Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel NYX Cancun 4 stars

Avenida Kukulcan KM 11.5, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#91 of 161 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1712 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was terrible there. I had to complain about the food everyday plus the staff was very unfriendly and didn't sove the issues with the food. The restaurant dowstairs which is not part of the hotel but you get a voucher for one night is absolutely the place to eat. I wuld not recommend this place what so ever. Hair on the food any thay have clearly have no idea how the cook the food. Lunch is okeish if you are lucky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Security on arrival (by car) were not particularly helpful. Limited drinks and food availability on an all inclusive deal which was not mentioned at the time of booking. Building works being undertaken on roof .... could be heard now and again from the beach .... no mention on booking!

    Beach clean and well groomed, All the staff were very attentive and personable. The room was huge, clean and well appointed overlooking the pool. Very close (walking distance) to good shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel was under renovation and of course no mention in booking about it- so there was a loud noise all the time of drilling etc. there wasn’t a gym although it was written as something they have. We took the all inclusive and found out it doesn’t include a lot of things such as beach beds!! I highly recommend to avoid booking this hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was loud from the renovation, people are not allowed to swim in the ocean well, high price for bad service. Never again. Smelly and stinky old building. Old style rooms. Paying an advance the whole price.

    Breakfast buffet was good with a great cafe Automat. The staff was friendly and very anxious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac I'm my room was not cool enough, and the elevator did not always work.

    I enjoyed the food, everything was sooo fresh and well prepared. I love the activities by the pool, the complimentary message and picture. The staff we're very kind, and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Rooms Were Up to Date and Outfitted With Clean Bathrooms an Toilet. The Ladies That was cleaning the rooms were honest person. The Workers are all friendly people. Ease Of Currency Exchange At the lobby. The food at NYX was great tasty and plenty. The Drinks Was Exceptional. Yoga, Beach Volley Ball and Poll Volley Ball Was Excellent. Lifeguards was Present on the beach an the pool from early in the morning to 6PM In the Evening. Great Hotel...

    The Location, The Food, The Friendly Staff. The well organise for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner. The property is huge top floors clean an up to date with big beds. The Air Condition unit was working good was very cold. The Staff is Hard Working people an they also understand English very well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got the all inclusive package, but they don't have 24 hour service. The breakfast starts at 7 am which it was really late as we booked some tours that required us to be in the bus by 7 am... The lady wouln't let us wrap up some food to take and eat in our bus even though we payed for it... Never staying here again for the all inclusive package (the food was great though). Not a lot going on in the pool.

    The food and service was great! They have a bartender that prepares awesome drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was under a major construction process so it was a bit noisy workers using the drill, also it seems to require a lot of maintenance in general elevators feel like it was going to fall, some water leaks around the lobby’s ceiling, the shower was difficult to use because isn’t the proper shower for a hotel use due to the heavy requirements it should be,there’s no access to the hotel from the parking and that could be a problem for elderly or handicapped, you need to climb lot of stairs to reach the lobby

    Location and price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s under construcción nowhere on the reservación site tells you this though , I think that’s why they won’t take cancellations , I didn’t not pay 300 and some dollars to be woken up at 7:00 am to drills and hammers , when I ask them the front at check in they told me that construcción hours is 10:00am to 5:00 pm total lie . I went to get my keys at 2:45 and they said I need it to wait until 3:15 because the room was not ready ??? Even though check in is suppose to be at 3:00 pm . Mi “courtesy drink “was OJ from a gallon on a Champagne glass . So bottom line take your money somewhere else if your looking to have some rest.

    Breakfast is really good , the service on the beach is super good , our waiter jimmy was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got a little surprise when the hotel realized we were on honeymoon. Friendly staff, good food. We had early check-out at 5 am but still got a food box at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was brand new, but a little bit too small, but ok for two nights.

    Perfect breakfast selection and very tasty, very nice beach and pool area - enough sunbeds on the beach, great location, nice beach restaurant, kind and helpful service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we came to the hotel, they put us to some kind of utility room on the ground floor whith a hall-view tiny window. It took us about half of an hour to explain them that we paid for another more spacious room whith balcony and lagoon view. They told us that they had no room available, but we didn't want to stay in that cowshed and finally they found the room we paid for and it even was ready for guests! Perhaps they wanted some extra charge. The food was very scarce and not tasty.

    A budget place to see Cancun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was really nice. To be honest it didn´t look as good on the internet as in real life! Our room was clean and new. We had all-inclusive so we could get all kinds of drinks at the bars. There was service at the beach and the ocean is just beautiful! Breakfast was inside and outside and had a nice selection. Lunch and Dinner were outside at the restaurant at the beach. Both was a la carte. At dinner you had a little buffet too. The food was excellent! A shopping mall is close to it and the clubs are about 5 min away by bus (1$) or taxi 10$). We really enjoyed our stay and would come back any time!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints!

    We ended our honeymoon there after Tulum. It was the perfect place for two nights before going back to reality. We were greeted with fresh juice and then our room had a bottle of champagne and chocolate cake and towels shaped like swans. We loved it! The beach was the best the whole trip and the breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wouldn’t let other guess stop by to see us or swim with us nothing

    THEY OUT NE I. A ROOM IN A CUT BUGS EVERYWHERE I HAD TO STAY IN MY SISTER ROOM THE FIRST NIGHT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE IN MY ROOM

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NYX really exceeded our expectations, it is a lovely clean little hotel with lovely staff. We stayed in two 5 star all inclusive resorts after NYX and it really stood up to them and had the nicest breakfast by far.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The juices are not natural (freshly pressed). However ivf realised its a thing here in Quintana Roo...

    Where do I start?! Everything about this hotel was perfect. The rooms were big, clean and the view is breathtaking ! The staff was extremely welcoming, always smiled and were helpful. A special thanks to Eliseo Castillo!! Thé Beauchamp has palm tress that provide good shade from the sun.’there were also beds on the beach for rent. I could go on... The breakfast was a delight. There was enough choice to satisfy even the most difficult people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the best pillows, rather small. There was no chairs in the room - we had to take one from our balcony (it had cigarette burns in it). The light from the hall hit your eyes through under the door. Most waiters, and the male receptionist were not really friendly or nice (I understand not every request can be completed, but just a sharp answer NO to a polite question is not something you expect in any hotel). The room was only available at 3:30 - and we were not given late check-out (1pm sometimes is provided as a courtesy).

    Great location - close to a nice shopping mall with several good restaurants. New room, good mattress, big bathroom. The beach is wide, beautiful and clean (seaweed doesn't count - besides, it was not there every day). The food was great, very fresh and delicious. Waiters Misael, Yesenia and Jose, receptionist Dulce, and barmen Eddie were super nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The service is awful. People are rude: Kicking you away from the pool after 10pm almost threatening you. Making false reservations for the breakfast table to other guest while you would smile and ask to be seated outside. The breakfast food was just average and they were lacking of ingredients some mornings (no corn flakes, croissant or even yogurt) The bills from the hotel restaurant were added with full tips service without even asking. Disappointing for an hotel of that standard.

    The view and the beach were amazing. Nearly located to a big and nice shopping mall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor flooded after a shower so we informed front desk. Breakfast was good although seemed limited for choice - no bacon, sausages or hashbrowns.

    Beachfront hotel with good amenities and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt a little mouldy but the great staff moved us quickly with no trouble Bed was not very comfortable

    Outstanding breakfast - couldn’t be better Friendly and helpful staff Stylish common areas and lovely beach/pool area Decent value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once, room cleaning did not switch our towels for clean ones, but that was easily fixed.

    Great location! The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from wherever you need to go (airport, clubs, and markets). There is also a bus stop right before entering the hotel which makes it so easy to get around and is also a pick-up point for Xcaret! We picked the breakfast only option and breakfast was delicious every morning! With a nice selection of breads, coffee, juices, typical Mexican breakfast, and an omelette bar. They also have a nice bar by the pool and pool activities during the day. The hotel has GREAT staff, very friendly, and helpful. At check-in we were greeted by Jesse who continued to help us throughout our stay by giving us tips of where to go and names of bus stops to make our bus trips easier. He was also always giving us great recommendations for dinner. Would definitely go back and ask for Jesse!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They served me old refried chips at the restaurant! The staff at the bar were rude! And made a fuss about paying for the drinks as we wasn't all inclusive. The room we had smelt of sewage, had to sleep with the doors open, and could only change the following day, which again wasn't great. Do yourself a favour and stay at a different hotel. Not worth it.

    Walking distance to shopping mall and good restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ... we had to go back 😊

    Charming place with lovely architectural aspects. Clean and well maintained. Beautiful ocean views. Spacey room. Great organization at the beach - especially enjoyed canopy bed and service. Lovely drinks everywhere. Peaceful at night - we slept with the balcony door open to the sound of the ocean. Rich and delicious breakfast. Strong positive was the staff’s attitude to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I came to NYX with my gf just for a day/ night with the intention to pop the question. I informed the staff beforehand and they have put extra effort to arrange our stay and my requests - thank you Vielka! We got a reservation at Chianti (a beautiful restaurant, with exquisite Italian cuisine) even though we didn’t request it before and were staying just for one night. The staff was informed about my engagement plans before by the manger and they were prepared for this occasion. They played a song of my choosing on my mark and afterwards complimented us with champagne and customized desert - that was a lovely touch, thank you Cristian, Ruben, Ramon and Itzel for your efforts!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had an ac issue first day was quickly taken care of.

    I took my husband for his birthday with the all inclusive package and we loved it! The food is awesome and I as a vegetarian I had lots of options every meal. The servers, front desk, and bartenders are extremely friendly and everyone I came accross was very helpful and nice. The nonstop drinks and beautiful beach with turquoise water was better than expected. The location is perfect! I will definitely return and upgrade my room for ocean view. I left a message and we were surprised with a complimentary champagne bottle and cake in our room. Everything was well worth what you pay for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the spa and the amazing staff especially Richar,Raquel,and Antonio.The dinner crew my husband birthday dinner amazing night on the beach.

    Property was really nice including the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually liked everything . Sometimes some waiters weren’t very friendly but eveything was fine

    Food was really good! Nice view from our junior suite, very good location . Nice beach and above all very nice animation staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more staff at busy times at the pool bar. Room was very dated

    Good balcolny and sea view, good sized room. Staff were friendly and the food for an all inclusive was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a night a week before this second stay and it was supposed to be the same room as the one we got at our second stay. It wasn't. It was a very old bug and empty room. We really didn't feel comfortable in it but we were too exhausted to say anything at reception.

    Reception people very nice. Room new and very clean. View on the pool. Great to have a mini fridge in there too. We had a bigger room than expected with two bed and three bathrooms. That was pretty cool. Great pool area and private beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were too few days, wanted more =)))

    It was our first time in Cancun, and we chose hotel based on the reviews and pictures on booking. The hotel was perfect! It was even more than we expected. The personnel were really very polite, and always ready to help and provide any assistance. Especially will say thank you to the Oscar at the reception and all guys who help in the lobby, they are really doing great jobb. The food at restaraunt and bar was awesome, the beach and all facilities were perfect. Strongly recommend !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very old hotel- small breakfast area with AC- constant mold and moisture and a bit of toilet Smell in the room - even junior suit and equipments showers etc were very old and the child sofa was quite uncomfortable - poor a la carte services

    Helpful Staff- Upgraded my room to Senior with sea view - good location - Easy access to beach - easy access to main road that you can take a bus to Cancun - Rent a car and events desk - Average breakfast - affordable alacarte and drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Old building, old fashion, rooms are horrible, personal is not nice at all, especially at reception desk!!! No help... We had music from the lobby till 1am very loud, they party over there... No a good hotel at all!!! For 200 dollars the room it is not great!!!!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    La atención en general deja mucho que desear. No resuelven lo que uno pide y parecen distraídos o sin ganas de atender bien al pasajero. Attention in general is very questionable. They don't solve what you need or ask and they seem distracted or reluctant to give a good service.

    La playa es hermosa y los camastros muy cómodos. Excelente piña colada y la piscina es muy grande y bonita. The beach area is wonderful and the beach beds very comfy. Great piña colada and the pool is very big and nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room stinks! We thought that there were some kind of mould in the room. Luckily we were there only 2 nights. Hotel was full so we think it was not worth of complain it. Room is located in some kind of basement, many layers and stairs. Aircondition in the room were also noisy. Our balcony were just right front the poolbar and all the noise and the music came to our room. Our room was master suite but was our trip worst room. It was also the most expensive room in our trip, not worth it. Nothing at all like the pictures! The room was old and worn. Huge, empty room with lot of useless space. Dirtspots on the sofa. Uncomfortable bed with body made of raw wood! Food in the Deck- restaurant were tastles, same was the breakfast. The Allinclusive-drinks taste like they were made of the cheapest ingredients.

    Location was ok. Beach was nice. Staff was friendly and helpful, good service. Nothing else there were won't deserve any thanks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are only 3 restaurants in the hotel and I think only 2 is open for lunch and dinner. Gotta go early for a nice beach sun tanning spot~ otherwise you will be exposed to sun directly without any shadow. The bath towels do not look new even the ones in junior suite, but they should be clean... The towel in beach looks great tho. I would not stay there again not because it is not a worthy stay, you still get nice staff and beach here. It is just personal preference that I wanna go somewhere else for All Inclusive (I didn't pick AI this time, but if I do, I will pick a hotel with more restaurants) and for next non-AI trip, I just wanna go somewhere else to try.

    We stayed there for 3 nights for a standard room+ 1 king bed (or 2 queen beds) + balcony, but the staff made a mistake that we got a full size bed room on first floor without balcony for the first night. To save their mistake, the staff switched us to a junior suite with lagoon view, and the room is much bigger than a standard room as well as the bathroom! So it gave me a very good impression afterward. Another good thing is that they offer room service so you can call them up and order whatever you want, then pay with your card right at your room (15% tip is mandatory). There is a hot tub (small) and 2 swimming pools. A nice bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch menu was limited for vegans/vegetarians and it was practically Impossible to make a reservation in the other restaurant due to the times that you could make the reservations.

    Breakfast wad my favourite meal of the day, So many options!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't look at all like the pictures. It was old, big and empty. We arrived a 9pm so we were to tired to say anything about it. There we a kitchen but you aren't allowed to bring food from outside. What's the point? We stayed there again 8 nights later and we booked the same room as for the first trip. That time the room looked like the picture and we knew we didn't get the correct one for the first nights. The hotel encourages all inclusive by not allowing you to bring food from outside and I felt like we were not taking care of straight away when we didn't have the all inclusive bracelet. Activities by the pool and music a bit too loud if you like quietness. Breakfast not very good.

    The big bed was very comfortable, the pool was really nice and there were activities going on. The beach we great too. Big spaces and nice employees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room included a large sitting room with a large TV and looking out at the ocean. Great value for the price. The staff was exceptional. When I needed to print my boarding pass for the flight home Vielka offered to complete the transaction.When we were checking out Eliseo took care of luggage and arranging for transportation to the airport without us even asking. With the dollar strong against the peso it was a great bargain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall I will not recommend this hotel. If you can pay more then find other hotels in Hotel zones with better view, if not live in the city center is more cost effective. 1. The hotel just finish decoration, which means there is a very strong uncomfortable smell inside of the room. Luckily I only stay in here for a night if not I might got cancel because of the decoration material they used. 2. The hotel rooms is in a different building with the front desk, also with lots of stairs (ups and downs), also the elevator was out of service for a whole day. We have to carry the big suitcase to 4th floor all by ourselves. 3. The rooms are not close to the beaches, also very close to the Main Street, so it is very noisy the whole night, with people talking and traffic.

    1. It is very new, in the hotel zone, easy to find it, but not that big compare to other hotels. 2. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music needs to be more upbeat. When I go on vacation I want to hear some tropical music not slow songs

    The staff was wonderful! The food was fantastic! We really liked that you were served and didn’t have to buffet style for lunch and dinner otherwise it just feels like a BBQ.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer wasn’t working and we were not told there was no elevator available in our wing yet. Building was just completed and they were waiting for the elevator to be finished. Not a big issue

    Staff was excellent. Buffet was very good at a reasonable price and the beach and pool were never crowded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There was a lot of noisy construction, new elevator being installed so had to walk up five stories for 10 days, 2nd bed was really hard, two large screen tvs in room but couldnt use as every time you used the remote on one tv the other tv would turn on or off or change. Air conditioner thermostat does not work properly, it was cold in the room and i would turn up the thermostat to 24 and temp still is always 18.5, so i would put on fan setting but air conditioning would stay on so i had to freeze or turn it off totally and get hot. maintenance took forever to respond to any issues. This will be a great hotel when they finish all the construction and work out all the electronic issues.

    Clean large rooms, excellent Restaurants, Good beach frontage, good staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality and type of food, length of receiving food, Breakdown of information between facilities . No information Chianti and front desk.

    Beach, pool, room , service of staff. Eddy at the magic bar is superb. Should be a trainer for other staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When I arrive my room was overbook and they send me to a hotel which was on a bay full of boats and smell like fish and which the hotel was dirty as well, staff was dirty I order a beer and the cup was a recycle cup which was written on, so I had to go back to NYX Hotel and ask to be send somewhere else, which was really inconvenient because I was there on vacation and not to be going around Cancun on my first day there, specially when the hotel took the first night of the hotel a week before my arrival. I also book the best room in the house which was the Master Suite. I ask to Speak to the manager and he said he didn't have a room for me for the night until the next day so they send me to another hotel which was a bit better but not the value of the money that I pay to stayed at NYX Hotel.

    After the whole inconvenience and the next day I got my room at NYX Hotel, the staff on the property like the bartenders (Juan Jose), bell boys (Eliseo) and waiters were awesome. They provided excellent service. Food was excellent and very tasty. Would definitely go back because they gave us an excellent time and treated us good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful,especially Enrique and Eddy. Eddy makes the best cocktails. Food was very good with a large selection. We have Junior Suite with wonderful view of the Ocean. Beach was awesome just like pool und Magic bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Very noisy, as next hotel was in reconstruction. Our doors have been 3 times stuck with some access technical issue, room safe faced 2 times issue with similar one. We have had only breakfast included and when we wanted to buy a drink on the beach or in the pool bar It was impossible.

    Outstanding breakfast and breakfast staffs with smile and and help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunbeds on the beach are quite uncomfortable.

    Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Eddy makes the best mojitos. Breakfast was very good with a large selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blanket was little bit thin, besides that, everything was perfect.

    Everything was good. But We had to leave at 7am because of activities. Usually all shuttle buses for the activities pick people up at 7am in front of the hotel, so It would be nice if the hotel provides morning meal since 6:30am, not 7am.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanness of the room needs to be improved. I found some insects in both mornings, maybe because I am on the ground floor.

    Great beach just behind the room, wonderful view and friendly staff. The buffet dinner is superb! I booked my tour to X-caret, Chichen-Itza and dolphin play at very reasonable price at the tour counter. Michelle who works there is a great person, very patient and informative, and always tries his best to help customer. The hotel is in walking distance to shopping mall La Isla, with many shops and restaurants choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in the new part of hotel with no elevator

    The room was very new, but elevator in this part of hotel was not working yet Nice beach front with palm trees and a beach restaurant Breakfast was very good and with lots of options

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Elevator, despite having six floors! We were given a room on the 6th floor and imagine our shock when we were told there's no elevator. Good luck going up and down the stairs several times each day. Changing the thermostat setting didn't seem to affect the AC in the room, felt more like a fan.

    Spacious room, nice view of the lagoon. Breakfast was good with plenty of options. Hotel is conveniently located right next to the beach. And a few minutes walk to the La Isla shopping center. There's a bus stop nearby as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Couple

    Very very vey bad experience ! To everybody who is reading this review, I highly suggest you to NOT BOOK this hotel. We had bedbugs in our beds. We got food poisoned from the hotel food. We got hands and foot infections probably from the pool. Cleaning & safe = not there priorities at all. STAY AWAY ! Worst holidays experience ever !

    Nothing ! Just don't book this Hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise during the day in tower 1 from elevator construction. Asked at front desk if we could move due to noise and was told "when they were done there would be no noise". Our room faced the main road, and although we liked the balcony, the glass sliding door did nothing to prevent traffic noise at night. I'm a heavy sleeper, but woke several times when it sounded like a dirt bike was coming into the room. The door to our room had to be slammed to shut, as well as the bathroom door. Although the room had 2 tv's, when you turn one on the other also turned on. Found it easier to unplug the one in the sitting area so we could just have 1 on.

    Great location near restaurants and mall, good beach area and friendly staff. Food and drinks were good for all inclusive. Lunch was excellent both days. Looks like they are making improvements, like adding elevators.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was beautiful but at this location the water was very rough and not good for swimming. The staff was very inconsistent on the dress code at the deck restaurant. We were turned around and sent back to the room to change clothes from lunch. Our tank tops were not acceptable, but at 3 tables around us the guest had on tank tops and one guy at the bar was shirtless.

    This was a great location. Access to the beach was great. The staff were exceptional, they went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel including rooms and the building itself. Gym appears large and well equipped; in reality it has 3 machines and is tiny. I wouldn't of booked this hotel if I knew what it was really like.

    Great sea view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a “basic”room as we were just there one night in transit. We thought we would enjoy a night at this beachfront hotel, but instead we couldn’t get out of there fast enough. Our “basic” room, was tucked under the side of the hotel and had NO WINDOW! We couldn’t believe our eyes when we saw it, surely a window is a given in any room, however basic. We didn’t expect a view, but for $CAN 200 we certainly expected a window. This pitch dark hovel also had a bad smell of musty mould when we arrived and a much worse smell of sewers when we woke the next morning. Yes, we actually slept in that room despite complaining bitterly, they had no other rooms available. The manager, Mario, was available the next morning and sympathetic, he gave us a 25% discount.

    The staff were friendly and sympathetic. The breakfast was good. The beach is beautiful and the pool area and restaurant good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Very noisy starting from 8 am - the construction noise from the neighbour hotel (drills and hammers). Modest breakfast with no fresh vegetables and very bad coffee.

    The beach is very close to the hotel, nice NY party, a bus stop near the hotel, not overcrowded even in high season

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The first room that they gave to us. The cleaning in the room could be better, was dust everywhere and the walls and the headboard was all with spots. The room was big but too many details to be fixed, for a 4 star hotel that was like 2 star. And one lady at Chianti restaurant... when I stepped in to ask for reservation she looked at me from head to feet inspectioning me with a face like 'you don't belong here', I couldn't get her name but it was really rude what she did.

    I liked the room view (this was the second room, because first they gave me I think what was the worse junior suite that they have because it was on ground floor and the balcony was almost inside the restaurant.... so I asked them to change it and they gave me one on the higher floor and the view was amazing), also most of the staff was really nice with us, especially at the Magic bar. They let us leave the baggages in their storage for few hours until our taxi to airport was ready. Location really good, not far from zona hotelera center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband, baby of 10 months and I stayed a night at NYX as we arrived into Cancun to do some diving. The guest services & experienced manager Vielka made our stay very welcoming and went to great lengths to help have our infant minded so we could head out for the day for a dive. She was great with our baby and our baby loved her. On top of this service I accidentally left my phone behind in the lobby after we had checked out & left for Playa del Carmen and she went above and beyond to get it back to us! Amazing! A comfortable stay and everything you need at this hotel with a buffet breakfast for champions with service you honestly can not beat! Highly recommend, thank you Vielka!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was definitely great! Couldn’t be better! Food was just OK, but I never expected too much from an all inclusive hotel about the food. Most of the staff were very nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not able to swim in the sea at his location, all year around because the sea is too choppy. Other hotel locations are possible, as we observed but are all overcrowded at this time of the year. The only place, which is possible are the swimming pools. Had I known this I would not have booked the hotel. The standard of food and drink was generally very poor, clearly using low quality ingredients. Breakfast did have some decent options and was for the most part alright. Lunch was terrible (which unfortunately is also the room service menu, coming at an extra cost. Dinner was extremely hit and miss. Sometimes nice, like the 'Asian night' and other times not. There are also some unwritten charges for things that aren't included in the 'all inclusive' package. For example, room service is a chargeable and the sun loungers with canopies are $250 Mexican extra a day to hire. The Chianti restaurant can only be booked once for free and only if you've booked 4 nights or more at the hotel. Fortunately we did. When you see the difference in standard between Chianti and the Desk Restaurant you'll know why! The front desk staff weren't up to scratch and there was an expectation of tips from the staff when serving food and drink, which I found irritating even though we paid for an all inclusive package. The hotel should be crystal clear on what their policy is regardless. Attention to detail was lacking. We were two guests but coffee was only available in the room for one each day and only one towel had been provided. Curiously no toilet brush was provided and whilst outwardly clean, there was a smell of sewerage coming from toilet. We went on a trip to Chichen Itza and were provided with a terrible packed lunch which consisted of a stale doughtnut, carton of drink, apple and 'sandwich', that was basically lettuce in a stale role, which had ants in it when my partner opened it up?!

    The Master Suite was excellent and we had a fantastic view of the ocean. Great hotel location for access to the location shops, including the La Isla shopping centre which is within walking distance. Also very close to entertainment (cinema at La Isla cost less than £3!), activities and access to Cancun downtown via r1 and r2 buses, which were cheap and excellent. ($12 mex (45p a ride). Complex was very clean, including outside toilets, felt safe and was well policed by staff. Plenty of sun loungers. The Chianti Restaurant, whilst only loosely associated with the hotel was first class.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was older so naturally things weren't as nice clean and new anymore. And i got stuck in an elevator 5 times. (No thats not exaggerated. It really happend.)

    It was at an excellent location, the room was very good and staff was great. Breakfast was plentiful and food in general was quite nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhappy, unhelpful and unwelcoming. The simple check in took 55mins while there was two receptionist and only one guest infront of me. The receptionist ignored me and answered everyone else questions that jumped infront of me while he adnoweldge me waiting to check in. There was no apologies given for the delay to check in. The room was very old and outdated. The AC unit was from the era of 80s. The TV didn’t have a good channels selections at all and was a very old TV. There was no working light in the room, however they fixed it right away. Their customer service needs a major improvement, Perhaps a staff straining would be in order. The quality of the breakfast was below average.

    I have no comments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the room facing the bay.

    3 cheers for te hotel staff! Thy made all the difference in us having a wonderful time. A shout out and thank you to Eduardo, George, Enrique and the other water aerobics guy! You guys are the best staff at Nyx.. keep up the good work :) Also new year party was so much fun!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff need re-training - check in and check out was extremely slow and the staff had to keep running/calling the office which was in 2 glass boxes behind them to make any decisions. The hotel clearly overbooked the accommodation and staff were incredibly rude to us when we arrived for something that was not our issue. Clever photography used not really the reality of the place. Almost $500 USD for 2 nights at a below average property is not good value for money and we were left until 11.30pm (after travelling for over 20 hours) with no room! rude staff who were happy to charge my credit card as soon as I arrived and made us wait over an hour before we were given a room that didn't match what we paid for. the next day was better as were put in a better room but this was a lot of hassle and time wasting for a short 2 day stay.

    The location on the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    clean modern rooms with nice beachfront restaurant, great pool on 5th floor overlooking the beach and ocean. steps away from main 5th st shopping and restaurants. would stay here again. 5 min walk to the ADO bus station or the water ferry to Cozumel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maid stole my money from the closet, I put the wallet between my clothes because at reception they told me to put my valuables things in the seif but they didn't provide me the key. I hide my wallet into the clothes well hidden and close the closet door. For 3 days I didn't touch the wallet because I didn't need money, but when I wanted to buy a trip I took it and observe that 1400$ US have been taken away. I go to receptionist, manager and they said their sorry and it's my fault cause I didn't put them in the seif. I told them they didn't give me any key and they said it is not their problem, I should have ask for it and not their politic to refund me. I ask them why the maid put her nose in the closet? She just needs to change towels, to sweep the floor and change the linen, but she actually snickered my clothes. Anywhere in this world This is a robbery for sake! NOT FOR THEM..They "started" an investigation but of course nothing happened. I even go to police, they said that they will investigate and come to hotel, call me..I go to police office for 3 days and ask what is going on but they didn't speak English, only spanish. Luckily my wife knew a bit of spanish but nothing happened. They didn't do nothing, nada! They are corrupt and hand in hand with this bandits. It is just like in Narcos! STAY AWAY FROM THESE THIEVES!

    The view, the food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be updated. Very small. The bed is too close to the door. Feel very closed in. But for a quick trip, it’s ok.

    Access to the beach great. Pool very nice. Quick access to mall and shopping. The beach bar is the best. Eddy was GREAT!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a lot smaller than we expected. Even in the Junior Suite, once we put down a suitcase, we couldn't walk around the bed. Our "suite" was on floor 5 and there were no elevators. The door keys failed on us twice (dont keep them near your phone) which meant walks up and down the 5 floors to the reception.

    Once you get to the pool/bar/beach area it's brilliant. Good food, cold beer, amazing views. Excellent service especially from Didier. A decent breakfast was included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our refrigerator did not work properly. It was on but not cooling.

    The staff were generally very helpful, special mention to Estella, Kevin and Erik. The location is wonderful, smack in the middle of the hotel zone. The public bus stops right outside. We had the junior suite and it was cozy and big enough for 2-3 people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was definitely not a four star hotel. The room I was given was not a junior suite as booked, with no lounge area, couch or dining table. It was probably a family room as it had a king and a double bed- which is not how the junior suite was advertised or laid out. There was no private terrace which was advertised being part of junior suite. Bathroom was below standard- extremely basic and outdated. Again, clearly not four star standard. They had issues with our reservation initially telling us their records had us booked for only two nights instead of three, despite our booking requiring payment in full for the the three nights ahead of time! Lastly, the hotel next door has outdoor concerts every night which are extremely loud and the music and sound came booming into my room, even vibrating the floor until after 10pm at night. You will have no chance of an early nights sleep here.

    Pool area and outdoor bar were lovely. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only good thing about this room was the view, It wasn’t worth what I paid for, The bathroom wasn’t in good shape and a bad odor was coming out of the shower drain, everything looked dirty and the ac unit was leaking, will never stay here again.

    The view was espectacular

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom leaves much to be desired. The hotel next door Beach Plaza had programs and loud music till 10pm on two nights we were there which was quite a nuisance. Nobody here served us food when we arrived on a 6hour long flight. They made us wait at the restaurant and said they would be back in half an hour. Sure they may close the restaurant for an hour between buffets but how can they have absolutely nothing to serve to people at 5pm especially when we travelled a long distance. We didn’t bother eating here after that. Tacun the little joint next door was great and did some authentic Mexican food.

    Nice pool area and excellent bartender Eddy who makes some delicious cocktails

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work happening directly above my room. There was no noise at night but constant noise throughout the day and a lot of dust from the work.

    Smaller resort compared to those nearby - a benefit. Clearly an older resort but has had a lot of recent work done. Very professional staff. Wonderful location. Bar and food really reasonably priced considering the location. Stayed for one night the last night of a touring trip of Mexico and was the best way to finish.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs at the beach bar were totally unfriendly with us, taking a long time to bring our orders. The food for lunch and dinner were under our expectations and the all inclusive system is very incomplete

    We appreciated the room with sea view, the breakfast and the location. The Italian restaurant (Chianti) is amazing, but all inclusive guests can just access there one night.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel NYX Cancun traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: