Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. St Paul's Bay hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of AX Seashells Resort

Reviews of AX Seashells Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Qawra Coast Road, SPB 1902 St Paul's Bay, Malta

#6 of 25 hotels in St Paul's Bay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3321 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    This is the best hotel I ever visited from booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some small things that I didn't like were the fact that the lift took some time to arrive and the room was really hot that we had to open the window by night. We understood the problem because everything can be under maintenance some day. I can't complain about this hotel all I am saying is for the management to focus on improving what I mentioned above to satisfy customers.

    I really liked the outstanding service. The staff is always smiling and giving their best assistance. I appreciate the fact that We were given a free welcome cocktail drink which made us feel more welcome. Also, we found water and coffee for free in our room from the staff and management which was something really kind of them. There were given also discounts for another visit in the AX Seashells resort stay, a discount from the restaurant in front of the hotel and discount from the hotel Spa. The food is excellent and very good in taste and everything. We had one evening buffet and breakfast was included in our price which was also very good. The smell down the way for the pool was really nice and the jacuzzi was really relaxing. Basically, everything went well. The room was really nice and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s nothing I didn’t like

    Honestly I liked everything. The first thing I saw when I walked into the hotel was this beautiful Christmas tree, it looked amazing. The rooms were very nice, everything was super clean, the breakfast was amazing, lots of stuff to choose from, the staff was friendly and helpful, even if I had to check out at 11 am I could’ve stayed in the lounge and use facilities that day. I would definitely recommend AX Seashells Resort to anyone, you won’t be disappointed!!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    Everything! The view was spectacular, the staff was quick and nice, the food was good, the area was nice, they help you getting a taxi to take you around other areas, very clean, comfortable beds!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Small improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is plentiful. Should have a bit more quality. Bacon looks like steaks. The coffee is far from being good quality. Housekeeping woke us up every day knocking on the door....and opening it. Not everyone staying here is english.

    Great facilities. Check in agent, Darren was very professional and friendly. Very clean and functional facilities. Room is perfect. Bathroom is awesome. Great quality.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food not the best, nor the wine. There should be a bit more variety for breakfast too. No parking available and it can be hard to find a space on the road. They charge for the sauna access. About the Island (s), do not take the cruise to Santa Maria bay, it is worthless, like an abandoned and ghost town. Don't expect low prices, just normal, but definitely not cheap - generally speaking.

    Most of the staff is serviceable, the hotel it's in a nice spot - good location (main road), it has a nice pool area. Nice and spacious sitting area. I has its own shop inside. Requests are attended fairly quick.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.9
    Overall good hotel, which I recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have appreciated a bigger window in the room.

    Overall nice hotel. Rooms are also modern and good looking. Breakfast was also good, good choice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    The rooms are very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To use the hotel indoor pool you have to cross the road outside; it is not pleasant to get out of a nice warm pool and then cross the road in the rain or cold!

    The rooms are very clean and spacious. The staff is very nice especially the Coral cove restaurant staff; the service is excellent! There is a large variety of food in the buffet, the food is fresh and continuously topped up!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    9.2
    I loved bed it was so comfortable and i do recommend spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What I didn’t like was being hurried away at 10:30 breakfast time I mean it is still half an hour which is plenty but table were being laid And getting ready for lunch that was rather annoying and not enough milk ,mugs ,spoons

    I loved bed it was so comfortable and i do recommend spa treatments at the spa

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for miney
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Indoor pool is across the road from the seashell hotel, shared with sunny beach hotel - their sister hotel. Was not made aware by reception that there is a 2euro charge for towels and need to leave a deposit

    Good size clean rooms, great choice for breakfast and entertainment in the bar

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.8
    The food was amazing, the staff were so helpful the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the location wasn't great as there wasn't alit to do around us.... At this time of year November there was a very much older crowd

    The food was amazing, the staff were so helpful the accomadation cleaners were lovely and did a great job tidying the room everyday. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.9
    Location was fantastic, 10mins from bus terminals and Bugiba...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't usually rate places I stay in as there is nothing negative to say however, there were a few disappointing aspects to the stay. When you first walk into the hotel it is very very grand and nice however, when you walk through it there is the smell of "oldness" and "mold" throughout it. The sheets and towels smelled like vinegar which was very unusual. The indoor pool and gym are no where "indoor" and is part of a third party spa down the road. The indoor pool is so so sooo much smaller than you're led to believe and the smell in it is very unpleasant and lingered on my bathing suit. The "Adult only" pool was empty and full of dirt. The sunbeds were quite old and very uncomfortable. No room service (which isn't a major issue for me personally but I was led to believe there was on their description).

    Location was fantastic, 10mins from bus terminals and Bugiba centre. Staff were very friendly. The breakfast was very good, had many options. Bus stop is across the road. Room was very spacious with amazing sea views from the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.8
    Good food selection for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a leak in the first room and the sliding door would not close properly. We were switched but the second room did not have a bath although we had requested it due to having young children to bath. one member of staff Darren and his manager were very helpful, the cleaning maids too. The other reception staff were not Andy a mistake was made in he payment which meant I had to pay the remainder at the end of the holiday. Gym was not in property instead a 5 minutes walk away. Indoor Swimming pool at the gym was not allowing kids in the mornings at weekends. We had to pay 2euros for towel hire.

    Good food selection for breakfast. Room service were clean and good view Of the sea with

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    Not a bad place at all, a nice location, especially at this time of the year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slippers would have been nice.

    Yes the croissants were very good. The bacon did not look very good. No Maltese bread for breakfast. There was not 1 person that spoke Maltese in the hotel. Did not look very Maltese at all. Shame. The place was very clean, but I did not find the bed very comfy, sorry to say. The area was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    This was our 7th time here and it was relaxing as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was nice and clean. Breakfast was superb and lots of variety at Dinner complimenting with wine , beer ,soft drinks ,coffee and many types of desserts.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.8
    WE HAD AN ENJOYABLE TIME THAT WAS VALUE FOR MONEY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    THE BUFFET STYLE RESTAURANT WASN'T OF A FOUR STAR STANDARD, SOME FOOD WAS COLD, & THE OVERALL AMBIENCE & COMFORT OF BOTH THE RESTAURANT & BAR DIDN'T LIVE UP TO EXPECTATIONS.

    THE STAFF, FROM CLEANERS UPWARDS WERE ALL VERY WELCOMING.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.1
    Not a high class stay but quite relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms have been refurbished but the rest of the hotel needs a refurbish too. The indoor pool was disappointing. You have to go out of the hotel and walk 150 meters to go there and with the bad weather we could not go.

    The rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.4
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cockroches in the room (spotted 4, cleaning guy killed 3 for us). They couldnt find our reseservation, very inefficiënt check in. Beds not properly made, worn down room, definitely didnt look like the pictures.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.1
    Cheap, clean, nice view, spa was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complementary water, u pay for water!, u have to pay if u want to see tv, free wifi not good and u pay to get a good wifi! This hotel is cheap but in the other hand u need to pay for each service! I didn’t find the gym! No signs at all! I was shocked because no one of the reception told me that there is a gym and where to find it!! I am not happy with the service. No one to help u with ur luggage!

    Cheap, clean, nice view, spa was amazing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.6
    Nice and clean hotel good and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are everybody different. For me was everything perfect. Just maybe hotel little bit confused with pool you need to walk on the ground and other side road.

    Very good location a lot of pubs and restaurants for eat and shops

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The indoor pool is only for children. Very small and hot. Bus station directly in front of the hotel but public transport sucks. Such a small country but it can take an hour or even more to reach distances of about 10 km (Sliema, Valetta, Mdina, airport ...). Traffic is really bad. Cleanliness of Malta in general.

    Very reach breakfast selection. Room was clean and comfortable. Location is fair, at least for Malta. It is very noisy, bad beaches, a lot of concrete in the centre of Malta (Valetta, Sliema). Here is much quieter and more pleasant. Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.5
    Great pool, big room, nice staff.. and some inconveniences
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was impossible to get wifi suitable for working , even when I paid extra. Malta is the only country so far where I could not even use my home internet, it was banned; this is weird. When the bar was closed (some day until 5 pm), it was impossible to get a normal quality espresso. The breakfast did not serve water, I missed it a lot. What completely disappointed me was that however hard I tried, the hotel staff did not understand that as my costs are reimbursed, I need an invoice about everything I paid. First, they withdrew 550 euros from my bank account, then I paid 40 euros in cash, and they only wrote 582,50 on the total bill. Not that 8 euros.. but the unaccetable inaccuracy in accounting. I talked to two differet ladies at the reception and they could not solve this very simple mathematics. There were ants in the bathroom. The staff cleaned it immeditely but the ants were back a day later.

    The outdoor pool was open even in the second of November, I enjoyed it a lot. Breakfast was a wide variety. The balcony looked over the sea. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Most of the staff were very kind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Was nice, I'd advice to refresh swimming pool area and introduce more attractions for adults at envg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - still don't know where the indoor swimming pool is, - not fortunate location next to busy street, - quite difficult to park car - no parking provided,

    - personel, - rooms - cleanliness and comfort - moderate equipment, - personel at outdoor swimming pool, - breakfast was tasty ( mostly in English style )

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.6
    Good Hotel with amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast quality is unfortunately very poor. In high seasilon or weekends the food serves over 200 rooms, therefore the quantity will chosen rather then quality..you will never believe me but all juices tasted every single day like plein water! The beds are to soft for my standards but they are very large and the room was very clean

    The hotel is very well located and the bus stop to Valletta and sourrandings ist just across the street. The room is spacious with a large balcony. All in all very good experience

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    4.2
    Terrible standard throughout,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All inclusive bar was shocking ! The bistro bar pictured should have been included - this is false advertising and I want my money back!! Whilst the maids made the bed the sheets were never changed!!

    The bistro bar “cheeky monkey” pictured on booking .com was not included in the all inclusive! This hotel is definitely not 4 star - maybe it was in 1987!! Felt like we lost our money

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    A bit worn out luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Public areas need renovation, outdoor pool not clean enough, indoor pool 150 m from the hotel in a spa, water very chlorinated

    Soundproof, good sleep, renovated nice rooms

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, bus stop right in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dinner and lunch were not very good. Fitnes and indoor pool are not in the hotel (you have to go out and walk 150m down the street to get to them).

    Nice location, bus stop right in front of the hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    6.7
    Oaky
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just big hotel. Reception was always busy. They have a lot of customers but reception staffs were only one or two people. We had to wait for long time. After clean up our room, there was only already used two rolls of toilet paper for two of us. We are women. We could not believe this situation.

    Location. Restaurant staffs were kind.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    5.8
    Good location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon did not work. Rooms were very noisy. Breakfast area ran out of coffee and cups, which were not fixed quickly. Did not feel as safe as I have felt in other places.

    Good location and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    Everything the all inclusive was amazing food was for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet noisy and fridge not working

    Everything the all inclusive was amazing food was for everyone tastes and really nice service from staff also so friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    4.6
    The 2-room family room was clean and bright and had a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor looked rather tired and dated. Low quality breakfast, We found several weavels in my son's bowl of rice pops! The booking on this site stated the room has 1 double and 2 single beds but the actual room 1 double and sofa bed. We were told this could not be changed so the kids had to share. The hotel agreed to change the double quilt for 2 single quilts. Despite us reminding them 3 times, it never happened and we gave up asking. The bright blue free drink on the first evening was a welcome gesture but tasted awful and did not give a good first impression.

    The 2-room family room was clean and bright and had a large balcony with good sea views.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall, interior and furniture need renovation. They look outdated. Perhaps it was the wing we stayed

    Staff did their best to keep up the cleanliness. Very helpful staff. When we requested to change to quieter rooms, they did their best to find a solution, which made a huge difference to our experience. Well done and thank you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.2
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would look out for AX hotels in other countries I wish to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lounge area looked like a waiting room, too austere. The groundfloor bar was understaffed and downmarket compared to the rest of the hotel.

    Excellent buffet both breakfast and dinner. Helpfull friendly staff, at the desk, in the restaurant and servicing the rooms. Very comfortable/supportive mattress and cover.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed everything except the ambassador lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The drinks at the ambassador lounge were poor quality, the beer and the cocktails. We were all inclusive and not having mojito or ice tea included in that was annoying as they were only a tiny bit dearer on the menu. The packed lunch on days we missed the buffet was a great idea but not worth it. The fruit was poor quality and the sandwich was awful with no choices available. With the huge range of food at the buffet I expected better in the packed lunch although it was still nice of them to offer that option.

    The range of food at the buffet was outstanding. Something for everyone and always plenty there. Staff were extremely helpful. Having 2 pools was great especially having an adults only pool. Room was nice and clean. Bus stop outside the door was handy. Also having the it tok restaurant was a nice change for a day or 2.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel for a short stay in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have appreciate if the check in was faster. There is always a lot of people waiting at the reception. Hard just to ask a little question to the staff.

    The staff at the reception was ok but not very efficient. The room was clean, the bed confortable. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast offered a large choice of food. There is a lot of restaurants near the hotel, one especially for young chidren (our son is 2 years old). We tried the spa and this was very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    4.6
    Great need to be totally refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a 4 star hotel... even some 3 stars have better standards. To access the indoor pool you have to go out into a sister hotel which is too small anyways. Breakfast is awful; not fresh apart from the desserts section.

    Not much to say apart from that the room got refurbished and have a fresh look. But the rest is not. Water everywhere with towels on the floor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    4.6
    Expensive and best days were last seen in 1988
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool side area is run down, photos clearly old. Sunbeds now beige and stained with mould. Rails on pool fence rusted and wrapped in mouly beige shade cloth. Interior seems stuck in the 80s with yellow brass everywhere. Room itself ok but light outside bathroom was broken, tiny towels but clean. Fridge couldnt even cool a 375ml bottle of water overnight. Bathroom surfaces would be deadly for elderly as very slippery when wet. Also lots of stairs so wouldn't recommend for those with added accessibility needs. Activities staff couldnt book me basic activites/tours and told me the wrong time for shuttle pick up and then I was treated like an idiot by reception staff who wouldn't take responsibility for the error. Expensive for what it was. Its best days were clearly last seen in 1988

    Restaurant staff lovely. Food good but house wine on tap in restaurant is awful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.5
    They fulfilled our special requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was basic, the meats had bad flavor, it is the same every day. They never sent anything to the room when asked, we had to go and get the items from reception.

    They fulfilled our special requests.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.1
    The room was good, spacious and clean, the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Take beach towels with you, because you have to pay 2€ + 10€(security deposit) to get one, which it was a first in a resort. At the check-in there was no guidance whatsoever on the facilities, we had to ask where the pool was, which bars and restaurants were applicable to all inclusive.

    The room was good, spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable. The food at the main restaurant had plenty of options and it was good. It has entertainment at night at the outside bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.5
    Bit outdated property, but overall nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food wasn't mind blowing at dinner, the gym is not within the same building, but a short walk from the hotel. My room was spacious but the window was quite small and felt a bit claustrophobic.

    Good location, there isa bus stop right in front of the property for local buses and hop on hop off tours, staff was helpful, room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.7
    Very disapointing and nothing like the glowing descriptions given on line. Inadequate facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was predominately occupied by people on package tours with halfboard and all inclusive packages. With approximately 500 rooms this resulted in a very large turnover at meal times. Staff were under pressure to move you through the single dining room as quickly as possible and plates were removed the moment you put down your cutlery while other people at the table were still eating. I would not expect this in a 4 star hotel. When on holiday one of the pleasures is to eat in nice surroundings with the chance to rest between courses and engage in conversation. This was not possible at Sea Shells Resort. The bar and lounge areas were also very limited and totally inadequate. The single bar in the main building lacked any ambiance and had space for less than 50 people sitting on hard plastic chairs. The outside bar was unusable on cooler evenings. With a few exceptions the surrounding area was very poor for eating out. No beaches and very few facilities for children. If you enjoy good coffee you should definitely give this hotel a miss. Hot drinks come from automatic machines where it is difficult to tell the difference between coffee and chocolate - usually a mix of both!

    The staff were friendly and the delux room was good with a sea view but expensive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds are awful, I asked for a double and got 2 singles. Breakfast is very bland.

    Great value for money, location is good restaurant across the road does amazing steak. Cheap alcohol and a decent bar. Can do water sports across the road. Hotel is a bit dated but clean and tidy. I would recommend the sea view.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable room with good facilities &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main bar area in hotel was not very welcoming in terms of decor tables & seating maybe to put off the all inclusive guests from spending too much time in there! Also I got the feeling that this is primarily a Saga Holidays lead hotel.

    Great location, comfortable room with good facilities & a really nice pool area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.0
    An amazingly fantastic hotel - it's got what it takes ::))
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for room service but wasn't available - No drinking water in room although there were Tea/Coffee facilities in the room. otherwise everything was perfect!

    An extremely warm welcome at reception by a great and very sweet Spanish lady who's English is perfect - her customer service is excellent - she is definitely an asset to the Hotel. She makes you feel at home from the minute you check in::)) My apologies I'm not good with names I forgot her name::(( Room was great, very clean - we will definitely go back for a much longer stay!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    5.4
    Location of the hotel is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel in general was not particularly clean. The windows in the restaurant and lobby area looked like as if they were not cleaned for ages. The room was not that clean either. The wifi in the room was really bad. In public areas it was ok. The breakfast buffet is ok/basic but the same everyday. Long waiting time in reception. The balcony of the room with party sea view is too close to the next hotel, so that it wasn't really relaxing sitting there. As non-smokers we had no use for the balcony for that reason.

    Location of the hotel is very good. There are lots of restaurants nearby. And most of the bus lines in all directions drive from/to hotel. One bus stop is directly in front of the hotel. Another one 500 m. away. There is an extra pool for adults only which is away from the animators and children

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    3.8
    The bedroom was nice and new and modern and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very shabby and run down in places. Bar area very uncomfortable and crowded and only 1 bar person serving. Pool area run down. The sun loungers very worn and uncomfortable.

    The bedroom was nice and new and modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Loved it, great place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very large. The queue for the bar was quite long at times as you had people staying on different board basis.

    Good location. Handy for buses to get around. Excellent facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel for Malta holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee could be better, a really professional espresso machine is only in bar by adults pool and espresso will be charged extra by all-in (but it was occasion to try other bars nearby).

    Good location aside from the busy area around Valletta. Bus station directly in front of the hotel and very good connection to other parts of Malta if you want travel around. The hotel has been renovated recently. We appreciated especially large comfortable beds. One pool is "adults only" and therefore very quiet. Delicious and extensive buffet with a lot of vegetable, fish and seafood.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    I was youngest guest... 45 :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no fresh juices for breakfast, just chemical coloured water....too strict pool-bar ladie - ''no room card no service'' :-( ....like soviet styled police - trust missing

    stuff is good, hotel is clean, breakfast have options for people allergic on gluten, kaseine, lactosis, albumin...everybody can find something, what is good. surrounding area offering restaurants and shops,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel nice staff shame about the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a tremendous choice of food but fish did seem to be in short demand and being in Malta i expected more.

    The room was excellent although we had a small problem with the shower that was fixed after talking to the reception on two occasions. The shower tray was obviously fitted the wrong way round and the water from the shower just flooded the bathroom. after the second day the maintenance attached a lip on the open space and this stopped the water escaping. I was amazed that nobody prior to our stay had not reported it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.3
    Thought it was better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sauna hours are only from 15:00 - 18:00hrs. Pool was dirty. Check in at 3pm, room wasn't ready at 2.55pm but after 3pm. Deposit for pool towels which is ok but was surprised to have to pay (2 Eur each) for their laundry. Requested a double bed, got twin beds pushed next to each other (not attached either). Very few channels on TV that actually work. Dirty floor and stained curtains.

    Comfortable bed. Good hammam.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    Not worth the all inclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had all inclusive, I can genuinely say the drinks were terrible. So what me and my partner did was buy drinks from supermarket etc. They need to seriously clean their beer lines!

    The floor staff in the dining area and cleaning staff were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    5.0
    The room was big enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The worst thing was the hotel photos I saw on booking.com was not the hotel at all. The photos show a very modern and new hotel where as the truth wasn’t just like photos.

    The room was big enough. Elevators was always in access. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was excellent but it was a bit on the pricey side for our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thought some of the staff at the pool side bar where very rude... one member in perticlur was giving out to a younger member of staff in front of customers ..this I find unacceptable..

    Everything else was very good although we thought it a bit on the pricey side for out stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast onsite was great, providing lots of options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although there was an indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room available off-site which closed at 9pm, the pool onsite closed at 6pm.

    Breakfast onsite was great, providing lots of options! Parking near the hotel wasn’t a problem during the day and there were various restaurants both associated and not associated with the hotel that were very close and within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfasts are exactly the same every day, the purchased items (like sausages) were not tasty while croissants were excellent. Too many TV channels didn't work, we found children channels only in Arabic. We were very surprised to see no safety guard in the pool and sea bank.

    The room was excellent - large, clean, very well equipped, good facilities. The staff is very friendly and polite. The dinners were very good, the dishes cooked by the chief were very tasty, the choice was wide and different every evening. One small technical problem in my room was resolved immediately.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    4.6
    Nothing good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive!!! The food is terrible, specially a diner. There is no beach. They charge extra for the pool towels (!!!). Unbelievable! It is defiantly no a 4 star hotel.

    Nothing good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.1
    I recommend this place for seniors, for our parents it would be a perfect stay (we are age 30 ).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar, Common spaces look very old, Value for money, location and atmosphere suitable for seniors or families with small children, few entertainments or attractions for young couples; the personal from the main restaurant were people from all around the globe, they were really nice and kind persons but they all looked so tired and their clothes were poor - I think they all deserve more respect or attention for they needs from the HR Management; there are no photos of the lobby and reception that reflect the real aspect of them (It was not a good first impression when we entered the hotel)

    Friendly personal - we were impressed especially by the personal of the restaurant , Room, Cleanliness, Toilets, Adults pool, Variety of food, bus station in proximity, nice spots for snorkeling around, climatisation in room was efficient and silentious, souvenirs shop with good prices in direct link with hotel - also you can buy bus tickets from there, opportunity to eat traditional food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    5.0
    The beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower (very poor pressure), the sunbeds (dirty), the ground around the pool (dirty), the pool bar (miserable food and poor staff manners)

    The beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    The perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect location, the bus stop is just across the street where it passes direct buses to all main cities. Great food service, buffet and prepared lunch for when you are not at the hotel during the day. Swimming pool with several activities and animation. Pool for only adults. Private beach. Interior pool and jacuzzi. Night shows. Possibility to stay at the hotel on the day of check-out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.2
    Staff and food and room and bed and pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy air conditioning entertainment gear up for the young and family. Needs a quiet outside area for seniors and entertainment for seniors to

    Staff and food and room and bed and pool area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.8
    A homelike stay in Malta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaning staff is not that satisfactory. We lived here for 6 nights and we asked 2 times for cleaning. For the first time, the cleaning staff forgot to take the sanitary bag from the bathroom and there is a small piece of paper left on the floor. For the second time, it was Sunday, and we hang the ' Please clean the room' plate out of the door before we went out for the breakfast. But when we came back, it was still not be cleaned. And finally, we have to call the front desk to ask them to send someone to clean the room. Then our room was cleaned. But it is okay in total.

    The location is perfect. And the staff is helpful and friendly. we live in a suite and the soundproof is great there. Also, the sea view is fantastic, and everyday morning when I open my eyes I can enjoy the sea view. And I like the bed there, it is comfortable. And it is really sweet that the management team gave me a bottle of wine and three apples on my birthday:) BTW, the rabbit in Red Coral Restaurant is delicious. You must try that!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed it & relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That the pools were far for my disabled husband who can barely walk a little distance.

    The buffet was very good & sumptious. Service very efficient. All the staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    4.6
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude receptionist, rooms ok but very basic and we never got a balcony. Pool etc needs cleaned better, tiles slippy and almost algae feeling around pool. Night time entertainment terrible.

    Comfortable bed. Breakfast selection good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked hotel to provide us with extra bed for our 2 year old and they went an extra mile and provided us with a family room with two connecting rooms. Thanks for makings us so comfortable at no extra charge. Breakfast was really good as well. Slide at the pool was entertaining for both my son and my husband

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    5.0
    We can't recommend this hotel for other people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Pool was in really bad shape! The water looked somehow infectious and was really cloudy. It needs to be renovated urgently. Alongside the pool there were lots of rusty poles, the tiles were crooked and it looked like it should have been renewed a couple of years ago. And then there was really loud music. For those reasons we didn't use the pool as often as we had planned and went to a beach instead. We choose the hotel because it was approx. 200€ per week cheaper than Radisson or Hilton. In retrospect after we paid additional for fast internet, pool towels, late checkout and so on we should have taken one of the above mentioned. The lobby looked like built in the 80's and hasn't been renovated since.

    Clean rooms which were quite new. Good bed and a very clean bathroom. Busstop right across the street. The cleaning crew was very helpful and did a hell of a job cleaning the rooms. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I enjoyed everything.

    Very good location, near public transports, small shops and convenience stores. Rock beach is 5 min walking. Hotel is very clean, comfortable, organised. Staff were helpful and nice. Food was good. Pool and pool areas were great and very clean. Nice views from the hotel restaurant, bars, pool, and most of the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.0
    The hotel didn't meet my expectation and I wouldn't be using them again. it is not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately the air condition, Wifi and TV in our rooms were not working, my wife and I reported few times to the reception and nobody bothered to take a look, eventually we gave up and live with for 6 nights. The food, pool are all good and environment is clean, but didn't meet my expectation and I wouldn't be using them again. it is not value for money.

    The food, pool, gym,spa are all good and environment is clean, but didn't meet my expectation and I wouldn't be using them again. it is not value for money. loads of problem with air condition, Wifi and TV.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.6
    Had a very enjoyable stay August 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was very good, Staff very friendly and hard working, Separate adults only pool areas is available if you need more peace and quiet, Excellent location for bars, restraints and transports

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.6
    Family place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air-conditioning in restaurant not good enough Ate at Luzzu restaurant imagined we would have a discount if we would dine there Pool bar should have a wider choice of food available not close till 3 Travelling with a toddler would have been comfortable if pool bar had a microwave Ohhhh and the Cappuccino from the machine I'm sure you can do better from other vendors

    Kids entertainment Staff go out of their way to accommodate us Good choice for gluten free food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    5.0
    This is at best a 3 star + hotel, I would not call it a 4-star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room fan-coil was extremely loud so we could not leave the AC on during the night which made us uncomfortable because of the heat (we visited Malta in August 2018 and it was quite hot). The bathroom fan did not work. We had asked for a queen or king bed but got twin beds. There was not enough water flow at the bathroom sink. For a 4-star hotel this venue lacked some important facilities which normally come as standard not as extra-cost: bathrobes and slippers in the room, a more consistent cosmetics kit in the bathroom (there were no body lotion and vanity kit), no shoe cleaning kit, no facility for washing off sand at the entrance in the hotel, the minibar was empty (not even water in it and Malta can be really hot). The cleaning was not done very well and the sheets were never changed during our 7 nights stay.

    The breakfast was good and provided sufficient variety for a week's stay. We had a partial sea-view room which provided a very nice view of the bay. The bus station is conveniently located just in front of the hotel which is great, given that the bus is the only transportation means available in Malta if you do not want to go around by taxi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    6.3
    Nice rooms and food, inadequate airconditioning, filthy falling apart pool area/loungers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The pool area is very dirty. Litter is collected but no major hosing or scrubbing down of the sun lounger seating areas which means many areas you walk with no shoes on are now black. Cracked tiles around and leading into the pool. Dirty, saggy, well worn uncomfortable sun loungers. Do not be fooled by the glossy poolside pictures on the website, it doesn't look like that in reality. Structural damage to an outside pool area which is screened off behind green plastic style screening. Saltwater pools. No lifeguard for the Water Slide so there were kids going down in a standing up position then hurting themselves. Poor and extremely noisy air conditioning which was inadequate for the heat of Malta in a large family room.

    We liked the newly renovated rooms which look like they are on the website. The food is very good for mass catering European standards but needs more salt in the mass catered dishes. Excellent quality bacon for breakfast. Always food options throughout the day and evening. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Worth booking a Sea View room for the view right onto the sea. Good bus routes directly outside the hotel. The adult pool is far nicer than the family pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.8
    Nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Out of six lifts only one or two worked properly so we often took the stairs as one often had to wait and the lift would be full when it finally arrived.

    Nice clean rooms. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.5
    Next to the sea Quiet location plenty to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room air conditioning was noisy. Not enough deck chairs by pool not all lifts were working at peak times

    Next to the sea Quiet location plenty to eat. Accessible to the rest of the island entertainment staff brilliant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    We will be coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was amazing, a massive buffet (biggest one I’ve ever been to) with great choice. Food cooked perfectly, kept hot and fresh (regularly changed- eggs cooked in front of you). Everything you can think of such great variety/ something for everyone. The location was also fantastic - very accessible to all tourist destinations (bus station opposite) and companies nearby. Hotel can arrange for you and the staff were very helpful to all our questions. We didn’t know how to work the telly (was unplugged) and someone came straight away to help! Was relaxing, not too overcrowded but had a buzz to it- was perfect. There were great facilities we barely had to leave the hotel as it had its own shop, bars, restaurants (yes more than one), pools, games, entertainment and spa. The pools were beautiful one for adults only and one for children with slide. The sea with water couldn’t ask for anymore in a hotel. It made the perfect holiday! Would recommend to anyone any age, family , friends or couples!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable and pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The entertainment was not particularly great. It was better at the hotel down the road so we ended up going there most nights! The lifts were also really slow and most of them didn't seem to work.

    Breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice and all the food seemed to be freshly made and topped up as soon as things had run out. We were pleasantly surprised about this and the chocolate croissants were definitely a crowd pleaser! The hotel was really clean, rooms were basic but clean. Any problems we had (electricity tripped one night) they came and sorted it out straight away. Enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse AX Seashells Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: