Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sliema Marina Hotel 3 stars

Tigne Seafront, SLM3010 Sliema, Malta

#11 of 31 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3243 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    There was a person who worked there downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    There was a person who worked there downstairs. We had all kinds of problems with our ATM and plane reservations. He was VERY helpful and went out of his way to help us. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel usefully located opposite Valletta ferry stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views from the room, but wasn't expected. The physical location was on a main Street just off the road, next to a McDonald's and a couple of average Street side restaurants. Saying that the room in the evening was quiet.

    Fairly good location, a short walk from the Valletta ferry and harbour/island tour ships. Walking to the main bars+restaurants on the Sliema seafront was about 10mins away, but there were other establishments much closer. The hotel itself was comfortable and the staff friendly, with the the manager speaking English. My room was upgraded and was a decent size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    EVERYTHING!
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flori and her entire were stellar at representing the Sliema a Marina Hotel. I recently stayed at Sliema Hotel who had great customer service as well but, everything was outdated. And this hotel was half the price and twice as nice!

    EVERYTHING!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Position position position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. Close to all transport, great view from balcony and close to shopping.

    Clean basic accommodation. Lift very slow and very small. Room good size, good bathroom, bed and pillows not so good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable & suited my purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts are old & slow. Also it would be good to have beverage making facility just a small kettle.

    Breakfast was good on a buffet system plenty of variety. Super view across to Valletta & Sliems Creek to put jou in a good mood for the day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Comfort, views, and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aside from a small stain on the sofa, I can't fault Sliema Marina hotel. It was a lovely experience and I'd gladly stay again.

    Excellent service- truly above and beyond. Right on the Sliema marina with marvellous views of Manoel Island and Valletta. Great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts (elevators to you US-based readers!) are, at best, interesting. They’ve been that way for years.

    Convenient location. Great views. Friendly & obliging staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed all there is to see and visit in Malta. We shall be making another trip when possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Not much could have been done to improve our stay.

    Everything was equal to my expectations. The staff were always cheerful and most helpful. Room always clean and linen clean everyday. I don't do that at home!! We shall come again in the future.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    In general, a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Other than some seating in reception there was no other room or lounge or bar where you could relax and meet other travellers particularly when the weather bad. You were confined to your own room

    Breakfasts were excellent with a large selection of foods. Bed large and comfordable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Had a good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and especially the Manager were terrific. Excellent location. Some technical problems: keys to the rooms, terrible elevators, bathroom fittings not always convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    The location was amazing, with a beautiful view of Sliema...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was ok but the coffee from the machine was terrible and the water machine seemed always broken.

    The location was amazing, with a beautiful view of Sliema and only 10 minutes away with the ferry. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.0
    A lovely Malta 10 days holliday with a very good hotel location which helped us very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    missing of a refrigerator in our standard room (on site 3.5 euros per day as we understood from the hotel reception communication -via email - before our arrival)

    Very beautiful view of Sliema bay from the 8-th floor restaurant and very good hotel situation just near ferry and buses stops to visit Valletta with its neighbourhoods and everywhere in Malta, the airport X2 bus stop included. Many thanks to all the the staff, especilally to Flori, a verry , verry good receptionist. We wish her a nice future in this field. Anca and Doina

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Below average for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The lifts were very small and jerky and the doors loved to trap you, when you are old and a bit slow. The entrance doors were very hard to open. Should have been automatic, The room should have had more drawers

    The view from the balcony The staff who were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit old and not as good as expected for the price. The breakfast choice is ok but the quality is very basic. The lift is dodgy and half working. The restaurant linked to the hotel downstairs is ok (sea food is good) but the service is terrible.

    The location was very good. The sea view was beautiful. The rooms are big. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street was a little noisy

    Great location for accessing anywhere on the island .., very friendly & helpful staff on reception , great view from balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.4
    The staff was kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I started small single room.There was one small window, but it was not suitable for opening. Towel was old and uncomfortable.

    The staff was kind. The place to have breakfast is on the 8th floor so nice view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.7
    Okay i guess
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has seen better dates, seems like not renovated since 1970.. the breakfast is super basic and poor, even for 3 star hotel..

    Where do i start.. i guess location is good and staff is friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel and close to all amenities including Valletta. (use ferry)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not much and nothing specific.

    Wonderful and delicious full breakfast. Comfortable beds and wonderful sea views if rooms is facing the bay. Staff excellent and helpful. Pierre very helpful and made our stay very comfortable in providing things and information when requested.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely view from the breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My single room was really small - and no window- but decent for just a few nights.

    Lovely view from the breakfast room. Personnel was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel couldn't have been better located for trips around the island - buses and boats to Gozo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The very first economy room we had was awful, very small, no natural light and very hot.

    The first room we had which was an economy room certainly did not. The sea view room we had for the one night was beautiful but we could only have it for the one night. The standard double we had for the next six nights was fine but no sea view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay, room with balcony is however recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Of course the space is needed to utilize the room, but first impression of the lack of window was a chock, but he air condition was good, and the toilet was big, and the roof balcony made it ok for two nights stay.

    Nice place to stay, near the waterfront, bus station, ferry to Valetta and the airport bus. Small room without usable window, but anyhow ok due to lower price, and the very nice roof balcony with Jaccuzzi overlooking the water and Valetta in the sunset. Also the big breakfast on 8th floor (?) was good with fantastic view on the balcony,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    stay was good, views were stunning.just too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    noise from the restaurant upstairs was noisy from 7am, tables and chairs being dragged around. traffic noise. room basic but there were no instructions on how to use the safe, there was also no welcome pack in the room with details or price list of the mini bar

    staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Made much better by reallocation of room and the helpfulness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Economy room did not have any windows. Bathroom was exceptionally small. Do not book an economy room unless you are on a slim budget or maybe only staying one night.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent location overlooking the Marina and the town of Valletta. Asked to change rooms and thankfully staff were able to accommodate me. They were very helpful and could not do enough to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Location of hotel was located perfectly for us and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    N/A

    Location of hotel was located perfectly for us and very reasonably priced. Room was spacious and housekeeping was excellent. All staff where very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is in a great location if visiting Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Once beyond the reception area, the hotel needs some work: corridors need plastering and painting. The bedroom that we stayed in smelled musty and needed a new floor. Other than the reception, the place felt neglected.

    This hotel is in a great location if visiting Valletta. It is near the ferry to Valletta and there is a lovely beach nearby for swimming. Staff members were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Good hotel. Ideal location for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could do with better lifts. Very slow.

    The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Pierre on reception especially put himself out for us. From cleaners, kItchen and resturant , to reception all made our stay a very happy one

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean and Cheerful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi went in and out, which affected some work I was doing from the hotel. Also, the lifts left a lot to be desired, as it was hard to tell whether or not it was coming when I pressed the button.

    The room was always serviced well but discreetly every day. The location was excellent insofar as there were 5 or 6 good restaurants nearby, and I only had to cross the road for the commuter ferry to Valletta.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a case where the reviews need to be split by the rooms people are staying in. I should have paid closer attention to the fact that people said the cheaper rooms smell and are really dark. Our room was both. If we stayed in a more expensive room, maybe we would have had a totally different experience. The room smelled like damp/mould.

    The staff was really nice. The location was reasonable and easy to get around with the buses and ferry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    The description of the rooms is not really accurate, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The description of the rooms is not really accurate, the photos misleading. The front rooms are bright and nice, but those on the back (most of them) are rather dark

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange experience on arrival I booked and paid for the room in June on arrival was required to present the credit card I used. We were robbed in Italy and did not have the card. They required me to pay again with another card or pay cash and they would reimburse my stolen card. When I asked why just pay or you have a problem not a good start

    Efficient staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Very clean hotel with a terrible elevator.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators are terrible. They both are incredibly small and very old. They arrive late and move very slowly. Breakfast is dissapointing.

    The rooms are very large and very clean. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Great view of the bay from restaurant, very close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great view of the bay from restaurant, very close to the Sliema-Valletta ferry. Staff were very friendly and printed my boarding pass on the spot. Rooms very clean, with decent a/c. Buffet breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single rooms are very tiny. Choose ocean-view double rooms.

    Receptionist Flori is very kind and cheerful. Location is perfect. Breakfast on 8th floor is especially nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location and friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    On arrival they were having some difficulties with overbooking so asked would we mind going to their sister hotel in St Julians for one night while covering the costs of getting there and back. This wasn’t a problem for us and in return they kindly upgraded our room.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The staff were happy to provide information on restaurants transport and things to see and do. The hotel is situated in a very busy touristy part of town with everything on your doorstep. Many buses, ferries and tourist offerings are just in front of the hotel which made our stay easy. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We specifically requested a room with a kettle and a fridge and when they weren’t there the staff went to great lengths to assist us and produced them straight away. We could not have asked for better service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.0
    great view, very central to everything,room was very comfy, bathroom small and shower head collapsed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Jacuzzi didn't work...no pool...breakfast was just so so (bland)

    Location was great...reception staff were very good especially Flori…..cleaning was also very very good Sarina is excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Sliema Aug 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for 3 adults, not a true triple room, but a twin with an extra bed squeezed in. Mostly unsmiling wait staff, though some were ok. Very small lifts. Travellers need access to a laundry, in house would be good.

    Great breakfast selection at a fair price. Good size bathroom. Friendly room attendants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.2
    Unable to deal with a credit card expiry due to strange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to deal with a credit card expiry due to strange rules requiring the actual card you booked with. Not helpful as literally all credit cards expire within 2-3 years and have never had this issue anywhere in Europe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    The location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing! Don't hesitate to take the room with the view. The staff is very friendly! Thanks Flori! The view at the breakfast is breathtaking! Definitely worths the money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Administrative staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be more various !

    Administrative staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially Flori at the reception desk was extremely friendly and nice . She helped with my accommodation, gave all the detailed information about hotel and taxi for my departure !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location but would stay elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets on the bed were ragged and old. The towels were old and discolored. Other than that the rooms were clean

    The location was excellent. The young lady on the desk when we checked in was most helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, away from the clubbing scene of Malta. Stay here with a sea view facing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not great, not a great variety of fruits, cheeses & meats & cereals. Nothing Maltese or traditional about it. Would have been nice to have fresh homemade breads & good butter.

    Great location, close to all ferry cruises. Friendly staff and really helpful. Very little rules and regulations - easy going friendly hotel. Ogli Cafe next door super food too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location with many restaurants and shops at your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Good location with many restaurants and shops at your doorstep and bus stop close by. Staff very helpful and speak English. Rooms are average but ok and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel at a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking at Sliema Marina Hotel my main criterion, depending on comments, was its location which turned out to be perfect. Main public transportation hub, many fancy restaurants and public beaches, though a bit on the rocky side, were all within a short walking distance. As for the hotel, I generally liked it. I booked a basic economy room which had a window facing a dead space and therefore was a bit stuffy. That did not bother me, nevertheless one must bear in mind when choosing this type of a room that one can find it hard to dry bathing suits and towels. Air conditioner worked well, bathroom was spacious, room service was regular and quite satisfactory. I really enjoyed strong WIFI signal in the room. By the way do not forget to bring one or two power plug adaptors with you. Hotel also had a great roof terrace to take breathtaking photos of Valetta across the bay and to watch fireworks during miscellaneous fests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location & lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a perfect location beside Sliema ferries & bus stop, restaurants all around & oggi restaurant below hotel was perfect, the staff were amazing & friendly, Flori was extremely helpful & another gentleman in the reception helped us in arranging airport shuttle , my advice pay more & have superior sea view room , we had it in the 7th floor view was gorgeous but a bit noisy at 7am as the restaurant was just above us so better take 5th or 6th floor I would like to thank all Sliema marina hotel staff you made our trip enjoyable & definitely if we come to Malta we’ll stay again there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Reasonable price for an amazing sea view with Valletta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes air conditioner was turned off automatically.

    Reasonable price for an amazing sea view with Valletta. Location was so convenient to take for a solo traveler. Also Thanks to the manager Pierre Grima, he always seems to be hospitable and willing to help travelers so I can feel free to ask about the information about Malta. Breakfast restaurant was at the very highest floor. So we could appreciate the view in having a breakfast. Thanks for the great service and kind hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    All staff was helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff was helpful and friendly. View from the balcony is nice. Location very convenient close to buses and ferries. The particular room was spacy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Ideal place for sightseeing trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Economy rooms are quite dark - so if you have seview rooms available it's worth choosing one of them. Breakfast is correct, but could be tastier.

    Excellent location: The hotel is a few steps away from the ferry to Valletta, the starting point of hop-on hop-off buses and many ship cruises. If you step out of the hotel you find yourself on the harbor-side promenade with good restaurants, cafes, bars, etc. Rooms are clean, with good beds, bedlinen. Towels are changed every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we had a cockroach in the room which didn’t bring our expectations of cleanliness up to our standards. We spoke to the staff and were given a can of spray to sort that out. No cockroaches after that day. Lift was slow and the numbers didn’t work on the inside, so you wouldn’t know which floor you were at whilst riding it. First world problem, but was still annoying. Weird musky smell in the room.

    The 24 desk was really good and the staff were quite helpful. Location was a 2 minute walk to the Valletta ferry port. Which was handy. Air conditioner was nice and cold especially during some hot weather in Malta. View from the 8th floor was stunning. English movie channel on the tv. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Our week long stay was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Sliema Marina Hotel was perfect! It's location is great! Across the street from the ferries and the busses. The street has numerous restaurants and shops. The rooms were cleaned everyday. The roof top hot tub and lounging area were wonderful after a long day of sight seeing. The rooms are very comfortable with a small fridge, hair dryer and air conditioning. I highly recommend this hotel for a staying in Malta. It's a perfect location for seeing the country of Malta!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.0
    Location good, but that's all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were claustrophobic. Air conditioning didn't work - had to get the remote replaced twice, and I was only there two nights.

    Top floor terrace and breakfast room, and location convenient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Family fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two pillows each please.

    Reception staff polite, friendly and helpful. Views from breakfast room were beautiful first thing in the morning and the hydrotherapy pool on the roof was a bonus. Staff went out of their way to offer good will.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    OK Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an error with our reservation. They ended up splitting our party into two rooms, on opposite sides of the level. The second room smelt, was stuffy, and there were no windows. We all slept in the one room because no one wanted to sleep in the second room. The photos on booking.com are not accurate.

    The Location is great, lot's of restaurants below the hotel and the beach is right across the road. One of the rooms we had was big and open and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Location, bus stops to Mdina and Gozo right accross the hotel, View is the best!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you look for the hotel in Malta just choose Sliema Malta Hotel. Location is excellent, a lot of restaurants next to the hotel. The view was the best ever. Bus stops right across the hotel, you can go to Gozo and Mdina by bus. Excellent hotel!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    I would easily come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation at this hotel has been very comfortable and cozy. The double room is very spacious and the seaview room is absolutely fantastic. Apart from that, the breakfast, even if it’s simple, being located in the last floor of the building brings you somewhere else full of light from early in the morning. Moreover, the staff particularly Flori and Pierre Grima, the manager, have been lovely, always searching for the best facilities and giving fast and very appropriate solutions for all our queries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great location for those who want to enjoy a view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C didn’t work the whole time, and the elevator is very slow. Had to wait almost 10 minutes.

    Great location for those who want to enjoy a view from Sliema beach. The cruises to the Blue Lagoon are just in front of the hotel, as well as bus stop to Valletta and St Julian’s. Flori, from reception, was great and helped me with all information to manage my time, since it was a weekend trip. There are several restaurants and bars close to the hotel, and the area is very safe to walk during the day/night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    Bad economy room, breakfast package failure, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked economy room so we did not expect much but in reality when we arrived the room was very bad, likely below three stars standard. Very little space, bad smell of wettness and cigarettes, window leads to a very dirty courtyard, ancient furniture. The whirpool is nice benefit but was very dirty. In the end of stay when we were leaving early we ordered breakfast package, but in the end nothing was prepared and the staff was not able to fix it or propose compensation.

    The location is great. The whirpool on the roof is fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.6
    No good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) Bad smelling in the room 2) No any Refrigerator in the room 3) no any tea pot in the room 4) No any drinking water in the room 5) so expensive food around the Hotel. 5) I never would like to recomand this hotel to my friends .

    Nothing !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent! Very kind and helpful staff. Comfortable room with tea and coffee. Wonderful view! The location is great! Easy to go everywhere... and Sliema is a very dynamic city with lots of activities. Fully recommend this hotel!!!! Thank you Sliema Marina Hotel - everything was perfect !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like a whole lot: we were given a triple room with three single beds, which were so small I almost felt I can’t turn..the room had a tiny window overlooking another wall; the beds were not comfortable; one of the two lifts too small, and the furnishings looked unappealing.. No value for money. There are three star hotels and there are three star hotels, and this one was on the ugly and expensive side I am afraid, but in high season was fully booked, so can’t see them trying to improve...

    I should say location, but even is not something I liked. The hotel is wedged between Burger King and another restaurant opposite the Sliema ferries. Some might like it though...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed ourstay in Malta at the Sliema Marina Hotel but, the hotel needs a renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. The staff were helpful & Curtis.

    Great location. Hotel needs renovating. Staff were very helpful & informative & spoke English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, good value, great area. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no natural light in my room as I overlooked a wall so I didn't get to benefit from the advertised harbour views, but that's just bad luck and not the fault of the property

    The area is so convenient for valetta and has a good selection for getting food at night and the sea is close by for swimming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    Not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is as it looked in the pictures, so small and with no natural light. People who book room with a view are for sure luckier than me, who had the single room. The hotel is quite old, needs renovation, poor facilities. The breakfast was mediocre. The jacuzzi on the 9th floor was not working. My room was not cleaned in details, once I found a killed mosquito on the desk and, even worse, on my last evening I found a cockroach. For the hotel’s defence, on the same evening I found many cockroaches also in the streets of the city, so I guess it was a problem everywhere. Finally, after checking out, I informed the reception by mail and phone call that I forgot the cap of my shaving machine in the room, so that they would send it to me per post. Finally my missed object was never found.

    The location is great, just in front of Sliema Ferries, by boat you can be in 10 minutes in Valletta. From the 8th floor, where breakfast is served, you can enjoy a breathtaking view of Valletta and Sliema waterfront. The receptionist gave me by check-in an adaptor for the electricity and solved immediately the problem with the bad WiFi connection (after that I never had problems again, the Internet was quite fast).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location but that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The selection at breakfast wasn't very good and the food was rather basic. The room we got had view of the bins and laundry place, the lifts are tiny and not very well operated - it took us 20 minutes to get from the 2 floor to reception with the bags.

    The location is great, the staff were friendly, the room was big and clean and had AC which is very important in Malta in the summer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Simply excellent!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing i didn't like about it.

    Exellent location for staing in Sliema. Very spacious room and large balcony with great view. And the staff were brilliant! I'll be comming here again for sure when I go back to Malta.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, view & staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom should be updated, balcony furniture are fragile, elevator is a bit too old but otherwise really nice hotel with friendly staff. The breakfast should be better.

    Perfect Location and Service. I would definitely visit again with my family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we asked for a balcony give us a large room for a family. Smells musty. Breakfast was rubbish I did not eat anything. Rep staff was nasty. We were staying for 1 night only but I would not go here again

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    horrible experience not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    i booked 2 rooms with the bay sea view but when we arrived at the hotel the employee informed us that because maintenance is taking place there are no available rooms with sea view and offered us two other rooms with inside view (walls and other buildings) very old not very clean and with a very heavy smell of mold. of course they offered us breakfast for free but this could not compensate for the fact that we did not sleep all night with the smell of the mold and the lack of cleanliness.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Spent very little time in room so was ok, but would look for bigger loghter room next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, no bigger than a small bedroom, no natural light (economy room). A little bit tired looking, shower over bath which was fine except curtain didn’t stop flooding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.3
    Give it a miss with this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor welcome on arrival Room was extremely basic and very, very dated... the images on booking.com are very deceptive Shower continually leaked out all over the floor Quite noisy next to the stairs Beds & pillows are an absolute joke... slept in better hostel beds! The general decor of the hotel is very poor... again the camera is telling lies Didn’t get more than 2 words out of the staff each morning. Not particularly friendly or welcoming people.

    Close to the ferry to Valletta

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for boat trips and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very minor gripe, but the hotel lifts aren't the best!

    Lovely staff, and some really excellent restaurants nearby. Perfect location for boat trips as the vast majority depart directly opposite the hotel, and likewise for the ferry across to Valletta which means it is incredibly easy, cheap and quick to visit the capital once or more in a day. Also very close to bus stops which can take you around the island, to the beaches etc. Room was cleaned every day to a high standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Services
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not impressed with the room location. No variety of entertainment on tv. No Sky. Staff okay but has lackadaisical attitude(this is I think a general Maltese malaise).

    The fact that it was at a very good location. Good access to the Marina for boat trips and buses to various locations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Amazing view on Valleta from the balcony, big room (we got a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Amazing view on Valleta from the balcony, big room (we got a free upgrade to a suite), great location close to many restaurants, many free parking spots right in front

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.5
    The location of the hotel is the most valuable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of bathroom was really bad.

    Very Good location. Simple equippments. Choose sea view if possible otherwise the room is boring.. Staff is helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was great, receptionist were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    First day we got very small room, but receptionist was very helpful and other day changed our room for a bigger one.

    Breakfast was great, receptionist were very friendly and helpful, room average but clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice breakfast restaurant view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with almost no windows, nothing like the pictures, poor insonorisation, impossible to sleep after 7:30 from breakfast restaurant noise

    Nice breakfast restaurant view

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sliema Marina Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: