, cheese and ham with coffee, tea, milk and juice

    The location is excellent - right next to the sea to go for a walk, bus station in front of the hotel, couple of big markets nearby and Sliema ferries are a 5 minute walk away The staff was always ready to help with information and provide hairdryer and adapter for chargers Room was cleaned daily and clean towels were provided

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel wirh good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was little dull. Some vegetables would solve this problem.

    Veery friendly staff and clean rooms. We checked-in about 24.00 without a problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.3
    I didn't face any problem with printing out my boarding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor and the staff was busy with watching television so loud that I got a headache. The coffee - very poor. You have to be aware that the hotel is very old and not convenient. Even if its clean in the room it doesn't look nice anyway. But for this money is still quite ok...

    I didn't face any problem with printing out my boarding card - very nice of you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay as always at the Roma Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    I've been using this hotel for several years. I used to live in Malta so don't need a 4* with all its facilities and agents for trips. I need a clean, central, safe hotel where I feel at home. The staff are wonderful...so friendly...so efficient. Amazing sea view from the breakfast room and some of the rooms at the front of the building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Interesting vacantion in Malta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Should have WiFi, better breakfast and the hot water should have a better pressure. On the 7th floor hot water was running after a while.

    Although not fancy hotel, it was clean, furniture pretty good and has a great location. Room was big. Bus stop it is near by, even sightseeing bus has a stop there. Close to the bus stop I saw a bicycles sharing station. Didn't use it because it happened to be kind of rainy days. Also ferry for Valletta is not faraway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Beddings extremely uncomfortable and smells bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How much you pay, how many you take! (Ne kadar ekmek o kadar köfte) The worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life! The beddings extremely uncomfortable! They want extra 10 Euro for remote controls as a deposit! My advise: Give some money and stay a good hotel!

    The breakfast is not bad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free wifi works only at the reception/kitchen and on the stairs. Some amenities (safe box, AC remote control) are provided only upon deposit. No hairdryer. Furniture looks outdated. --- Бясплатны Wi-Fi працуе толькі на стойцы рэгістрацыі, кухні і на лесвіцы/калідоры. Некаторыя паслугі (сейф, пульт дыстанцыйнага кіравання на кандыцыянер) прадастаўляюцца толькі за дэпазіт. Зусім не было фена. Састарэлая мэбля.

    I liked the location - just across the promenade where you can go for a walk or even for jogging. Bus stop is around the corner and is also quite easy to get to ferry. Nice and friendly staff. Breakfast is a pretty standard for this price (cereal, toasts, several sorts of ham, cheese, butter, jelly jam, milk/juice, tea/coffee). --- Спадабалася размяшчэнне - прама насупраць набярэжнай, куды вы можаце пайсці на шпацыр або нават на прабежку. Аўтобусны прыпынак знаходзіцца амаль за вуглом, да парома таксама дабрацца даволі лёгка (пешшу каля 10 хвілін). Прыемны і прыязны персанал. Сняданак даволі стандартны за гэты кошт (збожжавыя колцы, тосты, некалькі гатункаў вяндліны, сыру, сметанковага масла, жэле, сочыва, малако/сок, гарбата/кава).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.3
    Not recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed at many hotels across the whole Europe, but this was one of the worst I've ever been. The lift was not in a good condition. The breakfast which was served in the morning - it is really difficult to say that it was a breakfast at all. The deposit for remote for TV?! That's an absurd! Really cold at night in the room on 8th floor. An air conditioning wasn't worked. A huge problem with hot water in the morning. Not recommended at all!!!

    The only thing was good is a location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man (short hair, blonde) was very unfriendly. I had a friend who wanted visit me for couple of minutes and he didn't let him in being mean form me and him

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location and friendly staff but that's it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both beds in the room were the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept in and I travel frequently. The mattress was so thin and springs bulging out. So didn't sleep well. Also no balcony or even view from window, we kept curtains closed as it was such a horrible view.

    The location was good, the restaurant underneath the hotel was good, the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location close to everything, staff are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would describe as a hostel instead of hotel, due this it was expensive and very basic facilities.

    Good location close to everything, staff are friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if they provided tea and coffee in the room especially if you arrive late in the evening

    View from balcony was excellent, despite the fact the surroundings were noisy once the balcony door was closed it was quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no plug type C plug around the room so we used the shaver plug inside the toilet or you better bring an adaptor.

    The hotel is accessible,?I like the airconditioning & shower, friendly staffs!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    The localization is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The weakest point of this hotel is breakfast. You have only: a bread, salami, cheese and cereals. Without vegetables, fruits and nothing warm for example scrabbled eggs or sausages. Everyday the same. We bought vegetables and jogurts ourselves in the market and we coped with that.

    The localization is perfect. Close to the sea, close to the harbor from all cruises starts. Good comunication with airport ( the bus station is close to the hotel), personel was kind, room was cleaned every day, air conditioning worked without any problems. On ground floor of the building there is one of the best restaurant (la Roma) in this area for sure. I recomend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    3.3
    It must be the last choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff, the bad smell of room and stairs, problematic elevator (just one elevator and just for two person), dissonance between the photos and the real view of rooms and panorama (most of the rooms are on the back side and look to the back windows of the other buldings) and price

    just location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Very central, nice place witht good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there wasn't a real duvet just a bed-cover , but in May it was enough at the end

    We had a nice breakfast, a room with perfect view. It's a simple accomodation with everything we needed. Staff was really helpful:) Well worths a visit!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.7
    Good location for ferries to Valletta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular just what you expect from a low budget hotel in a very busy tourist city.

    Convenient location, budget price, all perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Not 3 stars property, but clean and good location. And cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not 3 stars property. I stayed in Frankfurt's 3 star hotel and it was one-two steps up from that one. This hotel is in par with cheap American hotels.

    Location, clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good value hotel for budget trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good value for a very low price. Friendly staff, good location on waterfront and close to the Sliema-Valletta ferry. No issues at all. For that price, we were very happy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Basic hotel, helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water the first day, I had to call from my mobile the reception to fix it (The reception gentleman was indeed very helpfull). The phone from my room was not working, I couldn't call the reception from there. The breakfast was extremely poor. Some cakes or croissants would be nice.

    Location is great! Just few meters away from the bus stop, many busses to Valeta and other places. The bus from the airport also stops there. The staff was polite and very helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.9
    Location is perfect, stuff is extremly helpful and kind:-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no free wifi, not even in the lobby - you have to buy an expensive card to have some access or go to a coffee or bar.

    Location is perfect, stuff is extremly helpful and kind:-)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view rooms will have to put up with the building work going on outside the hotel.

    Great budget hotel. Only spent 3 nights there and did not use any of the facilities. Really good restaurant on the ground floor, not sure if it is linked to the hotel but nice place to eat. Public transport only a minutes work away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.1
    Good value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid wi-fi is a minus and construction area is near the hotel so it is a bit noisy

    Location is great, bus stop is in front of the hotel, room was every day cleaned up

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    BIG TERRACE, WITH SEAVIEW. HELPFUL STAFF. GREAT LOCATION,CLOSE TO EVERYTHING IN SLIEMA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    NO FREE WIFI. ROOM COULD BE ENHANCED BY UPDATING DECOR, BUT OVERALL, HAD A VERY COMFORABLE STAY FOR THE PRICE.

    GOOD COLD BUFFET BREAKFAST - CEREALS, CHEESE, HAM'S, SALAMI'S, JUICE'S, COFFEE SELECTION. ROOM WAS ADEQUATELY COMFORTABLE, WITH TV, AC AND FRIDGE. THE BEST FEATURE WAS THE BIG TERRACE OVERLOOKING THE SEA, WITH CHAIRS AND SUN LOUNGERS. THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY, HELPFUL AND ACCOMODATING. THERE IS A GOOD RESTAURANT ON THE GROUND FLOOR AND A BAR AT RECEPTION ON FIRST FLOOR, WITH A BALCONY. IT IS ONLY A FEW MINUTES WALK TO ALL AMENITIES IN SLIEMA, INCLUDING THE FERRY TO VALETTA AND BUSES EVERYWHERE. GOOD EXPERIENCE AND VERY GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE IN FEBUARY.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    4.2
    The view was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not really eatable. The rooms are humid. There is no Wifi. There was mold on the shower curtains. I guess for the price we cannot expect high standards but there are basics.

    The view was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap and shower gel should be added every day,if its missing.Im really easy going guest but last day I dint have shower gel,which isn't a big deal but for someone else might be

    Great location and good value for the money.The stuff was very kind and whole stay was pleasant. My recommendations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    Good location and cheap, but rooms may be cold and you have to pay for the TV!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very cold - the air conditioning unit didn't seem to be working. There was a lot of light coming into the room under the door at night and there was an extra charge to use the TV.

    The staff were lovely and the location is excellent, especially given how cheap it was.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    Good location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit cold (January) but there was an electric heater, Wifi wasn't free but it was affordable

    Good location, nice and helpful staff, nice view from the dining area (during breakfast), bus stop was nearby

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.8
    Staff were all very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast is ok but would have liked fresh fruit and yoghurts as an alternative to cereal. the breakfast times were a little early 7.15 to 9.15 . Would have preferred 8am to 10 am to get a lie in.

    Staff were all very friendly. Hotel was clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.3
    The location of the hotel was super with the sea right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first main problem were the locks. The lock on the main door took a good 5 minutes to open and close which was time consuming and also was pointless as the lock was barely holding on. This was also the same case with the lock in the bathroom. The second main problem were the beds. As we would try to fall asleep, we would feel all the springs of the mattress in our backs which was not comfortable at all, and then came a nice whiff of cigarettes from the unwashed duvets, which was presumably kindly left from the last customer that used these duvets. One thing that I hugely disliked is that you had to pay for the lock to the safe, they could've at least given us that for free, seemingly that anyone could've walked into our room and taken anything.

    The location of the hotel was super with the sea right outside the door and all the shops close by which made it accessible for us to easily walk there. Although there were many negatives with the facilities in the hotel, the price was acceptable and you got what you payed for. The staff were a great help and the view at breakfast was stunning. Also we were super impressed with the marble floors.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.3
    great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower in our room was kinda flooded the whole toilet and we had to used all the towels to hold the water from going into the room.

    the breakfast was great, plenty variety and seriously the view from window left us speechless! the bus stop, restaurant and conveniece store just few steps away

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    3.3
    bad, really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all I would have a recommendation for booking.com... It would be really useful to be able to know if you are booking a room with balcony/view or not (since for some properties -like this one here- they are at the same price). And I would make a recommendation for the other travellers -> use expedia.com They have better rates for Malta, and you know exactly what you book. Also better to avoid Sliema area, as the comfort is really low, and for the same ammount of money you can chose a 4stars (like a real one) hotel, with good breakfast and everything in a different area. In any case Malta has good transport links so it is not so complicated to travel around. Back to this hotel> Obviously we didn't get a balcony room, although we have asked for it. The hotel apparently is a 3 stars one, unfortunately this dates back to 70s or so, as the comfort is really really basic. The rooms were furnished back in those times, and they stayed like that ever since. (including the matresses). We have booked a double room, but unfortunately the bed had something like 120cm widith... Apparently you have breakfast included... but it is served till 9.15.... And it only has ham, butter, cheese and jam. The personnel came only once to clean the room, while we were there, and unfortunately never returned afterwards (garbage stayed in the room, no clean towels). You will need to pay a deposit of 10 euros for having the remote control for the AC and Tv. Apparently you have "coffee making options" in the room -> which means only an old kettle. The reception personnel were ok-ish -> no smiles, no pleasant atitude though. Indeed the location is ok (repeat: if you really need to stay in Sliema). Otherwise with absolutely the same ammount you get better conditions elsewhere in Malta. Moneywise is really ok if you use the AC to the maximum possible (which I recommend, otherwise they get unjustified profit for what they offer).

    Location -good. Personnel- decent . Free AC

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.5
    Correct hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View on the firewall and the bathroom wasn't too clean. On winter the wind is very strong at this place. On summer it's far from the beach.

    The hotel is close to many bus stops and located on the seaside. In summer it will be a nice place. The staff is nice. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free wifi. Average breakfast, but since the price is that cheap, it is more than ok!

    Excellent location in Sliema. Very polite staff. Next to the bus station to the airport, Valletta and Mdina. They cleaned the room daily. Great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.7
    If they improve the cleanliness they will become the PERFECT choice for a budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleanliness is something that should be improved, especially the towels

    excellant location. The staff at the reception was creat, very helpful and polite, they make us feel like old friends :) very good value for money...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.3
    Perfect location, staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is old, and the view was terrible, inside on other walls and window. But I'm sure some other rooms have beautiful view on the sea. The breakfast was terrible as well, nothing good.

    Perfect location, staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    Good choice for your budget sake in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole style is a little bit crude and the bed is not cozy enough.

    Breakfast is good, location also. Near to sea and main bus stop and also ferry. You can easily find decent restaurant & bar & bakery nearby. They have adapter and A/C but you need to ask the reception.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    The location was good, right on the waterfront of Sliema,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself looks a bit shabby with old style elevator (although still functional) and room facilities. The breakfast was a disappointment as except for milk and cereals all other options were low quality food (vegetable spread instead of butter, instant coffee, orange juice from powder, processed cheese, etc).

    The location was good, right on the waterfront of Sliema, close to bus stations in both directions. The price was very convenient (even if we did not receive a room with a sea view). Reception open 24 h was a plus. The room was clean and tidied once during our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    We love Malta.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower was very old with a shower curtain that stuck to you when showered!

    Great location for bars and restaurants. Walking around the bay to St Julian's or even Valletta is a must, amazing views. If you love sushi you must try MedAsia.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Roma hotel SIMPLY THE BEST :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was just the best! I reccomend Roma Hotel for everybody!

    1. Big balcony and view 2. Everyday room cleaning service 3. Very helpful staff 4. Great and well tasted breakfasts (e.g. 4 sorts of bread, caffe machine, juice machine!) 5. Good location (buses, shops, disco's etc.) 6. Elegant restaurant with traditional Maltese food on the right of entrance to the hotel 7. 24 hrs available bar

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.9
    Basic but good hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi. First day there was a smell of cigarettes.

    Good location, close to busstops to airport or Valetta. Also easy to take the ferry. Breakfast was good. Rooms look old but have everything you need. Resto at the groundfloor has good food. Basic hotel, ideal for a city trip.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    You get more than you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift malfunctioned too often and the breakfast could be more varied

    Comfortable clean rooms and really friendly welcoming staff. British TV on two channels

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic rooms

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Location is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast everyday. No toiletries like shampoo from second day.

    Location is good .beachfront Nice view and lots of food in resto

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds very unconfortable. lift not working. rooms need some maintenaince.

    good position. friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position, very clean and the staff was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, friendly staff. We were lucky to get room with balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is good, there is a bus station outside and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells not so good. Also the towels.

    The location is good, there is a bus station outside and there are a lot of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Roma Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: