Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive 4 stars

Boulevard Ixtapa Zona Hotelera, 40884 Ixtapa, Mexico

#9 of 48 hotels in Ixtapa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 143 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    It was a wonderful 9 days. Plenty to eat, drink and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Others in the resort have developed a culture of getting their beach and poolside chairs reserved with towels by 7:05am! Really annoying but we were always able to find something that had some shade closer to the ocean.

    The resort was very clean and and open. The staff was exceptional in their interest to help us have a great vacation. The rooms were bright and well equipped. The beach was fabulous. I felt very safe in the water and in the area of Ixtapa that we visited.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Club Premium (2 adults) 
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too firm, balcony was small, japanese and italian specialty restaurants food was average. House wine selection limited to chardonnay that comes in a jug, need more wine variety by the glass.

    Premium lounge, villa pool, staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    The pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, even for one person. And the food was not that good. Comparing it with some Other Barcelo hotels we have been to; this one did not meet our expectations.

    The pools

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    Very poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Serving staff overstretched but friendly. Often easier to get own drinks at pool/beach then have to queue. Over the time the hotel priority was making a promotional video resulting in areas being restricted and events set-up for the promotion exclusive. Hotel lacks local flavour and of what looks like 70's concrete construction with horrid brown shades and poorly maintained in many areas. Walls between rooms very thin and movement often felt through floors. Restaurants very cramped. Clearly, set-up to cater for the US market. No doubt on package deals but booking direct/locally not good value.

    Food was reasonable but not up to standard for the price. All buffet in main. The market across the street is great value and the beach good and clean although not groomed. Great selection of massage salons and activities, not part of hotel, at good prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Started off really bumpy but was a great place to stay with wonderful staff and a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Club Premium (2 adults) 
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food was ok, same things every day on the buffet. It would have been nice to have some variations at every meal. It has different bars but they are not open at the same time. Please do not do the onsite tubing or parasailing, we almost got killed. It is not owned by the resort and a parasail line came down and almost got my entire family around the neck. We were so lucky my son pulled the line at the last second or things would have been different for us. They operator of this business didn't care that this happened to us. He only cared about his money and we thought we should have atleast been refunded our money for almost killing us.

    We had a really bad experience with them not showing that our payment was received in full prior to arrival. It took days to prove we paid through this site and there is a problem from here to the resort. Emails and many phone calls were made and we still had to prove upon arrival that the payment was sent. The property was beautiful and the staff was great!!! Ivan the concierge was the absolute best employee they have. We enjoyed the resort and it's location to a vendor market across the street. Manager apologized for our inconvenience with the payment process

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.2
    Stomach bug. Low quality, poor hygiene food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Four people in our group, all got sick. Low quality food, poor hygiene. Stay away from this overpriced place. Tons of better options in Ixtapa.

    Beachfront. Nice pools.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    I did not like that you have to pay for wifi almost all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that you have to pay for wifi almost all the hotels at united states provide free internet i think that for what we pay should be free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Excellent value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more attention at check in to make sure that the guest understands the al inclusive features. Had to backtrack and ask questions.

    Very nice facility. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice all inclusive hotel with good location by the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food variety is limited. There are no palapas by the beach. The usual struggle to secure beach chairs if you don't wake up early.

    Nice all inclusive hotel with good location by the beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    5.0
    Poor guest services for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an extra bed, didn't get it until the next day after a 2nd request with the hotel manager. Bathroom sink was also draining slow, I had to request to get it fixed a 2nd time also with the hotel manager. Been going there every year for 10 years and the service has really deteriorated. Time to find a different hotel, it's seems like guest services is no longer a priority.

    Beds are very comfortable, fridge is always stocked with beverages. Good variety of food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    No where to go to get away from kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Club Premium (2 adults) 
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way to many kids and no where to go for adults in the pools are

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Good Food
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not included how archaic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    No free internet for the price we pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (4 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free internet for the price we pay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Club Premium (2 adults) 
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    Lacation is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Club Premium (2 adults) 
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food is teribble..

    Lacation is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place and enjoyed the shows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not on site coffe shop Observed minor drinking alcohol(beer)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.8
    The location is excellent on Ixtapa beach, with good choice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is big and there are large numbers of guests checking in and out at peak times which makes waiting times for checking in-and out quite long.

    The location is excellent on Ixtapa beach, with good choice of food and drinks from the various restaurant buffets.The beach side is equipped with comfortable beach beds near the pools and on the beach. My chamber had an ocean view which was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.5
    The installation, the beach, the restaurants service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The problems that we had at the moment of registration and when the hotel did not respect the price that I got with Booking.com we needed to pay more money to be there.

    The installation, the beach, the restaurants service, specially Don Quijote.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: