Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Sliema hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of AX The Palace

Reviews of AX The Palace This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

High Street, SLM1542 Sliema, Malta

#6 of 29 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 986 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel, close to main areas.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buffet dinner was mediocre. Dry carvery turkey, cold gravy, barely warm vegetables. Soup barely warm. The second time I have eaten in the restaurant and both disappointing. I will not be trying again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    I have been there over 20 times, and it is consistently good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only problem is that sound insulation in the rooms is poor, you can hear activity next door, and in the hallway.

    I have been there over 20 times, and it is consistently good. Quick check in, and out. Rooms clean. Nice bed. Spa is expensive but good. A great business orientated hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was tasty, lots of selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unlucky to get the room without a view. After paying for a balcony we ended up with a balcony facing a wall. Whilst the rooms either side to us had lovely views of the sea. Unfortunately the staff tried to relocate us but couldn't without charging extra.

    The breakfast was tasty, lots of selection. The staff in the bar area were also very attentive. Spa area was relaxing although it was always busy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.9
    great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough plugs - with all the electric devices we carry, we could not charge all of them properly. the WC door needs some minor repairs. can't think of anything else negative.

    very good breakfast very large room the illy coffee machine was a great advantage big and comfy bed and pillows very helpful staff big and inexpensive underground parking lot i strongly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we could fault - thoroughly recommend !

    Perfect location. Away from the hustle and bustle but just a short walk to the waterfront and ferries/buses. Beautiful hotel. Very clean and modern. Well appointed with everything you need including some beautiful extras.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.0
    Location, staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It isn't 5star, should be 4 , has old furniture . A/C make sounds too noisy we couldn't sleep , when turnoff room will be hot . Bed uncomfortable, bathroom door's has broken luck , toilet doesn't clean for 5 star

    Location, staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.8
    The room was magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that no buffet was offered at the tabloid, having booked this hotel because we wanted a good buffet, only to be offered by a cheap and tasteless buffet at the Victoria Hotel. Still we were offered and had a very good meal.at Temptasia which was very good, but why didn't they say beforehand that the tabloid restaurant was not available and that the buffet offered was horrible?

    The room was magnificent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.6
    Was very comfortable and in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We reported the door handle in our bathroom was broken and nothing was done and we never heard anything.

    The location was great, easily accessible and plenty to do around the area. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    2.5
    This hotel is not 5 stars:((( is 2 stars because the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is not 5 stars:((( is 2 stars because the conditions are not good

    This hotel is not 5 stars:((( is 2 stars because the conditions are not good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    I would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We went in early November making it easy to walk into the restaurants without booking. It may be advisable to book a table during the high season. Slightly over attentive staff when clearing plates before everybody had finished there meal. Not a big problem! We were in the 2 story block where the lift was very slow. We ended up walking up the stairs which would be an annoyance you are less able. The main lifts in the 9 story block were very good!

    Choice of 3 restaurants in the hotel + 2 in the adjoining sister hotel. 2 outside pools and 1 indoor pool. Spa facilities although we did not use on this trip. Location was perfect with easy walking to shops, sea front and public transport.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Nice facilities, A nice both outside and in door swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, all was nice . We had a small hygien problem, which was very well solved.

    Nice facilities, A nice both outside and in door swimming pool and fitness centre. Great location, close to shops and restaurants. Also hotel had restaurant, with a nice selection of food, and all day opening hours. (which is nice with kids)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely holiday in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Perhaps It might be time to upgrade the carpets in the hallways.

    The staff were lovely. Pool was fantastic. We had a problem with the mattress being very soft. The staff had it changed and sorted right away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    We had an extraordinary stay, waking up to the beauty of Sliema
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn’t the best. Other than that it was a great stay

    We got a suite and it was truly amazing. The room was clean and tidy and comfortable. The view was spectacular. You could see the roofs of Sliema. The setting was very nice. We enjoyed the pools (outdoor and Indoor)and the sauna and steam room. All in all it was a nice stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.1
    Bad start but got better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The deluxe double room we were issued was very disappointing, smallish room, poorly appointed, grubby. Also room had no balcony as was stated in booking. Sink plug was broken as was half the toilet flush. There was a bath with shower head but not a proper shower, had to sit in the bath to shower. I complained and asked to be moved but while the lady on the reception was very helpful and good to deal with, she was unable to move us that night, but said they would try and find something for us in the morning. We received a phone call from reception the following morning saying they had another room for us, and if we packed our bags and left them in the room they would be collected and delivered to our new room within an hour. We followed these instructions and headed out. When we returned from a small excursion we found the room we’d been moved to was much better, bigger and with a balcony and with an actual shower. I would say this hotel in terms of its staff and how they deal with guests and the amenities of the hotel in general are of good 4 star/5 star quality but the rooms we had we not. The first room was a poor/average 3 star room and the other would be an average 4 star, comfortable and clean with all you need but not 5 star. Maybe other rooms are much better but for my money any 5 star hotel I’ve stayed in every aspect of the hotel has to fit the bill, to be 5 star.

    The location is very good. The hotel staff are friendly and professional. Close to all busses and ferry’s. Close to restaurants and bars. Both pool areas are very nice. The spa is lovely would highly recommend having a treatment, very good and professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Great location and staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. We found ever one very helpful.

    The extra little details we lovely. Champagne on arrival, bowl of fruit and a chocolate on your pillow every night

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    8.3
    The room smelled nice the food was incredibly tasty and most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived early and at half past two was told I had to wait until 3pm to check in. I don't fully understand what 30 mins difference was going to make considering I was shown the room and it was ready. I didn't like that there was no window. Only one which looked into the building. I wouldn't choose that room again. Twice I found dirty towels which I would never have expected from a 5 star hotel. There was a torrential downpour and the ceiling in the outdoor cafe was leaking which isn't a great look to be frank. I think the price of our stay was a little inflated considering these basic issues. I would definitely stay elsewhere next time

    The room smelled nice the food was incredibly tasty and most staff were really helpful. The location is quite close to the riverside and ferry to Valletta.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.6
    With the exception of its location, all aspects of the hotel, particularly the staff and the rooms,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No issues at all

    All aspects of the hotel were excellent, particularly the staff and facilities. The restaurant on the roof was a particularly good feature. The staff were very helpful from dawn to dusk and beyond. Food in each restaurant we used was first class.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the carpets outside the room are not luggage friendly

    Great beds! very comfortable indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms are great didnt get to try the outdoor pool location is great too

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    3.3
    This is not a 5-star hotel, and expensive for a 4-star. Location not suitable for almost any purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a 5-star hotel. The location is hopeless for anyone not very sporty, the public transportation is a high hill away, taxis do not even find their way there. The breakfast was sumptuous but not gooed quality, and the waiter was a sour apple.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.2
    Stunning but bed too soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wanted to charge us €2.50 for a bottle of water from the housekeeping trolley- excessive. Bed was far too soft.

    Great location. Fab rooftop pool and bar. Clean, spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    This Hotel is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is the best we've stayed in. Our room and view were both beautiful. Clean room and towels everyday. Staff were lovely and helpful. Loved the infinity pool on roof.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.6
    Celebrating marriage anniversary and my birthday 🎂
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks... the cocktails are horrible they need to work on it, make such difference when you’re on Holliday with girls 😝😉

    Location, food it’s great, facilities and cleaness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    6.7
    The infinity pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced - not really 5*. More like 4* hotel. Attention to detail missing - like quality of bath robes, parking and breakfast should be included in price and no 24 hr room service.

    The infinity pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.5
    Okay hotel with roof pool and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was okay but our tub didn’t drain freely. Maintenance came and fixed it. Would say that the shower over the tub would be short if you’re tall. There isn’t much to do or eat in Sliema. There are more restaurants in Valletta and St Julian’s. Taxis to St Julian’s are around €10.

    It is close to Valletta and has free or inexpensive parking, which is useful for days out. There’s a Hertz nearby but be warned you’ll have to find street parking to return the car. Also get full insurance as I struggled to count the scrapes on the nearly new car we hired. The pool at the hotel is enjoyable and the staff are helpful. Would add that the rooms are spacious although we had to have our mattress changed as it was beyond soft.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Just amazing. Recommending it 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is not a single thing that i did not like. Everything was amazing.

    Honestly, the hotel exceeded our expectation from the time we checked in. The reason for our trip was for leisure and the hotel made sure to achieve that. We were celebrating a special occasion and we informed the hotel prior to our arrival for that and we were surprised from how the hotel staff treated us to a great room decorated and a surprise waiting for us in the room. The room was perfectly cleaned comfortable and the staff was so friendly and welcoming and helped us with any information we needed. The terrace restaurant was beyond amazing with a view of Malta by night. Recommended to anyone staying there!!! For sure i am going to stay at the Palace Hotel again next time i visit Malta.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Very good bed, shower excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room furniture was a bit tatty and sofa was dirty at one end due to people brushing against the edges.

    Very good bed, shower excellent. Great balcony with fabulous views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Relax weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing every thing was perfect

    Roof top pool and the indorwere very nice.the staff very helpful and excellent breakfast and all the other food. We simply enjoyed evry minute off our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay but not the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food is not good. The taste is not reaching my standard. Also we got a bit food poison. So I assume the quality is not that good neither.

    The facilities are amazing. The infinity swimming pool on roof top is quite beautiful with a nice view. The staffs are quite welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.1
    The pool is fabulous and service excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we had dinner at the restaurant a lot of drinks which weren't ours were added to our bill which was quite disappointing. We booked a Junior Suite as we had our little boy with us but unfortunately the room we were given was very small, some of our other friends also had Junior Suites which were much larger, which would have been much better for us. Also, the mini bar fridge in our room never kept anything cold.

    The pool is fabulous and service excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great hotel, would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were about the best I have ever come across , they were always friendly, smiling and helpful. The food was amazing, definitely 5star quality. If you can manage to go half board I would recommend it. We upgraded to a room on the 5th floor with views over to Valleta, worth the extra money I think.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.8
    Staff in general very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a 5 star hotel I expected more. I had issues with the bathtub (water was not going down the sink) and I had charging issues (the plug was not always working - they tried to fix it though). The bathtub was not really cleaned up after my shower. My white bathsuit got red stains and I don‘t get them off. So I can literally throw my new white swimmsuit away that I had worn just once... :(

    Staff in general very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.5
    Was given early check-in + room upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom not completely shutoff from bedroom. Cleaning staff entered 2 times for cleaning in the morning whilst I was sleeping as I forgot to lock the door or hang a DO NOT ENTER sign outside. Very strange...

    Was given early check-in + room upgrade. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely staff very helpful and attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath towels tiny, lighting in room and room layout really poor, and the extra for an exec room really not worth it

    Really lovely staff very helpful and attentive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were exceptional , very genuine ,polite and helpful. The facilities were excellent , great pools , steam room , many places to eat and food was great. The bed was very comfortable in a spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    A l
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Buffet breakfast was excellent. Choice of three pools was excellent. Gym was basic but good enough for a quick workout. Rooms were perfect, quiet and kept clean every day. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    5.4
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room (junior suite) more basic than photos and had a broken flush on the toilet that the team said wasn’t broken (dripping sound throughout the night). Some staff ok some staff rude. Bad checking out experience with unitemised bill which meant we had to guess what the codes meant.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.1
    Horrible WiFi! Improvements required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible internet - wasn’t able to use my phone during the whole stay (big downside); completely unacceptable for a hotel that charges €200 per night! The room ran out of water for a couple of hours the last day Drinking water is not complimentary and you have to buy it!

    Good breakfast Nice pool Friendly staff Good location Clean and cozy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.1
    I generally recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noice of the A/C in the room. There is sometimes a smell in the hotel (specially in the room corridors which I dont like. It is maybe because the carpets)

    The staff was very helpfull. The SPA is very good The terapists in the SPA are excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.2
    Superb hotel all around - with an awesome rooftop pool. Easy walk to the beaches.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness center is too small. Would be nice if hotel could provide free passes to local gyms.

    Very spacious and quiet room with a nice balcony. Good size bathroom with separate shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Can't wait to head back to Malta !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel the price we paid was substantially higher then it should of been for just a hotel room, 4 night stay (no food/drink included) Especially after several guests informed me they paid less then I did and we had a horrid view, from our room. So As much as I love Malta, I don't think I would stay at this hotel again.

    Malta as a whole is beautiful. Friendly people, lovely scenery, great food and plenty of activities to do

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.5
    Good city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was quite tight, no counter space and the bath itself was raised so harder to get in/out of.

    Very comfortable bed, good choice for breakfast and it’s nice to be able to sit outside for it too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.8
    Quality hotel with extensive services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Our flight arrived before 9 am and due to that we asked beforehand for an early check-in, which we were willing to pay for. The room wasn't ready when we arrived at the hotel, which was understandable. However, we had to wait after 3 pm for our room because the front desk personnel forgot to inform us that our room was ready. The lady from the front desk didn't even apologize to us for the mishap. As entrepreneurs we suggest that in future cases it could be wise to offer guests temporary room for extra price until the actual room is ready - there were rooms available on our arrival day and even on 3 pm.

    This was our second time in the Palace. The view from the 7th floor was stunning compared to the lower level room, where we stayed last time. The housekeeping personnel were very attentive and friendly. Even though if we slept later, they cleaned our room in the afternoon. The hotel has also Prestige Cabs Malta office, which is very handy. The drivers are very friendly and the cars are cozy. The rooms are well-equipped. You can connect your own laptop to the tv using HDMI and watch for instance, Netflix. The Internet connection is very good and every room has its own WLAN AP.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.8
    A good 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's not a 5 star hotel. Many of the amenities which make a hotel 5 stars just weren't there. (Think paper cups at the pool). It is however an excellent 4 star hotel.

    The balcony was very big, in fact much bigger than I imagined. The rooms were massive and well-stocked. Staff was attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Beatiful and enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I celebrated my 50th birthday in the hotel. The view was spectacular. I love the hotel. It’s very clean and comfortable . The staff are very helpful and friendly . The food was very tasty and l always enjoyed the breakfast , so many food to choose from . I will definitely go back .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Great Stay, defo coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one thing which was a little annoying is that when we order food and then asked to cancel it immediately after ordering it, they made it difficult but eventually cancelled it.

    Hotel was Amazing and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Great Place to be in Sliema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to find... i didn't find anything.

    Everything! The location of the Hotel is close to everything (Ferry, bus station, shore, shopping center, banks, church, etc.). It has a great Spa on 7th Floor (one if the best massages), and a Pool on the Roof (8th Floor) that views all Sliema and byond. Staff very freindly, knows English, and helped me in everything (even they arragned a AC converter for me). 3 Days were Perfect for My Wife and I for a our Weekend in Malta.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, decent facilities. Recommend as a place to visit unless you are in the hot months
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy air conditioning with aggressive energy efficiency policy bathroom could be bigger

    Big room, marvelous view from the balcony, prefect location, quality breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    4.2
    Wish I stayed somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very soft and not comfortable Feels like you are laying on the floor. They changed our room and the mattress was even softer. Shower was leaking and bathrooms have the shower over bath concept. The hotel staff isnt very service driven in comparison to other 5 star hotels and it doesn't look like the pictures on booking.com.

    The pool area was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Very luxurious and well managed property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved the view from the balcony, the pool was fantastic and the beds were very comfortable. Great location near restaurants, shopping and the harbor. Staff was also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.1
    Very good staff access to the concierge, which was very...
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    I had a beautiful room with a large terrace overlooking half of the city with harbour. Buýt the great impression, was ruined by the noise of a some device, apparently on the roof, durint the whole night. I originally thought it was an air conditioning fan, but I finally turned it off, but the disturbing noise remained.

    Very good staff access to the concierge, which was very willing to meet the guest's wishes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    Last muinute booking, lived up to expectation and I would recommend for Sliema
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels and bedding feel a little damp, due to the humidity in Malta, so travellers should expect this. The beds are perhaps softer than one would expect in a hotel, but I found comfortable. It's not the prettiest of views from the hotel. If you want uninterrupted sea views from your balcony, this is not the hotel for you.

    A very warm welcome from professional and friendly staff. Every effort was made to arrange early room access and although not mentioned, I expect we had a room upgrade. Having noticed it was my birthday during the stay a cake was swiftly arranged and put into the room, which was a lovely thought. I would say nothing is too much trouble for the Reception and Concierge staff. Fabulous roof-top pool (sadly too cold to use) but also a very nice indoor pool. The Hot Stone massage was wonderful. I assume this hotel has facilities for disabled guests as there is a pool seat available. We chose to eat outside the hotel, so cannot comment accurately, but I gather Breakfast was extensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and lovely, comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffees at breakfast were from a machine and could have been fresher but other than that everything was great.

    This hotel is great and the location is fab. The pool on the roof is something I would definitely go back for even if it was a bit cold ! It was April though so to be expected!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Our short stay to Malta, was made most enjoyable by the friendly people that we met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel sits up a slight hill so it was a struggle for me with breathing problems to return on foot, however the first port of entry is the outside bar, to rest and quenche my thirst and get my breath back.

    We were upgraded from junior suite to a textured suite, this had a large bedroom with sitting and dining area and large bathroom with separate shower, great views from large balcony, it had a woa factor. The breakfast had everything that you would expect plus more, from eggs, cereals and fruits. Roof top terrace with infinity pool was amazing with great views all around. We did not try everything such as the spa and massage or evening meals but what I heard from other residents that we met they were more than pleased. The staff and service was exceptional, making our short break very enjoyable, a big thank you to all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    6.7
    Generally a comfortable stay in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower really let the room down .small shower with curtain and nowhere to put shower gels etc There was alot of damp araising 2 foot up wall from bath/ shower on the wall backing them.

    The size was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Stylish, Clean and friendly hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stylish furnishings in the lobby. Excellent infinity pool with views over valletta and indoor pool with great loungers and outdoor balcony. The location was excellent. Mid way between St Julians and Valetta ferry port close to Sliema for shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, disappointing for a 5 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a 5 star hotel with a requested king size bed, I was disappointed to find it was 2 single beds pushed together. All other 5 stars I have stayed at have a continuous king mattress. Also, the bathroom facilities were poor. Again, I have stayed in many hotels, and even 4 star hotels always have a separate shower. We were extremely disappointed to find our shower was above a bath, as my fiancé is 6 foot tall & couldn’t fit under it. The bathroom in general was poor. For hygiene purposes, I would expect a toilet to have a full door to separate it from the main bedroom, however not so at The Palace.

    Large bedroom, very friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent break in the sun for a week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot food in Tabloid restaurant for breakfast often only Luke warm, this should be better for a 5* hotel. Temp fusion restaurant on top floor seemed expensive and menu not to our liking (Maybe just us, but others guests we spoke to had a similar view, not just UK guests) it's Asian fusion, we both like Indian food but after going through the menu we gave it a miss. Pool on roof is not heated so unable to use even though temperature was mid 20's C, for a 5* hotel it should be heated at least in April/May and September/October like they do in the Canaries. This would make for a much better all year round facility. On check-out was charged twice, still not got refund, but I am sure I will eventually.

    Location good, but not good if you have any walking concerns, hilly/steps to access water front from hotel on foot. Beds very comfy. Food good in both the Tabloid and Talk of the Town restaurant, not too expensive for 5* hotel. Indoor pool and spa lovely. Staff really care. Nice rooftop area to sunbath, although can be a bit windy (Malta can be..)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    We were looked after brilliantly. Loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic hotel, staff wonderful, facilities are excellent, roof infinity pool a lovely place to spend time. Location is fantastic. Had a brilliant stay, food was superb and choice of food amazing. Would stay again 100%.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast and good pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Waiters were too quick to clear plates . Internal room - this wasn't clear on booking.com that it would be an internal room.

    Excellent breakfast and good pool area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    Facilities were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfort room was disappointing - no windows outside and only one plug socket which was inconveniently located.

    Facilities were exceptional. Great roof top pool area and spa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay celebrating friends birthday. Banquet dinner in the top floor dining area was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower leaked in bathroom = very wet floor. Swimming pool was rather cold (but early in season)

    large comfortable bed. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.3
    View from the balcony is good, though because of my room is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is not convenience.

    View from the balcony is good, though because of my room is on the 8th floor there's no roof for the balcony might be disturbing during rainy days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.9
    Central location, nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds, if you were upgrading (like we did) you would expect a double or king size, not two singles put together. The bells on one side of the hotel- couldn't sleep. Unexpected charge for car park, which wasn't mentioned on checking in. Key cards to our room constantly not working which resulted in numerous trips to the desk.

    Handy location, central enough. Floyd was very helpful in ensure our stay was satisfactory. Breakfast very nice and also lunch/dinner. Facilities top notch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.9
    Room was big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was some annoying red light blinking in the room during the night. I suppose it's fire alarm or something like that, but it was very disturbing for me. Staff are doing their best to keep cleanliness at the top level but the rooms are a little bit outdated and you can get impression that cleanliness could be better.

    Room was big and comfortable. Large bed, very comfy. Fantastic breakfast. Great staff. We were worried about the church bells, but now, after out stay at The Palace hotel I can tell you: don't worry at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.1
    My third visit to The Palace/Victoria , and have enjoyed our stay each time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At breakfast, waiters should be pro active in replenishing teas and coffees. Often, there was a long wait for the coffee/tea machine. Friends of ours were placed in an atrium room with no outside view. Not pleasant - beware of this when booking.

    Rooms were spacious with a small balcony with a view over to Valletta.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Got inappropriate money withdrawal after checkout and leaving
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given a receipt with one sum which I paid, then I checked out and then left for the airport right when I was additionally charged 128 euro with no receipt and no reason, just charged! which I learned when I got a message from my bank. I would need to contact property now and this is ridiculous..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with good facilities but not really 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not really a 5 star hotel. The rooftop pool was not prepared. The water was cold, and the bar was closed most of the time. The season maybe didn't started yet, but they should have prepared a little for the existing customers. The interior pool is also much smaller than it looks in the pictures. Some of the rooms have a very unpleasant view facing an interior wall. We were the lucky ones to get one of those rooms :(

    Friendly staff and well maintained hotel. Not really 5 stars but a good 4.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    First room (Comfort room with window to internal courtyard)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room (Comfort room with window to internal courtyard) was equipped wth three beds and an open bathroom. Because of the bath room we requested to change. They arranged a change on the next day. This room not only had a seperate bathroom (with a bathtube) it came with a balcony and a nice view of a church accross the street. There was of course a bit more street noise but nothing which bothered us. Unfortunately we couldn`t use the swimming pool and the fitness Studio. A cold kept us away. Excellent breakfast. However, no fish, e. g. smoked salmon. Very gold location. A supermaket just arround the corner and only a short walk to the Ferry to Valletta. Good Wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    6.3
    Various good food and very tasty croissants, good location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mistakes at charging for the room: when I arrived the half price was already payed but receptionist decided to try to additionally charge me the full price (without my presence and knowing) which I noticed at night when I started to receive messages from my bank. The next day another person at reception helped with the situation though another price (higher) was counted for unknown reasons. Very weird situation. That was my 2nd visit of the Palace hotel, and the 1st visit just a month ago was OK while the 2nd one brought problems which I needed to solve.

    Various good food and very tasty croissants, good location and nice clean rooms. I especially liked the terrace and a small coffee machine at my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable, stylish.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My trip was too short :)

    Perfect location. Room was specious with amazing view. I really appreciated the great service and the beyond. I will be back very soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.2
    Fab hotel great for a special occasion or just have
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a very good room, but no outside window which we had requested, which was a shame.

    It was a great hotel staff were very attentive and helpfully. The breakfast was amazing everything you could possibly want. There was a good bar to have a drink after an enjoyable day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    It was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in. Nice staff, extra clean, great location. If I ever go back, this hotel is going to be my number 1 choice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    9.6
    We very much enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant food quality was not of the same high standard as there at of the hotel. Breakfast though was excellent

    Magnificent room with view over Valletta Staff was very friendly and professional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great selection for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath towels weren’t very big or soft.

    Great selection for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Got 2 great recommendations for local restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    8.3
    Flawed beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room Non Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the hotel is beautifully designed, sadly there are several notable flaws. Firstly, the shower doesn't work. The shower head is set too low, so I had to stoop, and it didnt have enough power for me to stand back. The restricted bath design also means that twice, stepping out of the shower, I banged my head badly on a pointless towel rack installed at head height. Worst of fall, on the Executive floors (7 and 8), there is insufficient sound installation and no floor carpets. So I suffered from the excruciating overhead sound of furniture being dragged along the floor early in the am and late at night for 3 days. To be fair to the hotel, I'm sure they would have found me another room, but this doesn't mitigate the fact that the design is flawed. Its just a matter of chance of whether you get a noisy neighbour overhead or not...

    super friendly and helpful staff. The Spa, although modest, was also good. The Gym was well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse AX The Palace Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: