Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive 4 stars

Carretera Chetumal KM 266, 77750 Xpu Ha, Mexico

#6 of 11 hotels in Xpu Ha

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More sandy areas at the beach.

    The cleanliness of the whole place is fantastic! The service staff was great. It was my second year in a row there and may go back again sometime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room (3 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the room was horrible, the fact that even though we were still eating I felt like we were rushed, the food was not to my fullest expectations.

    The staff was great, all amenities, the service was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pretty, upscale hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The alcohol selection was weak if one didn't go premium. There could have been more late night dining options. Service by the beach was inconsistent.

    The food was great! The bed was very comfy. The beaches were beautiful and the pool was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were treated like a walking wallet. Everything is set up to get more money out of you. Every extra service they sell is extremely expensive. The food is not good. The drinks are terrible.

    Pools, beach, beds, cleanliness, landscaping, pool activities, kids park

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    A good trip but am not sure we'd go back because of the noise factor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We booked the "Maya Beach" hotel on the recommendation of friends who stayed in February. Without letting us know in advance, the Barcelo moved us to another hotel within the complex - the "Yucatan". I suspect that the facilities are more or less the same but the difference was that the Yucatan is located much closer to the noisy part of the complex. Starting at 10am, Christmas music was piped in along all the pathways near our hotel. Soon after that, loud music started playing at the pool bar. If we ate at the snack bar in our area, that was another level of loud music. Despite the fact that all the sound systems are outside, there seems to be little awareness of the fact that the visitor is hearing all three loud competing types of music at the same time - up until 6pm at night (when there is a break, but then the nightly shows begin). This was not our favourite aspect of the trip. The worst moment was when we went back to our room to get a break from the noise one afternoon, but a lengthy sound check began for that night's show. I must have heard Mariah Carey's 'All I want for Christmas' at least 20 times. After that, we went in search of quieter space within the complex and found that, further south, back at the hotel we had actually booked, there was none of the same competing noise systems. It was quiet and peaceful -which is what we were looking for when we booked our trip. So we are quite disappointed that we were not given what we paid for in this sense and would strongly advise other people considering a trip to the Barcelo to insist on a quieter hotel - unless of course you are looking for an extended party (and lots of people in our part of the complex seemed to enjoy the noise). To be clear: the noise comes from the piped in music for the most part, although party-minded guests do of course contribute to it.

    On the positive side, the Barcelo is a huge resort that has been nicely designed - especially the public/collective areas. There are about 8 'hotels' each with different names and their own lobbies, but they are all connected within the complex. It is well staffed, well organized, and well maintained. We found the staff to be helpful and nice. The resort is on the Mayan Riviera near Playa del Carmen, so about an hour drive away from Cancun. The beach was clean and well equipped with lots of beach chairs. There are many food options all day within the complex. The nicest in our opinion was the outdoor, roofed "snack bar", which is where we ate most of our meals. Despite the name you could eat an enormous, varied meal there if you chose to, with plenty of options (i.e. my partner is a meat-lover and I am a vegetarian who prefers to avoid wheat/bread - we were both happy with what we could eat there). But there is no shortage of restaurants where you can book dinner, and also a huge indoor buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner if you don't want to sit outside. Beyond these options, it's also easy to get coffee, cocktails, drinks, etc all day long if that's what you are after. We never sat through an entire evening show but the nightly entertainment was good. These were professional performers - they even staged a truncated version of the Nutcracker ballet, on point, while we were there. We used the gym about four times during our week stay and really liked it. The extensive pools were a welcome option given that the beach was (for us - we are not strong swimmers) too rocky and the sea too rough for safe swimming. We saw families, couples, gay couples and groups of friends and the place seemed very open to and safe for all kinds of visitors, of all ages - this was a nice aspect of the trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Would not return unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Ocean Front Premium Level (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food Not accomodating A lot of extras Not clear when booking all the extras involved Not accomodating to large parties tables were split for large parties and wouldn't accommodate

    Facilities Beautiful grounds pool area Easy access to pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    I stayed in the Maya Caribe and Maya Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi was good throughout resort even on the beach. However its disappointing that you have to pay extra for this.

    I stayed in the Maya Caribe and Maya Palace. I ate in several restaurants and buffets and the food was a delight every time . Beach is beautiful from Maya Beach to Maya Palace and never crowded. The activities available at pool and dive centre were exceptional there was always something to do if you wanted. I extended my stay by 6 more days. A beautiful resort. Spa is well worth a visit. Dressel Divers are a fabulous crew to dive with. Professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend a stay here and I will return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    3.3
    Very racist staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The awful staff ever, very racists the supervisor sent us to the room without give us the right info, the manger became good after we found aunts in the room all the staff very racist with non Americans!!!!

    The pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Superb!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took way too long. Ours and others rooms were not ready at the 3:00 pm check-in-time. There were a lot of questions such as coupons that were not explained well. Another helpful suggestion could be displaying nightly restaurant features for the evening. If someone doesn't like seafood we know not to go to the ones that were featuring Seafood that evening.

    Food, pools, bars, beach were all superb. Would not hesitate to bring the whole family back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.4
    Profits come before customer satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurants close before 3 pm for lunch, staff didn't mention that when we checked in. We had to search for junk food in a bar. Only free wifi in some places at selected times. Too expensive for what you get. Profits come before customer satisfaction.

    The beach was nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning stuff came to my room a few times during the day. I would prefer only a single visit.

    I absolutely loved the jakussy at the balcony. The discotheque is very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Dave Mathews headquarters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like the resort shUT down too early. After 11 it was hard to find a baror a cocktail. Room service was almost non existing

    I really enjoyed the variety. So many restaurants and entertainment venues to enjoy. The beach was vast and beautiful, never had to wait for a beach chair.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We literally have no complaints about the resort!

    The resort was extrememly beautiful and well-maintained. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, and exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Absolute complete paradise. Well worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not a fan of the sheets. Almost felt "plastic-y"

    Cant even talk about how friendly and accommodating the staff was. From the concierge to the housekeepers, everyone was fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Food, Gym was the best i've seen around.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too big

    Food, Gym was the best i've seen around. Shows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Great trip and it totally exceeded my expectation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great trip and it totally exceeded my expectation! I wish they could offer better coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    not bad for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food

    food at the buffett was not the greatest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    exelente
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Smells at the jaguar and missing a salsa bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Food was good,house cleaning lousy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They give absolutly no info on entertainment

    Food was good,house cleaning lousy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    8.8
    Great beach, pools, rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a big place with so many amenities, but staff were not proactive in explaining anything. We felt we missed out on some things because we didn't know what our options were.

    Great beach, pools, rooms. Decent food options. The spa had a water circuit you could use if you paid for a treatment. We had the place to ourselves and it was really amazing.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful resort at a wonderful location with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food is a little bland and beds are a uncomfortable for me but they were fine for my wife

    Beautiful resort at a wonderful location with lots of amenities - very clean!

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    6.7
    Great activities because it's right on a white sand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst all-inclusive food I've had yet. Staff doesn't speak English. Room wasn't cleaned until 5 p.m. Had to pay top dollar for A LOT of unexpected "extras".

    Great activities because it's right on a white sand beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    9.2
    The easy and rapid access to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet free connection, only 2 hours only in the mall. They do not give you a schedule of the activities when you check in. They do not inform you that if you do not book for more than 3 nights you cannot acces to the restaurants only the buffets

    The easy and rapid access to the beach The facilities there are close to the beach There are fairly good amount of activities

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    7.9
    The best is that hotel is located nearby cenotes and not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some rooms are very wet and moldy, especially on the ground floor which is connected with the wet climate and rain season in Autumn. But fortunately, hotel is offering the room change if requested. Sea seems to be polluted.

    The best is that hotel is located nearby cenotes and not far away from Playa del Carmen where you can at least touch some real life. Many swimming pools and you can always find a calm piece of land around the pool or on the beach to rest. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.7
    Horrible wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Horrible wifi. I had to pay for the service, and I did not get connection in all locations. You cannot pay online to get this service, you have to get in line (15 minutes) to pay for it. My room was 1 mile away from the reception. Not good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Excellent Buffet, great staff, had a lot of fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved everything and beyond

    Excellent Buffet, great staff, had a lot of fun

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    8.3
    Pools, beach & food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wifi

    Pools, beach & food

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    the beach and pool area and the food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the bed has uncomfortable to me personally, it had a rubber or plastic cover that could not be removed from bed

    the beach and pool area and the food!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: