Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Victoria Hotel - AX Hotels 4 stars

Gorg Borg Olivier Street, SLM 1807 Sliema, Malta

#3 of 31 hotels in Sliema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1083 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.8
    A Pleasant Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC at night seemed to be less than during the day. The beds are starting to be a little worn.

    The staff are very good, pleasant, accommodating, helpful and efficient. The staff help to make this a very pleasant place to stay. The location provides good access to many restaurants, pubs, buses and the ocean. The rooms are a good size, quiet, with good curtains to help facilitate sleep. The breakfast is large and provides many options including buffet and or omelet station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in Sliema
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel slippers are not provided free of charge. Same with bathrobes. If you have an on-site spa I think these items should be provided at no additional cost. Especially if you use the spa, which we did.

    The staff is very friendly and the room was spotless. The location is good as it is a short walk to the waterfront. If you need a taxi, the staff arranges everything for you. The breakfast buffet was quite nice. We especially enjoyed the made-to-order omelettes. The on-site spa is fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    The sights, awesome food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, double instead of two seperate.

    The sights, awesome food. Staff amiable and helpful. Enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna. Cleanliness top,, notch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    I loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Everything was amazing, the food is delicious, the staff is great! Very beautiful hotel, there are a lot of great restaurants near. The view from the balcony really amazing. Thank you very much, it was really nice weekend!😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The bed was very comfortable, the wifi was fast and the shower had excellent water pressure. The outdoor pool area is also very relaxing and the hotel is very clean. I was upgraded to a superior double room, which was also a nice surprise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Rooftop swimming pool is a must go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pay attention to the price of airport shuttle, every time the hotel informs different prices, and we paid also different amount to the taxi driver. But luckily the reception fixed it in the end. Indoor swimming pool is small though.

    The rooftop swimming pool was cute and with nice views, they also have fitness that contains good facilities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Because we left at 5:30am, so we ask if reception can prepared goodies for us on the way, and they did it, that was very sweet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was loud when on full and not very cold. The taps were poor water flow. The bathroom door got stuck. The balcony was small. Free water not provided daily. Mini bar was poor.

    Nice comfy bed. Spacious room Great pool and views, nice indoor pool with steam room and sauna.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Good option for visiting Valletta - as central Valletta Hotels very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Uncomfortable bed - mattress cover not breathable - sweaty - didn't sleep well - in my view should be better in a 4 Star hotel.

    Nice hotel which shares facilities with 5 star Palace hotel -adjoining Great pool with 360 view on the roof - nice pool side bar on the evening Nice Spar - good rooms with excellent air conditioning - very helpful staff Good value Half Board option

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Always looked forward to going back after a day out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows probably need replacing

    Well run hotel, great staff, clean rooms, air conditioning was powerful! Rooftop pools were great to relax with enough sunbeds for everyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    All in a very nice hotel and facilities are good. Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine drove me nuts, some days it works in seconds and others you will wait 20mins fir it to dispense ice.

    The pool area is excellent but expensive compared to the standard in Malta.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    One of my top 5 favourite places and accom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I didn't realise it was two singles though I wanted a queen or king for us but my fault I didn't see this. Also parking was tight but free and available easy and secure so cannot complain. Very nice stay thanks booking.com!

    Free parking thanks booking.com! Convenient location, amazing hotel, clean and modern, excellent service facilities and in hotel restaurants and free quality full breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic base for our visit to Malta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, there was no iron in the room, and there were only two bath towels (and they could have been a bit bigger).

    Location and facilities were excellent. Our room was spacious with a lovely balcony and we really enjoyed the rooftop pool(s) with views over to Valetta. The indoor pool and sauna facilities were also great. The hotel is easy walking distance to Sliema (and the ferry to Valetta) and St Julian's from the hotel, with a well stocked supermarket nearby. Staff were very helpful and accommodating (particularly the front desk). We never had an issue finding a park in the basement car park. The hotel really was the perfect base for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice at breakfast. Both pool areas were lovely with fantastic views. Good location near to the ferry terminal. Staff were unwaveringly pleasant and easy to deal with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Good facilities, indoor and outdoor pool, located in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was small and quite busy especially early morning, we had to queue to use the treadmills; it seemed like its a popular gym for locals also Quite far from St. Julian’s (30 minutes walk) and restaurant areas in Sliema (7-15 minutes walk), but hotel has few options if you look at staying around the hotel. Rooms overlook on one side towards a building so you always need to make sure curtains are pulled and one side partially towards the see. I felt it was on the expensive side similar to the prices of the big hotel chains in St. Julian and reflecting on the overall offering I felt they are not of same standard

    Good facilities, indoor and outdoor pool, located in the quiet area of Sliema.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    friendly stuff, relaxing roon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly stuff, relaxing roon. the facilities are amazing , we used the swimming pools and the sauna. Also the pub in the hotel and the barman is a must.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    - omelettes were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    - we asked for a queen bed and the bed was two single beds put together.. - the shower had hair in it and someone clearly shaved before we came to the room... - the steam room in the gym is plastic and has a metal door handle which as expected gets too hot to hold. - nothing in the minibar. - money - quality ratio is definitely on the low side

    - omelettes were great!! - provided us with the map of the island, bus and ferry schedules. great and useful compilation of all small things to discover Malta

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved our stay! The rooftop pool is fantastic, the buffet breakfast is great and the staff were extremely helpful. Appreciated having gym facilities too. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    swimming pool on the roof and asian restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bed was not comfortable for us, after cleaning our room we could not find my husband's pajamas shirt - someone took his shirt !!! hotel is on a hill, old and wet

    swimming pool on the roof and asian restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    The hotel had good points but not enough to justify the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel rooms are very dated, we had booked 2 suites which were only slightly longer rooms with not very comfortable sofas in them, our sofa was actually ripped and almost sagged to the floor when sat on. We were supposed to have a city view but instead looked out onto the neighbouring apartment block which was quite run down and unfortunately the residents were close enough to see directly into our rooms so we were unable to open the curtains much!!! Also the rooms boasted balconies which were less than 3 foot wide and totally unusable. For what we paid for the room we were really disappointed.

    The breakfast was excellent there was a chef on hand to make eggs any way you wanted and there was a really good choice. The hotel was very clean and the rooftop pool was lovely if a little crowded. The spa on the 7th floor was also very nice with a small balcony area to catch some sunshine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Good place for staying in Sliema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast - rather poor selection of products + very crowded breakfast lounge.

    Nice and comfortable hotel in the canter of Sliema - few minutes walking distance to sea promenade and all kind of bars and restaurants. Big, nicely decorated room. Pleasant pool on the building roof.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Amazing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members at the roof top pool was a bit rude to me as I signed my name and gave my room number. He wanted me to print my name. Coffee at breakfast time was not good at all. Not at all strong and tasted terriable.

    The roof top pool and the cocktails were amazing ! Really enjoyed the view and the seating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    The friendly staff, especially when our shuttle was late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was bad, just bring some from home.

    The friendly staff, especially when our shuttle was late. The front desk helped us with getting an update. Very quiet and relaxing hotel! Make sure to eat at the rooftop asian restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all.

    Our visit to the hotel was extremely 'helpful' as we were attending an evening event and ass we live on Gozo meant we didn't have to travel back late at night. The position close to the sea meantour guests could enjoy a walk on the prom. The facilities within the hotel were excellent - the only problem was they wanted an early morning swim and pool wasn't open until 0900. Our event we attended was very good and the staff were extremely helpful. breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice to fir you up for the day. We certainly intend returning for another short break.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The room we were placed in had a mould problem on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were placed in had a mould problem on the ceiling. We were moved to a different room, but it felt like a downgrade because the room was smaller and without a balcony,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, seriously, everything was good

    Everything was amazing! There was a male receptionist, during the whole check in and the warm welcome he gave us, never seen anyone with that attitude and positive energy. He must really love working here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The infinity pool on the rooftop terrace was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get the opportunity to use the Sauna on our terrace as we ran out of time ☹️

    The infinity pool on the rooftop terrace was beautiful. The food in all restaurants/bar was scrumptious. Our room was lovely and we had a very relaxing time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Good choice in Sliema.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel sits in a relatively quiet area and 6-8 minutes to Harbor. Convenient and comfortable. Staffs at the reception is very helpful. We would like to go to blue grotto in the morning after rain and they called the grotto boat house first to confirm that we will not go for nothing if they don't run the tours. Shopping area, restaurant and supermarket close by. Good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with a great view and beautiful rooftop pool!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only downside is the included breakfast which is the same every morning, if you stay for a week it's repetitive and not very diversified, and the girls working in the restaurant loved more to talk to each other than to actually clean the tables. But the room where the breakfast is served is really beautiful, I loved it.

    The location was very good, in a quiet area, easy to walk to restaurants, to the waterfront and the ferry from where you have very good bus connections (even if they do not respect the timetable :)). The pool on the rooftop was great, with plenty of sunbeds and not very loud, we especially liked the adults only pool, which is not very big but, but it's more intimate and it has sunshine until the evening. We bookd a double room with seaview and it was very nice. The room was very clean and maintained and the bed was very comfortable, we had a room in the 7th floor with a beautiful seaview, it was nice to drink your coffee or to stay in the evening on the terrace. We especially liked the facilities to make coffee or tea in the room. And what was totally special was the surprise that waited for us in the room the first evening, a bottle of champagne with a note from the Victoria Team wishing us a pleasant stay. This gift was a great way to make us feel perfect right from the beginning. Thank You!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff very friendly and attentive to client's needs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very friendly and attentive to client's needs especially at their main restaurant The Copperfields. Celebrated my husband's birthday with all the family and our guests were very satisfied. We highly recommended this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Could definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The evening meals were nice but sometimes could have been hotter, especially the day we arrived and there was a carvery.

    The beds were very comfy and the pillows were the best ever. Our room was nice and spacious and we had a small balcony. Great choice of food at breakfast. The hotel was about 5 minutes walk up a hill from the seafront, which suited us as it was a quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel withe nice staf and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel withe nice staf and good location. The rooftop pool was an extra plus but if you travel with children the pool is not the best since you are not aloud to jump and splash. Great for us but good to know if you plan on taking kids here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The twin beds were shoved together to make a "double bed". However, a topper was not put on top of the beds. The result was 5 nights of broken sleep, even after I had raised the issue with the staff.

    The hotel is located close enough to the seafront to make it very accessible, but far away enough to be quiet and peaceful throughout the day and night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Great stay of 7 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and bed were not comfortable for me but my husband was ok with them.

    Location was great, room was very quiet and clean. Nice fitness center and pools. Great vire from the rooftop terrace. Breakfast was ok. Staff was really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Charming and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was always the same. We had a buffet dinner included at the restaurant but also here no fantasy and avarage quality of food. Bed was not so comfy.

    The property is overall worthy, nice environment and full of amenities like SPA, indoor and outdoor pools, and a couple of nice bars were we enjoyed our stay, the drinks and the food. Staff is very friendly. Overall pretty clean. Location is good if you wanna visit the cities like Sliema, St. Julian, Valletta, a bit far from beaches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy room, good breakfast, lovely pool facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding staff for food and drink by pool was difficult. Also struggled get and return pool towels with the odd card policy not really being enforced, but potentially the risk of being fined. Water seemed very expensive on the pool deck.

    Breakfast was a wide buffet and fresh eggs. Managed to have plenty of tables despite being busy. The pools were both lovely although certainly more for a cool down than lengths. My room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Pricey but very comfortable and lovely staf.f
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimmi g pool rather cold as not heated ! Rather pricey.comfortable hotel 9n great location with good access to the sights. Free car parking was a great asset but needs to be advertised as we only found out about it on last day !

    Excellent breakfast plenty of choice and healthy options too. Large and comfortable double bed.livemt bathroom . Good location just a short walk from the boat over to valetta .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is nice and staff very friendly but is getting a bit dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals very poor, paid for half board and ate out most evenings because of grim evening meals. Breakfast was good if want a continental breakfasts, the English breakfast was not too good.

    Restaurant staff really nice, shame about the food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Honeymoon Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very elegant and clean, stylish rooms and furnishings. Lovely atmosphere. Spa was fantastic and staff were friendly and helpful. Pools are amazing, breakfast and dinners were fab!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable and clean. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Indoor and outdoor pool areas were lovely. Staff extremely helpful helping us with printing boarding passes etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    This was a wonderful four day break and I will highly recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would be good ( in an ideal world too have bottled (in glass) water.

    Breakfast was was superb! Loved everything about this hotel. Staff particularly lovely and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location and staff but poorly maintained facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cleanliness standard was very poor. Facilities were badly maintained and drains were always clogged. We found hair of previous occupants in bed and on towels which was disgusting. On our first day the cleaning lady only rolled up the towels in the bathroom without cleaning anything else. The situation improved once we complained but it wasn’t befitting the hotel standards. 2. Hotels should not claim to have double beds if the are only joining two single or queen sized beds to make one as this definitely defeats the purpose and is not comfortable. 3. No decent hair dryer or shaving socket in the bathroom. The basin was too small and toiletries could be better. There were no decent ironing facilities either.

    1. Generally reception staff was very friendly and helpful. At times the went out of their way for e.g. Dmitry who managed to revive our iphone and saved us a trip to the service centre. 2. The complimentary champagne from Management was very much appreciated. 3. Breakfast was quite decent with a decent variety. 4. Location was very central yet quiet which was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.0
    gone downhill since last visit-will look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast . Room was packed and the fact everything was self service meant queues for food , queues for coffee machine and tables weren't cleared as you emptied dishes so plates built up. Also for such a high rated hotel food quality wasn't as good as 2 years ago - cooked breakfast items weren't very hot and bacon quality was poor ( lots of rind and fat) With many guests walking past tables crammed near each other, with hot beverages ,is a accident waiting to happen - plenty waiting staff should provide teapots/ coffee pots for each table .

    Room was on high floor so very little disturbance from other guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall very nice experience, little improves to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom cleaning service could be better. More towels should be provided. Breakfast slightly poor in options (only regular milk provided). Little details that you don't expect with that price.

    Excellent location. Pool zone with stunning views. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Really great ratio quality/price. Amazing staff and very helpful. Everything was nice and well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really great ratio quality/price. Amazing staff and very helpful. Everything was nice and well run. The restaurant on the 9th floor is very good as well. Totally recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better disability access. I could not reach the breakfast facilities

    Very comfy bedding, loved the dog theme, friendly and helpful staff and good servoce

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall the staff is friendly, and the facilities are great. The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged a certain amount in laundry but there was no breakdown of exactly where the charges came from.

    The location of the hotel is excellent , the pool and gym facilities are great, and I especially loved the breakfast selection!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too crowded (we had to wait in a line to be seated) and not good. We went there only once. Hotel decoration was weird and at times not practical. A guy checking in with us was not given the family room he wanted so was quite upset. The guy who checked him also asked him what date it was, so that is kind of odd. We got lucky with our staff. Most guests were over 60.

    Hotel was as advertised. Wasn't very expensive so we didn't have much expectations. Good to sleep in and was clean had basic amenities. Parking structure is a bit hard to navigate but really was a bliss is slliema.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception staff fantastic and really helpful. Hotel spotlessly clean. Beds very big and very comfortable and great shower in bathroom Indoor pool and spa area a great bonus especially when weather not great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The water in the outdoor swimming pool could have been warm, it was so cold that we did not dare enter although the outside temperature was about 20C.

    The hotel is in a nice part of Sliema. Location is not perfect, but on the other hand it is only 5-10 minutes walk to the sea, on two sides of Sliema, with a lot of restaurants, bus connections, etc. The room was very nice - we were upgraded though it was on the 4th floor which seems not to be renovated several years ago (we heard that rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor are). Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We had facilities to make coffee and tea. The view was nice, not spectacular but ok. The swimming pool on the 7th floor was good and the view from the top (9th floor, with outdoor swimming pool) spectacular. The breakfast was very good, though the hotel was crowded and sometimes was not easy to find a table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Fab Four days all lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcome from manager was very personal all staff remembered us from the start nothing was too much trouble for them food was amazing room enormous clean luxurious and comfortable happy hour cocktails in bar and access to five star adjacent hotel with infinity pool and roof top bar choice of where to eat fab

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    We booked a double bed, when we arrived we found twin beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double bed, when we arrived we found twin beds. We reported this and went out for a few hours when we returned the twin beds were pushed together. We requested a double bed again, Then they put a double sheet across the twin beds but with two single duvets on top. The next day we asked if there were any double beds in the hotel we were told no. The next day a double duvet cover was put on the bed. Please tell management that twin beds pushed together are NOT a double bed. Also coffee is supplied in each room which is great but on four occasions when we had coffee, the coffee was replaced the next day but not the milk so we had to keep going to reception for milk. PS We have been married 40 years and still enjoy sleeping together.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    The room itself was big, the shower/bath was really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The infinity pool which was a big attraction to the hotel wasn't open and wouldn't be open until May as it was "too cold" we were not told this prior to booking the hotel. We were woken up by drilling over half of the mornings which was very annoying, around 7am. Far from ideal.

    The room itself was big, the shower/bath was really good with lots of hot water and good pressure. The bed was really comfy and the lounge was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    a good stay in the sunshine but for people with walking difficulties the location is a bit tricky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the beds and bedmaking left a lot to be desired. the indoor pool hardly big enough for a swim

    the staff were all very good .very friendly and helpful at all times

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Always reliable and excellent in every respect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing not to like, except recovering from a week of gluttony!

    My favorite hotel in Malta. Always reliable with very helpful staff & VG food. Tip: Superb value if you book room only and then buy breakfast and dinner vouchers. Excellent dinner then only E14, would cost at least E30 in another restaurant. Importantly, it has ample car parking - like gold in Malta

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anywhere to sit and have a drink outside as the rooftop is only open in the summer. The bar area within the hotel appeared very dark and uninviting.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, centrally located for Sliema.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good but not as hot as we'd like. Plenty of choice though.

    Lovely hotel, heated pool and steam room. Big room with large comfortable bed. Clean and well kept. Good gift shop. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant, comfortable and clean with very good facilities and good buffet selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Better weather this year in Feb. would have been nice!

    The hotel is well located but is a short 10-15 minute walk from the seafront. We have stayed in both a Superior room and a Superior suite previously and found them both spacious, very comfortable, clean and quiet. Indoor pool understandably is quite small but outside rooftop pool is large with plenty of space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful birthday get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I dident like

    It was a beuitiful place to stay Breakfast was wonderful The penny black restaurant is worth the visit the chips are amazing The staff where very welcoming and professional. They also gave me a bottle of wine for my birthday and went the extra mile thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    For 4 stars, it was a bt of a disappointment. I would give it a 3 stars hotel, could be so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and had tiles on the floor, which made it even colder. I guess that’s ok for summer, when it’s really hot outside, but for winter (february), it was too cold. The cleaning stuff came too late and missed cleaning our room in 2 days. We were with an infant, so cleaning is very important. The mattress on the bad was kinda old and it made sounds when you turned around. The shower cabin had its doors damaged, meaning that they could not be shut and the water was flooding not only through the doors, but also in the sides. so we did not use the shower cabin, luckily there was a bath tub. Also the parking is horror!! Too narrow spaces, too much of an inclination when going down, it was awful.

    The friendliness of the stuff, the fact that everyone knew english perfectly, the spa, the position was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, quiet location, good price, quality materials.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is always almost the same, maybe a little variety would be better.

    The wellness area is nice to have in winter weather. The breakfast is good enough, not special though - but you can have fresh omelette from a cook. Rooms are clean and specious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Bear in mind that this is a town hotel - as such it can be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bear in mind that this is a town hotel - as such it can be noisy with the window open. I also found that the breakfast room was a little too crowded, and because of the lack of windows at eye level, a little claustrophobic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    This is a very nice hotel that has been recently refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is a very nice hotel that has been recently refurbished. Staff were very helpful and advised us on days out and places of interest. We had a late flight on our last day and we were allowed to stay in our room until 1800.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Solid option but not exciting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would've preferred a real kingsize bed and not just to standard beds pushed together. Given a rather slippery floor surface you really had to "mind the gap". Soundproofing could be better as well.

    The Victoria is a solid option but a little to mainstream for my personal taste and even if they try to position the hotel as a bit "boutique" it's just to big to get that kind of vibe. That much said it's clean, well run and offers pretty much all you need. The gym is good by hotel gym standards. Breakfast is good as well without any surprises.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    nice stay for visiting Malta and Valetta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the garage is quite narrow

    friendly and very supporting staff, good breakfast (freshly cooked egg dishes), warm and cold buffet, spacious rooms, nice bar/pub with different daily offers

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Book it! You won't be disappointed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couldn't fault a thing!!!! I didn't like having to leave!!!

    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location about 5 minutes walk to the main street in Sliema with lots of lovely cafes, bars and shops. Luxurious room with the biggest and most comfortable bed!! Very friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent facilities and fantastic prices for food and drink.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Stayed on 7th floor, so really handy for the gym and pool,...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, was more than happy with everything, thank-you to all the staff for making our Christmas truly special, we will certainly love to return.

    Stayed on 7th floor, so really handy for the gym and pool, which were both very clean. Bed was big and comfy, staff were friendly and helpful, more than happy with our room, and bathroom, well appointed, with extra touch of bathrobe and slippers. Had room service one afternoon excellent value. Location perfect for us, short walk down to the front but away from hustle and bustle. Great that we could also use The Palace Hotel facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable break in a first class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Penny Black bar was very poor with terrible service and average food, when it should have been a great asset to the hotel Mainly down to the terrible attitude of the bar manager.

    Excellent room complimented by superb bathroom and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    A hidden GEM
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike unless you are EXTREMELY fussy.

    Modern interior with excellent facilities. I would class this as a hidden gem. Meals were excellent catering for every type of persons taste. Staff are professional with excellent customer Service always willing to help and know the business well to give the correct information. The cleaners are the backbone of the business that ensure the rooms are clean and provide extra towels on request - nothing is too much for the cleaning team to do. Polite, Friendly, professional and always with s smile. This business has an excellent team that want customers to enjoy the AX Hotels experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    The real English breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In my check in they offer me better room for the same price. I checked that and figure out that was lies. I got exactly the same room that I booked. I saw many reviews about this hotel talking about updating room, but it’s not really true. The room wasn’t so clean, specially bathroom.

    The real English breakfast was good. I got tasty omelets from Igor, very nice. Dmitry from reception also very helpful person, gave us good advice about place to visit. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    smell from the drains in the bathroom was, at times, overpowering. Had to keep the door closed at night.

    very clean, comfortable beds, wonderful shower, very polite, courteous and helpful staff, excellent breakfast and dinner, great sauna and steam room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Lovely, massive room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The infinity pool wasnt working so there was nowhere to do laps.

    Lovely, massive room! Great breakfast, although there were queues in the morning. Very helpful staff, excellent spa facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.5
    Just good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drainage smelled.There was a note not to drink tab water, without offering you just a small bottle of still water for free(a bottle of 1lt costs 2,75€ in the room).

    The breakfast had variety of products.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is too soft and pillow is too flat. The two nights we were there it was very noisy as there were loud singing coming from one of the restaurants in the hotel until 1am.

    staff are very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Gym is bigger than most and has many equipments. Nice spa facilities. Good selection of restaurants in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed - uncomfortable, last day of stay there was no warm water in the shower.

    Very nice and friendly personnel. The hotel / room is spacious, well renovated and clean! Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    The gym is great very well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I told the hotel when booking through booking.com that I need gluten free food for breakfast however this was totally ignored and the only thing I could eat was eggs and fruit, this was very disappointing. The bed is also two single bed mattresses pushed together which is not too comfortable.there is a mouldy smell throughout the corridor and the room unless it is aired.

    The gym is great very well equipped. The overall design of the room is also lovely and the staff are very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Victoria Hotel - AX Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: