Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3 stars

48 Main Street, STJ 1017 St Julian's, Malta

#27 of 33 hotels in St Julian's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 734 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    The location and staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. No fridge, no microwave. Photos misleading with pictures of the pool in their photo gallery. Would never have booked if I knew there was no pool.

    The location and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Location wise is very central, but impossible to park around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is highly occupied by party people and students, so too loud. We had to change the room because of that. The conditions of the hotel are nothing special. Not even minibar to keep your fresh water at. Cleaning service coming at 8 am!!! I wouldn’t go there never again, next time, Valletta.

    Location wise is very central, but impossible to park around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location but hotel itself is expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You pay more for what it is worth. The staff are generally nice but could have done more to make our stay a better experience.

    It was a great location with affordable restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was functional but not recommended for a long stay or for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was small and basic with no view to speak of. The bathroom was cramped and the plumbing wasn't good (i.e. toilet flush and washbasin). No tea/coffee making facilities.

    The hotel is ideally situated in St Julian's Bay for easy access to bars, cafes, restaurants and beaches. Excellent air conditioning in the room. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is great. The room was super confortable and clean. The breakfast was generous and excellent with fresh croissants and cakes, the cappuccino tasted very good as well. The staff is super friendly and happy to help, giving advises on the places to visit and calling taxis on request. I really enjoyed St Julian‘s Bay Hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.0
    Great location, kind staff, clean but noisy traffic . No where to sit outside, no pool and no bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Balcony view was amaizing , facing the sea but the noise of the traffic as this hotel is on the main road was noisey in the mornings. You will need ear plugs. The bathroom I had was so small that you could not sit on the toilet straight on as your knees hit the sink so you had to sit on almost sideways. Do not use the hop on hop off bus packages that are on offer at the hotel and all around malta as they are expensive and you spend all day on the bus and very little time visiting places. The hop on hop off bus to Gozo was the worst as you were traveling from 9:30am to 6;30pm with only one hour to spend seeing Gozo. Lots of people felt they were mislead with these trips. Public bus is £20 for the week and this would have been far better. There is a swimming pool across the road with sun loungers but you have to pay £10 per person to use the pool per day, it not owned by the hotel. So there is no where outside within the hotel grounds to sit and relax in the sun. Breakfast latest arrival was 9:30am which was too early , food was ok.

    The staff were very helpful, and as a female travelling alone I felt very safe both in the hotel and the location. There is no bar at this hotel but there are a lot of open air bars and restaurants all around so this was fine. The air conditioning was great . Plenty of clean towells and room service. Lift was good. I would go back as the location was great .Bus stop outside the hotel. I would go again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Location on balluta bay is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention. Everything was just awesome.

    Location is great on Balluta bay. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Many cafes and restaurants nearby the hotel. The sea view room is the best you can have! The shuttle from and to the airport was very worth it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 minor points shower cubicle only fit for children couldn't wash properly with door closed and the toilet was impossible to sit on without your knees hitting the sink... Shame the rooms are big the bathroom could be better set up.

    Nice hotel huge room and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Daniela (reception) rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are quite a few interns working at the property and they are not that helpful. They gave us the wrong room (economy while we paid to have a better room) and were only able to transfer us to a proper room the next day, which was slightly annoying. Me and my friend didn't like the breakfast... Not much variety and the food quality was not the best. There's no communal area at the hotel where you can hang out or grab a drink. It's not a problem though because there are lots of places around where you can go

    The beds were great! Daniela at the reception was super nice and helpful. Tip: ask her for a Sicilian restaurant recommendation. She made a reservation for us at this fantastic place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff where friendly and helpful, breakfast was good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar fridge in the rooms, however we requested one and it was put in the room, only for it to be useless under any setting it was put on... Their is also no parking, so if you have a car, you will need to spend plenty of time looking for parking & do plenty of walking doing this. Rooms are quite small too.

    Staff where friendly and helpful, breakfast was good value for only 8 euro! Rooms are clean and air conditioner works well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was walking distance to the water and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were in the AC wasn’t working well, the toilet ran all night but we were too tired to go downstairs, and the phone in the room didn’t work.

    The location was walking distance to the water and restaurants. Daniela was the first face to welcome us and was very sweet. The hotel has a valuable staff member and asset to the team. She took her time to check us in and explain things to us. She reserved a taxi for us to go to the bay for our cruise and also made reservations at a restaurant for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location,lovely view,clean,helpful staff but don't expect a luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only a couple of minor things. Single bedroom had very poor air conditioning and no partitioning wall on balcony so my son could see people in next room when they sat out there. Our bathroom sink had a glass shelf under it which meant you couldn't sit properly on toilet. We had to sit sideways and we are not very large people. Shower hose didn't stay in place so had to hold it to shower which was difficult as cubicle very small.

    A great view from our bedroom balcony overlooking the bay. Breakfast was plentiful, always a good choice. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.3
    WOULD NOT RECOMMEND
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel does not have the facilities of a standard 3 star Hotel. Hotel barely meets the 3 star rating. No mini bar in room No ice machine (to compensate for no mini bar) Only one key per room Blinds on windows barely kept the light out. Could hear everything through walls (very noisy) Definitely not suitable for families with children. Reception did nothing about the noise!! Check In process was horrible.

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    We just needed a place to sleep and most of the time we will...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I guess was the shower. I was put at 6th floor, probably the water pressure is small. Towels provided are not totally clean too.

    We just needed a place to sleep and most of the time we will be out, it’s good enough for us. The location is pretty good as there’s a bus stop nearby, there are a few cafes and eateries too. The room itself is pretty comfy and clean, a room for 2 is quite spacious for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    More of a hostel than a hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No natural light in room. Had to move room because no shower door in shower. No drink making facilities in room. Had to have lights on all the time you was there because it was so dark even at midday

    Going home home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    very clean and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the shower enclosure was very small and the shower was not very powerful but there was plenty of hot water

    comfortable bed with clean linen. clean towels every day. the air conditioning was powerful and quiet. staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    too short, very active, excellent location and surroundings... would do it all again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    sadly there were red ants in the bathroom which weren't enough to complain about but enough to give a slightly less than perfect review I would still highly recommend this hotel even though I also had a back view of the hotel due in part that I did not request a bay view therefore once again not bad enough to complain about.

    I only used the hotel for bed and breakfast which was of course to my liking the staff and location were excellent everything you would want from an easy break away from home and local facilities were all very close by and or easy to reach for all the best sights to see

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay, all we needed..but wouldn't choose here again if we went back to Malta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to check in at 2 in the morning as our flight was delayed, we had told the reception this previously so there was no issue. The receptionist was dealing with customers before us who had booked incorrect dates and there was an argument going on. We were tired from travelling as it was and had to wait 25 minutes to get our room key at 2 in the Morning! The gentleman working did his best to get us checked in with all that was happening. It wasn't a good start and gave us a bad impression and we had just arrived which was a pity. Room was fine. All you needed. 3 star at best. Air con was appreciated but have the room a musty smell. No view out the window, only the next building. Bit disappointing! Dodgy plug next to the bed, no window in the bathroom..But you get what you pay for! Breakfast was Nice, continental.

    Good location. Good shower. However there are nicer areas to stay in Malta. Like st George's bay area which is near some lovely bars and restaurants or near the cavelieri art hotel. But we wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful and that's what we got. I would treat myself to more luxurious accommodation if we ventured there again. On the up side Malta is gorgeous and we spent no time at the hotel anyways.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Didnt have tea or coffe in room but we knew that befor we travelled. No beaches nearby.

    We were on B&B and the location for us was good in that it wasnt too commercialised & we like to have a little walk to find different places to eat / drink each night so it was simply a case of going left or right for a few 100mtrs. ALL the locals we met were very helpful and friendly. Getting to / from main attractions was easy as bus service is very good but you need to do a little reasearch into the best places to visit to make the most of your stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Transport is easy and breakfasr was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ASK FOR THE SEASIDE VIEW WHEN I BOOK NO EMAIL CAME BACK TELLIMG US THAT THERE IS NO AVAILABLE AND THEY PUT US ON A ROADSIDE VIEW..AIRCON WAS.LEAKING IT WAS REPORTED BUT NOTHING HAD BEEN DONE...NO FRIDGE NO KETTLE ON THE ROOM AS THEY ADVERTISE

    Transport is easy and breakfasr was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    this hotel is the type where you would only use it for sleeping in and nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No other times were availible other than breakfast the layout of the hotel the safe's not working properly and managers needing to be called to set the safe up.

    I liked the fact that the hotel was within walking distance from a lot of amenities. Most of the staff were incredibly helpful. the quality of the food was of average standard and should have been much better quality . I think breakfast hours should have stayed open at least 10am as 9.30am finihsing is too early for those who want to lie in. The fact that you only served breakfast and no other meals was a huge deterrent for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Super comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms facing the sea are noisey, switched to a room facing the back and was very quiet.

    Super comfortable bed. Very friendly staff, offered upgrade to sea view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Being asked to make a second security payment when I arrived.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked to make a second security payment when I arrived. Being allocated a room on the roof with a door that wouldn’t lock next to a noisy air conditioning unit. When I protested I was moved and my security payment was reduced to one cent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time I took shower, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. Very bad. And also, the AC unitbin the room never worked. Breakfast was ok but closed too soon by 9:30 am!!

    Great staff. Friendly, attentive and willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Great central location, good mid range hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked a bigger shower - very small cubicle.

    Clean room, excellent location, helpful and pleasant staff. Nice to have trips available without a 'hard sell'.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location. Big room. Tiny bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was so small only one person could fit. The shower was also very small that you were constantly hitting your elbows while showering. Weird spacing considering that the room was very big. Also there was no mini fridge in the room.

    The location of the hotel is great. Near a lot of restaurants. The room was big and so was the bed. The breakfast had many options to choose from like omelette, cereal, cakes, fruits and vegetables, etc. You could also order fried eggs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    I can't thank the staff enough for going above and beyond to make our stay pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we moved to the 2nd floor our room was around the side of the hotel and it was very noisy with people and cars all night and drilling early the next day.Didnt get much sleep but it was the only double room available to move to which obviously wasn't the fault of the staff.

    The best thing about Julian's Bay hotel were the staff.We requested to move rooms as we were near the elevator so we could hear people getting on and off it all night which kept us up and the staff couldn't do enough for us.They are so helpful and so friendly and are an absolute credit to the hotel.They were so lovely 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Ok for a week
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safes are outdated and hard to use. Some rooms don't have balconeys. No place to lay out in the sun. No pool. Clear window in the bathroom. Shower is too hot or too cold no luke warm water. No light switch for the balcony light.

    Nice location. Friendly staff. Rooms are spacious. Beds are comfortable. Tv is good. The room that I was in on the top floor had a huge balcony which was great for sunbathing. Room was generally ok and basic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location, close to lovely restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was generally clean and tidy, the room was dingy and smelt damp on arrival. The air con leaked. There is a bed bug problem. We have bites all up our feet, ankles and legs! The bed was also incredibly hard and uncomfortable.

    Great location, close to lovely restaurants and bars. Staff really helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Nancy's point of view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a smell of humidity the whole time. Additionally the very small balcony had no space at all to stand and see the view of St Julians because of the air condition that was on the floor

    Very good location and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice, basic spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn’t great and house keeping were quite rude. On the last morning we were woken at 8.30 and asked to hurry up and vacate the room, we said we would be out by 11 (the check out time) and were told she had to finish at 11. We didn’t appreciate this as we had a long nights travel ahead. Be aware that construction workers start drilling from 7am onwards. Not a problem for us but some may find it off putting.

    Nice, basic spacious rooms. Good breakfast choice. Receptionists very friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.6
    The only really good thing about this hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, the receptionist gave us the wrong key so we came in another couple’s room. A few days later the same thing happend to us. At midnight a couple came in our room with a key, when they checked in. We didn’t feel save at all and didn’t want to leave our stuff in our room.

    The only really good thing about this hotel is the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff, average facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no ventilation in the bathrooms, hence the corners of the shower cabin were black with mold. Also the noise insulations on the windows and doors were nonexistent. Moreover, during our stay some construction work was going on, so hammers were disturbing us from as early as 8:30-9:00 am, as well as in the early afternoon around 2-3pm.

    The staff was very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location, lacks that luxury feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The late night receptionist was reluctant to speak to me (female) when trying to check in (the booking was in my name and I was paying). He continually tried to speak to my (male) partner. I thought the days of men being superior was long gone....i was obviously wrong. We had an economy room. It was ok, a little rough round the edges which was from wear and tear. The furniture was modern, but the bathroom could do with sprucing up in my opinion. We only stayed 1 night as it had a 24 hour reception and we arrived late. We moved to apartments around the corner the next morning.

    The location is exceptional. The hotel looks right out onto one of the many bays around the coastline. A 24 hour reception helps with late night arriving flights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Waiting to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on desk weren’t over polite when we arrived plus I paid June 26 2017 and was charged again because my account paid with was now finished Hotel told me my 440 Euro was held pending but upon my return I found I had paid not held or pending Not helpful in any way more rude than polite I’ve been visiting this island since 1992 this place was the worst ever

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room facilities were lacking, kettle etc that you expect in a hotel like this. Also when my girlfriend went to change in the upstairs facilities a group of cleaners were very rude to her and slamed a door in her face and she got very upset - not acceptable.

    The staff at the desk were very good. Special mention to Alan (i think his bame was, apologies if not) who was very friendly and super helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable and at a pretty bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After asking twice before my arrival and twice during my stay for a double bed we didn’t get one although they confirmed they will. They didn’t offer anything as apology

    Clean, comfortable and at a pretty bay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    It was decent, but a bit overpriced for what it offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arranged with the hotel a transfer from the airport. But the driver who got us from there was late, and then he wanted a tip... The room had too much noise in the morning, as it was close to the breakfast lounge.

    It was decent, but a bit overpriced for what it offered. The room was clean. The receptionists were polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double bed but arrived with twin beds. Could only be changed the next day as the hotel was full. What is the point of indicating it when booking, as well as putting a specific note? But was handled with a smile the next day!

    Location. Smiling staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Comfy bed but overall disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection was really bad. It kept disconnecting all the time. There was some sort of leak in the shower door. Hence, the bathroom got “flooded” after every shower. Lastly, the room was not at all soundproof. We could hear all noises coming from the corridor and rooms next to ours.

    The bed was really comfy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    For me it has a great location great restaurants nearby,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clearly just renovated and not very well checked in the end of it

    For me it has a great location great restaurants nearby, buses that can help you to visit the whole island

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff excellent especially cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less noise from main road outside,perhaps sound proof rooms

    View from room,although we didn't get room we booked and paid for till the following afternoon!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, kind staff and very delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To charge my phone we need to have adapter, but those who were available in reception didn't work for us.

    The location was great, kind staff and very delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel in a great location with an amazing view, perfect for exploring the island from
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was pretty useless Noise from outside an issue on the Saturday night

    Bed was comfy and room very clean. Great view from balcony and very close to lots of bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities with no kettle. An extra euro a day on room charge Over a year should cover this. There is a vending machine but its unreliable

    Good breakfast. Staff excellent. Room cleaned every day and towels Changed every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff is very kind and helpful (especially the man I met...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The problem is that the hotel is too much expensive for the service given. No complimentary water - no shampo or shower gel. Lift impossible to take as it is always busy. Stairs too narrow and steep . Please review your rates, thank you.

    The staff is very kind and helpful (especially the man I met at my arrival)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Our room attendants Suzata and Maya were outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room safe was a bit tricky to operate.

    The Reception staff were friendly, helpful and responsive to our needs. It was great having a "tour desk" for advice on things to do during our stay in Malta. We had a front room with spectacular day and night views across Balluta Bay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location, but a very basic and overpriced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very basic (but clean) room with no natural light and right next to where breakfast was being served, making it very noisy first thing in the morning. Wi-Fi kept on cutting out as well. Certainly not value for money.

    Only its location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, the building itself is overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location, the building itself is overlooking the bay, not that my room was. Super nice and friendly staff, and great eating options right at the doorstep. The bus stop to everywhere, is some tens of meters away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    A decent hotel in a convenient location. Felt a little overpriced for the what was a basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little small and balcony tiny. Room felt a little basic for the money.

    Good location, convenient for transport, restaurants, bars & nightlife, near beach and bus station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location and bargain price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views for quatro rooms are not great, no fridge in room and air con wasnt working (may have been us not knowing how to do it)

    Location was brilliant, lovely views outside the hotel. Well worth the price paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Great weekend with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee is bad in Malta ;-) the rest was great. The hotel doesn't have the parking but you can find space on the side of the road in the area.

    Breakfast is very good. The hotel is well located right in the centre, close to restaurants and clubs. The room was big and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Not true and their money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The rooms do not have adapters for Euro sockets (do you have tourists only from the UK???!). None of the adapters available at the desk worked. The staff did not respond to my request for help. I couldn't charge my phone and tell my family everything was fine. 2. The rooms are furnished with old furniture. 3. The shower cubicle is very small. A big man or a woman can't fit in there. The water pressure is very bad. 4. When arrival, stuff at the reception said that Breakfast is included. But the next morning at Breakfast refused and nobody apologized.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have checked out after 1 hr, bed and sheets was not clean properly as it was causing itching for the complete body. Unfortunatly the hotel didnot refund me back as they stated the room clean and they cannot see any dirt??? these kind of things cannot be seen by the normal eyes. for seriouse health and hygen issues I dont recommend this hotel to a friend .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    it was adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    difficult to spot as the entrance is up a walkway. did not have a stopper in the sink even after asking. cleaner took our towels and we had to request replacements. No details in bathroom about where to leave towels for washing etc.

    the breakfast was really good, staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.2
    Food, wether
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in hotel.Only one small elevator in 7 floors hotel fully and the staff using it all the time. There's extra charges when you check in.

    Food, wether

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a helpfull staff. especially the cleaning lady named Suzeta always had a friendly smile, did a good job cleaning our room and a had always a kind word to our two daughters.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    enjoyed Malta very much and this hotel was in a good position in St Julian's bay to see the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the position of the shower control lever in a small shower, easily knocked and could turn scalding hot instantly... not sure if this is same layout in all rooms...

    Location and the staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent start for our vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. This was a great place to start our holiday in Malta. Close enough to the airport and a beautiful setting. Staff at the front reception were very friendly, informative and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, within walking distance of Sliema and Spinola Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some lower level, bay view rooms can be quite noisy

    Good, well-sized rooms Good quality buffet breakfast Issue with room quickly and efficiently resolved by staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    The worse 3*** hotel I've been in all over Europe. Never Again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go to reception to pay breakfast in advance . Toilet seat broken from day one . When we complained the second day we were told can’t do anything now we’ll do it tomorrow . Next day by 11 am nobody came . Was repaired in the afternoon . Taxi to go to the airport they wanted €28 , we went from the airport by an official airport taxi for €20 . We called a local company and paid €16 .€1.5 for half litter water is a little too much from the reception. Bamboo set in rsception area is not for seating , it’s only for desplay . Most seats were curved in a way that seating was impossible.

    Breakfast was decent .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    Very few amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bigger rooms, option to upgrade to sea side, ice machines and fridges in the rooms.

    Very few amenities......no ice machines, fridges in the room etc.... Lobby was a mess due to construction. Rooms were also very small. I will say that the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Our St.Julians stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more space downstairs @ reception, and outdoor terrace/communal space ie rooftop away from road would be a huge benefit.

    Location. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in nice part of Malta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location for st Julian's, paceville, sliema etc. Buffet breakfast good value for €6. Staff helpful throughout. Room comfortable and warm considering the cool weather. Dubliner pub just down the road very convenient and good for a few drinks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice people nice location, pretty good all round at the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard surfaces made floors noises and doors rattled when closed, coffee & tea making facilities in room would be good

    Staff were friendly and breakfast was good. Room size was generous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    breakfast buffet is generous and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    communication was often below standard/my expectations and we haven't gotten informed beforehand that parts of the hotel was going tobe under construction. elevator didn't work either for a few hours or so, and no option, like opening the staff elevator, was provided.

    breakfast buffet is generous and tasty. wide variety of sweet and savoury dishes. the mattress is rather hard, but it was perfect for me. the rooms are really spacious, clean and simple furnished, but you get everything you need. the location itself is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some construction work was being done durring my stay, so it was a little bit messy. Very badly isolated, the street is very noisy so not a good place if you plan to sleep.

    Nice personnel, globally good if you don't expect a fancy hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    St. Julian's Bay a positive location and experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Left side mattress in Room 106 awful---had back trouble first day after sleeping on this Terrible WiFi connection in Room 106---had to keep coming down to lobby to connect Chairs in lobby were not conducive to working on my small laptop for lengthy times At departure 3:30 am the office wake-up call machine did not work---good thing I had a small alarm clock, just in case---would have missed the taxi and my flight

    Small hotel experience in relatively good location with good public transport Friendly lobby staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    The stuff was very helpful with everything,the room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one and only problem that we faced sometimes was the Internet connection . (Our room was at the third floor)

    The stuff was very helpful with everything,the room was very comfortable and clean and the hotel is situated in a convenient location if you are a tourist. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    brillaint would definatley stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    had a sea view room on level 2 a bit loud in the mornings with the traffic from the main road outside hotel should think a higher room would cancel this out we liked to get up around 9 - 9:30 and this seemed to be the time traffic would be heavy cant complain to much

    the sea view room is stunning, well worth the extra the hotel cleaners are brilliant room was always cleaned to a high standard and through reception and hallways to rooms was always a clean pleasant smell, the location is excellent close to lots of bars and restaurants and a great base to explore the island

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the irritating little problems I have just mentioned, we have had a good holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work in main reception, tatty curtains, confusion with price when we first arrived, as I had booked 3 rooms for my friends and I. One room was for 7 days while the other 2 rooms were for ten days. Two of my friends and I are still here until Thursday. Could not fathom out how to operate the air conditioning, so the room was colder than we would have liked for my partner, she feels the cold.

    Breakfast, location, cleanliness, peace and quiet, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was great with lots of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff started before breakfast was finished, seemed like I was being chased or the room. Staff, especially young staff, could use more training in costumer service. I don't get my early morning alarm call the day left; someone forgot. Lower level rooms are noisy from Street noise & v little sound proofing inside.

    Breakfast was great with lots of choice. Room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Maurizio Cincindella
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with the view on the sea was a little small for me but quite nice!

    First of all the Location of the hotel is very nice!the hotel staff is very serius in their job and they are very professional!In particular i like the cleaning women because she is very friendly, hardworking and cute!i think to come back here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Ok place to stay close to Paceville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No major complaints as long as your expectations are not too high. Hotel is nothing to rave about. There is EF-apartments and students as well. Atmosphere was a bit ratchet at first but apparently they were told to slow down and it was ok.

    Location is good if you want to be close to Paceville nightlife but not in the middle of that. Room was ok. Not too noisy on 5th floor at least. Decent value for money, at least on off-season.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 4 great nights in this hotel. The breakfast was superb every day. Our room (103) was just the best.. balcony with amazing view. Special thanks to Surija(hope this was her name) for her friendly, kind and prompt cleaning. Thank you for everything. Puszi from Hungary Erika & Szilvi 🙂

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St. Julian's Bay Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: