Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seashells Resort – AX Hotels 4 stars

Qawra Coast Road, SPB 1902 St Paul's Bay, Malta

#28 of 90 hotels in St Paul's Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3121 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    I recommend this place for seniors, for our parents it would be a perfect stay (we are age 30 ).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar, Common spaces look very old, Value for money, location and atmosphere suitable for seniors or families with small children, few entertainments or attractions for young couples; the personal from the main restaurant were people from all around the globe, they were really nice and kind persons but they all looked so tired and their clothes were poor - I think they all deserve more respect or attention for they needs from the HR Management; there are no photos of the lobby and reception that reflect the real aspect of them (It was not a good first impression when we entered the hotel)

    Friendly personal - we were impressed especially by the personal of the restaurant , Room, Cleanliness, Toilets, Adults pool, Variety of food, bus station in proximity, nice spots for snorkeling around, climatisation in room was efficient and silentious, souvenirs shop with good prices in direct link with hotel - also you can buy bus tickets from there, opportunity to eat traditional food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    The beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower (very poor pressure), the sunbeds (dirty), the ground around the pool (dirty), the pool bar (miserable food and poor staff manners)

    The beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    The perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect location, the bus stop is just across the street where it passes direct buses to all main cities. Great food service, buffet and prepared lunch for when you are not at the hotel during the day. Swimming pool with several activities and animation. Pool for only adults. Private beach. Interior pool and jacuzzi. Night shows. Possibility to stay at the hotel on the day of check-out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff and food and room and bed and pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning entertainment gear up for the young and family. Needs a quiet outside area for seniors and entertainment for seniors to

    Staff and food and room and bed and pool area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    A homelike stay in Malta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaning staff is not that satisfactory. We lived here for 6 nights and we asked 2 times for cleaning. For the first time, the cleaning staff forgot to take the sanitary bag from the bathroom and there is a small piece of paper left on the floor. For the second time, it was Sunday, and we hang the ' Please clean the room' plate out of the door before we went out for the breakfast. But when we came back, it was still not be cleaned. And finally, we have to call the front desk to ask them to send someone to clean the room. Then our room was cleaned. But it is okay in total.

    The location is perfect. And the staff is helpful and friendly. we live in a suite and the soundproof is great there. Also, the sea view is fantastic, and everyday morning when I open my eyes I can enjoy the sea view. And I like the bed there, it is comfortable. And it is really sweet that the management team gave me a bottle of wine and three apples on my birthday:) BTW, the rabbit in Red Coral Restaurant is delicious. You must try that!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed it & relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the pools were far for my disabled husband who can barely walk a little distance.

    The buffet was very good & sumptious. Service very efficient. All the staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.6
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude receptionist, rooms ok but very basic and we never got a balcony. Pool etc needs cleaned better, tiles slippy and almost algae feeling around pool. Night time entertainment terrible.

    Comfortable bed. Breakfast selection good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked hotel to provide us with extra bed for our 2 year old and they went an extra mile and provided us with a family room with two connecting rooms. Thanks for makings us so comfortable at no extra charge. Breakfast was really good as well. Slide at the pool was entertaining for both my son and my husband

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    We can't recommend this hotel for other people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Pool was in really bad shape! The water looked somehow infectious and was really cloudy. It needs to be renovated urgently. Alongside the pool there were lots of rusty poles, the tiles were crooked and it looked like it should have been renewed a couple of years ago. And then there was really loud music. For those reasons we didn't use the pool as often as we had planned and went to a beach instead. We choose the hotel because it was approx. 200€ per week cheaper than Radisson or Hilton. In retrospect after we paid additional for fast internet, pool towels, late checkout and so on we should have taken one of the above mentioned. The lobby looked like built in the 80's and hasn't been renovated since.

    Clean rooms which were quite new. Good bed and a very clean bathroom. Busstop right across the street. The cleaning crew was very helpful and did a hell of a job cleaning the rooms. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I enjoyed everything.

    Very good location, near public transports, small shops and convenience stores. Rock beach is 5 min walking. Hotel is very clean, comfortable, organised. Staff were helpful and nice. Food was good. Pool and pool areas were great and very clean. Nice views from the hotel restaurant, bars, pool, and most of the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    The hotel didn't meet my expectation and I wouldn't be using them again. it is not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately the air condition, Wifi and TV in our rooms were not working, my wife and I reported few times to the reception and nobody bothered to take a look, eventually we gave up and live with for 6 nights. The food, pool are all good and environment is clean, but didn't meet my expectation and I wouldn't be using them again. it is not value for money.

    The food, pool, gym,spa are all good and environment is clean, but didn't meet my expectation and I wouldn't be using them again. it is not value for money. loads of problem with air condition, Wifi and TV.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Had a very enjoyable stay August 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was very good, Staff very friendly and hard working, Separate adults only pool areas is available if you need more peace and quiet, Excellent location for bars, restraints and transports

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Family place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning in restaurant not good enough Ate at Luzzu restaurant imagined we would have a discount if we would dine there Pool bar should have a wider choice of food available not close till 3 Travelling with a toddler would have been comfortable if pool bar had a microwave Ohhhh and the Cappuccino from the machine I'm sure you can do better from other vendors

    Kids entertainment Staff go out of their way to accommodate us Good choice for gluten free food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    This is at best a 3 star + hotel, I would not call it a 4-star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room fan-coil was extremely loud so we could not leave the AC on during the night which made us uncomfortable because of the heat (we visited Malta in August 2018 and it was quite hot). The bathroom fan did not work. We had asked for a queen or king bed but got twin beds. There was not enough water flow at the bathroom sink. For a 4-star hotel this venue lacked some important facilities which normally come as standard not as extra-cost: bathrobes and slippers in the room, a more consistent cosmetics kit in the bathroom (there were no body lotion and vanity kit), no shoe cleaning kit, no facility for washing off sand at the entrance in the hotel, the minibar was empty (not even water in it and Malta can be really hot). The cleaning was not done very well and the sheets were never changed during our 7 nights stay.

    The breakfast was good and provided sufficient variety for a week's stay. We had a partial sea-view room which provided a very nice view of the bay. The bus station is conveniently located just in front of the hotel which is great, given that the bus is the only transportation means available in Malta if you do not want to go around by taxi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice rooms and food, inadequate airconditioning, filthy falling apart pool area/loungers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The pool area is very dirty. Litter is collected but no major hosing or scrubbing down of the sun lounger seating areas which means many areas you walk with no shoes on are now black. Cracked tiles around and leading into the pool. Dirty, saggy, well worn uncomfortable sun loungers. Do not be fooled by the glossy poolside pictures on the website, it doesn't look like that in reality. Structural damage to an outside pool area which is screened off behind green plastic style screening. Saltwater pools. No lifeguard for the Water Slide so there were kids going down in a standing up position then hurting themselves. Poor and extremely noisy air conditioning which was inadequate for the heat of Malta in a large family room.

    We liked the newly renovated rooms which look like they are on the website. The food is very good for mass catering European standards but needs more salt in the mass catered dishes. Excellent quality bacon for breakfast. Always food options throughout the day and evening. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Worth booking a Sea View room for the view right onto the sea. Good bus routes directly outside the hotel. The adult pool is far nicer than the family pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of six lifts only one or two worked properly so we often took the stairs as one often had to wait and the lift would be full when it finally arrived.

    Nice clean rooms. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Next to the sea Quiet location plenty to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioning was noisy. Not enough deck chairs by pool not all lifts were working at peak times

    Next to the sea Quiet location plenty to eat. Accessible to the rest of the island entertainment staff brilliant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    We will be coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing, a massive buffet (biggest one I’ve ever been to) with great choice. Food cooked perfectly, kept hot and fresh (regularly changed- eggs cooked in front of you). Everything you can think of such great variety/ something for everyone. The location was also fantastic - very accessible to all tourist destinations (bus station opposite) and companies nearby. Hotel can arrange for you and the staff were very helpful to all our questions. We didn’t know how to work the telly (was unplugged) and someone came straight away to help! Was relaxing, not too overcrowded but had a buzz to it- was perfect. There were great facilities we barely had to leave the hotel as it had its own shop, bars, restaurants (yes more than one), pools, games, entertainment and spa. The pools were beautiful one for adults only and one for children with slide. The sea with water couldn’t ask for anymore in a hotel. It made the perfect holiday! Would recommend to anyone any age, family , friends or couples!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable and pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The entertainment was not particularly great. It was better at the hotel down the road so we ended up going there most nights! The lifts were also really slow and most of them didn't seem to work.

    Breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice and all the food seemed to be freshly made and topped up as soon as things had run out. We were pleasantly surprised about this and the chocolate croissants were definitely a crowd pleaser! The hotel was really clean, rooms were basic but clean. Any problems we had (electricity tripped one night) they came and sorted it out straight away. Enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    the elevators the most times were out of order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the elevators the most times were out of order..we arrived at hotel 09.00 in the morning and we went for breakfast and we had to pay 22 euro for 2 persons (we had breakfast and dinner) ..they sayed to us tha last day (we had to check out at 04.00 in the morning because we had flight early) we have breakfast for free..we went to one small room for breakfast but the coffee machine and the juices machine were out of order and just some small pieces of cake we had..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    All-inclusive was definitely worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning never worked properly. Our room was incredibly hot.

    All-inclusive was definitely worth it. The food was fantastic and the drinks were great. I LOVED that the sea was literally just steps away from the pool area and bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing the security kept asking wheres my wrist band i have an allergy to them i explained this the hotel staff when i arrived so they stappled them to my keys but every day i was asked by security and explained the same thing every day which was a pain

    Everything about the hotel was fabulous couldnt fault it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location with a great view, kind staff, comfortable room, nice big pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast could be better and internet does not work well specially on the top floors.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were helpful and kind, pool was good and entertainment was so funny and amazing, Breakfast was good but it could be better, location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Great family stay on AI option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air con in the room is very noisy. Any light sleepers will need ear plugs! Not a negative but just to advise, all swimming pools contain seawater.

    My review is based on family with 6 year old in July 2018. We had a great time at the hotel. First impressions were that all staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and serviced daily. We stayed on the all inclusive option and were really happy with the variety and quality of food offered. There are 3 swimming pools (1 adults only) the main one was a good size. Another bonus is that there was a small water slide, good enough to keep a 6yo happy. The hotel also has its own private section of sea, just down some steps. We would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.8
    a nightmare one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if you rent a car DO NOT GET this hotel. I think it is ridiculous Booking and the Hotel web site do not stress the fact there are no hotel parking available and that is very difficult to find a parking spot without wasting hours driving around. Dirty water on the baby slide pool. Last, many elevators not working for days!

    discrete quantity/quality breakfast. I think this is it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Should pay attention to details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too far from airport/Valleta; same food for breakfast; the towels (and, I think, the bed sheets also) were never changed during our stay (1 week) - we had to ask for changing the feet towel; no robes or slippers (even though it's a 4 stars hotel); the room walls and the lamps were dirty.

    The view, the closeness to bus station, the reception/restaurant personal, the bed and the pillows quality, quite room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely for groups or short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it is impossible to leave the AC open when exiting room for just a while or charge the cellphone. The fact that one need to pay €2 p/towel for the swimming pool. A deposit should be enough

    Room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We only had two CONS to our stay. FIRST....It seemed as though during the day, power (electricity) was reduced to the room. So when we left devices to charge during our busy 12-15 hour day, for use at night, they hadn't charged at all, but overnight we could charge fully charge any device within a couple of hours. This made it difficult for us adults to have charged phones and kids to have charged tablets at the same time. SECOND...The pool closed at 6 pm, which was rather early in our opinion. We usually were out enjoying the islands and arrived back by 630 or 7 for dinner. So swimming in the pool after dinner wasn't an option. The one day when we did make it back in time to enjoy the pool, the water in the pool with the slide was really dirty (it looked like someone may have gotten sick in the water, as well as food floating in it. This was disappointing because this is what my kids were looking forward to the most. We made our way to the beach on the other side of the pool, however, this is typical rock beach that drops immediately into the sea. I wouldn't recommend this beach area to anyone who cannot swim well.

    We were very pleased with our accommodations at Seashells Resort. Our room was perfect, it had plenty of space for my husband and I and our 2 children. This was a 2 bedroom suite, which allowed us to have private space away from the kids. There was 3 balconies and the view was amazing. We were able to wake to an amazing sunrise and enjoy a beautiful view of the sea. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, the furnishings were nice. Everything was up to date. The hotel staff was great. Everyone was very friendly and knowledgeable and ready, willing and able to answer any questions. The food was very good. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner every day we were there. The evening entertainment near the pool was great for both kids and adults. We were able to walk in less than 10 minutes at the very nice aquarium and a nice park. Buses for public transportation stopped right in front of the hotel. The HopOn HopOff bus stopped right in front of the hotel. When walking, there was plenty of shopping and restaurants as far as you wanted to walk on one side of the street, and amazing beach and shore line on the other side. I would definitely stay here again, and would quickly recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect and close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff specifically at check in and check out were impeccable. Our airport transfer never arrived and it was sorted immediately by the hotel staff. Thank you for a perfect stay! Great complimentary breakfast also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    An OK week vacation where the positives outweighed the negatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The need to wear a wrist band for the duration of our stay. Eight lifts but they were never ALL working. Not overly polite or helpful staff.

    Room was spotlesslly clean and spacious. Air conditioning very effective without being excessively noisy. Breakfast spread was ok but lacked a good selection of FRESH fruit. Great location on the sea front and in walking distance of several good restaurants. Adult only pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Pools including adults only, water front (great swimming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C was not powerful enough to cool room, also the resort as a whole is not air conditioned. Pool closes early in the evening.

    Pools including adults only, water front (great swimming and saw many fish).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Fully packed hotel that has best times behind it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for sea view room and sea was only visible from side Pool staff not very helpful, very little service Pool area fully occupied and rather noisy

    Direct beach access

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Good spot
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water not working and I went to get some bread at breakfast and it was mouldy told the staf and he took the bread from my hand and didn't say anything

    Good spot

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfy, the room was cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like to wore that plastic bracelate, the hotel should find another way to differentiate the customers. Also the pool was close at 6 o'clock, I didn't understand why. In the first night, at 10 o'clock we didn't have water, we stayed at second floor. The hotel was too expensive for what it offered.

    The bed was comfy, the room was cleaned every day. The bus station is in front of the hotel, this was a big advantage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed with the overall experience, would not recommend or stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was inadequate and maintenance was required several times during our stay. Is centrally controlled, our room was very hot and uncomfortable. There was no water on several occasions. The family pool is in need of restoration. Tiles are falling off, rust stains here and there. Was clean enough, but disappointed with the standard. Reception was frequently understaffed and the wait time for service could be long. Laundry service was poor and needed to chase up where our clothes were.

    Breakfast was included in our package and was good value and quality of food was acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel lovely location loved the pool😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the indoor pool was a bit of a walk away but we still enjoyed using it.

    The quality of service was lovely.It was my sisters birthday and the hotel staff made our room up with balloons some wine and birthday wishes.We had an Amazing view and I would definitely recommend this hotel.Breakfast was 😊 We had a lovely time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended , very dissapointed , waste of money - IT'S NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    SEA WATER IN THE POOLS IN 4 STAR HOTEL !!!!! , food - very low quality and every day the same , first hotel in my life ( I'm 43 ) with no pan cakes , very small selection of fruit , sun beds -dirty and abused , no lifeguards - kids playing beside bottom of the slide , climbing up the slide etc , security - hotel open for everyone - sun beds occupied by strangers ( not hotel guests ) , path tiles falling to the pool ( it's beginning of the season ) , brown water in the taps or no water at all one day , staff very unfriendly , dirty restaurant , very poor air conditioning in the rooms , hotel guests had to refit large parasol after wind blew it away ( no staff at all at pool area ) , kids playing on the 2nd floor roof ( there is no rails ) etc .

    Room size and view .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A/C in the room was noisy. The bigger bed would be also better. We stayed in the 7th floor and water flow was quite weak; cold water even stopped one evening. Access to the sea is not comfortable and it is definitely not suitable for small children. But I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, spacious and well cleaned every day. Breakfast was amazing! One of the pool is only for adults, there were always enough of free umbrellas. Bus stop is located directly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    There was a bus stop directly outside the hotel making it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really disliked having to wear a fluorescent wristband for my entire stay. It was uncomfortable during the heat and, as vain as it is, ruined a lot of my photos.

    There was a bus stop directly outside the hotel making it really easy to get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Good but too big for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For breakfast, less quantity but better quality could be appreciated, swimming pools are closing a bit too early (1800). Due to its size the restaurant is noisy, terrasse along the street.

    The rooms are pretty quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was a bit weak at night, perhaps because the room was massive. It would be great if they have bigger play areas for children.

    The hotel has been recently refurbished. The location is prime with sea front and surrounded by restaurants. The room was amazing which included a separate bedroom and 2 balconies and bathroom. The food is good in line with expectations for a 4 star hotel. Pool was clean and had a lot of activities. It is highly recommended for all ages.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice first visit to Malta, we will be back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bed was not so comfortable. we were on the last (7th) floor so water pressure was very low and sometimes non-existent (when we wanted to shower, no water would come out of shower around 18:00 when everyone is preparing for dinner), one day even maintenance came to try and fix it, but it was i think just because of bad plumbing and lack of water in general - so my recommendation is to choose lower floors if possible. moreover, we were not able to decrease the air condition to make less noise so we were forced to sleep with balcony doors opened - and then, mosquitos attacked (so another advice is, bring some mosquito repellent or Raid to plug-in, as it seems island is full of mosquitos). few times we had problems with lack of towels, and just note to future guests, no matter how many nights you are staying, your sheets will be changed only if you put the sign on the door (i was assuming that they will change the sheets regularly every 3rd night of stay, but that was not the case).

    nice big resort with spacious rooms and very good meals (we had all inclusive), variety of options to eat. bus station located just in front of resort. swimming pool for adults very nice and clean, and highly recommended. recommendation to visit Mellieha Bay, it's biggest sandy beach on the island, and just 30 min bus ride from the resort - worth it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.3
    A nice view, close to the bus station, the room is updated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4* hotel this was a huge disappointment on all chapters. The breakfast was very bad with very low quality food and it was exactly the same for 10 days in a row. Also the juice and coffee (nes) were both of very low quality. Once you enter the hotel you are welcomed by a dated main hall and once you reach the elevators there's a strong chlorine smell. One of the worst hotels when speaking of cleanliness, after 7 days neither the towels nor the sheets were changed. We had to insists twice, to have them changed. The rooms were not cleaned properly every day and dirty towels were put back. No minibar. All this in the context of a very pricy stay and the overall low quality of the hotel result in the sincere recommendation: avoid at all costs!

    A nice view, close to the bus station, the room is updated, in contrast with the rest of the hotel. The staff at the reception rather eager to help. Can not say the same for one of the lady that was cleaning the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Babysitting service was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were overpriced with basic amenities. The check-in process was too lengthy. Buffet restaurant did not have kid friendly options for children. The indoor kids club had very short and inconvenient hours.

    Babysitting service was great. Prime location near the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never any cutlery on the tables in the restaurant. Had to ask for cutlery then overheard waiting staff complaining to each other that guests keep asking them for cutlery, if they replaced it or there was somewhere to pick some up ourselves people wouldn't ask as much. The food was limited although what was there was very nice. The evening entertainment was the worst I have ever seen and I've been to a lot of places, I felt sorry for the families with children, I feel it is a ploy to get customers to go to cheeky money or the other bars affiliated with the hotel.

    It was very clean, spotless. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff was extremely helpful especially with giving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The AC inside the room couldn't be controlled, therefore it was very hot in the room as we can't make it colder. The AC in the whole hotel was not enough as it got really hot and stuffy sometimes.

    The staff was extremely helpful especially with giving recommendations on transport as well as anything you will need about traveling in Malta. The hotel facilities are really good as there is a wide range of restaurants available and nice pools overlooking the ocean which was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great stay would certainly return again value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a bad smell in the lifts. Entertainment could be upgraded to match quara Palace hotels entertainment regeme.

    The friendliness of staff good food choice room facilities good and tv chanels good. nice location near buss rouit. Lovely pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, gorgeous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet at the property the room was beautiful however we mentioned a number of times that the plumbing wasn’t working and it didn’t flush properly despite maintenance coming to check.

    The cleanliness of the room and the Size, and facilities the hotel had to offer were wonderful. The staff members Rebecca that worked at the customer relations desk was wonderful she helped us with information and boarding passes, her friendliness and local knowledge stood her apart from the other staff memebers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, plenty to eat and drink. Only complaint is lack of water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the hotel would not allow you to fill water bottles from their fountains. When we arrived there was no water available even though we had a small fridge in the room. In the restaurant where water is available there are signs telling you not to fill water bottles. So you've paid for an all inclusive holiday but struggle to have any water in your room! You would certainly never go hungry at this hotel however the food is quite repetitive. You serve yourself buffet style so it's easy to choose what to eat.

    We were allocated a fantastic room with 3 balconies overlooking the sea. We loved the location of the hotel and were initially worried about road noise, no need to worry as the triple glazing doesn't allow any noise. There is access to an Adults Only pool in the Luzzo complex next to the Seashells pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    This was our sixth stay at the hotel. We will visit again in three months time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was great, different dishes to choose from. All inclusive drinks with Lunch such as three different wines, beer, softdrinks and coffee etc. Excellent Breakfast and Lunch as we booked half board.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    I really appreciated to stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit far from Valletta and other interesting locations to visit, but to manage this « less-valuable » point I must say that they have a lot of extra activities to offer (supplement! Wich is normal). That way I had the possibility to do some sightseeing of the notherm part of Malta and also Gozo.

    I really appreciated to stay in this hotel. The staff was very very kind and super nice. The animation crew by the pool was great specially Diana (from Mexico) who had a very positive attitude and gave great auqa-zumba/gym and yoga class lessons ! I adored her and her energy was on top. Buffet was ok. Room was bigger than we thought. Spacious and super clean. The SPA was exceptionnal. Facial massage and Turkish Hamam Ritual were amazing ! I highly recommend this hotel ! Quaity-Price value = GREAT !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Good Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little old fashioned and I would have liked something a bit more modern.

    The staff were very friendly. The location was good and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    I DO NOT RECOMMEND.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do NOT recommend going all inclusive if you have dietary requirements. Despite the hotel saying they cater for all diets, my friend and I do not eat meat, the AI food does not cater for this (only one of the 7 days we were there had a nice veggie meal option). We spoke to the manager who told us we can request food to be made for us, however the chefs refused to do so. We put in a formal complaint against the chef for his attitude towards us (as he argued with us about what vegetarians are???? He insisted they eat fish and we told him we do not. He was extremely rude to us regarding it). This then somehow resulted in us feeling very intimidated when walking through the restaurant looking at what food we could actually eat. We only ate from the side dishes which usually were just vegetables. This was NOT worth €577 EACH. In all honesty we want some of our money back but not sure how that would even happen. Just avoid this place all together if you need to eat something certain. It's not worth risking that the chefs are rude and do not cater for you.

    The waiting staff and cleaners we're lovely and did their job exceptionally.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.0
    Comfy room, the rest needs to be improved,especially service staff willingness to help!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful, the pool facilities are in need of renovation, access to beach is poor, the service was poor. Hotel staff is not helpful. Overall is way below 4* standard.

    The room was great The animation staff was creative and fun to be with

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Had a really good week staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely clean room and very friendly staff. The pools were excellent, especially the fact that there was an adult only one. Breakfast was quite good although very busy at times and therefore could be noisy. As we only had B&B this was the only meal that we experienced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Good 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness good

    After staying twice before at this hotel we found that the property is a bit tatty to what it was. The pool had quite a lot of damage which I thought could have been dangerous. The brass hand rails in the foyer could have done with a good polish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel , good family rooms. Food disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked half board. To be honest we were very disappointed with the food- also the kids didn’t want to eat it. Breakfast was average and only ate dinner there the first night and we were very disappointed. Little selection, meat wasn’t great and kinda cold. Kids didn’t like it at all. We ate out at night rest of time even though we paid for it. So would recommend the hotel but not the food .

    Family room with view was fantastic- very big, modern , clean and fantastic view. Beds were extremely comfortable and room was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice location on Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Based on Price - terrible breakfast - can’t drink tap water and no water was offered in my room - room was clean but definitely used looking - no balcony furniture - pool area looked run down - hallways smell weird I’ve stayed in much nicer hotel for half the price in Malta in a similar location.

    Nice location on Malta

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 bar in the hotel which was not very comfy and was more like a cafe bar with metal chairs. There was children’s entertainment going on every night in the bar until gone 9.00pm. The drinks offered for all inclusive were of very poor quality. Cocktails were mainly already made up and just tasted like sugar. We asked if we could have the more expensive cocktails / named spirits and pay the difference but this was refused. The gym advertised was across the road (belonging to another complex) and although we could use the indoor pool and jacuzzi we could not use their outdoor pool (which was literally a step away) without paying so after relaxing in pool and jacuzzi after using the gym, we then had to get changed and go back out into the street to get to our hotel pool. The hotel is quite large but is not been used to its best potential. Food was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast fruit juice was either watery or too strong and the coffee machine was the same. Sometimes just hot milk and had to keep asking them to fill the machine. Food was often lukewarm.

    Our room was spacious and beds comfy and clean and a good sea view, however we did pay for a deluxe room and was as pictures advertised. However, not all rooms are like the pictures as friends had a room that was very old fashioned. Cleaners always did a good job and were very accommodating when we needed our room cleaning later. Location was good for local buses and for getting around the island. Reception staff were always helpfull and security was swift when we had a problem with the safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    not a bad hotel , but avoid all inclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    average (even low) quality food in all inclusive program

    staff do their best to make you feel good clean and comfortable room big pool location just in front of the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Good but the food wasn't good, I would recommend to stay at Gozo island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant they only 2 but only one is open Breakfast lunch and dinner, itt tok restaurant you need to book. There is a bar near the pool you can get chips and burger. The food is bland and I mean bland like meals from a old age persons centre. I went all inclusive but we eat out every night. The hotel is a good b&b, 4star no 2.5 star is more like it. I wouldn't stay here again. But I still injoyed my holiday.

    The rooms was nice and cleans staff friendly but couldn't understand the English language,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Glad to get out of the hotel during our stay and happier still to be home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything! including repairs particularly of the air conditioning unit which was not working for the week we were there. Hotel tired and in a poor state of repair.

    Quality of food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    My partner and I would definitely stay here again. Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room was not very good.

    Clean hotel , staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb. Pool area was excellent. Bar staff were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Delightful hotel with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really liked the hotel - just feel that the public areas could do with a refresh.

    Clean and crisp rooms - recently refurbished. Very comfy beds and nice balconies with partial sea views. Public areas nice but a little dated. Pool area very pleasant but also a little in need of a refresh. No beach as such but you can snorkel straight off the steps below the pool area. Breakfast was excellent for a mass catering environment. Helpful staff. Well stocked tourist shop on site. Bus station 5 mins walk away. Plenty of nice bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Fine if you’re looking to camp out in one place and chill by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from a lot of the sights, no direct buses to the locations we would have liked to see.

    Fine if you’re looking to camp out in one place and chill by the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More drinks options on fully inclusive package

    Visited with family, fantastic entertainment staff, brilliant team you have, very good with my children,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Most misleading pictures ever!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We’ve just got home from a week staying here. We arrived at midnight and it was dark, not taking much in. Checked in, we paid €800 for just a room alone and nothing else. We got to the room to find we had no balcony but a tiny little prison window squeezed between hundreds of other balcony’s. We also found the window didn’t lock so had to call out a repair man before we’d even put bags down (he was rude) I cried the first night and the next morning we asked about an upgrade. They ensured us there are no available rooms with just a balcony and we’d have to pay an extra €300 for a suite (for the two of us - the only room they apparently had) - we accepted. The suite was lovely and too big for the 2 of us. Every day and night we sat on the balcony to see that every other balcony apart from 5 maybe, we’re available - we had been conned into buying the more expensive room. We chose this hotel because the pictures were stunning THIS IS SO MISLEADING!!!!!! There is a main road between the hotel and the pool which they show in NO pictures online. Sitting on the balcony felt anything but relaxing, we had to close the doors most nights as the road was so loud. A main bus stop was directly outside the hotel on the road so was forever busy. The staff were not helpful, didn’t show us any of the facilities we could use (the sauna and an indoor pool - which is also 2 min walk down the road and not on site!) the breakfast staff were rude and every time we went to sit down at a free table they told us to move to another one. The area of Qawra was loud and VERY touristy, we visited Gozo and wished we had spent the week there. We had a really bad experience and felt like no one was on our side or there to help at this hotel and felt very let down. We would not return and I would not recommend it. I wish someone had warned us about the road before we came. We spent €1100 on just the hotel and never felt so disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wearing a wrist band. Arrived on a Sunday/Mothers Day and found it hard to park as the hotel did not have its own parking. Not much you can do about that though!! The rest of the time was easy..

    Facilities. Friendly staff. Cleanliness. Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay, good location but with a few minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues with toilet constantly running water and our door didn’t lock, the hotel were quick to send staff to sort but had the problem constantly throughout our 3 day stay. If we had been staying for longer then we would have asked to move rooms.

    Breakfast was good and lots of choice. Hotel was in a great location and pool area was spacious enough for our party. Rooms were well equipped and everything needed for our stay. Fridge was an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very welcoming upon check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very hot. Even though it says AC, it did not cool off the room. Kept the balcony door open which did help some but would have been nice to walk into a cool room, not hot and stuffy.

    Staff were very welcoming upon check-in. There was a wide variety to choose from at breakfast. It was very good and filling. At check-out we had a late flight in the evening and was able to put our bags in the luggage room while we enjoyed our afternoon walking around. Overall, this was a pleasant stay and really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Arrived late from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late from the airport. Transfer was easy and check in quick. We only stayed one night so didn't make full use of the hotel but we were comfortable and ate a good breakfast the next morning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great service and nice atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would introduce room service especially for Maltese guests

    Great service and nice atmosphere! I would like to thank the management for helping my now fiancee achieving an unforgettable proposal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    2.9
    The hotel should invest more in their staff asap. They do not even know how to handle a client.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, the staff who welcomed us to give our keys are very rude. One of them was telling me I HAVE TO WEAR THIS STRANGE WRIST LABELS though I do not stay there on all inclusive basis and I said I will not..Their answer '' YOU HAVE TO'' in a very rude way..I explained I dont wanna go around with this nonsense around my wrist during my holiday and another guy replied ''ALL OTHER 900 GUESTS DO IT SO YOU HAVE TO DO''...I think the hotel management should invest in quality of staff+ quality of brteakfast+ quality of furnitures especially for their 20 years old mattress becuase it was totally in bad condition. The location is not good either..If you are going to Malta, this location is very far from everywhere so the best would be St.Julians...

    Almost nothing..They offer everything at minimum..They have huge breakfast but the quality of it is very poor. Three type of jams but none of them is like real jam. Only the photos of the hotel is fine...I only like it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    it was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is not so great because there is no sand beach near the hotel. Is great for those who want to stay at the pool. Is located near bus station and you have a lot of stores, travel agencies, restaurants and bars in the proximity.

    The room was great and the view also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Much better then expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Salt water pool

    Went for a music festival. Not the poshest part of Malta, but there are some nice restaurants around. Room was clean and comfortable, beds very comfortable and a nice place to stay. Bus stop nearby to travel to the rest of Malta.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Seashells Resort – AX Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: