Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Huatulco 4 stars

Paseo Benito Juarez, Bahías de Tangolunda, Bahías de Huatulco, 70989 Tangolunda, Mexico

#4 of 11 hotels in Tangolunda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smells during night bad odor from HVAC penetrates in to the room It was around 4. AM Don’t know if was air contamination with toilets vents

    Personnel service food music show fiesta mexicana

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SHOW at 9 is too late for young kids - we were in bed every night. Kids pool quite crowded. Dining room opens at 7. Again, tooo late for little kids. Sugges

    Great rooms. Beach amazing - some days seas a little rough - watch young kids (under 6 or non-swimmers) at the beach. Food was good, Italian was amazing. Staff friendly. Safe. Loved the Hawk and the chess board and the games room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall was nice resort, food was okay, but not great! Beach is exquisite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Premium Level (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biggest complaint was the "reserving" of pool and beach chairs!! Although the Barcelo is not the only resort that allows this-it is so annoying ! Inconsiderate guests that hoard chairs that they may or may not use the majority of the day!

    Room was big and clean, as was bathroom Shower was wonderful! We did hear noise from room and patio next door, but didn't bother us too much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Overall we had an excellent vacation only complaint was cigarette smoke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish smoking around pool area was allowed in a designated area. Didn't like breathing in cigarette smoke!!!

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.6
    Great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great price. Staff was incredibly nice. Super clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    7.5
    beach out front of the resort was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was just ok not a lot of variety. Two of the four restaurants were closed one night. The evening entertainment was geared mostly to the local visitors and was all in Spanish with only an odd phrase or two being translated by the MC to English.

    beach out front of the resort was amazing

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    10
    Was our first all-inclusive stay and I was a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel room doors were so thin! You could literally hear every conversation anyone had from the elevator to their room (all during the night and early in the mornings especially). Everything else about the room was really very nice. The kid's club room is a bit small and worn out and the club was usually empty. My kids loved the kid's club caregivers, but it would have been more fun with a bit more space, kids, and updated facilities. Also, nice, big, playground outside the kid's club was never used once (in our week) as an activity in the kid's club. Also, often, the kid's club activities did not follow the posted schedule. But, small complaints, because the caregivers took very good care of the children. The children's pool doesn't open until 9:30am (when it is on time...). A bit difficult with kids awake at 7am who only want to swim! It was my understanding that there was a dedicated server for club premium customers, but I never saw such a person if s/he existed. It can take up to 1/2 an hour for a drink to arrive when ordered poolside. Going to the bar yourself is a much faster option. The sushi restaurant has cream cheese in all the sushi rolls - ?? - also, lots of rice. This could be improved a bit.

    Was our first all-inclusive stay and I was a little apprehensive about the quality of the hotel, food, etc, but it was actually very very nice. The food, service, and ambiance in the Spanish (Don Quixote) and Mexican (El Agave) a la carte restaurants was really on par with any very nice restaurant. The rooms were very well appointed with nice beds, nice linens and nice bathrooms. The club premium lounge is a great place. Nice food and drinks available at all hours. Highlight of our trip was a deep-sea fishing trip, arranged through the hotel, on a very nice big boat. Mostly we just used it to snorkel off of, but it was really nice to be out on the open water (and the gentlemen of the boat were happy to fish, or snorkel, or take us in search of whales - we saw 7!)

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food!Dona Rosa buffet was the best.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    Food and Service was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt like it was a little over priced!

    Food and Service was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Everything so clean and natural.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food selection at sushi restaurant was not very good.

    Everything so clean and natural. safety most of all. We felt we were in a very safe place.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    10
    Internet Wifi not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet Wifi not good

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Guests also reviewed these properties: