Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solana Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Gorg Borg Olivier Street, MLH 1025 Mellieħa, Malta

#8 of 10 hotels in Mellieħa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 595 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.8
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No indoor pool and spa as advertised. Room upgraded to junior sweet, obviously, paid extra, while room was comfortable and spacious, it had a very bad smell. For all it's worth it is a bit on expensive side, taking into consideration what was advertised.

    Staff was awesome and very helpful while food is great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.6
    Never going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unconsiderate staff, kids running riot around the establishment, the old friendly faces from previous had all gone, the new rooms (surcharged) would have failed planning regulation anywhere else. This became wildly apparent when we had a storm and the room was flooded....TWICE over two days. On the second, And following complaint we were left to our own devices.

    Have stayed here before, however we missed last year. On arriving this year it was obvious that more building and changes have happened. Sadly, as time revealed not for the better. Not sure if changed ownership or what, but standards havE slipped dramatically. This has gone from the family friendly feel to corporate rip off badly executed and we will not be returning.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Hi,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hi, The room it was clean, the staff of the hotel is nice. Hotel is in the middle of the city, very close to the bus stations and restaurants. One single point about comfort. The sound of the unclosed door is very annoying. The door is closing very hard and you can hear the sound from other doors also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very welcoming, food and drink service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower never had hot water and unfortunately the spa facilities were under construction when I stayed. It was nice that they gave the option to go to their sister hotel to use their spa, but I wish they had made that information clear before I booked.

    The staff were very welcoming, food and drink service was great (including room service) and the hotel in general is very well kept. The hotel wasn't rowdy or overcrowded (perhaps because of the time of year) which was great for the leisurely holiday I wanted. The rooftop pool and bar is a beautiful option if you're not a fan of the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We arrived with a 1 year old baby and I had to ask for a baby cot 3 times (1 by email and 2 personally) before we finally got one at 9 PM. There was a lot of ants on the floor in our room, this was partly our fault as we had a lot of food in the room, but anyway it seemed the cleaning staff absolutely ignored those ants.

    Nice hotel and room, overall everything was okay. The staff is helpful, nice rooftop pools and bar...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Clean modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike as such but it is on a very steep hill and is a mile or so to the beach at the bottom. There are very regular buses though if you find it difficult.

    Well maintained with very friendly helpful staff. Lovely roof top pool area with nice bar and food. Directly on many bus routes so travel around the island is easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water flow in showers, room was far from main reception /building. There are a few areas on the top floor pool area that should have guards or grills over them to prevent falls and accidents.

    Staff, refurbished hotel, location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There is no spa, it's a scam naming a hotel something & spa where the actual spa is in another sister hotel, imagine going for a relaxing massage and afterwards hiking up the hill being all sweaty, great 2. A lot of teenagers camps, either you want to be a hotel or a student dorm, imagine crowd of smelly teenagers waiting for pancakes and you as one in the que, perfect start of the day. It was almost impossible to get something to eat without a wait, which is pretty irritating, if you can't handle that many people at once, don't accept large groups of people. 3. Coffee at the breakfast ist just not drinkable, I haven't had something more terrible than that in years, the same about fake juices, there was a lot to chose from but nothing especially tasty, the warm food, for example the English breakfast was cold... The service with cutlery is also not working, I had to constantly ask the staff about it, it could be just somewhere to grab, just like the plates, easy... 4. The pool is a bit of a joke, especially that in the pictures it looks rather spacious, and the drinks at the pool served in plastic cups (classy) and are small 5. The bathroom is build in a wrong way (and I'm an architect, so I know how you do this), instead of having a slope in order to let the water flow into the drainage it just flew everywhere all over the bathroom and going out of control..... and if not a slope then do a normal shower! So the bathroom was flooded all the time until the service came and cleaned it up. 6. What just drove me crazy, the cleaning service was CONSTANTLY closing our suitcase and as you can imagine it wasn't just lying on the floor without the reason. And after closing it every fu***** time everything in there was a mess, so every time I was organizing it and the next day THE SAME, until I wrote a card to leave it as it is.

    Very nice stuff, at the reception, the restaurants. Nice lounge bar woth decent coffee (but still not the best, but somehow the coffee served at Malta is a bit strange) and good food at the Tosca restaurant. Right next to the hotel there is a bus stop, which was very practical. Nice size balcony to sit and chill... And of course it was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent experience and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was a problem. Ekaterina especially helpful on arrival offering room upgrade and providing essential information to make our stay even more enjoyable. Hotel is very clean and the food is really nice. Room very spacious with good tea/coffee making facilities. Location of hotel a bit far from main cities but public transport is good and hotel transfers are available. Lots of restaurants near the hotel however. Overall an excellent experience with Solana, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. The recent refurb has been done to a really high standard. The staff were beyond friendly and genuinely polite and nice. None of that fake crap. The pool upstairs is definitely the highlight. Wasn’t overly crowded ever. Beds were very comfortable and I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The room was fantastic and clean. The breakfast had a wide range of food available which was of great quality. The reception staff were friendly and always ready to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    The swimmingpool on the rooftop is very beautiful, as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to change our towels a couple of times but when we notified it to the staff they brought new ones quick

    The swimmingpool on the rooftop is very beautiful, as well as the reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant enough stay, enjoyed being in Melliah in festival week, second week not enough to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The hotel is advertised as having an indoor pool and gym but this is getting refurbished so have to use the sister hotel the Pergola which is not as nice, clean or tidy. This was inconvenient, simply because it was in another hotel.

    The hotel itself had recently been refurbished but some of the furniture in the bedrooms looked a little tired. The bathroom/shower could have done with stand to place your shampoo on as you had to leave on the floor of the shower area, so if you couldn't bend down it was difficult to get your washing things. The hotel was cleaned on regular basis and the cleaners were very thorough and made sure it was cleaned every day. Although the hotel is near a bus stop, good luck in actually getting one to stop as they are usually full. This is a problem all over the island I believe because Malta doesn't have any other public transport. They do have a night bus that ran (although we didn't use it) the night bus only ran to/from certain places. Otherwise buses stopped around 10.50pm, think this could be improved.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Solana was very modern with excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not good for us as they were too hard

    Staff were fabulous especially Katriana on reception Thomas at the bar and Ijan at the Tosca restaurant all who provided excellent customer service and helped us in different ways.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff excellent, very helpfull, good service of breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms needs upgrading and was dirty. The pool bar is too expensive, I can buy a bottle and a half of kinnie from a grocer nearby with the same price of a glass of kinnie. It's ridiculously expensive €2.25 for a glass of kinnie.

    Staff excellent, very helpfull, good service of breakfast and good view from the pool I liked it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping a bit variable not alway attention to detail e.g. cups not always washed, cleaning of bathroom. Some ongoing construction work - minimal disruption.

    Lovely hotel, staff & pool, beds comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Quite good
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was quite polite and friendly. We had to wait for a room for an hour and they offered more expensive room with a bigger balcony but we refused. The room was clean and modern. The most dissapointed thing there was no water in bathroom the last day morning. The staff didnt offer anything else but to wait. Unfortunately we had to hurry to an airport. Noone apologised for this inconvinience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Not as described
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is a 25min walk down a steep hill, not 10min walk as advertised. And the walk back up hill is gruelling in the heat. Also there’s no spa or indoor pool at the hotel, we booked a massage only to be told to go for to a sister hotel which was a 10min walk away. False information provided in the description.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Very well presented hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Check in process needs updating to make it more efficient. Check out at 11:00 but rooms only available at 15:00 for everyone waiting. I m sure some rooms were available earlier but were never given out until 15:00 2. Temperamental hot and cold water in shower 3. Twice we asked for an extra towel by phoning the reception. The first time it was delivered about 30 min later. The second time, never... 4. After hundreds of stays in hotels, for the first time a member of the cleaning staff knocked on our room door to tell us that it was time for check out. The only issue was that it was not. Not to mention the 4 hrs difference between check in and check out. Not very professional, but have to say that this was the exception. 5. No parking but easy parking on the small roads around hotel. Not sure though if this is ok during high season

    Very well presented hotel Clean and spacious room Good wifi in room Helpful staff in the reception

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    No spa building work and under staffed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work Under staffed Staff unhelpful Busy road straight into entrance Not very child friendly

    It was fairly clean but building dust in main areas

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful hotel, could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to move rooms three times to find one that was satisfactory in terms of the view. The first one had a view of a wall. The indoor pool and spa were not completed at the time of our visit and the cleaning of the room was not up to standard. There were only 5 hangers in the wardrobe and the pillows were very hard, we were provided with additional hangers and softer pillows on request. There is a no smoking policy on the balcony which was unusual and slightly annoying and the sun beds were extremely limited for the size of the hotel.

    The hotel is beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good although we only ate in the hotel once. The design of the hotel is of a high standard. The location is ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    All good, nice staff, nice room, nice pool, clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a great room in the adjacent building on level 5 that you need to access by the -2 level. The pool being on the 7th of the other building and the entrance on the ground floor, I'll let you imagine the time spent on elevators, not a big deal tho.

    All good, nice staff, nice room, nice pool, clean ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area needs more organisation. Hotel has 2 joint buildings and had to take two elevators from room to other areas like reception and pool. Elevators were quite busy.

    Spacious room and bathroom. Very clean even though works still in progress. Good selection at breakfast. Very relaxing roof pool area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, modern and extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of public transport from the beach to the hotel (buses are not frequent and always full). A dedicated shuttle service organized by the hotel would have been perfect.

    Great hotel, modern and extremely comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful (special thanks to Ana who has a professional and customer oriented approach). I would definitely recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Good clean hotel with friendly staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I particularly enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning with cold meats and cheese to freshly baked bread and the hot buffet sausages, bacon, eggs etc. the friendliness of the staff was also a big plus and nothing was too much trouble for them. A big thank you to Ana at the reception who was a font of knowledge and always eager to help. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Room was superb ☺️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony was very small. Not a great selection of food offered. WiFi was always down and needed to be reconnected each time. Was offered an upgrade for a better view from our balcony when we arrived however it was for an additional €100 for 9 nights which is a lie as each room has a basic view, staff offered a sea view but the could not be seen from any rooms.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. Location was great. Rooftop pool was stunning. Was concerned about the construction works, however we were not disturbed at all. Majority of the staff was were welcoming. Suitable for both families and couples, overall really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    The main location was great, easily accessible and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a broken down fridge upon arrival. It took 3 days for maintenance to change it, and we needed to safekeep medicine. We never received the Spa menu despite asking 3 times. Restaurant staff asks 5 times for your room number. Fitness is in a separate building. Beach towels are paid. There is no hair dryer in the room. Airco is very loud, low standard for a 4 star hotel.

    The main location was great, easily accessible and central.breakfast was diverse and well prepared. Bathroom had rain shower and a small balcony. Compensation of one cheap local wine bottle for the broken down fridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Rooms are very cleen and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    in the description of the hotel on booking it is said that it is situated right next to the beach, but the distance is quite large, a hill has to be lowered and you are about 15-20 minutes.

    Rooms are very cleen and confortable. View from the rooftop pool is amazing and breakfast was very good and rich. The hotel is recently renovated, very modern and it have 3 restaurant inside, one of that is on the rooftop pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Clean new premises with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa/pool is in a secondary hotel the Pergola however when we went the jacuzzi was cold, sauna not on and there was a kid jumping around in the supposedly relaxing indoor pool. However, Solana is currently building their own facilities so hopefully this will alleviate this.

    Staff were friendly and gave advice about good places to see. The rooftop pool had incredible views and the food menu for lunch was fantastic. Room was was great and the cleaning staff efficient yet unobtrusive. They were doing some building works in the hallway that connects the front building with the back building but these did not disturb us at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    2.5
    The room didnt was how we expected for the 1249 euro we paid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didnt was how we expected for the 1249 euro we paid for 6 days!Dust everywhere,they were still working inside the hotel, a lot of noise from the workers.nothing is organize the breakfast buffet was like a soup kitchen! The hotel is not yet a 4 stars! We ask for out money back in order to leave and they made us to wait 4 h in the lobby to receive a room that worth 600 euro per 6 days so yeahh thumbs down! Never in our lives will go there again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable but I would recommend anyone booking this hotel to ask for a room in the main building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room not being in the main building which meant having to use an access route situated on the floor below to reach the reception area, dining room and pool area.

    Great choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Priceyyyy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smells horrible, eversince we checked in until we checked out it smells really bad. The buffet breakfast and dinner is bad as well its not worth the money, it tastes bad and there are just a few choices to eat. I think there are cafes and restaurants nearby the hotel that is good and have a decent food that is worth the money.

    Location and big room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.2
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel is very dusty and nowhere near complete. Upon arrival (around 4 pm), we had to wait for around 30 minutes for our room to be ready. There were works being carried out in the floor above our room, and one day, returning from a day trip, we noticed that there was excess rubble on our balcony! (which was cleaned the following day) There was an alarm that went off at 10.30pm and again at around 8 am. Additionally, the work that was being carried out began at around 7.40am each day - so no relaxing lie ins for our holiday. I feel that the hotel should be pre-warning people of the extent that still needs to be done.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Noisy, dusty, workmen allowed to let themselves in our room and move things, disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were asked if we would like an upgraded room for 80€, which I agreed. It was definitely a major downgrade in a new part of the hotel. Dusty workmen were everywhere, drilling and banging and leaving their dust everywhere- no siesta’s possible, one day we found a very dusty workman in our bedroom, he had moved our belongings and stripped our beds! He explained he was taking our beds and replacing them with a double which was already on our balcony covered in dusty plastic. A second workmand had been in our room also. When I called reception and eventually got hold of the manager I learnt that these workman were not employed by the hotel and were subcontracters. Not only could our belongings been stolen but we could have been in the room undressed or in the shower when these people entered. How can a hotel allow this to happen. Our balcony was covered in dust and a crane carrying building material was whizzing past regularly, so not possible to fully enjoy the peace and beautiful view. Our upgraded and very large balcony only had two cheap little chairs and a tiny wine table, certainly no sun chairs. For three days I tried to speak to a manager and was fobbed off when I asked for the upgrade of 80€ returned. My request for a different room ignored. I did receive a bottle of wine and some fruit from housekeeping as an apology but feel this was not enough to reflect the experience. On my exit from the hotel and my final try a receptionist spoke on the phone with a manager who agreed to return €40. No apology and certainly not enough. Part of this hotel in not completed and they are booking in guests knowing this. This is the first time I have ever left a negative review. Don’t stay in this hotel at least until this building work is complete. You will see from my photos how we found our room on return, how the corridors had beds dumped everywhere and even on our balcony and the dust shown in the lift.

    Malta is a beautiful country and it’s people very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn't like.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and were able to answer all of my questions and help with booking a taxi etc. I stayed in a studio room which was surprisingly spacious and had a kitchenette which is small but good enough if you wanted to make some breakfast in the morning. The pool is very nice and has great views across Malta! There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which was good especially as I arrived using a public bus. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.3
    Worst experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a wheelchair accessible room and after a change of 3 room the only accessible thing i got was that my chair could pass from the door!! This was after a long wait for the 3rd room to be ready so i could see if the chair fits....disgrace. no idea why it said wheelchair accessible when i couldnt even have a shower!! Apart from the construction that was being made in july! Because of this the hotel parking wasnt available and we had to park all the way down the street and come all that big narrow hill with the chair and a little toddler!! Worst experience ever after pergola!!

    The restaurant staff were friendly and polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Walk down the hill to the beach, get the bus back. I wouldn't like to stay for longer than a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar area virtually non-existent. Smells from ongoing construction work quite intrusive.

    Facilities within our room were very good, especially the mini "kitchenette". Food was plentiful and reasonably good quality, but suffered from the usual hotel problem of keeping hot food hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing - the hotel will be ok when finished, but really only 3 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding up when we arrived (removed by the time we left); hotel not finished;view of skips and workmen from our room;Sharp tile edges and corner on pool, crane hanging over pool; lots of unfinished bits around the hotel.Also had to pay for pool towels.Holes in tiles in bathroom where previous fixtures had been.Would have appreciated being told works were not complete and offered refund or compensation.

    Location - as expected. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many undone works still and under the construction. Housekeeping is doing their best but difficult to follow up all customer needs and customers should be aware of the situation before making the booking.

    Well situated in Mellieha; just next to bus stop. Surely great once when ready - when all the works have been finished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Comments about my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we had old doors " main door and bathroom door" that were not updated room 1203 also the furniture was not updated like the bed and walls. Further more both mixures of the sink and shower were broken.the shower had a missing handle from the mixer and the sink mixer had the cold and hot water taps which were inverted."from the cold hot water comes out and from the hot tap cold water comes out.

    Everything else was satisfactory!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    The food was really good, especially the breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know where to start...I’d like to specify that my previous job was in a huge 4star hotel in Rome city center as front desk assistant, so I think I know what I’m reviewing about. ROOM: -We booked, from what it looked like from the gallery here, a renovated superior double room with marble bathroom...well we didn’t get it. The bathroom was old, the sink was stuck so as from the first day we had to call twice the reception in order to get it fixed. -Really small balcony with plastic forniture which I wouldn’t expect from a 4stars just renovated hotel -Extremely HUMID, for the whole stay our clothes, towels and bed were almost wet - MINIBAR empty so get yourself some water and snacks before checking in HOTEL: First of all, we got our room in the new work in progress building, so to get EVERYWHERE (bar, restaurant, pool, reception) in the hotel it would take us forever. From the reception (main building level 0) we had to go to -2 level then walk through a long corridor where I almost fell, where you can smell and taste the renovation!! Dust, cement smell, dirty, and sometimes you could smell sewer! Then you reach the other building, and you have to get on another elevator and finally you can relax! Kind of...because every day an alarm went on, 7am, 3pm, 1am... In general the hotel is beautiful, modern design, but due to the still ongoing renovation is always dusty and humid. Moreover I couldn’t explain myself why...the inside temperature wasn’t the same everywhere so get prepared, you will feel cold somewhere and extremely hot somewhere else and again humid and sticky trough that corridor! I have to tell, they put much effort in keeping the hotel clean WELCOMING and STAYING: We didn’t feel at home, we didn’t feel welcomed and expect from one nice lady Ekaterina I think her name is, and the manager the other staff from the reception till the restaurant wasn’t nice. They ruined our first days.

    The food was really good, especially the breakfast buffet. (Bellini Restaurant) Rooftop pool with the bar and the friendly bartender Justin Ekaterina from the reception always nice and friendly ready to cheer you up!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Construction is in process
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists are not polite at all, with strange attitude. There is never "good morning /evening and etc" from receptionists (other stuff are great cleaning people, waiters). Check in from 3pm and check out at 11...we arrived at 9 am with a baby 7 month and we're hoping that the room will be ready a lit bit early (because after night flight baby was tired and etc) and there was a surprise that room is not ready even at 3pm!!! There is enough time from 11 for cleaning the room. And receptionist told us with a smile that room isn't ready and we will call you when it's done. Also, there's a construction at the hotel and there's no information at all from the hotel before reservation. Noise from construction from 7am every morning and during the day. Lots of contractors at the hotel, and very dirty because of construction and etc. There were ants at our room.

    Rooms are new, clean and huge. Personal at breakfast are great, thanks to them a lot. Breakfast is also great, one of the best. Good location, the best beach in Malta is down the road. The hotel will be great after construction is done. Do not recommend for now.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    The room was spacious and freshly renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a repair in the hotel, but this information was not provided by booking.com.

    The room was spacious and freshly renovated. The pool on the roof and the view is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    External signage poor and reception staff on telephone hopeless with directions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Believed the building work to be internal room decoration and have been finished. There are extensive building works. The hotel is dusty with brick dust despite constant cleaning and there is a crane hanging over your head at the pool. Not the relaxing "Spa" (non-existent) break we had envisaged.

    Roof top pool and bar area are a great addition to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Look more....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on a steep slope causing excessive traffic noise and pollution. Construction going on at the property. Kitchen in room is not practical to use.

    Reception area and check in.pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed with the state of the hotel and the refurbishment taking place - not alerted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a construction site. Scaffolding covering the entrance. Fire alarm went off most nights. Water dripped from air conditioning in one our rooms. Other room were dark, with balcony to lift shaft! The showers didn't have any shelving to place soaps and shampoos and the water leaked all over the E suite.The towels were small and too few. No mirror in bedroom. Fridge leaked inside.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    The Solana opinion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isn't next to the beach; it's under renovation, there is not hair dryer in the room. The infotmation on website isn't true.

    The room overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like location of the hotel because it was quite far from the sea, beach. We had to go by bus.

    The rooms were big and comfortable. We have enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, however is not yet completed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obvious flaws are obviously the fact that we came when the hotel was still under construction and therefore got awoken a few times in the mornings due to the noise. However I guess this wake up call wasn’t too bad as we needed to maximise our short stay of 5 days. Another minor flaw is the bed as it is 2 king singles pushed together and would constantly move apart. However these flaws were easily put aside as we had an amazing experience with Solana altogether.

    This hotel has huge potential, and will undoubtedly be the best in the area of Mellieha when finalised. We booked the “standard room with balcony” and were more than satisfied with what we got. The room is very spacious and modern with marble being the feature of the bathroom which was my personal favourite. The facilities are not yet finished, however the rooftop pool was completed upon our second last day there so we got to experience the amazing pool with breathtaking views. The balcony views are also lovely. Staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Completely dis-satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Solana hotel is under construction & most frustrating is the pictures shown in booking.com site is that of a different parent hotel (Pergola). There is no pool in this hotel, for which again we have to go to the parent hotel (5 mins walk). The rooms doesn't have a view and no sunlight coming. Overall completely dissatisfied and overpriced. I am relieved that I spent only 1 night here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff was positive and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get the double bed, but two single beds pushed together although it was asked in advance The hotel is still under construction as it is a new one, there's no visible sign of its name on the outside. Needed to wait 3h for the rooms to be ready for check in

    Staff was positive and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    Below expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solana hotel and spa.... there is not even a swimming pool or treatment area. Nothing. You need it? Go to another hotel 5 min. Walk. That is a hotel not a spa. Especialy now that you are in the middle of construction, the spa feeling is.... not existing!

    The staff was friendly. Unfortunatly the pictures online are a drawing and not in line with reality. The hallway is filled with construction guys. The big building crane is on one meter from the balcony bringing stones over your head. ugly vieuw from Balcony. The room is old and outdated. Not recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    It will be a lovely hotel when finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turning up to the hotel to be advised no swimming pool or spa as advertised. I would have been better off at a bed and breakfast and I would have got breakfast! I have paid a 4 star hotel price for a room. No facilities. No compensation. Manager was rude and woken up by builders at 7am local time. 6am English time! Awful.

    It will be a lovely hotel when finished

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Mellieha
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the building was under refurbishment. The hairdryer is on request and might not be always available. The rooftop pool is actually at the top of the sister hotel, 2 min walk from the main building.

    Very good position in the centre on Mellieha, close to bus stop and nice restaurants. The Deluxe suite is huge and spotless clean and has a great balcony with deckchairs. Staff is really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    2.9
    I would never ever make another booking at this hotel, they disrespect their guests!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the hotel is under reconstruction and no one informed us in advance. Only 1 restaurant was available out of 4 advertised, and they made us pay for some drinking water. Moreover, no pool, no gym (not like in the photos), but huge noises from 7am until 5pm, dust and dirt on the corridors, slippery floor. I had food poisoning because of their meal (we had half board), and they refused to take my claim. They told me to take legal actions. I had a “chance” to meet such an arrogant guy as the “hotel manager” who wanted to make us pay 80€ more for an upgraded room because our room was so noisy. After 2 days they re-located us into another part of the hotel complex, for free then. Moreover, they did not offer the opportunity to be accomodated somewhere else after facing our claim regarding the above mentioned circumstances. It should have been normal.

    The rooms are really comfy, look like in the photos.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    Staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the fact that no one advised before going there that the hotel will be doing some construction work. When we checked in, the foyer's floor was dirty. We had to wait 30 minutes before entering the room as it was not ready yet. We were informed that we could not use the pool facilities due to the construction. The receptionist said that we could use the Pergola's pool facilities. I booked with Solana, not Pergola and my intentions were to relax there for one night and not hassle around other hotels. With regards to our room it was not a green view as they wrote. It was a total disappointment.

    Staff was nice. Breakfast was better than the dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    A nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work going on in the gardens below the hotel (not the hotel garden until the last day) from early in the morning most of the week we were there which disturbed the peace & quiet.

    The rooms are big and spacious and spotless. The hotel is very handy to the local restaurants and shops. The hotel has friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable stay in Solana Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi is not in good condition at all, noisy Street just next to the hotel and rooms with balcony

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, clean room, swimmimg pool on the roof, nice restaurant in the hotel - you can order pizza to the room:),fitness area with swimmimg pool on -2 floor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Good staff, pity about the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Walls like paper- could hear everything happening next door. No blinds in my room so was always bright. Despite claims, it's not a spa; They have a jacuzzi and do facials, that's all. Facilities closed very early.

    Staff super friendly and helpful, rooms very clean, good location. Good breakfast and food. Good links to public transportation and handy for the Gozo ferry, Sliema and Buggiba. Regular buses to Valletta too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to say.

    The attitude of the staff was special. They were helpful and always ready with a smile. I have visited the Solana on a regular basis over the past twenty years and it always feels like going home. I can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have any view and the room felt a little outdated, but it was always clean and we didn’t spend much time in it anyway! If we would like to spend more time in the room I would have asked hotel for another room, I’m sure they would help, they were so nice! Also I suggest you take your own slippers and robe for the pool!

    It was a really nice stay at the hotel. Very welcoming staff! We enjoyed indoor swimming pool. Breakfast is good. The location is absolutely beautiful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    The best of best....well done for your great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot complain about anything.. Verygood service and customer service with a smile

    Apart from the excellent service, I asked a waiter to check if they still have a croissant left..and he said yes madam I 'll get u asap..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    OK clean and apt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I paid for the breakfast and dinner it was same price for adults as it was for a 5yrs old and 6 years old

    We were allowed to use the pool after our checkout time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance to the beach. Good 20 mins downhill walk to Mellieha beach.

    Very generous buffet breakfast, nice clean rooftop pool with plenty of sunloungers. Hotel was right opposite the bus stop. Comfy beds and spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel needs some furniture updates and small renovations to keep the 4 star hotel , everything else was good :)

    It was clean and nice and very very thoughtful hotel , they surprised us for my birthday with nice message and red vine , location is great near many supermarkets and restaurants , beach is very close , Popeye village is close too and you can take from the beach cruises to Comino island and other close sight seeing locations and we liked the stay :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Wishing to return to Solana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety box was out of price, yet you could get it with a small charge per day! I could wish this to be included...

    Everyone who books in Solana should include the dinner!! Simply amazing! Also, the receptionists were really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean hotel with great staff. However not the feel of a 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very messy, not great food offered. Digusting coffee machines and orange juice dispenser. No amenities products provided Not a 4 stars hotel feel

    Clean hotel Very pleasant and helpful staff Great restaurant as part of the hotel: Tosca restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast and SPA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No robe and bathroom shoes to go to the SPA, No cable connection to the computer internet no shampoo, conditioner toilet kit no shoe polish pad

    Breakfast and SPA

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice family hotel in Mellieha
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We wanted to have a room with a garden view, at the arrival it turned out that for this we need to pay extra. Still we were glad for such an opportunity even at additional price. Safe box in the room also required additional payment. As Genius member we had an opportunity for a late check out, afterall it turned out that it was not in the system, but we could agree with the staff at what time exacly we will leave. In high season they have strict planning for rooms, so if you have this late check-out, please, check with the hotel additionally if there was no mistake made and you all agree when exactly you are leaving.

    This is a nice hotel in Mellieha. We had a room with a view on the inner garden, which was nice. The room was big enough for a family of 3. Breakfasts are for additional payment, but were tasty, sort of English breakfast with eggs, bacon etc. Probably a bit the same every day, but everyone will find things for his/her taste (cheese, ham etc). The bus stop is just in front of the hotel which is perfect to travel. The beach can be reached in +/- 10min by bus, on foot will still be a bit far. The beach is nice with sand, you can rent umbrellas there etc. The staff was friendly and always eager to help. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    3 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Wifi was not working, I had to use 3G and the network coverage was poor 2. Breakfast is the same every day, not enough fruits and vegetables 3. Lacking of shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. There were 2 jars filled with something, but the cleaning staff said the others are extra... didn't see that coming at a 4 stars hotel. 4. Jacuzzi was not working and the water in the jacuzzi was cold

    - The rooms have kitchenette (you have to ask at the reception to open it) and you have a sink, a microwave, an induction cooking machine, fridge, and all the vessels, including some pans. - The food at the restaurant from the ground floor is delicious - massage promotion for August: 1h&45 min for 45 euro - staff is very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that our ac was not working properly on our first day and it happened to be a hot day but, it was nobody's fault. It's life and things happen. When we complained about our ac's room, the technical staff checked it out and we were given another room with a working ac that same day. Staff were really helpful so we can't complain about that.

    The Hotel is nice and well furnished. It is clean and welcoming too. Reception staff are very helpful and the music at the bar/restaurant (at the entrance) is lively and enjoyable. Very nice atmosphere. We were welcomed with a drink upon arrival and when needed help, we were helped by the staff. Pool is lovely and there are great views from the roof top.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    The room that we where given was initially not the room we...
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really needed to be assertive to get the other room, I seriously doubt they would have given us the correct room unless we explained that it was unacceptable and false advertising.

    The room that we where given was initially not the room we booked (the pictures where not accurate, nor the description.) But after a conversation with the manager where we shown her the pictures and explained that the room we where given wasn't what we paid for, she changed it to another room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.8
    Staff Amazing , wait to hotel get a make over!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't know if it was because we were there for 2 nights, our room was awful, like being in a box in the basement, I have heard they are closing to redecorate the hotel. Swimming pool didn't look great either. love malta love melliehia

    the staff were amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Helpful and caring staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is nicely decorated and the staff at the reception is truly helpful and very caring. We had some problems on our first day, one of which was with our ac but, the staff at the reception did their best and saw to our needs as soon as possible. Thanks for your dedication. We appreciated a great deal!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very average. Didn't have much choice plus the food was not great quality. For example, they had a few different fruits on offer however most mornings I found it to be canned fruit not fresh. The pool area is also very cramped/busy. There's often no free chairs.

    The rooms were a good size, clean, and had a small kitchen in them which was very handy. The staff were very polite and helpful. Location is good as it's a quiet neighbourhood, which easy transport links (via bus/ ferry) to Gozo, Blue Lagoon, And Popeye village.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Solana Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: