Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5 stars

Coastal Road, Balaclava, Mauritius

#6 of 8 hotels in Balaclava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.5
    Nit a 5stars
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite old and service not up to the intercontinental standards Quality of food in the hotel was quite poor And the hotel is quite old and not greatly maintained. The beach has nothing exceptionnal Wouldnt recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, on par with intercontinental international standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch & Dinner were very poor compared to international standards, tried both the Thai & Indian restaurants which were expensive but awful. Room service hit & miss. Complained to GM and to his credit he listened and tried to rectify things. Housekeeping improved but the food was still awful and we felt mugged having to pay for it when we’d already complained that it wasn’t up to standards. Also the location is far from anything, nearest town Grand Baie costs £40 return in a taxi - please hire a car.

    Staff were always polite and helpful. Decent breakfast buffet. Free water sports including jet ski. Two pools and great beach. Decent & accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    At breakfast and dinner most of the food served was under...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast and dinner most of the food served was under catered for as most of the food bowls were empty and never refilled. Hardly got moneys worth

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were a mixed bag. Seems anything out of the normal expected conversation was lost on them. Also the bar gave you watered down alcohol!

    Breakfast was good. Location good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    Not a 5 star hotel, but surely charges like one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our main dissatisfation is a reoccuring theme in Mauritius, which is that the staff often seems not to care much. This in turn affects the quality of their service. Taking into account that this hotel is a 5 stars hotel, our expectations were not met. The hotel is generally very overpriced for the value you get. All a-la-carte restaurants were rather mediocre, but man, the prices are high even for a swiss couple. The buffet was also mediocre, but what really bothered us was the small flies all over the cold-cuts and fresh food. The cocktails were simplistic but pricey. Cleanliness is also rather poor, again considering the hotel being a 5-stars and expensive. Our bathroom floor was not cleaned (we stayed for 8 nights). The restaurant didn't give a clean impression, as mentioned above. The flies at the beach were very annoying (Belle Mare did not have this problem). Just a word about the staff: there are of course exceptions, but generally they are not attentive and for example dont pay attention to who just came to the bar and who didn't. We booked a spa package/treatment, which sounded great, but unfortunately the execution was not. If I book a treatment in Mauritius that costs as much as a treatment in Switzerland, I expect it to be exceptional. Unfortunately, it was far from it. The hotel itself is a bit old-fashioned in style If you are looking for an amazing experience, this is not the place.

    We stayed at 3 different hotels in Mauritius and this one was 2nd place. All rooms had some sort of ocean view, but with palm trees in between. The round sun beds close to the bridge were comfy, spacious and non-standard. The sunsets are really nice if weather permits. The fact that they have this protective artificial island, makes the accessible sea calmer and safer for children. Some staff were amazingly helpful, thanks to Kevin the chief concierge, Maggie and Michael at the reception. Everyone was very professional during the cyclone and preparation for it. The hotel handled the cyclone very well and the staff was calming down the guests. We had an early checkout and flight, so they prepared a breakfast-box for us. Their a-la-carte burger is great. Internet was good and reliable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very bad. Horrible service. Bad food. Horrible wine selection at very high prices. The hotel managed to mess up several times a day every day during our stay. Some of the staff is very rude (The assistant manager was extremely rude to us at our New Years gala dinner). Maintenance in the hotel is non existent. Staff slack off. Every little thing you have to ask for. Only changed our bed sheets after 5 days after talking to managers about it. The Cleaner damaged my computer charger. Talking to other guests found out that they had similar experience

    Liked nothing at this hotel. Changed tickets and left early to run away from this hole

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing, avoid at all cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found my stay at this hotel to be disappointing from the beginning to the end. They claim the hotel is a five star hotel but it was more like a bad three star. Most of the staff seemed lost in direction which affected their service. The room we stayed in was not properly cleaned and had mould in the bathroom. The cost of the food and beverage is exhorbatant for the quality received. I highly recommed to not go to this hotel. Waste of money.

    I found my stay at this hotel to be disappointing from the beginning to the end. They claim the hotel is a five star hotel but it was more like a bad three star. Most of the staff seemed lost in direction which affected their service. The room we stayed in was not properly cleaned and had mould in the bathroom. The cost of the food and beverage is exhorbatant for the quality received. I highly recommed to not go to this hotel. Waste of money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    I don’t think I will go back to this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was really bad. We had to wait for hours for ice to be send to our room. I suggest the property look at putting in ice machines at some spots close to the rooms. This way guests can get the ice themselves as required in stead of ringing room service and have to wait. On the second day our room was cleaned but toilet paper was not top up, again we had to wait more than 40 minutes for services to supply paper to our room - a bit of a fix when you need to do a number two and no toilet paper. The same thing with the face cloths, was removed when the room was cleaned but never replaced. There are 4 restaurants on the property, 3 ala carte and 1 buffet. We were advised that we need to book the ala carte ones but they all seem to be very empty every night we walk passed them. On our last night we tried to walk into one of the restaurants without a booking based on our observations of the previous nights, just be told they were fully booked till after nine. We then asked if we can get a table for after nine then and was told that they would check. After five minutes we were told that a table had cancelled and we can get in. The disturbing part though was that the restaurant never filled up during the time we had dinner there - why tell people you are fully booked if you are not

    Beautiful property in stunning location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.0
    not worthy at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 most importantly, we booked the room with Seaview but we can see NOTHING about the sea at all from our room.We could only see the tall tropical plants in front of our balcony from the room. We could only see a side sea view when we sit in balcony where was full of mosquitoes.There were too many mosquitoes in the room as well which was impossible to clear out. 2 the bedsheet was constantly moist which made the bed very uncomfortable. 3 the food there was extremely overpriced. we had a fish filet which consisted of only two slices of 10cmx5cm and it was not fresh at all when we tasted. the chief explained to us that the fish was fresh but we learnt from the locals that massive fishing is forbidden in the island so the fish cannot be fresh at all. Later a staff called from the consiege also confirmed that the fish was not fresh. we were very disappointed about it.

    most of the staff are very nice and professional. they offer many activities on the beach and the sea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    It was fabulous I will be back Greeting to assitent-resort manager Nadine she was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a lock from the outside to walk straight to the beach😀😀

    The Chrismas story in reception The different activities eg band with such cosy music, the boatman at boathouse, wow the food special the Xmas dinner and room ready for night and lots more

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    My stay at this hotel was heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is beyond comparable, it’s a more like paradise on earth. The staff and people of the county are so friendly and have such great hospitality is touched my heart. The scenery and view that is seen at this resort is magnificent. The hotel has an amazing gym area with the most eye catching view, the spa is the best place for relaxation, the hotel has a view complimentary activities which are fun filled! The bar have amazing mocktails and fresh coconut water. The food is amazing, the best is the Cajun chicken burger with a good Shirley temple,on typing this my mouth is watering. My all round experience exceeded then what I thought, I would gladly recommend this place and plan a next trip back asap. A huge thanks to Mr Aza, Nithin, Abhi, Chandra for always being to our aid and serving us, I call these people my family now. Also a huge thanks to Isaie and Loyd for making every activity and gym session fun and vibrant. I really miss the people of this hotel, and hope to see them in the near future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Luxury hotel had amazing honeymoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little cut off from outside bars or restaurants but you can do a day trip. Found excursions a little expensive.

    Stunning hotel wonderful service and quality, superb food and beautiful grounds. It was our honeymoon and staff made it so special for us. Great for couples.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful hotel with interesting options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet could have been better, hot water in the rooms

    The room was good, restaurants were nice, activities good, staff especially Ben your assistant manager was very service oriented and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Best property for Indians
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific to dislike.

    The property is amazing, the location, the facilities, the programmes they had and if you are an Indian and vegetarian this is the hotel you need to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    5.4
    These guys could've been more efficient and better...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - When I got to my room, the toilet had not been cleaned :( - the staff we're very slow to respond to basic requests like asking for a porter to take ones bags (took them 35mins until I decided to walk and then found them outside) - When my room key did not work, I called for staff to help open my room; this took 23mins to attend to

    The room was bigger than I thought and technically was good value for money at first thought...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coconut available for room service (basic fruit of Mur), no ventilation in toilet, toilet needs some details rework (painting, fan fixing etc), no shops (groceries) in surrowndings other than 3 at hotel

    A lot of activities at resort (aquagym is top, eavening performances-shows etc), staff very friendly, location magical, towels always available..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast buffet was amazing, with loads of vegetarian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in-room dining was not up to the mark.

    The breakfast buffet was amazing, with loads of vegetarian options. The hotel room was extremely clean and the bed was cosy. Staff are very kind and welcoming, always ready to help.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.1
    Holiday at the intercontinental
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Jacuzzi Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service was late and eating at the sugarcane bar was not comfortable due to the flies and amount of birds invading your meals

    Resort was good and the food quality. General facilities were impressive

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.5
    Lovely environment and room comfortable & well appointed, but service & f
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Jacuzzi Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was poor - often groups of staff were around, but failed to notice we needed serving. Service was slow after orders were made Without the benefit of a half board deal, food in the hotel was very expensive. Drinks were also pricy

    The. Room & hotel environment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Paradise on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everthing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    Mon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Good experience but there are better options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very poor in general. Some staff was excellent others were poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquito issue around the hotel, no one picks call when dialled 0 or reception in night

    Room,swimming pool, ocean view, ambience, food at Veda

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Service was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    3.8
    Service so slow, employeer are rude, not a 5 star hotel nothing is worth the money, bathroom smells
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything literally

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    The ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The availabilty/access of other eating facilities .

    The ambience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Sea view attached jacuzzi to the room the fire show
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Jacuzzi Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service slow no food variety

    Sea view attached jacuzzi to the room the fire show

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.4
    Confusion about booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion about booking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Fair value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room old no hot water one night lots of stairs ambiance not nice

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.6
    Poor facilities and restorants , no other options becouse its in isolated area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restorants , beaches, facility,location, swimming pools

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Service was efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of room in need of maintenance

    Service was efficient. Housekeeping was on the ball.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Jacuzzi Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar should open a bit too long or may be 24 hours

    One word amazing place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    It was pleasant, comfortable and peaceful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room service menu is limited

    The bed room was comfortable with a big balcony with an ocean view. The property was luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Overall a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not upto the mark could have been better with very little healthy options and not great food

    Connectivity to the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Intercontinental Mauritius
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    internet

    Excellent, Kevin and his Concierge team offered amazing services

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Beds are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    overall a good experience and enjoyed the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location ,Beach, Activities and for sure the VEG Breakfast...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Great- but give clients choice to select rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inability to select preferred rooms

    Sea

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    it was a great stay and would to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the package would have been inform about the half board and full board basis

    Love the location and services

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.3
    Family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service very slow & wifi terrible 😓😓

    Lovely staff... My kids enjoyed the kids club.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    4.6
    Much Needed Improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, entertainment, service, noise disturbance, the pool,

    Besides the bed,the wifi,and the spa, not much to like!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.1
    People need to take more time to checkin
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in facilities

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Terrace Jacuzzi Ocean Facing Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    hot water was not consistent in the shower in spite of complaining problem had not been sorted out

    yes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    7.5
    Alvin and Muruga were extremely friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. Taxis were extremely expensive and we could not even negotiate better rates with the drivers themselves because they were scared of the hotel. 2. Mini bar not stocked.

    Alvin and Muruga were extremely friendly and kind. Great service. They certainly add much value and are invaluable assets to the Intercontinental.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    3.3
    You get better service and value for your money from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You get better service and value for your money from a normal room at another hotel than the presidential suite at this hotel. Service is extremely poor, slow and nothing is value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly and proffessional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. Our requirements to have two rooms next to each other and having an ocean view were not met. 2. Got room with two twin beds put together instead of the double room we had booked. 3. Rooms need fumigation -big cockroaches all over 4. Buffet menu not very exciting

    Staff were very friendly and proffessional.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    Brilliant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Brilliant stay.. A special mention goes to Rina and Micheal at reception for super service. This was my second stay and I will definitely return. Keep up the great work guys !!

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very rude, did not speak english. They seemed to secretly team up with taxi drivers to rip us off for our money by telling us prices that are way higher than normal for very close by trips. Food and mainly the buffet was all indian food not respecting the fact that there are international fusts othwr than indians who will need to eat. Serive was very poor and we were told that we need to book the steam room and sauna for entry. No conditioner or bath robes were provided and when asked for they said get from your room. Message was done poorly and with olive oil or cooking oil, very poor. When asked for room service, the waiters were very poorly trained and rude and wanted to invade the room forcefully. In the spa all facilities were our of serive, both saunas fid not work, pne steam room was out of service. You cannot relax while having your breakfast due to beimg attached by a flood of birds die to poor cleaning around you from the staff and food left overs all around. You would be tortoired until you get your coffee too. In genral this stay was an only rip off pf our money and very disappointing.

    Bothing at all

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    4.2
    Nice landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed sheets were stained with sort of blood color. Room smelled like old house there were cockroach and facilities look already old some features are just too old to work properly. I would never come back even for half price.

    Nice landscape

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    8.3
    Location of my room in the resort was perfect, direct access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness can be improved upon, it was a cyclone in the island BTW so maybe that could be the reason for negligence.

    Location of my room in the resort was perfect, direct access to warm water pool

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.8
    We got a free upgrade to presidential suite which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location far off from everything Beach is rocky

    We got a free upgrade to presidential suite which was excellent. Clean and well managed. Beautiful views. Excellent wifi coverage Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    The overall service was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall service was awesome

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    The staff they are very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food

    The staff they are very good

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    7.1
    It's just good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food is not good and fresh enough

    It's just good

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    5.0
    Nice bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrible beach. Very bad wifi in rooms. Hard to find and far removed. Busy and overcrowded main dining area.

    Nice bed.,

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: