Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malta hotel reviews
  3. Malta hotel reviews
  4. Mdina hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux

Reviews of The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Misrah Il-Kunsill, MDN 1050 Mdina, Malta

#1 of 2 hotels in Mdina

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff but a bit overpriced and not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was small, the shower small and cramped and NOT made for tall people. Neither of us could take a shower without hitting our head and elbows. The tap in the sink was falling a part and there were lots of marks/scratches in the bath tub. One of the robes had a whole in the sleeve which made it look kind of trashy. A bit overpriced and not good value for money due to the lack of attention to detail.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, their English was very good. Cleanliness was great, bed was comfortable and breakfast was good. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2019

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hairdryer! Very poor, need upgrading. Toiletries difficult to use due to packaging also poor quality contents. Disappointing.

    Very comfortable, beautiful ambiance, welcoming staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2019

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but luxury, I doubt it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was VERY slow! It took forever to get drinks at the cocktail bar and at the trattoria in the hotel complex two tables came in after our party and were served before us. Not good enough! My wife and I were constantly asking for ice in our drinks as it was very hot weather - this should have been automatic. To top it off, when our friend asked for no ice in his drink, he got it! The worst complaint was that our two rooms were booked by me on Booking.com and I clearly stated the two names to which the rooms were to be allocated and included my credit card number. The credit card was charged for a deposit months before arrival and when we all turned up, both rooms were in our travelling companion’s name. Very unprofessional! This is not a five star hotel - I’ve stayed in them and sadly, for the money charged, Xara falls short.

    The free Wifi was brilliant - fast and very reliable. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bed was turned down every night, our pjs laid out along with a chocolate. The bathroom was clean and spacious with luxury toiletries. The location was good but Mdina is a small town so everything is close.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    3.3
    Dust, dust and more dust
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decoration was kind of old but ok. However there was so much dust in the room that I could barely breath. There was a lot of dust on the ventilation system in the bathroom and in the room I just ran my hand over the white furniture in front of the bed and there was snow white dust falling on the carpet. It was ridiculous! At the check out time we shared this information with the staff and please note that there were two managers listening to our feedback and they have just left the receptionist apologize without taking any further actions. Therefor we have learnt today that if you do not make a scandal, your feedback and moreover your experience at the hotel do not matter! A real shame for a five stars hotel!

    The location and the staff especially the F&B staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, except to say that the first class Mondion restaurant is open to non- residents. On two of our three night stay, the restaurant was booked with large parties.

    Everything. From the moment that we checked in with the really friendly lady at reception to the moment that we checked out with the marvellous Jon. Our duplex room was amazing, the lower floor was huge and filled with antiques. Breakfast was taken in the Mondion restaurant, which has far reaching views.We also dined there on one evening, the food was truly superb. Another evening we ate in the adjoining Trattoria AD 1530 (owned by Xara Palace) where my fillet steak was the size of a Sunday joint! The position of the hotel in the walled city of Mdina was fantastic. As the hotel has a small number of rooms, there is a more personal feel and the staff greet you by name. We have stayed in many wonderful hotels, and would rate Xara Palace one of the best, and we were sorry to leave.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    9.2
    A very good hotel with excellent staff in a unique situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool facility was shown as on sight, however it was at the hotel's facility just out of town. There was a free and efficient service taking you to the sight which was excellent. There was another issue at the pool which was solved immediately. Again the staff were attentive, friendly and always helpful.

    This is a beautiful hotel situated in a prime position. The bedrooms are good with excellent beds and bedding. The staff are very helpful and always attentive, solving any problem quickly. We would like to thank Aiden for his personal help and support.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    10
    From the architecture, facilities, food to the very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only draw back is that there is no private parking space. As it’s located in the pedestrian only historical site, public parking is located outside of the Mdina and is generally full: on a first come, first served basis.

    From the architecture, facilities, food to the very friendly and professional staff, Xara Palace has everything to offer to make your stay as enjoyable as possible in Mdina.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    10
    The property is very well kept and close to everything so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with View from Porch
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is very well kept and close to everything so you can walk. Staff is very kind and helpful and food is delicious!! We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    10
    I loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything !

    I loved everything. It is elegant but comfortable at the same time. I loved the beautiful breakfasts ! The staff were the most helpful and caring people. They went out of their way to assure that I was well taken care of!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    10
    I loved everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything !

    I loved everything ! The staff are beyond kind and helpful! I feel cared for and at home! The breakfast is beautiful and delicious! The room was elegant and comfortable! I enjoyed every minute.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    7.9
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with View from Porch
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was good but it seemed like you were a burden when you asked some people questions. Some of the staff could have been friendly and helpful especially for a Relaix Chateau rated hotel. Others at the hotel were fine.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    7.9
    Top place needing improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite With Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Many things were not in accordance with a 5***** Hotel standard. Some waiters were not the most professional ever: for instance in the Restaurant we were asked about the main dish and desert, together. Also one receptionist could not help us rent a car (suggested we used google?) In the bathroom the bathtube was not big and the taps were broken and not perfectly clean. Water pressure was low. Many electrical plugs were not working. In the breakfast we had to pay extra (6euros) for cooked breakfast (crumbled eggs, etc), which makes no sense in such a luxurious place. My husband was surprised there was no swimming pool.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the room very classy, with many details (poem over the bed and letter to welcome us). Housekeeping was great, and the responses to our requests very prompt (very fast bringing the iron, for ex).

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, but not 5-star as billed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a true 5 star as billed. No coffee machine in the room, tiny washroom, tattered house robes, the in-hotel trattoria (1554?) Is quite bad.

    Location is spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with View from Porch
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fantastic situation in this ancient Mdina city, with a magnificient architecture and view, a very comfortable room with king-size bed and beautiful lobby. We also appreciated the attentions left in our room every day. Even if we expected even better value with respect to the price of the room, this was an overall very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    10
    Accommodations and staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The arrival with a car is not easy and could be improved by the hotel providing reception near the Mdina gate so that guests don't have to sort parking and luggage. The hot tub cover is quite difficult to remove and the terrace could have been cleaner, though we appreciate that the winds were high the day prior

    Accommodations and staff were lovely. The restaurant is excellent, many compliments to the chef for unique flavours and beautiful presentation.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    10
    Incredible!! Unique!! Awesome - Must Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staying at Xara Palace was an experience in itself. Being inside a fort in a 16th century hotel was beautiful. Our check in was quick and we were given a full tour of the property. We were offered a welcome drink. The hospitality of the property deserves five stars. It was one of the best experience we have had. We had booked a panoramic room for our last night but decided to stay in the non panoramic room and the hotel made all the necessary changes so we didn’t have to move. The ladies at the reception were very helpful and friendly. Marijana and her manager were super nice. The duplex room 12 facing the main entrance was beautiful. The lounge area and the decor of the hotel were very antique and contemporary. Mdina is lovely. You feel you are in a whole different era. The breakfast was good with lots of options. Its 24euros or so but an experience to sit down and enjoy spectacular views. You can order eggs and/or english breakfast along with the buffet breakfast. We ordered room service one night from the plazzo restaurant and the food was not too good. After providing the review, the manager took money off our bill. They were so professional. We were treated with pure royalty. I would highly recommend staying at Xara palace and going through the experience. You will love it!! Thank you Xara Palace for making this trip a memorable one for us

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    8.3
    A very romantic and peaceful oasis in a very busy island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One afternoon they had a wedding and it was very difficult (and took a long time) to get a simple G&T. In-consistent turn-down service.

    The location of the property is amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the Mondrian is excellent and I would encourage you to try the local Maltese wine.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel in the old city. I liked everything. Spacious room with the big window has two levels. Very clean, very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom. Very friendly staff. It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    10
    Staying at the Xara Palace made me feel like royalty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite With Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    The bed turn-down service was special - there was a scroll parchment with a poem written on it, and chocolates on our pillows. The jacuzzi was amazing, and was on our balcony, so we had a breath-taking view while we soaked. The staff were especially friendly and helpful, and made us feel so special and pampered! Even my 3 year old son formed a bond with the staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    8.3
    Characteristic building in beautiful Mdina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good, however the waitress was quite busy (as she was alone) and that being said some things werent refilled / service lacked a bit.

    Beautiful building in my favotite part of Malta. Beautiful views, large room, wifi worked well, hot shower.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    8.3
    Very beautiful palace in Mdina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was sort of disappointing. No view. I just saw on the wall of the next house. Room was very dark, did not really like it. Room 6 is a room on 2 floors. Stairs are really dangerous as very very badly illuminated. It is very dangerous to fall. Bathroom was ok but not really inspiring. Just 1 sink. Narrow.

    Very special and beautiful hotel in Mdina! Top location! Nice public areas! Well kept! Superb restaurant, but very expensive!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    9.6
    Happy time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed here during a very bad storm with a government warning not to venture outdoors. The hotel was the best place to be in these circumstances. My bedroom on an upper deck was an extremely cosy hideaway! Breakfast was wonderful!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    A place to escape for peace and relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The Xara Palace is such a peaceful place, in a beautiful and quiet setting. The rooms and public areas are tastefully furnished, and the staff are very hospitable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.2
    Once you step inside the hotel you are left wondering .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service food could be a bit better .

    Once you step inside the hotel you are left wondering . You can see how much dedication have been but In the hotel . Great beding super comfortable room and amazing view . Breakfast was superb .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    8.8
    I felt like a pricesat the Xara Palace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the street. The Windows need to be double glazed to block out the noise.

    The New Year's Day Lunch was superb in every way. The food and service were impeccable. The room was very comfortable but the room was a bit stuffy. We did open the window but then that made the room noisy as our window opened up on the street and at 6am trucks were unloading produce for the hotel. Overall though it was a very relaxing, luxury stay!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Fabulous, we loved it, great place with the friendliest and most efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was a bit chilly but they tried to remedy. Run water 10 min before you want to have a shower - the building is old so normal - and then piping hot water. No bidet in a fantastic bathroom. And beware of the sauna, it does not deserve the name. Better not go.

    We loved the location and also the building. Full of antiques, gracious, comfortable, Fabulous and very attentive staff - let me mention Uma from Serbia, she remembers everything and is a great source of information. Fabulous dinners and breakfast. Dining room cosy and warm. Old building with a lot of history with great views over the landscape. They make you feel at home if you are not looking for nightlife but for a quiet place where you can relax and sleep. Beds are very comfortable and large, inviting to a very good sleep. But above all, the staff make your visit worthwhile.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.5
    Mixed experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very noisy - right by lift & under restaurant used for breakfast & dinner so no escaping the noise of voices, chairs, plates etc. Perhaps unsurprisingly for an old building, the water is extremely temperamental- impossible to have a shower due to constant temperature fluctuations. Perhaps the suites are better value for money.

    Great location & characterful building

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.6
    Romantic night in Mdina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a great experience Nothing to complain about

    We were in suite 15 - the jacuzzi on the terrace was amazing - the room was really nice too I asked for an iron and it was brought up to the room immediately- I will be returning

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Impressive and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other eating places owned by hotel not so good. Mdina extremely busy new year's day.

    Room 10. Great view. Staff first class. Lovely location. Historic building. Main restaurant expensive but wonderful. Stayed over new year.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    7.5
    I think the hotel is a lovely small gem of a hotel situated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no parking close by. Mdina is similar the the Old Towns of many big cities in Europe. It is very much protected from noise and pollution. There are a number of narrow roads which are mostly pedestrian areas. This is what makes Mdina a special gem of a place.

    I think the hotel is a lovely small gem of a hotel situated in the quiet small Old town of Mdina which place is full of history and culture.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.6
    Wll be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a beautiful old building, in the middle of the old town. Big rooms with a character. The staff is very attentive. The breakfast was exceptional and the restaurant has great views.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    From the moment we checked in and were offered a welcome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment we checked in and were offered a welcome glass of prosecco, to when we checked out the next day, we felt so very well taken care of. The duplex room was amazing, the amenities luxurious and the ambiance outstanding. They even promised to share one of their cocktail recipes with me and directed me where to buy the prickly pear liquor. I have traveled extensively and would consider this stay one of my favorites.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved staying there everything was perfect. Well deserved 5star. Friendly and very helpful staff. Excellent restaurant In hotel with amazing view and service. Will book again. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing overpriced stay in magnificent palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While we appreciated the nature of the silent city, it was unacceptable that at a 5 star hotel guests should be expected to drag their luggage across an external public parking lot in the rain unassisted. Reception staff were unfriendly and watched us struggle with big suitcases with no concern. Breakfast was more expensive than documented on bookings.com. No instructions on how to use Jacuzzi in room. We had to call down to reception and wait for them to call back with telephonic instructions on which buttons to press together to turn it on.

    Beautiful setting and well decorated.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Charming palace; disturbing expirience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Sunday, Oct. 14, while a group that has taken over most of the space, and has pulled over chairs and napkins and silverware from near tables, event took my coffee cup from my table when I got up to serve myself. The place was a disaster like a train station, the group rude an with no manners. I have seen that Hotels have protocols in how to manage groups when visiting, reserve area and tables and so forth. The only waiter was overwhelmed. I reported it to Front desk, and wrote about in Hotel evaluation. Two staff mentioned that they were Owners' guests. For a 5 stars hotel that prides in his connection to the Relais and Chateaux chain, it was disappointing and disturbing.

    It is a small hotel, 19 rooms, in a historical well restored and kept palace in spite of being a more the 200 years old building. The beautiful glass covered courtyard, and spacious corridor in the piano nobile, are amazing architectural features. It seems that the Hotel, being a small facility, is more appropriate for couples, older and young, for romantic get ways, for solo travelers looking for a good restful and quiet setting, and maybe very small families. The serene and museum-like décor, makes this Hotel very intimate, and good for relaxation and contemplation. The beds are super soft and the linens are priceless. It is nobility-living in centuries old and charming palace. Nosie free accommodation and soft spoken staff, makes it an oasis. The terrace views are amazing, and the restaurants and cafes associated with the Xara Palace Hotel, are exquisite. Reservation always advised.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location , in M'dina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location , in M'dina. 6th stay in Xsara and sustained performance on their side. Very good breakfast and the hotel restaurant is among the best ones in Malta.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    Location right in the walled city Mdina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In booking.com breakfast was advertised to cost 15 euros, but we paid 21 euros. Reception staff told us it was because we ordered eggs. However, when asked in the breakfast room, this price increase was not communicated to us.

    Location right in the walled city Mdina.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    We arriived late night around 22pm and was hard to find the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room with View from Porch
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a parking close to the entrance of the walls and it was full in the saturday night we arrived. We waited inside the car for 20 min until a car left and we got a place. There is nothing indicating the hotel location and fortunatelly a local habitant walked us until the hotel entrance. I do not recommend antone arrives after sunset as this experience was painfull.

    We arriived late night around 22pm and was hard to find the location as it is inside the walls. Andrew in the front desk made everything possible to get us in the restaurant for a late dinner and made us feel at home. The room is confortable, very good bathroom and there is an excellent breakfast that you can have either in the restaurant or in the terrace . Amazing experience

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    We had a memorastic stay
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were really no negatives.

    The hotel is small and old and has an amazing setting. Next to the hotel there is a Cafe that has excellent food. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast place is just breathtaking. It is on the top of the hotel and you have an amazing view of Valetta. The food there is very yummy. We definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet place in Mdina.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.6
    No better place than Xara Palace for exploring aristocratic Mdina and its twin Rabat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though great, breakfast is a bit overpriced.

    Comptent and affable staff. Staying in a Relais and Chateaux is not an everyday experience. Xara Palace lived up to the reputation of the group. Elegance, refinement and solicitous service to guests. Magnificent breakfast as much for the variety of offerings as their freshness. Superb view of the island of Malta from the dining terrace.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.7
    As I said in the notes when I booked, the couple staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As I said in the notes when I booked, the couple staying there were coming right after their wedding and wanted to have something special for them , but all they found is a bottle of water, quite disappointed after spending over €500 for 2 nights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.2
    Exclusive Mdina palace room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was bellow a stair and I bump into the "ceiling" twice with my head :( but maybe its because I'm clumsy.

    The location, the exclusiveness of the palace and the bathroom amenities (L'occitane).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful setting but a flawed experience for a 5* establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite With Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult access from the road system. Very poor sound insulation - you can hear everything that happens in the central atrium including the irritating doorbell. They provide only instant coffee in the rooms, and mineral water must be paid for after the first night. The Pool is not on site, being a car journey away, and I don't believe that is made explicitly clear. The Reception Supervisor was extremely rude to me which was completely unexpected, especially in a 5 Star establishment. Once that was known other members of staff stepped in to improve our experience and provided exemplary service. Breakfast is an extra cost.

    The Mdina fortifications make for an impressive setting with wonderful views, and the hotel is sympathetically woven into the fabric of the old walls. Rooms are spacious and tastefully appointed. The restaurant upstairs is excellent for both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    Captivating & Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful! But the staff were AMAZING!!! I feel ill on my trip and the General manager John went above and beyond in making our stay exceptional! The staff were the highlight of the hotel! The restaurant down stairs was beautiful and the staff there went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The food was delicious and the chef who made our eggs! Well they were the most delicious eggs I’ve ever eaten and I come from a long line of Michelin star chefs. No pool at the hotel but they supplied us with a chauffeur who drove us to a beautiful pool which was part of the hotel. My son enjoyed him self too and the staff were exceptionally kind to him. The driver too was magnificent he waited for us while I had to deal with a medical emergency. I really felt the love in that hotel! Very genuine! Definitely worth a visit! 10 STARS!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    Medieval, Marvelous, and Magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Everything exceeded our expectation!

    A Palace fit for a "Queen" but on an affordable budget! This hotel was highlight of our stay in Malta!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    As lovely as Mdina can get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    Everything was perfect. From the luxurious room and dining area, to the lovely staff and the cute anecdotes left around our room, such as a weather update and a goodnight card.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some rooms have not yet been renovated so our duplex room was wonderful but was let down by a rather tatty , low volume shower . The bathroom floor was rather stained also

    Wonderful to stay in such an elegant hotel within the walls of Mdina . You cannot take your car inside the walls but don’t let that put you off the very helpful staff will fetch your luggage for you .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    A hotel with strong character and in an incredible location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit too simple and limited for a hotel of this standing.

    When you enter you feel you have stepped out of your everyday life and into a preserved and out of time place with a strong historical significance. It is quite expensive for the amenities but I would say worth the experience if you take a room with the outside Jacuzzi on the terrace, overlooking all of Malta!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous property built right into the old city walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel description did not mention that you really cannot drive past the gates into the old city. There are lots of parking lots just outside the walls - but be prepared to walk a short distance with your luggage.

    This is an absolutely stunning hotel built right into the walls of the old city. Great views. Lovely breakfast. Very polite and helpful staff. Room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.3
    Great experience staying in Mdina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff lacked knowledge of nearby festival when asked didn't offer to find out

    The view and location in Mdina. Dinner on rooftop restaurant a highlight

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    The position of the shower needs to be adjusted to suit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position of the shower needs to be adjusted to suit the needs of larger guests, it is located on the wall right next to the window that makes it very uncomfortable to use properly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel for 1 night, but nowhere to relax outside so wouldn’t recommend longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We chose the hotel in part because it supposedly had a pool and we could combine sight seeing with swimming and relaxing in the sunshine. The pool was at a separate location, was closed for our entire 4 day stay and there was nowhere to sit outside in the sun.

    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely room with great view over the valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately on our first evening there was a wedding event, with full band, directly underneath our window which went on until midnight. We had specifically gone for peace and quiet so it was disappointing. As it was outside the city walls there was little the staff could do but there was no forewarning either.

    Lovely room with great view over the valley. Super breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Our third short stay here. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    A beautiful hotel in all respects in an absolutely perfect location. All the staff were welcoming and attentive. Our room was excellent and the spectacular views from our room high up in Mdina's walls are probably the best available from anywhere on the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    We booked the Duplex Suite (Room 4) - which is one of those rooms you never want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A fantastic hotel - an oasis of peace and calm in the centre of Medina. Everything about the hotel was of the highest quality - the rooms, the ambience and the staff. The staff were discrete but could not do enough for you if you wanted something, just as you expect but don't always get in a top quality hotel. The continental breakfast on the roof terrace was extensive in its range with a great view of nearly the whole island! It's worth going back to Medina just to stay at this hotel once again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They did not tell us in advance that our luggage will have to be dragged to hotel for 200 yards because vehicles cannot cannot come into old town streets.

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    A special place, special staff, and an incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room felt a little tired for the price. There was a non curtained area of window so could not get the room fully dark No outdoor facilities at all

    The location and the 'history' of the building The view The warmth, and professionalism of the staff- attentive but not stuffy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.2
    Expensive for one night but beautiful never the less
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No outside space

    Bed and linen gorgeous. Arrived early - room wasn’t ready until Specified time - would have been nice to get in earlier to settle and enjoy the rest of the day. Owise no Complaints but only stayed one night so limited experiences.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is a 17th-century palace converted to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are several "small details" that had somehow disturbed the otherwise good experience: 1. There are no toilets in the upper floor. When you are at an age that requires visiting the toilets several times during the night, you appreciate close facilities. 2. There was no TV in the upper level, so could not watch TV in bed. 3. There was no chair in the room, only an armchair and sofa. When I wanted to use my laptop on a table, I had to call the front desk for a chair (which arrived very quickly). In such an expensive hotel, one expects not to encounter such inconveniences, as minor as they might seem.

    The hotel is a 17th-century palace converted to hotel. My room (and I believe most or all of the other rooms) had two floors with internal stairs - a large bedroom on top of a living room and bathroom/toilets. The location is inside the walled city of Mdina (I believe the only hotel inside the walls). The service was very good. Overall it radiates respectability.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.5
    Nice ambience and furniture, helpful staff but not really as luxurious as I hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    split level room - bathroom and mirrors downstairs, bed and storage space upstairs. cocktail bar but no (cheaper) ordinary bar swimming pool in different location

    Location in central mdina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.1
    Very warm employees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool 10 m away from hotel premises. 1 floor step outside elevator has to b marked with sign as it is dangerous and not visible.

    Location/ ambience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing place for our final 3 nights in Malta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast somewhat overpriced even allowing for the view from the upper floor restaurant. Bathroom was acceptable but not quite at the level of the rest of the room. Our room faced the hotel entrance where there is a restaurant patio immediately below. This was not a problem in February but I would think it could be a bit noisy summer evenings when people want to sit outside - however this is part and parcel of being so central and chances are you will be outside too!

    Stunning atrium seating area alongside very friendly and helpful staff. Great location inside the walls of Mdina itself. The hotel is a former palace and feels plush with great choice of furniture and decor both in public and private rooms. From the top of the hotel there are beautiful views north across Malta. Nice large rooms; even the smaller have a good separate level seating and working area away from the bed. Sleeping area and seating area have lovely decoration. Heating worked - we did not need the air-conditioning! Its not a cheap hotel but, breakfast aside, felt good value for money. Whilst the hotel does not have a pool it has links to a nearby hotel which does if you want a swim

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    Best hotel I’ve stayed at in years. Amazing service and amenities in a very special location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the bathroom was great and the hotel provided all the great room amenities like robes and slippers. Our beds were turned down and ready for us while we were out and the breakfast is amazing - with a great view to match

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.3
    Due to no parking at hotel, difficult to carry baggage from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to no parking at hotel, difficult to carry baggage from car park to Hotel and back. You first have to walk to Hotel and just hope someone available with a hotel car (Permit to get to hotel) to help. You though do have to ASK for this help!!! Would suggest hotel get a small luggage buggy for this task and not wait to be asked for help with baggage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    8.3
    overall a very enjoyable stay, except for the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very noisy in the room already at ca 6:30am from cars/garbage collection or maybe supply trucks from the street next to the hotel wall. Rather horrible morning :)

    Location is brilliant. Hotel is nice, staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.5
    Its a nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is an absolute nightmare especially during the daytime. Take a taxi if you can!

    Its a nice hotel in a great location. The staff were helpful and courteous and the restaurant excellent, if not a little expensive. The room was nice, very clean and reasonably spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.2
    Quiet location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed room in the loft was OK but it was a little inconvenient to have bathroom upstairs too.

    Quiet location in the old town. Welcome service at check-in. Multi region DVD player was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous Gozo -Ta Cenc is the real deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite With Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nature surrounds means bring your insect repellent.

    Fantastic location. A wonderful escape with great onsite restaurant and bar. The Kantra Lido and private beach is a huge bonus! The place to relax, unwind and breath in Gozo's nature and sunsets from Ta Cenc cliffwalks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    6.7
    Overall rather disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with View from Porch
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reference the room we moved to (see below), noise. We understand hotel will close in January for refurb with soundproofing. Atrium arrangement always prone to mean noise to overlooking rooms so no issue with that but main problem was impact noise from terrace above and doors in hotel tended to slam. We had asked to be moved from room we were first allocated because it looked across to restaurant terrace and you felt you needed to close shutters for privacy. There was light from another, high, window but shut shutters felt claustrophobic. Room we were moved to was a suite. 50 euros extra per night. On balance it was preferable to the first room.

    The building, its character and location. The great view from the terrace. The size and layout of the suite in which we stayed. Noon checkout was very good to have. Staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    10
    Inside the walls this hotel is a unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As noted the terrace restaurant was sadly a disappointment. Overall there’s very little to criticize.

    The hotel is beautiful and the only one located within the historic walls., so there’s no better location. Having the town —after the buses have left—to yourself at night is priceless. The less-deluxe restaurant in the entry piazza is terrific and to be honest, we enjoyed it more than the top-tier de Mondian inside, which is expensive and somewhat disappointing. The staff drove us to the car park to retrieve our baggage and when we left. (Park first and walk to the hotel; they will get the bags for you.)inside the walls

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing Autumn holiday with fine weather, food, culture and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite With Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly worn towels and plumbing not quite up to scratch - really not much to complain about though!

    Breakfast on the terrace. The special location in Mdina The historical building. The restaurant Trattoria 1530.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    5.8
    Malta is an enchanting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities and more updates

    the staff was nice and helpful, but the management really need to take a closer look at the value for money and facilities. the Xara Hotel needs more updates, I understand it is all about the charm, but when you choose to stay at 5 stars hotel you should be able to have a bathtub faucet working properly (it just fell into my hands)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.3
    Best place to stay in beautiful Mdina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom facilities in need of update. In fairness,this is planned soon for half of the rooms.

    Best hotel in Mdina! Beautiful old Palazzo right in the centre of rather city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay with our family! Extraordinary location. Perfect service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the hotel's website, a swimming pool is mentioned. It is located outside the hotel and is not 'Relais & Chateaux' - worthy. I'd recommend not to promote the swimming pool because it does not reflect the high standard of the hotel itself, which is beyond all expectations.

    The location is absolutely unique! Inside Mdina, which is Unesco World Heritage. The only hotel inside the ancient city walls of Mdina. Perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location with stunning views from restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite With Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too many non-residents (with noisy children) at swimming pool.

    Excellent location with stunning views from restaurant and suite. Very good food and attentive service at main restaurant and "sister restaurants".

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: