Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Mauritius hotel reviews
  3. Flic-en-Flac hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of La Pirogue A Sun Resort

Reviews of La Pirogue A Sun Resort 4 stars

Royal Road, Wolmar, 0000 Flic-en-Flac, Mauritius

#2 of 12 hotels in Flic-en-Flac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 261 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2019

    10
    Best place in Mauritius
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could have been more varied, specially for long stayers

    The resort has a lot to offer in terms of activities, cuisine, entertainment and leisure

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    9.6
    Outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was insignificant compared to overall experience so rather not mention it.

    The hospitality of the staff, the facilities at the property & the detailing in organising various daily events at the property were commendable.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2019

    6.3
    Dinnet buffet was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is not the best. Lunch options are limited and food for lunch what is abailable is very poor. On the check out they wanted to charge us for the bills that were not ours. System needs update.

    Dinnet buffet was very nice. Facilities are great, expecially when traveling with baby. I like the option to use the facilities from the hotel next door. Think that is great, especially when staying for longer period.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2019

    9.2
    Vacation in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We do not like to complain, as this is really a wonderful resort and we would go back. But in full honesty, we were really disappointed by the reception service at check-in and check-out (and in general for asking for information at the front desk) as we just did not find people there friendly or very helpful. We had spent the previous week at a much less expensive hotel in Pereybere and found their reception staff to be much nicer and far more helpful. For a high end resort like La Pirogue we were quite surprised by this, as the staff at reception are your first and last impression of a hotel....

    La Pirogue is set in Paradise. The comfortable, clean, modern and spacious cottages are located on a huge property amongst Palm trees, and along a gorgeous, long sandy beach. There is also a fantastic pool and great activities for kids during the day (it is definitely a family friendly resort!). The breakfast buffet was just fantastic (with excellent coffee!!), and the dinners were also diverse and quite good. The servers and staff at the kids club etc were mostly very friendly and helpful. In addition, the entertainment each night (dancers) was enjoyable for the entire family. Finally, we really appreciated the ability to stay at the resort the day of departure (our flight was after 11pm), and to have access to a cottage to shower and change before leaving.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2019

    10
    Everything was amazing, perfect for us and our 1 yo son.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff should explain better to new guests how the resort is organized and should sponsorize more the activities inside the resort.

    Everything was amazing, perfect for us and our 1 yo son.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2019

    10
    Very clean rooms, helpful staff, outstanding and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive foods and drinks on the beach.

    Very clean rooms, helpful staff, outstanding and very diverse food buffet. When you check out and have an overnight flight, you even get a room for showering before you leave. Very well organized.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2019

    10
    all facilities, services are very good, everything is handy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for food i would rate it at 7, maybe 8 on a 1 to 10 scale.

    all facilities, services are very good, everything is handy, easy to get. the gardens are very nice, super clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2019

    9.2
    Great pool, lovely spot along the beach, nice food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too far from restaurants and bars. If it rains you get wet walking out of your room as it’s all outside. It rains a lot in summer.

    Great pool, lovely spot along the beach, nice food.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2019

    5.8
    would have been better with more professional people at reception.
    • Group
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wesley at reception, very unfriendly. we walked upto the opposite side of the hotel to reach the room, he did not offer to carry us with the golf car though we had a long tiring trip to come. we noticed all travelers were coming with this car. maybe this is because we required to see the room before signing up? in restaurant, you pay for the in-house bottled water, like 2.5€ this is unacceptable in regard of the room price/category. you have one water bottle FOC for 2 person per day in the room. extras are quite expensive.

    the beach, the buffet. Mr Ashok helped us at check in.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    7.9
    Very nice resort but too expensive with this star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfer hotel-Airport was very bad. The baby sit was not conform and unsafe. We had also problems with the final invoice (mistake off 300EUR). Discrapancy between the Booking and hotel amount (4 days to solve!). We have really the feeling that la Pirogue is quite expensive. It is a good resort but for the price you can have something better.

    Very nice beach, location and the staff was very kind. The breakfast and dinner buffet was also good (hb during our stay ).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    10
    Magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super! There is not a single person to single out, because it is impossible. Staff at every section of the resort were super friendly and helpful! The food prepared are always delicious with a various selection of choice. Towels always smell good. Oh... I can just go on and write an entire book about the excellent service, facilities and STAFF!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were cheap and uncomfortable. The beachside drink service from the towel dispensing kiosks was uncoordinated. The starters and desserts at the resort's ala carte restaurants could have more imagination applied to them.

    One of the best all inclusive style resorts on which we have ever stayed. The food and drink was truly excellent, from the coffee and freshly made pastries and pancakes at breakfast, to the local rum, to the main courses of the hot meals at all restaurants. You can choose from 4 restaurants as part of the half board package, plus two others you can pay extra for. The bungalow are large with good size bathrooms, don't pay more for a beachside because they aren't, and the garden ones are actually the best situated. Staff were super friendly throughout. Special mention for Sherley on reception and Lionel at breakfast, both of whom have a lovely warm and attentive service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Free upgrade to sea view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks very overpriced. Water pressure didn't work in bathroom. Waterskiing was additional charge compared to cheaper hotels where this is included in price

    Free upgrade to sea view room. Beautiful location and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that la pirogue should consider is the water and soft drinks for the half board during dinner. Breakfast you are allowed to have water for free as much u want. But for dinner it should be paid.

    The service is amazing, activities within the hotel. The food was great with a lot of varieties and choices of different cuisines. The luxury but yet humble. Perfect place to be.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    AMAZING MAURITIUS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    EVERYTHING WAS GREAT

    EXECELLENT HOTEL GO FOR IT THE KIDS WILL HAVE A WONDERFULL TIME THE BEACH WAS SUPERB .THE COCONUT TREE WHERE AMAZING VERY CLEAN GARDEN HALLAL FOOD AND MASJID IS VERY NEAR TO THE HOTEL NAME OF THE RESTAURANT WHICH IS HALLAL IS ZUB EXPRESS ..MAURITUS WAS AMAZING AWESOME TRIP

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful beach, fantastic hotel and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of points that would have made our stay even better - whilst the staff were helpful and friendly once you had their attention, We felt the service was very slow at times. We were on holiday so wasn't too much of an issue but in reception/bars/restaurants once we sat down we waited a long time without anyone acknowledging we were there so had to get up and ask for menus, then wait a long time with no order being taken so had to get up and ask for this to happen, same process when we wanted another drink etc. This point does not include cafe coconut which had excellent service. The staff here were 5 star and extremely attentive. If this was the same throughout the other areas of the hotel it would be perfect. - all inclusive package did not include all menu/drink options which for the majority of the time was fine and we found the selection included more than enough. However, the night we booked in to the seafood restaurant, there was no seafood main course option included in the all inclusive package which was disappointing

    Beautiful beach, fantastic hotel and facilities. Great watersports/boat trips included. The waiting and bar staff at coconut cafe were outstanding. We had a great 4 day stay here and would thoroughly reccomend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    overall very nice location -
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cost for food (if you are on half board only..) and esp. beverages are way, way too high; e.g. the price for a local beer is 6 (!) times the price in comparison to super market.

    overall very nice location - superb gardens and esp. incredibly beautiful beaches good opportunity to snorkel straight of the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely brilliant could not have asked for better. Three Cheers bells and whistles!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem on the one evening we had dinner at Coconut Cafe. The service was good but the young man who happened to be in charge happened to be one of those who believed that the customer is always wrong and he is always right. Very unfortunate!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is full of coral reef so it’s difficult to stay in the water without being hurt by it. Furthermore they don’t rent or sell specials shoes to practice some of the water sports such as paddle board.

    The breakfast is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    The best beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like the food in the main buffet restaurant. We struggled to find something good to eat. I'd say don't eat in the main buffet restaurant and for lunch and dinner visit the other restaurants which are in the hotel and which are also included (in both AI and HB), the food was so much better in the restaurants than in the buffet. If you have a double room, make sure you don't have a communicating cottage (i. e. a cottage where two double rooms are connected with a door)! We were given such communicating room upon our arrival and the first night was a nightmare as we could hear every step and every word of our neighbours. The communicating cottages are not soundproof at all. The hotel should be aware of that and should not accommodate people in the communicating cottages I think. After the first night we complained and were immediately moved to another cottage, which was not communicating. So they solved it, but still we had very unpleasant first night and also had to pack everything and unpack again to move, which of course sucked. We had a huge cockroach in our bathroom one day. I know cockroaches are normal in humid tropical places. But I don't think we should encounter one in a bathroom of a four star hotel... It could also be interesting for you to know that there are plenty of tangs in the resort. Or at least during our stay there were plenty of them. A tang (or le tong) is local version of the hedgehog. I am writing this because at first we were slightly worried that there are rats in the resort. But after asking local guide, we were explained that it's not rats, it's a hedgehog. Which is much better of course :)

    The beach is picture perfect. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to. And I have visited a lot of places. The water is crystal clear, the sand is white and powdery and you have a breathtaking view of Le Morne and other mountains. Also given it is the Western part of the island, stunning sunsets are guaranteed. The location is great, you are less than one hour from Le Morne peninsula, Chamarel and Black River Gorges Park, which according to me are the best places to visit in Mauritius. If you are wondering whether to stay on Western or on Eastern Coast, I'd definitely recommend the Western coast. The hotel is very pretty, the cottages are cozy and cute, set in beautiful gardens full of palm trees. So relaxing and beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great relax and nice activities in a gorgeous tropical garden on a marvellous beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights

    A hint for those who need specific attention for gluten-free diet: personnel at La Pirogue restaurants was aware of it, with special bread and pancakes made fresh every day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We loved it all: the lush gardens, the perfect service, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We loved it all: the lush gardens, the perfect service, the various activities that are being offered whilst being left in peace and tranquillity at the same time; you are free to plan your day as you want and there is the possibility of simply hanging out in one of the most beautiful places on earth or to get into all kinds of water sports and/or sightseeing on the island - simply perfect, especially also for our kids (8 and 11)! We also loved the new styling that respects however totally the original plans and layouts for this quite original resort with its wonderful huts and greenery. Food in the Buffet as well as in the optional restaurants vary every day. The wine list is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    You pay what you get for. In this case it is true. 5 🌟 was a 5 🌟
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a top hotel with a very beautiful setting. No high concrete building although the hotel has 248 rooms spread over a very big garden in a villas like setting. Very nice beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic resort for every kind of guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Everything ! The resort is magnificent, bungalow is big enough for 2-3 people, staff is very helpful. The resort is located on a very beautiful beach and there is always enough sunbeds for guests. Free water at the beach, very clean and beautiful swimming pool, fast Wi-Fi and is available everywhere around the resort. I cannot find any negative point about the resort. Even if there were few that I could think of, the overall impression from the resort is so good, that I don't want to think about negatives. The resort offers entertainment programme from morning to late evening, so even single guests would not feel bored. The resort is child-friendly but children do not bother adults even in the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of food for kids at the buffet. Hotels of this standard usually have a kids corner whwre little ones have a selection of non spicy food. My kids pretty much lived on plain pasta and nuggets and fries for 10 days which wasnt ideal at all. The staff were sweet to make the Plain pasta but really some simple (non curry non spicy) vegetables would be a good idea

    Staff were wonderful. Kids club staff were fantastic with my little kids (age 4 and 7) and really authentically sweet worh them as were the waiters and the golf cart drivers that gave them rides all the time. I also really liked the lifeguard on duty at the slide everyday

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    The houses look nice from the ouside and there is nice beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It is a very big and old resort and everything is far away. Fitness, spa, rent-a bike and some other services are available in Sugar Beach only. Again, it takes quite a while to get there and back. Uncomfortable bed. Poorly furnished room. We were HB guests and we were not allowed to have a dinner in a restaurant by the pool, which is the most beautiful restaurant in the resort. It was allowed for all inclusive guests only. We were treated as a second class guests and were very dissapointed. On Friday the optional dinner was organized on the beach and we were asked to pay surcharge of 75 € per person (family of 5 = 375 € for a dinner although we had a half board paid!) The main restaurant seems can not serve all the guests and you have to WAIT and WAIT for a long time and que for the breakfast and dinner. You can have a dinner in a Sugar Beach hotel. We booked it at Concierge in LaPirogue and were told that we can go to the main restaurant of Sugar Beach and just tell the waiter that we are from LaPirogue. In the evening when we got to the Sugar Beach we were asked for a voucher for the dinner. Of course we did not have it and the waiter was very rude like »everybody can come and say I am from LaPiroge!« He told us to wait until he check if we have really booked it and if we are really from LaPirogue. We were waitning in the middle of the restaurant during the dinner for more than 15 min(!!!) then we decided to sit down and had a dinner. The waiter actaully never came back! We never want back .

    The houses look nice from the ouside and there is nice beach. This is the only good thing in this hotel. Based on prices I expected a luxurious resort. It is not a luxurious hotel. Very average service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing holiday but few things spoiled it to make it perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge service in the hotel made few mistakes for booking our dinners, we were very disappointed , unprofessional We forgot phone charger in the previous hotel in our room ,receptionist in La pirogue called there and said they will deliver it to us so made us feel they have it and ready to send it to La Pirogue but after a few days we got to know that nobody actually found it so they promised us something which was not true, unprofessional Drinks overpriced

    Basically everything there we liked, we went there for a beautiful beach and we had that! Clean comfortable sun chairs nice batler service Food was really good in the hotel , Room was very nice and comfortable,very clean Room service was fast and nice Small touches like gifts from the hotel special dinner and sparkling wine in the roo, keep it up very nice !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Worth a try.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we checked in, the gentleman who worked at the frontdesk forgot to tell us the room number and didn't give us the room key. He gave us a very brief introduction of the hotel and handed us an envelope and after we paid for the room, we were just left there at the hotel lobby. No one bothered to tell us how to get to our room. I had to go back to the desk to ask for a lady's help. She was kind enough to tell me the room number and gave me the room key. It was by the time when we arrived at our room that we discovered we were allocated to the farest end of the hotel. Literally, the farest. Well, it was the busy season, so someone got to. I could understand that, but telling us beforehand would work better. When we checked out, the lady at the frontdesk barely smiled, didn't ask how our stay was and we rarely exchanged words. Probably because we are Asian and they just assume we speak poor English/French, so they didn't even try to connect with us. I mean, this is a 4-star hotel. Those situations shouldn't happen here, right? Well, to sum up, some of the frontdesk staff are really unhelpful. BUT, this was just my personal experience. I'm sure most of the guests are quite satisfied with the hotel service.

    Ideal for snorkeling. The design of the hotel rooms are quite unique. And if you like, you can walk/run by the beach all the way to Tamarin Bay. The views are impeccable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    4.6
    Definitely a 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa spa is at neighbour hotel which IS payable and paying like 900euro for two nights in half board I have received better attention and hospitality.The water at the sea is really bad and one of the worst for me and sea activities need to be booked 2 days in advance and they were mediocre.

    Some Nice people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    I DO RECOMMEND LA PIROGUE RATHER THAN SUGAR BEACH
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sugar Beach restaurant. I booked from La Pirogue for dinner,and I wasn't satisfied by the waiters and waitress. I'm a supervisor in hospitality in London and this was the worst service I've ever seen before. 1)The buffet was amazing,but you need to be careful when you go back and pick up something else cause otherwise they clean your table and your beverage like it HAPPENS TO ME. 2) Takes time to be served,I waited almost 10 minutes.I wondered,so many staff,do they need more waitress or waiter ? Do I wave my hands to be consider ? So,I was TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED.NOT ONCE,BUT TWICE.The second time I GAVE UP and LEFT and I ate at La Pirogue. THE RESTAURANT STAFF OF SUGAR BEACH NEED TO BE TRAINED TO SMILE AND BE MORE ATTENTIVE.

    The staff was very welcoming and always smiling. They were always very helpful. Everything was marvellous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    great place , great people but be prepared to pay through the roof for drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The prices of drinks were totally unreasonable, we had to pay USD$13.00 for a small bottle of Savanna Cider which is normally under $1.00 in the store or at most USD$5.00 in a top bar. A small beer also cost USD$10.00. This left a bitter taste in our mouths on what was a near perfect holiday. There was also a lot of renovation going on despite the web site saying the hotel was fully refurbished and reopened two weeks before our arrival.

    staff, beach, pool, food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    An absolutely fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Genuinely one of the very few places we have stayed at where we have to find hard to find something.. Maybe having to buy the tennis balls but then the tennis courts were free with good quality rackets.. So I've even ruled that one out of my gripe list.. We will be going back k next year

    The Availability of different restaurants so you were not eating the same place every night which can get a bit tedious when you go all inclusive.. Would recommend the AI option as drinks can be expensive.. Lobster was to die for and the different theme nights were well thought out and very well done

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    We stayed one week , but it felt like two . We were so relaxed and happy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more to do in the evenings. The live groups playing were Excellent.

    Everything was wonderful . We don't usually like to return to the same hotel, but we will definitely be coming back to this one . The maid knew I loved flowers and everyday put some in my room for me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    the beach and the water activities were amazing ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i didn't like the fact that there were renovations at the hotel and u didnt tell me about them until i have made the booking. and there was no free-of charge cancellation :) . if there are renovations at a hotel it should be mentioned in the hotel details and your customers should be notified about them before they make the booking not after. thank god it was a nice hotel otherwise it could have been a law suit.

    the beach and the water activities were amazing ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    8.3
    Food quality could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more proactiveness would be well appreciated

    Food quality could have been better

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2019

    9.6
    Magical Mauritius 🇲🇺
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn't as great as expected. But we are picky.

    Perfect location and amazing facilities.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2019

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is wonderful

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2019

    9.6
    Great place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beach area was lovely - plenty of shade / sun and comfortable loungers. We did half-board and having the choice of restaurants was nice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2019

    9.6
    recommeded for families. great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    high prices for drinks, snacks

    Great location at the nice beach, in the lovely garden. Very friendly staff,. You just do not want to leave!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2018

    10
    Great again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our second time at the resort and it was great again!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    9.6
    Next year we'll come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice location, a friendly staff - we come to La Pirogue hotel since 15 years! A very nice place!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    It has been very well spent holiday at La Pirogue and staffs are very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    The footpath is a bit dark at night and not very well lit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    love it and i will visit it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the food needs more flavoring

    Everything in this resort is amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Will plan another trip for next year and take more family along.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Couldn't get a late check out.

    All the activities available at the resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Superior 4* hotel at one of the best location in Mauritius
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive drinks at dinner.

    Excellent location, garden, comfort of bed, sport facilities on the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    The place, the service, accommodation, activities, the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent vacation!

    The place, the service, accommodation, activities, the beach, the closeness to the attraction places in Mauritius

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Great location, excellent food as well as friendly staff made this trip memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Kids Club is poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kids Club is poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    For us was the perfect vacation in the perfect resort. Everyone was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden of the hotel is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the buffet breakfasts and dinners were not always up to standard and we need more seafood on the menu

    the relaxed environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Perfect place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Everybody Where nice and helpfull. Amazing resort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food was nice, but could had been a bit better

    Staff was fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Located on the best beach of West coast, beautiful garden,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Located on the best beach of West coast, beautiful garden, fantastic service - feel like you are in Paradise!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Food quality is great, but because it's a buffet there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queues for the buffet

    Food quality is great, but because it's a buffet there can sometimes mean long queues for food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    The buffet's where great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks where extremely expensive!

    The buffet's where great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location and beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had no hot water for 4 days !

    Great staff , but for a 4 star it could be cleaner!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Staff was courteous and helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have been allowed to stay on in the room / alternate accn till 5pm as flight was at 9pm.

    Staff was courteous and helpful .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    there is so many choice for Dinner for HB customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is so many choice for Dinner for HB customers. the buffet dinner is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet for dinner was poor quality. Staff too was rude sometime.

    Location is excellent. Bungalow's are well maintained. Good staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent swimming pool...great beach...lots of things to do for kids in the kids club..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Awesome beach holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    coffee :(

    loved the chocolate croissants at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Great (if in the all inclusive)
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    too many strict rules on what to do and don'ts; prices of drinks is ridiculously high

    Facilities, location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    Lovely grounds.
    • Solo traveller

    Weird moment at the end where they tried to make me pay a higher rate per night, though I had made the booking through this site and paid in full as soon as I arrived. Obviously it got sorted out, as I had the email confirmation but it was an awkward and unfortunate way to exit after a very pleasant stay, and was not handled particularly well at the desk.

    Lovely grounds. Quaint rooms. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    We liked the entire package, nothing was left to chance,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    We liked the entire package, nothing was left to chance, from check in till check out, it was paradise come true. The incredible service, manicured gardens, crystal clear pools, exquisite food, perfect beach and fantastic accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.6
    Incredible experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed here twice on our holiday and each time we thought the checkin process could be a bit more special and celebrational. The checkin staff are lovely and do all they can to make your stay fabulous

    Incredible experience. The staff here are very loyal and it shows I'm all the detail that goes into making our stay a wonderful memory. The buffet was a delight every night The children are just as important here

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Housing is in individual huts, so less apartment feeling,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Guest putting out towels on deck chairs in the morning, but there is plenty for every guest. Lunch at the bar was average. Had better in other resorts

    Housing is in individual huts, so less apartment feeling, but quiet intimate. Free wifi everywhere, incl beach. Super breakfast, awesome beach. Nurse service on the premise and doctor on call.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    9.2
    - The entertainment at night is spectacular , is one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Few umbrellas around the pool - One of the rooms next to ours was being refurbished, so there was some noise . I think we could have communicated to us in advance or transfer us to another room - The price of food and drinks are quite expensive compared to 5 star hotels - It is necessary to respect the religion of the people, since some people do not eat pork, some beef...so it is necessary to separate the meat and its derivatives to avoid embarrassment ,despite being correctly identified used the same spoons to take the food (but fault of their own guests, but it is something that the hotel can get around) --> But I still recommend this Hotel

    - The entertainment at night is spectacular , is one of the best things I witnessed (that for those who love music and dance) - I did not take children, but has noticed that workers who care for them in the pool, the hotel has a park for children to play - The swimming pool is beautiful, and I noticed that they are always clean it ( by removing all leaves and flowers that fall from the trees ) - Beautiful gardens, all very well maintained, I was impressed with the number of coconut trees that have - The wi-fi signal is very strong, even on the beach had access

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    This is my 4th stay at La Pirogue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Overall it was a good experience. The only shortcoming was that one of the rooms they checked us in was not properly cleaned before we checked in. As well, my fiance's room was not cleaned for a whole day and it was missed by the housekeeping staff. But after we complained to the front office, they immediately sent someone to clean it.

    This is my 4th stay at La Pirogue. I am a Mauritian but residing in UK. I booked couple of rooms for my family as my dad was celebrating his 70th birthday.La pirogue is an overall good hotel and also offers food facilities to the residents.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    10
    We spent 8 nights in here, we were very happy with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price of drinks and foods are very high, but it is very easy to go out from the hotel to buy snacks and drinks in the local supermarket for the quater of the price! If you want to have dinner, also easy to go Zub express local restaurant to eat for one quarter of the price! These things didnt make us dissapointed at all!

    We spent 8 nights in here, we were very happy with the service we got here for the money we paid for bed and breakfast! Everything is lovely in the hotel, best trip and stay in our life! Thank you La Pirogue

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location and setup.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ok, the rooms aren't the newest, but they're charming with high ceilings and I love it that they're individual bungalows instead of a long line of hotel rooms

    Perfect location and setup. Terrific staff and manager Mr. Ashok. Extraordinarily helpful. The food was good and varied. We loved the infinity pool right next to the beach. The pool was huge, with a "walk in" part that's great for little ones, and a fun slide (even for adults). The entire resort, even when full, seemed very uncrowded. And this particular spot is sunny even when other parts of the island aren't. You can even walk along the beach into town (which isn't as built up at the north).

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    5.8
    When you lose something, don't expect to have it back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When you lose something, don't expect to have it back! The staff is also really slow...and make you wait for more than half an hour if you've asked for something!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.3
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loud music at Paul & Virginie rest which most guests complained about but seemed impossible to turn down

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Beach is lovely and long and property is very spread out amidst lovely grounds giving a sense of space and peace even when the hotel is full. Arrived late on Friday eve but even for the last half hour of the buffet dinner food was still being cooked freshly for us which was much appreciated and is rather unusual! Also spa was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.1
    Amazing position/location with stunning beach and view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff at reception is not always helpful and competent depends who is on the desk. We asked for an additional bed in the room and I was provided 4 different prices from the evening to the following morning, every time higher (from initial 69 euro to 89 to 120, eventually paying 110 euro). The manager in charge said he could not decide about prices and reservation, which obviously I did not believe as otherwise he would be a powerless manager. Overall the resort is very beautiful but service and room is not at the level of a 5 stars hotel, the price is absolutely too high for the service and facilities provided. Mainly for families and couple

    Amazing position/location with stunning beach and view of le Morne. Staff at the restaurant, cleaning staff and animation staff very nice. Resort is very beautiful with palm tree and direct access on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Location, friendly staff, cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel tried to charge a fee higher than what was quoted by Booking.com, but it was resolved amicably and an apology offered, so no harm done. Sound insulation in rooms not very good, can hear the neighbours moving around and talking

    Location, friendly staff, cleanliness

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse La Pirogue A Sun Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: