Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alux Cancun 2 stars

AV Uxmal #21 SM 23 Mza 3, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#130 of 161 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for people looking to use Cancun as a stopping place rather than as a main vacation spot. We came straight from the airport then when to Chiquila the next morning - this place is 2 minutes from the bus station so perfect as a stopping place. The rooms are basic but lots of space, clean with aircon - for the cost it's perfect. Also a great Quesadilla place across the street for dinner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not accepting credit card and there's no information about it in Booking.com. The staff wasn't educated and the USA rate were overpriced. If you are woman you will not like the toilet sit, there's no protection. There's also a hole in the wall and they cover it with a piece of wood!

    Its close to the ADO bus station. Its clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is tricky to have a hot shower because it doesn`t say which knob is hot and which is cold and you have to wait for some time for hot water. So you turn on one random knob and wait for 2-3 min. If nothing happens you turn on the other knob for 2-3 min. If nothing happens you turn on the first one again for 2-3 min and repeat that process until there is hot water. Is it hard to just add red and blue sticker?!

    Good location right next to ADO station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only really an issue of not being able to pay with a credit card, but I had pesos so it wasn't a big deal. But if this is a permanent thing then it would be good to have a note about this on the booking.com profile.

    The Alux was perfect for me. I needed a hotel right by the bus station, which it was. It was clean, the staff were pleasant, even when I arrived much later at night than I had anticipated, it was no problem. The room was basic in decor but that was fine. The bathroom was very clean, which I always like. There were also at least 4 convenience stores a couple of minutes walk from the Alux where you could buy basic supplies for meals and drinks. Even alcohol! Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No information for tourist stuff to do around.

    That place is really close to the bus station so very convenient if you have a early flight to catch. Near convenience stores (3 of them) Restaurant across the street cheap and good food!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our sheets in one bed had a large stain, but we just slept in the other bed. It wasn't a big deal, told front desk in the morning when we were checking out.

    There were 4 of us in total travelling to Holbox. We stayed here for the ease of the bus from the airport, and then the ability to catch the bus the next morning to Holbox. Great location, cheap tasty quesadillas across the street, along with convenience stores.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could have stayed at a nicer place for less money. No restaurant or breakfast room.

    Comfortable bed, air conditioning, free drinking water. Excellent proximity to bus station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the drains both inside the room and outside the hotel, the fact that the price although booked in pounds Sterling was quoted on the booking confirmation in US dollars and then converted a second time at the hotel from Dollars to Mexican pesos. We ended up paying for 2 separate currency conversions and the price was vastly higher than the other far better quality hotels we've stayed in here. In terms of value for money it was vastly overpriced. You are already paying a premium on a very low budget hotel for its proximity to the bus station and then a second premium through crafty currency conversion practices

    The location just 2 mins walk from the ADO bus station, and it was quiet despite its location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very rude. There is no elevator, we were carrying four luggages and our room was on the third floor. Very noisy.

    It was close to the Bus Station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff wasn't too helpful. It's pretty loud due to the street.

    If you just need something cheap for a night close to the bus terminal this might be a good option - just don't forget to bring ear-plugs. It's clean. You can get decent local breakfast in the nearby park Las palapas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist couldn't find my reservation at all, because he didn't have access to the system I think, fortunately they had rooms available and he gave us one. The rooms are clean, but since the room doesn't have wide windows there's this moldy, moist smell as soon as you walk into the room, nothing to bad or unbearable. The photos are a little to old.

    The best thing and the reason why we chose this hotel is the location, the ADO bus station is just a few steps away. We arrived at 12 midnight and we had bus tickets for the following day, so it was super convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airco was located at the height of the bed. The cold air would blow straight at you, so we switched it off during sleeping. The shower had only cold water.

    Nice and spaceous room. Very close to the ADO bus station which was the reason why we booked this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't pay with credit card and they didn't exchange money and there was no drinks on sale. But there were lots of shops and restaurants close by as well as cash points and money exchange.

    It was right next to ADO and rooms were big and clean and staff nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not comfortable. Our room was noisy as it was located from the steet side.

    Is is really close to ADO bus station. Also it is close to restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No telephone, wifi very weak (not useful). bugs. windows are not soundproof. There was a lady at the reception who was rude.

    Location near to ADO bus terminal. One staff member Daniel and the Manager were very helpful and nice people.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator , No one help

    Location ,very close to the bus terminal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High steps without lift. Only stepladder. It was difficult for me.

    It was nice and comfortable. I'd like it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities Smelling plumb Noisy A/C

    Close to bus station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room. Bring earplugs!

    Close to bus station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beats me

    great location downtown.....clean room and a joy to be there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and beds hard as planks

    Close to bus station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on 3rd floor no elevator

    Near ADO bus station. Cheap & friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. Hard to get any sleep do to the nose. Extremely noisy at night.

    Location, right next to the ADO bus station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location close to the ado bus

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi doesn't work with Apple device

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room, which was noisy.

    When we left the hotel(in the morning) they let us leave our luggage for 6 hours(we do not have to carry these heavy bags for all day, we had our flight in the evening).

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was bad, Noisy ac(reminded old diesel engine), door lock was broken so I had to wait until they fix it(two times), had shower without hot water, mold on ceiling, street noise was very loud

    Very close to bus station

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing, though everything is not perfect, everything were great.

    The location of the hotel is perfect. It is located next to the ADO bus station in which if you prefer to take public buses everywhere you want to go, it would be a perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I missed breakfast which would be included in the price.

    I have stayed many times at this hotel and I have always enjoyed its wonderful location. The staff is kind, the internet works well, there is TV and the place is overall clean. It is a simply equipped hotel but good for the price.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the neighbourhood is Not very charming (although Safe) but that might be due to the fact that cancun is Not a nice place to be

    very close to Ado Terminal

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet is weak in the room, almost gone. Very noisy under the window was street, but it did not stop running cars all night. Not soundproof and I slept with earplugs, and the first ever night I could not sleep. One night bathing with cold water, no hot, but other 4 nights was good.

    The location, the room is large and the beds are large and comfortable. Clean is.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    smelly rooms Very noisy at night Very basic

    location close to central bus station. 24/7 supermarket next door Good if you are in transit and want to leave early on a bus the next day

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal location for airport bus...just around the corner!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    4 flights of stairs is hard with multiple heavy bags. Wifi is verryyyyy slow

    Good Price. Friendly Staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room on third floor. No one to help with luggage

    Location. Friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit run down but they were doing some repairs.

    Helpful staff. An easy place to get around from.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very near the bus terminal

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street noise.

    Very close to ADO Bus station

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower no hot water, lots of ant. Horrible!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    AC very noise

    WiFi and fresh water

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noise and not clean as should be necessary but for a night is ok. More than a night isn't a good suggestion

    Near tha ado bus station

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no one to help me up or down the stairs with luggage

    that i made it up the stairs, without falling and breaking my neck!

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, very comfy beds and excellent staff! Amazing breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location...price!!

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Street noise.

    Proximity to bus station and downtown. Very clean.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Alux Cancun traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: