Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunny Coast Resort & Spa- AX Hotels 4 stars

Qawra Bay, SPB1981 St Paul's Bay, Malta

#41 of 90 hotels in St Paul's Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1491 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Close to the sea as well as to all bars, pubs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No drinking water in rooms and the whole hotel Cleaning service: towels were not changed and they were not 100% clean; shower gel was not refilled every day

    Close to the sea as well as to all bars, pubs and restaurants View from the balcony Size of the room (bedroom and large "living room" with a balcony Good transportation options to other locations (bus stop just next to the hotel)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel like we paid a lot of money for what we actually got. We expected a fancy hotel and it didn't live up to our expectations so we were disappointed. The reception to the hotel was lovely but our room felt like it belonged to a different hotel - it didn't flow. Didnt like that people who weren't staying in the hotel could use the pool facilities; it didn't feel private.

    The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, relaxing and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room If looking for nightlife (nightclubs) you need to get a taxi to st Julian’s (25€ each way)

    Great facilities, pool side bar food is very good, right on the sea, excellent for water sports

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    3.3
    Not for young couples! Pool open to public also
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Came here for a week with my boyfriend in August. The room was total false advertisement, as was the pool. The pool is open to the public and FULL with all the local kids etc barley any room left and not peaceful at all - also the pool and Jacuzzi are salt water? Our balcony view looked out onto roughly 3 old abandoned hotels and was pretty unpleasant, asked to be moved and were told it would cost an extra £240pp. The room facilities were basic, we didn't have a bath plug, the tele didn't work ( after numerous attempts for them to fix it ) the balcony door didn't close properly, also the air con is situated directly above the bed and is extremely loud so if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs because its hard to get any sleep if not. Overall the hotel was not worth the money and I would strongly discourage young couples to go here.

    It was walking distance to some nice places to eat and a bus stop right outside so you could get out!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location for restaurants and sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was in a good location near restaurants and the bus so you can go to Gozo on the 221. Room was very big and has a kitchenette. Staff were very helpful providing directions and bus information.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    The bar and restaurant manager Ben was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool advertised on the website actually is a public pool which was completely disappointing. The photos were part of the reason we booked our accommodation. Instead the pool was overrun with screaming unsupervised children and far from relaxing. The air conditioners were loud and took 3 days to finally cool the rooms.

    The bar and restaurant manager Ben was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Well equipped kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Even though we paid the extra 100 Euros for the seaside view, we got a balcony that looked over the entrance and the parking lot, rather than the sea itself. During our 1-week stay, the toilet wasn’t cleaned, not even once. In addition, a cockroach came to visit us at one time. The hotel staff was impolite in general (except for Kenneth, a proper gentleman), they were always moody, had a hard time to return our greetings, etc. Nothing major, yet noticeable. I think we wouldn’t even consider adding this part if it wasn’t for a particular hostess. On our last day she simply refused to take our orders, even though we let her know multiple times that we are ready to order. We found this really rude as the bar had no other guests. We wanted to have one last cup of coffee before our flight, but we had to pick another place due to this. All in all Malta was fantastic, the hotel itself was completely fine, the services abundant and some great places to eat. If the sub-par attitude of waiting staff does not bother you, definitely give this place a try.

    Well equipped kitchen. Indoor and outdoor pools in 1 minute walking distance, clean and well maintained. The sea could be accessed through the spa.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    View from the balcony was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Air conditioning was noisy, but it was too hot not to have it on. None of the balcony door latched - thankfully we were on the 4th floor so not a problem.

    View from the balcony was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better for us as a family if we were allowed for a breakfast. The swimming pool opposite the apartments looked bigger in the site, than in real.We asked at the reception to print us 5 pages(our boarding passes) and they charged us €2 for each page!!!

    The location was great!! It was near to almost everything we wanted to visit!!! The staff was very friendly!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Fabulous holiday, hotel in great location. Amazing variety of activities, very accessible from hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated. Our room looked out onto a huge tree and generator. The a/c was very noisy and not very effective. Window in the kitchen area and bathroom did not close. Basic cleaning each day. Hotel did not match up to photos. Hotel food was basic, but cheap.

    Location was good for buses etc. Room was quiet. We had access to spa and swim area across the road. Staff were friendly. Cooking facilities in the room were good. Shower was powerful. Beds were very comfortable. Close proximity to shops bars, restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    3.8
    Before seeing the room we were asked to pay the bill which I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before seeing the room we were asked to pay the bill which I haven’t done before. I wish I hadn’t because the room I had selected was not a sea view and normally in any other hotel this has never been a problem but this time we had the air conditioning unit for the entire hotel (91 rooms) right outside our room. In 7 days damp was spreading across the ceilings in both bedrooms and the lounge. We were offered a bottle of wine and nothing more as compensation because because this was ‘so very unusual’ and there were no rooms to move us to apparently. The pics available on booking.com are for sea view rooms and the recently renovated rooms. Ours was awful and was not worth £2600 for 10 days. Both my boys, one who has been diagnosed as asthmatic last winter developed a cough and cold like symptoms and I’m convinced it’s because of the massive air conditioning unit outside his balcony and the damp within the apartment. We will never ever go there again. The pool is also not private and is open to the Maltese public which makes it loud, crowded and permanently busy. They pay a daily rate to use the facilities which they do in their droves. An otherwise good holiday because we went out of our way to entertain our sons away from the hotel until our youngest fell ill. Such a disappointing hotel. I would give it 2/3 stars only.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children complained that the outside pool was saltier than the sea.

    Everything! The staff were wonderful! Before I even arrived they let me change the dates at no extra charge, and sent a taxi driver with our names on a card who waited while we searched the airport for my daughter's phone, although the plane was already an hour late! We has a 6th floor room with a sea view in a 2 bed apartment for the 4 of us. I asked for twin beds so my son and daughter didn't have to share, but they'd run out, so instead they turned the sofa into a massive double bed, and who wants to sit on a sofa when you could be on the balcony?!! Our air con worked perfectly, and you could set each room individually, so there were no arguments! We had plenty of space on the balcony for the 4 of us to eat and relax. The beds were made, the towels changed, the floors swept and the bins emptied every day by very courteous staff who were willing to come back at a more convenient time if necessary. We could also see the pool area, so we could choose our time to go down, although there were always sunbeds available, and plenty more on the "beach" if you'd wanted one. Just note the private beach is concrete with a swimming pool type ladder into the sea. The snorkeling is good, and there's a buoyed off area to swim in. The indoor pool had restricted times for children so it was quiet in the evenings and played classical music gently - most relaxing at the end of the day! There were loads of good restaurants next door, but we had no noise issues. Everything seemed to stop at 11 so it was easy to sleep. There were little shops and places to book trips across the road , but it was worth walking to Trolle for a bigger supermarket with UK brands! Not sure if Malta is always like this, or it's just not the place to go in August, but it was almost too quiet and everywhere seemed dead. Even in the Mdina we were almost the only people! Only Golden Sands beach was heaving!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good beach club, great for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air-conditioning was just ok. It didn't cool down the apartment as much as we would have liked, but it worked. The cleaning staff was not always very punctual and missed one day altogether during our one week stay. Not a big deal, but definitely something that could be improved.

    Staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. The beach club where the swimming pool is located was excellent as well, providing hours of entertainment for our 2 year old son. Great dive center as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent property. Location was perfect and the pool overlooking the sea was beautiful. We will definitely return here and I have recommend the hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    A good short stay with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a room on the 1st floor which meant you heard lots of noise from rooms above like moving furniture around on tiled floors and balcony , slamming doors, and general loud footsteps from other guests, which meant you were disturbed a lot during sleep times ,which even made you JUMP it was that loud!! Would also have been nice to have a welcome pack in your room upon your arrival , like milk,water,bread,fruit etc.

    Good standard self accommodation especially for young families, clean rooms with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Clean but little dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont think that should be 4* hotel. Rooms need refreshment and renovation. Same as elevator. Locacion not fantastic. Breakfasts should be more local than only English.

    Personel was helpfull and friendly. Very clean and tidy rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By far the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. The room was appalling, Air con was very poor - no more than a hand held fan so room was constantly warm (33degrees outside) Brown water came out of the shower on first day. There was Worms in the toilet in the room. Left over bread on the balcony View from the balcony was of 2 builders at 6.30 am Light fixtures in both rooms were broken Complained to reception and manager and although they tried to solve these problems it was a half hearted effort and same problems arose after 24 hours! Also the pool area was open to the public which made of very very busy on weekends

    The pool area (although a walk across the street) was very nice. Lillian on reception was extremely helpful. The 2 ladies working in the restaurant were also very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a clean and modern hotel with everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con is quite loud at night

    This is the second time we have stayed at the property, the facilities are excellent, views are outstanding and it is close to everything we needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay. Good location. lovely hotel. helpful staff. great pool. we will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Car Parking is a pain (same all over Malta). Old fashioned maybe but I don't like tourists walking wet/barefoot & bare chested in the hotel - bit tacky

    Excellent location. great for swimming in the sea -lovely pool & gym. very friendly helpful staff. Great restaurants within walking distance. several good small shops & supermarkets within walking distance. hotel lent us a wheelchair for my disabled mum at no charge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Lovely resort great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not about the property but it was too hot. We wouldn’t go back end of June/July rather September maybe

    Our apartment was very spacious, beds were comfortable bedding nice. The kitchen bit was modern, staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Pool was great always free chairs etc the cafe bit at the restaurant was alright too. We used the gym which was also modern and the indoor pool was great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    10 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont think there was anything tbh

    I liked the friendlyness of the staff loved the rooms we had a nice view of the sea great little kitchen area and fridge in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The side of the apartment faced the road but sound proofing was excellent and you couldn't hear a thing from inside

    We were very lucky to stay in room 100 - a newly renovated 2 bed apartment. The room was beautiful - wooden floors with comfy rugs, a double with ensuite, a twin room and then a gorgeous open plan living room/kitchen/diner all with lovely white wooden furniture. Everything was spotless (and cleaned every day), light and airy. Sea view from the balcony was nice. Manager worked tirelessly but was always cheerful and friendly. All staff were excellent. Pool area lovely, kids loved it (inflatables were fine), pool bar - lovely, ice cold wine for 2 euros a glass and food was gorgeous. Near to bars and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist on checkout was not interested in if we had enjoyed our stay and that the communal toilet in the bar area was blocked as someone cannot flush a toilet and the receptionist wasn't bothered what I was telling her about getting it cleaned.

    How the swimming pool and gym area was in a separate building to the apartment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was no better than a fan. Pool bar service very slow, would be better to have separate service for food and drink as the queues were 20mins plus for just water.

    Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location, great view, nice facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good.. but 4pm for check in is a bit late according to me..

    Lovely stay. Very nice, clean, big, comfy apartment with good equipped kitchenette and clean bathroom. Comfortable bed, large balcony with great sea view, good facilities, friendly staff... good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.8
    First time I've ever felt the need to write a poor review says it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sea view was blocked by a apartments directly outside. Local building works which had clearly been in progress for some time were not warned in advance and woke us everyday at 7am. We had an ant infestation and a cockroach in our room on day 1. Staff were unhelpful & dismissive when issues were raised. TV had no remote and few channels. Toiletries were poor quality. There was no complimentary water in the fridge. A late check out (1.5 hours) was initially refused and took lengthy discussion to "agree".

    Room was well appointed but dated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Decent room, let down by poor view and outside facilities a bit shabby around the edges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was cold, and on ehad to walk over the road to access it. View from our balcony was over a building site. Outside jacuzzi was dirty and not operational.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect view (from 7th floor the best with see view), kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms without see view - the view to main street, not the best.

    Perfect view (from 7th floor the best with see view), kind hosting, very spacious room, big balcony, very nice pool, we got everything we needed. And bus stop is in front of hotel. Few small supermarkets are few minutes walk only.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing break with excellent amenities, we will definately be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only issue was no inflatables allowed in the pool, which limited childrens fun. Other than that it was excellent break

    Room was spacuous.comfy bed , resort facilities included in price and well maintained. Bar prices in hote and resortl very reasonable.plenty of space around the pool..no need to get up early to stake your claim on a sunbed.beatiful sea views and direct access to shoreline.food in resort excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good place - it would be more better if the pool would be more chield friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only problem - what I don't understand - why can not use children the pool between a.m.11 and p.m. 17 ??? Unfortunately there were 2 windy, rainy day and we wanted to use the pool. But we had to leave it because our children are 3 and 10 years old and only the children over 12 years can be in the pool. This is a very bad attitude. :( I was angry but fortunately the Sun came out.

    Very good place next to the sea. Clean rooms - we got every day new towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    We spent 7 days at the hotel, which is exactly like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We spent 7 days at the hotel, which is exactly like presented on the website. The room was very comfortable, large and our 2 kids enjoyed the stay at the swimming pool & playground. The personal were at our disposal for the smallest requirement:) Excellent for families!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, staff nice and friendly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing it should be given a 5 star award.

    Location was perfect, staff nice and friendly and very helpful and the rooms are incredibly Huge :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very accomodating when we had an issue with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool isn't advertised as a walk across the street

    The staff was very accomodating when we had an issue with our first room due to building work noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to set up transportation to/from the airport. They transport from the airport wasn’t there so we took a taxi. That was fine. When we tried to set up a transport back the person at the desk said we do it the day before. We tried the night before and were told to come back when someone else was at the desk. Even when it was set the car was 30 min late and the desk seemed unsure how the process even worked. Vaguely saying they will probably meet us outside or something. We booked a basic room because we had plans to see the island and would be in and out a lot but when we checked in the person at the desk only commented how small the room was. Made it seem horrible before we even saw it.

    Good location. The pool and spa were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    There is a bus station in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second and third days, towels were not changed and bed making was not done.

    There is a bus station in front of the hotel. Easy to go everywhere. And there is one nice restaurant next by :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel with old fashioned rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4pm check-in time was a bit late and caused hassle. Rooms were old fashioned and not in keeping with the rest of the hotel and the 4 star rating.

    Good facilities, nice pool and bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Was fantastic, will definitely be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying on the 5th floor in a apartment. The room was spacious , clean and the cleaning lady was brilliant! Pool was brilliant and the staff were friendly in the reception in the hotel and by the pool in the cafe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    We expected better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely bad soundproofing, we heard all our neighbors, including above and below. We heard every word, step, flushed toilet,creak of the bed, door etc. Especially at night the sewer smelled so bad we couldn't sleep, really horrible. We actualy felt the smell blowing in through the drain in the bathroom. The outdoor pool opened 3 days into our stay and the indoor pool is open for children only a limited amount of time. The pull out couch is extremely lumpy and uncomfortable.

    Location was good. Bus stop in front, about 10 minutes to the aquarium.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no sharp knife in the kitchen :)

    We had two- bedroom apartment with sea view. Very nice apartment, clean, large balcony, comfortable beds. It was nice stay with my friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel next to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartment was quite huge and the kitchen is equipped with all cooking utensils which are needed. Nearby are a lot of restaurants, supermarkets and the bus station. I absolutely recommend the Cheeky Monkey restaurant. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The windows and doors to the balcony were not well sealed. So even when closed and locked you could clearly hear and smell what was going on outside in the surrounding area. The complex would benefit from a total retrofit and upgrading.

    The indoor pool and gym was nice. Although the apartment was in need of upgrading, the beds were comfortable and generally it was clean. Location is good with some good restaurants a stones throw away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Good sea-front location. Need to cross the road for spa/pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The terrace for the 2 bedroom sea-view apartments is north facing and only gets sun in the late afternoon (although there are another 3 terraces in the apartment which are west facing and get sun from about 14h). The pool and spa are in a separate building which involves crossing the road. The outdoor jacuzzis were not operational in mid -April. The outdoor pool closes at 17h (even though there is daylight till 19h30) for cleaning. The indoor pool is quite small. Requests (for instance we had to ask for a lid for the pot) should be done during the day when housekeeping/maintenance are around.

    Good location on the sea-front (however, there is no sandy beach there). Good facilities, and guests have use of the separate spa with gym, indoor pool and outdoor pool. Outdoor pool is a good size and is sea-water. The 2 bedroom sea-room view apartments have a good view of the sea and Qawra Point area. Good housekeeping staff. Super-comfy beds with the best pillows I have ever used!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a nice place, friendly staff, good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice hotel in a nice place, friendly staff, good value for money, good equipped kitchenette, nice indoor swimming poll, close to the many restaurants with sea view. Just a short walk from the Malta Aquarium. We very in the off-season, so there was just a few people around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some difficulty travelling back in buses during peak hours - buses will not stop if they are full.

    Good location. Very close to bus stop and Buggiba bus station. Lots of places to eat around. Mini markets dotted around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    The front desk staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower curtains had black mildew. We were kicked out of the pool at 17:30, so that they could add chlorine, even though the signs stated the pool was closed nightly at 19:30 for chemical treatments.

    The front desk staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Sunny and cute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would really appreciate black out curtains on the bedroom window, so to get more sleep. Need to put fire alarm warnings in the rooms as when cooking, it's too easy to set them off. Bar should have been opened even if out of season.

    Nice comfortable rooms with everything you could need for self catering accommodation. Lovely indoor pool and gym, even if small. However the outdoor pool wasn't open due to it being out of season.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    The structure is nice and clean, the breakfast buffet very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast at the nearby hotel of the same chain: too busy and noisy, it was like sitting in a railway station on a busy day. Pictures made us think the premise would have been superb. Instead, they were OK - as we had great expectations, it was somewhat underwhelming The location is so-so: next to the sea, but adjacent to a very busy road.

    The structure is nice and clean, the breakfast buffet very rich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check out time is too early. The shower in the bath is too high up and very difficult to use. There is only one English speaking channel on tv and not many channels overall.

    The studio was quite spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Real value for money & a nice quite place away from the crowded city centers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I made it twice to the resort with my family (Christmas for 10 day stay & in Feb for a short visit of 4 nights) . Sea view was excellent & my family enjoyed every moment of their stay. Rooms are well furnished (with a well-equipped kitchenette) , maintained very well & gives a feeling of being at home. Staff was extremely friendly & helped me immediately with my specific needs (for my 4 yr old kid). Hotel manager (Pauline) was generous to offer me a complimentary upgrade with a sea view room even after a late booking at my end. Most of the tourist spots are well connected with bus stop right in front of the hotel. Restaurants & grocery stores are also across the road & I had to spent absolutely no time in figuring out logistics. Travel agencies are also minutes away with multiple options for Gozo , Sicily & hop-on-hop-off tours. Highly recommended for families.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Fab location, lots of facilities, hotel staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All surrounding restaurants very busy- which is good, means excellent quality - but too noisy for a solo traveler

    Fab location, lots of facilities, hotel staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant staff members 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit dated and we had an inwards viewing balcony that lovely ones directly onto a building site. The rooms in the evening were pretty chilly!

    Cheap & cheerful hotel with lovely staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Big apartment with everything needed in the kitchen. Lots of little shops and restuarants nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rather indifferent checking in process- had to come back for the tv remote as it was not offered on check-in. Payment was not taken at check in, and then received desperate call to come and pay at once. Shower had very low water pressure and a shower curtain that sticks to you like a cold limpet!

    The location and the bus system that ran past the hotel. Having said that, this bus route is one way only. This means that your return trip from anywhere involves an extra bus trip from Bugibba bus station (included in price of fare but taking extra waiting time).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff weren't helpful. The outdoor pool was closed and we weren't notified prior to the visit. Construction was being completed next to our room, so we would be awaken to loud hammering and drills. After complaining, we were moved.

    It was reasonably priced and next to a bus stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice getaway to relax and unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I don't go on holiday to watch telly, it would have been nice to have a couple of British channels to watch when you're chilling out especially at this time of year when it's too cold to sit out.

    The beds were brand new and very comfortable. The kitchen had a kettle and toaster and all the main utensils you need. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom which wasn't the most powerful but was fine. There were air-conditioning units in the living area and the bedroom although I did not need to use them as it was quite cold compared to the normally pleasant weather for that time of year.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The telly has 4 channels! Not much of a negative..

    Lovely stay, clean, big and comfy apartment. Close to bustops. Friendly and informative staff. Cooking facilities are good. Bathroom is clean and good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel, the apartment room was a lot bigger than we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect hotel, the apartment room was a lot bigger than we thought. It was great, that we had 2 bathrooms. Perfect view from the balcony. 4 balconies in apartment - wow! Perfect location. Thank you very much for our great weekend in your hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant, sure I reccomend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room service. We stayed 3 days and any towels' change was made. We put one towel on the floor to make understand to change it but they left it. The soap finished and they didn't give us another one. No chance to do a tee or a coffee in the studio. Fortunately we were out all the day long, for meals as well, if the idea is to spend time close in the resort, I suggest to ask before to go what is available in the room. Same for the sea view, be sure to have what you are looking for.

    The studio was ok The swimming pool is very nice but we didn't have time to use it. The pool outside I think has to be very beautiful. The Resort is ok I liked it very much. Close to restaurants and bus stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    - We had the room on the 6th, with seaview - it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room and furniture was a little oldish, but the bed was as good as new (I guess it was replaced not that long ago), and everything was still working fine - we could still really enjoy this appartment

    - We had the room on the 6th, with seaview - it was brilliant. - The staff was really nice - Excelent location - spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    It's lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is across the road, it's absolutely freezing when you get out to get back to the hotel. The timings for children at the pool is difficult especially when touring around, because you can't do both! The receptionist was overly friendly to all other guests but not as much to my family. Check in is really late!

    It was clean, spacious and fairly new. The cleaners were fantastic and did such an amazing job!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Very clean and nice scent when you walk in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen didnt have a saucepan , and room was very very hot cant imagine coming there in summer we asked for a fan, but still hot. Yard we had to wash it so my little one could play.

    Bed was nice and well decorated as it was my byfd birthday thankyou was very clean and had a big good for my little one to play.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Very nice apartment with all comforts and even 2 bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limitied parking and noisy air conditioner.

    Very nice apartment with all comforts and even 2 bathrooms. Friendly staff and very modern setting down in the lobby. Overall very satisfied! Recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Aparhotel in a holidays district
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Qawra itself is just holiday district, so not much to see (relatively, it is always a Malta ;-). The pool across the street, really small one in the inside the building part. There is no sauna even as there is a fitness center together. What we were really missing that it was a place for kids from the hotel to make an acquaintance.

    Personnel competent. The apartment itself meeting 4 persons family requirements. Clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location on beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped (female) changing room, not very clean, no hairdryer.

    Value for money and excellent location on beach front next to bus stop. Spacious room and comfy large bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice room in nice location, check seasonal closures though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately their beautiful outdoor pool was closed as out of season but no information anywhere.

    Good sized apartment and clean room with nice little balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was a bit poor in the evening.

    We had a fantastic time at sunny coast ! Everything was super clean and comfy. we had a fantastic view from our bedroom's balcony whcich we enjoyed every morning for breakfast. The pool and jacuzzi were very nice and we enjoyed the massage that we got from the spa. We couldn't recommend the place enough!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Terrible view and maintenance work being carried out all around the outdoor area !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from our balcony was terrible old roof tops and dilapidated buildings as are room was facing the side of the building. The balcony only fitted 2 people on it !! The outside pool area was under construction so no pool and noise of drilling when sitting out by the pool. The patio door locked when shut from the outside which must be s safety breach as you would not be able to get back in. Sparks came out of the hairdryer which stopped frequently when trying to use.

    The size of the room was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Great place, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, close to bus stop for travelling round island. Large spacious accommodation, serviced everyday, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable bed and very clean room with stocked up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extra money for everything (printing a sheet of paper 2 euro..). Dampness in spa changing rooms Unhelpful staff when asked for directtions A lot of the surrounding buildings are derelict or under construction, so would definitely not recommend this area

    Comfortable bed and very clean room with stocked up kitchenette.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    good for self-catering
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Pool was disappointing, didn't follow posted hours. Usually closed or too full, servicing ginormous hotel across road as well as SunnyCoast, and allowing locals with small children to have membership

    a room with a view, but from the bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Great budget hotel! Recommended for couples, groups of friends and families - Bus stop super close!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had a strange smell sometimes and we received 2 single beds instead of 1 double bed.

    Great small apartment with sea view for an unbeatable price of 86 euro for 3 Nights. The bus stop is literally just in front of the Hotel entrance with buses going to St. Julians and Valletta. For people wanting to experience the nightlife, the Night Bus runs by the hotel as well! Great staff, internet was working fine. The outdoor pool facilities look great (unfortunately they were not open during our stay), the indoor pool is very small but ok. We had a fully equipped kitchen and a sofa bed with space for 2 people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a little bit far away from travel places.

    Clean and tidy complex. However,we didn't get the sea-view room although I have made this request in booking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Good hotelvery clean inside outside looked run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not very close or even in the hotel to be exactit threw me off to have to walkso far.

    I liked that the room set up was perfec t i was able to cook and watch tv separate fromthe other bedrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Great place for a short stay in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor swimming pool in the leisure centre was tiny.

    Helpfulness of staff at the front desk, and friendliness of cleaning staff. The room also had everything we needed, and the hotel was close to shops and the shoreline.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    We were only there for a night so we didn’t really have time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room only has electricity when the key is inserted into the slot near the door, so when we left the room the fridge/air conditioner don’t stay on, so can’t really use the fridge.

    We were only there for a night so we didn’t really have time to use the spa or anything, but overall it was a nice hotel with nice staff and a big clean room, nothing bad at all about the experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    A mixed bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby, very shabby. No food or drink no available at all. No bar. Haphazard cleaning. Poor bed making. Dirty kitchenware. Fridge broken on arrival. Very burned saucepan in cupboard. All utensils seen better days. If I hadn’t have booked through booking.com I’d have demanded my money back and moved somewhere else.

    The beds were super comfy and the bathroom clean. The staff was friendly. Cheaper than some other places. Quiet most of the time.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunny Coast Resort & Spa- AX Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: