Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Westin Dragonara Resort 5 stars

Dragonara Road, STJ 3143 St Julian's, Malta

#8 of 33 hotels in St Julian's

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1319 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel with potential but need room renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to chamge rooms 3 times. My clothes still smell of mold from moldy arr conditioner

    Beautiful pool and beach area .food good but overpriced ( hamberger 21usd ) very pleasant staff and tried hard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Misrepresentation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a queen delux sea view room, but the room was given to us had a pool and building view. We refused to take the room and then we were upgraded to one of the delux suite and still didn’t have the full sea view as how it was described in their website. We had a massive problem in the bathroom as well all the water from the shower room was coming out and also there was a problem with hot water. When I was taking shower cold water completely gone and water temperature was extreme hot I couldn’t wash my hair off after all this inconvenience the hotel couldn’t be bothered to offer anything.

    Private beach area only for adults was nice to chill and some staffs were very pleasant in the pool and beach area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel & resort and we're already planning to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this hotel and resort was first class.

    From the moment we arrived to when we left we were made to feel welcome and valued and really looked after. Before leaving the UK we had to cancel the room for my parents because my Mum was too poorly to fly. Everything was taken care of without difficulty and Tonio Galea looked after our amended booking and even organised an upgrade for us to an Executive Club room on the top floor. This was extra money per night, but we could use the Club Lounge for breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening pre dinner drinks. We also had a fantastic view out over the pool and out to Sea. The rooms are well equipped too with a good selection of TV channels. Daniela Bajada who was the Front Desk Manager really looked after us well too. The pools were all great but we went to the adults only pool each day. This had a bar and comfortable loungers and service to your lounger could even be requested via Whatsapp. The way the patio tiles had been done integrated itself with the sea rocks and getting in and out of the sea was via proper steps and the guide rails stopped you going in where the rocks were not safe. The Health & Safety was excellent and well thought out. The food and drink was excellent too. Alexandra looks after you with a smile A++ Palio's Restaurant in the resort is fantastic, with great food and excellent service. Finally, the resort and island. The resort is lively and for my partner and I in our early to mid 40's it was maybe too lively. The Hard Rock Cafe is always worth a visit. Malta itself has so many places to visit and things to see. We had a day in Valetta which was fantastic along with a visit to St Elmo's Fort which was fascinating. It's easy top get around the island either by taxi or the Hop on Hop off buses which pick up outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    good but big place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    individual customer service is not very significant compared to other places during the same trip, however the staff is trying their best (after “reminding” staff that we were newly wed’s they made an effort to do something special for us) However small extra’s such as a late checkout for honeymooners were not made possible... could be improved

    very nice hotel, with everything that one would expect of a five star hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is fantastic don't get me wrong, as is the location for local bus links and restaurants / bars. However the area isn't the prettiest of locations. The beach front is great etc, but across the roast is a disused abandoned apartment complex. This is minor so don't let it put you off. The pools aren't deep so if you like to dive in, you cannot. Again this is minor but it was though they were purposely setup for kids in mind. Deepest part was 5ft 6".

    Excellent location in terms of restaurants, bars etc. I probably wouldn't stay in at st. Julian's again if I was to return. But it's a good central location to visit the whole island from. There is no fighting for beds at 7am, so you can actually sleep in. There are 2 pools, and multiple spots on the beach front which is great for relaxing. The biggest plus from me for the hotel was the staff. I don't normally comment on this, but every member was kind and helpful. Always polite and it was a nice touch to the stay. The breakfast was also great, plenty of food and not over crowded.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, brilliant facilities. Ideal location, suitable for all ages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several days very little milk left in our room. Milk in my daughters room was not replaced for 3 days. Easy enough to get some from reception but why not refill appropriately every day ? Our room was cleaned very late in the day, everyday. If you had spent all day in and around the hotel this was a little inconvenient.

    The food choice at breakfast was first class. The sun beds, sunbathing areas are brilliant, close to the sea, no problems at all getting a sun bed. Liked the specific adult only area. The small bottle of water left daily in your room was a really nice touch. The gym has really good quality equipment for a hotel. It was fairly busy but you did not have to wait long for equipment to become free. They also gave you a small bottle of water and a towel... All the staff were very helpful and professional at all times.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location but a bit worn out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is certainly not a 5 Star hotel. The room was large but smelly, very old fashioned with old carpets and curtains that keep the humidity. Without air condition it was too smelly to accept. The sea view was not a real sea view, only if you crane your head and look 90 degrees around the balcony.

    The immediate access to the sea - that was the reason why we choose the hotel. The restaurant and the club on the other side of of the main building were good. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel in beautiful surroundings & lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was our third visit to your hotel. We absolutely love it. Facilities are great & everywhere very clean & tidy. The staff are lovely & always very obliging. We enjoy the pianist in the hotel lobby - however we weren't too keen on the singer this year !!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Great break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Plastic spoons in the executive lounge for tea and coffee.

    Great do it yourself juice station. Chefs were at hand and catered for specific requests, gluten-free. And the restaurant was constantly replenished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    we really enjoyed our week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Westin Executive Club-Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    no facilities/attractions for children (except kids club). a simple water slide at the edge of one pool can do wonders. the beaches around the hotel are very rocky and inaccessible to children, except one tiny sandy spot.

    very nice resort with a top location, walking distance to the heart of st. julians. great buffet breakfast. very nice room (executive on 7th floor) for a family of 2+2 with a big sea view balcony. staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am writing on behalf of my parents. Their suite fell below the expected standard. The bed, instead of being in a more private area was the first thing you saw. The sitting area was minute and located at the rear of the room. It was clearly an afterthought as it was only accessible by passing through the bedroom. So when either one had friends dropping by, the other was unable to relax in the bed. Elderly parents were forced to sit downstairs in the comfortable but busy lobby. The single bathroom did not have a walk-in shower. It did not have a safety grab handle or rubber mat to enable them get into the bath safely. The bath screen seal was missing so the floor was constantly wet. They had to request for items to be restocked after rooms were cleaned. Parents were charged daily for WiFi. A bill meant for another guest was delivered to their room. A few days later when another family member with a different last name checked into their suite, a welcome letter addressed to my parents was found in their room. This suite was bigger and contained a walk-in shower and a bath, albeit free-standing. My parents were then offered another room but only on the day of the wedding, which obviously was unfeasible. At other hotels a fruit basket or wine accompanies the welcome letter. As neither was found in the room after check-in, when 2 bottles of champagne were left in an ice bucket days later, we assumed it was from management as some form of apology. We later discovered they were sent by another family member. Westin had failed to include their names. Although the hotel states this is their busiest season, they are obviously overwhelmed. The majority of friends and family members had several issues with their rooms. Water leaking under the bath, when toilets were flushed, either under the toilet itself or around the push button on the wall. One had to have the entire toilet replaced and so moved rooms. Rooms in the same price bracket differ. Not all have been renovated.

    Location. We attended a wedding which was held on the premises.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    The most amazing place to stay at in Malta !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn’t fault one thing !

    This was the most amazing resort we have ever stayed in ! Absolute immpecable service, food and wine! Would recommend this 1000 c over !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.3
    The reef club
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust,noise,elevators always busy and hot as saunas,old furniture,smell of old moquet carpet in the corridors,incompetence of the reception’ staff,wifi is not free,food quality is below standards,spaces are crowded and noisy,restaurant female staff is rude or not enough kind/helpful.The proportion quality/price is extremely unbalanced in this hotel.

    The reef club

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Service,great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the room always humid, you should take it out.

    Service just amazing, good food selection and variety, good to go with kids, rooms are comfy and sizable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Family stay at Westin Dragonara
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One could smell a bit of old odour either from the wardrobe or the doors, but it was only present when entering the room.

    Great view from the balcony. Varied breakfast. Very helpful staff. Own beach and two pools were a great advantage. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel also for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went in a 4bed big room, and we only got once and only one soap and shampoo for a family. But it was only negative. It is a really 9.9 point hotel from 10.0..😃

    Breakfast was excellent. Garden, swimming pool was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely time, the hotel was great, but we wouldn’t rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area wasn’t great for families. The twin immediately where the hotel is has a lot of ‘gentlemans clubs’ and there seemed to be a lot of stag groups. The immediate area was not suitable for young children.

    The hotel was lovely, very clean, staff were always on hand and helpful. Our room was a good size, we had a tower room and so we had a great size balcony area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant Hotel! Wonderful staff, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely first class, friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as special as possible. The location is great but I'd recommend a hire car to see the islands. The hotel sorted a car for us through JS Hire Cars. Loads to do in the hotel, two great swimming pools, access to the Med with lifeguards on duty. The highlight, breakfast, which was worth the journey alone, a fantastic selection of food and again service that was second to none. Highly recommended to anyone with a family who wants the Malta experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    2.5
    This was the worst hotel service I have experienced ever before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were invited to a wrong room due to a mistake by receptionist. Wrong room service was delivered, and we were asked to sign the wrong bill with ridiculous explanation such as just saying "obtaining your signature is our policy, even though the bill is wrong". Our requests such as a silent room and bed guard for a child were all disregarded, so that I had to ask these requests repeatedly. We also requested a room of sea view but the view was almost occupied by the hotel property, and the sea view was really limited, it was so shame. When I checked out, the receptionist must know the wrong room allocation to me, but he did not mention anything about that and did not ask my experience at the hotel to confirm customer satisfaction. I though this hotel is under staff and every staff is so busy to complete their tasks, thus they may not be able to think of customer experience. I do recommend increase in the number of skilled staff to change this situation.

    Kids room was only good area to enjoy family time in the hotel. Other than that, the whole area was uncomfortable (e.g. pool side was crowd and restaurant was inferior to local restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    the nearly pool and the waterprograms we liked so much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi is does not work so good. only about 4 hours ! This expensive hotel must have better wifi connection!

    the nearly pool and the waterprograms we liked so much!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Best pool and beach with beautiful towels and sun lounges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is great no noise like in the heart of St. Julians. The hotel is luxurious and the food is superb, no more expensive than any other 5 star hotel around the world. The bed and pillow so comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    I want to come back by myself and see more,than just St. Julian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card resetting again and again (staff were great at responding immediately) and lifts could be rather slow to arrive.

    Staff very helpful and knowledgeable in all respects.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    If I go to Malta again, I would stay at another hotel.
    • Group
    • Westin Executive Club-Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a party of over 30 people, everyone had issues with their rooms. Leaking bathrooms, not the right view or room paid for etc. This is disappointing to us because we chose to stay at the Westin because of our previous stay at the Westin in Dubai and the convenience because the Wedding reception was at the Westin. Some of the staff were rude and were reported to the Manager.

    The buffet on Saturday was excellent and the spread of the breakfast good. The location to the beach and water sports.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice vacation in Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Westin Executive Club-Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room door was bit broken, and didn't close automatically. Once, door was opened after room making (luckily not stolen anything). I asked to fix it asap, but they didn't fix. Though opening hours of exective lounge is till 10pm, already they closed and cleaning at 9:30. I asked to give us some drink, but one staff said "you can get it in the lobby bar with payment". I can't understand his words, because we paid for exective lounge already (18th July).

    Good quality hotel. Nice pools, breakfast, location, front staff. We selected plan with exective lounge, it's quite comfortable for whole day staying at hotel (enjoy pool, and can take rest with some foods, drink with nice view and sun shine (top floor of the building). Pool is not crowded, we could really relax.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We have stayed at this hotel for the last 15 years on our annual visit to Malta. My children and grandchildren would not consider staying anywhere else. The hotel has developed and improved over the years in many ways, facilities are second to none. The newly renovated restaurant is fantastic and offer one of the best breakfast buffets you will find anywhere. The waiting staff are all very well smartly dressed and extremely attentive. We regularly take advantage of room service which is quick, great quality and good value for money. The newly renovated rooms are tastefully done and extremely comfortable. Housekeeping do a fantastic job and are very thorough and flexible, happy to work around you rather than meet a schedule . The bar and terrace restaurant is a must, the service and food is second to none. All in all another fantastic 10 days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location and amazing customer care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we did not get 3 hrs check out extension, in a week day, after 4 nites stay and members SPG. That s the only grey spot on an immaculate stay.

    Perfect location and amazing customer care

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Really classy resort - an example for the entire hotel business
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    St Julian's as a village is very busy and beaches crowded. The hotel has its own private beach and swimming pool which is much better. Paceville as a neighbourhood has a bad name. We met a girl who got robbed and this seems to happen regularly at night.

    Staff were very friendly and of a high professional level. Compliments there. We appreciated free parking and good wifi. Lots of amenities including gym. Breakfast was the best I have ever seen in a hotel. We took a diving course at the Cresta centre around the corner which was really great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    The attitude of the hotel staff, location, hotel facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have been visiting this hotel for 10 years in which I booked number of different rooms from the single ones to various suites (Tower and baysuites) and I have to admit that the bathrooms really need complete refurbishment. In this last junior suite, it was really hard to plug and unplug the sink, toilet flushing also required some patience etc. Last remark.. beware of the rooms oriented to Quadro restaurant and the reef bar. These premises very often host weddings, birthday various other parties and thus a very disturbing noice&music goes on to 1 or 2 a.m.

    The attitude of the hotel staff, location, hotel facilities,renovated pool area, renovated breakfast area (although the real feeling of the breakfast having outdoor is gone)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a family friendly hotel , but I think there could be a few more stipulations , one child bought a scooter down for breakfast , which I find unbelievable that any parent would agree to in a five star hotel They give children balloons at breakfast, not a problem when they are outside , but they keep bursting in the breakfast room

    Excellent hotel, staff so happy, polite and couldn’t do enough for you. The facilities were excellent and the food in every restaurant was of a very high standard. The breakfast choices are amazing. The position of the hotel is very good , not too far from the square to pick up the local buses. Every bus trip is 2 euros , however far you go. We saw all the main tourist attractions by bus and they are normally on schedule

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful resort that takes care of all your needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no doorman to greet us when we arrived with 3 luggages from our taxi. Granted we arrived at 9 pm, but it would be nice to be greeted by a doorman

    The staff were very friendly and professional. We had a late check in because our flight was cancelled and tired, but the seamless check in and the spacious room with wonderful view of the sea seems to melt all that away. We ordered in room dining and had it in our expansive terrace overlooking the glowing lights of malta. Our executive room was spacious and faces the sea. The reef club was really nice with plenty of seating areas and sunbeds and cute little coves that you can swim in. They also have water sports available with an outside company. Service was impeccable all around. We had an amazing time in malta and wonderful place to enjoy it all in. Location is great in the breezy st Julian’s but away from the noisy paceville. A truly superb resort.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    With a request for a quiet part of the hotel we did have a family with a young child put next door to us but this was quickly sorted with us moving to another room

    Lovely hotel - Great location (a little away from whats left of the Clubbing/Stag/Hen strip of bars). Beautiful foyer and great staff - great managers, all very concerned and empathetic to my lack of sleep previously.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning service was in the late afternoon during the time when usually we would like to spend the time for resting.

    The breakfast was very good and we have a lots of choice. There were nice swimming pools and good pool bar . The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    A great 5 star hotel with some lovely staff & fabulous Suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long Grass Outside Bay suites The main Pool bar staff in seated pool bar ignored us numerous times not alert to guests maybe short staffed . The Boathouse bistro we did not book and walked along on the off chance for a table .. the staff member laughed and shook his head stating .. ‘No way ‘ no booking no table ‘! So we walked into Spinola Bay. Long walk in heat to Spinola Bay.. Maybe a free Shuttle Service or Golf Buggy Service would be helpful .. Not all guests are Fit and well enough to walk . It’s not worth booking a taxi as it’s a very short trip..

    The One Bedroom suite was fantastic everything we needed for 4 of us as a family ( except a washing machine would have been better instead of the dishwasher) The Grass was too long even after a cut..outside The Baysuites... Suggestion a walking path to and from Bay suites rooms to pool side. Mosquitos biting legs from long grass. The breakfast was fantastic, The beach towels were brilliant , The watersports team friendly Zoe Pool consierge excellent, Jeffrey at Breakfast helpful all were all fantastic. Air Con amazing.. nice touch was a free cocktail on arrival and a bottle of Procecco from The manager.in our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Really like this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Luxury Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really like this place. Perched on the edge of St Julian’s harbour, our Bay Suite was brand new - as in, only refurbished last week. It’s impeccable. The room is huge, the bedrooms are delightful, the bathrooms impeccable, but it’s the view of the harbour (from all rooms) that is breathtaking. 10/10. Breakfasts are bountiful, elegant, and stylish. The staff are almost affectionate! The buffet dinner at Terrace Restaurant was fantastic, and after a long day travelling, just what was needed. Negronis on the upstairs terrace on the second evening were lovely. Really can’t fault the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Truly a 5 STAR FAMILY LUXURIOUS HOTEL!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children playrooms and activities should be FREE . You had to pay for this services.

    Fantastic breakfast... Maybe the best and rich in variety breakfast (after Dubai hotels) i ve ever had!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ice machines were ‘temporarily’ out of order in many places. Not being able to use the fridge.

    Supub location, my 2nd visit last one nearly 20 years ago

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    We didn’t use air conditioning as it smelled of dirty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t use air conditioning as it smelled of dirty filters and gave a room unpleasant damp feeling. Showers are extremely uncomfortable especially when you have children as there is no way to use it without getting hair wet. My son was very distressed. The hotel needs to renovate rooms as everything has a dated feel. The beauty ends in lobby of the hotel. Staff in the restaurants is not very hospitable. No “hello” or “goodbyes”. There are steps everywhere to get to restaurants especially for more family oriented one, however none of the staff offers to help with carrying a stroller. The amenities in the room were very minimal. Not even complimentary water provided. No vanity kit, I had to call to request slippers. And the worst was that the room was only available for checking in at 3.30 pm even though we advised them of our arrival time and told them that we were travelling with a child when requested taxi transfer with a hotel. It’s definitely not the value for money or 5 start hotel experience... very disappointing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Besides the location and the amenities and layout of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides the location and the amenities and layout of the hotel, the thing that makes it special is the service and the staff. Every request from the guest was addressed on the spot and, even though it is a big hotel, you feel special and at the attention of the staff. Terrific concierge, excellent staff at the main restaurant, professional front office, all of them were just great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    We got upgraded to a superb room since it was our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SInce it was a 2 night stay, the room was not made after the 1st night - only changed towels after we have requested same to a hotel attendant. I would have expected the room to be done daily considering the price. Otherwise very satisfied.

    We got upgraded to a superb room since it was our anniversary - appreciated that a lot. We were also treated with some chocolates complimentary.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value and great venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Housekeeping arriving at 16:00 when we are resting, ending up in not doing housekeeping.... Kitchen calling to ask how was the food while we are still eating :)

    Great staff and location. The view is amazing. Room service absolutely brilliant and the pools are good. Darren at the water sports by the beach was amazing and really helped us with renting a boat as well as giving us great advice about places to visit in Malta

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    I recommend this property both for individual travelers and families, close to busy Sliema.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View and Two Queen Size Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel : wonderful foyer, views from the terrace at the sea, amazingly comfy beds, spacious suites, best pool I’ve seen ever and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff are incredibly attentive and helpful as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Westin Executive Club-Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. The buffet breakfasts are one of the best on offer anywhere

    The staff are incredibly attentive and helpful as well as being friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, rooms are clean an comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad coffee, especially at breakfast, but also at the lobby and pool bar not as expected for a 5 star hotel

    Friendly staff, rooms are clean an comfortable; spacious room, with gorgeous view to the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    hotel lobby was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lousy breakfast, no fresh juice, you literally have to beg for having a few pancakes, coffee tasted awfully (instant coffee), and all this for 23€ per person. Facilities: Pool is not heated, inside pool and sauna in bad condition. Room: Room size was good, but bathroom wasn’t as shown on the hotel pictures, toilet was pending… Hotel is a 4 star hotel, but far beyond 5 star.

    hotel lobby was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    5* hotel with 5* staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were great. Food good and breakfast choice excellent. Beds very comfortable and great sea views. Hotel well situated and on major bus routes. Nice pool and we'll tended gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast buffet had a wide range of food and did not feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were noisy, particularly at night, due to wind tunnelling in corridor outside the room and through vents. When booking a room for more than 2 people, amenities should reflect this e.g.) enough sets of slippers, enough toiletries, enough chairs on the balcony. Breakfast hot cooking stations could be very busy if only one chef on, was improved when more than one station open. No free wifi unless you are member of rewards scheme.

    Breakfast buffet had a wide range of food and did not feel rushed at breakfast - staff were always very attentive to tables. The view from the sea view room was outstanding. The beds were very large and comfortable. Good power shower. Jacuzzi and indoor pool lovely. Beautiful beach patio area. Staff were very helpful with all questions and requests. Spacious bedrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    All in all out stay was very good, confortable. Our kids liked it as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few things that caused minor discomfort, noticably: A missing screw in the bathroom stool; a minor leak in the bathtube(?) that caused the bathroom floor filled with water in the corners; water in the jacuzzi by the internal pool felt used.

    The food (breakfast & lobby buffet) was really extraordinary, it’s among the best that we had recently. The staff was really helpful and kind all the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks were quite expensive . The pool sun beds were of poor quality and a bit dirty. The check in was a bit late and we were waiting around for our room. Breakfast expensive

    The staff were so lovely and friendly . The food was excellent and the room was very clean and comfortable . The lounge area had a good vibe and the bar staff very attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and will return as Malta is my partners Home so we wil he back and forth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym showers

    Breakfast was amazing although avocado would be a suggestion to be added. Shola from the kitchen went beyond the call of duty to ensure we got poached eggs on one occasion. The reception manager also assisted us with a room to shower in as our flight was a late one rather than use the gym wash facilities which were very poor for the quality of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional service. Wonderful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are fine. They are a little tired. There's nothing special about the rooms and I had a superior room. Great view though. This is the only flaw of the hotel.

    The staff made it. The staff are exceptionally lovely, attentive and genuine. They smile with their eyes and mean it. They go out of their way to help and accommodate. The service level was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    The room was disappointing considering what I had booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as seen in the picture against the booking area of the website.

    Paid for a family room with twin beds. Was given a family room with a king sized bed. Booked a sea view, but received only a partial sea view. Sometimes noisy renovation work was being undertaken viewed from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing, felt totally spoiled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Westin Executive Club-Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Lovely hotel situated on the edge of the sea. Stayed in an executive room with sea view which was great, I wanted for nothing, can't find anything negative to say about this hotel. Facilities fantastic very sophisticated. Loved the piano bar. Staff members friendly and helpful. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    Ok hotel but more for the business traveler IMHO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Room With Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food was poor. Expensive breakfast buffet. Booked a tower room with a king and got a tower room with two queens.

    The view from our room was nice and you can get to restaurant row within 5 minutes. Free parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Really good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Westin Executive Club-Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap vodka in executive lounge.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful particularly in the executive lounge. Food was excellent. Casino next door had live music on Friday night. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Jiucing machine at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were too soft. The Hotel should organise activities for children, especially in winter time. The children area was not open during our stay.

    Jiucing machine at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous and family friendly resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is not ideal for a family with children. St Julian is a night life town, with bars, etc. There are restaurants in the resort though, Il Palio is a good one and very family friendly.

    The breakfast buffet is amazing. The beds were very comfortable. The personnel and the service were great. The lobby is fantastic, with a piano bar. The swimming pools - inside and outside - are clean, there is a jacuzzi inside. The gym is big and fantastic. Great place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Superb breakfast with everything you could wish for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb breakfast with everything you could wish for. We really enjoyed the restaurant/bar area with live piano. Really good afternoon tea and great food for reasonable pricing. If you like to work out, the hotel has a fully equipped gym with great sea view from the cardio machines.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Should have done more research before booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Let me start by saying we were there in April so it was off-season and I really should have done more investigating before booking. One of the outdoor pools was open but the "lido" and associated bar and eating facility were not. The private beach access I had planned on using was closed. The outdoor pool was freezing, as was what I thought was a hot tub/jacuzzi. We ate at Palio's the first night. We paid a moderate amount for the meal but the true cost was much higher. Nine hours of my life gone due to food poisoning, plus room service breakfast for the kids the next day since I could not leave the bathroom, plus water and a Coke from the minibar (again, since I could not leave to get supplies).

    The hotel is lovely and well-maintained. Staff is helpful and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    This hotel was not a 5 Star hotel in terms of facilities etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no facilities for babies. The children’s room was very dated and not spotless. There was not even any Matt’s available so babies could crawl on the floor and no toys for 9 months old babies.

    I generally did not like the hotel the spa lady Anne was lovely. Other than that didn’t like much of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we arrived during restaurant refurbishment and so had to use temporary breakfast restaurant. This was ok but on the last day the newly reopened breakfast area was opened which was excellent.

    All of the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    My friend stayed in Reddison blue and he was provided everything he asked for free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tower Room With Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 5 star hotel you wanted to charge me 30 Euro for a cable to charge my mobile phone. When I charged the pub bill to my room, I had a letter from the hotel saying the I need to to put the deposit down although the hotel had my credit card details.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Good, could be better, but definitely recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have had a heavenly rest, were it not for the fact that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment. Now that in itself is understandable. What is not, however, is having a 5 star hotel disrespect its guest by having loud work start early on at 7am, on a weekend and public holiday, no less! I went specifically for a restful and relaxing stay, given that the public holiday fell on a Monday, essentially meaning a long weekend in Malta. But we were woken to very loud machine noises early in the morning. That is some very poor judgement from the management, and simply cannot be excused with an appeal to necessity: the works may be necessary, the timing could have been better, regardless. Also, at the pool and sauna area, also nothing to write home about, one could see the rubbish in the bushes outside, thrown liberally on the ground. Come on! This is definitely not 5 star material. I hope the Westin cleans up its act, literally! Other than that, the stay was good, and, all said and done, I will probably return to the Hotel, and do recommend it if you are looking for a Hotel in the surrdoundings. I stayed at the Hilton just before moving in to the Westin, and while the former is more modern, something the latter is seemingly working on, and in some ways better, the Westin has the old world charm and sophistication which makes it truly unique. I hope this is not lost as a result of the hotel’s modernization efforts, as it is truly what makes it stand out. In the end, the Westin has the potential to remain the gem that it had strived to be.

    The bed was indeed extra comfy. The room, while a little dated, was spacious and had an excellent view (I booked a King Deluxe Sea View). The staff was simple excellent: everybody, and I do mean everybody, was courteous and polite, and offered the excellent service one would expect from a 5 star establishment. We had room service, and the food - risotto and pasta - was sublime. Came in time with some bread (not the best, alas) and sauces.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Did not know about the maintenance ongoing at the hotel. Main restaurant closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Indoor Pool and it's surroundings are worst than a 2 star hotel. The pool was warm on Saturday but cold on Sunday and Monday whilst the pool area was also cold with the a/c blowing cold air instead of warm air. The showers etc are in a dire state of neglect. Too many items are either rusted, broken or need to be replaced. The showers need a total uplift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small swimming pool. Dressing rooms and steam sauna need's to be upgraded

    Very good location, friendly staff, spacy room. Wonderful balcony with sea view. Tee, coffee and various kind of glasses in the room. HopOn HopOff bus and city bus stop outside hotel entrance. Very good breakfast (you can choose ingredients and ask cook to make omelet - thanks for that).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Clean hotel, but is lacking a lot of mod cons, like proper temperature control in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel AC at this time of year only does Hot or Fresh Air. Our Room Was BOILING over 27 degrees celcius. We complained to reception who told us there wasn't much they could do and then we receieved a call from the operations manager who essentially repeated the same. We needed to sleep practically naked in the room - and couldn't open a sliding door because there were no nets on the and we have small kids (our youngest 6 weeks old). So While this hotel has AC be careful booking at this time of the year because it can be wickedly uncomfortable! Also indoor pool facilities are ok but not great, the room shows a lot of signs of age with the ceiling missing parts of the plastering and lots of signs of humidity which seem like they haven't been taken care of in a while. I would peronally rate this part of the hotel as 4 star.

    The Breakfast was a Good decent breakfast, with variety. The rooms were spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    We will surely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in the rooms could be better refurbished. We had only one amenity and were in 2 in the room. The television was of really poor view.

    The bedrooms exceeded our expectations even though there could be some improvements in the bathroom. Breakfast was good but could be better. The ORVM was marvellous at night, we enjoyed the time spent there. We enjoyed the balcony and the view from our room and the coffee making facilities. We also loved the lavender oil.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel to stay at. This was our third time and we'll be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot and changing the thermostat did not seem to help.

    Great atmosphere and extremely friendly staff. Good food and in-room dining was efficient and good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Not a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked to stay at the Dragonara for a special anniversary treat for myself & my husband for 7 days. We arrived on Sunday 11 March but we very disappointed to find out that there was major renovation work being carried out on the hotel which resulted in constant noise of drilling and noisy building works. There was no area available to sit outside without hearing a considerable amount of building works & much dust on all areas outside. On Monday morning we did mention that there had been no mention of this building works. The hotel did offer us a room on the other side of the hotel away from the building work but we declined this as the balcony was not looking over the sea but we would have been confined to the balcony or sitting inside the hotel. We therefore decided to change to the Hilton hotel and back oked out of the Dragonara on Monday. This really disrupted of holiday and we were very disappointed that there had been no mention of any works taking place at the hotel. If this had been mentioned we would not have booked to stay at this time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    good experience. nice hotel. great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel facility is bit old.

    Great service. very friendly and professional staff. helped us called sightseeing bus when it didn't show up. booked taxi for us. we even borrowed a mosquito repellent at midnight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Never to go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Am sorry we went there. Definitely over-priced.

    It is well over-priced. They fid not inform us that inside entrance from garage to Resort closes at midnight and we had to walk from garage to main entrance at 2am!!! NOT DONE!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    We much preferred the more quite areas, but otherwise a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice huge gym, heated pool, we didn’t care much for the area. Young party people might like it a lot though. Not for families.

    A bit dated but just being updated. Our room was already new and nice. There was a great deal of construction for that reason.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Excellent service and top notch amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was undergoing renovation, which meant the children’s play area was closed. I wish I had known in advance.

    The staff were very attentive and prompt to answer any requests. They provided exceptional service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was absolutely terrible and not helpful at all. They were dishonest about how much the trip would end up costing and the group paid way more than the website originally said.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.3
    Really disappointing not 5 star. Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major construction work being done really noisy and disruptive. We were given wrong room to what we had booked and had to complain to get what we had paid for. Swimming pool area very tired and dated.

    King size bed great and duvet and pillows excellent. Maid cleaned room very well each day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Westin Executive Club-Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The club lounge leaves a little to be desired - coffee served with plastic spoons, limited choice of snacks. The view is lovely though

    Extremely spacious and comfortable room!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: